Completed
Marry Me, or Not?
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers
i really loved chiu roy's expressions in this drama... i had watched joanne tseng in refresh man and had really liked her in it... initially it was very interesting and fun... but towards the last 5-6 episodes there came a lot of unnecessary drama... i really admired the friendship between the two female leads... i wanted hao sheng nan to meet a good guy in the end... but unfortunately, that didn't happen... at times i liked huan zhen's character and at times i hated her.. she rejected hao meng soo many times in the last few episodes but when he gave her an exaggerated proposal she accepted it... i liked the relationships of hao meng's and huan zhen's parents... overall, it can be considered as one time watch drama...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love by Chance
4 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I liked the maturity that was brought to this BL. Our main couple actually kissed, had sex, but respected each other and seemed to have genuine affection. Yet they worried about real things that college students worry about. As usual, the music in a Thai BL leaves much to be desired, often ruining the mood. But thankfully even that was a bit toned down for this show. I didn’t love the way all the couples ended, but I supposed that’s realistic. I would rewatch this one right up there with Together With You.
Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 14/16
The Third Charm
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
14 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
If you are fond of modern stories, do not hesitate even one second: here you will encounter a contemporary drama.

I fancy Seo Kang-joon a lot. I am not sure if it is his acting or his handsome face but I like watching him. So I had been very curious about 'Third Charm' during the waiting stage. I was looking forward to watching it. However since I've hardly had time in recent weeks, I was unable to begin it right away.
Meanwhile I read a couple of comments that made me presume that it's an old- fashioned melodrama packed with many painful events, unnecessary misunderstandings, crappy secrets, stupid coincidences (like 'that man is actually the father of the boy'/ 'this girl is the missing or unknown sister of the other one'/ 'the enemies are close relatives but they learn it accidentally' and so on) , Felt sad and I temporarily gave up beginning. What a wrong decision! As soon as I met with the drama, I found more than I hoped for.

1- How is the frequent pattern of romantic dramas: "Boy and girl are in their thirties but they haven't had any lover yet, they haven't experienced even any first kiss. We buy it, moreover we find it very positive, very innocent":... Not to mention considering it as unrealistic, this pattern is something I find really dangerous, really puritanical.

In 'Third Charm' you see young people who have healthy relationships. They touch their loved ones, they kiss them (here I don't mean that they touch their lips and stay like that, I mean real kisses) they spend nights together.

2. There are tons of dramas that tells us that women are obsessed with marriage. They always passively wait for a proposal. Even a simple wedding ring makes them die of happiness.

In 'Third Charm' women are not crazy about marrying someone. And they don't wait for the other party initiating the relationship. They chose, they say, they act, they start or they terminate when they feel for it.

3- In any relationship the one who is afraid of losing the other, the one who is dependent on the other unconsciously cause a decay in that relationship. Because the other party feels uneasy, and continuously indebted. Because the one who loves too much steals the role of his/her lover by not leaving a space for showing love, winning heart etc. It kills excitement. So the other party wants to be out of that relationship. This is not tragic, not ridiculous, not silly. Just normal.

In 'Third Charm' you see that kind of imbalance and besides in spite of this you still see a very warm relationship.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Package
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This review may contain spoilers
This drama started really slow for me which was a surprise given that it is only 12 episodes. I wasn’t impressed with the acting in the beginning especially the main lead but as the story continues to unfold I started to understand the characters better and was more forgiving. What I don’t get is how silly Ma Ru can get one minute and then quite deep the next. I have to say though that our San Ma Ru definitely have his heart in the right place, he does not compromise giving him his quiet strength. I love his friend at work :).

Story touched almost all relationships here and at one point or another gives the viewers a peek at their own lives. I took some time reflecting on So So boss’ words about the traveling bag, what’s important and not important to you.... I like the ending, not forced but not hanging either, just right! However, I would really like a side story of the brother and his bride to be ;)

The music is on point and perfect. It was fun, sad, cute all rolled into one. The cinematography was stunning and the director was brilliant in making this drama as if the viewers were walking and enjoying the sights of France themselves. I swear I felt the breeze blow my hair, the smell of the water, the feel and sound of cobblestones under my shoes and the sweet smell of the English flowers including the fermented kimchi ;). France is not in my bucket list but I may just put it in there after watching this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love by Chance
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
Love By Chance is a series that's definitely worth watching and even re-watching, and here's why:
LBC does a great job at portraying relationships realistically, it doesn't use miscommunication as a plot device and instead lets characters actually talk to each other to sort out problems, it also has a wide variety of side couples that balance out the incredibly sweet main one, some work out and some don't, just like in real life.
It also doesn't fall into clichés from most BLs, it even takes those clichés and turns them into something actually good and worth watching.
It doesn't mock gay relationships or go too hard on the fan service, and it definitely doesn't have repetitive plot lines.
The music, although not new to some, is catchy and matches the mood of the scenes well.
And the acting, even if the actors are young and some very new to the industry, is really good!
This is the type of show you can watch after a bad day and feel better.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Tofu Personified
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers
I honestly love the plot of this and the cast. I thought Tofu was adorable and he's a great actor. What I didn't like about this was the ending. From the beginning we knew that he would have to leave, but I thought maybe there would be a way around that. I didn't like that they made the viewers more familiar with Tofu and to care more deeply for him. He was sweet and I could obviously tell that he truly liked her, but I dislike that she didn't end up with him. I love Ken and I enjoy watching him act, but it was a stereotypical character and I wish that he would've been the second male lead instead.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Boy Next Door
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
this is amzing drama so good with each scene and title is alwys misleading for fujoshis who are expecting something fom this bromance drama. actually it is not bl or anyhting its just comedy full of buddy relation livin together.
characters played their role so impressivly.
some scenes are so relatable that tend to be happen between male frends and often misundestood by others while can be haeven for some girls.
hhahahah it was fullof expectation and reality what we r expecting it was totly diffrent from our eyes and thoughts.
their signature dialogue "ahh! shibal!" means ah! fuck! on every end of their scenes which creates moe comical sound towards their script.
totally worth watching when u feel bored or feel sad must watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mr. Sunshine
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
While I've watched countless Chinese drama, I'm rather new to Korean ones because I'm less familiar with the language and the culture. This drama was suggested to me by Netflix and after seeing that the lead actress was Kim Tae Ri, whom I loved in the Handmaiden, I immediately decided to watch it.

24 over-one-hour-long episodes flew by. This I the first drama I've watched where I never skipped a scene once. I admit I was more interested in the romantic subplot(s) than in the general historical plot – also because I already knew what sad and terrible history Korea was about to go into so I wasn't exactly on the edge of my seat – but the political scheming was never boring, and the villains and the antagonists were never flat or too stereotyped.

Also, this drama had zero drama clichés, or at least they were very sparse. No stupid misunderstandings or jealous rivals; no clueless female protagonists or jerk male heroes; no situations that make you cringe or roll your eyes. It had more of a movie feeling than a TV drama's.
Every character, especially the main 5 (Eugene, Ae-sin, Hina, Dong-mae and Hui-Seong) was interesting and well-rounded and I really empathised with them all.
The funny bits were actually very funny, and the product placement was sparse.
The music and the cinematography were outstanding – though regarding the latter I think they put all their effort in the first half and the second half doesn't have as many gorgeous or iconic shots. If I have to think of the shots of this drama that are iconic for me, they're all in the first 15 episodes.

The acting was really good, with Kim Tae Ri and Byun Yo Han shining the most in my opinion.

I only gave 8.5 to the story because, just like with the cinematography, I had the impression it wasn't as strong in the second half. It got slower around episodes 15-20, then it got a bit more predictable and sometimes it felt like they didn't have a clear idea where they were going with some storylines. I also wish the ending was different in a couple of aspects. But overall it was a very solid story and they managed to juggle well the personal stories with the political/historical background.

I'm keeping this review spoiler free but in the next paragraph I will go into more detail about things I didn't like so if you want to stay 100% spoiler-free please stop reading.

I've already said that Mr. Sunshine is amazing and listed the good things, but I have a few small complaints I'd like to mention as well.
First of all, I'm a little disappointed that the romance subplot became less and less relevant as the episodes progressed, especially towards the end. While this won't matter to those who watch this drama mainly for the overall story, I'm a sucker for the romance and I wish the relationships had progressed a bit more. I think there were things that could have been done but sadly were never explored.
Second, towards the end they introduced interesting new characters and situations that were left as loose threads and never brought to a closure. That was also a bit disappointing.
I'm also a bit bitter about how a particular character's arc (my favorite character, actually) ended, and I think that, again, there was still a lot of unexplored potential there.

In the end, I'd give 10/10 to the first half of Mr. Sunshine and 8/10 to the second half, so my overall vote is 9. If I'm ever gonna rewatch this drama, I'll probably only rewatch the first half.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Innocent Days
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
6 of 6 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5

It is more of a drama than mystery BUT IT IS REALLY GOOD

One of the best dramas I've seen in recent years. From the first episode alone this drama series will make you engage to the story, they have done a great job of introducing the characters, showing their motives and hinting where the story will go. This is episodic in a way that each episode will focus on one character that knows Yukino, where each of them blame themselves as to what have become to Yukino's life. There are two mysteries present in this drama, first is who committed the crime and second is what kind of life she had. By no means has this drama have mindboggling plot twist and clever puzzles but what's fascinating here is to see what kind of life Yukino had, this drama will make you feel bad for her. The drama element is so strong here, and I'll be honest there are couple scenes that got me teary eyed especially seeing them still caring for each other after so many years.

The drama has a bit of a dark tone which brilliantly supports the plot. The music underlines the mood in each scene, builds tension and evokes feelings of each character. Stellar acting from the cast especially Takeuchi Yoko and Tsubamuki Satoshi, both character have traits that unique to them and the way they act is remarkable. Once scene that impresses me the most is during their final scene together, I felt tension building up and having no music in that scene really helps.

To call it a masterpiece is a bit of a stretch but if you love mystery, drama and thought provoking stories then it is a must watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 10/16
The Third Charm
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
10 of 16 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 4.0
This review may contain spoilers
I started this drama because i like main lead. First two episodes are really good which makes me to continue this drama. I am disappointed with hero's attitude and got irritated in some scenes. Story and music is not great. I did not like the main actress acting. Everything is too plain and no interesting scenes in the drama.
Later this drama is getting bored and finally i dropped this drama.
Story: Story doesn't have any big twists.
Acting/Cast: Cast did their best in acting to express emotions.
Music: I did not remember any songs.
Re-watch Value: I will watch first two episodes (maybe).
Over all I didn't like this drama and doesn’t worth my time. I don’t know why the main lead has chosen this drama to act I am really disappointed. Hoping next drama will be a good one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Falling in Love with a Rival
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
This review may contain spoilers
From the title and the description, I expected something totally different. There was barely any story, except maybe the last episode. A lot did not make sense to me, for example, the doctors role or why Wu Suo Wei lived there, that could have been because of the really bad English sub that I watched, I don't know. There was no chemistry between the main characters and I really don't know what that was between them because they just called each others names and then Chi Cheng groped Wu Suo Wei, who fought against it. And this over and over. That's basically what this is about.

The actors were alright, even though the roles they played were ridiculous.

Music was there, but I don't recall it.

And I will certainly never watch this again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Rise of Phoenixes
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
70 of 70 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
I love the intense scenes and the cunning and manipulative thoughts and actions of Ning Yi. I just felt bad on the ending and disappointed but I guess tmost of the chinese series i have watched so far has no happy endings except for eternal love. The female lead always die. I wish they change that idea as people like happy endings and not a sad one . Hope there is a continuation for this as i like ning yi to be happy after all the trials and pain he went through lol. Cinematography is so great and the intricate and lavish costumes . I loved the historical part of it

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Accidentally in Love
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
30 of 30 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Does anyone know where I can find the song Soulmate in Ep 16 I can’t seem to find it.
But I really loved this Drama it was funny epic and stunning!!! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good drama to start on it was 100% worth staying up all night watching. Also don’t forget to buy your snacks and drink when watching this because you wouldn’t stop watching this amazing Drama all Asian Drama are always amazing I give this Drama the highest rating I can ever give!! ???? have fun and don’t watch in public or else you’ll look weird laughing outta nowhere ????????????????

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Shut Up: Flower Boy Band
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
Those who know, know.
Those who don't know, should just watch.
Some performances steal a scene. Some an episode. Some an entire show.
Without it, this would be yet another mediocre highschool musical.
It is worth watching for that alone.
I have no other words.
Just press play.
You won't regret it.

They're making me type 500 words. I guess I should say something else.
I like that the music really sounds like something a group of talented highschool kids would belt out in their garage. I like the way it explores how rock clashes with the over-produced, cookie-cutter nature of the Korean music industry. I also like how the writers never lost track of their characters, even if some of them aren't particularly well-defined.
I wish the show had better female characters, and not so many pretty pot plants.

I still think Boys Over Flowers has a lot to answer for but this is head and shoulders above its predecessor, the woeful Flower Boy Ramen Shop.

This is my review.
The end.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love by Chance
14 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
Overall, I think the series was pretty good. Although some of the sex scenes between Pete and Ae were a "bit much", LOL, the series was cute and kept your attention, especially with the growing relationship between Tin and Can. I really like that relationship, especially that of Tin. To watch his development during the last episodes, learning of the abusive and arguably cruel treatment by his older brother (a person whom he most cherished and trusted in the world at that time) - to learning to love and trust again with Can. I know that because BL dramas have to have their tragic situation, I just hate that it had to be Tin and Can, especially since there probably won't be a season 2.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions