Come and Hug Me
2 people found this review helpful
20 hours ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
The story started off well and it had a very good potential to be one of the best dramas this year, but the slow pace is what upsets me. I can't call it is ruined, but I was anticipating more.
It is not a slow burner. Normally, I am ok with this kind of pacing. But here is the pace is really slow of the kind that the actors take five minuets looking at each other without a word and the antagonist takes scenes and scenes before he could strike, not to mention some plot holes and some stupid acts by the police. In the last episodes, the pace lift up and the episodes became more intense, which made the rating process kinda perplexing for me.
Acting-wise, the child actors did a better job than the adult ones. Nam Da Reum and Ryu Han Bi really impressed me. Heo Joon Ho (father) managed to make me cringe every time he is on screen. For the protagonists, Jang Ki Yong (Na Moo) was really good in the dramatic and when-he-is-angry scenes, but failed -unfortunatley- is the romantic moments, which was a big let down as I had seen him in Go Back Couple and made me develop second lead syndrome. ?His looks to Nak Won felt mannered and artificial, trying hard to look endearing and fluffy. Other than that he did a good job especially in the aforementioned scenes.
For Jin Ki Joo (Nak Won), I hope there was another actress instead. I won't lie, I skipped a lot of her (romantic) scenes.
Seo Jung Yeon (mother) overacted while acting angry but she was ok on the overall level. Kim Seo Hyung's (reporter) character was very annoying and was depicted evil for a reporter.
Music was soothing and lovable.
Overall, it wasn't a bad journey, but it could be much more better if it was shorter. I don't regret my time, but I don't think I'll be able to watch it again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Handsome Guy and Jung Eum
2 people found this review helpful
21 hours ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 5.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
This drama is so Skiptastic! In the beginning I was so excited by the possibilities, but by the end I pretty much forced myself to finish. How do you mess up a romcom with two popular leads? Bore the audience with a completely scattered and uninteresting plot! Instead of being called the "Undateables" it should be called the "Unwatchables".

Let's start with the main couple, handsome Hoon Nam and Jung Eum. I'm used to having mixed feelings about Hwang Jung Eum's performance, but I thought matching her in a romcom with Nam Goong Min would be awesome! I was a fan of Can You Hear My Heart , so it's nice to see these two reunited as co-leads. I will admit that Goong Min hasn't been the romantic lead in a drama that has impressed me yet, I prefer his darker side, so maybe this isn't all Jung Eum's fault. Either way, their chemistry started off great, building up to romance pretty quickly, but then their story became incredibly boring. She would get hurt and stare blankly into space. He would do his weird smile to charm her into taking him back. Then insert flashbacks, silly side characters, and obnoxious product placements, and that is literally the whole show.

There is one saving grace for this whole drama and that is Choi Tae Joon as Jun Soo. He deserved his own spin-off show, he was so good! He definitely justifies second lead syndrome. His character was the only character I really cared about at all.

The rest of the cast is mostly silly, annoying, cliché, and unnecessary. Besides Jung Eum's dad, and maybe her supervisor, I was completely uninterested in their stories. You know it's bad when seeing what the supervisor would wear with that ugly jacket started to become the highlight of the show. The couples looking for love had such superficial stories that insulted my intelligence more than it made me laugh. Maybe I don't get Korean humor sometimes, but some of the moments that were supposed to be funny felt too corny, and even sometimes mean. The coach/best friend and cousin, had way too much screen time (The Coach was also the worst friend). Susie and Jun Soo didn't have enough screentime together (I was hoping they would distract me from the boring lead couple, but their story went nowhere)

I would talk more about what went wrong with this plot, but it was so forgettable, I have a hard time remembering everything I hated.

The soundtrack is pretty cute, but every time I heard "Slowly, Slowly..." I was reminded of how much of my time was being wasted by stubbornly watching this drama until the end.

So was watching the end worth it? NO! They basically forced a bunch of the characters together for a random event, and tried to give some characters "closure", but it's hard to have a clean ending to a drama that is such a random mess. Would I watch this again? Bahahahahahaaa! No Thanks. I'll pass.

Obviously I would not recommend this one. Some of you will watch it anyway, but heed my warning. I went from not being able to wait for the next episode to not caring that it was finally over. If I skipped the last 8-10 episodes I would have missed nothing important. Yes, It's THAT boring.

But if you really like commercials, watch all the inventive product placement moments, which made me laugh the most... like that app, which I clearly need to download. Sigh... I gotta learn how to drop dramas more often!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
1 day ago
2 of 9 episodes seen
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
So people are saying this is dark drama when really it is not...... So our girl (on the day she was going to kill herself) is "kidnapped" by a guy in a mask...... but is it kidnapping or rescuing when that girl gets beat by her parents and raped by her pervy teacher at school? I will let you be the judge but this is really something for sure. Seems to be based off a manga so I am not clear on how the story will go but from just the first two episodes I find it strangely cute and very heart warming to say the least.
If you are on the fence because of the description then please take a look and give it a chance .i think he didnt kidnapped if we take a look on otherside he actually rescued her ffrom her filthy fucking life now she is happy with him who he is protecting her,giving her happiness not doing anything wrong until. if she can find her happiness with him wats wrong than ?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Come and Hug Me
0 people found this review helpful
by Kaab
1 day ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I've seen many dramas in my life including Korean, Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, English, Turkish, Philippines, Taiwanese... Mose have not been added into my watch-list. 2018 is a same as 2017/16.... Most of the dramas are great and most of the dramas as by far greater but so underrated!! This year (2018) I've waited for good dramas but couldn't find one and then at last I found "Something in the Rain" I was so excited to watch that drama until the end. But when it ended I thought how i would pass my time now and then "Come and Hug Me" appeared I didn't gave it much thought cause I was seeking my dose of KDrama!!! and I did see the first episode..
You wouldn't believe that many dramas don't have a better start or they may have a better start by their story keeps getting lag in the middle or they don't have a better ending. This drama was by far one of the best drama of 2018. The start the middle and the ending everything was much good and in an organized manner.
Story is something to be in love and will make your heart flutter and you may even cry sometimes.
Many people watch because of their favorite idols. This would be case with this drama. But this was my first time watching the main young leads and two main drama leads. Both at young age actors and at mature age actors literally nailed it. I would give it 100/10. Cause they deserve it by far greater than that.
and OMG the music!! They didn't have the catchy OST but every time the sad scene comes and when that music turns on. You will cry out your heart. That starting drama music ending drama music killed it nailed it whatever you would say. For me that was awesome.
I gave it 9.5 cause there should have been two more episode where they should have shown us the life of Na Moo's family, (his brother/ his sister). That was the case missing but I was satisfied cause if they had it then should have been complicated.
9.5/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Cunning Single Lady
1 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
Cunning Single Lady is one of those dramas that you need to sit down and watch it continuously without the distraction of other dramas because you won't remember to finish it if you do. I liked Cunning Single Lady, I did, but to me, it doesn't compare to Go Back Couple, which had a similar plot minus the time travel. Maybe it's because I saw Go Back Couple first, but I think Go Back Couple had a better balance and incorporation of comedy than Cunning Single Lady. Go Dok Jae literally had me snorting my drink out of my nose because he was just so entertaining. There weren't too many roll-on-the-floor laughing moments in Cunning Single Lady, which meant that the plot stayed on the more dramatic side rather than light. Also, in Go Back Couple, we really got to know more than just the main characters which was nice because we had a very good picture of the whole story. In Cunning Single Lady, I felt like any parents could kind of stand in for their parents and we wouldn't really notice the difference.
Also, even if the main leads of Cunning Single Lady had a nice story, the second leads (the 2 siblings) had a turn in character toward the end of the drama (literally the last 3 episode) that saddened me as the viewer. Even though they weren't "evil" in the end, it bothers me that the writers took their characters in that direction; it wasn't only cliched, it was also simply unnecessary and unrealistic. It felt like a cop out to me. In regards to the ending, it was happy, but I feel like the ending was rushed - literally the credits started to roll and I was like, "oh. I didn't realize that was the end end. Mkay." It wasn't a rushed ending that negatively impacted the drama, but I think they could have taken out the drama of the siblings and wrote a better paced last 2 episodes.
The music wasn't bad, it just went unnoticed most of the time. Some of the songs were good (though, not good enough for me to re-listen to), others were unremarkable.
The acting for the entire cast was good, but I didn't develop any intense need to watch another actor/actress in a new drama after this. Although, Joo Sang Wook is very handsome and he was enjoyable to watch. Haha. I wonder if he is that goofy/awkward in real life or if that was strictly written for his character. :D
Anyway, overall, this was an enjoyable drama, but I don't think I would watch it again nor pull up specific scenes to rewatch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sweet Dreams
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
32 of 48 episodes seen
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is such a cute drama! I really enjoyed it~

So first of all the cast. I don't know many chinese actors, but I will surely watch more of the ones who portrait this drama. The main characters aren't just really good looking, but also good at acting.
The character of Bo Hai sometimes seems a bit confusing, but he just has many unsolved childhood problems and is insecure. Ling Lingqi is a really good choice of charavter, as she has a sweet personality. She is naive but stubborn, so she really tries the help the ones she loves unconditionally.
The friendship of three of the main characters is also really great. They stay with each other even in hard times. But there are even in this friendship some interesting secrets to make the story exciting!
The story at first seems a bit flat. Ling Lingqi likes her idol so much that she tries to work for him. And a miracle happens, she is allowed to. Not only that, but she discovers a way to meet him even in his actual dreams. Interesting, a bit weird, but really fits in the theme of this drama, of a dream like romances... But there are not only the good ones, there can be nightmares.. everyone has them!
I would really recommend to watch this and see how the story starts changing it's directions and more secrets get revealed. And the connection between seemingly unconnected characters...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love Me If You Dare
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
24 of 24 episodes seen
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is coming from someone who rarely finishes dramas and if she does, it's bc something abt it hooked her and made her wanna stay. Most of the time, she just quit watching whenever she feels like it.

Ps. This review is long. Sorry.

--
I watched this drama while having dinner 2 days ago without giving it much thought bc I just saw it on yt, little did i know I was in for a pleasant surprise!

This drama has it all: crime, thriller, suspense, romance and comic reliefs! The past few months, I've been watching lots of dramas and I always find myself fast forwarding a lot of scenes just bc they're very unnecessary and boring BUT for this one, I can confidently say that I NEVER skipped a second of it....until the very last few eps.

The good:
- WALLACE mf HUO!!! I never gush about someone's looks but THIS MAN IS TOO HANDSOME. I squeal a little bit inside (okay maybe out loud a couple of times) whenever he comes on screen. His performance was also very outstanding and consistent throughout the drama! Such a great actor!
- THE CHEMISTRY!!! Wallace and Sandra's chemistry was ON FIRE! It was innocent yet intense at the same time! I've seen some who said this had a "little bit" of romance but noooo!! This drama literally revolved around their romance. It may not be through lots of cuddling and intense kisses but their love was there and it was SIZZLING. Their progression was perfect for me. I loved their dynamic so much! If u want a bit of possessive and lowkey intense romance, this is for you! I've been into obsessive dramas lately and this definitely tops it in my list, maybe even next to Secret! (mmmaybe)
- since this is a cdrama, yes it is dubbed but it's bearable this time! I didn't even notice it at first!
- the secondary characters are also very interesting and entertaining to watch! Esp Fu Zi Yu!

The not-so-good:
- the crime storyline wasn't that strong, in my opinion. Nothing new in here but it's still a bit interesting to me bc I usually stay away from crime dramas. Prof. Bo is a psychologist so he focuses more on what goes into the mind of a criminal than the actual investigation so that really kept me interested bc it's new, at least.
- they dragged the storyline at around ep 16 or so. It was especially painful during the last 4 eps, I found myself ffd til i reached the last ep. Like, I alr knew who the culprit is, I just wanted to see how they execute the story.
- should've stayed with chinese actors bc 1.) the American actors were just...weird. i liked Susan and Dr. Barnes tho! 2.) Language barrier (u'll know what i mean once u watch)
- Sandra's acting was ok at most during the start but for some reason it started to become annoying and lackluster. She wasn't giving the performance i wanted halfway through the drama. Her character also plummeted from an independent, outgoing and smart lady to always crying & just always looking pretty character. Idk if her performance plummeted bc of her character arc or her abilities. She also started murmuring her lines halfway through the series too!! It was so annoying. I liked her, too bad her character sucked halfway. Maybe it's just me tho.

I'll definitely rewatch this..until ep 12 or 13 lol! All of the eps (subbed!) are on youtube so it's very easy to watch!! Wallace Huo is no joke. What a papi. Sandra is so pretty! Loved them together! Definitely stayed at the end for their chemistry!

Ps. There's no notable ost here bc they're all instrumentals (i think?) but I didn't mind it at all bc I just skip over them anyways lol there's no actual lyrical song played throughout the eps, just in the intro and outro

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Mother
5 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
When I say that this drama is a health hazard, I am not exaggerating. I started it feeling quite cocky. I was sure I wouldn’t be as affected or emotionally invested as most of the people who watched it. 15 minutes into the show and I already knew I was wrong big time. It seemed as if a ball of dread had permanently lodged itself at the base of my throat. Halfway in and I was clenching my fists in trepidation and finally as the credits rolled, so did my big fat tears. From then on to the last episode, my eyes didn’t find a dry moment. After I was done watching, my peepers were positively swollen, my head hurt from continuously staring at the screen, I felt nauseous because of sitting in the same position all day and I had to stretch out my entire body that felt sore.
In short: This drama will bring about a physical reaction in you and you still won’t regret watching it one bit. You can quote me on that.

I think the title of this show pretty much tells its entire story. “Mother”. The amount of importance this word holds. The responsibility, love and sacrifice that comes with it. How some women can never be worthy to embrace it while some own it and wear it as a second skin. This show highlights how much a mother’s actions can define a child’s life. How sensitive the stage of childhood is and ultimately, how family can transcend blood.

I haven’t watched the original so I can’t make comparisons but judging this drama on its own standing, I will say it was one of the most beautifully written, directed and acted pieces of production I have ever seen. No amount of praise is enough for the actors. I am not a fan of Lee Bo Young but she embodied her character perfectly here. Lee Hye Young, my favorite veteran actress once again brought forth a character I will forever remember and treasure and finally, the star of the show: 7 year old Heo Yool. I am still speechless at how a child so young could execute such a difficult character with such mastery and that also in her first role ever. I am going to follow her career throughout her life and I’m positive that she’s going to take the world by a storm and I can only hope she wasn’t scarred by playing the widely complex role of Kim Hye Na.

The drama comes with excellent dialogue and symbolism. It is also morbidly suspenseful, as in you desperately want to know what happens next but are afraid to find out at the same time. I really don’t have anything to complain about and the only reason I took one star back was because so many emotionally powerful things kept happening throughout the show that by the last two episodes, I was just spent and exhausted and my capacity to react had vanished which is why I watched the end with a sort of indifference.

However, I will say that even though the process is painful the drama ends with a sweet relief that we all earnestly wished for.

A must-watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Come and Hug Me
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
This drama is a masterpiece! One of the best dramas of 2018 and I am not even kidding.
After finishing I cannot hug you, I came across this drama and I was really happy to start it. I didn't know anything about it, the title and the promotional photos have convinced me to watch at (and the fact that the last drama that I watched was like the opposite to this one)
Well, I have watched a few dramas in a year and I have to tell you, I haven't seen a drama like this one before. Not only that the storyline is really unique and mesmerizing, but the actors were really professional. In my opinion, the storyline of a drama can be amazing if the actors know nothing about acting, but this is seriously not the case. The chemistry between the main leads was amazing, the way the screenwriters have decided to tell the story is something I haven't seen in a long time. Not only that they showed us what happened before the big crime on Christmas night, but they made every characters story count. They didn't go over details and leave the viewers in the dark. They decided to answer all of our questions and this is one of the reasons I love this drama.
There wasn't a cliffhanger at the end of the final episode. There wasn't a sour ending. There was a sweet-happy-ending that I have been missing. When was the last time that a drama had a pleasing beautiful ending? A long long long time ago.
Anyway, my favorite thing about this drama was that they showed how Yoon Hee Jae was thinking. They showed us how a psychopath's thinking is. They showed us how the victims' families have survived. They have showed us a story which was close to reality.
This drama is not about a candy-cotton couple. This drama is about a real love story. A love that survived.
If you are looking for a really entertaining and mysterious drama, please watch Come and hug me. You're not going to regret it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Come and Hug Me
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
One of the best series I have seen so far. The chemistry between both the younger versions of the leads and the adult ones is so damn perfect. The emotions are so raw and pure. Started watching it because it gave me the feels of just between lovers. And yes it didn’t disappoint me at all. Both the series are good in their own way. Love love love it. Go and watch it ppl ??Am in love with the Namnak couple. The villains of the show are also good and so are the other side characters. They will either make you love them or hate them. Which is something that’s good. Because that’s what makes them good actors. If we are not able to empathise then it’s bleh acting.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kleun Cheewit
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
15 of 15 episodes seen
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
First off, IF YOU HAVEN'T WATCHED... YOU MUST. The amazing chemistry given by the male lead and female leads is absolutely perfect. The storyline was given to us in a beautiful way, not too much evil that takes away the whole romance. I would be lying if I didn't get upset somewhere in the story, because how they would give the perfect moments for them to be happy and it just didn't work out. This was my first slap-kiss lakorn starring Urassaya "Yaya" and Prin "Mark" and I have to say this hit the bar high for me. I enjoyed it very much and just recently rewatched the series. I would be watching it now, but I'm to busy trying to find more lakorns that can measure up. There are a few that can keep up,

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Come and Hug Me
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Thoughts:

So I really didn't know what this show would entail. Compare to other popular dramas I saw almost no promotion for it. Truth is, if I wasn't on this site and seen the cover picture for it and clicked it, it would have been one of those dramas that I'd just overlook. Which is what makes this site great. I'm usually bias when it comes to romance drama because in the drama world it's so overly done that many of them cheesy and super annoying to watch. But I'm really glad I picked this show up. It exceeded my expectations.

________________________
Production:

PACE is the main reason why even though sometimes I may like a story as a whole, I still find myself fast-forwarding it. That and pointless arch stories or subplots with side characters that really does little to compliment the show. Which is why I'm glad this drama did NOT have any of those nuances. The production team who handled Come and Hug Me did it so to a marvelous pace. Every episode moved the show accordingly, every side characters had a relevant role all relating back to the two leads. And when I say relevant, I mean the side characters didn't take unnecessary screen time or given a sub-universe on their own causing the show to lag. If more romance/love dramas were better edited, I'd probably fast-forward less or even not at all. So perhaps others can learn from this one. This show gets my thumbs up for not boring me or causing me to move my cursor to the end of an episode.

__________________________
Story:

I wasn't sure what to make of it from the summary alone so when I decided to just watch on, I found that the writer applied the Shakespearean concept here. The infamous cross-star lovers' theme. The thing is, whether it's the Romeo&Juliet phenomenon or other classical romance, if done properly, will never feel redundant to watch because the truth is people love a good tragic tale of forbidden first love. This show did that very well.


_________________________
Characters:

I love the two leads. They were given such in-depth personas. Na Moo who struggles with his place in the world and Nak Won who is isolated by the tragedy that altered her life. These two are by far my favorite lead characters in the K-drama world this year. The other characters, Na Moo's family are very likable too. His stepmom who tries to make up for her past mistake, his stepsister who always supports him, and his brother who finally realizes what life is. Nak Won's stepbrother, he doesn't standout much, and has a shady background but we get to understand him by the end.


___________________________
Actors:

I read that Bae Suzy and Nam Joo-Hyuk were offered the lead roles and both turned it down. Bae Suzy who knows, but Nam Joo-Hyuk might be due to the low rating of his last romance drama. I don't think he wanted another one those project right afterwards. Too bad or them because this was one great story. Though it's probably great because of these new rising actors. I can't picture any face other than Chang Ki-Yong playing Na Moo. He's branded the role as his. I love how he managed to express his character's dual tendencies from a quiet pain to glimpses of psychopath facial expression to show viewers that he could become a killer if provoked to. And the actress Jin Ki-Joo is a fresh face to watch. She did very well in portraying her character's strength and weakness from bearing her pain alone, crying alone, to have to step out and face the world the second she dries her tears. These two are definitely actors to look forward to in future dramas - given they pick good ones.


_______________________
Music:

I was paying attention too much to the story and didn't care much for music. The only thing I notice was the instrumental score. Now that was one beautiful background instrumental music. It really draws you into Na Moo and NakWon's world.



Rewatch: YES



Overall & Suggestion:

So there is a little inconsistency or lack of, with the father's character. The father isn't given a background other than being a psycho and there's not much indicating any childhood of sorts and he just seems to act on impulse for no reason. And add on an annoying reporter who's motives are unclear, whether she hates Na Moo and Nak Won or likes them know knows, but she dies midway so meh. But those inconsistencies aren't a major bug and not the main focal point of the drama so anyone watching can do away with it. Other than that, this is a drama worth all its five stars. I recommend this if you like a blend of thriller and forbidden love story. Watch it. You won't be disappointed, or I don't think you would be.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Partners for Justice
2 people found this review helpful
by Lina
1 day ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I love the medical/mystery genre, i had high expectations at first but it all become a dull, emotionless drama at some point.

From my point of view, they tried to imitate/remake the american series such as CSI... They failed horribly.

Acting/Cast :

UGH I JUST DIDN'T LIKE IT.
The only word the forensic doctor knows is GET OUT. He's always right. He's cold.
The female prosecuter remembers everything. She's a hardworking. She makes me remember the bad previous acting of suzy.
The other characters are puppets to the upper two.
All in all, you can't connect with the cast, at first you'd be hooked but then you become used to it and you realize you were fooled.

THE ULTIMATE REASON I HATED THIS IS :

Story : (a little spoiler)

The woman baek bom was in love with was in a vegetative persistant state ( Coma for like 20years). They made it known in an early episode so that they spice the story. AS IF! On the last episodes, he found out, when he went to the hospital, he held her hand and she's dead. Okay. Thank youuuuuu! I mean i know he needed to say a proper goodbye so that he can move on. But no, my mind can't accept this.

READ THIS NO SPOILER ------- ALSO, i watched all 32 episodes, the major surprise is the TO BE CONTINUED in the last one. I absolutely hate this, i searched everywhere if they were going to add new episodes or a whole new sequel.

I'm frustrated, but don't regret it all, they were some positive things, like the new criminals and their stories everytime and how you can find things through autopsy -The final message of the dead-.
Thank you all!



Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sotus: The Series
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
15 of 15 episodes seen
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
Hi Everyone,
Well at first I didn't expect it to be an exciting series but as I go along watching the episodes I've realized that it was actually nice!
Story is original, Singto and Kris we're both very manly (which I really like) , other supporting casts also did a very great job!
Overall it was a great BL drama series, the excitement was there, the romance is just perfect and not so gay, and it brings me a lot of college memories :)
Iv'e watched this 3 times already and yet the excitement and >kilig< is still there :) Have fun watching it <3
Was this review helpful to you?
My Mister
2 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I really tried to delay as much as possible writing reviews of shows that I have liked, just because I want the 'high' in me to die down and give them a proper review. It's been months though, and the 'high' in me regarding this show is still there. It's now tied for my all time favorite drama, and this is coming from a 21-year old foreign exchange student who shouldn't be liking melodramas yet. To think that I was even asking then if this show was as good as something in the rain (which actually turned out to be a really average drama), makes me feel pathetic for not realizing sooner. With that, for everyone else who hasn't watched it, I advise you to watch this.

Also, don't read the fucking synopsis or initial plot because it really does a bad way of describing this show. "3 brothers blah blah blah...." how the fuck will that entice viewers? It seriously doesn't do justice.

It should've been "A story about how life will fuck you over continuously, and how you'll realize that some unexpected people are the ones who are actually helping you breath."

Story:
There it is. My first 10. My favorite drama of all time, Goblin, didn't get a 10 for me because even after thinking hard in myself that it should have, some details and parts of the story wasn't properly closed. This show is perfection at its finest though. Just looking at it makes is seem so unfair. You would think to yourself how the hell were amazing scriptwriters and an amazing director dare work on a single production? It's just beauty from start to finish. It's a melodrama, but it will keep your eyes on the screen like a rom-com and make you feel fear and despair like a thriller. The thing that I liked most about this is how they were able to accurately portray the unexplainable reality of life. Nothing will ever go your way if you don't let others in. You'll only grow as a person, if you help others and let them help you. The protagonist was a really poor girl who had nothing but hate and sadness in her because of the rash, unfortunate events she had to go through growing up. In a nutshell, this story is about how her heart warms through the voice of a man who is a sincerely good person by heart, but is just as pitiful as she is in other aspects of life. That story is mixed with other bitter-sweet storylines from supporting characters which all lead to point to one lesson: "You won't always get what you want in life, but it shouldn't make you stop working from achieving it." I won't spoil anything in this review, but this drama is tied (if not better) for the award "Best Ending" in a drama with Tomorrow With You (another melodrama)


Acting:
I hated IU's acting before, but this drama changes it. That's one hell of a jump in terms of acting level. Would honestly not come as a surprise to me if she ends up racking all possible awards for her role in this show, because she nailed it. Everyone else nailed it too, from 'Mister' Park Dong Hoon, to his 2 brothers, to the bar owner, to the douchebag wife and her surprisingly young looking but actually old lover, to Ji An's mother, everyone else seemed so natural and adept at the roles they portrayed. They all showed us complex characters who reflects real life people; they are all unique characters, just like how each person in our world really is unique in their own little way. If I were to pick out my favorite character from this show that excludes the two main leads, I would pick Yoo Ra. Kwon Nara continues to surprise me with her acting. She only had 1 previous show where she had significant screen time and I honestly thought she nailed it. Her acting on this show however was superb because she was able to showcase one of the hardest personalty of a character in this show; a tragic actress who has failed in life, but was able to garner strength once again upon knowing that someone important to her was also at their lowest. She was incredibly cute and strangely precise. Lastly, I believe this is borderline cheating; having a really good script for an already stacked cast only does the show good. Their lines suited their personas so much

Music:
The music was beautiful and accurately represented everything in the show. However, as a musically inclined person, what I'm looking for in an OST is something that I can listen to outside of the show and still feel connected to it, both thinking of the characters of the drama and not thinking of them at all. In a simpler way, both the tune and the lyrics of the songs should be dynamic enough to be able to stand on their own without prior knowledge from the drama, but still make you feel connected to it in every way. Goblin had that kind of OST and although I'm half regretting saying this, the tragically awful Uncontrollably Fond also has that kind of OST. I only felt it, and cried while at it cause the genre and message was bittersweet, at a single song in the OST of this drama and that's Sondia's "Adult". I'm not saying the OST is bad, because it is actually good. I'm just saying that it didn't have a wow factor for me to remember it outside of the show.

Rewatch value:
Hands down, the one and only melodrama that I would probably be happy rewatching. So many quotable scenes, even for such a slow paced show. If I want to be bored to death by the slowness of the pace of a drama, I'm only willing to do it crying and smiling like an idiot to this show alone.

Overall:
Even if you're a rom-com lover (most kdrama fans), a comedic type of person, someone who prefers thrillers, likes a legal setting (i belong in there), or basically someone who doesn't like melodramas, give this show a chance. It will change your perspective in melodramas, and you'll have faith at humanity again. Who knows, you might even start searching for your own mister after watching this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?