If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Pieta
28 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Another film by Kim Ki Duk, another hard jab at gut. It's the dark side of the moon named South Korea, a minute of it is enough to blow the 'flower boy' bubble.

The movie is about Kang Do, a brutal being works for the loan sharks and a middle aged woman claim to be his mother. Most of the movie takes place in Myeongdong district in Seul, the poorest one. Apparently if you expect a korean to film outside Gangnam, it's mainly Kim Ki duk or, Park Chan Wok. The movie itself a painful journey, a journey you are glad that you take and you wont take again. Don't take me wrong, i love everything about the movie, from Michelangelo inspired poster to grusome mutilation, but I am quite sure I wont re watch it.

There's nothing much to say about it anyway. It is the first Korean film to win the top prize at three major international film festivals — Venice, Cannes and Berlin. If it suits your taste watch it, if don't, stay the heck away from it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Little Bride
19 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Let me just start off by saying that... this movie was just too cute :3 Honestly, I didn't expect to like it so much for me to give it a 10! I know the whole forced marriage situation is overused, but for some reason, I felt that it played out differently in this movie.
What I most enjoyed? Kim Rae Won's character, Sang Min, is probably first place. Afterwards, Moon Geun Young. It's funny, because at first I hated Bo Eun for the way she treated Sang Min. But at the end, you can really see she regrets what she did, and manned up to it. Also, her acting is really genuine. I haven't seen many dramas or movies, but I can still say that her portrayal has been my favorite. No exaggerated facial expressions, thank God!
And finally, the story itself. I didn't see any over-the-top "comedy" scenes, or those crazy dramatic scenes you see in most dramas or movies. This was the light-hearted story I've been looking for ever since I started watching dramas. Seriously, if you're doubting about watching this, then don't. I recommend this to anyone!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dec 22, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Based on a true tale, 'The Case of Itaewon Homicide' is a chilling movie. It is so realistic and well-made that you would want to believe that it's the real footage of the whole case that you're watching. Why the hell didn't I watch this sooner? It was so engrossing that I didn't even move for its entire duration. I was almost biting my nails all the way through the end.

This movie has no romance and happy moments in it. It is tense when it begins and remains that way till the end. The direction of this movie is absolutely brilliant and the writing is top notch. The supporting cast was probably not as good as the main leads but both Jang Geun Suk and Jeong Jin Yeong were terrific in their performances. Jang Geun Suk was creepy and hot at the same time in this movie. This has to be his best performance till date.

Overall, it delivered excellently. In spite of being tragic and having a dark theme, it made me smile several times. There were great arguments and defenses put forth while the oppositions accused each other. It was IMPOSSIBLE to figure out the answer. I admire the prosecutors and defendants. I think we almost always forget how difficult their profession is and this movie reminds you just that.

I googled and was surprised to find out that after this came out, the victim's families actually appealed for a re-trial of the case. I can see why. It does provoke that thought in you. Kudos to the director!

I will most definitely watch this movie again because it was so enjoyable. It also has great score in the background. It has never a dull moment and remains consistent. Give this a try if it sounds like it's the genre for you. I totally one hundred percent recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
I am a King
12 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
First of all, I'm so happy to see Joo Ji Hoon back in showbiz.
This movie made me laugh so much. So many hilarious scenes!
The story was decent and acting was nice as well. Cast was awesome in my opinion. I really loved both of the roles that Joo Ji Hoon played in this movie. He did justice to both the King role as well as the begger. Some of his acting was so cute and serious at the same time! Totally loved it. Honey Lee is a beautiful addition in this movie though she didn't have that many scenes in this movie. Kim Soo Ro is good in this as well though he didn't have that many scenes either but a good supporting role.

This story is about a Crown Prince who doesn't want to be the King. Therefore through certain circumstances he and a begger who looks like him switch places.

I really recommend this movie if you are looking forward to watching something light. The comedy in this movie won't disappoint you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
6 Years in Love
7 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I thought it was a alright movie. Maybe even more than alright, it was really good. The acting was good, the plot was definitely well written, and the characters, particularly Da Jin are memorable. It definitely teaches you something about love: never take love for granted and relationships change, especially if you been in a relationship for say 5 years or more. And that new relationships bloom, but broken bonds can get strong. I also liked the ending too as i thought it was a pretty good ending. Great film and definitely worth watching, especially if you love romance movies or films with meaning. 4/5.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Little Black Dress
1 people found this review helpful
Dec 21, 2012
Overall 3.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
What a waste of time!! I wanted a small break from my dramas so I thought I'd watch this.
The movie had no defined story, point or plot. I watched it as I like Yoon Eun Hye's acting but this had nothing to offer.
It revolves around 4 girlfriends - their ambitions, life and love. The writer fails to bring this out in a clear way. It all looks badly organized and poorly played.
DON'T waste your time on this!
Was this review helpful to you?
The Taste of Tea
8 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I am so surprised this movie doesn't have a review or comment. It's such a warm, feel-good movie.

Rather than having a concrete plot, the movie just follows a family, a weird one. A father, mother, a son, a daughter, an uncle and their grand father. You just be with them for the length of the movie, you just have a piece of their life, have a taste of their tea and you become one of them. I just wish everyone take and enjoy this fantastical journey that Katsuhito Ishii wants us to have.
Was this review helpful to you?
A Dirty Carnival
13 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
A Dirty Carnival is everything a mob flick should be plus a little bit.

The movie is appropriately titled because living the life of a gangster is indeed dirty business, and the film neither sugarcoats nor glamorizes this lifestyle (as other, especially Western, gangster flicks are wont to do). Once you become entrapped there are few, if any, routes of escape.

It's a cautionary tale about an underbelly of society that's dog eat dog, where karma is a real bitch. Trust and betrayal thread a very thin line and losing your humanity becomes the only modus operandi to ensuring your survival.

From where I sat the film was brilliantly executed both in terms of story and plot. The pacing was taut, there was never a dull moment that I can remember. You're kept fully engrossed by a stellar cast who made their characters seem real and very convincing.

Jo In Sung, in the role of charismatic, but conflicted Byung-doo, puts on a memorable performance. Byung-doo is a young man whose life has become twisted by fate. A filial son, and still possessing a shred of conscience despite the violence that surrounds him, I was able to sympathize with the character even while I was appalled by the brutality and ruthlessness fueling his actions.

Considering previous events, the big boss singing a cappella in one of the final scenes really struck chord in me. That's pretty much all I remember about the music, but it was effective enough in that moment to warrant a 7.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I wouldn't have minded if certain things went down differently, but I appreciate the film for its realistic portrayal of what I imagine that world and the people who live in it to be. I doubt fans of the mob genre will be disappointed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dec 19, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I truly loved the story, from watching dramas and manga the story wasn't that unusual but still unique. IN this day t=with so many movies u can't exacly expect something really new can u. The movie was disgusting at the times but even those moments were absolutely hilarious. Loved all the cute and romance moments in the film, it shows a story of people who you don't really meet as their personalities were seriously odd. It's just a simple and short romance comedy movie with a great story. Don't care what others thought I really enjoyed this film and absolutely love it!!! Highly recommend.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Evil Twin
8 people found this review helpful
Dec 19, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
First off the storyline was a little confusing at first, but that's what kept me watching it. It had that sort of -you have to watch it to understand it- storyline. The music was also incredibly appropriate for the scenes that it is put with, it will have your heart stopping at just the right moments. I hate it when I watch movies (especially horror/suspence) and the music that they play does not fit the scene at all, happily though, I did not find that in this movie.
Also it is officially the FIRST horror movie that has EVER made me cry, if you want to know why, you have to watch it and find out for yourself.
So, in the end all I can say for this movie is "Wow." This movie had some things I was not expecting for a horror movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
First Time
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 18, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This movie just swept me off my feet! I don't cry watching movies very often, but this is the third movie that made me. And I don't cry easily! The only movies that made me cry is One litre of Tears, Titanic and now this one!

I was very surprised by the movie, I thought it would be dull and sad all the way through, but it was really cute and warm. The editing was just so beautiful, and there were plenty of beautiful sceneries. And that's something that's hard to find in movies/dramas these days.

Even thought the plot had many clichés, the script was written well enough to make me love it. I loved the randomness in the beginnin when Gong Ning/Lu Xia first met Shi Qiao.

I really don't know what to say, more than watch it. It doesn't matter with genre you like, everyone we'll definitely like this. It's just a very well-made movie that will make you feel all warm and at the same time cry your eyes out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Five Senses of Eros
20 people found this review helpful
Dec 18, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
It's difficult to rate this "movie" because it's not really a movie in the traditional sense of the word. Rather it's a compilation of short films which explore the theme of erotic love. Two of the stories are very loosely related whilst the other 3 are independent of each other.

Some stories were better than others in both content and acting ability. The first two were quite enjoyable and philosophical. They asked deep, thought-provoking questions that I pondered appreciatively.

My favourite of all 5 was the 2nd story. Very poignant, but also a very sweet manifestation of (erotic) love.

The 3rd and 4th stories were a bit bizarre. Think murderous wives, blood sucking vampires and lesbian loving. I liked the 3rd story the least. Though darkly comedic in parts, I found it boring and uninspired in others. The theme of Eros was not very well conveyed, in my opinion, and the acting was off.

The 5th and final story about partner swapping could have been interesting, but the narrative was somewhat nonlinear, making it difficult to keep track of who was really boyfriend/girlfriend with who.

If I had to rate each story individually:

Story 1: 9
Story 2: 10
Story 3: 3
Story 4: 5
Story 5: 6

The average comes out to about 7 so that's my overall score for this anthology. I enjoyed it while it lasted. This movie is suitable for mature audiences, but nothing about it felt gratuitous. In fact a lot of the sexual encounters were pretty PG. I'd say it's a good date movie to watch with your long term partner, if you have one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Werewolf Boy
124 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Watched this movie for both Park Bo Young (loved her in Speedy Scandal) and of course, the ethereal Song Joongki. I had high expectations and I wasn't disappointed in any way.

Although this movie was done in flashback, it was easy to follow and did not leave me confused (like certain flashback movies). The story line was great albeit a little too simple, with its fair share of hilarious antics and sad moments that had me crying like a baby. Nevertheless, the story was more than well-supported by an amazing cast. Bo Young was fantastic as Suni. She acted really well and her crying scenes made me cry MORE than her!

The star of the show has got to be Joong Ki, definitely. As much as I love him, I have never really considered him as an amazing actor (because the roles he were given so far were not so challenging, i guess). But he proved his worth in this movie due to his versatility. And catch this - he has barely 5 lines in the entire movie! This goes to show how great of an actor he is, being able to carry a story along just through actions. Super impressed!

I love, love, love this movie and consider this to be the best work of both of them so far. Will rewatch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Deranged
9 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
First off, I admittedly watched this movie because I am a huuuge Dongwan and Shinhwa fan (SHINCHANG FOREVER) so I watched it without much expectations.

Boy, I was so wrong! It basically tells the story about Korea being hit by a health epidemic, with thousands dying for no reason. The scenes are acted out so realistically, it makes one actually feel nervous watching it because of the fear that it may come true. The acting was superb - I cannot find fault in any of the cast and the plot was tightly clinched in all the right places without it being too complicated (like most epidemic movies). I gave the music a 7 because I wasn't really paying attention to it (oops!)

Special mention goes out to Kim Myungmin for his portrayal of Jae Hyuk - my heart ached with him from start to end. He really is a good actor.

(and Dongwan just looks lovely here *____* one more reason to watch it!)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Temptation of Wolves
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
After I watched the Our Happy Time or Maundy Thursday where Kang Dong Won was the lead actor. He mesmerized me with his great acting skill.
So after that I checked all his movie then all of it had a good reviews.
-
-
-
-
Especially the Temptation of Wolves, I'm so curious about this movie and then I watched it. I must say from the start it was predictable love story of teenagers but as the story continued. I admitted that was wrong :( Its about love story between Han-kyung, the country side girl. The two most popular guys in their schools Hae-won (Kang-Shin High School ) and Tae-sung (Sung-Kwon High). They both fell in love in one girl. But the twist of the story Han-Kyung and Tae-Sung are both related to each other (brother and sister). And Han-Kyung and Hae-Won became a couple. Hae-won jealous about Han-kyung sister-brother relationship to Tae-sung.
Actually, I hoped Kang Dong Won ( Tae-Sung) and Han-kyung in the story became a couple because they had a strong love chemistry to each other. ( My Idiot Idea Only hahahahha :D Its far from reality! )
But the sad part was in the end of the film that everyone should prepared for a box of tissue if you want to watch this great movie beacuse I really cried like I was part of the scenario.
This movie won a lot of awards. Thumbs up!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?