Completed
The Master's Sun
1 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I never watch horror or scary movies so I passed on this one a few times ..should have watched it sooner! Great storyline,great acting, and im not usually one to watch things for a second time I would watch this.


xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 26/40
Schemes of a Beauty
1 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
26 of 40 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 1.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
OMG it is so irritating to watch this series! I had to drop it! The main leads are so NOT fit for the roles ! The king looks weak and indecisive. The main female lead, her look is so dramatic . She does not look smart to play that role.

The story Line is so poorly written. I just hate it with a passion where misunderstandings arise when people fail to explain The obvious IMPORTANT thing. I don’t understand why the main female lead has to be angry at all he general?! Thing happened that made him misunderstood her, instead of explaining to him she goes “there’s no need for me to explain, you can think of me however you want”!!
And when the maid got raped in her wedding day, no body care to explain to the groom that she got poisoned by the other chick. Also I don’t know understand why They didn’t get married but wait till Concubine Qi suggested.
There are so many damn maids I. The palace and no one bother to watch the kids so they people keep harming them.

All in all...it is just SO IRRITATING to watch this...especially after watching Story of Yanxi Palace!

I just can’t stand main lead faces!!! Both of them are not very attractive. Looks like they got bad plastic surgery or something. Yang mi and Claudia yang are way better looking and acting

Don’t waste your time on this tittle. Watch Story of Yangxi Palace! It is so so so satisfying to watch!!!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My Girlfriend is an Alien
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
28 of 28 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This drama is such a fortune for me because I didn't think I would enjoy this much. The acting is so great, especially the female lead Wan Peng, she acted so well that I was completely immersed in the character. I really love the chemistry between the two main leads and other supporting characters are also really handsome ♥ The plot is awesome, not too much information that you cannot hold, but also not too cringy, it is sweet enough that you can feel the warmth and pain through their smiles.
p/s: I rewatched it three times already but I couldn't hold my heart when I saw Bie's smile uwu

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
I Turn
0 people found this review helpful
by Erin
1 day ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I still have no idea what this show is completely all about. Yakuza.. Ad agency. Family man..? This show definitely has more depth, more personality, and more entertainment than just what the synopsis gives!

A couple of the actors I can honestly say I didn't recognize for a full episode! They blended into their roles so seamlessly it was almost scary how they seemed to have forgotten who they are and their true self just to become a role for a 12 episode show.

This show is a pretty evenly balance show of perfection within the story/script and the cast. A lot of shows with similar storylines or similar all-star cast line-ups (like this show) seem to prioritize one or the other, however, this show seems to have managed the role of story and cast "stardom" levels very well. I mean: the story doesn't take over and drown out an actor/actress's true potential or talents, and the actors/actresses do not overpower the story so all you see is them and you forget the story exists. Does that make sense? Maybe this whole review doesn't make sense, though I hope it does!

It does start off a little slow, but as you continue watching each episode continues to suck you in and you don't realize you're at the last episode until it's all over! If you like yakuza stories (action, fighting, gangs, police, etc..) then this may not be for you; but if you like nonsensical, true to life camaraderie with friends, co-workers, and family, as well as, drama, unusual humor, and a little ridiculousness then this show may be for you! I have to say this story is unlike anything I have ever seen or read, and each actor and actress has definitely fit into their role perfectly; if you are a fan of any person in this cast line up then you should absolutely watch!

I hope this review made sense. Though it all seemed to prioritize and overly praise some actors/actresses and the story, without really giving much away, this show really is a fantastic watch!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Be Melodramatic
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
This is not a formula drama. What I mean by that is that unlike traditional dramas where the story and characters rely on a set formula or trajectory to show them where to go, this drama does it a little different. There are premises, possibilities, seeming drama conventions set up in the beginning, some of which end the way you expect and some of which do not end up where you think they will. The drama itself has been described as slice of life, and while I don’t know if I totally agree with that label as the drama contains a concise journey for each of the characters all of whom change in some way over the course of the story, the style of storytelling has a very slice-of-life feel to it, so I understand why people would think of it that way. The story has an easy, relaxed way about it, which is definitely one of it’s selling points.

Personally, I came to like this drama a lot more than I initially expected, especially after seeing the first couple weeks of episodes. The female leads, with the exception of the single mother, start out…rather unlikable. They’re selfish and difficult and frustrating, and while I definitely empathized with them both and their struggles, I didn’t relate to them at all. But over the course of the drama, I started to appreciate both of these women better. Neither of them changed drastically by the end, although they did both go through a level of growth as people, but I came to understand them better. They’re both still unlikable in their own ways. They both still have personality flaws, but I came to like them because of that, not despite it. On the other hand, the single mother has somewhat of an opposite trajectory. She starts out seemingly sweet and thoughtful and somewhat meek before revealing a more layered view of herself that I can appreciate from a storytelling point of view, but from a viewership standpoint, that left me unsatisfied. I don’t know that this ever made me dislike her as it was intriguing and enjoyable watching her reveal a strong, subtle confidence that lay underneath that surface level demureness, but at the same time, there was this feeling of selfishness in her character that I didn’t like very much.

I was particularly disappointed by how the writers chose to end the potential budding romance between the single mother and her co-worker. In a drama like this, I guess I should have expected as much to happen, but the sting certainly could have been lessened if they hadn’t left me feeling like he had been left with the short end of the stick. Her words to him at the end felt…harsh and unfair and left a bad taste in my mouth.

Overall, I really enjoyed this drama. I’m nothing like these women, and I don’t know that I would ever be friends with women like them in real life, but I came to love all of them, despite and Because of their flaws. They felt like real people with real personalities and real struggles and real hopes and goals and dreams. They felt human, and I appreciated being the chance to glimpse into their world for just a moment.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Raeng Tawan
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 3.5
I watched through this whole so-so drama because I liked the revenge plot but was disappointed that 55% of the show has scenes with the 2nd lead couple, 25% for the main couple, and 20% is fighting/shooting/mystery -solving stuff. I skipped through all the 2nd lead scenes. Scenes with the main couple were not romantic either until the very last episode which contain a hug, a forehead kiss, and one hidden kiss, not sure if it's a real kiss. So if you are looking for romance in this series, you will be very disappointed. No chemistry between the main leads at all.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Wong Wien Hua Jai
0 people found this review helpful
by Risa
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
This Drama was 7.5/10 for me. The plot was good, but it could have been better. The ML and FL chemistry in the Drama was really cute but I feel like when you reach up to episode 8 all the bad things just went down hill for their relationship from the evil sister to the next door neighbor psycho girl. The kidnapping and rape I hated that part in it near and in the end they made fun of him raping her which was a way turnoff hated it. The ending was to plain to my liking. I was so fustrated with the FL ex-boyfriend (who cause everything in the being & needed a serious hair cut, like seriously he looked like a mop ), the evil sister ( she was so annoying), the psycho next door neighbor girl( she was desperate and obsessive over the ML). The ML I understand his love for his sister, but you put all your trust in her and she constantly lied to you and didn't truth one word from your wife. Bow around episode 9 till 11 she was falling for Tos but he only putting his sister first, yes I understand she was sick and everything but still. Chai (tos best friend) he was the best he was soo funny. Overall the Drama is watchable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love and Destiny
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Episode 1-60 was awesome. ????????????????????????????????. After three episodes I was completely invested. I heard someone compare it to the turn on the eternal love a.k.a. 10 miles of peach blossoms but I don’t think it’s remotely similar. Though the atmosphere may seem the same in terms of having the Lords, masters and etc. The vibe is different and the plot appears to be completely different as well. You will get some good laughs with the supporting cast and enjoy their loyalty. Heartfelt moments will come from the least expected cast and that makes it even more appealing. I would say in terms of similarities this one is closer to ashes of love with character content. You’ll get your misunderstandings, revenge, love, longing, loyalty, fight scenes, hilarious characters and more. It can be a little slow at times but the content is well cast and well written so it’s not boring.

When you reach the mid to end of the series you will on the edge of your seat. You’ll also wonder what’s going to happen. Each character offered something to this series and absolutely loved each of them. No long confusion. Just sweetness all around.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Romance is a Bonus Book
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This review may contain spoilers
Like:
- Well directing from Director Lee Jung Hyo, who is acclaimed PD in many dramas
- Screenwriter Jung Hyun Jung wrote exceptional dialogues, some are witty some are poetic. Many beautiful quotes can be retracted from this drama
- Mature love story with grown-up characterizations and relationships
- When the drama introduceds the ML, Cha Eun Ho is described as a "total eye candy" (English sub). Though it's cute, but I am wary that the production exploited Lee Jong Suk's fame and good look as the main pull for the story. I have seen many dramas using one actor/actresses who is good looking as the main draw but then the shows ended up bad. Fortunately this does not happened with this drama. All roles are played well by the respective actors and actresses.
- Actress Lee Na Young was wonderful as Dan Yi who fell into many hardship in love, family, career and personal life and her optimistic attitude and relentless attempt to go back to her feet, initially without Eun Ho's help. A great message for women's self-reliance.
- Actor Lee Jong Suk did a great job acting up the two sides of Cha Eun Ho: calm, wise, cold, refrained in public life and funny, jealous, romantic, caring in personal life.
- ML and FL have a great and natural chemistry during stages of their relationship: starting as best friends of 20 years, to awkwardness during the first stage of romance, finally to real lovers.
- I love the execution of the relationship dynamics between boss and employees and among employees.
- Side stories of other couples are beautiful and are given a good amount of screen times without overwhelm the main love story

Dislike:
- IMO the plot on the mysterious writer is unnecessary. I guess they want to add some mystery/secret/thrill/investigation spice into the show but unfortunately it is not connected to the main story. The revelation of the mysterious writer in the end while the drama is already in anti-climax and viewers already somewhat bored.
- A few episodes to the end the drama loses the steam when Eun Ho and Dan Yi finally get together and Seo Joon and Hae Rin get closer.
- I agree with other reviewers/commenters, what happened to Dan Yi's daughter? Since there are many female viewers definitely a story about a daughter who has to be sent away to the Philippines due to bullying victim at local school demands a story of her own. IMO she's just a filler, better not to have a story of Dan Yi having a daughter.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love and Destiny
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers

Jiu Chen gets what he wants.

Love and Destiny is a drama with a lot of beauty to it. It surpasses all other dramas in terms of aesthetics. The costuming and locations are elaborate; the casting is top notch with some of the best acting a drama can pull off. Sadly as much as I'd like to tell off all the nay-sayers who say Ten miles of Peach Blossoms was better; in truth TMoPB is a better story. Love and Destiny relies heavily on it's main inspiration, setting out to be as great as it's predecessor with all the look and feel but this is not what made Peach Blossoms, Peach Blossoms.

Love and Destiny is more of a character drama than a romance for it focuses entirely on the development of Ling Xi. Every time the drama pulls away to other characters there's nothing new to see. There is a side couple; Yun Feng and Qing Yao, who do develop a satisfying relationship and go through some change. The drama though is not daring enough to focus on these characters to the point of creating new separate, game changing plot lines. It's always playing it safe. It's about Ling Xi and War God's love for her, (Jiu Chen) that's it.

As far as Ling Xi goes; she is an interesting and relatable character. She started off immature and bubbly, went through a hard point and became guarded and in the third phase she's a mix of the two. But as I liked seeing her be more wise to the world around her, I part of me missed her younger bubbliness as it off set her male leads, icy personality. She became aloof and a bit cold. Yes, she had a reason to tell off her enemies and loft her status over them but I missed the Ling Xi that had compassion even for the monsters. I wonder if giving enough screen time, would I like her with War God or are they both too serious now?

Sadly Jiu Chen, while being a major point of interest; is the weakest part of the drama. Jiu Chen is a very immature character despite looking so opposite. Chang Chen took him as far as he could with his acting it was the writers who made him to be this perfect idol. He is proud throughout the story, not once does he change as a character where as Ling Xi did. His character just doesn't hit a low, humbling point and I know this for I didn't find myself empathizing with him. He's always powerful, in charge and controlling. He never lets other characters make decisions for themselves to the point of hurting those around him. His relationship with Ling Xi is not a healthy one; he doesn't communicate and dangerously holds far more power; so when he pursues her to such testosterone driven degrees, it feels border line abusive. The worst aspect is that Ling Xi didn't actually have the option to not chose War God. To call that a mature, strong romance is an insult to mature relationships.

The second lead, Jing Xiu; does undergo what Jiu Chen should have. He loses his power, position and goes to the mortal realm. His character is more interesting, being an equal to Ling Xi and treats her as such. If you like his character, you will not like what happens to him.

I truly want this to be my all time favourite drama but as I give it a hard look; I'm realizing how superficial it actually is and it hurts to say this. Yes the acting is good, yes the characters are attractive but like a babbling brook, Love and Destiny is beautiful but shallow.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Cheese in the Trap
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
I put off watching this drama for over a year because of the negative reviews I’ve been seeing. I honestly wish I didn’t do that because I can now say that this drama is one of the best from Korea. I felt it was honest and realistic in comparison to others. The acting was great. Each character exhibited strengths and weaknesses, making them interesting to watch it on screen. In real life everyone is multi dimensional and this drama portrayed that effectively.

The drama was consistently good despite some cliches. I definitely thought some could be avoided but in the end I did find most characters either relatable to me or someone I know.

I can understand many viewers got second lead syndrome after watching it an a due to that. But this is my take on it. The whole story is basically about how two the main lead has a mysterious side and the female lead grows to accept and love him despite the conflicts. If female lead and second male lead got together, there would be literally no essence to the story. I’m going to refrain from spoilers because I want this review to encourage people to watch it. I hope you aren’t put off by the negative reviews like I was. This drama delves into many deep issues and it not your typical fluffy romance. It will make you think, laugh, cry...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 10/20
Healer
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
10 of 20 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 4.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 1.0

Something isn’t instinctually right about this drama.

I will admit : I’m the oddball because I do not like this drama at all .

To put context - I must also make it clear that I was really excited to watch this show. I thought the genre was rejuvenating and that Healer was going to make for a stimulating watch. I had also previously watched Park Min Young and found her to be a pleasant actress plus this show enjoys nearly perfect ratings on MDL . A stunning overall of 9.2 out of 10 to be specific. Suffice to say - I was quite rapt to watch this drama.

But dear lawd.

For its type - it’s required to be more gripping which it isn’t. What are the intentions of this drama ? They are not clear at all. Is it romantic ? Political ? Fate ?Thriller ? Socially charged?Action ? And if it’s all these : why is it flat ?

The past informing the present wasn’t so satisfactorily done .. It affected the dramatic unfolding of characters in the present and the things they would say as well.The emotional core of the story was also set up to be socially relevant which was quite undermined by the childish direction of the main protagonists.The cartoonish action scenes with that twangy instrumental didn’t make much sense to me . There was so much to work with on a emotive angle which missed the plot. I did however like how warm and vulnerable the protagonists were but in retrospect that was just an accidental good consequence of puerile directing.

The character portraits of the supporting cast could have been more thought provoking and more intentional with the social relevance their were gunning for . That media side of the story line was so powerful and socially provoking and timeless as it’s relavance is quite apt in the 21st century but like I said before - puerile. The whole puppet master that you don’t really see but controls the politicians and corporations was quite intriguing but this show still managed to watch like a Coca Cola that’s been open and all the carbon is gone.

With such powerful themes - powerful character portraits battling ethics and morality is absolutely called for but all the characters proved severely wearisome.

For a while - I knew something wasn’t instinctually right about a certain component of the cast . I thought maybe it was that tenebrous , god forsaken picture they kept prancing around with no resolve. I seriously couldn’t quite put my finger on it until ep 7 and I realised that the main actor is not the most consistent. The way he handled his three personas could have been far better handled with another actor in my view. Especially when you are with the illustrious Lee Moon Shik who is superbly showing all his different personas of greedy business man, brother , husband , killer and loyal servant of the boss.

Ep 7 was a monumental episode for a number of reasons: it proved to me that this show has a really good plot but poor screenplay . It also showed that dramatic tension amongst the whole cast is very weak. I couldn’t carry on . Watching a thriller that’s not thrilling ? No thank you.







Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Before We Get Married
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
This review may contain spoilers
Nothing special. They stretched out the story. Slow paced. Actually the 2nd lead actress is more interesting than the lead shes one tough girl while the lead is obviously a naive one. She doesn't know what she trully likes. She just go to wherever her boyfriend takes her to, she doesnt have a disposition of her own. Shes feisty at on the first 2 to 3 eps after that she just went as meek as a lamb. The male lead was actually not so gorgeous for my taste. The male lead is tough but went soft towards the the end. I love the "authority" look then whenever smiles those dimples kept on showing. So moving on to the ex-gf. I just dont get why she keeps clinging to and how did she suddenly become the EA from housewife. Its not re-watch worthy drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hana Yori Dango
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
9 of 9 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5

Zero plot holes ,succinct and charming

Hana Yori Dango is quite the unblemished retelling of this iconic story .

It’s well acted and seamless that I find next to nothing to reproach .I’m utterly impressed with the succinct nature of this drama . The dramatic consequence made utter sense whilst still maintaining nuance and charisma .Moreover, it was beautifully shot and contains a goodly number of sweet moments and one of the best love declaration scenes I have seen . The last two episodes were simply entrancing and did a lot to bolster my ratings to a perfect 10.

There’s not much more I can add other than that you should definitely give it a watch especially if you are invested in this story and have watched the other adaptations.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
I Hear You
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
I was hooked from the start. Both characters were well developed and lovable. Even though the male lead did the typical COLD face 80% of the time, you could see the fact that he had a sense of humor about himself and others around him. The female lead was also typical in the cute, bubbly type way, but she also had an underlying strength and confidence in herself, even if it was just to admit that she was feeling insecure. There was a bunch of the typical "cliché" moments, but they were handled different in this drama, so they made you smile and think great job. I love that this is a true romance and the show kept the focus where it was needed on the main leads. I love the feel of this drama which is so similar to Love 020, Put Your Head On My Shoulder and Time Teaches Me To Love. They all have a feeling of maturity to the relationships, where they solve most of the problems, by talking it out and being honest. There is a lot of humor and romance in daily life.

The second leads Yu Sheng and Tang Li are the ones that left me with mix feelings and I think it was because the chemistry between these two was off the charts and I was disappointed that Yu Sheng didn't "take it to the end", but as his uncle said that wasn't his personality. I think if Tang Li and Mars had better chemistry, it would have been better, after they went to Italy she actually looked happy, but before then she just looked like she was settling. Plus she did her best with Yu , so I don't think she could have to many regrets.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?