Miss Hammurabi
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Actually I waited till the end of the drama to watch it and I'm glad I did. From my experience of watching dramas I've got to say the past few years the cable networks of Korea are doing a better job at producing high quality stories that actually make sense rather than nonsensical romance stories only. From this sentence itself you can figure out that there's very little romance in this story.

First of all I shall tell my biggest complaint for this drama. That is that Sung Dong Il didn't get more screen time. His character was the most entertaining and obviously he's under the section main cast but compared to the other two he has little screentime.
Also another thing I don't understand how people say L's acting isn't memorable. After watching many, many, MANY dramas of his I've got to say his acting skills have improved 500X times. His character made more sense to me. The story is set in such a way that we don't completely fall for him cuz he sometimes is more tight assed. For me his character was refreshing. Another thins is I swear the female lead sometimes got on my nerves so much. Why can't she think before acting and after doing that and gets all sad.
Another fact was that I knew I saw him in some drama but wan't sure. Who am I talking about? L's best friend at work I mean. later I figured he was the king in the drama Faith with Lee Min Ho

Would I give this another rewatch value? Definitely yes

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Here to Heart
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
46 of 46 episodes seen
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 2.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama is one of the worst.
Many unnecessary part making the drama longer and longer.
Even though this drama looks high quality, highly budgeted scene in London, fancy cars, high end clothes and famous actors etc.
But the story is BAD, and shows the best resources doesn't deliver the best drama.
The reason I hate it:
Not emotional, not realistic, not creative, very boring, very blunt,
A lot of scene doesn't make sense, and a lot of CRINGY moments.
the plot don't come with any values
ALL OF THESE BULLSH*T FOR 46 EPISODES!!!
BTW this drama don't determine a good, pure love.. The male actor is a jerk, doesn't act like he is in real love w/ the female actor.
I guess some Indian fighting movie or Taiwanese revenge drama is even better.
NO, please don't waste your time on this piece of trash from china..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Miss Hammurabi
6 people found this review helpful
by K
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama.. Ohhh boy.. It is very good. It talks about things and topics that needs more attention. In this drama there were enough of serious and comedic scenes non of them overpowered each other, what made the watching more enjoyable.

Story:
I liked how the story doesn’t have focus on romance but to the problems that any person can live through in their lives.

Characters:
I loved the fact that L finally got a main role in this drama and he proved his talent in acting. He had to play a serious and close- hearted character whom he did great! He was so cute that sometimes my UWU screamed so loud that I was even surprised.
Go Ah Ra’s character was the reason I fell in love with this drama. And how later on in drama her past was told and what she did go through as a teen.
Chemistry between characters was good too. How everyone tried to understand and help each other.
What I appreciated was the fact that Im Ba Reun confessing his feelings to Par Cho Oh Reum didn’t make things awkward between the characters, but let them understand the situation that is happening and bordering the characters.
Second lead character relationship was adorable too. How they interacted to each other.
I felt attached to every character in this drama.

Music:
OST was REALLY good. It didn't bother to stay focused on the scenes, but it felt more like the music completed them. It gave the right feeling to the scenes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Lawless Attorney
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 7.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
It keep me guessing about the ending from the very first episode (yes, there are some dramas that you can tell from the first episode how the plot will resolve in following parts) and I was pleasingly surprise by the happy ending (I'm sucker for those, what can I say). It's wierd, because the plot is good, the characters are well played but something was still missing. Maybe its the fact that the main leads didn't convince me in their relationship. Or maybe it's because I was looking for the moment when judge Cha will finally show some human emotions - her coldhearted behavior and stoicism were sometimes pissing me off.
The best part of this drama was probably the character of Ahn Oh Joo and how well played he was by Choi Min Soo. All the stars to this actor!
All in all, it's good drama, one of the better works in Lee Joon Gi career and for the fans of his acting I would totaly recommend to watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Ambiguous Focus
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
6 of 6 episodes seen
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
I have mixed feelings about this movie / drama. It deviated so much from the movie, not just in terms of plot, but in terms of feel as well, that I am
wondering whether I'm viewing the same story.

Story: This one is so much darker than "Kinematics Theory," relationships more complicated, and there is a lot of sh!t going on
that I wonder if whether it is the fault of the writing or the character's life-decisions.

Acting / Cast: After watching Kinematics, I guess I am surprised at how the lead character development changed from the movie to this drama.
The cast was able to deliver the transition without so much as skipping a beat, and they were believable in their angst and insecurities.

Music: Nothing worthwhile to note.

Re-watch Value: Not entirely sure I would. Maybe would only re-watch for the hot sex scenes, but I'm bad like that.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Save the Last Dance for Me
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
20 of 20 episodes seen
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
I acuallly have this in DVD . I got it at a store because I love all types of kdramas . I Really do like the story line , and I thought that it was interesting every episode . I would recommend this for people that don't care about the screen quality because it is a little bit old
Any way it was a great romance and watching this show made me feel different emotions. Happy Laughing and one seen I Evan had a couple Tears in my eyes . But overall it's a good kdrama if you like romance and drama this is for you .
Was this review helpful to you?
Lawless Attorney
8 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Let me say this right off the bat: If you’ve been watching K-dramas long enough- and by long enough, I really just mean like about ten dramas among of which atleast two were law/crime/investigation- there’s a high probability that you’ve already seen all there is to see in the genre. There are some tropes that will always and I really do mean “always” happen in these shows.

Let me count them down with you:
1)Corrupt people in power who have successfully fooled the public into believing that they are good.
2)Our underdog hero and heroine who have a tragic past caused by the above mentioned corrupt people in power.
3)Our hero and heroine having coincidentally linked childhood history of some sorts.
4)An abundance of convenient plot-devices and complications that happen just for the sake of happening.
5)Rushed endings.
6)Our hero having magical powers that makes him have an IQ of 269, ninja fighting skills and a slightly whacked emotional quotient.

Yeah in 9/10 K-crime/law dramas this will happen. I bet my left tit on it. So if you are going to wear your granny glasses and make these the basis of judging what is original and what is not- you might as well save yourself the hassle and stop watching these altogether because by these standards you’re never going to find a drama that is “original”. Even if you do find one that seems different on the surface, I assure you it too will have a lot of typicalities in its core. And I say this in the nicest way possible ‘cause been there and done that.

So you ask me, Jeana, if they all tell more or less the same story what’s the point in watching? So glad you asked. The thing is, while the story may not be entirely never-before seen; the characters that tell the story and the way they tell it, is. And that makes all the difference.

Lawless Lawyer, in its core is also a typical crime/law drama and it has all those tropes I just mentioned above. However, the reason why it’s a must-watch is because it fulfills the goal all dramas strive to achieve: entertainment. And ladies and gentlemen, let me tell you this: LL is entertaining as fucking hell. It has moments that will have you cracking up, moments that will have you hold your breath in suspense even when you can already predict what’s going to happen and moments where your heart will fill with pride because of the characters you will surely come to love.

I’ve been eyeing Lee Joon Gi ever since I saw him single handedly carry the clusterfuck that was Scarlet Heart Ryeo on his beautiful broad shoulders. His acting chops are no joke. You bring him on the screen for two minutes and he’ll show you he isn’t playing. You know how we say that “some actors just emote with their eyes”? Yeah well, LJG emotes with the very flex of his jaw, the flick of his eyebrow, the tilt of his head- you name the part and the man will show you how to act with it. Simply put, he is brilliant. Which is why it’s literally a surprise to nobody that Bong Sang Pil is an extremely enigmatic character with madness in his eyes and gold in his heart. It was a joy to watch him and by the end of 16 episodes I was mighty fond of him.

Holding her own alongside LJG was our beautiful and talented Seo Ye Ji who first impressed me in Save Me and now won me over in LL. Her character had a solid backbone and she wasn’t afraid to show it. I usually have a bone to pick with beautiful actors -both male and female- because they rely heavily on their looks and decide to model their way through the episodes. Even when they are talented, you can see them take it easy and just roll through. I hate that and even my superficial tendency to fawn at pretty faces, masculine abs and collar bones isn’t enough to stop me from giving the drama a big fat 4 if I felt like the actor relied more on looks than putting in work. Here however, both LJG and Seo Ji perfectly embodied their characters and did their job despite being two very gorgeous people and that just made watching them extra sweet.

Some people say that a show is only as good as its antagonists and worry not my folks because the villains here are also an absolute delight. I have loved Choi Min Soo since his supporting role in Warrior Baek Dong Soo where he stole all the spotlights from his younger and more popular co-stars. Some people think that he tries hard or exaggerates with his roles but I disagree. I feel like he always brings these unique characters to life whose actions you both love and hate. He was an excellent villain in Lawless Lawyer and his Ahn Oh Joo- a greedy, ruthless and power hungry goon made me enjoy every second he was on-screen.

Next up on the antagonist list is Nam Soon Jo who with her over-the-top screaming and deliberately evil expressions never failed to amuse me and then finally, last but definitely not the least- we’ve got Cha Moon Sook played by Lee Hye Young. The evil mastermind and the woman on top of the food chain. She was as cold as they come. As sophisticated as she was cruel and I loved every scene she was in.

Lawless Lawyer was a very enjoyable ride from start to finish. There were many endearing supporting characters and some side roles and cameos by older actors who I adore. The music wasn’t too extraordinary but it was well-placed throughout the episodes. There wasn’t too much of a love story either; as a lot of potentially good chemistry between our leads was left unexplored but I’m not complaining because there were some good kisses and cute moments and I don’t ask for much in a drama which has romance as a sub-plot only. Other than that, I’d say LL had basically a bit of everything- love, laughter, kickass action scenes, suspense and emotion and so baby, I was a happy camper.

Yes, there were things that could be better. Some scenes could have developed more properly, some events more fleshed out. The ending more nicely executed but you know what? This show got me out of a three month slump. Before this I kept dropping shows half-way through or near the end ‘cause I just lost interest but with Lawless Lawyer I was compelled to watch episode after episode and I just didn’t want it to end.

So be brave, give it a shot and delve a little in the land of the lawless. ;)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Are You Human Too?
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
24 of 36 episodes seen
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5

[SPOILER ALERT]

So first of all i think this drama start with a weak beginning all the character is annoying except NS3 but as the episode goes on the character of this drama has it owns character development, especially Kang So Bong So, her character was annoying at first but she turn to be a subtle character as the episode goes on, and as for the NS3 the most stand out is his emotion development as you can see he was start as a obedient robot and never make his own decission, but as the episode goes on he can make his own decision and judgement, and don't forget about plot twist in this drama you can't ever predict the plot twist and that's makes me worry about the ending cause the ending is so unpredictable, all the cast is amazing especially Seo Kang Joon acting who can switch character so smooth, all of the OST on this drama is good even i downloaded it for my daily listening. the reason why i dont give this drama 10/10 is there is still a several kdrama logic that a bit bothers me such as third person camera that NS3 show to KSB with projector on episode 16, but thats the only reason but the exact rating i'll give to this drama is 9.8 all of this drama is perfect except the really small amount of kdrma logic that bothers me

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Wok of Love
2 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
38 of 38 episodes seen
Overall 5.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Are the writers kidding me? I felt like the ending left a lot to be desired. Plus, the entire drama was just the same story recycled and the amount of plot points that were discarded is staggering. I was so bored at times with the repeated cooking challenges. The "bad guys" were a waste of time. The mother was a self-righteous bitch. The secondary characters were ignorant and annoying. So, why didn't I give this a lower rating? The bromance and romance between the three main leads was so sweet and sincere. Plus, there are some actual funny parts and the fighting scenes were good. Honestly, I almost dropped it at episode 3, but I think it does get better. I realized what kind of drama it would be when I found out the writer was the same for Jealousy Incarnate. It was just a so-so drama for me.

The main actors are the highlight of the show. Not that the secondary actors aren't good, but I really could have cared less about any of the characters. JunHo does well at playing an arrogant and strong yet vulnerable and sweet character in Seo Poong. I have been a Jung Ryeo won fan since watching History of a Salaryman and she doesn't fail to impress as Sae Woo. Jang Hyuk is, of course, excellent as Chil Seong and I just love him as an actor.

The music is okay but can sometimes get old.

I will never rewatch this.

I don't really recommend this drama, but it doesn't totally suck.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Live
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
18 of 18 episodes seen
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0

an amazing and realistic drama
the story is so soft and touching and the way it shows the struggles that these police officers are dealing with in their work and life is so powerful and great.
I loved how the story didn't make a big deal of the characters past life to just passing time.
on to the cast, I loved how they weren't all dreamy looking and they were all actually normal which was a great fit to the story and made it more lifelike.
the acting was very well and the music was soft and good
for me the story was pretty ongoing and it didn't make me tired of watching and the way it pictured the life as a police and the rules that must be obeyed on the job was very nice
I didn't know a lot of stuff and rules that a police in Korea must obey and I actually learned a couple of things while watching so if you looking for something real and good
"Live" is a good choice to watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Goong S
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
20 of 20 episodes seen
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Fisrtof all I think think review of mine would be the latest review for this Series. :-)


STORY/PLOT:
I've already watched Princess Hours years ago and I was so impressed by the said series. I've beend ebating if I will give this series a shotor not so I've been checking reviws from different sites and reading comments regarding this series as well. Until somebody told me that it was worth watching for. So I decided to download the first 10 Episodes and after watching the first Episode I decided to download all 20 episodes. Why? Because I liked it. As simple as that. Honestly this series is not that extravagant as compared to Princess Hours but why compare them both? Prince Hours had its own story and has its own taste which I liked. The Revenge part, the victories by the lead, the downfall of the antagonist. I love them all. But I think more attention should have been given on the later part. The early epsiodes where done intricately but on the last 3-4 episodes the story rocketed to its end. I know that korean series usually has 20 episodes and the directors just tried to put in everything in those 20 episodes but I just want more... Hahahaha. And by the way I have this great passion in terms of Dramas which settings were of the old times, back when the kings and queens existed that is what made me love the series more. :-)

ACTING/CASTS:
It was the first for me to encounter Se7ev in this series the male lead. I am not aware of how he acts but I am aware of how he performs in the stage. So sad, I think he was on hiatus now but he did great on this series. He was able to portray a super bubbly but at the same time humble person. Given the face that he has he was able to pull through the acting that was needed on his role. Same as with the femle lead. This was the first time I saw her and I am really not familiar with her. Well se did well in this series to. But I just don't like her facial expressions because everytime she speaks it looks like she overdoing it. Evrything she is trowing those lines it looks like she'sgoing to cry though the scene is not a scene where she is soppused to cry. To get what I wanted to say better watch the series. Park Shin Hye! I think among all of the casts she was the most popular up until now. The first I saw her I thought she was the female lead but she wasn't cause she was the second female lead. :-) There's no question on how well her acting skills though, I bet you all know her. She's an actress since 2003 and the film was filmed last 2006 so she already has an experience in acting. The Second male lead did great also. I just don't like him. Well, you can't push a person to like somebody right? I just don't like him. Sorry for that.

MUSIC:
For the music, the music they've used is somehow similar with the music that was used in Princess Hours most especially the on the welcoming part. That's what I've missed on that series. As what i have mentioned earlier ago, I love stories which settings was the old times. And that includes the music of that time. As simple as that.

REWATCH VALUE:
Guys, this series has 20 episodes and per hour was an hour long. And that's a total of 20 hours so it watshing it again was really not a good joke, maybe if I have the will to do so I will watch it again.

OVERALL:
This was an amazing series. And if asked if I will recommendit, yes of course I will. If you liked the Princess Hours series I guessed you would learn to love it too. :-)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Wake Up Ladies The Series
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
13 of 13 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Honestly, this might be one of the best series by GMMTV, and definitely my favourite. The things that I really love about this series is definitely the balance between the comical scenes and the serious ones. They did an excellent job with the witty and hilarious comments added on the actors’ lines. The serious scenes are totally gonna impress you with Niti (J’Doc) ‘s words of advice. This series will give you a rollercoaster of emotions, in which you will laugh out loud along with the casts, get pissed, smile like an idiot, and cry. I was really reluctant to watch the last episode as I didn’t want the series to end, but I still did and as a result I cried a lot because I was overwhelmed with all the feelings. I’ve never loved a series this much before. Definitely recommended!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
4 days ago
9 of 9 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
really like this story. even this story is simple, but they have 2 type of triangle love witch is unpredictable from the start.
acting, i mean actor act in this drama good enough. Nanon Karapat show his best acting in this drama, and do to all actor and actress.
even, i rather be disapointed with chimon acting. in this drama he not all out for his character. may be in this drama, his role little bit difference with his role in other his drama before. but i still proud for his work.
loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee episode 7
all you guys must see until 7 episode. its climax in my opinion. my feeling up and down in this episode.
enjoy watching guys

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Zero no Shinjitsu
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
8 of 8 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Why did I take so long to finish this??? I started it WAY WAY back when it was originally airing, but couldn't remember to check back for new episodes every week; so, I forgot about it. Then I remembered and only got to watch 3/4 of it before needing to pay attention to God knows what else at the time.

It's so fascinating! You have the strong overarching plot combined with the "sub-plots" of the episodes (that always makes it a great and engaging watch) and, by the time the story is nearing the end, the viewer is able to understand the key factors that ultimately reveal the truth. I did get thrown a couple times, but I'm not the best detective lol. Nevertheless, I learned a lot from this show and hope to find more like this in the future.

An anime that this reminds me of is "Beautiful Bones: Sakurako's Investigation". So amazing. I highly recommend you give it a shot! It's on Crunchyroll:)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Death Cash
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
10 of 10 episodes seen
Overall 5.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.5
I rather liked the story and it had enough substance to fill a couple of hours.

However, I don't think that the story is good enough to warrant a recommendation, when it's lacking in so many other things.

The production value lacked in some places, such as every time the money 'appeared', and the acting was (mostly) bad.

Character development hugely sucked, and the show only seemed to focus on one character's motivations.

The music (which I assume is down to the show having some ~48 members (?)) did not fit the show, at all. It could have had a much larger effect if it weren't for the poppy song that plays every episode. It made the show lose it's dark atmosphere.

I would not recommend due to these things, which is a shame as the story could have been used to a much bigger effect.

If you are going to watch it, be aware that there's a bit of gore, however I would not say it is scary or suspenseful.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?