Sort by:
Goong
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 13, 2011
Nov 13, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I finally got the chance to watch Goong after so many positive reviews, and I was a little disappointed. I loved young Yoon Eun Hye, who was incredibly cute, and knows how to bring on tears like no one else. I liked the rivalry between the two princes, and kept changing my mind about which prince I wanted Chae Kyung to end up with (though it's obvious who it will be). I read more wish more time was spent on these three, but most of the story revolved around life in the palace.

The drama within the royal family was entertaining, but many of the palace scenes seemed to drag on way too long. Some of the conversations almost seemed as if they were being spoken in slow-motion. Seeing royal tradition juxtaposed to modern life was interesting, but I would have rather seen more romance, or scheming. I guess I expected more romance, and less time spent on a depressing Cinderella story. It wasn't until episode 13 (my favorite episode) that anything really romantic happened. After a while, watching constant fighting was starting to bore me.

I think I would have liked Goong more if it were shorter, and had a little more romance. I also thought the ending could have been much better, especially yul's ending. I now see how much influence Goong has probably had on other kdrama's that I like, since I kept being reminded of them. Though i'm glad I finally got a chance to watch Goong, I am not sure I will watch this one again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Personal Taste
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 13, 2011
Nov 13, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This was my first Kdrama, and it's the reason for my current addiction to them! I loved watching Lee Min Ho & Son Ye Jin's love/hate relationship develop. There are so many sweet scenes between the two of them, and scenes with an overload of sexual tension. They had such great chemistry that the old opposites attract formula never felt boring.

Some of the scenarios in the beginning are a little far read more fetched, but it's kdrama so what do you expect. I laughed out loud & cried as the story progressed. I rewatched certain moments over & over. There is a drastic shift, which is pretty common in KDrama, where the romantic comedy suddenly turns into a tear jerking drama. I definitely had more fun watching the first 11 episodes, but I think there was a pretty seamless transition to the sadder later episodes. I admit, after a rewatch, that some of the moments that broke my heart the first time seemed a little overdone this time, but the acting was never bad. I think overall that learning more about Park Kae In's sad past made the story feel more complete. Some of the final romantic scenes are also a little cheesy, and Jeon Jin Ho becomes super frustrating, but I honestly still loved watching every moment.

I think the whole cast was great! I loved Jo Eun Ji as the bff, and her hilarious relationship with Jung Sung Hwa. I loved how Ryu Seung Ryong's character developed as well. He could have come off as creepy, but instead he was super sweet (err... no pun intended). Kim Ji Suk & Wang Ji Hye were incredibly annoying, but they were supposed to be. I could have skipped through their early storyline though. As for the leads, I really started to relate to quirky Park Kae In, and Son Ye Jin did an excellent job of not overplaying her gullibility and sweetness. As for Lee Min Ho, I haven't been disappointed by a drama with him in it yet. Lee Min Ho fans should definitely see this one, in spite of his high water pants.

I also have to mention the soundtrack, which remains one of my favorites. I still don't get tired of hearing the songs over & over again during episodes "Babo cheoreom..." ; )

I may be biased since this was only the 2nd drama I ever watched, but this is hands down one of my favorites. I decided to rewatch/re-review Personal Preference almost 30 dramas later, to see how it still holds up. It's still one of my top favorites, and still has one of my favorite k-drama first kiss scenes.

I definitely will rewatch this more than once, and I admit that I listen to the soundtrack sometimes because I miss it, lol.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
MoMo Love
17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 12, 2011
Nov 12, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Jiro Wang never lets me down. I love his acting b/c he can pull off any type of character. He has a funny side that is expressed so well in all his dramas. He has a serial (Mel for serious) side that makes u fall in love w/ him. The fact that he can throw both together makes him almost the perfect man for all dramas. I thought that Wang Xin Ling read more tried to make herself look more innocent than was necessary. She alrdy has a cute innocent look that she rly did not need to do too much more than that. I loved the story about this family. I have an older sister who was so much like the 4 older bro's. Actually she was prolly worse. She bounced a full soda bottle off a guys head for talking to me. So, I kinda know what the female lead went through. Pretending that u don't know what ur older sibling is doing b/c u know that they r doing it b/c they love u. I rly enjoyed watching this drama not only b/c the story was good but also b/c when I thought that they couldn't come up w/ another prob for the next epi they surprised me & drew me back into the story. It rly made me want to know what was going to come up next. I loved it. I suggest others watch it b/c it was rly good & kept me wanting more. Even the ending makes u want to keep watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ai wa Mieru
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 12, 2011
Nov 12, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
The only reason that I didn't give it a full 10 across is because that I didn't think that they had enough details in it, I wanted to know more. All in all though, it was a fantastic movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Zettai Kareshi
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 12, 2011
Nov 12, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
the first episode ir really promising. i almost wish it had not been. everything after that is just "okay".



i watched this show because i wanted to see a show about a robot, not a show about what goes on in the office at a weird bakery. they could have completely forgone the robot and opted instead for a slightly stupid but sweet overzealous love interest and ended up read more with practically the same story since very little of it was actually about him being a robot. there's a love triangle that is completely devoid of chemistry and a story that draaaaags until the last 3 episodea, and even those i found my self skipping large sections.



they didnt even bother to avoid the over obvious and cliche for most of the show.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Warrior Baek Dong Soo
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 12, 2011
Nov 12, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Never have I cried so much for a historical drama. First of all, all the characters are simply amazing and excellent acting skills being shown across. Brilliant and fitting ost to match it, simply brilliant. The first 24 episodes are really good but after that it drags the story out a bit until you get to the last two episodes which were epic. This drama highlights romance, BROMACE (which is the reoccuring read more theme throughout) and loyalty. I loved the chemistry between the leads and I loved Yeo Un's character - however it does overshadow the main lead's, Dong So, character and many believed it should be about Yeo Un rather than Dong So, its not a bad thing because yeo un is amazing its just not very focused on Baek Dong So's 'greatness'. I guess you will have to see it for yourself. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nov 12, 2011
Nov 12, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I started with this drama mainly because the plot seemed interesting enough. We all know what happens in a forbidden kind of love story between student and teacher and I expected it to go the cliched way right from the beginning but Biscuit Teacher surprised me here. The relationship between Tae In and Bo Ri has been depicted with sensitivity and a lot of depth-they are like friends, each other's mentors, guides, read more siblings, parents and lovers. Beginning was extremely fun and humorous with lotsa hilarious and heart-rendering situations involving individual students. But towards the end it kind of became a drag where there was little to no substantial plot development. It was heart-breaking to see Tae In cry so much and frustrating to see Bo Ri act like a confused teenager, unsure of her feelings. However the ending totally made up for it- very sweet. If not for anything else, this drama MUST be watched for Gong Yoo's realistic portrayal of an innocent and love-struck teenager, who matures from an eccentric, unruly kid to a real man with the strength to sacrifice what's most dear to him. Great acting by Gong Hyo Jin and the supporting cast as well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rebound
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 11, 2011
Nov 11, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Happy ending!!! I really liked the themes and messages in Rebound, and I think it's a truly worthwhile watch. The main idea is captivating; what happens when you are fat, loose weight, then gain it back? In this drama all hilarity ensues.

I really loved the cast everyone was well cast. Love Mokomichi and he looked so in his element! After Buzzer Beat I thought I would hate a Saki, read more but now I love her again. The leads had chemistry and when it was time to get down to some real emotional things they really delivered. I also liked their use of fat suits, they were the most realistic ones I have seen yet. Surprisingly this drama has a lot of little twists and turns all throughout it to keep it interesting, and a lot of comedic parts.

I did not like that the Nobuko character was a "Jolly" fat person , and how long it took her to realize things about her self and others (there was only so much yelling at her I could do). I also had a problem with the drama assuming all fat people could eat mounds of food, and were unlovable or just unattractive. The timelines on which they were getting skinny were so unlikely, however, they did briefly examine the dangers of diet pills. It took me a long time to finish this drama because Nobuko seems so foolish, and silly until she gets angry and that can be annoying. This drama does have a false ending, where they probably should have just stopped and said we are finished but they kept it going. This led to a feeling of 2 different stories being told, maybe there were 2 different writing teams. The first half works more on problems with weight and the second more so problems with life.

Overall, I thought this was an awesome watch and if you are stuck around episode 3-5 don't worry there is some great icing on this cake.



p.s. this is a comedy the characters are ridiculous and over the top.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nodame Cantabile
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 11, 2011
Nov 11, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
this is a good show with good music, it's funny and well acted and despite the manga-esque slap stick it never seems to go too far. infact, it's plesantly understated in places.



it's most often billed as a "romantic comedey" which does the show a great diservice. they should just call it a comedey and leave it at that since the "romance" is practically non existant, a total of read more maybe 5 minutes out of ten hours are overtly "romantic" with both parties participating. i personally found nodame's "silly girl with a silly crush" far more amusing than it was romantic.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Celeb to Binbo Taro
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 10, 2011
Nov 10, 2011
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I nearly barfed. Celeb to Binbo Taro is an awfully sappy story about a princess who by a ridiculous chance meets a poor man whose life and personality changes her perspective on her own life and the way she values things. I was so frustrated watching it because it follows a story line you can see 2 episodes in advance. However, once I start a drama I have to finish it so read more I hope this review helps.

First of all Ueto Aya is awesome, a truly great actress because she played this part. If you have never seen her in anything else you would think that she was playing herself. She was that good. Kuninaka Ryoko was a really good Sachiko and really acted that well. Not sure who played the male lead of Sato Taro, but I couldn't stand seeing his bad wig, overacting, he was really annoying. (Maybe they wrote the character that way) There was a lot of fabulousness going on in wardrobe and locations. They attempted a lot of name dropping and they did a really bad impression of president Obama and the American TV show 24hours.

It took me a long time to start watching this one and once I did, I really had to grit my teeth and try not to fast forward too much. I already knew the Princess was going to be a binbo, but I didn't expect the poor man to be stupid too. The situations and dialogue were so highly unlikely even for a drama, and the comedy wasn't funny. And it wasn't lost in translation, but just not funny. As far as the story goes, I think it's really a poor story line when you can skip an episode and a half and not miss anything.

Maybe I was looking for too much in a drama, but this wasn't a lighthearted romp that you could watch anytime, but a slow underdeveloped attempt to teach some lessons. Lesson 1- don't judge a book by its cover, lesson 2- be true to yourself, lesson 3- don't underestimate people, lesson 4- listen to your heart , love happens everywhere. Still a Ueto fan but not a Celeb to binbo fan.

p.s. this ends exactly how you think it will.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Jotei
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 9, 2011
Nov 9, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
It would have gotten a 10 but I cant say i believed in the lead characters cause. otherwise I loved Jotei! The story is about a girl who never gives up and reaches her goal. Yes it is based in the dirty underworld of hostess clubs, and deals with a lot of sex, alcohol, money and revenge but it's a must see.

I really liked Kato Rosa in this; although read more she looked innocent she played her role well. I already love Matsuda Shota, and he always plays a really good tsundere character. I liked the story line because she the character Ayaka didn't get everything like Cinderella, but in the end made out fairly well. This story didn't seem realistic, but a really ugly fantasy, where Ayaka has all of these disappointing moments and events to make it to a place that really isn't all that great. The drama played in between what is realistic and what would only happen in dramas. I think because it mixed them both it came off as this awesome semi-realistic story.

What I didn't like was how much they put an emphasis on having sex for something you want. It is true that this is a story about a girl becoming an empress in the night world, so that is part of it I guess. I would have wanted to see her get where she was going without sex- but maybe even that is too far-fetched for the fantasy. I also didn't like that the main character, Ayaka, believed that becoming a Ginza Empress would really allow her to exact revenge. That seemed just plain silly to me. I also detested her revenge plans for her father, and screamed my head off when that part came around.

All in all I thought the drama was well planned, a great story to watch, great actors and it was entertaining. It kept me glued to my computer, like hadn't been in a long time. Yes you may not agree with the premise, but if you give it a chance and have an open mind, I think it will win you over.

p.s. the end was good and gave resolution and satisfaction.

p.p.s I cried in the drama- and I am not a crier!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Snow Queen
20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 8, 2011
Nov 8, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
The Snow Queen is a story about how some people are destined, fated to cross your path, and change your life. It is about intertwined fate.



For those of you who don't know it, this drama is supposedly based on the Hans Christian Andersen book "The Snow Queen", but I didn't feel it that way. Although the characters are alike, the story is very loosely based, but it did read more have the feeling of magic, and fairy tale, which I guess was the idea.



The story starts years back, and the whole first episode is like a prologue, or a prelude to the real story, it's used as a tool to make you understand the characters and their background. So, don't make up your mind about this drama in the first episode, although I do have to admit that I did it and made up my mind to love it.



When I started watching this I was expecting a tragic story, but it really isn't that much. I mean, yes, the main characters are screwed up, and yes they aren't happy, but it doesn't feel tragic because you actually think "if I were them I'd be the same". And it does mix very well drama with comedy, there are scenes that had me laughing real hard, specially in the first half. Besides, you are in suspense the whole time, waiting, dreading, to see when will all the secrets come out and how will the characters react.



I think the cast is really good. The leads have a lot of chemistry together. Not explosive, like Hyun Bin and Son Hye Kyo on Worlds Within, but it is the kind of chemistry required for this story. The second leads did exactly what every second lead is supposed to, although they didn't really stand out, just became a little annoying. I fell in love with the actor who plays Kim Bo Ra's father in City Hunter, so I think he really did his part well.



The music although it wasn't extraordinary, it really was according to the drama, and very well used, specially the main theme, which reminded me of a ballet, like The Nutcracker, it was just so magical.



Overall, if you like dramatic love stories, with deeper characters who aren't perfect and like to see them evolving, this is definitely your drama. I, personally, liked it a lot, although I wouldn't say that it is one of my favorites, and I'd like to see it again someday with a friend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Midas
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 7, 2011
Nov 7, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This drama is really interesting, even if it can be difficult to follow the technical words from finance and M&A, it shows how far ambition can take us.

The main actors are very good, especially jang hyuk soo sexy

the OST match perfectly the feelings you got while watching...

it is not a classical romance even if some love/revenge stories are in it...

greed, manipulation and regrets... you'll love it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love or Bread
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 7, 2011
Nov 7, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I dunno why I really love this show..maybe it's because it always makes my day complete...making me laugh as hard as I can.Also, there is realism to the show since they are both poor--which is kinda unusual in dramas.



Anyway, the enjoyment is there so disregarding the commonality of the plot(as others may believe), I believe it deserves a 9.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Anego
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 6, 2011
Nov 6, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I really didn't like this drama. A friend of mine who watched it told me not to watch it because I wouldn't like it, but I didn't listen to her and watched it anyway. Oh how I regret that decision.



I don't like to write bad reviews, specially of a jdrama, but sometimes, it must be done.



The story didn't start out so bad, it actually read more is quite refreshing because as was mentioned on a previous review, the leading lady does things that you wouldn't expect the leading lady doing. What I truly hated about this story was that it was based on the argument that she was pathetic just because she was over 30 and still working and unmarried. I mean, why can't a woman be happy working her life away instead of quitting her job the minute she gets married? That is so 1800's for me. I guess the whole thing just got to my feminist side.



The cast was ok, I love Jin, he was the reason I started watching this. But, the non-existent chemistry between the leads is undeniable. I mean, they don't make you feel anything, and it doesn't feel like a couple, it feels like him going around her, as if she were a planet and he a satellite, and I really didn't like that concept because it provided no real relationship.



I don't even remember the music of this, so it couldn't have been great, and I wouldn't ever rewatch it again, I almost didn't finish it the first time around.



This is a drama about a young man falling for an older woman, even though-or maybe because- she's pathetic because she's over thirty and still hasn't married. The thing that I learned the most form this drama was that for japs women are just accesories to an office, with no real value. They're like flowers, which are pretty but can be replaced at any time and just are useful for decorating purposes. So, if you are like from the XIXth century, you'll probably love this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No