Sort by:
Tonbi
51 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 10, 2013
May 10, 2013
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is my first review so I will keep it simple. Tonbi is an incredible and heartwarming family drama which focused on the growing relationship between father and son. I loved how it represented the importance of family and how life's events and circumstances can weaken or strengthen family bonds. Yasu who was the father is such an entertaining character to watch. Never have I come across a character who made me read more laugh and cry at the same time. He is what I can only describe at best a Tsundere. His behaviour was unpredictable and often irrational. It is a wonder how he managed to have such a lovely and beautiful wife. There were moments in the show where I wanted to shake him so that he could come to his senses. His stubborness was frustrating to watch but at the same time you can't help but find him endearing and loveable as he learns the value of being a parent. Despite him being a real Baka no-one can deny his complete love and devotion to his son Akira. The acting by all the cast was fantastic and the instrumentals and OSTs which accompanied the series was beautiful. It was also wonderful to watch Akira grow and learn and to be a man in his own right. Relationships are never easy to manage and this also applies to parent and child relationships, they also need love and respect and the willingness to compromise and work through differences. No-one is perfect and this drama showed clearly the struggles of being a parent and that it is a continuous learning experience which in return becomes rewarding.

Overall this drama was a complete joy to watch and also very satisfying. It gave me an incredible and emotional experience and I can highly recommend this drama. It is worth investing 10 hours of your time to watch this lovely and heartwarming family story which totally captured my heart.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Age of Youth
112 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Aug 27, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Age of Youth is one of the most precious dramas I have ever watched and I doubt I will ever find another drama like this that has evoked so much emotion out of me. It deserves every single bit of praise, and will remain in my heart as something beautiful and sensational. This drama is pure gold. I know I’m one of many opinions, but to fully understand what I’m talking about, read more Age of Youth is one of those dramas that everyone should at least watch once.

The plot was something that originally drew me in. It sounded very original and worthy enough to watch at least the first two episodes. While watching Age of Youth, there were so many moments that either relatable, touching or just plain hilarious. The writer did a fantastic job of the script. With the characters, it took me a few episodes to love all five of them (especially Jung Ye Eun) but each and every one of them, they had a story to tell and all made massive development with their lives. Yoo Eun Jae I grew attached to straight away because I felt a small connection with her and wanted her to grow stronger. Jung Ye Eun was annoying at first (and still can be), but her passionate personality made her admirable. Song Ji Won is the weirdest but most wonderful housemate, and always made a lot of scenes better. Kang Yi Na seemed to have an easy life, but had problems that she kept to herself and solved herself - her pride is something we should all aim to have. And finally, Yoon Ji Myung. I think everyone who has watched Age of Youth can agree that we all wanted to her to be happy as she deserved it the most. Her issues at work, with her brother and mother always caused her to be unhappy and we viewers did not want to see her suffering. All five of them were perfect, unique and lovable. Also, the boys - thank you for all being beside the girls and supporting them (except Ko Doo Young of course). My only issue with the story was the small ‘supernatural’ element that introduced some of the characters’ problems - I wish that was done in a different way.

The acting was on point and this drama was a huge stepping stone in the actors careers. I know I should talk about each actress individually, but I feel like I expressed my feelings a lot in the previous paragraph as their acting was what helped to make each of the characters the best they could have been. The five actresses were amazing, stunning and won my hearts over. None of them wavered in their acting styles, they consistently stuck with their character and continued till the end. I will most definitely be keeping an eye out for their next dramas because I want to see how they all grow.

Music worked extremely well with each scene and every single track was gorgeous to listen to. If you ever have spare time, just stick on the Age of Youth soundtrack and fully appreciate the audio because it will be worth it. My favourite track is definitely the main one, Butterfly by Sogyumo Acacia Band - it has that perfect, young vibe to it.

There is no doubt about it, I would rewatch this right now if I didn’t have so many dramas to catch up on - but I most definitely will be watching this again before the end of the year.

Age of Youth is worth everyone’s time and for me, is the drama of the year - maybe of the decade/century as well haha. If you love a simplistic and cute story with well developed characters and immersive backstories, this is the drama for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nirvana in Fire
142 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 13, 2015
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is such a phenomenal drama, it is truly one of a kind. If you're left unsatisfied after finishing dramas, thinking to yourself if only the writers made better choices, or if only the characters were better developed … then you should give this drama a try. Everything about this drama is AMAZING; it has a mind-blowing screenplay with incredible characters, not to mention its great directing and cinematography. (the action in read more this drama is top-notch, and the war in the later episodes was impressive beyond imagination!)

At First glance, this might look like another revenge drama, but it is much more than that. The goal of the main characters is not to infect pain and suffering on the ones who have done them wrong, and it's not to simply right the wrongs, but to do so while making the ones who've committed the wrong realize the gravity of their actions. In a sense, this is the hardest route to take for correcting what has been wronged, people don’t want to be reminded of their dark past, and even more to accept their faults. Nevertheless, the reason why I love this drama so much is exactly this, the main characters, although they’ve literally been through hell, are not out there for revenge nor to make themselves feel better, but they’re trying to reveal the truth.

The plot is complicated and very intelligently written. There are 54 episodes, but I have to say there is no dull moment. The story has many layers and builds up on its episodes, becoming more and more intense as the episodes go by; we watch the characters execute their plans and try to overcome all the foreseen and un-foreseen obstacles in the most magnificent way possible.

In my opinion there are two main characters, Mei Chang Su and Prince Jing.
Mei Chang Su is the most intelligent character that I’ve ever came across in a drama. For achieving his goals, he uses his knowledge to manipulate people to do exactly what he wants them to do, without them even realizing his involvement! Despite his ingenious and composed personality, he carries the deepest sadness inside him, and that is what gives him the greatest determination for concluding his goals.
Prince Jing is the moral barometer of the story. He is bold and true to himself, he values his loved ones more than anything, and he’s willing to do anything to protect them. That said, he would never go against his moral code, he is a constant reminder for Mei Chang Su (and us the audience) that they should never be untrue to themselves. His bold and strong character attracts capable people to him enabling him to have true leadership characteristic.

This duo is the best I’ve ever seen anywhere, their relationship is so endearing to watch and their personalities compliment each other so well. Just having them both on screen was enough to make me give up everything I was planning to do for the rest of the day and give my undivided attention to this drama.

Another thing that I really like about this drama is that the other characters are all intelligent as well, which makes us understand why they were in power to begin with and why they’ve been successful so far. This point makes watching the main character manipulate these smart and sneaky characters much more enjoyable

This drama is for the intelligent, for the ones who are willing to sit through long conversations and enjoy putting the pieces of the puzzle together, for the ones who understand that sometimes no matter the cost one has to fight for what is right. (sorry for the long review! if you made it this far, that means you're interested!! give it a try, you won't be disappointed!)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
It's Okay, That's Love
198 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I have seen absolute darkness. I know what it's like to lie in bed, unable to leave, trapped under sheets of sweat-drenched anxiety because every single movement feels heavier than you are. I've lived for the moments you reach the surface and gasp for air, only to slip beneath the waves. Most importantly, I know how a single hand can reach into that darkness and pull you to shore.

For sake of read more argument, I am going to share something very personal. In 2009 I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. This isn't a condition that you catch like a cold, but rather one that manifests at a certain age and snowballs until it's nearly impossible to function. You can't prevent it through proper care, you can't always predict its onset and you certainly can't run from it. Essentially, bipolar disorder means I suffer from violent mood swings - severe bouts of depression and self-destructive manic states. Most people are familiar with depression on some level, but the idea of a manic state is foreign so I'll take a moment to explain it. If depression is an extreme state of sadness or hopelessness, you can think of mania as an extreme state of happiness. It's generally characterized by impulsive (and often destructive) decisions, lack of sleep and is almost always accompanied by the physical feeling of euphoria (you can think of this as something similar to the effects of several drugs like ecstasy.) This state is the most dangerous and, for me personally, meant that I would blow through money on drugs and alcohol, ostracize my friends and family because of an uncontrollable temper and sail off into the sunset feeling invincible. These impulses left my life in ruins.

I crashed hard during my third semester of college and had to withdraw. At my worst I was suicidal, faced with a crippling loneliness that I had never felt before. You can think of it like standing knee- deep and staring into a dark pool of water. The only light is the reflection of your own eyes and even those seem foreign to you. If you shout you're greeted by a distorted echo that you recognize as your own, but it's masked by an alien quality. In this sense, mental disorders create two yous; the you that you're familiar with and the stranger you can't recognize beyond a silhouette and the stain it leaves behind. You're a prisoner in your own body and every single day you feel yourself inching closer and closer to the water.

If there is a single safe harbor in all of this, it's love. When two souls dredge through the fire and connect, the bond can become unbreakable. Empathy is the great uniter; shared pain is like cement. Love will harden through pain. Two souls become pillars, lifting the other out of the water and into the sky. This is what separates this drama from the rest. This is why It's Okay, That's Love is a masterpiece.

Mental health is not a topic that is addressed very often in Korean dramas, and when it is it often comes across as comical. Mental health balances between something people think of as self-imposed, something you can shrug off if you try hard enough, and something to be afraid of. Because of this, it's usually presented as one of the two extremes: something too light, often existing as comic relief or a silly quirk meant to add flavor without substance, or as something too heavy, existing as some ethereal force that twists the mind into something less than human. It's Okay, That's Love is able to present something serious and keep a lighthearted tone without being insulting.

If you're looking at the melodrama tag and expecting something that borders on makjang, this drama is not that. The feeling of melancholy threads this drama together, but it does not weigh it down. You won't find endless sobbing, misunderstandings or two-dimensional characters. Instead, this drama showcases the marriage of two souls through unconditional love and growth. Love is strongest when flaws can fit together like a jig-saw puzzle, and the characters in this drama compliment each other perfectly. It's important to emphasize that these characters are flawed. Too often dramas shy away from characters with real problems and instead settle on external conflict to move the story in its entirety. The characters in these dramas are perfect outside of the experiences they undergo and the forces that act on them and it makes them two-dimensional. This is not the case in this drama. Most of the conflict is internal, but it's relatable and organic. Every single character is presented in a manner that allows you to love and empathize with them - it's a multi-layered story, the supporting cast is also very well-developed.

In addition to a perfect atmosphere, this drama does something almost unheard of in a Korean drama. It presents a love story that is not about the chase, but rather endurance. Adult topics such as sex, intimacy and trust are at the forefront and allow the drama to paint a picture of actual couplehood instead of traditional guy-chase-girl or girl-chase-guy fare. You'll watch the couple grow not only as individuals, but as loving creatures. It doesn't stop at love, either, the concept of friendship as a refuge is just as strong. The entire cast grows over the course of the show, and if you're anything like me, you will grow along side them.

I really can't gush enough about this drama. It's been a very long time since I watched something that resonated within me with such perfect harmony. The soundtrack captures the moods perfectly, the actors (from main to supporting) have realistic and beautiful chemistry. The melancholy is haunting, but it won't overwhelm you. I cried, I smiled, laughed and lived with this drama. I saw those two souls grow into a love so pristine that you honestly believe they cannot live without each other. The term soulmate can only apply when two people love each other unconditionally, and they both crossed the sea in a rowboat to reach it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
81 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 1, 2017
Mar 1, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I made a vow to write a review immediately after the show ended and believe me when I say the emotions are still raw. Where do I even start? Eternal Love is such a compelling and beautiful piece I don't think I can find the exact words to describe it.

The story is brilliant in itself and I am honestly sure it did the book justice. I think if you're watching this read more without reading the book beforehand, you would love the show a lot more because you're watching without expectations plus either way, Eternal Love will blow you away (even if you're not a fantasy/xianxia/historical genre kind of person) Also, If you like The Journey of Flower, you will love this without a doubt.

Everything, every single thing is so stunning from the costumes, to the set and the cinematography. And the most beautiful part is, of course, their love story. The different clans coming together and all the magical elements and all are very interesting. I won't delve into the story too much because its pretty complicated but fear not, you will never be bored of it for a second.

The acting was spectacular. Yang Mi did a fantastic job as always. Although it was my first time watching Mark Chao, his character as either Mo Yuan or Ye Hua is so easily to fall in love with because he is that good at acting. Chemistry was flawless. A transparent love was beautifully portrayed; you could feel their love and pain and share their happiness. Kiss scenes are very good too. They're not exactly rough but tender and deep? I honestly did not expect so many kiss scenes because I was quite disappointed with the lack of intimacy in The Journey of Flower but you're blessed here :')

Every other character was very likeable having their own unique personalities. The other side characters and love stories are also super sweet especially Dong Hua's and Feng Jui's.

It seems like everything about the drama is perfect even its music is so apt. The entire OST is so enchanting played at right timings. The duet is so haunting which really gives Bai Qian & Ye Hua moments that goosebumps. So, so good.

The only problem I have (not with the drama) is that I hate misunderstandings that cause conflicts in a relationship which my heart cannot handle. Ye Hua and Bai Qian's relationship has many 'tragedies' that can really break your heart because they've been through so many tribulations caused by some side bitches but in the end, everything for this drama is worth it.

Rewatch it? Definitely. No qualms about it.

This is truly a masterpiece and I can safely say Eternal Love is my favourite C-Drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chief Kim
41 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 30, 2017
Mar 30, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
If you're having any doubts about picking this up because of the lack of 'romance' tag or the synopsis or just anything, please throw all those doubts out of the window and watch this right now! I don't generally watch non-romance dramas, and I'm not a big fan of office politics or just politics in general, but I LOVED this! And believe me, so will you.
The words corporate politics put me read more off for a while, but then I finally picked this drama because of Gung Min. I wasn't familiar with any of the other cast. Now I can't believe I was about to pass this gem off!
Here are few of the reasons why I loved Chief Kim-

-Sometimes, it doesn't require an unique plotline to make a successful drama, but what matters is it's execution. A group of people fighting against the corruption in their organisation might not seem like anything new, but Chief Kim is executed brilliantly. Not to mention, hilariously.
-I feel like, with the given plot, there could have been a lot of crazy misunderstandings, what with him being a bad person at the beginning. But the writer chose to deal with that fact in a straightforward manner, instead of going round and round in circles. I'm really thankful for that because it made it way more enjoyable.
-I really enjoyed the pacing of this show. In a typical kdrama, things go well in the start, and then around the last 5-6 episodes, everything goes wrong horribly which doesn't get resolved until the last episode. But I felt that wasn't the case with this drama. The pacing was a bit more consistent. Good and bad happened throughout the drama, not at any specific timings/ episode.
- I legit loved every interactions between every characters in the drama. Whether it may be Chief Kim & Seo Yul, Seo Yul & Ha Gyeong, Chief Kim & Myeong Su, Chief Kim & Ga Eun and any many others, each one was immensely enjoyable.
-I'm a big fan of bromances. Well, who isn't, right? The main lead, Chief Kim, is surrounded by a lot of guys. There are number of bromances going on simultaneously. My personal favorite being TQ's Psycho & Gluttonous Sociopath. They are just sooo cute!
-The chemistry between the characters is really good. Not just with the leading characters, but also between the supporting characters.
-There might not be any romance, but you can still ship two particular characters (I'm not saying who), I know I did.
-The comedy is SPOT-ON. This drama might not keep you on the edge of your seat, but it sure will have you falling off off it- with laughter!
-Last but not the least; watch out for the some drama scenes parodies. I loved them, and I'm sure you'll too. I'm not going to say which dramas, 'cause that'll spoil the fun, but they were pretty popular ones.
I'd like to end the review by saying that I'm not a drama re-watcher, but I'd gladly re-watch any episode of Chief Kim any-day! So please, give this a chance!
Happy Watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ugly Alert
60 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 20, 2013
Dec 20, 2013
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
It is really hard to rate a near perfect drama!! Some people will miss out on this gem simply because of the episode count. But I can assure that with 32-35 minute episodes, you will be swept into a story that will resonant with you from now on; one that you will use as a template for all future family dramas. The acting by all was superb! The writer promised to present read more a story without one single drama clique and it was delivered. I got to see the development of a romance from start to finish. Wait, I got to see the development of 3 relationships. The problems they presented made sense. Even the brief noble idiocy moment made sense to me. I never thought I would dismiss that as a necessary evil in the story. The supporting characters, you either loved them or hated them. But that was a testament to how well they acted. Overall, I do not feel that I wasted a moment of my time. As a matter of fact, I wouldn't be surprised if one day down the drama road, I re-watch the entire drama again. Yes, it is that good!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Lover
39 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This drama was cute and interesting, it definitely had a reality tv-vibe to it. It was fun to watch how different couples from different backgrounds, age groups and even with different sexual preferences lived together in one building. It was fun to follow their daily lives, learn about their problems and see the development. I liked how this show pointed out some of the major issues within Korean society with healthy criticism. read more A lot of old popular songs were incorporated for the sake of the fun, if you know those songs and their meaning to Koreans you will get more out of the show.

The acting was great and, in my opinion, The Lover is one of the best acted drama out there. My biggest problem with the show was how a lot of scenes were stretched to the point they lost all the fun and made me feel like "okay, I get it. Just move on already". And some couples were given waaay more screen time than the others. There were definitely the main couples and the side character couples, which took a bit away from the show. I would have liked it if all couples had the equal standing.

The Lover has a high re-watch value because it's honestly fun and heartwarming. There are only 12 episodes and that¨s great, the show doesn't get any time to get draggy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ex-Girlfriend Club
38 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
As many already know, Ex-Girlfriend Club had to go through an (uncalled) cut, going from 16 episodes to only 12. Fortunately, this Kdrama didn't seem to suffer much from it and managed to stay true to itself until the very end; so no need to fret about the quality going downhill.

The only valid explanation I see for Ex-Girlfriend Club's low ratings is that it doesn't have any "epic love" nor any read more "bad-to-the-bone villain". It is simply a heartfelt story with a generous sprinkle of fluff and hilarity, as its OST can corroborate. Although the story is unpretentious, the characters are all layered. Flawed yet lovable, the characters are more than just love interests and whatnot; each of them is his/her own person. The genuineness the characters give off is enhanced by the great acting. The cast did a flawless job, Bun Yo Han was especially shining in this drama. The ones behind the cast wouldn't have been able to find a more perfect fit for Myung Soo, even if they had tried. Not to mention how believable Song Ji Hyo and him were at acting as a couple, they were simply the cutest.

This drama, free of the usual draggy angst, can be watched over and over without losing much of its charm. To put it in a nutshell, Ex-Girlfriend Club is the perfect drama to watch if you want to uplift your current mood.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Queen's Classroom
38 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 18, 2012
Jun 18, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Jyoou no Kyoushitsu is a drama which is intense,significant,educative and addictive.
The main attraction of this drama is that it is an exception to the typical school dramas. All Japanese classroom dramas so far have been about the teacher saving the students from their own folly.On the other hand, Akutsu Maya-sensei is the teacher no one ever wants to have.She's Brilliant, manipulative, obsessive, and dead set on making sure that the students read more fall in line with her rules.

Another good point is unpredictability. The Queen's Classroom breaks from traditional drama with an apparently evil teacher who is out to prove that the world is a harsh place, and so is her classroom.She's a cunning and calculative teacher and systematically removes the parental and academic protection the children had enjoyed, and forces them to deal with their problems themselves.

The Queen's Classroom" is an astonishingly well elaborated and smart drama series, which points at the bad condition at Japanese schools or certain deficiencies in Japanese society in general, and does so in a very entertaining way. The show isn't just thought-provoking;it is also very touching, appealing and persuasive concerning its message.

Last but not least is the outstanding cast. Amami Yuki, the actress who plays Akutsu Maya, did exceptionally well in portraying such a devilish teacher. I think it's because She did so well that for the end credits of each episode, they decided to show her after a take and smiling, a facial expression only used when she does something particularly "evil "!!
Shida Mirai did an excellent job as the innocent-minded child. she's incredibly adorable and became my favorite teenage Japanese actress after this drama.
The two specials were indeed very special and did an awesome job in explaining the reasons why the characters acted the way they did.They reveal all they mysteries,answer all the questions and justify all the actions.

I can write so many things in praise of this drama!! But it’s very hard to continue without giving spoilers.

This is a drama which everybody should watch.If you believe that this is a show solely for teenagers or even children, only because almost all of the main actors aren't older than twelve and drop it half way then you are mistaken. It’s only if u watch it till the end then you would realize how ‘not-childish’ this drama is! This series suffers from minor defects in the story line but nothing is perfect and please don't give unnecessary importance to these occasional faults and belittle this great drama.
Although the atmosphere throughout the series is quite dark, Queen's Classroom is actually one hell of an entertaining show!Hope you'll enjoy this wonderful 'monogatari' as much as I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kazoku Game
56 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 24, 2013
Oct 24, 2013
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Those familiar with Japanese culture may readily recognize the terms "honne" and "tatemae," clashing concepts which hold enormous importance in that society. These refer to feelings and wishes held privately ("honne") and the often opposing facade shown in public ("tatemae"). For better or for worse, this standard affects how most Japanese behave and interact with one another. Kazoku Game uses its nominal family as an example, jabbing at the hypocrisies of this read more societal staple with vicious satire. With the addition of bullying as a theme, this drama widens its relatability -- though it is already suitable for an international audience.

A difficult yet riveting watch, Kazoku Game turns the family genre on its head. As it adopts an uncanny, dangerous atmosphere, one is often left with the feeling something is not quite right. Even when things appear to be going beautifully, the viewer can never truly settle into a sense of well-being. This unshakable near-paranoia bolsters the mystery presented by the story, begging one to question why the Numata family is in such a state, and what the home tutor hopes to gain from his actions toward them. Because this is clearly a fantasy, issues are relatively negligible with the plot. Despite this, I could not help thinking that if anyone did a quarter of what is seen in this drama, they would be shackled in seconds. Potential viewers beware: triggers abound. Violence toward and between children (including intense bullying), sexual assault, and suicide, are concepts of varying visual importance displayed on screen.

Powerful performances from the ensemble must be applauded. Of the actors and actresses which comprise it, none are weak. Few seem to rant about Sakurai Sho as an actor, but his portrayal of the tutor was especially memorable. Whether through his manic cheer or vibrant cruelty, the character springs to (somewhat nightmarish) life with ease. One may never forget the way Sensei swings his arms childishly while walking, or the frozen doll-like smile he offers to others. And his catch-phrase, "Ii, ne!" ("That's good!") is simultaneously menacing and catchy.

Young actors Kamiki Ryunosuke and Uragami Seishu are also notable, capably carrying out their roles as the troubled Numata sons. Uragami-san as Shigeyuki has an honesty about his depiction, true awkwardness and immaturity (good and bad) many will see themselves in. Something of a screen veteran despite his young age, Kamiki-san has a meatier, more complex role. His character has less relatability, but remains fascinating and nuanced because of his fine performance.

Most tunes heard in Kazoku Game are used to boost its eeriness. Brass instruments and a lone, creepy saxophone lead almost all instrumentals. One particular track stood out, partially because it was played so often and also because it was somewhat sinister. Whenever it marked a scene, something cruel was realized or a strange event had taken place; but the tone was cheerful -- aside from the purposely off-tune lead instrument. I also rather enjoyed the theme "Endless Game," provided by Arashi, and the very suitable introductory piece. My only problem with the soundtrack was that it ultimately felt repetitive, but perhaps that was also intentional.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
King's Daughter, Soo Baek Hyang
37 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 18, 2014
Mar 18, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I just finished this drama... and I am totally emotionally drained right now. I cryed soo much in the last episode, that my tears would create a river :D But lets go to the official review....

This drama is amazing! That is all you need to know to start watching it. Of course, it has more then 100 episodes, but they are only 30 minutes long, so you wont really spend that read more much time on it.

I would like to start from the very beginning - parents story. Lets face the true: usually, its the most boring part of dramas. At first, I thought that I would skip it and go right to the actual story. But I warn you... DONT DO THIS! Story of their parents is actually really good as a stand alone story. Its sad, but amazing and really romantic. I really enjoyed it! And actors are just amazing... it has so many feels! Plus there are some really important aspects of the story and if you miss it, you will be lost later. So I will recommend you to watch fully watch it :)

As for the actually story of princess Su Baek Hyang. Again, it is amazing. From the beginning to the end, you will not feel bored. Actors are doing amazing job with every role that is given to them. I was never a big fan of Seo Woo, but she did amazing job with her villain character. And the main characters are soooo good! Main pairing is sooo sweet! Perfect!

There are so many things I loved about this. One of them were characters... They are very complex and fun to watch. Good guys are not not just "good" they have their bad side too. And vice versa. It is always fun to watch characters like this, because you never know what to expect from them!
There is also another thing. This drama does NOT have love triangle. OMG! Really... for a 100+ eps drama to NOT have a love triangle. Its like a precious jewel :D yet it still have interesting story to watch :D

About the story... its complicated :D I sometimes felt like I need to make a diagram about who is whos son and daughter :D
But who I loved the most was the main actress. SHE HAS SUCH A HIGH POTENTIAL! I enjoyed her to the bits! Perfect perfomance in every scene! She can be really funny, but also dramatic. Her character had the best development, yet she remained true to herself. I was really amazed by her acting skills! Bravo to her and every other actor and actress!

As I wrote... the story is amazing! Even if this is 100+ drama... and it has its own flaws... its perfect watch! Very entertaining and fun.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ugly Alert
37 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 1, 2013
Dec 1, 2013
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I think this is my first review so i don't know if it will come out well.. but i'll try.
Where to start? Hum at the beginning i thought it was just a random family Drama that i started to watch because of Im Joo Hwan and Kang So Ra.
After just the first episode i was really interested in the story and then became to love it after some more episodes. read more The Cast:I love it all. The child actors were totally amazing in my opinion and i will follow them in the future.
I think every actor has portayed his/her character really well and so i could enjoy the Drama till the end.
There will be characters who will annoy you to the bones but they will make you proud in the end changing themself for the better.You will be there to see how someone can change for the people he/she loves.
I'm not Korean but i could understand what they were saying and doing without subs. The acting is really good and it will make you enjoy this Drama.

Story:
The story tells how different people become a family and have to accept each other.
They will go through dispair,pain to finally find happiness as a family.
They will come to undertsand each other and love each other like a real family should.
They will fight for love and to protect the most loved people in their lives.

Music: I really liked the music finding myself singing without realizing it.
I cried a lot and the sad music was a stab in the back making me cry more XD
One of my favourite was No Matter What They Say by Yang Mi Jin.


Why watch this Drama? It will make you feel all the emotions the characters feel,it will make you understand people more,it will teach you a lot of things you'll need in life..

If you start watching it you won't stop.
It's TOTALLY WORTH IT.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
49 Days
100 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 23, 2011
May 23, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I had a lot of fun watching this "highly entertaining, very different from the norm" drama. It has a very real human story within a fantastical framework. It was entertaining and thought provoking throughout its run.

The actors had great chemistry, the music was very fitting and the cinematography was wonderful. It is not your typical love story. It is not a rom-com. It isn't really comparable to other dramas that have read more recently aired. The writer and director of this drama stand out in a spectacular way.

For the writer's part: So Hyun Kyung told a very good story with twists and turns and a movable plot that kept you watching. Just when you think the story is moving in one direction it does a little flip and takes you on another, unexpected path. The themes of 49 Days are love, forgiveness, family, death and learning to truly live. It is a beautiful story.

For the director's part: He kept the plot moving and stayed true to the writer's vision. The camera work was very well done and I love when the lighting and the shots are part of the action and mean everything to how the story is told.

There are plenty of light moments but this show was never meant to be a comedy. I have seen comparisons to other more comedic shows and I feel that is doing this show an injustice. It's been a long time since I've watched a drama where the plot was so evenly paced and well planned out. Even though that plan may have taken me in places I didn't expect and were not the norm for a Kdrama.

It is easy to stick with this show and sometimes you will be on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen to the characters you have grown to love. (Han Kang! I adore you) I was satisfied with the ending. I was impressed and pleased with the story I was told. I recommend 49 Days highly.

If you haven't seen it, try not to read the spoilers!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 End 2 Outs
36 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 19, 2012
Jul 19, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
If you’re looking for fast paced story, crave for passionate romance and love from first sight or if you prefer it when dramas have complicated plot and lots of action, beware, this drama doesn’t have it.

So why should you watch 9 End 2 Outs?

Firstly, because it shows a story about two lifelong friends falling in love in a very realistic way – they don’t fall for each other instantly, it’s read more a long process that makes you believe that this CAN happen in a real life. You won’t find here a vicious ex or a third party who does everything in his/her might to separate the main couple; the biggest obstacle that Nan Hee and Hyung Tae have to overcome is their fear that when they’ll change their relationship they’ll lose a precious friend.

Secondly, the acting. I have to say that both Soo Ae and Kee Jung Jin have done a marvelous job portraying characters who are ”maybe something more than friends”. When I watched them bickering I felt like they really knew each other very well, when they supported each other it looked real and when they started to question their relationship it made me understand their dilemmas. Even if their love story is not passionate or full of bold kisses it’s not boring, it draws you completely into their world.

Thirdly, the atmosphere of the drama as a whole. This one is really heartwarming, maybe because of the relationship between Nan Hee and Hyung Tae: their comfortable friendship, their maturity and their obvious caring for each other and as for the plot mostly the lack of bigger twists – the story is flowing steadily in its own pace.

I gave this drama an 8 because, let’s face it, it’s not something that makes you stunned by its greatness or creativity, but still is worth watching (and rewatching!). If you’re looking for a realistic story about mature people, this one is for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No