Tunnel

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.8 (scored by 4,578 users)
  • Ranked: #66
  • Popularity: #234
  • Watchers: 9,994

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Recently Watched By

Write a Review
Lily
31 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.5
I'll be honest - I picked up this drama because I'm an OCN fangirl, and I'll do the same for the one after it. I was unfamiliar with the leading actors, and was unsure after the first episode. Alas, I stuck through and I'm glad I did.

If you've watched "Signal" (if you haven't - what are you doing?!), you might think that the premise sounds a bit familiar, though the dramas don't have that much in common. In my opinion, "Signal" was a better crafted drama with less plot-holes/the-police-is-too-dumb moments, however "Tunnel" is still a drama that deserves a chance.

One of the things that stood out to me in this one was the main female lead, something that I've disliked with OCN's dramas are their stupid and useless female characters (though, to be honest the rest of kdramaland is no better), however, Shin Jae Yi has been the exception for me. Sharp, smart, and unrelenting, she was a great female character that held my attention alongside the male duo.

This drama's weakness comes towards the end, just like "Voice", it began to fizzle out, with too many police stupidities and too many instances of Park Kwang Ho, the main character, just yelling "bastard" over and over. It was hard for me to get through episode fourteen but I'm glad I did. The ending wasn't as sharp as it could've been, and it wasn't unique like how I would've wanted it (but I do like sad and torturous endings), but it was a heart-warming one.

"Tunnel" is not a perfect drama but it's a good addition to the ever-growing crime genre in Korean dramas. I recommend giving it a try, but be ready to be at the edge of your seat each episode, and be warned that you'll probably spend sixteen hours in front of your screen because it's hard to stop watching one you start.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Wednes
25 people found this review helpful
May 23, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
While most people claimed they lost interest in the second half of the series, I found the first half very plain and the second half better – which led me to give it an 8/10 overall when it could've been as low as a 6/10 up until episode 7.

Now, don't get me wrong. Each episode from 1 to 7 wasn't bad; they just didn't add up into a good 7-hour experience for me. They were good one-by-one. If you have seen American series (police or crime series in particular), you'll know how they start an episode with one case and ends it within that episode, and nothing from that episode will affect the next episode at all. As soon as our main detective Park Kwang Ho arrives in 2016, Tunnel plays that card.

For character introduction purposes, not touching on the main plot for a short while is totally okay. However, the length of 7 episodes of doing that is painfully long – 44% in and there's still no progress whatsoever. That point kept bugging me all the way. Apart from that, the main characters are good at their job, so the one-case-one-episode is averagely fun on its own.

I believe that the story picks up around episode 8. From then on until episode 12, the pace of the drama suddenly changes in a good way. These are the most exciting and suspenseful 4 episodes in my opinion. There is a surprising amount of improvements from character development to story revelations. The last phase of the drama, episode 13-16, cools down a lot, but it still keeps playing with the main story. For me, it was fine. By the end of the series, I was more satisfied than I thought when I went through the first half.

--

It's still too bad that after all those satisfying second half, I still don't see the point of making this a time-traveling drama. Of course, the "tunnel" and the time-traveling play a part in this story. I just think that they could've made use of this theme much more – or dropped that idea completely.

The main character who time-travels lacks a lot of "oldies" qualities I expected to see from its premise. By this I mean that he could've possessed old-school yet surprisingly useful methods that help with the modern crime-solving process, or rather appear really countrified that he looks funny. Instead, he adapts to the modern world so well. If this wasn't a time-travel drama and this character was a detective from the present time, it'll still work just fine. It feels almost as if the writers are using this "time-traveling" trigger word just to call for attention.

At the same time, Tunnel cannot escape a lot of clichés in making their characters and criminals, and even situations. A lot of things were revealed by words rather than actions. Many mysteries are solved in a blink of an eye after dragging them for so long. It's like when things build up to a certain degree and you're almost excited, the next moment it becomes "Oh... That's it?"

The cast and their acting really save the entire show. They're extremely great in every given situation, although again, you'll have to get to the second half of the show to see so. I rated their acting a 10/10 although some small side characters are so-so because they don't have much impact anyway.

The background music and sound effect cues aren't awkward, so I gave it a 7/10, but they mostly just went through my ears instead lingering around for more impact. This is the genre that doesn't need emotional OSTs to play at heartbreaking moments anyway. I still wished I ended it with one or two songs to keep listening to. I ended up with none.

--

Final thoughts: I wouldn't suggest my friends to watch this for the time-traveling. I would suggest them to watch simply because it's a good crime drama with good acting. I liked it – don't get me wrong after I point out all those cons. I didn't regret watching this show. Also, I barely rewatch dramas, and a crime drama can be either too predictable or too gruesome to rewatch, so I gave that part a low score.

Overall, it's a 8/10 for me because it does only 75~80% of what it initially promised to do. This score is not to be compared with other dramas, especially the ones that are not from this genre.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Elle
7 people found this review helpful
Aug 4, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Honestly, when I started watching Tunnel, I had no idea what to expect. I knew it had a pretty loyal following, but I had no idea how this show would take me captive. Thus far, I haven't been very impressed with dramas this year. Tunnel is a great crime and mystery drama, but its best asset is its characters. This drama features rich characters with thoughtful story arcs and amazing chemistry.

Choi Jin Hyuk who is cast as the main protagonist delivers a great performance. I was really able to follow all his ups and downs as he tries to figure out life in 2017. Again and again, I am so drawn to Yoon Hyun Min. He is by far my favorite actor to provide as second for any bromance. His role as the young, misunderstood Sun Jae is something of legend. When I first saw Lee Yoo Young's character, she honestly freaked me out a little. The slow burn romance between these two is absolutely delicious. Their subtle advances are soooo deeply satisfying, and I felt this greatly complimented the show.

Tunnel features great story telling. Throughout the drama it unravels a well thought out and intertwined plot. This story had me clinging to my chair the entire time. I felt like every episode revealed another layer to the story. While some have stated that it was too predictable, I pretty much equated the predictability to all the spoilers I accidentally saw when it aired.

I strongly recommend watching Tunnel. It really takes you on an amazing ride. My only regret is that I wasn't able to watch it when it aired.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
DancingGoat
16 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
One of the craziest roller coaster rides in K-dramaland!

First of all, Tunnel is not as good as Signal, but it comes very close. Both Signal and Tunnel have their own ups and downs - while Signal has slightly better writing when it comes to the "time travel", Tunnel has more emotion to it, which makes you care more about the characters and what happens to them.

Tunnel is an addictive roller coaster ride from the first to last episode. It is full of excellent twists, acting and even some feel-good bromance. What more could you ask for?! Some people say the writing got worse towards the end, but I didn't particularly think so. The writers really did an excellent job and the ending is great as well, full of emotion.

Don't get me wrong, I know there are some flaws but this is a production meant to entertain people, and for me this is a 10/10 in entertainment value, and therefore I give it an overall 10/10. I had SO much fun with Tunnel and I already look forward to the staff's next drama, which I hope will be another thriller.

Simply brilliant!

Don't hesitate to give Tunnel a chance, you won't regret it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Thevilone
12 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is going to be short (here's to hoping).

I didn't had much expectation going in. Because I didn't thought the story will be this much addicting as it was. I waited until it had enough episodes out, before starting to watch it. And thank god that I did. Because I watched those 12 episodes in one day at a stanch. I just couldn't stop. Can't stop.
Waiting for the last four episode was a misery.
I like all the episodes. The story goes a little slow at first but the second half is somewhat mind-blowing. And then the ending. Some will say, that the end wasn't nice. They didn't liked it. But I personally think that it was perfect. I loved it.One of my favorite ending, ever.
Some time the sad-slow ends are what we need.

The story has some holes in it. It is a time traveling story and this type of stories always has some thing like this. So that was not unexpected. And because of the amount of Time-traveling drama is around right now, not many people will feel good about it. And then there is 'Signal' and I am sure a lot of people are comparing this with that one.
Don't do that. They are not same.
The story in it's self is different. Every thing was resolving around a case that starts 30 years ago. One giant mysterious case. And it's our cop's job to solve it.
But the little one around it is what I loved about it. They just didn't show you the murders but what it does to the people around that victim. They are suffering, their pain. And I loved how they honored them in the end.
Because it's always about saving life not the thrill in catching the culprit.

I love all the people in the cast. They are all new to me. But I didn't mind. They drew me in. I liked how they portrayed their characters. Specially Lee Yoo Young. Her character was smart, cold, controlling and no where near the 'sweet-innocent-damsel in distress' type and I loved that about her character. And she pulled it off with an ease.
Choi Jin Hyuk ( welcome back!! ) and Yoo Hyun Min were amazing in their roles. The little bickering and bromance (Though it should be called something else. 60 year old and 27 year old man romance'?) between them just lightened the dark-gloomy scenes a little.
Though most will complain that Choi Jin Hyunk's character had some 'issues' in the last episodes. I just want to state that no one is perfect. So isn't a character. Their flaw is what makes them different form another and special. For Kwand Ho it was calling bad guys 'Jerk'. His a 1980's cop. Cut him some slack will ya'?
Kim Min Sang. I have only one thing to say about his character and about him. This is how a ** should be like.

I am going to re-watch this because I love the love story in this drama. Yes there is one. And I am not talking about Yoo Hyun Min and Lee Yoo Young's characters.
But about Park Kwang Ho and Yeon Seok. Their longing, their pain, their love for each other is one of the best thing about this drama. That sweet little love story twirled in to the bigger story, some how complemented the whole thing. It was the motivation that both of this characters needed. And I love those type of stories.

For those who are thinking if they should watch it or not. I would like to tell you to give this a try. Trust me, you are going to thank me later.
So watch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dandelion
3 people found this review helpful
Feb 2, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This drama is the first K crime drama focus that I really really like. This drama is truly a masterpiece. Each episode always hooks me and keep me going. I don't even skip any scene. Which amazing and surprising. I really enjoy the whole journey. Each character was very lovable. Each episode has a lot of meaning and just perfect. I don't think I can find any fault with this drama.

I came to really like Choi Jin Hyuk. I hope he will play in more drama as the main character. He is a very excellent actor and him always able to make his character to be cute and loveable. Not only him, all the actors and actresses are doing a great job in their acting skill and building the chemistry.  Park Kwang Ho and Sun Jae have been on my high list of my fav bromance after all!!

This drama is based on a real-life case of Hwaseong serial killer. Many crime drama and film are made based on this incident. Recently I watched Gap Dong, which is also based on the same incident. However, I feel that Tunnel has been able to grasp the case and foretell it in a way-way better than Gap Dong.  The way they tell the case, the set of the victims and all other things was a work of art. Like if you notice, when he go to the past, the color of the scene has a tone of Sephia, whereas in the future has a tone of blueish to confirm its in the future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
CherryBunny
3 people found this review helpful
Nov 17, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I truly liked this drama. It was extremely addicting! The acting, by everyone, was simply brilliant and supurb. However, it did have flaws, which is why I couldn't, in all honesty, rate it above an 8.5.

Flaw #1.- There were times I thought the characters' thought process did not make sense.
Flaw #2- I was able to guess what was going to happen very early on. However, it was probably because I have seen so many dramas, but the plot seeemed to really mimic Gap Dong at times, which is what I kept thinking.
Flaw #3- There was one inconsistency that really bothered me, though I can see how it would be missed by some, especially if they watched it while it was airing. In the very first episode, a certain object is shone in one location. However, later on, it is changed to be in a completely different location, which changes the story.
Flaw #4- The ending does not really explain itself. You are left wondering what happened for it to end that particular way. It could have been on purpose, but I think that the writers could have done a better job at explaining.

Besides those flaws mentioned above, it was a really good watch. I would still highly recommend it to fellow drama watchers.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Irene
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 29, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
There's a lot of comparison between Signal and Tunnel for being both crime dramas. I think the female lead in Tunnel is slightly stronger, in how she was written, although I am undecided if I like her or not. Male lead in Signal was less frustrating to watch. Signal was a better-written show. Both executed very well with strong music. Ultimately, though, I would recommend Signal to my friends over this show.

Watch this if you're in the mood for a crime drama. The first half are more procedural and more enjoyable to watch, as the second half is focused on wrapping up the major storyline.

Unfortunately, this drama doesn't make it to the top of my list for the following reasons:
- Lack of logic in dialogue. Many moments where I'm scratching my head wondering why people aren't more suspicious.
- Why do they never wear gloves at the crime scenes?
- Some parts were not fully explained and one supporting character dropped off the show with little explanation.
- Some of the "reveal" scenes made me laugh because they were overdone (yet satisfying)

Highlights:
- Strong acting. It felt like the actors made the most from the script.
- Unique premise. I love the fantasy aspect of traveling forward in time and discovering while new technologies have been formed, the human psyche hasn't.

The loveline in this drama was well done for its subtlety, which is fresh in the kdrama world.

I haven't watched that many crime dramas yet, so I see there is a lot of potential in korean dramas. Overall can't quite compare to CSI and the like due to plot holes but stronger than American TV shows in the character development and overarching plots. Looking forward to watching more of them!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
xXabsintheXx
11 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 9.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama was definitely one of the nicer surprises I had this year - within all those other ones I was anticipating alot more, Tunnel actually managed to better its quality from episode to episode.

In the beginning I wasn't really interested in this and then people started to compare it to Signal, calling it a cheap copy of it. That made me curious though and I wanted to see it for myself. Now I thank everyone for indirectly making me watch it - because it's nothing like Signal except the time slip theme.

At first glance the synopsis doesn't appeal very interesting, especially since there are so many time traveling dramas out there recently. But once you give it some time and don't reject it right away, the story will definitely trigger something inside you. That's at least how I felt about this. I started with low to average expectations and ended up with fulfilling satisfaction.

The acting in this started really ordinary. It wasn't bad, but it didn't make me drop my jaw either. It solidly carried the story, as you might say. Choi Jin Hyuk started off quite indifferent, for example. But as episodes went by, he slowly managed to grow on me and make me sympathize with his character alot, especially in the second half. The same goes for Yoon Hyun Min and Lee Yoo Young. Both of them are actors I haven't seen before. I think it's alot more difficult to convince viewers who don't know about a respective cast of a drama and therefore don't crazily fangirl over them. In this case I didn't know about the leads and they were still able to convince me and make me enjoy this drama more than I had hoped for. The more I went into the story, the more I got entangled with its figures - in a good way.

Without telling too much, this drama also has an interesting villain who might not be someone new, but surely piques your interest and makes you excited about his character.

Objectively speaking, I would actually give Tunnel a rating of 8.5. But due to my surprise and personal entertainment I added 0.5 points to it. Hell, this drama is not free from flaws, I admit that. There were some things in the script and about some behaviors, I got angry about because it was flat-out unrealistic or stupid (excluding the time traveling thing, of course :P).
Then again, despite those minor matters, there were other things I happily accepted and which made me overlook the deficits. For example satisfying police work. Hard working officers, most times logical procedures and well done investigations. And the most important thing: No corruption! (a trope I got so tired of). It was also great at connecting and balancing crime and drama, the reason why I got so emotional many, many times while watching.

Other things I really loved were the side love stories that captured my emotions and the background music which was used so well and adjusted so perfectly that you even notice the improvement of the scenes through music while watching and listening.

There are of course also surprises up its sleeves. Some people might be able to foresee them but I also think that the drama did a good job at revealing certain already known or predicted things to its characters. And it did a good job at confusing (at least) me quite well, too. Or let's say it managed to make me think too much about possible turn of events. And no matter the outcome, that feature added completely to my enjoyment.

Cinematography did a really good job many times as well as scene flow and editing/cut. There were moments where I thought "Oh, nice! Well done!".

Conclusion of this one: Tunnel is definitely worth the watch if you are able to overlook some minor flaws. There are still many things to enjoy and be excited about. And one thing: This has one of the best final episodes I've seen so far.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Zoe
1 people found this review helpful
May 20, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
I did not expect to love this show so much. It’s true I sometimes chose not to watch the drama because the gore of corpse after corpse got too much for me. To start off with, this show is pretty standard, but it gets real good. It’s a smart show. The twists actually caught me off guard and I loved the relationships between the characters. It’s not a standard show at all.
It’s a show where all the characters go out of their way to be unfriendly. So when they are even mildly civil, it’s such a great improvement that the rest of the cast are shocked.

“You didn’t hang up. I thought you would.”

Kwang Ho
Choi Jin Hyuk as our hero is a good character to portray the rough and read 80s cop who has straight values.

Sun Jae
Sun Jae is the most hostile out of the lot of them but he gravitates towards Professor Shin because she is just as isolating as he is.

Professor Shin
Professor Shin is a quiet and dark individual who doesn’t have much to say unless it’s important. Then she spits it out and shuts up again.

“I thought I’d handle it well no matter what happens.”

The show demonstrates how despite her experience and dark nature, she is human and the actress portrays her quiet vulnerability with underlying strength.

Sung Shik
I found it very cute that the chief used to be Kwang Ho’s maknae and they resume that same relationship 30 years into the future despite Sung Shik obviously being older than Kwang Ho now in the present.

Yeon Sook
Kwang Ho’s wife is a dignified and composed cop’s wife. She is beautiful and gentle. The actress does a wonderful job of smiling at Choi Jin Hyuk like she is so freakin’ proud of him and thinks he’s the greatest thing alive.

The last couple of episodes really lose the plot with originally smart characters fumbling around just to fill the episodes. But the ending of the ending is filled with all the feelings. I loved it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
LoveLaughLatte
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 8, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
Awww, another OCN drama...another happy viewer. I just finished the finale and am extremely happy with the whole show. I've been a HUGE OCN fan for a long time and Tunnel is another satisfying crime drama.

My last one was Voice, and that was my favorite so far, not anymore. Tunnel beat that easily.

I've been a fan of Choi Jin Hyuk since his long flowing hair back at Gu Family Book. And loved him in everything since. Now I love Yoon Hyun Min as a actor. Is it me, or does he look sexy at being emotional?

Awww man. I seriously feel like an emotional wreck. Tunnel was just that good.

If I could give it more than a 10/10 star rating, I really would. I am very happy.

Thank you OCN for making another fantastic crime thriller!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
ktv vi
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 4, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 4.0
For me this was a so-so drama, I thought this would be one of the competitors of Signal as a best mystery/crime drama but the story line is lacking for me because I find myself questioning some situations in the drama. The time travel concept was good at first but as the drama goes on they were not able to make me THAT interested on that concept anymore, it kind of seemed ridiculous to me during the latter.

Though personally I am not a fan of Choi Jin Hyuk's acting even with the other dramas of his I've seen he was not that convincing and most of the time I ended up cringing during his scenes. I love Lee Yoo Young's acting here, most of her scenes gave me the creeps. The acting as a whole was great.

This drama may be lacking in some parts but I think this deserves a try atleast.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?