Completed
City Hunter
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0

Great action, too much sentimental romance

I tried this out because of Lee Joon Hyuk from "Are you human too?" I like his cool, dark looks here. But this felt slow, slow at the start and then half of it was taken up with (yawn) romance and I wasn't sure if it was worth waiting for the 10 minutes of action at the end of the episode to find out what happens -the "targets" have more lives than a cat. Lee Min Ho jumping about looking pretty does not compensate. I could really not take seriously Park Min Young as a top state bodyguard? bang!! aaaaaagh - the president just got shot: ( Not a terribly original story - revenge and romance. This was on hold with me about half way through but in the second half it improved hugely, so I'm glad I stuck with it. Still too much sentimental romance for me got in the way of the plot but they certainly hooked me with the cliffhanger endings! They could have cut out the romance and taken 10+ minutes off the episodes or reduced to 16 episodes and it would have been much better all through imo. Really good towards the end. Well it got to the end and it was very well worked out, although in one respect not the ending I would have wished. Can not quite give this a 10/10 due to the above problems, but in the end a very good 9+ .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I just can't resist writing a review for this one, because it's so monumentally wonderful. The main character, Jung Joon-hyung, was so fluffy and wonderful and I loved the light, happier vibe to it, and the soundtrack was fun! I loved Kim Bok-Joo's character, too, because she could lift heavy stuff but had a desire to be feminine and pretty. I really loved how they portrayed the family dynamics and the progression of romance between the two leads. It was completely natural, and Jung Joon-hyung was so good at being so dang smitten.

I wish he didn't call Kim Bok-Joo "fatty" all the time, though, especially when she was trying to lose weight. I love his goofy character most of the time, but I thought that was a bit too mean. No insults about physical appearance. I loved that he was absolutely smitten from the start, though. He had it bad and he didn't even deny it. He was just considerate and happy and sweet to her all the time and just genuinely adored her. She didn't realize it as soon, which I thought was realistic, too, since all she knew was that she liked being around him. I loved that she came to the realization more that she never wanted to be away from him, more than just the physical romance side of things, y'know? But yeah, I loved the absolute pure joy and comfort they found with each other and how they showed their love. You never forgot that they respected each other, either, because they would always be selfless to each other, and I loved that Kim Bok-Joo made him want to be a lot more selfless and caring to her. I loved that he thought of her as a girl and wanted to treat her as such, too. Goodness gracious, I just can't give enough praise to this show!

Fluff factor: so sweet it could give you a cavity

Overall, I really enjoyed the fluffiness and lightheartedness of the show! And I'm always a sucker for fluff. I liked the acting well enough, and I absolutely loved all of Jung Joon-hyung's lovesick faces. I just can't emphasize how good he was at being so super smitten! 10/10 will probably rewatch like 8 times

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
School 2013
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is one of the first ever K-Drama's I've watched and I love it so so so much (it's still my favorite drama out of all that I've watched so far tbh). It's amazing in so many ways. I appreciate that it wasn't much (or any at all if I think about it) romance, because rather than throwing in romance, the main focus is on the students (2 in particular, you know who I mean) and their lives, friendships, struggles, ups and downs etc. I really love the chemistry between Lee Jong Suk and Kim Woo Bin, they did an excellent job in portraying their characters/roles (everything felt very real, which I appreciate a lot). Long story short - this drama through me on a rollercoaster of emotions and feels. I cried, laughed, got so mad that I wanted to punch the wall beside me, I hid behind a pillow at those cute and soft moments. Ugh, idk what else to say. I just really love and appreciate this drama. I 100% recommend others to watch this or continue to watch it if you've dropped it for some reason. <3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love by Chance
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Please Read! Hope you change your mind

Every since I knew this drama came out it changed my life completely. Some of you guys may not feel the same I respect that but here is my opinion and thoughts. I feel in love with the cast, producing, director everyone part of it, lets not even talk about the acting. This drama was based off a wonderful novel that was meant for us to see . As we all know this drama was meant to have a season 2 but because there has been a huge problem going on it turns out hat we will not be having season 2 BUT the director did mention if in the future things turn out better than before the whole cast and producing will come back and make it happen. Not only that but I been seeing and hearing many people not satisfied with the ending which I get it and is understandable. Many people have their own opinions and I respect that, but it does not mean we should let our anger takes over us rather than having faith and being supportive. I am not saying to have your hopes up to high but rather having faith which is way different than having hope. Having faith will do something for the future. There is a 50/50 chance that way may or may nor have season 2 but that is up to US and the MANEGERS. All I am trying to say is lets be supportive fans and have faith please. Love by chance will always be remembered and in our hearts! Oh one more things before I go if in the future things decide not to get better, its better if we don't get season 2 rather than having the whole cast changed. But that is all, thank you for your time. Don't forget to spread my words is possible. Please.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
5 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
The story revolves around 5 couples: AePete, TinCan, TumTar, KlaNo and PondChaAim,

The main couple is AePete and their screentime is basically 70% of the show and the remaining % are for the other couples with TinCan 15%, TumTar 5%, KlaNo 5% and PondChaAim 5%

The Director is New Siwaj Sawatmaneekul he also the director of Make it Right The Series so be prepared for the infinite easter eggs of that show.

I will not write the plot on this review because it's already written in the main page.

The Writing is pretty solid.

Is it perfect? No,

Is it something new? Also No, but it does its job. Its basically a fluff series with some angst thrown in there.

The series takles about mental illness, rape and Homophobia it wasn't written and executed 100% correctly but it does its job, which is spread awareness about the topics I written above.

The acting here is decent, it has some holes now and then especially with Can but you'll get over it because the music is everywhere in this series, which is not a bad thing I suppose but it sometimes it can be very annoying because you cant here the dialogues between the characters.

The Music, oh man! So the music is actually my favourite part of this series, the OSTs are really good, I actually downloaded some of it and listening to it, but like I written above I didnt like when they put the Music in every scene with MAX of the volume, like, I was watching a cute scene and then BOOM! the music was on, I almost got an heart attack because of it!

Is this series rewatchable? yes, it is

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love Across Time and Space
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
28 of 28 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
The costumes are kinda boring but ok. The hairstyles are pretty boring and ugly. They even manage to make my favorite actress whom I think is the prettiest actress in the world "Zhang Ting" look next to ugly. The rest of the cast are also next to ugly. But the story is very enjoyable and funny. My favorite parts are when Xiao Wanzi is with the emperor. My least is the beginning when Xiao Wanzi keeps taking advantage of the prince. The scenery waa nice. The beginning episode is probably also my favorite. This taught me a bet of the history of the ming dynasty. I wonder rather or not the roast duck events really happened in the ming dynasty. Not the fact ( Spoilers Alert! ) that a girl from the future introduced it to the ming dynasty of course. But the other stuff like the poisoning and the fact that the 2nd son of the late emperor ( Zhen Yuanzhang ) spends the rest of his life roasting duck after his title, along with all the other sons of Zhen Yuanzhang, is token way.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Are You Ready? Hey You Girl!
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama is a character introduction to a movie with the same name that came out on October 12. Although it doesn't focus much on the main character here, it builds a better foundation for the friendship and everyones relation to each other.

Five, twenty minute long episodes with super relaxed, funny and smooth characters being nerdy, bromantic and weird while they attend a cheesy high school where all the girls stalk handsome guys. Don't let that scare you away though, as cheesy as that sounds, those girls don't take up much of the screen. Instead they spent the running time on short stories of people falling in love and epic friendships.


Boys love is totally allowed

ENJOY

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hi! School - Love On
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 3.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 2.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama was definitely made for a younger audience. Although it doesn't have that exaggerated feel and it does tend to get quite serious with some issues it didn't go deep enough for me to get emotional.

it contains your typical female lead who wants to befriends with everybody and never hates or gets mad at anyone. The two "handsome" boys (who, of course, are idol actors) fighting over the female lead. Jealous mean girls. Meat head bullies with a sad past. Crazy side characters. Class clichés. Accidents and intendidents. Cheesy romance stuff that will make you puke if you've lost your virginity and last but not least; limited skinship.

The romance here is safe for children of all ages and this is because the female lead was 14 and the male lead was 23 when they shot this drama. They share one kiss and then the skinship is limited to one hug every 8 episode.

The soundtrack was really annoying. They fit in like 4 different song in a minutes to set the mood which was a big mistake because it only gave me a headache. You don't always need a song to fit the mood. Silence is the strongest weapon.

Instead of having a strong plot and keeping to it for 12 - 16 episodes, this drama has the base line "Angel loves human" and then changes the plot from one common drama to another, to keep it interesting. In the beginning it reminded me of "You who came from the stars" and other fantasy/romance dramas. Then it changed into School 2015 and other friendship and bullying centered youth dramas. Stepping over to a lighter and slightly more psycho version of School 2013s bromance before it escalates to a very unusual Romeo and Juliet and then finally dies out in a typical fantasy/romance ending with a touch of amnesia.

ENJOY!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Accidentally in Love
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
30 of 30 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Hello everyone!
This show is beautiful, the characters are loveable, the storyline is interesting and hooks you instantly. I think that the relationships in the show have a beautiful buildup and aren't rushed which often puts me off shows. But I have a major problem, CAN ANYONE FIND ME THE ACTRESS OF MEI? She is very adorable and I really want to see if she is in any other shows but I haven't been able to find the slightest bit of information about her online, so if anyone could tell me her actress name I would greatly appreciate it
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Guest
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama is really not a joke. It was very well made and everything was pretty much on point. The acting was good, the scenes brought out strong emotions and the story had a very nice way of unraveling, one episode at a time. It's the kind of drama that lingers on you for a long time even after the final credits have rolled.

You will encounter a lot of gore and unpleasant scenes. If you are sensitive to people stabbing themselves, eating their own limbs, hanging themselves or other goreful activities, DON'T watch this.

There is no romance. The main characters will slowly get closer but it's all in a nightmare like fight to avenge their families and each other.

This is not a light watch. It is bingable but it's not something you'd watch to feel happy. The story is very dark, sad and deep and plays a lot on the negative elements and emotions of people.

The acting was great and the story was interesting. Although one or two episodes felt a bit draggy, every single episode was an important part of the unraveling of the mystery. I love how they never once left the main road, instead we watched things happen on the road side and each happening was a sign, telling us where to turn next.

BUT NO DRAMA IS PERFECT.

The ending was not to my liking. To be honest, I had worked out, what I thought was a great theory, but in the end I was wrong and I'm okay with that as long as you give me something better. Instead, I felt like the writers randomly added an extra plot twist, just because, and then filmed a few extra scenes to back up their new change of course. I would have forgiven them for that if they had not ruined the potential of a brilliant ending in the next set of scenes! This is the only part of the story where the writers broke their own rules and the laws of nature just to have a happy ending which is why this drama is not a 10.

ENJOY!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love by Chance
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

ONE OF BEST series for BL lovers!

By Being 'One of the BEST' BL I mean, you will find every minute, every second, Every Moment, Smiling, Adoring, Flowing with the story. Forgetting all the 'Fantasy' part similar that 2 Moons the series had, you could believe and learn from few Rich Men's life. They processed the Lights of "Love" in every milisecond of the episode that will make you fall in the series.
BEST PART OF THIS BL
? Follows the Novel strictly and projects it very well, where several other series fails easily to do so. Storyline, though typical based on school scenes, passes through your heart following with details.
?Has Multiple couples. They are strong enough too that you will probably love them equally than main couple.
?Acting is 10 of 10. Their cuteness, frustrations, jealousy, drama mood, drunken scene, naughty attitude all flavours are extremely clean that your heart will bounce seeing their acting.
?Music is... i dunno what to say. Thai Music is, was and will be Great even if series is not good music will give you life. "Wish this love" OST by Boy Sompob is too much romantic.
? Straight guy and girl will collect lots of love even though you are for BL here.
? Accidentally watch it and fall in love, what are you waiting for XD
What I dont like is :
One couple gets incomplete ending that might break your heart.
If you believe in official tweets, chances of Season 2 is Like "No S2".
Not for those who want something like SOTUS or Chinese Wild insane lovestory.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Delicious Destiny
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
56 of 56 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
The story of this drama is way too easy to guess. I mean from episode one it was kinda going in one direction. I usually try to guess the story of the drama/movie and some good drama/movie actually are easy to guess but they maintain a suspense in the show. This story has a lacked in the suspense department. As for the romance, this drama has maintained an image of innocent and selfless romance but also able to accomplish the title of cruel and selfish one-sided love. The story is about the rich and poor class which I personally hate while watching the drama.

As for the acting, Mike is a Thai actor and it's hard for him to adjust in Chinese language but he did his best. I won't say that his acting was perfect but it was remarkable. As for Mao Xiao Tong, I have a great impression of her in love o2o as a bubbly and funny character which was beautifully played. This character is quite different from the other character but it was hard to believe that she totally nailed it. Other characters like supporting actors were very much annoying 'cause their role was annoying which I guess they have played it very well.

Music was soothing and basically, I barely noticed it because the drama was way too much to handle. This drama has delivered so many emotion like anger, happiness, sadness, frustration, revenge, forgiveness, love, and so much more. For once you are supporting one character and on another, you are hating that character. If you are looking for an example of 'bird with the same feather flock together' then this is the drama.

Overall good drama. I not gonna rewatch this drama cause this is too much for me to get upset about the whole story again and again. As for the other viewers, it depends on their own choice.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kleun Cheewit
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
Bad idea to binge watch this. Finished the series in 2 days. It was emotionally draining. It was like going on a roller coaster ride. I had a headache after I finished the last episode. So much anger, sadness, disappointment and frustration. Not to add the misunderstandings which weren’t all resolved until the last 2 episodes. The Nang’ek has gone through so much heartaches I’m surprised she survived up to the last episode. It was a consolation that she fought back each time otherwise I would’ve dropped this.
And can we talk about Piak - the pathological jealous wife of the director. She’s on the top list of my most annoying villains in dramas. Her jealous fits started from episode 1 all the way to episode 14. It just went on and on that I fast forwarded everytime she appeared on the screen towards the last few episodes. She did apologise to her poor husband but not to our Nang’ek. To the end she was unapologetic to Jee. Considering that she hired someone to slap the her several times when they were shooting a lakorn.
Urrasaya was outstanding in this one. It must’ve been very hard to be crying in nearly every episodes and so many times. The parts where she had to appear tough towards her bullies was well acted. She did look tough but you can still see all that vulnerabilities she tried to hide.
Mark still looked sweet even on the scenes where he was bullying Urrasaya or when he was very angry.
The Nang’ek’s bff and her love interest were quite boring. I think this was done intentionally to balance with the tumultuous and volatile relationship between then main leads.
If you’re looking for sweet moments, there’s not many. I did feel their chemistry - mostly when they were arguing with each other.
If you can’t handle too much sadness and anger in a drama, this isn’t for you. Or maybe don’t binge watch it. It is a well made lakorn, one of the best I’ve seen so far in terms of casts, acting, storyline and production. But I don’t think I’ll be watching it again. I just can’t handle that much drama. Too draining. I’ll be watching a light-hearted romantic comedy after this, just so I can recover from this roller coaster ride.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Gifted
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers

MY CURRENT FAVORITE THAI SERIES!!!

!!spoilers are at the very end of my review!!
okkkk get ready for a rant about how much i love this series!!!


STORY/PLOT:
- oh man! this series is just a whole rollercoaster ride with many twists and up & down moments! the plot is the key to it, it makes the series so intriguing and interesting to watch! to be honest, i'm not a big fan of thriller dramas but i have a big soft spot for supernatural dramas, which is the reason why i started watching this series. even if you're not a big thriller fan like me, you'll definitely enjoy this! the plot knows how to lure the viewers with its distinct way of telling the uniqueness of the story! i also love the way each character's ability are told, used and symbolize in their own stories!


ACTING/CAST:
can i just say something real quick? how are all the characters so likable even if they're not at the same time? like every single one of them is! ughh i just love all my babies so much!

Nanon Korapat Kirdpan as Pang (Mind Control) - alright...i'm not going to lie to you, but Nanon is the actual reason why i watched this series (i just love him so much uwu) and of course, he never disappoints me with his acting! whenever he cried, i also wanted to cry and give him a big hug! Pang's characteristics fit Nanon so well, sometimes playful and funny but mostly serious and cool.

Chimon Wachirawit Ruangwiwat as Wave (Electrokinesis) - even though, i love Nanon and his character so much, Wave has to be my favorite character! almost every character in this series went through character development, but Wave's character went through the biggest and i love seeing his development throughout! also, i am still shiook about how different Chimon can be in this series, it's so weird seeing him play a jerk-ish character after all the gentle and friendly characters he played!

Lilly Apichaya Thongkham as Namtarn (Be able to see the past of an object or person by touch) - oh yess, my second favorite girl (you'll see my first later on hehe)! she's such a nerdy and kinda badass girl, because she just isn't afraid and so brave, despite the fact that if she uses her power a lot, her health will weaken and she'll pass out. she's also loyal and seems like a very good friend who would do anything for them! and i also smell a bit of her having a crush on Pang...

Sing Harit Cheewagaroon as Ohm (Make thing or people disappear by touch) - this guy is basically one of those optimistic and goofy friends that every main character have, however more serious and a bit sentimental when needed. In which the actor portrayed very well!

Jane Ramida Jiranorraphat as Claire (Can see people's feeling by color) - yasss the queen is here! this girl is such a drama queen and i love it! Jane is an amazing actress, she always reminds me of a sassy drama queen like Claire and so this character fits her so well!

Gun Atthaphan Phunsawat as Punn (be able to copy others' skill quickly) - another one of my favorite Thai actor! in this series, Gun played Punn who has multiple personality disorder so he got the opportunity to show more of his acting skills and it is incredible! it's so strange seeing him plays a dark/mysterious character, but he is still adorable!

Puimek Napasorn Weerayuttvilai as Mon (Superstrength? she's excellent at every sport) - yeyyy it's my favorite girl! i love this girl so much, ok yea i'm a bit bias because Puimek is my favorite Thai actress, yet Mon is an amazing character too! Puimek never really gets to showcase her acting skill, but in this series, she got to and she did pretty well. if i have to be honest, her actions scenes are more memorable than her acting itself. however, i still love her and Mon!

Fiat Pattadon Janngeon as Korn (never get tired & heal fast) - i relate to him so much! he's such a nice guy that deserves the world but he always ends up getting hurt, i mean like mentally. i was like c'mon, he just want someone to truly love him! overall, i love his character and the actor!

JJ Chayakorn Jutamat & AJ Chayapol Jutamat as Jo & Jack (synchronization) - wELp the twin that gets no screentime whatsoever! maybe because their power didn't have much to elaborate into the story, but i would love to see their backstory and more about each of them.

Victor Chatchawit Techarukpong as Teacher Pom (Hypnosis) - his character plays a very important part in the story! i love seeing Victor plays a mature and serious teacher, unlike some of his past works, and which he also got to show a lot of his amazing acting skill!

Teacher Ladda - she is so badass and cool and scary too!
School Principal - i want to hate this guy so bad but i can't, i don't know why to be honest! he's so freaking awesome and so clever with his trick! he's mostly the person who create plot twists in the series.


MUSIC:
- i love how the opening song fits the theme, mood, tone, and concept that the series is going for! the sounds effect are on fleak! i don't really pay attention to the detail for music nor sounds effect so i'm not going to go into deep!


REWATCH VALUES:
- HELL yEah i will watch this again, every time i feel bored or if the season 2 is coming! i will recommend this to my friends, my brother, cousins, and everyone!


ok bai you can stop reading now...unless you like spoilers then yea sure keep on reading!



!SPOILERS!
- the ending got me so hype! the ending is so unique and isn't like your typical thriller drama where the main character that wants to make a change and did change it at the end, nope! in this series, Pang did not change the school system or win against the school principal because it is not what the series is about, it is about not giving up! in the end, you'll see Pang tried and failed, got his memories erased but when he got his memories back he did not give up! therefore, season two here we goooooo!

- if you're watching the series and is worrying about the characters being normal again after getting shots with the serum that can 'make their powers disappear' then don't worry! those are actually just vitamins hehe..because they can never get rid of their powers, it's actually innate!


here are the character's abilities details and their side effects, if you're interested!

Pang - control people's mind by touching them (took the longest to realize his ability)
Wave - control electricity by touch
Namtarn - Be able to see the past of an object or person by touch with the side effect of her health weaken
Ohm - Make thing or people disappear by touch with the side effect of nose bleeding
Claire - Can see people's feeling by color (every time she blinks)
Punn - be able to copy others' skill quickly but he has multiple personality disorder (one of them is evil)
Mon - excellent at every sport but her sweats are like drugs, makes people crazy
Korn - never get tired & heal fast with the side effect of not sleeping
Jo & Jack - synchronization, physically and mentally(kinda)
Teacher Pom - Hypnosis, erase memories but he can only use it when a metronome is present
School Principal - same power as Pang, mind control

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Switched
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
6 of 6 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Wherever you go, there you are.

Even if "there" is the body of the cute and popular girl with the perfect boyfriend - the girl that you desire to be.

Tomita Miu truly shines in this body-swapping tale of Ayumi Kohinata; a friendly, happy, pretty and popular girl who finds herself swapped with ugly, overweight and miserable fellow student, Zenko Umine.

At a short six episodes, this mini-series is tightly and expertly-written and explores not just adolescence, bullying and beauty standards but also envy and the demoralising and dehumanising impact of abuse. If you think that's an awful lot to pack into six episodes, you'd be right. If I have any criticism of this show, it's that a lot of the emotional journey was told in shorthand due to the length. The final episode, in particular, was rushed and truncated and lost several opportunities to tell a larger story. I anticipate the inevitable Korean version, extended to 16 episodes and lingering painfully over every melodramatic moment.

Aside from the performances, some of which were truly exceptional, this show's strength lies in its ability to surprise and to continually undercut audience expectations, especially around the usual cliches and tropes of Japanese dramas. The female characters feel real and three-dimensional, -there's not a sign of kawaii culture anywhere except in the unfair expectations of a beauty-obsessed culture- and there isn't a tsundere man in sight.

The writers could have told this story in stale cliches - Ayumi as a bully, Zenko as evil - but regularly refuse to do so, insisting we see the entire picture even when it's tempting not to. Both female leads are completely the product of their lives until this point and they take that into their new bodies even if they don't want to.

In fact, if it wasn't for the mini-series format and the rushed final episode, this would be a contender for Japanese drama of the year.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions