If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Dae Jo Yeong
11 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is sageuk of epic proportions! Don't be intimidated by the 134 episodes (it's not 100 as it's described on some websites). It starts slowly, but only because it sets the stage for what's going to happen in the future. The drama is about Dae Jo Yeong's life and the establishment of Balhae State that led to him being the first King of the Balhae Kingdom.

Even if you don't like historical dramas, this is definitely a drama to watch! It has all of the key elements that make sageuk great: a prophecy that needs to be kept secret, intense battle scenes, two love interests for the main character, and an impressive cast of really good actors. You get involved in the drama: you cheer for the good guys, can't wait for the bad guys to get what they deserve and there's even a reason to cry.

It stars Choi Soo-Jong as Dae Jo Yeong. His portrayal of Jo Yeong was very well done (he prepared for his role by reading history books to learn about the story and won an award for his acting). If you've watched any other dramas written by Jan Yeong-Cheol (Salaryman, Giant), then many of the actors will be familiar to you.

The OST enhances the drama and features music by Brown Eyed Girls and Park Hyo-Shin. This drama pulled in really good numbers during its run. The last episode had over 30% viewership. I enjoyed all 134 episodes!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Scarlet Heart
22 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
This was a nice break from the usual korean drama i usually watch, highly recommended drama!

Historical drama to an extend happened in real life, people may think that, the writers are not creative thus they decide to use history. Well yes! The writers did that and it was done wonderfully! It was such a nice drama, seeing history unfolding right in front of your eyes! The romance between the princes and Rouxi was so nice, you can't decide which prince you want to ship Rouixi with.

The casts was perfect for each of the characters they played. You can't hate any of the characters even if they have done such an evil deep, you'll end up feeling sorry for them instead. The acting was great, you will find yourself, crying then laughing and crying again and the emotion is just like a roller-coaster ride. It was perfect!

An other perfect thing for this drama is that the music was beautiful, i even downloaded their theme song onto my ipod and i dont even understand chinese! That's saying some thing. It was beautiful, the melody and the music for each scene was perfect for it. Oh let me warn you, once you're done with this series and the theme song comes up. You'll feel like crying cause you miss this series so so much!

Overall i'm rating this drama a 10! Just because it's perfect and i watched this drama 4 days straight! Once i got up, i turn on my laptop and continue watching it.

Reasons to watch this drama:
- Strong female character
- Handsome and pretty actresses
- Awesome Plot
- Roller-coaster ride of emotions

If you like those this drama should make your day!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Queen In Hyun's Man
10 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Hey! Sorry let me just state this, i've not finished the whole drama yet and i'm only on episode 6! And this review are based on where im currently at not the whole drama as of yet. The reason I'm doing this review is this early is because i think this drama needs more attention then it is actually receiving.

This drama is a highly recommended, there is some historical theme and modern theme combined. You may think that this drama is like rooftop prince, to an extend it is BUT only on the time travel thing and everything else, i repeat everything else is different.

I thought the story was great, i dont know how the couple will end up together nor what the ending will be. But the content and plot of this drama was well done! You will find yourself loving the main characters, they are such lovable characters. Their on screen moments together was wonderful.

conclusion, if you like bubbly, cheerful female main character and handsome, smart, charming male lead. With an interesting plot, and funny scenes that makes you want to laugh out loud. This drama is for you! ^.^

Hope this helped.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Can You Hear My Heart
10 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
I was skeptical at first to watch this drama because of the MANY episodes it has. I easily get bored at most of the Korean dramas and I thought they're kinda draggy. There are only few dramas that I finished till end just because I was bored and no other choice but to watch it to fast my time. So this drama kinda belong to the rare dramas I actually finished but I really enjoy.

Adding up to my disinterest to watch this was the poor synopsis available on-line. "A deaf man who pretends he can hear and an intelligent girl who pretends to be dumb" How can anyone be interest in that kind of synopsis? So I actually REALLY have no intention to ever watch this until I came across to a certain reviewer who happened to have the same interest/kind w/ mine. So I decided to give it a try on one fine day when I was bored. And just the episode one. It totally won me over.

And the mere fact that I like a beautiful cinematography, I stayed for this drama. The scenes are beautiful and relaxing. This actually convinced me to visit Korea someday! Just by the sceneary, I can say that this is a masterpiece!

About the acting aspects... I'm not very familiar with most of the actors in here. I knew the two actors (Kim Jae Won and his mother) in faces but not w/ their names. So everyone is new to me. All of them delivers perfectly! I feel for them. The guy who act as a mentally handicap was such a good actor. He played it well. And the granny, she is so realistic! Cha Dong Joo's portrayal of a deaf man (though it was not 100% realistic since I was really waiting for him to fail w/ all the lip reading, it never happened)pretending he can hear is so brilliant! He acted it so well and beautifully! Bong Ma Ru, at first his appearance doesn't appeal to me coz he seems not charismatic but as I see him interact w/ his bro CDJ, I'm seeing him in a different light! He is a true talent! How can he do those almost tearing acting? So brilliant! Their mother, Taek Su, she's so effective! Though she is crazy I actually understand why she's doing all those. Then, Bong Woo Ri, I actually find her character loud and annoying at the beginning. I even wished that the main OTP should have been CDJ and BMR but eversince she appears w/ CDJ. I like her more and more. I think CDJ and BWR has the most chemistry I have seen onscreen. Their just too cute for words! Let's not forget the bromance coz this scenario rarely happen in kdramaworld! I just have to say, the two brothers have an endearing chemistry! At first, I was rooting for them to be together LOL. And it breaks my heart when BMR turned dark coz it means no more bromance!

The music.... kinda corny... But the song "GOOD PERSON" won me over. And can the song be any sweeter when it was sung by our CDJ?

On being re watchable.. I had watched it twice! And glad I did coz there are few scenes I missed. And it didn't hurt it all coz I trully love everything about this drama..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Shining Inheritance
71 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Recently I finally learned the meaning of the word "makjang". For those of you who are in the dark as I was, a makjang drama is one where the twists and turns are so over the top, with the hero/ine having to face so much misfortunes and betrayal, the next step is either sanctification or Dante's Inferno. I dare give the word my very personal definition: a drama is makjang, when you wish you could enter the screen and murder half of the characters with your bare hands, then ease on your couch with a sigh of intense satisfaction (drink some soju and you'll have become a makjang character yourself).

Shining Inheritance fits both definitions. There's envy, greed, a dead man walking, 10 trillions lies, missed encounters by a microsecond, corporate plotting, memory loss, love polyhedrons and such a dose of odious behaviours your becoming a virtual assassin would be justified.
But before you decide you hate the genre and turn the page, let me say this drama is strangely and acutely addictive. It took me 4 weeks to pant through the first 7 episodes and less than 1 to watch the remaining 21 (granted, with a little fast forwarding here and there).
The plot is very consistent. Every narrative line comes to a conclusion and justice triumphs. Delicate subjects are touched here, and I appreciated this the most.
I maintain the whole story could have been easily condensed in half the time and the dialogues thinned, if only the characters had stopped repeating the same sentences like an echo and the word money had been uttered one thousand times instead of one billion. There will be moments in which you'll question your choice of dramas, but at that point you'll be so implicated in the crime… ehm, plot, drop it will be harder than exit a gang.

The acting mark is the result of an arithmetic mean. The beginning is not encouraging at all, with exaggerations and wooden deliveries all over the place, but it improves a lot in going. It's as though the actors had been attending Theatre Class while filming. With a notable exception: Yun Joon Suk, who plays the autistic brother, is impressive all through, and makes the drama shine in depth and emotion every time he's on screen.
I'm usually only mildly interested in the cast's attire, unless it's so distracting it prevents me from fully enjoying it or it is integral part of the narrative intent. But grandmother's grey wig - I truly hope it was one - looked so disjointed from her skull I watched all her scenes brandishing a comb. Not that Lee Seung Gi's hairdo was much better: now and then it truly looked like it was about to migrate towards warmer shores. I prayed he would be caught in a sudden downpour to flatten it but, alas!, the sun shone brightly on him. There's improvement in this department too, though, and if you fall for the very pretty main couple, the deed is done.

Two words about the music. I had a hard time coming to terms with the blend of Bach's adagio and K-pop, the first being too solemn and fit to a mass in Latin and the second too… pop. Once again, it's the little brother who saves the score with his very sweet piano piece dedicated to his Noona.

So here's my little piece of advice: watch it. Resist the urge to drop it after the first episode, contain your puzzlement in the second and third, wipe your sweat to the 7th and you'll be hooked. Completing it will give you a sense of power and the feeling you have truly watched The Drama of All Dramas.
What does not kill you, makes you stronger.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Hana Yori Dango 2
9 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I liked the second season a lot more than the first season. I feel the second season is more exciting and romantic.

Story: This season it's focusing on Tsukasa's love for Makino and how they are meant to be together forever. Honestly the breaking-up/getting back together was starting to get on my nerves a little by the end, but it all proves that they are destiny. I especially loved the side plot with Yuki and Sojiro but this version didn't let them get as far as the Kdrama version which kinda sucks. I like that couple. I actually can stand Rui in this version. I feel really bad for him and I think that he deserves a great girl. Also I like how this story develops the other 2 boys of the F4 more than the other versions. The fourth F4 member in the Kdrama version was hardly ever present and didn't really get much characterization. But in this version I understand him and his character. All the girls who were after Tsukasa were annoying though. But I like Shigeru, when she wasn't after Tsukasa. She was a fun character.

Acting: I honestly love the acting of this one a lot more than the Kdrama version. Oguri Shun gives Rui more depth than Kim Hyun Joong did, also by the end I was thinking that Oguri SHun is a bit more handsome than Kim Hyun Joong (Don't kill me, you're a still a super hottie KHJ). I love Masumoto's acting, I really felt like he portrayed Tsukasa really well. Inoue Mao it goes without saying is a much much much better actress than Goo Hye Sun. I though she really bought her character to life. I was really invested in the characters, and they made me believe that this was real.

Music: I really liked the Arigato song. Though it was played a little bit too much I like the melody. The only problem I had with the music overall was at some points the music was inappropriate for the scene. But other than great!

Rewatch: Definitely to watch again when I'm in the mood for a great romance drama. Maybe in a few months because I don't think I can go through the emotional roller-coaster again.

Overall: It gets a 10 since I liked this season more than the first season and I gave the first season a 10.

I still have to watch the Tdrama version of this drama and I plan on watching it in a few months. I don't think I'll be able to watch Meteor Garden without comparing it to this one if I watch it right away. Even with Hana Yori Dango I was hesitant to watch it because I had tried watching it right after watching Boys Before Flowers (Kdrama)and the anime, and I couldn't because I was bored of the story already. Again I question why I ever thought Boys Before Flowers was a good version of this story. I think even if I watch Meteor Garden Hana Yori Dango will still be the best version.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Girl
3 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
All right, my two cents on this drama.

Writing: 9/10. The Hong sisters are brilliant at rom-coms. All their works ROCK, no exceptions. That being said, though funny, adorable, and addictive, My Girl became very angsty towards the end. Which is fine but... we could just have kept with the funny and not go all melo.

Cast: Full points. OMG Lee Da Hae so awesome!!!!! She needs to do more rom-coms! Lee Dong Wook is totally hot and has LOTSA chemistry with Lee Da Hae, but he's not as good. And I know some people rly love Junki, but honesty, he was just a side wheel. He wasn't even "second lead", Dong Wook and Dae Hee just were awesome together, no better alt pairing.

Music: Same songs, but really good songs. Check them out: "Never Say Goodbye" by Mario and Nesty.

Rewatch: It was a really long watch, so a rewatch seems iffy... but if I had time, I would.

Overall: BEST DRAMA EVER. Okay, meybe tied for best place.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dream High 2
7 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2012
Overall 3.0
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
So bad, so pathetic, this drama is just unbearable to watch!
I was so disappointed! dream high is one of my favorite dramas! I would be pleased to see the continuation of the previous story !I had some hope at first episodes : maybe the main actress was not so bad... maybe the story would have turned good! but nope...I think maybe this season has been made just for commercialising bad songs! it's the only interest of this drama! Love story is just uninteresting, actors bad and without interest, it was just annoying in the end !
Was this review helpful to you?
Full House
3 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I dont know if it's because full house is one of my first dramas but it's one of my favorite!
The story is great with as usual the love triangle, good actors, love and over all humor...So funny and so relaxing,just stop thinking and watch it! i believe i rewatch it three times!
Every drama addict must have watch it!So you have to!
Was this review helpful to you?
City Hunter
5 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is my favorite drama ! Actors are just amazing, the story just great, no problem for rewatching it, Lee Min Ho is so handsome and Park Min Young is great as usual ! Just stop watching others dramas ! It's THE drama !! A good story, good actors, action, love, humor, revenge, seriousness, .....just GREAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
The Princess' Man
7 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
The beginning was intense, the middle was captivating and the ending, highly surprising! A real masterpiece of its genre.

Story: Richly-eventful.If there is an aspect here that is really outstanding, it's the story. The story was crafted in such a way that the audience will feel in somewhat roller-coaster ride while watching this show. There are a lot of unexpected twist and turns, I was captivated by the show's concepts of survival, betrayal, success, failure, devotion, love, patience, friendship, family and political hierarchy. A lot of events really shocked me but those kept me interested throughout. As I saw every episode, I want to go on, not to see what will happen or how it will end but because I want to answer a lot of questions on my mind. Conflicts within conflicts- that was the story was made in my opinion. Maybe complicated for some but that's what a really substantial story is about; that is for me. Plot-wise, this is an eye-opener, for most of the events did occur in the korean history. The romance was so great--it has the feeling of "love against all odds". A love story wherein the guy fell in love with the girl and the girl loved him too but the family doesn't approve-- I tell you, it's not only that. The ending was as I said earlier, really surprising, but it's happy okay? So watch it! :))

Acting/ Cast: Park Shi Hoo has always been my favorite but his performance here was amazing. This was the first drama I've seen him in historicals and he looked so dashing--as a member of royal clan or as a revolutionist survivor, he looked good! His portrayal as a main cast was done at its best, a lot of emotions had to be used, he showed them all splendidly. This was first drama that I've seen Moon Chae Won, and I can say that she's in great chemistry with the main guy. Her acting skills were also good,no complaints she's the main girl lead as her role portrayal had the same level as PSH. Don't belittle the supporting cast because a lot of my emotions were highly used to them, mostly was hate, there are a lot of antagonists here. I was mostly sad for PSH and MCW. Omo! Again, this is a happy ending,okie okie? hehe:)

Music: Powerful. Watch the first episode and you'll know. The story and the music- a perfect match, it's so good.

Rewatch value: Most of the time I don't rewatch but maybe sometime I'll try to do so.. :)

Overall: A great show which will leave you a really strong impression, if you haven't watched, you can try this one now. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
MARS
6 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
STORY------ 10/10

I find this story very interesting, I like the fact that the writer actually adapted most of the scenes from the original Japanese manga (MARS by Furumi Soryo, 1996, if you haven't read it yet I recommend that too you'll be amazed at the resemblance) back to the story line one of the scenes that I was pointing it were the opening where Qi Lo and Ling met and a lot more I won't be a spoiler. It's unpredictable in some way, I kind of didn't know how the story will unfold and what is background of each character until it was revealed in the series itself. The topics touched in this series is a very complicated mix, highly dramatic from family problems to even as grave as rape and suicide. Although it still had some of the usual cliches, I'm giving it a 10.

ACTING/CAST ------10/10

This is a turnaround from how I first saw Barbie and Vic (Meteor Garden) she still had the same hair though, I like the timid side of Barbie and the more arrogant yet lost soul Vic was in this drama. I think he also gained weight here, which is better. The other supporting roles were great.

MUSIC -----10/10

I love the soundtrack,very well placed songs, if it's a cute lovey dovey scene you'll feel the lightness of the scene from the song. If it's those scary psycho turnarounds, It's scary alright. Just listen to it and the intro Very STRONG SONG.

REWATCH VALUE ------ 10/10

I'm giving this a high rewatch value, you just get pulled by the drama. The love for the characters and that Ducati man it's just nice to watch over again, even the struggles that they have it gets you back to see it again.

OVERALL ------ 10/10

Overall it's a 10! although it's a bit old considering it was aired 2004, it's still a great all in all. Something highly recommended.



I hope this is helpful enough for you guys :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Trick
5 people found this review helpful
by Xuro
May 11, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
It was an enjoyable show, very intruiging to say the least.

I had read several claims about this show and I feel like it was a little overplayed. I didn't quite get everything I expected out of this series but nonetheless I was satisfied with the thought-provoking episodes and heartwarming moments. I found the humor in this to be particularly funny and I found myself laughing out loud several times.

I wouldn't say I was addicted to this series, as I tossed back and forth between this and 2 others at the same time. Though I would be more than willing to revisit this series once more. A great story and great cast just felt short-lived in my opinion. Hoping the second series can quench my desire for more; and so far it has.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Star no Koi
4 people found this review helpful
by Xuro
May 11, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Well, to be honest I am surprised I am writing a review for this. I normally am not appealed to this kind of show but I was hooked onto the first episode, it took me forever to get the rest but as soon as I had them I was pretty quick about watching them.

I felt goosebumps all over several times and I was even inspired a few times. This show is great for someone looking for an innocent love story, the "get together and break up then back together" story line most of these dramas portray was either not found or felt by me in this drama. I felt the actress really played her role well, it was elegant. That was, until I hit episode 10, I literally got so frustrated I just turned it off and walked away. A spur of the moment decision made me decide to finish episode 10 and move onto the final episode, 11. I am glad I did, the last episode was not a let down. I was lifted and thrilled as I watched the last episode, as corny as it may have been, the way they ended it was just so ironic I loved it. I really am glad I finished it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
ROOKIES
18 people found this review helpful
by Xuro
May 11, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Wow, this drama was pure brillaince. The start was fast pace and even when it seemed slow you were so caught up in the moment that it didnt bring down the movie.

Although some may say this drama was too emotional I believe that its a good thing, these kids went from fighting over nothing to fighting for their dream. I feel that this movie struck every chord that I expected and even hit some key points that I didnt expect. The tone of the movie switches well and I have to admit that I seriously stayed up at night telling myself "only one more episode." This drama is in my top 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?