The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Meloholic
1 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
The opinions about this differ quite alot which is why I want to add my two cents as well. Because despite some quite low ratings - and by no means am I judging anybody since everyone has his own taste - this was a nice drama to pass time. It's not a masterpiece but it's also not a complete failure either even though it has some problems.

I'm always careful with dramas that put soul-switching/multiple personalities (or whatever you may call it) on their front page, and it depends on the writer's skill whether I will like it or not. I have not yet seen Kill Me, Heal Me (but I want to), so the only other drama I can compare this to is Hyde, Jekyll and Me which has also some diverse opinions. I don't want to scare anybody away from this drama just because he/she didn't like Hyde, Jekyll and Me. There are not much similarities, I only felt slightly reminded of it in the beginning.

At long range Meloholic has its own charm. It starts as a rom-com with a silly student who doesn't care to feel embarrassed while confessing his love for his girlfriend in front of everyone - with the most cringy method ever. Of course it leads to the guy getting dumped. After an incident he achieves the ability to read the minds of women by touching their hand - ONLY woman that is. Later on he meets this girl that seems so different from everyone else he's met over the last years (of course there is no other girl that wears her heart on her sleeve - therefore as we all know it doesn't need further explanation how and why the leads will fall in love, right?). Crucial point about this girl though: She has two personalities and therefore doesn't want to date anyone.

It sounds kinda like your default premise, doesn't it? Well, I won't deny that. And throughout the drama you won't find any unique tropes at all. It's the same chair with just another covering. Even the crime case that suddenly pops up out of nowhere is nothing new anymore. BUT it spiced up the story quite nicely.

It was well connected to the romance plot and moved the story forward. It subtly gained more weight until the right time was near for it to come to the fore. The more you got to know about it, the more thrilling it became. There were only two things that bothered me. It always looked like they wanted to hide the culprit until the story was ready to expose him. But it was pretty obvious who it was since early on. That attempt to hide him was too strong to be trustworthy. The second issue was the finale. Some nonsensical decisions took place that marred the otherwise well done crime.

Because of the additional crime theme the psychological part of the romance and personality aspects is kept short and superficial, so don't expect any deep analyses of dissociative identity disorder or telepathy.

If I had to mention something positive, it would be the comedy. Seriously, I'm quite picky with that one, but I liked it in this drama. Even though it was pretty daring sometimes (yeah, call me a prude but some of them went overboard), it made me laugh out loud other times. And even though it's being used in every drama by now, I still can't get enough of that whiny puppy sound they play whenever a character is showing his puppy eyes.

Okay, let's get to the cast.
Kyung Soo Jin. I love her - like forever. The first time I saw her in was Shark. She was already in her mid-twenties but played a high school girl with so much confidence that it made me remember her for future projects. It's so nice to see her play adult roles because she's capable of so many versatile characters which I just confirmed with this drama again. She is playing two very different personalities stuck in one body. Believe me, you don't recognize the previous personality when they are switching. She's pulling off that role so well that even though the script doesn't allow her to deepen the character, she still manages to breath life into Han Ye Ri/Han Joo Ri. If it wasn't for her, this drama might have become one of the few I would have dropped eventually.

Why? Because whereas there were other entertaining traits, the male lead was a huge turn off. I can't exactly outline what bugged me. His acting was really strange sometimes and it felt awkward to watch him. Especially the kisses. Even though they became a little better towards the end, it was still not enough to satisfy me. There were times when I thought that he looked too much like pervert, although half of it was intentional for the comedy. Maybe... another part of my annoyance might also have been his character. Except for breaking promises he made to his girl, the biggest failure he kept doing was holding her hand to check her thoughts - whether she does say what she thinks or is lying. That's the biggest betrayal of trust you could actually do. If you truly care for your girlfriend, you have to trust her. And if you can't help but to touch her (of course you won't be able to hold back at some point in a relationship), wear some goddamn gloves (even more so tell her about your ability).

Other than that - although it might sound like a contradiction - the leads did have chemistry. I enjoyed their lovey-dovey behavior at times. It was cheesy and exaggerated, but still kinda cute.

Choi Dae Chul, who is playing a university prof and the non-related Hyung of the male lead, is my personal highlight in this drama. He was a pleasure to the eyes and I was fancying over him throughout the whole show. Can he get a lead role in an awesome drama, please?

As I already mentioned before, the finale was a real letdown. It had inconsistencies, stupid decisions, default dialogues, convenient accidents, more stupid behavior and one of the most common drama clichés ever. Even the villain became low-carb food in the last minute.

While my review started out quite positive, it became rather critical mid-way. I have to admit that I'm quite torn about this drama, but I also enjoyed it in some way. If it weren't for Kyung Soo Jin and Choi Dae Chul, my rating would definitely be lower. Half of the show only worked because of those two. And the crime. And the comedy. And the subtle waving between those two genres.

It's hard to say whether to recommend this or not. If you're into the male lead, then you will probably enjoy this alot. If not... phew, you have to decide for yourself whether you can cope with the male lead and still enjoy the things I highlighted ;)


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
5 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I love this drama most especially the writing. It is intelligent and at the same time heartwarming. My 2017 no.1 drama for sure!                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Love So Beautiful
6 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
This is such a cute drama portray a sweet and tender love at the age of 17 ~ It have cheesy scenes with minimal awkwardness ! which is good xD
it reminded me a lot of Itazura Na Kiss , but rather a better storyline ( Xiao Xi is not as stupid as Kotoko and Jiang Chen is not as arrogant as Naoki ) .

With all the serious drama that's going out now , this is the escape with an adorable & cute light drama .
We've all seen this kind of setup before but that doesn't stop us from watching the drama anyway xD

This drama makes me very happy , i like that even though Jiang Chen was smart he wasn't arrogant as hell , he was sweet but still definitely have his cold and stoic character at times & Xiao Xi was very bubbly even though she likes to follow Jiang Chen but i like that she have her own character & her own dream to follow as she has a talent in art .
I liked how they brought some of the issues that almost every student went through .
I got lost sometimes as how much time has passed between the sequence of events but it didn't bother me , but the time when they are in college I wished they have focused more at that period & show more about their relationship development , I felt the drama sped the events & I wanted more episodes T_T I miss the cutie couple ..

And I have to say Hu Yi Tian is gorgeous <3 His height differences with Shen Ye made a lot of scenes so much better !!!

The squad too is really cute and portrays friendship that is fresh and natural , I find the acting in this drama much better than a few C-dramas i've watched so far .

I also liked the short scene after each episode ending , it was so funny !  

It is really good drama with nice storyline & I'll rewatch this anytime , I think everyone will enjoy it ~



Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ngao Jai
1 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
I love me some ToomVill, but this was a disappointment for me.
STORY: Honestly, this drama's huberis was its story. The premise was unique, which was good, but very poorly executed. The storytelling was choppy to the extreme; at one point in the drama, Vill twists her ankle, and Toomtam has to carry her. Then the next morning roles around, and it's like the ankle never happened! Frankly, unless Vill has superhuman healing powers, that ankle was a deus ex machina if ever I saw one. And that was certainly not the only time something like that happened.
The villain made me laugh. He literally shouted about all his evil plans right outside the OPEN DOORS of the house. Seriously, no one EVER overheard him? Was everyone in this drama deaf?
Wathit was just downright terrible as a character. Not a single scene depicts him even feeling SAD about his brother's death, and then he goes and makes a play for his dead brother's wife, all without ANY remorse at all. Any normal human being would have a raging internal battle at the very least, feeling attracted to the dead brother's wife but wanting to honor the brother's memory. But apparently Wathit was above such petty matters. I almost wanted the villain to get the girl, because in my eyes, Wathit was more villainous than Denkhun.
The sweet scenes were well-done.
ACTING/CAST: The acting was good for the lousy material given. None of the actors could shine because the script was so bad, though. Denkhun did do a good job as the villain though, and ToomVill's comedic timing was downright hilarious, something a pleasant surprise from Vill.
MUSIC: The music was awesome. I listen to the soundtrack for this drama all the time, even though I have never rewatched the drama itself.
REWATCH VALUE: If you can stand the shoddy writing/directing/storytelling, it's a good one for rewatch. If you're like me, you'll watch it once and never watch it again.
This drama was a lot of wasted potential.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Eternal Love
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
first I love watching historical dramas and well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude music was the reason made me continue watching it and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for 10/10 and their is a lot C-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time..????

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
5 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude music was the reason made me continue watching it and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for 10/10 and their is a lot k-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time..???? but sorry I didn't like the ending..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
5 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude music was the reason made me continue watching it and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for 10/10 and their is a lot k-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time.
Was this review helpful to you?
The Princess Wei Young
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
first I love watching historical dramas. well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude music was the reason made me continue watching it and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for 10/10 and their is a lot C-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Live Up to Your Name
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for me 10/10 and their is a lot k-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time..
Was this review helpful to you?
Prince of Lan Ling
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude music was the reason made me continue watching it and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for 10/10 and their is a lot C-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time..
Was this review helpful to you?
When a Snail Falls in Love
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for 10/10 and their is a lot C-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time..
Was this review helpful to you?
Princess Hours
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 5.5
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 3.0
Honestly, this drama was a bit of a fiasco. I mean, trying to improve on the original Princess Hours is impossible, and then no kiss scenes... When I watched this, I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and watch it as a stand-alone drama, not a remake, because I loved Full House and liked Kiss Me. But I didn't like it even as a regular drama.
STORY: Story? What story? There was a story? There really was very little storyline in this drama. They sort of had the evil lady, and something about Tao getting taken away, or something along those lines... Honestly, the "story" felt like filler scenes in between the sweet scenes. The sweet scenes were really well done from a directing/script standpoint, but with no story to accompany them, the drama just felt kind of like a music video.
ACTING/CAST: Tao and Patty do a pretty good job, I especially liked Tao a little later in the drama after he relaxed into the role. He did a really good job of showing that his character isn't necessarily mean, just quiet, and that he doesn't hate Pat. Patty was pretty good too, but she really didn't add any depth to her character. Everyone else was pretty mediocre.
MUSIC: Cute, but unmemorable and choppy. It didn't contribute to the flow of the drama at all.
REWATCH VALUE: The only reasons I'd ever rewatch this is to watch Tao as the dreamy prince, or to watch the love scenes. There's not really much to watch besides those two things.
All in all, this drama was an utter disappointment, even by regular lakorn standards. The directing, costuming, and design were wonderful, but couldn't compensate for the almost nonexistent storyline and lackluster script.
I hope Ananda and the director learned that in order to make a successful remake, you have to improve on the subject material. Korean Goong was already perfect, so they couldn't improve on it. I was just hoping it'd give up a better fight...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love in the Moonlight
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude music was the reason made me continue watching it and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for 10/10 and their is a lot k-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time..
Was this review helpful to you?
Tunnel
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
What I Disliked:
- The second part of the drama felt messy
- Characters at the end got annoying ->their deduction skills started lacking at the end of the drama
- Very predictable story
- Could have been a 12 episode drama
- Many flaws to the story - some parts were not explained properly
- Choi Jin Hyuk's acting was so-so

What I liked:
- The bromance
- Lee Yoo Young's acting was great
- The supporting actors (police squad)
- First part of the drama was more enjoyable to watch than the second
Was this review helpful to you?
Goblin
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
well I love everything about this drama also the story was very good writing  and mostly I love is music in this drama dude music was the reason made me continue watching it and acting was fantastic and also romance between main leads were very sweet and I highly recommend u to watch it and u will not regret watching this drama for 10/10 and their is a lot k-drama's I have watch it but this one is the best for me guys and all u have to do is start watching it now and u will have great time watching it..go now start watching it don't waste ur time..
Was this review helpful to you?