Completed
The Smile Has Left Your Eyes
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 2.5

After I already finish this drama I have some questions, how this drama getting worst and worst?...
When I started I so really excited watching first episodes soo what happen? also How many people rank more tan 8 point we watch same drama?

I admit the cast was really good, I love Ink Guk so much he has amazing dramas but this is no one of these. The plot soundsnninteresting and we have a mistery, however al of this good point just fell like coconut.

while we advance in different episodes, I feel pretty frustrating, a lot of siuation that looks like anyone cant remember like accidents (Friend), crime scenes ( Magical cleaner?) and when principal characters start a "romantic relationship"
Don't realize how toxic was both sides?

After start to "untangle" so many memories appears magical until the end.. last episode she was remember everything with this I feel more interesting in a children story, more details and situations.

And no to mention the end was so silly... remember me romeo and juliette but without reason just they want to dead, and so really sad for the bother that just want the better for them.

Certainly no chance of repeating this drama ever.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Third Charm
0 people found this review helpful
by Sage
1 day ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This review may contain spoilers
Out of all the dramas I've seen this one was by far the most furiously debated over. People either loved it or hated, and then there were people on the fence. I found The Third Charm pleasantly fulfilling. Often times dramas shy away from sad endings and pull plot twists, hidden elements, or any other deus ex machina things they could do to avoid a sad ending.

I was hooked by the premise liked many others, but unlike others, I stayed hooked and was not off-put by the sudden dark turn it took. At first glance, it would seem very dark and "edgy," but these are easily thrown around without very much thought. Is the story dark? Yes, but does that means it's automatically "edgy" and "emo?" No.

In regards to the story, I found the ending satisfactory which I could say far more fulfilling than other dramas which seemed to focus on avoiding a sad ending no matter what. In The Third Charm, however, it's one of the few dramas that had me on edge wondering if the ending will be a happy or sad one. Taking into account the whole story, and how OJY LYG progressed throughout the story, the ending was far better than I thought. I could see why some people felt disappointed with the ending, but I didn't mind it's was left open for interpretation what happened afterward. It's different than the bland conflict being resolved and the main characters live happily afterward. In TTC the conflict never really does get resolved, it never was really dealt with and took the form of a figurative scar which would stick with the main characters for the rest of their lives. There's no romantic finale where the male, after a thematic victory over the conflict, kiss, marry or stays with the female. There's just realism here.

The acting was superb. I have to give it to the leads even though I might be a little biased since I'm a fan of Seo Kang Joon, but I can confidently say with the script they were given they did an amazing job. SKJ played the role of the naive, shy and awkward lover, and Lee Som did amazingly with the over realistic, burdened, and tragic female lover. The supporting role also did an amazing job, namely Yang Dong Geun. Was all their acting perfect? No, but that goes for every actor there's always room for improvement.

In conclusion, it's up to personal taste whether this show is gold or dirt. This show doesn't shy away from tragedy, and sad endings, and I think that's where most people's complaints and frustration come from. The ending is even worse and where the arguments peaked since the ending was "controversial" to some. However, I did not mind it at all, I've watched too many dramas with deus ex machina happy endings, and there's nothing wrong with that, but it's good to have something different. If you want a good tragic drama look no further because TTC delivers on that.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mr. Sunshine
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
First of all, I usually shy away from political drama's as I tend to find them way to frustrating but my oh my...I'm glad I didn't let that idea get in the way of this magnificent piece of work. This is one of those drama's that will really make you grateful for the seemingly normal life you now lead, regardless of your origin. Be prepared to not only cry but sob wholeheartedly with the leads.

I love that one of the messages in this drama was that the next generation should not have to bear the sins of their ancestors. I have read so many cruel comments that states we should not visit Japan but please remember the message this drama was trying to convey.

I also really enjoyed the underlying tones of Karmic debt. It showed how every action taken by the leads had a sort of rebound effect that needed to be paid off in one way or another. It reminded us that every word and act of violence only added weight to your Karmic debt regardless of the reason. And that Karma would come for you...sooner or later.

Romance was one of those "blink and you'll miss it" type but it was vastly deep and heartbreaking. I think there was actually more Bromance than Romance in this drama and it added the humor that was needed to make this a well rounded piece of work. Physical intimacy was very limited but so well executed that I didn't feel ripped off. Acting was...sooo beautiful to the point it was agonizing. Every single cast member was mesmerizing.

The two female leads stole the show and it was spectacular. My all time favorite character will always be Hina Kudo/Lee Yang-Hwa. She was intelligent, loyal, fierce, brave and beautifully righteous. She is literally the epitome of what a feminist is. I could honestly go on for hours about how well written this character was as she out shined the main female lead in soo many aspects. I would love to see a spin off of her earlier life and how her and Gu Dong Mae met in Japan #praying.

As for re-watch value...I would definitely re-watch it but it is quite heavy and emotionally draining so maybe not in the near future. I'm usually into fantasy romances like TMOPB (Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms) but this drama really did leave me speechless. Highly, highly recommend.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
'Cause You're My Boy
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 8.5

At last, less cheesy Thai's BL Series!

At first i didn't really interested to watch this series when my boyfriend suggested it. And when i watched the trailer i was like, "okay, i guess it's another chessy Thai BL drama series". But then after i watched the entire series, well, it's beyond my expectation. I know there are still cheesy parts, and quite many plot holes, a little awkward acting in the first 2 or 3 episodes, and i guess the writing is the big flaw in this series. But then, the main actors, Drake and Frank, really give this series a HUGE help. They developed the chemistry quite well, from awakward to (look like) a real couple. And i didn't expect the story was going more complex that i expected, it's not just about being gay and being afraid of getting caught, but it's about fighting for your love, and life. Well, at least this series can give a spirit to young gay to discover themselves, and what they really need.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Accidentally in Love
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
30 of 30 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
I never write reviews for things like this, however I felt like I had something important to say.
I loved the story line, thought it was cute, lighthearted and just a plain good Rom-Com. My only issue came around episode 25 up to 27. You can take my word on the fact that what happens here is just morally unacceptable and I'm very surprised this happened without any consequence to the people who did it. In fact, this very addition and lack of solving tampered my pretty much 10/10 view on the program.
Keep reading if you aren't bothered about spoilers or have seen the show, otherwise just click off and enjoy the show for what it is, as regardless of this I say its a great binge watch.



#SPOILERS#

I cannot believe that the emotional blackmail and manipulation was not even remotely addressed by any of the characters. Not only did this situation make me extremely uncomfortable, more than it should, I had to shout at my monitor in anger because nobody was doing anything to rectify the situation. Why did the writers ruin such a lovely plot with something quite frankly dark and disgusting, there was no need for it?? Blackmailing people with the threat of killing yourself if they don't date you is NOT OKAY PEOPLE! I don't like how this wasn't addressed at all. However, that being said, still enjoyed the rest of it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Todome no Kiss
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
I love this kind of story where you want to guess what is really happening and what will come next, but even when you can guess some of the story, for most of it you won't have a clue of why this or that character is doing something, most of the time there is a deeper meaning.
The cast is great, they make it dark, funny and emotional.
I have seen a lot of dramas, but there aren't a lot I would recommend from the bottom of my heart if you want to watch a great story. This one and Nobunaga Concerto are the ones that I have liked the most, since even when the story is simple, it gets deeper and different from other dramas.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Pinocchio
0 people found this review helpful
by Noy
2 days ago
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
This review may contain spoilers
Don't watch or not watch based on an OPINION. Use it as a small base or guideline. Try out a few ep and see if it clicks. I usually just skim the opinions....

I was hesitant to watch it because of the "public opinions". Eh ....she can't kiss...heir. ....she suck....blaah...blaah. I took it as a grain of salt but it linger and sway me a little to put this off.

Reading ppl hate has taught me many things...

A great scene is when an interviewing intern was gossiping and using it as a FACT. She claim that the FL didn't get nor deserve her job or reward. That only got the job because she's pretty.

...they asked...

Did you check the fact? The source? Are you here to report news or tabloid gossip.

I feel reviews can be like that. You need to check/try it for yourself to :check:

Any reviews I write is solely based on how I feel. I mostly have interest to write reviews on dramas that I've enjoyed. If it gives the feels while watching it did it's job.

I barely Ffw scenes. It had me laughing and crying. The family dynamic is awesome. The growth and support of characters. They challenge each other's views.

1 of the best line for me is them questioning which news is more important/ better. News ppl want to hear or need to know.

ML asked.

Do you want the good news or bad news?

-good news

You got concert tickets to Pink

- awesome. What's the bad news?

You got pancreatic cancer

-Whaat? Huh? asshole why didn't you tell me earlier?!

So tell me which news do you want. A news you NEED or want?

He schooled the jaded adults.

The Leads pushed each other to be better. I cried like a baby for the characters. My heart couldn't take it and I ffw so I can get to the point/reveal


Music was ok. Nothing stood out for me to add to my playlist.

Characters were awesome. Even the minor supports. Villian was good. We didn't get soo much that it was overbearing.

Rewatchable

Yes but it's tooo long for me to wait again....lol I'm allergic to 16+ but occasionally make an exception or lots of FFW







Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Confused at start but as it went on I really liked it. Allowing for different customs according to the time, it seems not much changes in schools over the centuries. Is set in late 1700s during rule of Jeongjo one of best Korean kings and the Sungkyunkwan was real academy. This is a great drama series and the build up was gripping but for me began to lose interest after episode 15 as it turned into just another straight romance, but that's personal to me I suppose. Also not in love with the ending, but difficult to give totally satisfying ending. Still give it 10/10. Music was great also. I almost never rewatch but may watch this again for characters, background, beautiful costumes, as for me plot not so important.

I like Yoo Chun's and Ah In's characters in this but why is it I can never find another drama where the same actors (not just these) have different roles I like? Despite him being villain here, very sad to hear of Jeon Tae Soo passing away.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Chicago Typewriter
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This drama is one i wont ever forget. A blissful relief from usual plotlines. the story was beautifully writte, and just as beautifully acted out. Yoo Ah In was perfect as always. Never have i ever seen a story so beautifully written about friendships, and fighting for what you believe in. Impeccably carried out with A+ cinemtatography and my gosh, a beautiful OST that i cant ever forget. The story left me not knowing what to do with my life anymore. Ive seen so many shows, but none has clicked with me as much as CT. Kept me on the edge of my seat and brought me to tears with its intense dialogues and themes of sacrifice, love and friendship. a perfect blend of fantasy, history and romance. a definite must watch. brilliant.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
God's Quiz: Reboot
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
I really liked this season especially the first episode it was amazing. When dr Han came back i had goosebumps. The chemestry between Dr Han and det kang was amazing as well. I really liked how mature their relationship got he didn't hide things grom her like the previous seasons. The cases were more intresting as well. And the overall mystery was engaging i kept waiting for each episode on the edge of my seat. I loved hyung so much the dud didny give hoot. I suported him all the way. The difrent relationships between charecters was well done. Tgey all had more depth to them. I'm sad its over now I'm gonna miss them.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Solomon's Perjury
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
The ending was beautiful--I'm glad to have watched this drama. Although due to my slow ability to process to much information haha, and I had a hard time to finish every episodes but I am still happy to have finished it. It was truly a good experience, especially to hear that message in the end from Han Ji Hoon, I think I would even write it down and make it as a reminder of mine. Honestly, I've only tried to watched this drama for Seo Ji Hoon after watching him from Tale of Gyeryong Fairy, but now, I'm grateful that I've got the chance to learned and be with the different stories of these characters, I just only wish that I've got the chance to further understand them more. Surely, I will watch this again, but I think it will be a few years after, maybe when I got older and more matured to understand the themes of this drama.

All in all, it was a good experience. :) Thank you, first of all to the writer of the novel it was based on, and of course to the whole korean production--the casts, the writers, the staffs and everyone who worked hard to finished this drama! :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 53/70
Story of Yanxi Palace
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
53 of 70 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I'm not a big C-Drama watcher myself, but I've probably watched at least a few hundred episodes just from my mum. From all the episodes I've watched with her on other shows, I never really considered going out of my way to watch it. Until on day, she found a new show being broadcast - Yanxi Gonglue. Just watching a few minutes of a random episode, I realized that this drama was differen from others. Then I watched more and more. But I had not watched from the beginning. So I went from episode 1, and watched episode by episode, up to 54 (currently too busy to finish). I was captivated by the logic that went into all the character's actions, I was amazed about how the littlest details made an entire plot point fit together. Yanxi Gonglue has great storywriting and smart character development, and adding the final top quality music is the cherry on top. Truly a pleasant show to watch, very easy to enjoy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
U-Prince The Series: The Crazy Artist
0 people found this review helpful
by Maja
2 days ago
4 of 4 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
intro: U-PRINCE is a series of 12 series, each having 4 * 1 hour episodes, and features one young man's journey in finding love in his life.. it's set in the environment of university, and to some extent all the stories are connected, since all young men are making an appearance in other's stories as side characters.
That said, you don't really have to follow the "order of appearance", but, for those who like to keep things chronological, this it the order:
Part 1 : Handsome Cowboy
Part 2 : Gentle Vet
Part 3 : Lovely Geologist
Part 4 : Bad-ass Baker
Part 5 : Absolute Economist
Part 6 : Foxy Pilot
Part 7 : Playful Comm-Arts
Part 8 : Extroverted Humanist
Part 9 : Single Lawyer
Part 10 : Crazy Artist
Part 11 : Badly Politics
Part 12 : Ambitious Boss
Generally, these are ALL cute stories, made to make you smile.

I know most of drama-people voted this one to be the "most feels" of the entire U-prince series. Without doubt, it's true to the core.
The story is quite simple.
That leaves a lot of space to work on our characters. That said, I don't think that, after watching the Show, anyone can say they could imagine our OTP to be played by any other actors. They fit the roles amazingly. One being so loosen up and free; the other being more interesting in a scientific factor of everything around us.
It's all because of one SHIRT.
But, not any shirt: the Beatles shirt! with words "let it be" on the back.
And, that is the core of our story. Learning the magical effect of being able to "let it be".
After being so majestically DUMPED by a looooooong time boyfriend, I say our FL was doing great, actually. Besides, there was this odd looking, guitar carrying fella following her, quoting excepts from her brother's books!? I'd say she handled herself brilliantly there. If it was me, I'd be choking the boyfriend to his slow death and probably running away from ML screaming my lungs out.
Fortunately, there was that one shirt.
Another point here: love does not know TIME. Some love stories grow slowly, some sneak up on you without you realizing, and some (like this one) just explode in your face..and you wake up not being able to understand how come there was ever a time you were not in love.
Oh, and there is that one thing I don't like: darn ex-es changing their minds! Sorry, what SANE person would take you back after you brutally shattered their self worth?! Go, hide in a dark corner!

At the end: chose your friends wisely, because if you end up hospitalized, it's important to know that they'll be there for you, because they believe the worst thing would be:
"..waking up and not seeing anyone"
Watch it for..
Watch it for the sake of dry bananas!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
U-Prince The Series: The Single Lawyer
0 people found this review helpful
by Maja
2 days ago
4 of 4 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
intro: U-PRINCE is a series of 12 series, each having 4 * 1 hour episodes, and features one young man's journey in finding love in his life.. it's set in the environment of university, and to some extent all the stories are connected, since all young men are making an appearance in other's stories as side characters.
That said, you don't really have to follow the "order of appearance", but, for those who like to keep things chronological, this it the order:
Part 1 : Handsome Cowboy
Part 2 : Gentle Vet
Part 3 : Lovely Geologist
Part 4 : Bad-ass Baker
Part 5 : Absolute Economist
Part 6 : Foxy Pilot
Part 7 : Playful Comm-Arts
Part 8 : Extroverted Humanist
Part 9 : Single Lawyer
Part 10 : Crazy Artist
Part 11 : Badly Politics
Part 12 : Ambitious Boss
Generally, these are ALL cute stories, made to make you smile.

What started as a premise in the previous part, moves on forward, with all the bumps and lumps along the way; as we witness part of the series where everybody's got some scheme. I liked it, it wasn't linear.
It's the synopsis again, it got me confused. Yet, seeing another attempts at writing synopsis, I got even more confused about: why in the world would anyone accept to give their own time and effort in teaching Previous Shows's villain to become a overall better person?!
That's the beauty of this Show.
Of all the shows, this one has most road-signs for us to see, and secrets for us to reveal. It even has the elements of classical lakorn, folks! (hey, but it's toned down and wrapped in cuddly little sets of scenes that would be great for someone who's here for the a first time lakorn watcher, to make baby-steps, to test the waters and see a minuscule part of what a lakorn is)
This is not a lakorn. For sure.
This is something called "innocent co-habitation", then add a bit of playing a game of: who's more ashamed. We get to see our OTP in some genuinely hilarious situations, and it makes this Show stand out. The leads have amazing chemistry, the clash of their personalities is well presented, the romance was one that is growing slowly as out OTP learns that neither side is flawless.
Plus, I already sad: FL was a meanie back in previous part. She doesn't change over-night. It's a process, and during that process, the one trying to do the change is also changing. That's the charm of love, right?
OK, just to mention one thing: no one should get to this extent just to prevent your parents and/or friends from finding out your secret. No matter what, I'd always chose to FIGHT than to hide & lie. Haven't they learned it by now: secrets never (ever!) stay hidden.

Secrets never stay hidden, and time always moves on:
"I used to believe that, if I could fix clocks, I could fix the time that has passed"
Give this one a GO, because it will warm your heart.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My ID is Gangnam Beauty
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Best freaking drama ever. Story on point. Well executed. I love the ost. The love story between Kang Mi Rae and Keong Suk was so adorable, I almost cried.
The characters were not annoying. Unlike most dramas, the damsel in distress did have a tongue and could speak for herself. The drama dealt well with mental health issues and also portrayed well the pressure of looking beautiful by the standards of the society.
It is an amazing drama with extremely cute casting and to those people who didn't like Cha Eun Woo's acting, please take a note that the character was MEANT to be aloof and different.
This drama was such a great watch, I don't understand why one won't like it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?