Completed
Oh! My Emperor: Season Two
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
21 of 21 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
In my review for season one, I had said that I've seen a few dramas like this with the same general idea of time travel or someone coming from another world (being from past, future, or planet) and this drama was no different. It was light and goofy and had less of a story-line vs the first season which made me ultimately not love it. We start where we had left off except at the end of the first season, we have Emperor Tang drive his sword through Fei Fei who had been force fed Black Pearl which made her into one of the insane soldiers that The Zodiac Kingdom is trying to defeat, but because of having so much power from being the master of Ophiuchus, she was almost a "power bank" to give strength to their enemies. Given that information and thinking there was no second season, we assumed that Emperor Tang just murdered the love of his life (even though he basically banished her after finding out she was a Ophiuchus), but instead she somehow survived and was chained up in the dungeon.

What got my upset about the beginning of this drama was how literally everyone was hesitant after the whole possession thing, understandably, but the one person who should have had faith in her and should have saved her, was the one who pushed away the most. He allowed everyone else to save her, while sneaking in to see if she was ok. I was honestly surprised how quickly she forgave him. And I feel like that is what this season was about. Yes there was the plot that they found out that the people of Orion, not Ophiuchus, were the ones that were behind the poisoning and possession of the Ophiuchus people as well as the reason for the late emperor's death. And everyone was trying to find evidence and stop them, but ultimately getting into more trouble. BUT that was all overshadowed by Fei Fei and Emperor Tang's cringy attempts of figuring out their relationship as well as all the other zodiac members wanting to find love as well. Which is fine, but it felt almost unnecessary with the ending we got. From season one, Virgo and Leo finally found some common ground and they ended up getting together before Fei Fei and Tang as well as advancing their relationship. They were cute, but I didn't understand why (spoiler) they made her pregnant because we were never going to see the birth of their baby given the time frame of when it happened and that insane climax and ending. I mean it is cute how far they both came to having a child together, but unnecessary. Then we have Cancer and Chen from season one - Chen being in love with Fei Fei, and continuing to be in love with her in this season, and Cancer being in love with Chen since childhood. I felt bad for Cancer as she was trying to get him to fall in love with her, but I enjoyed how they didn't force their relationship as I believe Chen loved Fei Fei, maybe even more than Emperor Tang. It wasn't until the climax when I thought it was a little forced, but still it wasn't like they kissed and realized they loved one another. I believe if they did end up making them fall in love, my rating would have gone down. I don't like forced relationships especially when it happens after a person was still in love with another. Like homie, that's a rebound. Cancer would have been the rebound. Third, we have Prince Tang aka Aquarius who had fallen in love with Orion's princess after she had tricked him and kidnapped him. He has such a good heart and believes that everyone deserves a second chance to be happy and I felt like this season revolved the most around him and Xia Bing (Bing Bing). I wasn't the biggest fan of her, but yeah I get it. She had loyalty to her people and family. In a way, she caused a lot of death in the final episodes and it hurt seeing the prince hurt. I think he had the WORST fate out of everyone in this drama which hurts a lot because he was and still is my favorite character. I think this season made me realize that I am leaning more towards dislike for the emperor, especially in that final fight scene where he sucked at fighting and didn't event try to survive to see his bride again. Finally, I think my favorite relationship, which wasn't even a real one, just an insinuated one towards the end of the drama was between Aries and Sagittarius. Sag was possessed most of the time in this drama and Aries wanted to know what love was like where I kind of felt that Gemini might have had a mentor student crush on him. It wasn't until the end when I got major vibes that Sag loved Aries and it was heartbreaking that they weren't able to explore it after the "Red Wedding."

I've seen this plot in many dramas which made me scared to watch another drama like this because I was scared of the ending. But I thought that because this drama was light and fun that the ending would be as well. But then after the whole Red Wedding scene...I got scared again. And I did appreciate the happy ending, but it didn't make sense to me.

Ending Spoiler - do not read if you want to watch the drama and don't want to know the ending

After her and her people saved everyone who had been killed including all zodiac members, Fei Fei and her people were drained of their power and started to disappear. There was a very emotional and intense scene that broke my heart as the Emperor shared one final kiss with his bride of only a few hours, while being encircled by all the zodiac members/close friends until she finally disappeared. After everything, she finally regained consciousness in her world and went back to her normal life as an intern at the hospital, but struggled as she didn't know if anything was real, yet knew her love for the emperor and her friends were real. Then, after realizing it was the day of Ophiuchus, she ran to the hill top thinking something would happen and she would be connected to the people she loved. Instead, she runs into Jia Cheng who is the cpop idol from season one who she mistaked the prince for when she first met him. Now, she mistakes Jia Cheng for the man she loved, and he completely serves her. After, when Fei Fei was about to lose all hope, she hears Emperor Tang's voice and turns around to see him standing there in modern clothing and full memories. Fei Fei then runs into his arms and the drama ends.

I appreciated this ending so much. In other dramas, once the lead came back to the present, the only happy ending they get is meeting a reincarnation of the man she loved, excited to fall in love with him all over again, only her keeping the memories of their love. Personally, I don't consider this a happy ending because it puts so much pressure on the present day love interest to be exactly like this man from the past and not know about it. I liked this ending because he still had his memories and they could pick up where they left off, but this ending left me with more questions. Did he just remember that he loved her? Or did he remember everything including being emperor? Was he always in this world, being a doppelganger of Jia Cheng or were him and the other Zodiac members transported and added? We did see a little flashback of the day before she was transported in ep 1, of bumping into Chen at the hospital, Leo being the taxi driver, and the Prince being the guy who got hit on the bike. The ending we got was extremely ideal, but it left so many questions they didn't need to answer, but I wanted answered.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 2/16
The Lies Within
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
2 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
First off let me just say it is so good to have you back on screen Lee Min-Ki, you were missed; secondly, what a first episode.. boy is this show going to be good... it starts off so simple, a random woman falling to her death, seemed like suicide... a detective fed up with city life and looking to move back to the country to be with his mom only to find himself involved in a twisted case where a father and son in law are both dead five days apart ... what looked like a simple accident spiraled quickly into murder with the possible culprit (son in law) very much involved but also dead. As events unfold we get a hint to the fact that not all is well with the JQ Group (son in law family) and the assemblyman's death is looked upon as problem that took care of itself .. like what .. I understand trying to eliminate a problem like the assemblyman who seemed to oppose JQ but how about their own son... was he killed because he found out they took out his girlfriend and why was she killed, is it just for being in a relationship with a JQ son... the son seemed to think the assemblyman knew something. .. all of a sudden things do not seem as simple at all. So much to find out and I am glad to take the journey with Lee Min-Ki... I know I am going to enjoy this ride.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lucky's First Love
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is not my type of dramas that I love to watch but I watch it anyhow because I love to see BaiLu on screen. and somehow I found my self couldn't stop watching after ep1 and keep smiling every episodes.The plot is not that complicated and not too serious. The chemistry between Xing Zhao Lin and BaiLu is overload. BaiLu plays so natural acting . I really love the way she laughs which make me smiling everytime I hear that.

But one thing I don't like about this dramas is BaiLu's wig
(She wearing wig because she cut her hair short when fliming Asenal Military Academy
and this drama was fliming after that)
One wig with every single scence in the dramas...really? work, sleep, dating, and even the wedding scence!
but fine, she still adorable and I love her anyway. so 10 points for BaiLu!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love Shuffle
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers
Oh man, this is the second hilarious romcom Jdrama I ever watched after Hana Dori Yango! It is not from a manga, so the story is well written. The editing of each character growth and each date are superb. Every roles have different personalities, played very well by respective actors/actresses. The drama is light with some deep moments once all personal stories of the eight characters are revealed. The genre is Psychology, but nothing is complicated. Nobody dies. Everyone gets their partners, happy endings for all!
Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 10/100
Beautiful Love, Wonderful Life
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
10 of 100 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 1.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.5
I felt something was different from the previous episode (7-8), the atmosphere that was appointed did feel like watching a drama in 2009 (9-10). But compared to the previous episode was very different from the style of video editing and shooting. the house property looks too artificial, the light is spreading everywhere, usually there is a dynamic establish shoot using depth of field, one scene usually has many cameras, but this episode only feels there are only 2 cameras. the effect of the animated transition in episodes 7-8 is quite pronounced, but episodes 9-10 are too many cutaway techniques that will make a stiff impression if overdoing it, it is not usually Korean drama 2019 like this. even though I'm very curious about this drama, but when entering episodes 9-10 many scenes that I skip. try to pay attention

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rich Man, Poor Woman
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
Despite of how great Oguri Shun's acting is taking a Steve Job's look-a-like role in this drama, after his character Hyuga Toru starts working together with Sawaki Chihiro the drama becomes quite boring. Their love grows very slow. Instead, there are lots of office/business scenes which is not my cup of tea. The interesting things in this drama are the secret of who Sawaki Chihiro really is, and the business conspiracy inside the company. However, I don't like how they redeem this scheme in the end.
Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 2/8
What the Duck: Final Call
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
2 of 8 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
*SPOILERS*

[also contains spoiler for together with me, bad romance characters]

Without having read the original story, I still figured half way through season 1 a perfect ending was probably not going to happen.... Pop’s reactions never hinted at truly giving in.... season 2 was disgusting though....

IF pree/rambo line had been filmed outside of the BL umbrella, it might have had a better reception and got to season 2’s drug/sex parties without being so tasteless. If you want to take a close but fictionalized review of the drug/unsafe sex LGBTQ subculture, just watch Queer as Folk (US) and follow the Ted Schmidt storyline. He takes a painful journey of drugs and unsafe sex (with tenuous consent) and the consequences of putting yourself in a shady situation.

I would rather watch Korn cheat on Knock again before finishing season 2 of this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
4 days ago
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
Riko Shirono falls for a man during an incident that looks like coming out of romantic story. But to her dismay, Soichiro Kurokawa points out that the reality is not what she thinks. From hating him (since he shatters her fantasy) to loving him, that's what this show is about. It becomes quite dull in the middle with lots of conversations. Finally there is a plot twist, and Riko's love is tested. Great acting from all roles involved in the romance. Warm and fluffy, as the intend to air drama special a few days before Christmas.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Untamed
2 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
50 of 50 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
When I wrote this review, this drama already become viral and very popular across China and South east Asia. Although this drama is categorized in idol drama (most of the lead actors are C-idol), but the quality of this drama is not child’s play

Story: I watch this drama before I watch Joker movie. Unexpectedly, this drama share the same theme with that movie, psychological theme. Before I watch this drama, I only heard that this drama is based on BL (boy-love) novel, hence it’s controversial. However, because of China’s strict broadcasting rule, the script had been edited. What I want to say is this drama not only present us the controversial sweet bromance, but more over the main plot is the recent world most concern about, mental health awareness. There are no 100% evil people, yet there are also no 100% good people. People judgement about right or wrong are subjective.

Acting: There are no doubts that Sean Xiao and Wang Yi Bo delivered their best effort as 2 main role. Their actings are superb, even though they are young actor who has less experiences as main role. Other young actors also has good acting skill, specially the main villain character. He was scary and gave me goosebumps every time I see him.

Music: The OST are beautiful, specially the one Sean Xiao and Wang Yi Bo sang together. Music score are also exquisite and match the scene very well

Rewatch value: After watch this drama, I do shipped Wei Ying- Lan Zhan couple. Their interaction is so sweet and sincere. I always want to rewatch their bromance.

Overall: I recommend this drama if you not only fond of romantic drama but want to watch deeper story about human’s mind. Although this drama’s setting is fantasy, but the story is related to recent days. It’s an extraordinary one!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
3 Will Be Free
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
I’m not going to spoil this by giving away much about the story. I will say that it’s a very, very good series! The story does get a bit convoluted at times but there’s enough substance in the two main plot lines and the acting is top-notch to carry the series through. Kudos to the director and production company to tackle issues of transgender and poly-relationships rarely seen in any series from any country. If you’re going to watch just one episode, make it Episode #5. That episode Is an A+ and on its own could be a short film. The final episode is also well done with an interesting end to the series.

The overall acting is solid! Joss Wayar finally gets a leading role in a series and he doesn’t disappoint playing Neo, the tall, dark, street-wise survivor looking for a place to land. Tay Tawan is equally as successful playing Shin, the shy, naive, gay, introvert son of a big time mafia boss. It’s great to see Tay show his acting range as he’s successfully played the strong, knows what he wants role in other series and he portrays himself as a happy go-lucky guy in the various reality type shows that he does. This was definitely a good departure from his usual. Mild Lapassalan rounds off the big three with a good performance as Miw the hapless trouble follows me girl. Honestly, not a huge stretch for her as she does the strong female character well. It was really nice to see Jennie Penhan finally get a significant role in a series, arguably she too is a lead in this series. Her performance here will hopefully lead to more significant roles for her in the future.

Overall, a worthwhile series to watch! Watch it for the acting and unique storyline.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
W
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This review may contain spoilers
W. W w w… This is the hardest drama to rate yet. Why? Because I have such mixed feelings on this show. Even though it had a ‘happy ending’ why did it leave such a bitter taste in my mouth? Was it the rushed ending? The fact that the characters have the ability to draw ANYTHING on that tablet and use it only to draw cars and medicine??? They could have literally got themselves out of any situation, why is everyone so dumb. But let’s start at the beginning shall we?

This show started off really strong. What this show does well is that every episode, it leaves you on your toes. It is an undeniable fact that the story is intriguing. The plot line in itself is so fascinating and original. The idea of a parallel world that was effectively ‘fan-made’ but then the characters come to life? The characters disobey its creator and become their own person? And a real life person enters the cartoon and becomes part of the plot. The story was so interesting and I loved that so much was happening. But that was also the problem, I found that I was constantly stressed. I couldn’t enjoy it because everyone is constantly in danger. So much is always going on.

And of course I have to talk about the main couple. Once again, so many mixed feelings. I mean obviously I shipped them, but I was left feeling constantly unsatisfied. Through all the drama, they barely got to do anything as a couple. Then that rushed happy ending. That’s why it was a letdown for me.

All in all, it was hard to rate this show. I wanted to give it a high score considering the storyline was so good and intriguing all the way through. But I also wanted to rate it poorly since I couldn’t enjoy this drama, it was such a mess and caused me too much anxiety. And it left me with a rushed ending. I wanted to go somewhere between 7.5 and 8, because it doesn’t deserve such a high score of 8, but 7.5 doesn’t highlight its brilliance and originality. But if I had to choose between the two, I suppose a 7.5. Simply because I can’t look back on this drama with a positive view. I wouldn’t recommend it, it was painful and stressful and didn’t provide enough payoff at the end. It fails to repay the audience for the angst and pain they just suffered, there is too much negative with not enough positive. This drama just leaves me with contempt.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Suspicious Partner
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
40 of 40 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
First of all this is a worth watching kdrama.The balance of Tragedy- romance comedy is Amazing!!! ,I never felt that why am i watching this, whether it is humour, suspense or romance this drama is complete package of entertainment. If I talk about Actors- characters ,all supporting actors done their role perfectly , I main, Ji Chang Wook( No Ji Wook) is Superb as Prosecutor, he acts so well that at last when he became prosecutor again, then I'll say his acting was So Natural & Strong which will make you his fan. Nam Ji Hyun(Eun Bong Hee) is a strong & smart female character, and she makes us laugh more than anyone by her dialogues. The Most powerful...I can say , villain of this drama is Dangerous, I felt Anger towards him most of the time, how perfectly he played his role , hat's off !!! In middle his doing ( murders) seems Reasonable but in the end when complete truth revealed , it makes sure that he is a culprit too. At last Simply Amazing drama it was.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Suspicious Partner
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
40 of 40 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
It is absolutely binge worthy drama...I was instantly hooked after the first episode and through the rest of the series.It has a right amount of romance, comedy, suspense, thriller... Just an all in one package definitely. ????
The storyline keep you in your seat and anxious to see what happens next. I've never imagined it would end like this. That's kinda unpredictable.
Ji Chang Wook's character is great & he is So cute ???? . Nam Ji Hyun's character is strong.. the changes in their characters is too good. And they both got a really great chemistry.Choi tae joon, nara & other supporting characters is impressive. And most important... the villain because he really played a great role in this Series, his acting skills is Amazing. ????????
As a viewer I really really enjoyed watching it. I definitely recommend it. It'll keep u at the hook through all the episodes & you'll never get bored.???? ????

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 6/16
Melting Me Softly
2 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
6 of 16 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Story: Being part of cryonic experiment and how it be done is something fresh stories you are looking for. Its not a typical love stories, comedy romance that most of the series had. Plus factor that this is the comeback series of Ji Chang Wook nd it never failed us, his fans on his acting as being a cold hearted man, at the same time with his humor in terms of comedy.

Music: K.Will is really a good singer, RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU really suites for this series and im looking forward for the other OST of MMS.

Overall, this series is one of the best of 2019.and im looking forward for the next episode..great job #JiChangWook and to all cast and staff of #MeltingMeSoftly

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nice Witch
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
40 of 40 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Sometimes you just need a typical Korean drama
This drama has twins.
Older one is nice. Younger is evil. It's just another Kdrama but, how could just another drama can make it so interesting? I'm sure this drama is not for international purpose, but for domestic.
Korean just love drama like this. (well, me too.)
I give it a high rating because of my emotions. This drama make me got involved with the characters.
K-drama always have a good person and a bad person. They are bad just because they are. K-drama are always trying to tell you something. A direct message. It is so typical but I love it.
Give it a try, you will get addicted to how absurd the characters are. lol

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions