Go Princess Go (2015) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 1,420 users)
  • Ranked: #1367
  • Popularity: #1201
  • Watchers: 3,240

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

20%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

8 edits
6 edits
6 edits
6 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Aryael
57 people found this review helpful
Jan 16, 2016
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
Story: In a pool side accident, a playboy (Zhang Peng) fell into the pool, got knocked unconscious and ended up in ancient times in the body of a woman. Where time traveling and soul switching stories are concerned, this is a nice and fresh twist where a man's soul ended up in a woman's body. And not just any woman's body but the crown princess'! The crown princess, Zhang Peng Peng was married to the crown prince of the kingdom who hated her with vengeance as the old Zhang Peng Peng was supposedly a manipulative spoilt brat. The crown prince was in love with a concubine of his older brother while the handsome Ninth Prince was in love with Zhang Peng Peng - creating two triangle relationships....or should I say, pentagonal relationship since there were 5 people involved in it??? Through hilarious misadventures and palace politics (put in a light manner), the crown prince slowly fell in love with his wife after discovering that Zhang Peng Peng had changed into a funny, quirky, 'boyish', rude, bossy and somewhat innocent woman! This change in character attracted and intrigued the crown prince. But Zhang Peng Peng refused to admit that she's also falling in love with her husband - a man! - when she's actually Zhang Peng (the soul of a man)! Therefore, she set up various plots to avoid having to deal with an interested husband - some funny while others were downright dangerous and challenging the authority of her husband who eventually became king. In the middle of it all, the Ninth prince who was in love with Zhang Peng Peng and wanted nothing but her happiness was caught in the power struggle for the throne. Throw in racy and suggestive scenes where Zhang Peng Peng molested the concubines and female servants and sex scenes between her and her unwanted hubby (lots of alcohol was involved!), and you'll get a provocative, quirky, silly and entertaining drama! How will this unlikely romance between a woman/man and a man end? Watch it to find out! A word of warning before you start: be prepared to marathon this drama as once you start, you can't stop. It is very addictive!

Acting/Cast: Mostly new faces but boy did they acted well! Kudos to the female lead and male leads of this drama, including the supporting characters of female servants, eunuchs and princes. They can act serious at one point and turn to quirky and funny at another then to a touching and tear-inducing, heart-jerking scenes the next! Amazing! I hope they will all go on to bigger and better roles! And the costumes were scandalous to say the least! Scandalous and unthinkable for the period in question but they added to the fun of the drama! Big pat on the back to everyone- from cast to production and directing teams! A job well done!

Music: Love the haunting OSTs and how it's played throughout in 3 different variations depending on the mood of the drama. I am looking around to download it now.

Rewatch vaue: High rewatch value. I do not mind rewatching this drama again very soon. Each episode's only 30 minutes since it's made for web viewing. I enjoyed all of the weird antics and the more serious parts of this drama. Very entertaining!

Overall: Highly recommended! You'll laugh, fall in love and cry. This is chinese quirky humor mixed with romance in the ancient times at its best!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Dieu
14 people found this review helpful
Sep 1, 2016
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Story
A long time ago i watched the first episode but ended dropping it bc i thought it was boring but when ii watched it for the second time i was addicted. I liked the men switching in a woman body bc he started to understand the womens life. There wasn't only romance but also comedy there are really funny scenes. There are 3 endings I personally didn't think the drama was ended yet bc there are things that aren't explained yet.

Acting
Zhang peng peng did a great job i really liked her acting when she had to act as a man she was doing really wel. Qi peng was really handsome but his face was always the same i know he played the icy cold character but his face was a bit stiff this was his first drama so he still has to learn a lot. The rest of the cast was good. There was only one person i wanted to punch in the face jian ying yue really annoyed me but that was her character.

Music
I really liked all of the ost chinese music are always beautiful also there lyrics are special.

Rewatch
I will rewatch this bc every episode is only 20 min which is not much and there are only 35 episodes!

Overal
I really liked this drama i recommend you to watch this the leads are great and it is also funny

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sharreb
6 people found this review helpful
May 13, 2016
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
Story: Romace-centric set in the palace but different from your usual C - drama. The romance is always the main plot. Not so much on politics or war strategy or palace politics or concubines fighting. Which is why it's my cup of tea and I love it when arranged marriage results in dislike turning to attraction turning to love

But I do find it to be not very refine (rough around the edges). The theme of male soul in female body while interesting might not be for everyone

Costumes.: Mostly a miss. Qi Sheng's mostly were ok until he don war armour paired with 3quarter pants and that translucent outfit.. What were the costume people thinking? Pengpeng clothes.. Maybe I'm prudish I prefer the ones that are more covered up. The green one bordered on vulgar.

- Spoiler-
Love a lot of romantic scenes that were touching and memoeable
When he explain himself and clear up that it wasn't love with 2nd brother's wife. I had alot of respect for him here
When he admitted later that each time he wasn't testing her he was betting that she would choose him and he would be the one she can rely on. So man
When he said he don't wan an empress, he wants a wife to be by his side and he wanted her while heart, not half.
When she woke from her nightmare and realise she has fallen in love with her unborn baby
When she was in the mud pit searching for the antidote for him
When she final admitted she loves him

All these parts are worth rewatchin.

My advise is watch Ep 1 to 35, skip 36 and watch the 3rd ending

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Pandora
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2016
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
Truthfully I had very little expectations for this drama. I had already tried to watch it once before and I couldn't get past the first 2 minutes! But I saw it again in another list of dramas and though I should give it a second chance. That was hands down one of the best decisions I've ever made!

As soon as Zhang Peng falls into the body of Zhang Peng Peng hilarity ensues and it's ultimately what kept me coming back for more. From his various attempts to seduce the Crown Princes four wives to her maid Lu Li childish behavior. There were even fart and period jokes that instead of coming off as immature, were actually well timed and in sync with the flow of the show. It wasn't obvious to me that the drama was low budget until about the 4th or 5th episode when I read a comment underneath one of the videos. The set locations, costumes, and makeup bring a specific sort of aesthetic that makes it seem that much more believable. But as time goes on I did notice from their limited actors, reuse of costumes and limited set locations but none of it actually distracted me from the story. On top of the aesthetic, every single actor brought something to the table including Zhang Peng whom we only hear as an inner conscious/voice. The ones who stood out for me especially was the Crown Prince Qi Sheng, Zhang Peng Peng and for some reason, I really liked Lu Li especially!

While it may have been all fun and games in the beginning, as you delve deeper into the episodes things become more serious and there is a lot of character development going on. There isn't too much romance in the beginning as she is a man stuck in a woman's body but again as you progress things become more intimate.

STORY: [9] Not because the concept of a man from another time falling into a woman from the pasts body isn't possible but because you will find yourself frustrated as to why Zhang Peng is being an idiot about certain things. It will make you mad but it all ties together in the end I promise.


ACTING/CASTING: [10] Whoever did the casting for this drama deserves an award. Every single person put in overtime to make the characters believable. At sometimes the acting may seem over the top but when you account for the general campy and comical tone of the drama you start to realize that it's intentional.

MUSIC: [10] I'm not gonna lie, the OST for this drama changed my life. It may sound silly but it's one of the most heartwrenching and beautiful songs for a drama I've ever heard. It helps that the man who played Qi Sheng, Sheng Peter, actually forked over some of his own money for the song and even sang with Cui Zige! Their voices compliment each other perfectly and I've been listening to it non-stop. I don't know a word of Chinese but I know every damn word in that song!

REWATCH VALUE: [9.5] This drama is definitely one of my favorites and rewatching wouldn't take away its value instead it might just increase it! I can picture myself still watching this drama years down the road! If I wasn't watching 12 dramas right now I'd rewatch it all over again. Who knows, maybe when SnackFever delivers my treats, I'll break it out again!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Meep
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 4, 2017
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
If I had to summarise this drama in a word I would say: Hysterical(ly funny).

Our intrepid hero falls into a pool to escape the clutches of his 3 angry (ex?)girlfriends and upon hitting his head wakes up in the body of the unloved wife of the crown prince. From then on shenanigans ensue.

This drama is low-budget to a degree that is funny in and of itself, because the drama embraces this fact and plays it camp. This doesn't mean it looks ugly, I actually think the camera work and lighting are really well done, but the costumes and locations are practically neon coloured.

The main draw for this drama is its actress, with Crystal Zhang effortlessly making you root for Zhang Peng Peng even if he's still kind of a douche in the beginning. Peter Shang doesn't have quite as much to do acting wise, which was probably the best solution since he is a bit limited when it comes to emoting, but he and Crystal have enough chemistry to make their eventual relationship believable.

The plot features the usual clichés for palace dramas, even if concubines stabbing each other in the backs don't play as much of a role this time, nor do eunuchs manipulating everything which is also a nice change. Mostly it's about Zhang Peng Peng navigating this new world, new body and new status, usually with hilarious results.

The side characters are also very memorable even if they don't get to have too much depth, but for a drama whose episodes are usually only between 20-30 minutes long there is not much time to delve too deep into the other characters.

EDIT: omg how could I forget, the most IMPORTANT costar: the wind machine. Honestly that thing was doing WORK on this show and it made great scenes even better. Windmachine MVP tbh.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
alwayswithTY
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 15, 2016
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
For a low budget drama series like this, I did not have much expectations when I first chanced upon this. It all happened when I was like really bored and looking for a show to watch but little did I expect that once I started watching, I couldn't stop! I know I have a soft spot for time travelling dramas but this plot was kind of refreshing to me because a man's soul time traveled to the past in a female's body! I read the synopsis and was curious about how he(she) was going to get out of this mess especially since he was a playboy in modern times.

Plot: Hilarious yet sad at times. I can't believe how pretty the drama is shot even thought it's a low budget one. The female actress carried the plot with her acting and she's really beautiful in the show. It helps that the female character had a male soul in a female body so she didn't care about the crown prince at the beginning while the crown prince slowly became intrigued by her new personality.

Acting: 10/10 Props to the cast for displaying such good performance to carry the plot when the budget is this low.

Music: It didn't particularly stood out to me but there are more than enough things to distract you from it. (:

Rewatch: I just finished this drama and I heard there's going to be a third ending?? I am definitely going to rewatch this sometime in the future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
YunYee
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 27, 2016
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama has a very unique storyline where it satisfied both audience who like BL and not (depending who you want the lead to be male/female). Besides, due to the low production fee, they were required to advertise the products from their sponsor in the drama which cause the drama to be very funny and unique (as the products they advertise are durian and Viagra XD).

To those who wanted to watch something which is funny with a good storyline, you guys can have a try!! (although it ended soo suddenly but the overall were good :P)

P.S. There is only 3 horses in the drama due to their low production fee XD (I didn't realize until I watch the behind the scenes.. lollll)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Cambear
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2018
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I liked parts of this drama and other parts didn’t work for me.

What worked? There are some fun bits with the gender reversal and a slow-burn hate-to-love romance that I’m always a sucker for.

What didn’t work? The humor was extremely broad (fart jokes, vomiting) which is not my favorite kind of comedy. Also, some of the male-gaze scenes way too broad as well. This is a comedy and fairly low-brow so it’s not like the characters are well-developed or there’s a a great plot.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
yui
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 8, 2018
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
First off, we can only blame the low budget on this drama for everything that happens lmaoo.
I really recommend this if you want a good laugh, even if it's laughing at how weird the drama is (which I did a lot).

STORY:
Time travel story, Zhang Peng gets into a poolside accident and he gets transferred into Crown Princess Zhang Peng Peng's body. He has to deal with his new identity and is stuck in a 'love triangle' (or love quad i guess), though he doesn't really care about any of it since he isn't attracted to males (in fact, he tries living his life enjoying quality time with the other females in the harem using his new identity as a woman to get physically close with them). As for the relationships: Crown prince Qi Sheng likes his brother's wife, while the Ninth prince likes the crown princess (peng peng). The story focuses on these relationships and how they affect the characters into doing what they do. Don't think there's no real point to the drama though, because there are still the generic schemes and power struggles seen in dynasty dramas, though they may be hidden under the comedy.
I think even though the drama was strange at times, it still followed a unique plot and the struggle between peng peng and the crown prince's relationship. Also I think the highlight of the show would have been the language - peng peng often says things in english like 'im sorry' or in korean like 'oppa', and 'eottoke', giving us a good laugh.
Here's a hint though: there are actually 2 different endings to the story, so make sure to see both if you feel like you need more explanation to the ending.

ACTING:
I wanna give an applaud to the actors, they did a great job portraying their roles. Crystal does well acting like a man in a woman's body, and her korean and english really cracked me up. Peter does well in portraying a stoic and emotionless crown prince, but also does a great job at showing how an emotionless man can show emotions too. Side characters also do well at assimilating into their roles and acting comedic as well.

MUSIC:
Surprisingly, there were good songs that I would voluntarily listen to even outside of the drama. Sometimes I felt the music being repetitive but that's not really a problem. The point is, they were able to set the mood in the drama.

REWATCH/OVERALL:
I'm not one to rewatch dramas, and I considered this a short fling to watch since I was bored out of my mind and nothing else really spoke out to me. This drama is better to watch if you want a good laugh while also enjoying some plot here and there. Overall, I would say this drama was unexpectedly 'good' enough that I finished watching all of it. The first ending was a bit lacking, the second one more of a cliffhanger, but I've heard that in low budget dramas like these we can only expect these type of endings. I for one wouldn't regard the first ending as the ultimate ending, since the second ending had more added to it.
I also have my own theory that I commented on the second ending episode on drama cat's video on youtube (that's where you can watch it!), but you can ask me here if you want to know what I thought about the ending :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jaton Miller
0 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2018
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Go! Princess Go! is a charming romp turned drama which I would mark as a must-see for anyone who enjoys dramas. It is a fresh take on the time travel concept, and for the most part, the idea of a man being in the body of a woman is handled quite well. I especially liked how, do to this, it was often the woman who took a more dominating place in the relationship between the two love interests.

Though this drama starts off very light-hearted and seems to lean more towards comedy, there is a gradual shift in tone which solidifies to a complete drama at the end. For the most part, I think the change was gradual enough that it was successful - I could take the ending seriously...for the most part, but I will get to that later.

The Good:
Lighthearted comedy
A fun watch
A unique concept
Has some very heavy parody elements and some meta humor
A unique and enticing romance

The Bad:
Pacing - this show is all over the place. At first, the pacing is relatively consistent but then it begins to drag towards the middle, hits rock bottom, before picking up again.
Sometimes the comedy doesn't quite fit. Remember how I said that the switch in tone was handled well, for the most part? Well, when the tone doubles down, it sometimes falls flat on its face and ruins the mood. Doesn't happen too often, but often enough to be noticeable.
THE ENDING. I can't explain but wow. There should only have been 34 episodes in this series. Just... this is my main qualm with the show. There is nothing worse than having a good show with a bad final episode. And as for which alternate ending is best? I would vote the first one.

Conclusion: Watch it. It's fun, if a bit long, and really enjoyable if you get past all the body humor, haha. The nods towards drama tropes are so much fun to partake in, and the parody aspect of the show is done well and genuinely funny. If you were on the fence, definitely give this one a try!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sana 2019
0 people found this review helpful
Aug 15, 2019
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Hilarious

I loved the story of Go Princess Go, it just has all the interesting elements for a time travel story with an unexpected twist. It is just hilarious, funny, cute moments, romance, nice music, short episodes, and not too long of a series. This is what I call a match made in heaven for one of my favourite series now. The only thing I am going to say that bugged me is the endings of the story, I am not a big fan of optional endings, a bit puzzling for a comedy. On that note I am going to imagine the ending I want for this story.

I will definitely rewatch this series again, I really enjoyed watching it.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
abkusumaa
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 10, 2018
35 of 35 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
For a low budget drama, Go Princess Go is a pretty decent drama. I do really like the premise presented in the drama. Honestly speaking, it's my very first time to watch the drama with such premise. With low budget, the production team exceed my expectations surprisingly (although the costumes are strange). This drama is funny and quirky as well as intriguing. There are many plot holes but fortunately the drama isn't ruined. I can still tolerate it.

The girl who play Zhang Peng Peng must be appreciated well because she brought the drama to another level. Her partner, the male lead was a bit stiff. But, since her acting in the drama was very good, the weakness of male lead wasn't shown.

For the music, it's quiet good but i prefer not to listen to it. I almost forgot to include a very important point in this drama. The ending. I prefer to watch a drama with a single ending. But, this drama has two different ending. Even two different ending give me alternatives to choose the ending that i like, it also shows how the drama doesn't really have a good and solid ending since it can't really emphasized on everything that has been happened within the drama


If you're looking for a funny drama, it's your cup of tea. But if you're looking for a well made drama, you may think twice to give it a shot

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?