The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
I Can Speak
1 people found this review helpful
30 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
Just  another silly comedy movie, but then I heard it's about a certain  serious historical subject that is still reverent, the movie is better  than initially expected. Although sometimes clumsy especially during the second melodramatic  half, the film works mainly thanks to the engaging interactions between  its two main artists, and it certainly gains laughter and tears,  although it can clearly see its manipulative aspects.
After  going through a series of melodramatic moments, the film culminates  with a dramatic moment required for well-being, and I must point out  that this moment is cliché and heavy at times. In the case of two certain minor supporting characters that appear  during that time, I understand that they simply exist to emphasize what  is at stake for Ok-Boon ...
However,  the film is not entirely without emotional appeal, and this is mainly  because of the performance manipulating numerous humorous scenes during  the first half of the film, Nah also brings genuine sadness to more  serious scenes during the second half, and surely keeps his terrain well during the dramatic moment mentioned above. In  short, well-made comedy drama film, the film is less satisfying in  terms of story and characters, but its good elements are still strong  enough to make up for its remarkable failures.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Paradox
0 people found this review helpful
30 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
A vengeful Hong Kong cop on the trail of the Thai kidnappers of  his only daughter in long violent martial arts action with predictable  end.
    "Paradox,"  tells an autonomous story that largely recycles plot elements involving  such topics as endangered children, organ trading and violent  retribution. The seemingly prophetic movie is not there that whole thing does  not. The quest then takes a turn for the hysterical when it looks like  Wing-chi has been kidnapped by organ traffickers connected to a powerful  Thai politician through his immoral adviser
    This  serves as an excuse for "Paradox" to repeatedly put their protagonists  against vicious enemies on their way to truth and possibly justice. Although  the predictable nature of the plot in the last few acts of the film,  next to the hyperbolic SPL2, take the irony of fate, "Paradox" should  nonetheless captivate fans of the first two films with their ferocious  action but nothing more and nothing but.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Taxi Driver
1 people found this review helpful
30 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Some films are made to entertain and some are made to educate and inform. There is a reason "A Taxi Driver" has become the 15th film in Korean history to surpass the ten million ticket milestone. The story it shares with audiences is one surrounding a dark period of unrest  in South Korean history.

"A Taxi Driver" gives us a glimpse into the true horrors surrounding the 1980 Gwangju Massacre. Fired upon and beaten, some 600 people were killed in an unprecedented attack by the Chun Doo-hwan government. Civilians who rallied to build a democracy for their country were falsely labeled by authorities as "communist sympathizers and rioters," all in an effort to cover up and hide a gruesome truth. This event went on to spark a decade of revolution in South Korea, and eventually led to a transition from military rule to democracy.

The film follows taxi driver Kim Sa-Bok as he transports foreign reporter Hinzpeter into Gwangju. There goal is to unveil the truth to an ignorant world, and their journey is extraordinary.

If you are curious about this film, please watch. It is a story that deserves your attention and recognition. I find it hard to express it's importance in word and can't recommend it enough.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love Forecast
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 12, 2017
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
A very good story about freindship between man and woman the main leads are so funny and cute together loved the drunk rantings
a good movie to watch while i crocheted lol language is for mature adults i would say they do spout out the words got to watch this its so cute
wish it could of been a drama ..her being a weather girl like to see what else she would do and him and his kids at school so funny and cute
The star is the main actress her drunk rantings are classic the best i have seen she also showed feelings and they both cried and the childhood seens are funny too

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Hakaider
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 12, 2017
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Classic special effects half mouth that we loved at the time.
Set in a post-apocalyptic future, the film shows a dark adventure. In the utopian city of Jesus Town, the leader Guljef and his mechanical angel Mikhael control the people who live without will. Against them, a group of renegades struggles to bring freedom to the people. Hakaider, a forgotten android, joins them. Even struggling for freedom and justice, it shows all its bloodthirsty side.
The  interesting thing about this Tokusatsu-style adventure is that there  was a certain inversion in the characters' visuals: the hero Ryu  (Hakaider) looks much more monstrous than his rival Mikhael, the  villain. It is, in a way, a paradigm shift within the universe of Tokusatsus productions. Shotaro  Ishinomori, creator of Mechanical Violator Hakaider, is also the  creator of another successful Tokusatsu personage, Kamen Raider. The film is technically bad, it's also as if the whole purpose of the film was to set up an additional story. So much so that the hero's motivation and fate are muddy, at best.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Cat
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 12, 2017
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
The  theme of cats is not very common when it comes to being seen in a  movie, let's say it is not a topic much treated and less when it comes  to a movie whose genre is terror. It's a very risky bet. The cat introduces the life of a girl who, working in a pet store, feels a deep admiration for them. Everything begins to change when, after the death of one of its  clients that presents us a very common case in any horror film, but with  the passage of minutes grows in quality and keeps the viewer on hold  until its final minutes.
Let's highlight above all the work of our protagonist Park Min-Young. At all times he plays his role perfectly, I love this woman. Most  of the success of this film comes from the excellent work achieved with  this actress standing out in all the other characters we see throughout  the film. We can see how his character evolves exceptionally with the passage of minutes. Let's say that Park Min in this movie has to face a double battle; Your psychological state and the events that happen with, from the beginning. Of course, the magnificent solvent with its great performance, very very remarkable throughout the film. No doubt she is a success.
Finally,  we refer to the role of Kim Ye-Ron, sister of Kim Sae-Ron my favorite  actress ever, to say that it seems little and only, being also the star  of the film. Let's see if she's as lucky as her sister to win the best new actress award. It's quite difficult, since it was not as shocking a movie as "The Man From Nowhere", but both have many years still ahead.
In short, yes, it's worth it. He  entertains his, has an unpredictable outcome, at least from my point of  view and fills all his gaps in the story with excellent and surprising  details.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Chocolate
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 12, 2017
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
"Chocolate" has a pretty clever concept for a martial arts movie. Zen  (JeeJa Yanin) is a young woman who, through her disability, has gained a  mysterious amount of environmental awareness and the ability to imitate  what she sees. After  growing up watching martial arts movies and watching the Muay Thai club  next to his home, Zen imitates these moves and becomes a capable  fighter, and has superior reflexes due to his incredible biological and  spatial awareness. His  mother, Zin, a former member of a Thai organized crime group, is forced  to keep his distance from Zen's father, Masashi, a Yakuza chief who,  after a civil war, was told never to approach Zin by Thai criminal group. When Zin discovers Cancer, Zen and his cousin, Moom, do not know what to do to pay for Zin's chemotherapy treatments. They then stumble across a book of people who owe money to Zin. Zen then goes out and demands money from these people, who usually  ends up fighting their attackers with their superior martial arts skills  ...
In the film we can accompany its explosiveness and physical abilities  since there are no hesitations for the acrobatic scenes and of greater  impact.
This film really is unique to a martial arts film, with a female lead  may consider itself a minority film in the genre, but having the  character as an autistic woman is something completely different.
The premise is cliché, the drama shown behind Zen education really  helps to give the tone of what your character has gone through, and you  really have a spatial feel about the difficulty that autism brings to a  child.
The end of the film is quite poetic. At first, you hear about Masashi's love for things with imperfections. The end in turn completes the circle. They even end with the same quote, with Masashi loving his daughter with his "imperfection."
Intense  martial arts action reminiscent of Bruce Lee who in the course makes  Zen a very unusual fighter who moves rather erratically. After hitting a little, she then picks up her movements, imitates them and defeats them with her own movements. This was a very clever piece in the film as it develops the concept of how Zen gains its skill.
In short "Chocolate" is in part a martial arts story. Although  it's not such an important milestone, it definitely does it and  definitely should be seen by anyone who is a fan of the genre.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Bittersweet Chocolate
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 12, 2017
Overall 4.5
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
STORY: SLOOOOOOOW! OMG SLOW! Essentially it's about James being pimped out for money and drugs. And you only find that out if you managed to stay awake through the whole thing. Seriously, they must spend 20 minutes on baking a cake! Zzz

ACTING/CAST: Only reason I wanted to see this was because ?Gun? is in it. Don't much care about anyone else in this.

MUSIC: Um, there's a song at the end that sounds kinda cool.

REWATCH VALUE: Bathtub scene only, hehehe.

OVERALL: Pointlessly slow. Go watch the bathtub scene cut on YouTube. It's the only part of this movie that was interesting. I hope the sequel is better...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Warriors of the Dawn
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 12, 2017
Overall 5.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
With this film, they really tried to make it about history, but they ended up with a bit of a so so result. The theme was really nice, though the story started from the middle of the events and ended everything up with an epic ending, although it could have been better, with some more explanation on what happened next. The performances were good as well, but the whole thing seemed a little rashly made and everything just happened too quickly so there was not a smooth character build up here. So, if this was better made, it would have been an epic war movie.
Was this review helpful to you?
The Land of Rain Trees
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 12, 2017
Overall 6.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 4.0
A good story, with interesting theme, but really bad ending. Because of that, and some other points where they simply just forgot to explain things and just let everything go with the story (eg shouldn't the girl ask him why he was with someone else and whether they were a couple or not??) Anyway, part from the bad, the movie had a nice love story, good performances and a touching theme, with the girl really presenting a person with hearing disability and how she was affected by the others around her. Still, the ending was too simple.
Was this review helpful to you?
Never Said Goodbye
1 people found this review helpful
by mad
Nov 11, 2017
Overall 9.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Good movie overall, must watch!! Very cute scenes but expect sad moments. Really good acting, hight aspect of this movie was to hear the korean and chinese with no dubbing (sooo nice, it sound so convincing and at the same time so unusual). Visualy cenary very good and pleasant shots both of china and italy and beautiful soundtrack. the quality of the shots and the story line is very nice and has something special, almost like the story cliche doesn't matter overall because of some special scenes (don't want to be spoiler hahaha).
Was this review helpful to you?
Soul Mate
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2017
Overall 8.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Story: 6.5
Very sad and emotional, although not always comprehensive. I got lost halfway through, but that is probably due to my limited understanding of the mandarin language. Still, some elements of the plot seemed rather forced and the backtracing was too confusing.

Acting/Cast: 9.5
The guy was not that much of a great actor, but, oh my, Ma Sichun and Zhou Dongyu were absolutely amazing.

Music: 9.0
It invoked the right emotions at the right time.

Rewatch Value: 7.5
I might rewatch it.

Overall: 8
If it weren't for the amazing main cast, it wouldn't have been that enjoyable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Our Times
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2017
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I watched it during a 10 hour flight on a plane. As I'm mostly into Korean and Japanese dramas and movies, this was my first Taiwanese movie actually. Reading the plot, it got me really hooked up and excited from the beginning. It's your typical coming-of-age  happy-go-lucky movie, where you can predict whom is going to end up with whom, how the story is going to unravel itself. Who doesn't love a good school romance about first love, bullies, rivals and the harsh education system? I've watched dramas and movies with the same theme over and over again, but this movie was definitely something special and will surely become one of my classic favorite Asian movies.
Not giving away the setting of the story too much, one of my favorite things was that the actual storyline is set somewhere in the 80s/90s, so the actual vibe felt very real. I think I enjoyed the chemistry and the growing relationship of the 2 main characters. The romance was super natural and made me chuckle at least 10 times during the whole film. Also, the actors were gorgeous to say the least.
Without much rambling, everything about this movie is splendid and enjoyable. If you are a sucker for lighthearted love stories, you'll definitely want to watched this movie. It's worth watching and I know that I'll be rewatching ir some time soon. Oh, you'll thank me later for this recommendation! <3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sky of Love
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 9, 2017
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
I know my thoughts are scattered everywhere but do watch the film it was good even if it is painful.

I found this film good but of course not every body will have the same reaction to it.
There are things I don't like about it (teen pregnancy, rape, those who raped her not being caught) but the good outweighs the bad.
I know this can all happen in reality, plus it was supposed to be based on a true story, so it has happened already.

Some may say that it is too cliche or it is very unrealistic, but I guess that's how they are in Japan. Cultural differences. If it doesn't happen to you it doesn't mean it cannot really happen.

Full review: https://wp.me/s7aUsF-koizora

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Nov 9, 2017
Overall 7.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Fights without limits Online.
A younger man is humiliated when he is beaten by a person. It  turns out that these two had argued over the Internet, and the younger  man was fooled into a meeting that turned out to be a heavily  humiliating filmed and of course posted on the Internet. Now he is looking for revenge and he plans to train martial arts to find his rival again in the ring.
There are many who advocate the Internet, it is easy to be difficult behind a keyboard and screen. After what I understand, in recent years there has been a trend in which the warriors meet to fight. This is the theme of "Ingtoogi": the battle of the Internet Trolls it occupies. The show teaches us something new. But it is really interesting to follow the protagonist of the film who had major problems after he was beaten.
It addresses today's technology and the consequences of what today's technology can do to us as human beings. It also offers mental trauma and friendship, and has a lot of charm. The  problem is that with the exception of the invisible friend, he has two  notes, is a little hard to like, they are very strange and they do not  feel much sympathy for them. But it's interesting.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?