My Mister
2 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I really tried to delay as much as possible writing reviews of shows that I have liked, just because I want the 'high' in me to die down and give them a proper review. It's been months though, and the 'high' in me regarding this show is still there. It's now tied for my all time favorite drama, and this is coming from a 21-year old foreign exchange student who shouldn't be liking melodramas yet. To think that I was even asking then if this show was as good as something in the rain (which actually turned out to be a really average drama), makes me feel pathetic for not realizing sooner. With that, for everyone else who hasn't watched it, I advise you to watch this.

Also, don't read the fucking synopsis or initial plot because it really does a bad way of describing this show. "3 brothers blah blah blah...." how the fuck will that entice viewers? It seriously doesn't do justice.

It should've been "A story about how life will fuck you over continuously, and how you'll realize that some unexpected people are the ones who are actually helping you breath."

Story:
There it is. My first 10. My favorite drama of all time, Goblin, didn't get a 10 for me because even after thinking hard in myself that it should have, some details and parts of the story wasn't properly closed. This show is perfection at its finest though. Just looking at it makes is seem so unfair. You would think to yourself how the hell were amazing scriptwriters and an amazing director dare work on a single production? It's just beauty from start to finish. It's a melodrama, but it will keep your eyes on the screen like a rom-com and make you feel fear and despair like a thriller. The thing that I liked most about this is how they were able to accurately portray the unexplainable reality of life. Nothing will ever go your way if you don't let others in. You'll only grow as a person, if you help others and let them help you. The protagonist was a really poor girl who had nothing but hate and sadness in her because of the rash, unfortunate events she had to go through growing up. In a nutshell, this story is about how her heart warms through the voice of a man who is a sincerely good person by heart, but is just as pitiful as she is in other aspects of life. That story is mixed with other bitter-sweet storylines from supporting characters which all lead to point to one lesson: "You won't always get what you want in life, but it shouldn't make you stop working from achieving it." I won't spoil anything in this review, but this drama is tied (if not better) for the award "Best Ending" in a drama with Tomorrow With You (another melodrama)


Acting:
I hated IU's acting before, but this drama changes it. That's one hell of a jump in terms of acting level. Would honestly not come as a surprise to me if she ends up racking all possible awards for her role in this show, because she nailed it. Everyone else nailed it too, from 'Mister' Park Dong Hoon, to his 2 brothers, to the bar owner, to the douchebag wife and her surprisingly young looking but actually old lover, to Ji An's mother, everyone else seemed so natural and adept at the roles they portrayed. They all showed us complex characters who reflects real life people; they are all unique characters, just like how each person in our world really is unique in their own little way. If I were to pick out my favorite character from this show that excludes the two main leads, I would pick Yoo Ra. Kwon Nara continues to surprise me with her acting. She only had 1 previous show where she had significant screen time and I honestly thought she nailed it. Her acting on this show however was superb because she was able to showcase one of the hardest personalty of a character in this show; a tragic actress who has failed in life, but was able to garner strength once again upon knowing that someone important to her was also at their lowest. She was incredibly cute and strangely precise. Lastly, I believe this is borderline cheating; having a really good script for an already stacked cast only does the show good. Their lines suited their personas so much

Music:
The music was beautiful and accurately represented everything in the show. However, as a musically inclined person, what I'm looking for in an OST is something that I can listen to outside of the show and still feel connected to it, both thinking of the characters of the drama and not thinking of them at all. In a simpler way, both the tune and the lyrics of the songs should be dynamic enough to be able to stand on their own without prior knowledge from the drama, but still make you feel connected to it in every way. Goblin had that kind of OST and although I'm half regretting saying this, the tragically awful Uncontrollably Fond also has that kind of OST. I only felt it, and cried while at it cause the genre and message was bittersweet, at a single song in the OST of this drama and that's Sondia's "Adult". I'm not saying the OST is bad, because it is actually good. I'm just saying that it didn't have a wow factor for me to remember it outside of the show.

Rewatch value:
Hands down, the one and only melodrama that I would probably be happy rewatching. So many quotable scenes, even for such a slow paced show. If I want to be bored to death by the slowness of the pace of a drama, I'm only willing to do it crying and smiling like an idiot to this show alone.

Overall:
Even if you're a rom-com lover (most kdrama fans), a comedic type of person, someone who prefers thrillers, likes a legal setting (i belong in there), or basically someone who doesn't like melodramas, give this show a chance. It will change your perspective in melodramas, and you'll have faith at humanity again. Who knows, you might even start searching for your own mister after watching this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Lily Fever
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
9 of 9 episodes seen
Overall 5.5
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Ok, this story was honestly, confusing as fuck. It ends really openly and it just...werid. I really could get into anything about the plot and there wasn't much character development either. I was excited to finally see a lesbian drama but it just disappointed me. I thought it had so much potential in the beginning but after the first two episodes, it kinda went to shit.
The acting is pretty well done, considering all the kissing scenes the actresses have to do in such a short show. I honestly liked the characters, even though they were really...different... but not in the best way.
I enjoyed the music and I thought the opening was a BOP. The opening had a lot of personality to it and I like music pieces that can practically tell a story on it own.
I probably wouldn´t re-watch this merely considering the fact that I could be spending my time elsewhere instead of seeing this again.
If you are in the mood or are a fan of complete mind-fuck short lesbian dramas, go ahead and watch this. If you want to just watch something to keep you entertained, then this works too. As much as I didn´t like this, I can say that it really kept me intrigued throughout the entire thing. That is really all I have to say about this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Come and Hug Me
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
I'm writing this review right after finishing it. Wet strips of liquid are clouding my eyes and I don't know what it is.

Wow, just wow. This drama is the epitome of character development. Even though the characters went through a tragedy I never understood, the story provided enough depth for me to sympathise with them. After watching the last episode and identifying each character's relationship, even the supporting and reminiscing the first episode and comparing it really blew me away. What I'm trying to say is the character development is top notch. Hence, not only did this drama provide an overwhelming storyline but it's execution was unbelievable.

As you may have read, this story's plot is about the male lead's father murdering the female lead's parents. I may have made that sound simple and mediocre but the antagonist provided a disgusting, meaningless motive. What's worse is his explanation to his motive somehow makes sense and you beat yourself up for understanding him. This point was executed so well to the point everyone involved and everyone who assisted the antagonist when he was locked up made your blood boil even more than the antagonist himself. The romance in this drama doesn't feel absent, but slightly unnecessary. I'm not saying the drama would be better if there was no romance, but it felt like it didn't matter either way. Analysing the two protagonist's relationship, if you told me they were friends, I'd believe you.

This is completely biased and my opinion, but there is something about the drama I don't like. And it's how heavy the plot is. You wouldn't jump to your room, open your laptop and click the next episode with a smile on your face. Instead, your heart will be beating, your mind clouded, hands shaking. The amount of impact of this drama on your emotions is hysterical. I somehow didn't cry a lot watching this drama but there were moments my mother walked in my room and asked why I was crying.

You may argue that the plot was the best part of this drama, but I would protest and say the symbolism of this drama really hit deep. For this drama, there was a hammer, almost like a black cat symbolising death but instead; it symbolised murder. I can and will argue that the character development of the male protagonist was the most heartwrenching. He was intoxicated with his broken family, and his 'unhumane' father. There were parts of the drama that he'd convinced me that his father's blood really was in him; merciless and haunting. His surroundings as a kid influenced him to be murderous, but his surroundings as an adult influenced him to be logical. Considering how many times I've brought up character development, I think that is easily the most surpassing aspect of this drama.

I've seen some comments describing the ending as, 'empty' and 'cliche'. However, in my opinion, the ending was perfect. Even if 31 episodes was pure thriller, the amount of heartwarming in the last episode was worth it, and I think there couldn't be a better way to execute the ending of this wonderful drama.

In conclusion, watch it lol, u won't regret it <3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Mengfei Comes Across
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
33 of 36 episodes seen
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This drama is very light-hearted, unlike most Chinese dramas. I would definitely recommend you to watch it if you want something light-hearted. The romance takes until episode 15 until it actually starts to progress, but the first 15 episodes are some light-hearted fun with Bu Meng and her friends.

The female lead Bu Meng (her name has a funny Chinese meaning to it), has a unique voice. It's not high-pitched like most girls in Chinese dramas, in fact, it's lower than most girls. She minds her own business sometimes and sometimes she's really nosy, but when she gets nosy, she tries to help the people around her out of kindness. The reason she's kind of everyone is because she believes that if you're kind to everyone then in the future when they can help themselves, they'll do whatever they can to pay her back for her kindness but honestly speaking, she's also just naturally kind to others around her. She's clever and funny, and she doesn't like being bullied by others like her who are concubines. She stands up for her friends and other people when she sees them getting bullied.

Not only is the female lead funny and smart, her friends are very diverse and different and what's even better, they're all pretty funny too. Her friends are also her allies: Consort Yan, Imperial Concubine Qu, and Noble Lady Xiao.
- Consort Yan is very intelligent, similar to Tony Stark, she makes things and she's a very supportive friend. She's also kind of like a "fortune-teller." She's also called the "cursed consort" but I'll let you watch it to find out why.
- Imperial Concubine Qu is a big eater, and she's super immature, but she's really cute, and sometimes she can be quite dumb. She also really wants the emperor's favor, but she's never been pampered by the emperor. He kind of ignores her existence; however, with that being said, it doesn't mean that Concubine Qu and Bu Meng have any of those cliche Chinese drama problems where two girls want one guy and the girl who isn't the main character tries to ruin the main girl to get the guy. In fact, they have a REALLY good relationship, almost like sisters. It's just that Concubine Qu believes she really wants to be pampered by the emperor, but it's not a problem.
- Noble Lady Xiao is the daughter of the general, so she's very skilled in martial arts and she's not someone to be messed with.

The main guy in the drama is the emperor, obviously. He doesn't have a name though. Throughout the whole drama, everyone has called him "your majesty," so I literally have no idea what his name is. The thing I do know about the emperor is that he's good-looking and he acts well for a "petty" and "immature" emperor (around Bu Meng) who makes life hard for Bu Meng because he likes her. He's not that bad though because he genuinely wants her to be happy and he always sends her stuff, which is really cute. He actually doesn't seem so petty and immature when it comes to his country, but the drama doesn't focus on how he is emperor, but more on the romance between Bu Meng and the emperor and the emperor's harem. The romance in the drama is also pretty light-hearted and in general, this drama is made to be light-hearted, again.

I definitely recommend watching this drama if you are looking for something to have a laugh and enjoy a light-hearted drama. The bad news is that there are only a few episodes that have been subbed, so for those who don't understand Mandarin, you won't be able to understand; however, I still encourage people to watch it and I hope that more subs will be out soon so everyone can enjoy it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Miss Hammurabi
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Let me give you a heads up. This was a review of a person who is a fan of Go Ara and L. For me this series was somehow a dream come true. If I would sound bias in my review so be it.

STORY/PLOT:
It was mentioned in this series that the best selling stories are those stories which came from the heart. Multiple stories were being shown in this series since the setting was in a trial court and those stories will surely crumple your heart because of its depth and genuineness. The story was wonderfully told and amazingly executed. I keep on repeating in every review I made that a series or a film can be considered as a good film once it was able to serve it's purpose and for me this series undeniably showed how important the lessons that we can get from a film was. This series depicts the realities of life in Korea. There are some breathtaking scenes which will make your heart stops from beating for almost 5 minutes. Honestly this film gave a rollercoaster of emotions to me. Episode 1 made me laugh like there's no tomorrow but my tears won't stop from falling after watching Episodes 2 and so on but here's the catch I end up smiling after watching all 16 Episodes. Wonderful stories! That's what this series brings.

CASTS/ACTING:
As an opening statement I've already disclosed that I'm a fan of both leads so let me express my enthusiasm about them. Ladies first, my dear Go Ara! I've seen most of her films and series and I became so used to her. You guys don't know how many times I pushed the pause button just to observe her beauty and her hazel eyes, they're not human... Huhuhu. She did well in this film though I understand how awkward it would be for her to have a younger leading man so you can't really expect some serious public display of affection in this series. For me she was simply amazing. Next, Kim Myung Soo or most popularly known as L. What I love about him in this series was his Charm. He was so cute that everytime he smiles I love to poke the hole in his cheeks...Grrrr. He played a somehow serious role in this series so his acting skills was forgivable. But you know what? I don't know that you can still be cute while crying and this guy was really cute, so cute that even though tears where running out from his eyes still he looks cute. The man who played the second lead, L 's bestfriend here, undeniably his acting skills showed that years of experience would surely made you a better actor. He was a veteran in terms of acting same as with the man who played the role of Presiding Judge Han. Elijah, the woman who played as Do Yeon, she was stunningly beautiful. Though she's new to acting she was able to act wonderfully. She's really beautiful. I think I don't need to praise the the guy who played the role of Presiding Judge Han because as what I have said he was already a veteran in terms of acting.

MUSIC:
Great choice of music. Don't You know that everytime a good scene was shown on the screen and then the English background music kicks in I keep on saying
"WAAAAA!" and if I were an Ice cream I guess I'm already melting, lying on the floor. Grrrr... I really love those scenes which was accompanied by background music. I happen to observe that New Korean series are starting to use English background music nowadays just like on the series Something In The Rain. :-)

REWATCH VALUE:
Na, if this was just a movie I would already watched it a hundred times...chaarrrr. Bit since it was a series I can't rest watch the whole series over again but what I'm doing was.....re watching those scenes which I live the most. Especially the scenes where they kissed each other. Though that was just an ordinary kiss the music made it so romantic.

OVERALL:
IT WAS AN AMAZING SERIES!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Destiny of White Snake
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
60 of 60 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
First off its really refreshing compared to all the other previous makes. The white snake in here is naive while xu xuan(her husband) is the smarter one.
Also fa hai(the monk) is nice in here he wasn’t just an evil guy trying to exterminate everyone.

The acting from all characters surprised me since it’s my first time watching any of them act, and they did a pretty good job. There wasn’t any overly dramatic acting or plot.

The cgi is pretty good and xiao bai in the snake form is just too cuteeeeee!

The music is decent mostly the opening I liked it a lot.

What I didn’t like was just how the black dragon kept trying to harm xiao bai the whole time and I’m just like seriously she’s saved you... like he’s suppose to be smart since he got the dragon king’s son to listen to him but no he mistakes everyone else for his savior.

So if you like a naive but strong female lead, smart but caring male lead, and cute supporting characters that are loyal to the people they care then yeah you should watch this show. Overall 10/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Come and Hug Me
10 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
What A Masterpiece!!!!!!!
One of the best drama in 2018!
———————————
This drama is flawless for me. Everything about this drama is soooo amazing. This drama makes me cry everytime i watch it. Big love for All the cast, You guys soooooooo amazing, Especially for Jang Ki Yong, Jin Ki Joo, Nam Da Reum and Ryu Han Bi??. And Thankyou for the screenwriter-nim, you’ve made a masterpiece, the plot is really lit???????? . And once again, Thankyou for all of you guys who mixed up with this drama, you guys soo amazing!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Come and Hug Me
14 people found this review helpful
by 3GGG
2 days ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
PLOT: Masterful
--------------------------------------------------------------
This series is among the best of the best. It is one of those rare shows where every episode matters. The plot was never left hanging in order to extend the series. Instead, every single scene was developed in service of the narrative.

The transitions from tension-filled scenes to sweeter ones was flawless. It made watching the series easy and enjoyable. The narrative was also organic, with nothing feeling forced or out of place.

Overall, prepare yourself. This drama will demand your complete attention, push you to the edge of your seat, steal your breath away and have you rooting for more than just the main leads.

MAIN CHARACTERS: Memorable
--------------------------------------------------------------
The main leads were remarkably three dimensional. They were given as many strengths as weaknesses and every single one made sense. The development of the characters was consistent and coherent. Every action had a lasting consequence, and every instinctive reaction demanded a hefty price.

Yoon Na Moo (male lead, aka Chae Do Jin): His complex character was handled masterfully. He was presented as a sympathetic and strong figure, but realistically so. The best way I could describe him is with the saying, "courage is not the absence of fear, but the ability to act in spite of it." Throughout the short series, this character struggled with his inner fears but accepted his vulnerabilities rather than hide them. He was strong precisely because he was afraid... but he didn't let that fear rule him.

Gil Nak Won (female lead, aka Han Jae Yi): Despite her tragic backstory, she was well written and very well portrayed. She's strong, not because she got over her past, but because she's able to face her present while accepting what happened. Her strength is quiet and subtle; allowing her actions to show her defiance rather than voice them loudly. She's also very nurturing towards Na Moo and I love that she never once runs from her problems, but faces them head-on. Because of the nature of the story, Na Moo's side of the story was more intense, but she is without a doubt one of the strongest female leads I've seen in Kdramas so far.

ANTAGONIST: Imposingly petrifying
--------------------------------------------------------------
Yoon Hui Jae (ML's father): Heon Joon Ho deserves an award for his performance. Every time he stepped into a scene, he dominated and filled it with almost palpable tension. He cast a terrifying shadow over every character, continually reminding you that he was a prowling beast ready to strike. Forget Hollywood "horror" movies and "frightful" tv shows. From now on, Yoon Hui Jae is my new standard for blood-curdling terror.

SUPPORT CHARACTERS: Relatable & complex
--------------------------------------------------------------
Though this series has an amazing cast of characters that bring something of importance to the table, I'll focus on the top three characters that merit a special recognition...

Chae Ok Hee (ML's adoptive mother): Talk about a character caught between a sword and a hard place. Her performance was absolutely brilliant and her character was probably the most relatable. Ok Hee is going to go down as the definition of a strong mother. She's a testament that water can be thicker than blood and, when push comes to shove, any mother will pull her claws out to protect her children.

Yoon Hyun Moo (ML's brother): Kim Kyung Nam deserves an award for his superb performance. Alongside Hui Jae, he stole the show for me. He had some of the most powerful scenes and the strength he displayed was of a different kind than usual. He was a sacrificial character (a spot almost always reserved for the female lead) but with a strong purpose. He loves, selflessly and fully, without expecting anything from anyone in return. I found myself hurting alongside him and rooting for him throughout most of the show.

Gil Moo Won (FL's brother): Another character that stood out with his complexity and excellent portrayal. We were given his backstory in small doses until the picture was completed. This was a character that lingered in his pain but who was strong enough to accept and ask for help when things got tough. He understood and empathized with Hyun Moo because they were both shades of grey, which gave them an undeniable bond. The fact that he plays off of Hyun Moo so well, made me wish they could've shared more screentime together.

PORTRAYAL OF ROMANCE: Sweet & nurturing
--------------------------------------------------------------
The relationship between Na Moo and Nak Won was exceptionally balanced. It was an exchange of giving and taking; of want and need. They were loving, sweet and nurturing towards one another. They were also both hurting and, rather than taking the easy way out by keeping away from each other, they actively decided to pave a path out together. The quote: "You lean on me, I'll lean on you and we'll be okay" is enough to describe this beautiful relationship.

Here are some of the highlights:
1) They each have moments where one of them is vulnerable and the other strong; so it never feels one-sided.
2) There are no misunderstandings because they communicate with each other in a very honest and straightforward way.
3) The chemistry between them makes their relationship feel natural together. You can tell how much they care for each other with every stolen glance, soft smile and lingering touch.

HORROR FACTOR: Off the chart.
--------------------------------------------------------------
You better be prepared to hold your breath and curl your toes whenever Yoon Hui Jae steps into the scene, is all I'm saying.

OVERALL: This is a masterpiece.
--------------------------------------------------------------
The art direction is Hollywood quality (I'd say it even surpasses it). The framing, colors and lighting enhance the message communicated. So if you know what you're looking for, you'll be amazed at the attention to detail.

The music has also been carefully selected, used to amplify a feeling rather than distract. The ambient sounds help enhance the atmosphere, drawing you into the scene and forcing you to live it alongside the character.

Add to that the interesting story, superb characters and amazing acting you'll get a series that you'll not soon forget. Re-watch value for this is also quite high.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Come and Hug Me
2 people found this review helpful
by Nabi
2 days ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Amazing acting of all the main actors. Special mention for Nam Da Reum and Jang ki yong.Both delivered outstanding performance.


As a antagonist Heo Joon Ho performance as a serial killer was disgusting and fearful.The storyline was different from other kdramas. The romance between the two leads was good.The mother and her sons relationship also depicted beautifully.

Some scenes are too cruel. But to show the seriousness of the antagonist it was needed.
Those who are looking for dark,crime and romantic dramas can watch this and it is worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Wok of Love
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
38 of 38 episodes seen
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 1.5
Chef's love story
Story about three people .From starting they are stranger to each other but one tragedy of their life bring them together at one place that is hungry wok .From there the story start of chef ,his love and fellow man .
A small love triangle but it is take in a way that it will not feel bad for the one who not get love because writer make entery of new character for him but their story not even start and writer leave it or stop it in the middle of the drama ,there is no story of them further.
Writer bring the concept of talkative horse which was good but they didn't use this concept much and leve that concept in the few starting episodes of the drama .
I thought chef and his love's ex spouse wouldbe sad to see them living happily
And regret to live them because they life was imbalance after living them but nothing happened like that .
As a story start with their unsuccessful marriage life so I hope that story wold get over with their wedding but nothing happen like that. But I like the ending concept of fortune cooking ,still after watch ending episose I didn't realised that drama get over,it seems to be incomplete drama ..Something is missing.
Some part of the drama I like that talkative horse concept ,then mr chef pure love story ..They look cute together. Their chemistry amazing .Her dialogue delivery make her so cute.Feeling song is good .
But still it seems to be incomplete story

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sweet Dreams
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
27 of 48 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I really like this drama, although there may be some parts where you wanna facepalm there are also many times where you wanna hug the characters. It started out a little different then I expected and a bit childish but as I watched a little farther it matured more and got even more interesting. I suggest watching it (: I give 10/10 for everything as I feel it does deserve it and even if you don't like some parts of it you'll end up liking other parts and its still really good and so you'll find yourself loving it.
Was this review helpful to you?
To.Jenny
0 people found this review helpful
by J100
2 days ago
2 of 2 episodes seen
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
The first episode was promising. the title drew me to watch , it was little different.
After i began to watch i fall in love with the actor (remind me a little of Cha Tae-hyun vibe and overall the movie "my sassy girl") and even if the music is not my cup of tea It was cute
The actress..not so much, she is pretty so" i forgive" her bad acting and lack of charm
even if the plot is not unique and even a qliche, i had hope
But episode 2 Highlighted more and more her bad acting and singing.and the plot worsen .that was hard to hear and watch from the middle. the ending was truly bad.
it was another typical cliche drama and it's a shame because the actor is charming he is not just a nother pretty face lead actor as we see in other Kdrama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Criminal Minds
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
20 of 20 episodes seen
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
After seeing a lot of mixed reviews - some calling the show a fail, some praising it to high heavens - I was very conflicted about watching it, especially because I love the US original and one of the main Korean cast members Lee JoonGi. However, in the end, I decided to see what's the deal myself and even though I was prepared for the worse, I was actually not disappointed. Were there flaws? Yes. Was this still a good show? Yes.
I have divided my review into 6 sections looking at the similarities between the original and the remake, the characters, the influence of Korean society on how this kind of story is re-told, cast and OST, finish off with an overall summary.
I hope this will help with understanding why this drama is built the way it is and do you want to watch it yourself or not.

1) Why the Korean remake can't deliver the same things the US original does?

When comparing to the US original, we do have to remember that there completely different norms of what is okay in what environment in Korea, what is taboo and what can be broadcasted or discussed. Lately these borders are getting broader, however, there are still limits.
Explicit violence, extremely gruesome scenes etc. are not okay. In many cases even larger amounts of blood are censored, so are knives and other kinds of blades. The relations in the work environment are different too. Strictly hierarchical structure depending on age, status and years spent in a certain place. Also, the way how people dress and act is dictated by these norms. Similarly, the understanding of the general audience when it comes to mental illnesses and crimes committed because of them.
All mentioned above has a huge influence on the characters (described in point 2) and thus influencing the whole plot and the story. If we compare the original and the remake, simply because of the specifics of society in each of them we cannot expect the same result. For fans of the original, this might be a disappointing factor, however, this show should be viewed not only as a remake but also as its own thing.

2) Characters and their similarities

Some of the main cast characters are molded after the liking of the original, but I must admit they are lacking in the sharpness of originals. The following is a comparison of the characters in both and things missing in the remake, which might be one of the disappointments.

-The role of media specialist JJ in the remake is given to Yoo MinYoung (played by LeeSunBin). The character lack sharpness and determination JJ possessed. It's still a compassionate and brave character when needed, but it didn't feel complete.
-IT wizard Penelope has become Nana (Played by YooSun). The original is very quirky and a very definite odd-ball. As mentioned in 1), there are certain norms that prevent this character to express the same qualities. She can't have colored hear or ridiculous outfits, even though she wears colors brighter than others. She can't have excessive make-up or a whole arsenal of weirdness around her. The social norms of the setting dictated differences in this character.
-Genius Dr.Spencer Reid (who is my favorite in the original series) here has become Lee Han (played by Go Yoon). Even though in the first episodes his higher intellect is mentioned as is his knowledge, it is not utilized as Reid's in the original. Throughout the whole show, his brain power appears very little and is a lost plot point that could have been very useful and interesting. The quirks the original character had have disappeared as well.
-The leaders - Gideon, Hotchner and Rossi have all melted into Kang KiHyung (Played by Son HyunJoo). The character is a good mix of all three but perhaps lacks some depth. From the list, this would be the best match to the original.
-Others I could not pinpoint exactly, as even if they were meant to be doubles of the main original cast, their similarities were very vague or not there at all.

3) Plot - what's good and what's lacking?

My biggest positive is that unlike other k-dramas this does not try to push any romance between the main cast. Before such great dramas like IRIS and Athena of a similar genre have gone pretty downhill exactly because of the romance and emotions. So big plus for that.
The cases explored are interesting and captivating, some being similar to the ones solved in the original series but with a Korean twist in all of them. Sadly, the way how each case is divided into episodes might be the biggest turn-off. Most of them start mid-way one episode and ends mid-way the next one, messing with the viewer a bit. That could be a reason why watching can get tiring.
The two cases that were still active throughout the whole series was an interesting point. However, one was ended a bit too quickly and the other was not represented enough during the mid part of the show.
During the whole series, we find out very little about the investigator team. In the original, we get to know bits and pieces about the team through many seasons, so perhaps one season is not enough to explore it. We do get a chance to know in depth about Kim HyunJoon (played by Lee JoonGi), a glimpse of Kang KiHyung (Played by Son HyunJoo) and just a bit of other, leaving a lot of holes that are just random mentions or filler shots that are never explained.
The team is shown bonding several times through very Korean activities like outings in the park, drinking and others. However, that might seem not enough. As mentioned before the lack of so-called chemistry between characters might be written off on the fact there was not enough time in one season.
The original often delivered at least a small dose of humor even though the show is very serious and dark as well as many heartwarming scenes. Here the humor is, unfortunately, no existent which makes it a bit too serious and a bit too dry at times.

4) Cast - was there a problem?

First of all, the actors playing the criminals need a round of applause. All of them were brilliant and engaging, believable and captivating, which is a BIG plus in the series.
Secondly, two standouts in the main cast for me are Son HyunJoo and Lee JoonGi. I believe we could see more of their acting and appreciate their skill, their art because they play the two characters we find out the most about. This allowed them to stand a bit higher in the acting rating and drag the average of this section up.
However, I would not entirely blame the cast for some lackluster moments, but rather think about the directing and the script they had. Perhaps with a different approach, they would be able to shine too.

5) OST

OST is one of the best things about this drama. Two solid vocal tracks and suspenseful instrumentals matching the genre perfectly. I just wish there were more tracks for different vibes.

6) Overall thoughts

Even though in comparison to the original I can find a lot of flaws, I still enjoyed the show. I found it interesting, suspenseful and good for a remake of legendary investigation series.
Would I like a season 2 with improvements and to perhaps know more about the rest of the characters in this version? Definitely. Can I live without it? I can.
I would recommend watching it with an open mind and just enjoy a bit different investigation show coming from Korea.

P.S those who might watch this for Lee JoonGi, you are not LJG trash if you enjoy it, as there are no "main" characters here and he is not the constant center. So no worries. ;)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Make It Right 2: The Series
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
(HEART)

I know this may sound crazy to some of the people who have watched both seasons because I've seen some of the reviews of season 2 and most of them weren't that positive but I think I liked this season slightly better. Judge me all you want but I think I've become too attached to the characters not to include this series one my favorites list. It does have its flaws but it's such a nice show to watch! Can't I give it 10 stars because it's fun and cute?
This review will be detailed and extremely long so if you don't feel like reading it then all you need to know is: JUST GO WATH THIS SEASON BEFORE JUMPING INTO CONCLUSIONS BECAUSE NOT EVERYONE WILL HAVE THE SAME OPINION (This is not an aggressive tone, by the way. It's just meant to pop out hahaha I'm sorry if it scared you!). Some of the reviews were pretty harsh and if I had them prevent me from watching this season then I wouldn't have fallen in love (even more) with the characters and the cast! So I encourage you to watch it and judge it by yourself ^^

Okay, now, the review.

STORY: The plot was somewhat frustrating when it came to the main couples, Tee & Fuse and Frame & Book. They both had an interesting story going on but who wasn't as well developed as it could have been, in my opinion. On the other hand, I saw some improvement in the secondary couples! My favorite was Mo & You. Such a cute couple! Their story warmed my heart because it was light and innocent and we weren't expecting it, were we? In the previous season I didn't really like Yok that much (I will talk about that in a second) and because of this couple thing I was finally able to understand and love him. I have to say Wit and Yok's mom's relationship was strange? I don't know, I guess it was too weird for me. I preferred Lily because their interactions were great. Nine & Rodtang were less exciting this time, maybe because Nine became too whipped for Rodtang? haha I don't know, they could have done a better job with them. I personally didn't understand the storyline involving Fuse's sister; once again, it was kind of useless. But while these "useless" plot lines bothered me in the last season, this time I actually enjoyed them a little bit more.

CHARACTER'S, CAST AND ACTING: I fell in love with the cast. They're all handsome, young and talented. They improved a lot from season 1. The kisses were still awkward, specially between Tee and Fuse. I do think the best "intimate" moments were between Book and Frame and that's all thanks to Ohm (Frame), who seemed very comfortable with kissing Toey's cheek and hugging him and all that jazz. Frame is hands down one of my biggest bl characters crushes. So sweet, so understanding, so fbhvrhgjvbjvb. He made me giggle and smile throughout the whole series. Book on the other hand... I just didn't love him that much in this season. Of course he went through a lot but it didn't feel like he was struggling that much because of what happened to him; it felt like he was just being grumpy. I think Toey could have done a better job portraying the character. It felt as if Ohm was carrying the couple (and the whole show sometimes) despise not being the most experienced actor. Peak and Tee are good actors but sometimes it was a little TOO much: Peak/Fuse gave that whipped smile way too much, Tee/Boom was too calm when he could have been, you know, less calm, their kisses were way too awkward. I did like them and I'm crazy about the actors (they're so cute!!) but season 1 was a better season for them. Fuse frustrated me and I have to admit I started shipping Tee and Sid! Sid was such a sweet person and was so well portrayed! Lukmo and Yok were SO GOOD! Not perfect but definitely the biggest surprise for me. Lily... I LIKED LILY SO MUCH. I wish they had developed her story with Wit more. The antagonists were pretty good as well. Nine and Rodtang... ahhhh they were kind of forgettable, even if they were very cute together.

MUSIC: I liked every single song in this season. Every. Single. Song. It's definitely worth the 10 stars for me!

REWATCH VALUE: I would 100% rewatch this show. Both seasons.

OVERALL: While this might not be the best drama out there, it owned my heart and I have accepted it. I am in love with the actors (slightly obsessed) and I'm just so happy they're my age! I follow them on social media (: This show was based on fan service but it was more than that, at least to me. I'm happy I decided to watch it!













Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Unexpected
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
23 of 23 episodes seen
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Took a day to finish the drama. It was pretty good, like if you had nothing to do for a day and want to watch something this is recommended. The drama is pretty cute and the same time serious. Couples in it were compatible and had chemistry.

Story: The story was definitely planned with details and had me interested every episode. I get why people say it’s similar to W but the story is more lighter and isn’t as melodramatic as it. Also the drama is geered towards friendship as well as romance.

Acting/Cast: The cast were all pretty good looking and the acting was decent. So not very perfect but definitely not cringey. The males in the cast were handsome and some looked even better with time. The main couple were very sweet but natural in their romance so there wasn’t any yucky feeling about it.

Music: It wasn’t annoying and was light/flowly. Basically a sweet voice singing a somewhat sad song is the best way I can describe it.

Rewatch Value: I would definitely rewatch as a light drama with some crying.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?