The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 6.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Story:
The premise is really interesting because of the suspense and continual questioning of what's going to happen next. However due to the slow and long scenes that were totally unnecessary, I was bored (I actually watched it in 2x speed and fast forwarded it a lot). This being said, I especially loved the development of each of the characters. It is so deep and detailed. I loved how parts of the story connected. There were definitely holes in the plot and there were times that I would facepalm due to the idiocy of the characters choices. The reactions of the students were realistic and representative of society. The ending did make me think a little bit. Common themes were betrayal, friendship, love, and death.

Acting:
Well done for this young group of people. Nicely acted altho most of the emotions were pretty placid.

Overall:
I'm glad to have have seen it but I probably would not recommend this to a friend.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love, Now
21 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
When I read the synopsis of this drama, I was intrigued. I liked the fact that the male lead was already in love with the female lead at the beginning, as I don't particularly like when the love arc is dragged out in a story. I also found the fact that Yi-Ru was tricked by her family into believing she had a terminal illness- can you just imagine the hilarity that follows when Yi-Ru finds out that it was all fake?
And then i saw how long this drama was. 72 episodes? Does anyone want to sit through all that?
I still wanted to watch the drama, but at the same time I wasn't ready to sit through all 54 hours. So I came ti the solution that I would skim through this show. I watched it in linear order, but skipped through parts I deemed unnecessary or boring. That saved me a ton of time and I still found this show amusing and heartwarming.
Story: "Love, now" is unrealistic in it's views of love. But then again, most dramas are. This show kind of goes with the idea that people are destined to fall in love and love each other at first sight. But for the sake of this drama, i went with it. The writers weren't exactly skilled in the progression of showing how people fall in love, but the writers were skilled in showing how it changes people. I liked how as many characters found their better halves, they became better themselves. However, that isn't exactly enough plot to fill 72 episodes. Many episodes went by with little to no plot progression. Minor incidents were made to last longer than needed, and characters were sort of wishy-washy with their decisions simply for the sake of the plot. I remember in one episode, a male character said he knew his heart and wasn't in love with a girl, only to contradict the statement 15 minutes later.
Acting: The cast had really cute chemistry- they all felt like one big family. Annie Chen and George Hu had sizzling chemistry and it made me wish that they really were a couple off set. I also enjoyed the chemistry Bobby Dou had with the rest of the Yang family. The four of them made me smile at my computer screen. All the other couples of this show were really cute together, but it was the platonic relationships that really made you feel. I liked Qi Ming's and Yi Qing's brother-sister relationship and how they acted like little kids around each other. I also loved Grandma Lan's relationship with all the other characters. She was surprisingly bright and lively.
Music: My biggest pet peeve with the music was that the same song played before all the commercial breaks. Not to mention the commercial breaks sometimes cut in at the most dramatic moments. For example, one character might say that he/she has a terminal illness, dramatic music comes on, then BOOM- commercial break. That pretty much ruins any mood the show sets. One time I was seconds away from bursting into tears, and then the song comes on. That's like the equivalent of your parents getting you this amazing gift, telling you for weeks what an *amazing* gift it is, then giving you five dollars and a pack of gum.
Rewatch Value: The show has a lot of amazingly creative scenes. I will definitely rewatch those.
Overall: This show felt a little too long for its plot. It could have easily been compressed into 25 or 30 episodes. A tighter story and better directing would have done it wonders. I wouldn't recommend that you watch it ALL, but rather do as I did and skim it. But if you want to, then it's your choice. Overall, it was a nice story about people's lives and how love changes them. There aren't any serious challenges the main characters face in the first 60 episodes of the show, and after the main couple got together I sort of lost interest, but it was a nice experience.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kekkon Shinai
6 people found this review helpful
by neaa
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
The story is simple and that is why it is particularly nice to watch. it tells about marriage, love and friendship- the three main ingredients of one's life but still the title says it's about the life of a single. it is. it tells about how marriage has become a chiche affair and how it's more important in life to find one's direction and love.
Excellent acting. Tamaki Hiroshi looked really handsome and sweet. and the girls or should i say the ladies were brilliant.
this isn't one of those chirpy high school dramas. so if you're looking for one, it might be the wrong place. this one is more mature and deep. a little slow at times but each episode has a lesson to learn!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kimi wa Petto
7 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
So what’s the story? Girl finds injured boy in a box; girl takes boy home and adopts him – as a dog. I’ll give you a second for your eyes to stop rolling. It works! I promise you, the story actually works! – Once you can get your mind wrapped around the premise that a 28 year old woman would actually be ok taking in a 20 year old homeless boy and in every way possible treating him as a master to its pet.

Sumire the career woman and MatsuJun the obedient dog: Together they are one of the cutest onscreen couples I’ve ever seen. And when I say cute, I do mean cute as in ‘puppy dog’ cuteness. So cute it’s downright awkward.

Yet the strength of the show lies in this very strained and awkward relationship. On one hand, the players are perfectly happy to pretend like it makes sense. He needs a home and someone to feed him, she’s lonely and likes the companionship, especially at the end of a hard day. To come home from work to find a happy pet waiting anxiously for its owner? Tail wagging, happy and desperately giving out the mixed signals of ‘I love you - Feed me!’ No questions asked, no stressful conversations, and no obligations.

It’s a borderline perfect friendship, laced with a dangerous hint of sexual tension. Especially once Sumire begins an actual dating relationship with another man, and neglects to tell him about the ‘pet’ she keeps at home. Tanabe Seiichi plays the ideal boyfriend Hasumi Shigehito, tall and even more career bound – perfect for the haughty Sumire whose shorter ex-boyfriend suffered an inferiority complex. Yet the person that begins to melt Sumire’s cold exterior is not the boyfriend she’s crushed on for years, but the warm and huggable stray living away tucked up in her apartment.

In case you’re worried that this isn’t enough conflict already to see this plot through to the end, fear not. Despite the wtf-premise of boy acting like dog, not everything is always fun and games with this couple, nor is the real issue behind their mutual farce completely ignored. Takeshi/Momo may act like the perfect dog, loving and obedient, but behind the antics is a real human being, sadly cognizant of the reality of the situation. How long can they keep this up and how long he can keep his own feelings hidden drives the plotline of the latter half.

Do I recommend this? Absolutely. Just shut off your brain for a tiny bit and roll with it. It’s a unique romance story adapted from a manga – but unlike others of its origin, the drama’s characters are rarely overdone or overly dramatic. Even MatsuJun as the dog exhibits some depths of character as he switches between the happy-go-lucky puppy and the lone artist, dissatisfied with himself and his life. Sumire is the real face-palming mystery of the show, unsure of herself and her feelings. And yet, her strange behavior could not dampen how fun the drama is overall. I’m already in a re-watching mood, and at 10 episodes, this seems eminently doable.


For some select screencaps, see my original blog article at http://shinealightrose.blogspot.com/2013/02/jdrama-review-kimi-wa-petto-2003.html

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
New Tales of Gisaeng
13 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Mind Blown!! What can I say about this drama! Family dramas are probably the ones I watch the least; however, I have been very fortunately in watching some of the best and this is definitely one of them! Im Soo Hyang as Sa Ran and Sung Hoon as Da Mo, if you don't fall in love with this couple, you're immune to love! I cannot even say I hated a character; even Da Mo's crazy father has his endearing characteristics! My one complaint is the possession storyline, that could have been dropped and condensed this drama below 50 episodes. But what I did like about this drama was that you got to explore their relationship from start, to dating, to heartache, to marriage and finally children! A complete story!! What is absolutely amazing is that this was Sung Hoon's first drama ever!! Sure, he starts out the typical chaebol, spoiled brat but his transformation is like no other. Sure, you are going to look at the 52 episodes and say, this is too long but to give you an idea how well the acting is, just watch the last 10 minutes of episode 33. I guarantee in those 10 minute, you will want to watch the other 51 hours and 40 minute; guarantee!! I call those 10 min my emotionally stunned moments!! Only one other drama has ever affected me the same; one!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
That Winter, The Wind Blows
8 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Every episode i've seen gets interesting.Jo-in-sung is slowly revealing his true intention to his not-true sister Song Hye Kyo that he has to endure every pain just to be by her side.
They really give justice to the role they portray! They are a good match not only in limelight but in real ife as well..
Was this review helpful to you?
49 Days
5 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I'm a fan of Il Woo that why i watch this drama and i have no regret after watching this. This drama is really great. Storyline Actor and Music is Amazing. i really enjoy watching enjoy this drama and finish it within 4 days. (i'm lack sleeping because of this drama ^^)

Storyline- The writer really know how to make people feel curious. The more u watch the more u curious. I've cry over the last 3 episode.

Actor- Lee Yo Won act 2 character very good. Jung Il Woo as a funny scheduler :)

Music- The music is very match with storyline. Every-time i listen to OST make me wanna rewatch this drama.

I recommend this one is worth to watch. :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
They Kiss Again
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I'm not going to write much, I'm just trying to help those who wonder if they should watch it, of course after watching the first season It started with a kiss. The both main actors have such a great chemistry that you enjoy watching them even more in this season, and it shows their life after the marriage. That is even one of the best parts, in most of the dramas the marriage is the happy-ever-after ending. But here it shows how they live after that. I enjoyed this drama very much and can watch it over and over again without getting bored because of the sweetness this drama contains.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Flower Boy Next Door
14 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2013
Overall 3.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
The first episode was interesting although It didn't reveal all so the viewer can understand immediately what's wrong with Go Dok Mi's past. Until few episodes more It kept giving confusion. The plot was too shallow. Watching this was really wasting time. Some episodes could give some laughs but many episodes were really boring. I skipped some episodes.

I read episode guides and I think people really overrated it. There are still many dramas deserve high rates than this one.
Was this review helpful to you?
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
So, let me state first of all that I HATE flying with planes. I'm scared and I'm so damn happy to have my feet on the ground again that I want to cry.
Why did I take up on this drama? Well, maybe to cure my fear...
Did it work? Hum...I cannot say that I am not scared of flying anymore, but I also have to admit that I'm not more scared after watching ;)

It was interesting to get to see how air traffic control works. I am sure that some of the things are not from the real world and the scenarios are thought of, but still, you get an idea about what those people in the Tower do the whole day...
Additionally, the plot seemed realistic to me. Maybe a real traffic controller would start to cry, but to me there weren't any storylines that I thought of as completely unrealistic. This made it fun to watch the drama.

Furthermore, I liked most of the supporting characters. Their relationships were nicely portrait. They had scenes were they were teasign each other, but in the end you saw that they all were a big family.
I am not so fond of Fukada Kyoko's acting as I have the feeling she was just added to look pretty or worried. For me, she didn't really give the impression of that dtermined woman she portrayed, but due to her great supporting actors, it was fine to have not such a dominating main character. Maybe this was even intended by the writers.

I also liked the teamwork that was showed throughout the whole drama. To ensure the safety of the airplanes and with that the safety og the passengers and the crew, a lot of people have to give their best each day. It was so nicely portrayed how they all supported each other and helped each other through hard times. That's what I liked about this drama the most.

In short: You won't make a mistake watching this drama and even if you're not a big fan of airports and airplanes, you shure find something enjoyable about this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Heartbeat Love
6 people found this review helpful
Mar 11, 2013
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I happened to watch this mini-drama/movie at one go. It pleasantly surprised me. I didn't know what to expect since its duration was so short. However, it managed to keep me hooked from the start till the end without boring me.

While the story is cliche in all aspects, it has a certain charm to it. Rainie and Show both played their parts very well. I loved their chemistry and they were fun to watch together. I would say the last episode was a bit cheesy for my taste but the rest of it was fine. I particularly liked Rainie Yang. I've never been a fan of hers before but she seems quite different from her 'Devil Beside You' days. I liked her acting as well. Show also looked hot in this.

Anyway- if nothing, this show is worth watching just for the amazing camera work. I have to say whosoever the director was did a great job of it. He actually made me want to visit Australia. I think mentioning this is relevant since this movie seemed like a big promotion for Australian tourism. LOL.

Worth a watch and maybe some time in the future, a rewatch. Definitely recommended for Rainie and Show fans!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
MARS
15 people found this review helpful
Mar 11, 2013
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I can't believe I took so long to watch this! I had plans last year to watch it as soon as I was done with Meteor Garden. But, you see, the thing is, while watching Meteor Garden, I shipped Si and Shancai real hard. No, seriously, I loved them together so much that whenever Shancai went all girly-girly around Lei (vic Zhou's character), my face would turn as grim as Si's and I literally had to fight the urge to skip their parts, fearing I might miss something important. This, and also I watched Vic Chou in a movie called "loving you a 10000 years" and (no offense) but that is possibly the worst movie I have ever watched in any language known to man. It was just lame. And, trust me, it doesn't take much in a movie or a drama to impress me.

Anyways, back to the drama - WHY DIDN'T I WATCH THIS SOONER?! WAE WAE WAE??? This is just amazing. The plot is so intriguing. Not just the romantic parts but also the stuff about mental illnesses and stuff. It's very thrilling. I LOVE VIC CHOU! I seriously cannot believe he didn't win the best actor award for this drama. Same for Barbie Hsu. I mean, their expressions (once again I'm not talking about expressions of love and longing.)were just so beautiful. Gave me goosebumps the whole time.

The kind of characters they built for this drama really impressed me. Ling is the most perfect guy in the most imperfect sense possible. His shades of his personality and different layers of his character, the laugh, the tears, the past. It just moved me, I don't know why. Same goes for Qui Luo. I love the way her character developed after Ling came into her life. I loved their little shack that they made for themselves. I loved the music of the show. I have most of the songs on my phone.

Coming to the rewatch value, I'll definitely give it a 10 because I already watched it twice (no kidding) and I am definitely going to go watch it again for sure. Especially a few favorite parts for which I even remember the episode numbers now (lol).

I'd say if you are an Asian Drama fan, don't skip this one!

PS- Still can't believe Vic Chou didn't win the best actor award for this. My faith in the world of righteousness is shattered. But I'll try not to dwell on that.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Flower Boy Next Door
14 people found this review helpful
Mar 11, 2013
Overall 6.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Before you continue reading, I critizie dramas. A lot. Unless I am blinded and turned into a gooey marshmallow because of all the sweet cute gooey moments.

Now, I expected a lot of cute gooey marshmallow moments in the Flower Boy Next door.

Why?
1. The name itself is built for sugary chocolatey goodness.
2. The lead characters looked like all flowery and sugary
3. The previews gave the distinct impression of lurve and cute moments
Did I get what I expected? Sadly, buckets of tears sadly, the is NO.

Go Dok Mi was eccentric, unique... depressed, lonely and gloomy and she liked it! I enjoyed that difference and style. Enrique was the complete opposite… loud proud fun and constantly happy. I enjoyed that too.
I felt that with such wonderful character profiles, and such enthusiastic actors… things would have just been absolute fireworks and passion and fun. This was not to be.

Enrique’s talkative loud self became too harsh on the ears and eyes. Go Dok Mi didn’t seem to mature/grow….. Jin Rak’s love story lingered to the point of ripping my sister’s eyeballs out from irritation (some times you have to know when to give up on a gal, especially if her eyes start sparkling at the mention and sight of another guy) and Cha Do Hwi was such an ANNOYING fly that I just wanted to SWAT her from the get go.

(And what was the point of bringing in Watanabe if he created Zero Laughs??)

Their (Enrique and Dok Mi) relationship didn’t seem to grow well either. There were moments (a LOT) where Enrique seemed to be doing all the work, and the brief time Dok Mi tried (like TWICE maximum, if even that) seemed like there was zero emotion/effort in it.

Aside from these complaints- it was alright to watch and just a bit of fluff to pass away the time. Nothing too exciting, with some fun bits thrown in for laughs (look out for the webtoon editor, she is AWESOME, and because of this, I’ve added an extra thumbs up), but nothing I’d recommend to watch for a second time, and certainly not a must see of 2013... unless you wanna fastforward through the episodes and find our lovely Webtoon Editor.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Liar Game
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 11, 2013
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
loved it!!! the explanations after the trick has been pulled were the best parts!!! I am now a fan of Liar Game and will be watching all the follow up seasons!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful to you?
Mar 10, 2013
Overall 10
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 5.0
i am currently watching this drama and its going great i loooovee the main cast and Eun ji she's just my girl also Kim Bum who doesn't like him anyway the music in the drama gets you indulged into the drama really well,the story is equally funny,romantic,intense and evil in all levels, the story is just really really really intense and i don't see how Oh Soo and Yongie is going to have a happy ending i mean finding out your brothers not your brother and plan was to take 7.8 billion won from you and tricking to making think his your real brother while your real brother is actually dead and the reason why he died was cause of him is going to lead to happy ending then i don't know how that's going to play out until i find out. overall this drama is AMAZING and needs a lot of views it definitely worth a watch if your looking for a crazy romance/melodramatic film.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?