Pasta
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was looking for a drama that would have me hooked by the first episode, and Pasta did exactly that. I was reluctant to watch it because I have zero interest in cooking, and had no curiosity about what happens behind the scenes in a restaurant, but Pasta managed to make both exciting.

What really drives the story is the romance between Seo Yoo Kyung and the new chef. From the moment read more they first meet, I knew I would love this drama. Their flirty mentor-apprentice relationship was fun to watch for the entire 20 episodes, especially because of Lee Sun Gyun. I knew he was good after watching him in Coffee Prince, but now he is officially one of my favorites. I was glad to see him as the romantic lead this time, and swooned over his flirt-spertise. This is also the 3rd drama I've seen staring Gong Hyo Jin, who gives another great performance as a determined aspiring chef. If played by lesser actors, their characters could have easily come across as unbearably mean, or annoyingly stupid. Instead, their characters had depth, which helped the often predictable plot feel realistic, and their "do it again"/"yes chef" relationship became endearing. Another thing I loved about the romance plot is the other members of the "love square", played by Lee Honey and Chu Alex, were actually likable, and sympathetic. As far as Kdrama romances go, this one felt different, and was refreshing.

On the other hand, the restaurant drama was mostly fun to watch, but it was always pretty obvious what would happen next. Rivalries & schemes describe the atmosphere at La Sfera, and there are plenty of scenes showing the cooks working and feuding in the kitchen. I was never bored, but I would have preferred less kitchen bickering, and more of the main couple. I also would not suggest watching any episode on an empty stomach, since the food they make has such a major role in the show.

I really enjoyed Pasta, and I definitely recommend it. It may not be one of my absolute favorites, but it definitely suits my taste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
God's Quiz Season 2
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Add this to your Must Watch List - God's Quiz seasons one and two: Fast moving, never a dull moment drama focusing on murder, rare diseases, human frailty and crime solving. Season one leaves you with wanting "More". The drama builds momentum in the second season as the deeper darker secrets are revealed culminating dramatically in the last two episodes. I love the medical examiner, who done it? type of dramas. It read more also doesn't hurt to have romance thrown into the mix. This drama doesn't disappoint. But, I do suggest that you watch season one before you watch season two.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Skip Beat!
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama was really great! Out of all the Taiwanese dramas I've watched this is by far one of the best ones ever! It had the great humorous touch like what most of them have along with the fast paced, dramatic scenes of Korean and Japanese dramas. There is not a lot of filler in this drama and I kept wanting to watch more of it. Also it's great that Siwon and read more Donghae from Super Junior are in it (I love them so much). Although I wasn't a big fan of either of them before watching, I admit that I surely know who they are and really enjoyed them in this drama. Another great aspect was the music. The music played a really great part in the drama and since Super Junior sings some of the songs, you won't be disappointed.
Initially starting the drama, I only read one chapter of the original story. So I had a vague idea of what was going on and plot. So when watching it, it was entertaining to find out what happened next. My only complaint is that all the secrets and back stories of the characters were revealed at the end and even so it seemed they sped that up. With a non conclusive ending, I'm hoping they make a season two.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
GOTH
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I personally enjoyed watching this movie, I've read the manga series and fell in love with them. I liked the whole concept of how the main characters think differently from the 'norm' and how they are strange with thier obession with death. Maybe that's just me.

This isn't really a horror movie or anything. You're able to see how two high schoolers who never spoken before discover they share the same interest. read more Death.

Story 10- The main characters unravels the mystery of a murder case in thier neighbourhood not to solve the case and catch the murderer, but to see the corpse themselves.

Acting 10- I thought the acting was brillient as I felt I could connect with the obession the characters have.

Music 9- The music genre fits wonderfully as it beats up the tension.

Rewatch 9- Again I enjoyed the movie, may have something to do with loving the manga so much.

Some people may not agree with me and I admit some parts were a little slow but it's definitely worth the watch. There isn't much blood, 'scary' disturbing scenes for a murder/crime movie, however overall I loved the movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love You 10000 Years
1 people found this review helpful
by eJc
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
It’s a good choice, if you wanna watch something a little funny, a bit of romance, mixed with a cute cast and matched music just to be distracted from your everyday life. No more, no less.

It has nothing new to add to the romcom genre, but it delivers it in a nicely different way. It’s focusing on how relationships are/could be, not wasting time on creating unreasonable obstacles for the OTP read more to get together. What will happen afterwards? Indeed, they are great together, but will they last in the long run?

A solid production, for almost two hours you’re entertained, but with nothing remarkable for the future. You’ll soon forget it. Perhaps you’ll remember the cute smiles of both leads and the score/OST. ……. Overall 7.5 ……. (I’m not rating anything below 5)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hungry!
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama was easily the best Jdrama of the winter/early spring season. It kept me smiling from beginning to end. Maybe it's because it was currently airing when I watched it, but this was one drama that I didn't want to end. Every episode made me ureshi (happy). All the actors did a good job, especially Takimoto Miori who played Chie-chan. She was adorable. The OST was also infectious. I found myself read more both before and after an episode singing, "Love me baby." And contrary to what the other reviewer said, it does stay on direction, and it does not just become episodic. The story persist through all 11 episodes and each episode is fresh and not redundant.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mr. Idol
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Only reason I decided to watch this was for the killer cast - it was well worth it too. Mr. Idol is all about chasing your dreams, even when it seems like you're done and out - Pick yourself up and carry on. It does a good job at portraying the difficult journey that it is to chase your dreams, especially being an 'Idol'. I fell in love with the cast at read more first glance - of course, there isn't really too much depth into their characteristics, but they are definitely lovable from the get go. The story was amazing and what made it amazing is that is was REAL. Literally had me tearing up at some parts. :) We all know that nothing ever gets handed to us and we've gotta work for something. I'd literally sit and watch this movie a thousand times over - Definitely an awesome movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Papa to Musume no Nanokakan is a bit of an oddball drama. Body-switching isn't a new idea, but switching between father and daughter? Yes, it's as awkward as it sounds.

For a short drama, Papa to Musume succeeds in being just about entertaining throughout. You get a good few comedy situations which are inevitable given the premise. More than that, it's a drama with a bit of a preachy moral about seeing read more things, in the most literal sense, from another's perspective.

Yes, it's cheesy. Yes, it doesn't really stay with you long after you've watched it. But the cast are likable and convincing in their roles (even though I think it would have been better if both father and daughter were given more time to establish themselves in their original characters before the switch happened, so the contrast would have been more apparent), and the overall premise was quite neat. If I had to give my main criticism, it's that the drama, in it's limited span, didn't go as far or deep as it potentially could have to tell what could have been a much more compelling story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Me too, Flower!
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I'll try not to be harsh as I loved the lead actor. Seo Jae Hui was and remained my favorite character until the end. I have to say that this is my first time watching Yoon Shi Yoon in a series, maybe I should watch King of Baking too. I wasn't a fan of the police woman and most of the times found her annoying. Even her sister was more interesting. Also read more the series is full of cheesiness and was boring at times. Maybe I'm twisted but I enjoyed watching Madam Park, I just love beautiful women, especially if they're powerful. I don't want to talk about detail, story and character development as I'm a little disappointed. The series doesn't offer new elements but tries to work with typical cliches. All in all an average series. I gave it extra points because of Yoon Shi Yoon and Han Go Eun who made the series from my point of view.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hungry!
7 people found this review helpful
by care
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
It starts out really good as it builds up the story step by step as the ex-rockers struggle with opening/running a restaurant and as they tackle their problems. Then by episode 5-6 it loses its direction completely it becomes very episodic and kinda random. Also i think they did a poor job at creating the conflict between the exclusive restaurant and this new startup one. And for a drama so heavily involved read more with food it wasnt at all informative. It was just throwing around fancy food without much explanation. Overall it was a great idea with poor execution and mediocre acting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wild Romance
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
At the beginning of the drama, the first few episodes were hard to get through. Maybe it was because the story hadn't taken off yet, but it took a lot of concentration to finish an episode, but the story finally started to take off. I had high hopes for this drama, and it seemed like it was heading in the right direction. There was enough of that awkward relationship going on between read more the two leads, as well as the suspenseful drama that has you sitting on the edge of your seat, but somewhere during the middle of the drama, it completely lost it's appeal. The main focus turned to one of the characters who isn't even a part of the main cast, and it seemed like that character took over the show. The relationship between the two leads practically stopped since all they talked about was that other character. There was hardly any romance in this drama except for the very last episode. The drama is great if you throw away all expectations of romance, and just focus on the mystery in the drama. It was a good drama, I just feel that the two leads didn't have enough screen time together. The acting was great, especially Lee Si Young. She did a great job, and really expanded her acting ability. I felt that the actors were the best part of this drama, and if there would have been different actors to play the characters, this drama wouldn't have been good. The music was great, it was a catchy song, but I don't think it went with the whole suspenseful mystery theme that took over the drama. It would be ok to rewatch if you really like more mystery sort of dramas, but for someone who likes to watch more romantic dramas, it wouldn't be worth rewatching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Million
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This film is not my favourite, I only watched it because it had Lee Min Ki in it.

The storyline was solid but not amazing. It was a little slow in parts for the genre the movie is in. There were a few moments when I was intrested but for most parts its just average.

This movie is the type of movie where you need good actors or else it won't work. read more I mentioned before I watched this because of Lee Min Ki, he was good in it and if you like him then I definatly suggest watching this. I have also been introduced to some new actors and after watching this I will go check them out. For such a large cast, I think the variety worked well.

There wasn't much music in this movie, mostly it was instrumental so I didn't really notice it. Which is a good point because the soundtrack fitted the mood and It would have affected the veiwing if a song was out of place.

Overall I don't think I would watch this again purely because it is not my type of film. But I think someone who likes action, being trapped and realisim then this film would make a good watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Crazy For You
21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The first good point about the story, it's the fact that it really start at the first minute of the first episode. Don't say : "I'll watch the first 10 minutes now and then I'll watch the rest after work if I find it interesting", because you'll end up skipping work...

Then, you get to know the characters, and each and every one of them have a real personality, so you can read more be sure you will be moved by at least one of them. All the characters are slowly evolving during the drama, in a quite subtle way. I gave the story a 9 because I felt it was sometimes a little too slow.

Personally, I was really impressed by the two lead's acting performance, as well as the second male lead (while the second female lead's acting was so average it made me drop a point in my review). Thanks to their acting, you really beleive in the story, and in the characters.

Finally, I'll talk about the music : I just love it. My special award is for the song "Gu Rae Do"(Nevertheless) by Soo Ji, and its instrumental version which were so beautiful and unique they became a real plus to the drama.

Oh and, no spoiler, but I love the ending. I won't say if it's a bad or good one, but I just think this story deserved that kind of ending.

This drama is really worth watching, and I hope you'll enjoy it too!
That's the end of my review, hope it's been helpful.^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mom
3 people found this review helpful
by Baya
Other reviews by this user
Apr 2, 2012
Apr 2, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
A Long Visit is such a heartwarming movie. I knew within the first 10 minutes that I would love it, and I did. The story is told so well and the two lead actresses played their parts beautifully. It is truly a masterpiece. The theme of a mother/daughter relationship has been done countless times in the past, but few have been portrayed to the same calibre as A Long Visit.

This is read more a movie that will re-define your view of what a mother is. Whether it’s sacrificing her own life goals so that her child can achieve great things, or enduring a painful relationship for the sake of the children, Jisuk’s mother is a true example of how far a woman is willing to go to make her children happy.

It is a lesson on appreciating things we take for granted. Most of the time, that is something that we have from the beginning of our lives but never think twice about, because we don’t know any different: most of the time that is our own mother. Jisuk herself largely ignores her mother when she was young, wishing to get away from her family and live elsewhere. When Jisuk learns that her mother endures the beatings from her husband, simply so that her daughter can have a stable home, this is the moment that Jisuk (and the audience) realise just how deep a mother’s love is. The newly found love for her mother increases tenfold when Jisuk also becomes a mother and this is when she truly realises how much she means to her.

This is one very emotional movie so don’t be surprised if you find yourself shedding more than a few tears, especially during the latter half. I advise you have at least two packs of tissue before you begin this movie. Actually, have a third pack, just in case. You won’t forget a movie like this for a long time.

This is a must-see for everyone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Beck
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 1, 2012
Apr 1, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
As a fan of the manga I think this live action is perfect, really! they captured amazingly the essence of the manga, I have seen that people didn't like that when koyuki was singing and his voice was muted but that's one of the things I loved, his voice while singing was something you couldn't just imagined, what they did was great, when I saw the anime I got disappointed when I read more heard koyuki singing because it wasn't by far the voice I imagined.
I highly recommend this live action if you have readed the manga, it really worth it, the cast is great also the music! I have to point some details such as hiro's accent and that beck (the dog) isn't like in the manga/anime but you let it pass, actually his english wasn't that bad, I loved the supporting cast, chiba is exactly the same as the manga, maho is great also taira and saku.
People that didn't like this have not read the manga or even seen te anime, this is one of the best live action I have ever seen, seriously! Is rare that I like a live action or dorama based in a manga but this one is an exception, an excelent work.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No