The Crown Princess

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 535 users)
  • Ranked: #591
  • Popularity: #1678
  • Watchers: 1,738

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

11 edits
9 edits
6 edits
6 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
RhopalocerA
13 people found this review helpful
Jun 25, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I finished The Crown Princess today at 1.30 AM 25/6/18 and decided to write a review for this lakorn as there are many thoughts inside my head waiting to be expressed because if not , I'll die unhappily ( :P) So here we go.. my thoughts upon finishing TCP..

Plus points for me :-

1) Because this has Nadech and Yaya as MC. I'm actually a Yadech's shipper since Game Rai Game Rak (2011) and TCP was my forth lakorn of them. To say the truth, my feeling is not going as strong as before. Maybe because I already got used of seeing Yadech always being paired up together in lakorns. You know.. the feel it's like when you listen to a song for the first time and you fall so in love with it. The song become so special and precious to you..but the moment you start put it on repeat , after dozens time you kinda get tired of it and the song is'nt special anymore. But if you hear the song anywhere in the public, all the old feelings will emerge again and you realize, this song albeit it is not special anymore but you still hold it dearly in your heart. That song is Yadech to me.. >.< I know that Yaya and Nadech are a very close friend in reality and many wish they're dating but who knows..they might really be in the future seeing how they acts toward each other in many clips I've seen of them. (Shout out to all Yadech's shipper out there : Guys, please don't lose hope :p )

2) Great acting, good chemistry of our MC .. So, as always, like in her previous lakorns (worth to mention: Klueen Cheewit!) , Yaya's acting also was exceptional here. This actress really can bring each of her characters to life. She carries Princess Alice Madeleine Theresa Phillips like the character was her all along. I love her character the most . She potrayed a kick-ass crown princess, cold from the outside but very warm inside, knews when she need to fight her enemies upfront and knews when she need to give in. The moment she find her true love yeah it was tragic because she found it on commoner , she did'nt hide or denied it but accepted it and tried to make her love come true. One thing that grated my nerves was writer made her character clumsy with her scenes tripped over the ground or something so many times and that of course will get our ML rushing over and helps her again and again. That trait was contradictory with her strong and kick ass character. Whereas Nadech as Lieutenant Commander Davin Samuthyakorn was perfect. He's sexy and damn good looking. I could stare at his face and admire his beautiful face while wondering why God made him so perfect both infront and behind camera :P. I also have issues with his character, Davin has a god level of self- restraint and a bit reserved when it came to love. I just wish writer made his character loosen up a bit and show him give in more to his feeling and brave enough to express and fight for his love . Yup, I got that he is a soldier but showing your real emotions doesn't make you less soldier than other. It will only make him more human.

3) Great acting and the backstory of the villains. I wont talk about this much because it might spoil who have'nt watch it yet. I love the twist that revealed who is our main villain because I did'nt expect it at all O.O But when I think back, it made sense. Meanwhile , speaking about the villain number 2 , Hadaeth. Strangely I did'nt hate him for all the cruel things he did. I just pity his character much. ( Okay.....I'm shocked. I just find out that Hadaeth was being played by 2 actors , Peter Corp and the other one is Jason Young. I did'nt even catch the differences while watching and thought it was Peter Corp all along. Duhh)

4) Exquisite royal attires and other characters costumes. I especially in love with Princess Alice wardrobe choice.Yaya is already pretty and to add beautiful attires on top of that, she looks angelic here. I also favoured most of Nadech attires except his light brown color uniform because it look too tight and uncomfortable on Nadech. Prince Alan wardrobe also great , I loved the royal black uniform in his last scene the most.

5) Great action scenes. Those were of high class. If romance-action genre is your forte, give this lakorn a go.

6) Good OST. I loved the ending theme song more than the opening song.

7) All those countless picturesque views where the lakorn was filmed. The waterfall views in the island where our MC met for the second times. The mountain with the tribe where our MC seek refuge in Thailand. The mountain where our MC in a journey to find Prince Alan. The massive castles with all its ornament in Hrysos. They're all a real treat to the eyes. The scenes were beautifully shot and are postcard worthy. While watching, many time I'm busy awing at the beautiful scene behind than caring about what the act was .

Minus points for me :-

1) The lack of romance. TCP made up with 50% of action, 40 % of family drama and ONLY 10 % of romance. I'm quite reluctant to say it was romance because all we got was a careful and calculating romance. For this, I'm so mad at the producer, the director and the writer because they're so stingy with it..the kiss scenes except the one at the finale were unsatisfying too . It was so unfair they could'nt give us even 1 hour full of romance between our MC considering this lakorn got I hour and 50 mins long for each episode and if I convert this lakorn into 1 hour format ,this have 22 episodes..such a long hour but so little romance..whyyy :((


2) The storyline. I could'nt pinpoint what exactly was lacking but what I know is ,it lacked the 'X' factor that will make the viewer go crazy over it. The story is just good enough and not that addicting. I felt bored at ep 4 and 5 because it was slow.



So , overally this is a very good lakorn watch this if you're a Yadech fan and love action-drama-romance genre. Thanks for reading!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
urassayasforever_18
6 people found this review helpful
Jun 21, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
Awesome acting by handsome Nadech and beautiful Yaya.....It made me cry a river!! Yaya looks soooo much like a real princess and has pulled off all the heavy scenes so well, the songs will make you cry along with the acting, action scenes are also very well directed and performed......cinematography is very good......i will not say anything about the love scenes as it will be a spoiler...the supporting casts have also done a good job....it's also about solving the mystery of the mastermind.....at the end of the drama you will totally be in love with the princess and her protector.......the sky and the land don't meet......so will they get to love each other?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Brownie
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 21, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 1.0
I've looking forward to this drama since it first was announced but I wasn't expecting too much out of it.

I really liked the story and normally I don't like too much action but the light romance sorta balanced it out.
I think the cast did a great job working together and the actress who played Kate did an amazing job. I went from liking her to disliking her to just pitying her by the end of the last episode.

The romance was a bit disappointing between Alice and Davin as I was more interested in Alan and his friendship/romance with his interest.

I really enjoyed the OSTs, they went perfectly.

I really enjoyed the acting and the twists and turns which I'll admit some were really shocking but honestly this drama is a one time watch for me. If you're looking for romance then this isn't for you as I stated earlier there's more action if nothing else.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Riasha
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 3, 2019
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
This show i felt was so similar to that action lakorn of mik and stephanies i forgot it's name but it has the same story line where the leads are forced to be a couple...
I feel the producers thought since they put yadech in the show they will get amazing numbers so they made a slow burn romance but then when they ddn get the numbers they ruined it all in the last two eps
gosh it was so interesting yaya and nadech's acting has matured so much over the years they both are amazing...
and this show had amazing cinematography i loved how beautiful everything was the costumes the actors etc.... but the last two eps were god damn awful!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
fortunekuki
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 4, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
I enjoyed watching this series as I am a big fan of Yaya and I can stare at her face the whole day. Nadech is indeed eye-candy and it looks like he buffed up for this role.
The action scenes are pretty good and I love that Yaya is very believable as a princess - elegant, poised and "well-trained" in archery, fencing, martial arts and can hold a gun. I love that she is not the damsel-in-distress type who only waits for the male population to rescue her.

I cannot understand why they said it was a flop in Thailand as it had a good plot, beautiful faces, good friendship, breathtaking scenery and it was fun seeing the Royal wardrobe as well.

The only con for me was that the ending seemed rushed - another episode would've made it better.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
giftmahinay
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 15, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
The tandem of NY is so amazing....i got hook already on the first episode....they did great on the actions scenes....like the strong female character and the very romantic, strong, loyal ,sincere,respectful, gallant, gentlemanly male character...aside from their so beautiful together...satisfying romantic portrayal...

LOVE IT..
1, NY chemistry is another level..
2,Super amazing panoramic views....
3. Supporting casts characters are suited to each actors
4.Chemistry of the whole casts is so great..
5.The antagonists have that kind of YOU LOVE TO HATE THEM..AND HATE TO LOVE THEM...
6.I cried and symphatized with KATE'S character..
7.This LAKORN MAKES YOU FALL IN LOVE WITH THEM...LAUGH, AND CRY...
8.Action scene is what I like...the lead actors did great..
9.A very satisfying FINALE...
10.First time watching NY tandem..and they made me their FAN already...

I RECOMMEND THIS LAKORN...YOU WILL NEVER REGRET IT...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Megan
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 7, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
This review may contain spoilers
Even Urassaya Sperbund couldn't save this show for me. I really enjoyed the setup, even the excessive somersaulting in action sequences had their own charm, but watching our badass warrior princess being treated like she was incompetent or shouldn't be kept informed drove me nuts. Most of the time when she 'caused a problem' by getting involved was because she didn't know what was going on. She didn't know they had a plan, because they didn't tell her they had a plan. The co-habitation/married storyline was tragically underutilized. If they were going to do so little with it, they should have had her go undercover as a new member of the team so that she could live on the base and be with D-Team all the time. As it was, she was left alone half the time and they couple didn't have to do any pretending except for entering the house and one conversation with a neighbor. Lame. The ending was just a final slap in the face. There were a few really, really nice moments between her and Davin, and the actors portraying Will and Kate did a great job. That's what kept me going to the end, albeit with a heavy done of fast forwarding.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DrAmAlOvEr
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 6, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
i just finished it and not even admire for main couple i admire rest of the team of" THE CROWN PRINCESS" the story is well written as their characters and executed well by the all teams . chemistry of yaya and nadech is magical. every girl want lost herself in nadech eyes as well for yaya boys. the team acted like natural their is no Lakorn trick where they need to cry they cry where not they not . whomever written their characterization has great vision and to execute it through screenplay awesome

suggested to watch it i'm damn sure you are not enough to watch for once

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?