The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Memory Love
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
This is the type of drama that you will either Like it or Hate it ...

You will watch some unrealistic storyline & cringy cheesy scenes .. which actually for me made the drama fun to watch !
After about 12 Episodes it became draggy like they could have finished earlier .

I liked the Male Lead Character even if he made me cringe but still he's so cute with his Jealousy xD
At 1st I was not fond with Female Lead Character , she is too kind & forgive too easily like if someone betrayed me like they did to her I will never forgive them and even if I did I will not treat them the same as before ~ but as I kept watching the drama I loved her interaction with the MC & others so I kinda ignored what happened in the earlier episodes .
*** am not sure if its just me but the leads looks like ( Andy : Zac Efron / Wei Mandy : BTS JHope ) :o

I also liked the little BROMANCE between Xing Shao Tian & Duan Ruo Fan that was cute ^^

The things that got me annoyed was new characters suddenly appeared for 1 to 2 episodes , I didn't feel they were needed in the story :/
and the families member appeared in one episode then disappear in few episodes on & off ...
The final episode was sooo ....................... I don't know what to say but it got me frustrated !!!!!

I do not feel that the drama was that bad , I loved the main couple they were sweet & I enjoyed watching them ~ but I'll not rewatch this !

So overall I gave the 7.0 ! and maybe some of the viewers will give a lower rating :s

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Meloholic
6 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 4.0
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Meloholic is the type of drama where you can skip half of the episodes and you'd still be able to understand what happened.
Why? Because it's a bunch of clichés thrown together with an unoriginal serial murder mystery, a dangerous mental illness that is taken as a joke, and a ridiculous love story.

Story/Plot
Pfft. Is there even a plot/story? From the first episode, you'd probably be able to predict the ending scene. There was an absence of character development and twists.
Ye Ri's DID was unrealistic, and portrayed as some sort of jest. Every aspect of it made me roll my eyes to another dimension, particularly when she "transformed".
The characters were copies of each other: bland, dense and slow. Even the killer was inadequate.
I couldn't believe in Ye Ri and Eun Ho's love, there was no build up and it seemed forced.

Acting/Cast
I have never watched a drama with U-know and Kyung Soo Jin, but it's pretty obvious to me that Kyung Soo Jin did a better job. At least she was able to play two distinct personalities.  U-know could barely act out his one character.

Music
Didn't really pay attention to the music. Actually, the only time I did when Another Miss Oh's OST was playing at Ye Ri's cafe.

Rewatch Value
Um.. No. There's no reason to watch it in the first place.

Overall
Meloholic is the perfect drama to watch when you're looking to facepalm, roll your eyes and curse at utterly stupid characters that lack common sense.

No, but seriously. Find something better to watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
8 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is a marriage contract kdrama. I'm a sucker for a good (or even mediocre) marriage contract drama. On the upside, this one's good. Jung So Min (who I loveloveloved in Father Is Strange) plays Yoon Ji Ho, an assistant k-drama writer who is in need of a home in Seoul. Lee Min Ki (getting back into the swing of things after his military enlistment) plays Nam Se Hee, a rather stoic software engineer who has a house with a sizable mortgage and rather particular requirements for a tenant. Ji Ho ends up renting a room in Se Hee's house and, finding themselves comfortably compatible, decide to have a contract marriage to resolve some side problems (cohabitation with the opposite sex still being somewhat frowned upon and Se Hee's parents pushing a lot of blind dates on him). Neither Ji Ho nor Se Hee are particularly demonstrative people, so much of the series is them failing to communicate with each other effectively, but it all ends rather satisfyingly. The supporting cast really breathes life into this drama - with the main pair being so self-contained, it really relies on their surrounding friends, family, and acquaintances to push the two to stand out more. Things do reach a point towards the end where there's a little bit of frustration of the stubborn refusal to effectively communicate with each other on the part of the main couple, but it is balanced out by the delight of how the other two major couples end up. This drama is not a quick dash to the finish line, but a slow stroll through the park on a day that's not quite warm enough for it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love O2O
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This drama is one of the best romance drama that i watched. The scenes with Xiao Nai and Bei Wei Wei is really worth to watch and it is really so sweet but at the same time i think you would not know what would Xiao Nai do but this is my opinion.  Every thing is good but i wish there were more seasons cause i want to see what happens after they ( If i say this i am going to spoil for the people who did not watch this so i am not going to say, but the ones who watch it try to guess what i am trying to say.  Hint: This happens at the end!). It is really interesting and if you love romance, drama and something to do with technology or gaming then this drama is just right for you. So if you are interesting in watching i hope you enjoy it and have fun with it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
8 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I think this drama makes it to my top 10 list of all time favourite.

I didn't have any expectations for this drama but it really got me. I think the casting was great, and I could feel the sparks between the main characters in a strong but subtle way.

I recommend this drama. It's a bit slow at first but I would say give it a try and you won't regret it. The story has a point on some of important issues which I love since it's often not done in Korean dramas. Now I want to look up other dramas from the same writer, director and main cast hehe.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Temperature of Love
1 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I enjoyed this it. I probably shouldn't have, but I read some reviews before I finished watching it and it was kind of hard to not let it influence how critically I watched the last episodes. I am surprised at how strongly a lot of people dislike this drama. I guess this is one that you either like or really, really hate.

The main thing I really liked about this drama is that it perfectly captures the magic of falling in love with someone - when even the most mundane moments in everyday life feel more special and and exciting. You feel it when you watch this drama. The first half of the drama treats viewers to lots of happy romantic heartwarming scenes. There's nothing really dramatic or extraordinary about it. There's not a lot of setup. You just get to see lots of scenes of them being nice to each other and enjoying each others company and in lots of dramas those scenes are so rare because there is so much conflict and setup usually. It's the opposite of that in this drama.

The lead characters are just regular people - not perfect. (Though Jung Seon is an unrealistically nice boyfriend- which is probably one of the main reasons I enjoyed watching their romance so much.) Both have their issues and make mistakes. Hyun Soo is prickly and indecisive. Jung Seon has insecurities. They are making their way through life and career challenges - nothing over the top.

The downside may be that there isn't a whole lot of conflict. It's about finding love, then overcoming the obstacles of everyday life or personality conflicts that get in the way. A lot of the conflict falls into stereotypes. There is the rich CEO, the jealous friend and the disapproving parents that get thrown in there to mess with the couple. But these stereotypes are all given more of a normal realistic twist than in most dramas, so conflicts resolve in a low key fashion as most things do in real life. Many people might find that boring and anti-climactic.

For a relatively simple story, the drama is stretched out too long into 40 episodes when it probably could have been told better in half that amount. Many scenes especially in the last half of the drama felt kind of like filler. But having said all this I personally wasn't bored. I enjoyed all the simple happy scenes. There is a dreamy, soft-focus vibe that permeates the whole drama that I found pleasant and relaxing, like sitting quietly and sipping hot cocoa.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Eternal Love
1 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Overall: 9.5
Story: 9.5
I know this story has already been made into a film, I have yet to see by the time I have finished watching this drama, but I find the complexity of the plot to be more suited for the format of a drama.  There are many romances and plotlines going on at once that it almost seemed like it needed to be so many episodes and so much time.  For all intentions purposes I can break this series down into three parts.
 Part One, where she is a disciple - I thought this part was the slowest of the three.  I am not a huge fan of the gender-bender sort of story lines mostly because I lack the mind to ever think that they can’t obviously see that she is fact a female, but this drama got over that, by having the first (second?) love interest see through the magic, that others couldn’t.  So I was won over by the portrayal.  The plot for this point was very clear, and forward, inducing the viewers to the complex world of the drama.  The back story that you really needed for the rest of the drama, and the main setup for the love story to come.  
Part Two, where she is Su Su - I find the plot twist to be exciting!  Coming from a viewer who hadn’t known about the plot twist, it was very exciting.  I have not read the book, nor had I thought that, that wasn’t coming, even though it was in the description.  I thought she was going to be a reincarnation, or differently I guess.  Though in a way she was.  This plot point, I think showed both mains acting ability to adapt to a change of character.
The third part Bai Qian again - Where she becomes a high god, a queen,  feared by those who were cruel to her in her mortal form.  It was actually enjoyable to see her back at her position, though I do think the amnesia plot line is over used on dramas, for this one it worked well.  This part had you falling in love all over again with the main couple, wishing that it will work out in the end for them.  
The second romance line that I really enjoyed was the one between The little princess and the ex-heavenly lord.  I honestly could watch an entire drama with these two.  I can understand why some people didn’t enjoy this storyline, but after watching Dilmurat Dilraba in previous dramas, I enjoyed seeing her in a not as serious role, a mix between her characters in Pretty Li Hui Zhen & The King’s Woman.  The ending for them is sad, but you leave knowing that he truly loves her, he just can’t be with her.
Overall, the plot of this drama never dwindled down, and there never felt an episode was meant to be a filler.  Every episode was packed with information, if not for the one lead story then the other smaller ones.  Even the small romance between the 16th disciple and the Ghost Princess was enough to keep you wanting more.  I think that was the best thing that this drama could accomplished, even though it wrapped things up brilliantly and didn’t leave loose ends, (maybe some really minor ones), you made you want more.  This puts it on my top 3 Favorite Chinese dramas along with Love 020.

Acting/Casting: 10.0
This is by far one of the best casted Chinese dramas I’ve seen of an historical/fantasy genre.  Though when I mean historical it isn’t the usual based on a history, more so the scenes of a period drama through the use of costumes in this matter.  I was a little hesitant at first just because I thought the male lead was a bit awkward, but I got over the initial awkwardness once I realized that, was the type of character he just was.  A royal, pain in the ass, yet had the ability to love.  The way he played the twins’ was at first a little shocking at how similar they are, but than when it come to the subtle differences I thought he portrayed the two characters very well.  
I had seen Yang Mi act before in the interpreter, which was one of those dramas where it had good acting but a very convoluted plot and story premise.  I believe that this series is a better representation of her acting abilities then The interpreter.  In this I enjoyed the characterization of  Qian Qian and Su Su.  Both were her.  Su Su was more like Si Yan in the beginning not having to abide by so many rules yet kept her wits about her like Bai Qian.  The portrayal of a mortal being pushed around by gods had me fuming, and when Bai Qian came back for repayment, you were happy about it.
 I know some people found Feng jiu’s character a little bratty and childish, but that was something that I actually loved.  Instead of bratty I found her headstrong and stubborn taking after her Aunt Bai Qian when she first arrived at the Kunlun Mountain.  I also liked her Childish demeanor that she out grew over time yet still kept that young naivety about her throughout.  It was a good contrast to the high strung elder Dong Hua.  I found both character’s to be one of my favorite pairings.  I could watch an entire series just based on these two.  I honestly hope that vengo Gao and Dilraba Dilmurat will get a chance to work together in the future, maybe one not as tragic.
Overall the supporting characters are really fantastic, you hated the villains, yet felt bad for them in the end, and could related to the others struggles and pains.  Throughout it felt like a watching a greek tragedy off the past loves.  One last note, Ah Li is the cutest purest thing to come out of these series and will make you laugh, cry, and say he is just like his mother.  

Music: 10.0
As I am not a music expert, I will keep this brief.  This series music fit very well for the drama.  In fact it was one of the best fit I’ve seen for a while.  I love instrumental music and this piece was filled with Chinese classical instrumentals throughout the background.  I enjoyed that the music throughout the drama never once took me out and only kept me engaged.  It set the right tones, and helped you follow along to the multiple different plots.  

Rewatch Value: 9.0
Rewatch value is always open to the viewer themselves.  I find that there is so much going on this drama, that rewatching it again wouldn’t bore you as much as others because you would be finding something new to watch and see each time.  Between the multiple romances, the storyline, the graphic design, and the fantastic costumes, This is a wonderful show you could watch over and over again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Liar Game
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a clever drama with an exciting plotline and complex characters.

Story: The story is well developed, and though I found it a bit slow in the beginning it picks up quite quickly. It keeps you wondering what these characters all have in common and how it all fits together. The games are well thought out and the twists and turns of this drama are very clever.  This helps keeping the suspense up as the drama goes on. The villain is complex and intriguing and the male protagonist is very interesting and clever. The conflict between the male leads is by far the best thing about this drama. The female lead didn't really appeal to me. She was naive to the point of stupidity and even though it gets better as the time goes on, she's still a bit dumb for my taste. She is definitely a damsel in distress. In summary  the plot is well written  and exciting. This drama does have an open ending though so if you really don't like those, you might want to skip this one.

Acting: The acting in this drama is quite good. Shin Sung Rok and Lee Sang Yoon both did and outstanding job as the two male leads. Shin Sung Rok really do nail those villain roles. I was not as happy with Kim So Euns' preformance. Her acting felt a bit too over-the-top for my taste, but this might be due to bad directing or the fact that she didn't have all that much to work with. I have not seen any of her other performances so its hard for me to judge. The other actors did a very good job as well. Not much lacking in that department.  

Music: The music works quite well with the mood of the drama. It adds to the suspense and generally does what its supposed to.  Well done.

In summary, this is a very well done drama with complex and interesting characters and quite a unique concept. If you like dramas with clever characters and suspense you will probably like this. And if you like dramas where the female lead is a damsel in distress, even better. And if you don't, just try to pretend she's not there. That's what I did.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Time Between Dog and Wolf
1 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Time between Dog and Wolf may have been one of the most thrilling Korean series I have watched so far. A great story of a son wanting his revenge for the death of his parents, but got caught up in several issues making it harder for him to actually carry on with his plans. It may not have been the most unique story out there, but the producers managed to write it in such a way that it was very thrilling, yet dramatic to a level that it became unique itself. It even had a few surprises in store, which I did not see coming at all. On top of that, I especially enjoyed the couple Ji Woo (Nam Sang Mi) and Soo Hyun (Lee Joon Gi), which did act up to their standards with great supporting actors to back them up and loved the never endless story between both of them. Considering the Music, I would say that it was nicely written.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Who Are You: School 2015
1 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
It is the best kdrama I've ever watched. I didn't expect Kim So Hyun was able to play 2 roles in a shot. The plots are also interesting. It's like a revenge towards antagonist. Yea, it's hard to be objective if we talk about review a movie or drama where its main role is our favorite actress. But, yea I believe everyone would love this drama so much.
Okay, submit review......... oh God, it has to be a 500 character review!
Well, at that time I didn't really like what I watched, before Go Eun Byul's school settings appeared. It reminds me about high school life and its funny things like get a rid with friends and stuff. So, I love this drama because it brings school things and... romance, of course.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Mad Dog
1 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review is going to be long, but if you read anything in it, read about Min Joon.

I'll split into sections!

Characters:
Min Joon: I don't know if I've ever loved a kdrama character as much as I love Min Joon. He's just written so well. First, he shouldn't be relatable. But he is so relatable. His story is a big one. From his profession, being a scam artist, to his mission to hunt down what happened to his brother, it's not a common real world story. Yet I relate to his character so much, even though on paper, our life experiences are nothing the same. This clearly has to do with amazing acting, by Woo Do Hwan, and writing. Do Hwan really brings this character to life, and throughout the drama we see Min Joon grow and change for the better. The beautiful part is, I can't pin down exactly when he changes. It happens slowly and naturally, and I never find myself thinking "sure. Min Joon would do that" His character is a hard one to write. He is shown at first with all his walls, that make it appear that he has little emotion. Later though, when we see he truly does have emotion, it is acted and written in a very Min Joon way. When Min Joon shows emotion it's not just, angst and yelling, the way it is portrayed is true to his character. So many actors, when they have to be emotional, just act angsty. I really appreciate how that's not always the case for Do Hwan, and when he shows emotion it still feels true to his character. Additionally, when we see the process of Min Joon taking down his walls, he doesn't feel like a totally new person. Oh he's changed, but he's still Min Joon. Talent if you ask me, to change one's character, but still feel like their character. His character is written and acted very well, and has become my favorite kdrama character of all time due to this.

Kang Woo: He's like the dad of the team and I love him. He takes care of them all, and really binds the team together. While he isn't given a lot of screen time (Min Joon is given most of the screen time, it is truly his story) he really creates a presence, and our Mad Dog team wouldn't be anywhere without him. Really loved him.

Ha Ri: Ya know I like her. She isn't perfect, yet she's still admirable. She cares fiercely for her friends, and is great in action, but dang. That girl got a lot of pride. She sometimes says things she shouldn't, and has a hard time directly apologizing (she will make amends in her own way though). She has a temper, but she cares a lot. While sometimes her temper got on my nerves, I really appreciate that the writer just didn't make her to be this perfect female, like. so. many. writers. She has flaws, she has strengths, and she's all the more lovable because of it.

Noo Ri: Side characters that deserve their own drama: Noo Ri. Gosh. His character is so interesting, yet they only start delving into it after ep 12. waaaaae. I can't really talk about him much because of spoilers....but don't be fooled! You'll think that he's just another comedy side-character no one really cares about, and then boom he's your second favorite character (ok. my second favorite character). He's just so precious, and gah I love him.

Cheetah: How did this guy do the immensly creepy apostle jo in save me (btw do hwan is in that too. y'all should check it out it's awesome), and then lovable captain of the ha ri and min joon ship??? Seriously though, love him. He's hilarious and our ship would be no where without him.

Baddies: yup. I grouped them all. There's nothing special. Whenever it was bad guy on bad guy, I started playing with my phone. If you want interesting villains or politics look else where.

Relationships:

The relationships MADE this show for me. The true charm of Mad Dog is the relationships, I'll list the 3 that stood out to me.

Ha Ri and Min Joon: dang. That chemistry be something else. Petition for romcom drama starring hwa young (that's her name right?) and do hwan? Anyone? Can we do this? Please. Pretty please? They are FIRE. They're relationship is hilarious, because they know they care, mad dog knows they care, we know they care, and yet they still "pretend" like they don't. They both put up walls, and to see them crack those walls and care for one another is really sweet.

Kang Woo and Min Joon: YEEESSS. I love this relationship! I love how out of everyone on the team, if Min Joon is gonna get emotional and open up with someone, it's gonna be Kang Woo. They understand each other so well, and bring out the best in each other. I loved their bromance, and their heart-felt talks. Kang Woo is like the older brother, who pulls Min Joon into this surrogate family, and they just become so close and I adore it. Definitely one of the highlights of the show for me.

Noo Ri and Min Joon: Is this my favorite relationship? That started in ep 12? and there's 16 ep? Yes. Yes it is. No spoilers, trust me. But Noo Ri, in my opinion, is the first one to so verbally acknowledge Min Joon as part of the Mad Dog family. I mean everyone else acts like it! But Noo Ri verbalizes it. Actions are great, but sometimes people need to be told that they're loved and have a family, and that's what Noo Ri does for Min Joon. Though their scenes are few, their scenes are my favorite moments on the show.

BONUS:

Bum Joon and Min Joon: Want to cry yourself to sleep? Watch this relationship. I can't say much, cause spoilers, but it will break your heart in all the right ways.

Word Choice:
Am I giving a section to word choice? Yes. Yes I am. Because it is just done so well. Literally, any time the word hyung is used, or speech is dropped down a level, is sign of character growth. The word hyung has never meant so much to me before, and that is due to this drama using it the right way all the time. It is never casually used. It's an important word, and whenever used delivers emotion and depth well. This drama is very conscientious of words and how they're used.

Team Work:

The team work in this show is awesome, and honestly the best I've seen. All their interactions are perfect and so cute. Definitely worth it.

Plot:
meh. Watch this show for the relationships and Min Joon. The plot was alright, and whenever it was villain on villain I just turned on my phone. It's not a terrible plot, and I personally loved the Min Joon and Bum Joon story line, it's nothing overly-special. This shows strength and meaning is in its relationships and characterizations.

Music:
Do I have what I want on repeat? Yes I do. Lol. I love the ost in this drama, and the sad song by eric nam, is so calming and peaceful.

Overall, this drama is amazing and I'd highly recommend it. Watching the characters grow, and become closer has been a true delight, and I will miss my Mad Dog family! 


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Package
4 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This drama gave me a feeling like I was literally on a vacation. Not just because it was filmed in France, and made me feel like I was revisiting many of the places I got a chance to see while there, but because I loved getting to know these strangers on this package vacation, who felt like friends I didn't want to leave by the end.  

If your'e a fan of dramas with a great ensemble cast, this one is a must watch. There are no real leads, because each character's story feels important. Lee Yun Hee may be the leader of the tour, but she doesn't really feel any more important than the other characters. I guess "The Package" would be classified as more of a slice of life drama, but because France is such a romantic place, and the characters are literally "coupled off", it definitely feels very romantic (including some surprisingly passionate moments that can be rare in kdramaland). However, I don't just mean literal romance, but more exploring different types of love, and stages of love, and even self love.  Part of the fun is getting to know about each relationship, so I won't say too much, only that things not always being as they seem is a major reoccurring theme.

The entire cast is excellent, but I did have my favorites, and not so favorites in the cast. First, I loved Jung Yong Hwa as Ma Roo, and the complete randomness of his character. It would have been so easy to make his character super annoying, but he's so charming that I had no choice but to like him. He's come a long way from his boyish charm in "You're Beautiful", and it was nice to see him as a more mature lead. I was less excited by Lee Yun Hee as So So, who's character did annoy me at times, but she definitely felt real and relatable. She also had to do double language duty, which I can't vouch for as far as accuracy, but if her french was really bad she faked it really well.  The rest of the cast is endearing, and felt like real people as well, but the MVPs in my opinion were the older couple, who were frustrating, heartbreaking, and the absolute cutest. I've been on a group vacation once, with mostly strangers, and it definitely captured that dynamic well. The non vacation characters were a lot less developed, and except for So So's boss and brother, they weren't as memorable, but they were all well played.

The story telling is well done, and kept me interested the entire time. At the same time the stories are filled with clichés, some predictable and not so predictable twists, silly humor, and a lot of what felt like manipulating the audience's emotions. Like I said, this drama is big on misunderstandings, so they purposely present some moments in a way that will make you likely to misunderstand them. After a while the obvious misunderstandings were becoming fun, just because I loved watching the character's reactions. Another cool thing was how certain locations were incorporated in the story, so France wasn't just an arbitrary location, but a big part of each character's experience.

Would I watch this again? Definitely. When it was over I had the same feeling I usually have with a good vacation... Although I knew it was a good time for it to be over (12 episodes seemed like the perfect length), I also didn't want it to end, so it left me longing to return.  Still, the ending was extremely satisfying, even with some major tropes in full effect, I loved it. It's also the perfect length to binge watch!

The soundtrack was great too, although I don't have any favorite songs, the music definitely added to the atmosphere of the show.

Overall, even with thoughtful themes of self discovery, and some moments that had me in serious tears, this was a mostly feel good drama that I needed. Expect to laugh, cry, and sigh deeply, and possibly want to book a trip to France. (I guess that Air France product placement was well spent). I wasn't sure what to expect when I started watching, but much like the characters signing up for this package vacation, I'm so glad that I decided to take the journey.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ultraseven
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 3.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Good god this show is bad, and not "Due to the time it was made it  feels a little rough" but "These people clearly don't know how to tell a  story" bad. Other then some sort of MMPR style nostalgia on the part of fans in  japan, I have no idea why it is remembered as fondly as it is. The  first three episodes were just some of the most broken, disjointed TV  I've seen in a while. The way the show presents itsself, I have no idea how anything in the  world works or why I should care about any of the characters. Like it just goes "Here's the ultra guard, they fight aliens, they're  like the science patrol but with a higher budget. ....Uh, oh shit,  there's a thing! And here's a guy! He's Ultra seven? Yeah, that works.  Ok, that's your show, enjoy!" And they introduce all these other characters who work at the base and are part of the Ultra Guard, but other then one sentence descriptions that feel like they're from Kenner action figure packaging we get nothing from them. I understood why they were all on the team, but none of them were compelling characters. They're all just there and don't really do much except spout generic military sounding dialogue. And Dan AKA Ultra Seven isn't much better himself, he just shows up part way through the first episode and knows a bunch of shit about aliens (and never gives the ultra guard a reason for knowing any of it even though they don't know he's an alien and therefore it should make no sense to them that he knows these things) so they make him a member of the team. We never get any explanation of what he's doing on earth, why he's decided to help the Ultra Guard, where his powers come from, or even where the flying flip he comes from. It comes off like they just went "well people know what Ultraman was and why he was doing what he was doing, so let's just skip that and let  them assume it's the same here. Also, give him Godzilla looking pokemon,  that's a cool idea. ...Nah, we don't need to explain it ether." And then there's just so many bizarre moments in episodes 2 and 3 where I  had almost no idea what was going on and it felt like there was a scene missing. Just like, a thing happens, and then another thing happens, but there's no connective tissue between those two things. The only redeeming thing about it was the miniature work, which was freaking great and astoundingly good looking for it's time. Wonderful stuff. But for me, great effects alone cannot save a show where I am constantly shouting stuff like "What the hell is happening? Who is this person?  Why are they doing that? What does this have to do with what I just  saw?" So I dropped the series after 3 episodes and am giving it a 3/10, would not recommend unless you're just super into classic effects work.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Gata no Kuni Kara
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
STORY: A talking mudskipper. Need I say more? No? I will anyways. This story is quite absurd. I did like the idea of a Thai actor in Japan but meeting a high school girl and being able to communicate with her via a mudskipper was just silly. And the story never really gets any less absurd as times goes on.

ACTING/CAST: I really only came to watch Bank Thiti. I watched NHK World's English Dub, since I couldn't find English Sub, and it was...horrific. I don't generally like dubbed stuff overall, but the dubbing was awful. It felt like it was dubbed for an audience comprised of children, or some public service message.

MUSIC: Regular background music, nothing stood out.

REWATCH VALUE: Nah

OVERALL: Maybe I'm overthinking things, but perhaps the intended audience was foreign children who are not familiar with Japan who might want to go there someday when they grow up. BONUS point for shirtless Bank though. +1


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
I'm Sorry Kang Nam Goo
2 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 2.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
It's one of the most horrendously bad story's iv'e ever seen, save yourself a lot of time and don't even bother watching! The plot goes haywire when the male lead turns from a perfectly loving and wonderful husband to the worst man possible all of this is obviously trailer-ed into a huge mess of poorly thought up side couples and even more drawn out boring plots  of revenge. It dose not even have a satisfactory ending, in my opinion they tried to make a drama way to dramatic and just ended up making me depressed.
Was this review helpful to you?