Completed
Legend of Fu Yao
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
66 of 66 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
the best c-drama i've ever watched with the beautiful story, good cinematography and the amazing acting from all casts.i watched this series for the first time is because yangmi, i'm yangmi fans. but from this series i totally be ethan fans too. his acting performance is very good. he is talented actor. i wish can see him and yangmi again in another series, if can i prefer in modern series. for acting, i think all casts did their good jobs not only main role, all support role actually their role very well. i like all ost from this series too, the background music is very suitable for every scene too.i think this series is deseves to rewatched again. i definitely will buy the dvd too.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My ID is Gangnam Beauty
14 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
I feel like this is probably an unpopular opinion, however I found this drama to very mediocre... For a show that keeps pushing the idea that beauty isn't everything and personality matters more, you would think they would give the two leads some pretty interesting personalities to work with. But no, the two leads were the most uninteresting characters I think I have ever come across in a Korean drama. The only "chemistry" they had, was the fact that they were both in the chemistry department at school. The male lead seemed to only have one facial expression; brooding. His only attractive quality (pretty much his only quality in general) was that he was extremely attractive. And even that was spoonfed to us each episode by characters needing to excessively point out that fact. When the two leads were in scenes together it was almost painful to watch. The only character who actually had depth was Soo Ah.

The story? There basically was none. Pretty much everything that happens in the drama is written in the description for this drama...

I also feel I need to point out that this drama seems to be being praised left and right for apparently having a strong message, but it completely fails to deliver when it has multiple product placement ads for weightloss tools such as real diet pills and drinks. What a joke.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
I Hear Your Voice
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I think I've watched this series twice now. I love the idea of the person who can hear others thoughts, but really doesn't want to hear them. I also like that he uses what he "hears" to help those around him and not generally for his own personally gain.

This show has some fantastic lines that just stick with you and make you smile. The female lead, played by Lee Bo Young, is tough to like at first, but she grows on you. The male lead, played by Lee Jong Suk, though significantly younger than that female lead is able to put her in her place at times. Their banter/conversations are some of the best parts of the show. The second male lead, played by Yoon Sang Hoon, is also an awesome character. He starts out as someone you might find annoying and ends up someone easy to look up to.

The music is good and fits the show well.

This show is just great. There are a couple episodes that I found annoying because I am not a fan of the trope used in them, but over all, I love this show and will probably rewatch it over and over again in the future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Minami-kun no Koibito: My Little Lover
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
When I was growing up I was a huge fan of the Saturday morning live action teen tv shows like "Saved By the Bell", "My Secret Identity" and "California Dreams." I love this show so much because it reminds me of those types of shows, but done way better. In fact, this is one of my top three J-Dramas so far.

The acting is very good in this show, though there is one character who is just a bit over the top for my tastes. Overall though, really well done acting from this cast. I adored the two leads together. They are just fun to watch. I have rewatched this series more than once and often I just watch the scenes with the two main leads because they are just great fun!

The music is appropriate for the show. I'm not as familiar with J-pop as I am K-pop, so none of the songs really stick out for me, but they are good.

As for rewatchability...absolutely yes!! As I said, I've already watched this series several times and I probably will watch it again in the future. It's just a great show to sit back and enjoy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Queen In Hyun's Man
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10

Queen of Dramas

This was one of my first Dramas to watch. I absolutely fell in love with it! I have watched and rewatched it several times and I just cannot get sick of it no matter how many times I see it. There is action, adventure, intrigue, a history lesson, and romance spewing out of every episode. Seriously, this is a good drama to start with if you haven't seen any before. This was my second K-Drama and I will admit that it was this drama that made me catch the drama fever. It'll keep you hooked and sitting at the edge of your seat to see what happens next. If you are interested in the full review go to: https://www.dramaaddictscorner.com/blog/the-queen-of-dramas

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
I know this show is not new but I just watched and finished it and Absolutely Loved It. I would have to say it's gone into my top favorite dramas of all. After I was done with it I learned that it is based on a true story and I think that's really cool. This show is definitely not getting as much love as it deserves from viewers, it should - it has that perfect blend of humor and romance and cuteness.
I really loved everything about this show. The main actress is just great in this role and I loved her in Cheese and the Trap as well as was the male lead as they were both supporting roles in that show and leads here. We have a spunky strong female lead and a guy who is sort of in the shadow but who is the best sort of guy.
First of all this is a sports rom com so it might not be for everyone but I loved it even though I am not so much a sports fan in general. The goal of working to win a medal is a big goal but it's not the only goal in the female leads life, she also wants to have a boyfriend and be a girl. The weight lifting girls are not treated so well by their rivals the gymnasts and this was so relatable. There are so many humorous situations and things that the female lead gets herself into. A big part of it is her lying and creating problems that did not need to exist but in this case the lies really create whole episode situations. She definitely does not fall for the main guy at first but he is the friend for a long time so it progresses slow in the romance department but it is so strong when they finally do get together that they are just so cute as a couple and have great chemistry together. I think this female lead has to be my favorite in a long time and this couple is just so cute. She is great with over top sort of girl and I think she is an awesome actress.
I highly recommend this show to anyone who likes strong female leads or if you liked Strong Woman Do Bong Soon you will probably love this as well.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Like Love: Uncut Version
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contains spoilers
I just stumbled on this last night and, I must say, this is the most powerful BL series I've seen so far. Others have been entertaining and enjoyable to watch, but Like Love really hits on something so important: namely, the effect of conservative parents and families on their gay children.

An's coming out to his family was very brave and unapologetic (good for him), but still brought out the worst in them: the sister was disgusted and even tried to hit on Maiding. An's father beat him and his mother tried cutting her own wrist as a result. And the blackmailing continued, especially on the mother's part. They all berated An for "shaming" the family and putting his own feelings above theirs. An's grandfather was the only one with common sense and empathy.

Maiding kept his secret hidden for much longer (along with flat-out pretense), which was understandable considering the pressure his parents were putting on him to "get a girlfriend." When Maiding finally admitted the truth, his grandmother had what looked to be a mild heart attack and his mother went bat-shit ballistic. At the expense of his own happiness, Maiding was ready to bail on his relationship with An, as a result of his mother's reprehensible behavior. (Thank goodness An refused to accept this and helped to change her opinion in the end).

To me, this is perhaps the most important--and unfortunately, realistic--issue that gay children face: feelings of shame and being loathed by and excommunicated from their families. Kudos to Like Love for approaching this topic head-on (especially from an ultra-conservative country such as China). The moral of the story is (or at least should be) that no one should ever, EVER be expected to live someone else's life. This type of pressure never comes from anything other than selfishness on the part of the family. The results can be absolutely devastating... and this happens every day, all over the world.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Are You Human Too?
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
36 of 36 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Are You Human Too? is a sci-fi rom com. It reminded me a little bit of I'm Not a Robot but it's sort of the reverse. What I thought was great about this was Seo Kang Joon - his acting playing the cold human and the sweet robot in the same show was just great because this role really gave him the opportunity to show a wide range of acting skills and emotions all in one show. You will just fall in love with his robot side in this show, and what is funny of course is the robot is more human than the human. Throughout watching this I couldn't wait to see it on the nights it was out as I was watching it while it aired each episode here. I loved the way his character developed and was able to get emotions and love. At times he reminded me of Data from Star Trek. I also loved the female character Gong Seong Yeon how she loved the robot for who he was so it was not just the outer shell which both guys had the same but their real inner selves. The chemistry between the leads was great. I really loved this show and not just for the romance but I really thought the whole drama and plot were done well and it always kept me wanting to see it. I don't want to give any spoilers but I highly recommend this. A truly great show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My ID is Gangnam Beauty
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
I just finished this show last night so I wanted to write a review, and I will say I am in the middle on this one, it's not the best drama but I it was good and it grew on me. By the end I liked it a lot more than in the middle. I am trying to review this well but not give anything away. It did start off pretty strong with her past and also with fun points like her dancing. The theme of the drama about overcoming bullying and about dealing with the good and the bad points of plastic surgery were really handled very well and were one of the strongest points of this show. So it's more meaningful than some rom-coms. I really liked Mi Rae's relationship with her parents and also with CEO Na. The details on Mi Rae's past and her previous interaction with CEO Na were important. I liked also how she worked to improve her relationship with her Dad and also improve Kyung Suk's relationship. I liked their friendship and more and the fact than Kyung Suk did not give up on her. Also they did not give up on people who could have become enemies either and I liked that a lot. Soo Ah's character also had more depth than I thought at first. I also liked the realistic friendship between the girls and the other girls both being catty but then also being caring. They were not cardboard figures. I liked Mi Rae's character a lot even though I was frustrated at her caring so much about what other's thought I also totally understand that part of her. Kyung Suk's character is cold but you could see his subtle emotions and I really grew to like him. Overall this drama lags a little in the middle but it delivers at the end and leaves you with good feels.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My ID is Gangnam Beauty
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contains spoilers
AHHH! Where do I start? Firstly, I enjoyed watching this drama immensely and would and will rewatch it. I definitely recommend to any and everyone, as well! <3

>>>>>Story<<<<<
The plot to "My ID is Gangnam Beauty" was one that I never really saw before. I've seen dramas with plastic surgery, but not like this. When I first read the synopsis to the show, I thought it would be a shallow show about good looks, but I couldn't have been more wrong. Yes, the plastic surgery played a major role in the show and how the characters developed, but not in a negative way. And there was so much more! It's a story about loving yourself before you can love someone else, or before you can even believe that another person can love you. It's truly beautiful. And personally, it hit home for me. I have incredibly low self esteem and hate the way I look and weigh, which just made me love this show and the message it carries even more! My ID is Gangnam Beauty is a story that will make you cry hard enough for people to think your strange, laugh hard enough to be yelled at by the other people in your house, and smile hard enough to make you look like a complete idiot.

>>>>>Acting/Cast<<<<<
I fell for these characters SO HARD! From the very first episode I was already in love. I just have to say Cha Eun Woo, who plays Do Kyung Suk, the main male lead, is THE most adorable human being. His smile is one that you cannot help but smile back at. This drama had me smiling like an idiot to myself so many times! Not to mention Kyung Suk played the perfect boyfriend as girl could only imagine in her dreams. Not only was he handsome and kind, but he never had a shallow moment. He didn't care about looks at all, which, to me, meant so much! In addition to that, the other actors and actresses were great, as well. I really loved Kyung Suk's mom! I thought she was exactly the type of mother character that should be in every drama. Every Korean drama fan should know the typical "your not good enough for my son/daughter" type of parent, but she was the complete opposite; she was loving, kind, funny, and an all-round good person. I also really enjoyed seeing Kwak Dong Yeon in another drama. He was amazing as always! The combination of him and Eun Woo was SO MUCH for my heart to handle! The bromance was great there, as well. This drama has characters you will love and characters you will absolutely despise, but in the end, when you finish the show, your not left with strong negative feelings; which is something you don't see much (at least I don't). It might just be me, but when I watch these shows, I WATCH these shows! I get so invested in the characters and hate the bad guys, which was also the case for this one. But the difference is, the main antagonist had her reasons for being the way she was and acting the way she did. I'm not saying I loved her character by the end, but I didn't hate her anymore. But there was one character who I found incredibly disgusting and annoying throughout the entire show, that didn't change at all, but I don't have any terrible feelings towards the show because of him.

>>>>>Music<<<<<
I enjoyed listening to the music while it played, but they weren't the type of songs that got stuck in my head. They were really nice songs, but not the kind that I downloaded on Spotify. They definitely fit the show and the scenes very nicely, though.

>>>>>Rewatch Value<<<<<
Would I watch this show again? 100%!!! This show was so good that I actually started it, put in on hold, waited for more episodes, then finished it. That might seem like I had the opposite feelings towards it, but that's SO not the case! Personally, I easily get obsessed with shows before they are completed, then, after having to wait so long for the rest of the episodes, just never go back to watch them. This show was good enough for me NOT to do that! I've dropped so many shows I rated a 10 because I do this. Not only that, but this is a Rom-Com type of show, which I usually get sick of and drop eventually, or it takes me forever to finish. Anyhow, I recommend and love this drama completely! <3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
EXO Next Door
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I enjoyed watching this a lot, it was funny, cute, and overall really good. the whole thing was good, I liked the story, the cast and everything else about this. At some points it was a little cringey, but also funny. And I really think its a cute story. If you haven watched it you really should! And if you have watched it I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. Or even more, it thats possible since I really loved it a lot. And if your not a EXO-L you should become one,e ven though EXO and EXO-L is a mess sometimes xD
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My ID is Gangnam Beauty
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contains spoilers
I was hooked to this drama by episode 3/4. I waited impatiently every friday and saturday night for the subs. This is a nice, easy to watch drama. That’s not to say that it’s all fluff, the drama is about more than just the central romance. It tackles issues such as body image, self confidence, gender inequality and different forms of abuse.

The pacing was good, the story didn’t drag. The acting was good, the lead actors really embodied their characters and they had chemistry.

SPOILERS
*
*
*
The second female lead character was mean, self-centered and two-faced. It got very annoying how much she tried to interfere with the main couple. She had some serious issues. They do give some background at the end as to why she acts that way but while I did pity her a little I didn’t sympathise with her as much as I think the writers wanted me to.
It was refreshing though how the male lead saw right through her and didn’t buy her fake nice act.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My ID is Gangnam Beauty
4 people found this review helpful
by J100
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 1.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contains spoilers

Stroy
It's a huge topic, really painful issue, close to the heart, like you don't even understand just until you going through this kind of thing, shaming in school and women status in the society, two strong ideas

the contrast of the ideas are so strong you can't excape unless you are teen and you dream to find your first love , or maybe you fall in love with handsome boy in your class...so you like it a lot, it's a fairytale, but if you older you understand the meaning behinde this contrasts

The opening was promising (but than in the middle of episode 1 i realise it's another mediocre Kdrama)

1. The girl trying to kill herself and after that went changing her all face , not just one thing but overall!!! this is the opening
To go through this kind of moves- it's something huge and painful, it's like you take what mother earth/ god or parents give you and erase it forever, you don't like anything in your face and your life you don't treasure even a piece of it and think only what the society think of you ,

So if You are a ugly woman- people judge you and throw you out of the society

after she come to change her life she meet a handsome guy, he rescue her from all kinds of situations, yes! she can also do it alone but he appears every time and comfort her, he is there all the time until their romance become the main story

She even end up choosing him just because he look good, he can't provide anything like strong communication or deep dialogue
What exactly they have together ? what keeps them together? we don't even know realy

2. Soo ha - the woman that become mentaly ill from the idea of beauty

That was some of a great role she had, she play it amazingly . yet they didn't gave her even the privilege to reveal all her emotions through her past.
in the webtoon it's very strong.with flashbacks , her past story with the bad grandmother, her lousy mother that abandoned her, her father, she didn't even get this benefit even if they had enough time to show it...they choose to focuse on the bitch part and the romance= men

3. Another woman - Na Hye Seong the mother- her husbend use violent against her make her lose her ability to smell , lose her future as a woman and also lose her custedy of her kids , they choose not to get in the deep of it and in some way to defend the father. it's subtle you can't see it at first just if you read the webtoon you understand

She lose her all , he wants her to be pretty and shut up, the webtoon made her story very very powerful but here....no no no, we just have some parts

4. The fat woman - nobody want her because she is fat

In Sk you fat you end up as a joke, fat woman maybe worse? i don't know
but she end up just taking about Soo ha, why exactly? why they focus on Soo ha and not the man that betray her ....don't u find it funny as well?

There are more women..but i skip it

Acting and cast

all of the actors are looking good, even the "fat" actress look attractive, it's draw all the attention of the beauty and the status of women in the society to the power of a romance equal "men" , but more than that you didn't get anyone looking bad...how funny is that

Skills: Overall half of the cast was good actors, the others not so much

i loved Jo woo Ri and Im soo H they amazing actresses in this drama, for me they was the best
and the only scenes i can watch was with 2 of them,
The men...ho well, the lead actor is very very bad, is worse than bad, he just stand there like a tree and gaze at nothing...very strange,

Park Joo Mi..she is very strange actress,look more slay to me, fake, also what they made her to be very strange unlike the webtoon, her background story also related to women status - they menage to cover up her story so much you can't even relate to her.
Her actions in the drama was contrast in the best.too much. from women that dissapeared for so long to a loving caring mom...they could have develope her background story but they cover up the violence and the battle of custody, they could have make her story also on the spot. but it bacame trashy

To tell the truth i feel sory behalf the actresses that play in this drama, i feel sory for them to go through this like they in some of a cage or prison, maybe they want to reveal their personal toughts but just have to play this dumb role again and again, but here it's more hurtful because they need to face this issue strongly intensively
especialy Im soo H



Music
The same old mediocre ost, nothing moving or make you feel something. just for the sake of Cha Eun Woo to earn more money.and trying to be SUNG SI KUNG will not even near

instead of taking some underground band or anonymous singers that sing from their heart
or maybe even old old korean songs

Overall
This is a cruel issue that women suffer a lot, even men suffer this days, but women suffer twice, to make this happy ending and all this romance out of it as escape of this issue it's ugly, it's even slump, and the only reason behind this is purely of the sake of money, it's a huge industry of plastic surgeries control the finance of sk, i feel so sad people will not understand how much it influence this drama,it's like they don't even care of people..there' no morality left.
because it was such advertising drama and the last episodes are the worse.

This drama should have been darker, less sweet, more rough feeling, dark like even with sad ending.

i don't think it would happened in real life , all those sweet taking with this bad actor called CEW, i write enough of him. i think most of the audience are his fans and teens so they love this kind of dramas, the editing is with high quality producers but the overall plot was so hard to watch i just force my self to watch this .. the plot had a lot of potential it could be one master piece but they just though about money and teens...i feel it's sad because it's such a good topic and important one,


Rewatch Value
No

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My ID is Gangnam Beauty
4 people found this review helpful
by 3GGG
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
PLOT: Slow paced, ambitious & thought-provoking.
--------------------------------------------------------------
This drama (as well as its source material) depicts a love story wrapped around a social critique of the often cruel role "beauty standards" play in women's daily life. Meeting those beauty standards has become a source of stress for women worldwide, but in South Korean culture --as this drama suggests-- not being part of the "ideal beauty" results in a harsher treatment from society. This drama also emphasizes that the expectation to look a certain way affect everyone in different ways -- with no one --regardless of whether they are considered naturally beautiful or not-- being spared.

In that respect, Mi-Rae (our female lead) isn't the shallow person the summary might imply. It takes just the first episode to understand how she became a victim of society's expectations. She didn't undergo surgery to become beautiful, she just wanted people to accept her as a "person," which is incredibly heartbreaking.

The issue that arises afterward, one which she hadn't anticipated, was that people would still judge, reject and critique her. And that's where the story takes off. We not only follow Mi Rae as she gains confidence, but also other interesting characters who'd been suffering because (or for) their looks.

It's worth noting, however, that the pacing of this show is slow compared to other rom-com dramas. I'd say it's a stretch to tag it with comedy, since the comedic moments, despite how successfully they are implemented, are few and far between. That's not to say the show is weighted down by an overload of melodrama, because it's not. Instead, this show can be described as a sliced of life focused on self-reflection which, if you're open to it, will get you emotionally invested in the characters. Be forewarned, many of the male characters in this show (and some of the female ones) will definitely rile you up on more than one occasion.

If I have one critique apart from the wardrobe, it would be the disbalance in the portrayal of the male characters. Except for a few gems, all the male characters were written like jerks and that can be off-putting. Some balanced between jerks and good guys could've helped the show feel less dramatic.

MAIN CHARACTERS: Interesting & lovable
--------------------------------------------------------------
Kang Mi Rae (female lead played by Im Soo Hyang): She's a character who's suffered all her childhood because her looks didn't meet her peer's standards. She grew up as an introvert, keeping away from people, looking at other people's life from afar and wishing she was allowed to have fun. Her frustration drove her to seek solace under the knife and, though she now had an acceptable face in society's eyes, her insides were still bruised and broken. Mi Rae is a complex and balanced character. If push comes to shove she'll fight, but mostly she tries to fly under the radar. She's smart and almost a natural when it comes to creating perfumes, but she struggles with an inferiority complex and doesn't like standing in the limelight. Though the actress looks quite old for the role, it is worth noting that the character was conceived by the webtoon artist as having an "older girl" look, so it stays true to the original intent.

Do Kyung Suk (male lead played by Cha Eun Woo): He exists on the opposite side of the spectrum from Kang Mi Rae but also grows up feeling lonely. He's a handsome, smart, strong, kind and very straightforward guy whose isolation came as a result of presenting a front of "perfection" and "hating" anything to do with beauty (for reasons later explained). As a result, he's socially awkward, brutally honest and a harsh judge. Though, to his credit, he's a character whose pride doesn't get in the way of realizing when he's made a mistake and make amends. Though some viewers didn't like his acting, personally I found his stoic way of delivering lines grew on me more and more as the show progressed.

Yeon Woo Young (second male lead played by Kwank Dong Yeon): He's such a good character that he ends up giving Kyung Suk a run for his money. He's kind, honest, selfless and very mature. Though his character is a bit imbalanced (as in he has more strengths than flaws), he's still a lovable man who, despite his good points, doesn't come off as being "too perfect". He's a character who helps those around him without expecting anything in return, even when he's financially struggling. Overall, his charming personality earned him fans within and outside the show.

ANTAGONIST: Complex and pitiful
--------------------------------------------------------------
Hyeon Soo Ah (second female lead played by Jo Woo Ri): She's someone stuck between Mi Rae and Kyung Suk in the spectrum of society's judgment. Though she's considered a natural beauty, she's not a stranger to suffering. Her struggles come from forcing herself to live in service of what other people expect of her. She's a character who's not only dishonest with other people, but with herself as well. Though she earned quite a bit of hate, I personally found her character very pitiful. The drama ended up brushing over her backstory, so if you're curious you can always check out the webtoon to get a better understanding of her motivations.

PORTRAYAL OF ROMANCE: Slow paced, healthy & nurturing
--------------------------------------------------------------
I mentioned before that the show is slow-paced and this is true for the romance as well. However, that pacing allows the progression of classmates to friends to lovers to feel very natural and endearing. There's a lot of cute scenes between the leads without making it cheesy, which is a plus for me.

Some highlights of the romance:
-Their relationship is always healthy.
-Both characters are new at romance, so they take their time to find their ground and, though they stumble, they do it together.
-Both learn from each other, creating a very balanced relationship.
-They learn to communicate what they want and need so the other person can understand, making their relationship not only refreshingly endearing but also nurturing.

OVERALL: Highly Recommended (and the webtoon as well)
--------------------------------------------------------------
This is an interesting slice of life that follows a group of characters trying to find their place in the world and build the courage to live by their standards, rather than society's judgment. Though it's slow-paced, the plot is interesting and the mood is often lightened up by warm moments of affection between the leads, their families and their friends.

Keep in mind, I saw this as it was coming out. So binge watching it might give you a different experience because the plot moves slowly and the acting can sometimes come off looking/sounding very wooden. However, this is doubtlessly a memorable show that'll give you food for thought.

If you're able and willing, I'd also encourage you to read the webtoon. There's a lot of insight to be gained that will help you get a better viewing experience. There are scenes, especially at the beginning of the drama, that'll make more sense if you know the context the webtoon provides.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My ID is Gangnam Beauty
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
To be honest, I didn't have particularly high expectations going into this drama and was pleasantly surprised. It's possible that my rating is a bit higher than it deserves because it was so much better than what I was expecting. I did enjoy it, though some of it was pretty rough around the edges story-wise. It was an interesting conceit: Young woman who grew up being teased for being ugly fixes the outside, but still has all the same insecurities and problems on the inside that she had before the surgery. Therefore, she has no coping skills/mechanisms for her new life as someone pretty enough to garner regular attention just for her looks. The story kept /almost/ introducing plots and then abandoning them very quickly, like they were afraid to full commit. Poor Cha Eun Woo. So much flat effect. I was not particularly familiar with him prior to this show but having seen him on promotions in some variety shows, I feel like the choices to make his character so flat effect don't really give him any time to shine here.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?