Completed
Three Meals a Day: Jeongseon Village 2
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
After struggling the whole late autumn and winter, here comes the spring and summer, bringing new hope, groove and hilarious situations. For better dynamic, the hosts also get reinforcements in Kim Kwang Gyu, which is a great move. In this edition, they also start to really dwell into the self-sufficiency theme and they don't let the hosts just run around town to buy whatever, but they have to either work for it, or present Na PD with something they harvested, which gains them money. At least, this was the idea. In reality, Seo Jin just tries to push his luck and he makes a lot of deals.

They make improvements to the house and its surroundings, they learn a lot about taking care of the garden and they even build an oven. They also make themselves almost natives in the area and the locals are really proud of them, making various signs about which host likes what from their shop. All of them also improved as cooks and it's a joy to watch.

The choice of guests was excellent in this run, again. The three hosts have great chemistry and they make everyone feel welcome. Personally, I think that it worked the best with Park Shin Hye, whom they all adored and they (drunk) called her all the time, after she left.

I loved this very much and I will return to it in the future. It really was that good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Three Meals a Day: Gochang Village
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
This edition of 3MAD was incredible. The four guys really adapted the programme into their own and you won't even notice the absence of guests. Every episode is very entertaining and I was thinking to myself: "This just cannot get any better, this is the peek." And yet, I was wrong. The hosts try to do as many things as they possibly can, not to amuse the viewer, but to have genuine fun themselves. They explore the area of Gochang, work hard, play hard and eat a lot of delicious food.

I really enjoyed the dynamic between the youngsters and the veterans, as well as between the cooking department and the facility department. They kept joking constantly and had a good time. CSW and YHJ kept a nice tempo in the show, mostly because they cannot just sit still. I loved when they played ping pong, even baseball and also the inside jokes they developed during the night time conversations.

The added benefit to this run of 3MAD is the rural area this takes place in. I can imagine that people from cosmopolitan areas have only a rough idea about how the fruit, vegetables or rice shows on their plates or in their supermarkets. The hosts do various jobs in the area and it's interesting to watch and to learn with them. They usually reward themselves with and adventure, which is just a cherry on top.

Three Meals a Day: Gochang Village is just amazing. If you want to invest your time only into one of this series, I would pick this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Grey Rainbow
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
4 of 4 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 3.5
Music 1.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
DON’T READ IF YOU DON’T WANT MAJOR SPOILERS








I liked how everyone was excepting even if Porsche father was uncomfortable with his son being gay at first but was open enough to change. This is about two college friends who where roommates at 1st and fell in love with each other at 1st sight but where scared of their real feeling because of Thailand’s society of homosexuality. After 4 years of being friends Porsch decided that on their 4 year of friendship he was going to try and tell Nueng that he had feelings for him before graduation. Of course in Thai drama there is always a damn girlfriend. Neung gets dumped by his girlfriend Jane when she starts realizing her boyfriend is gay. Nueng and Porsche end up together quite quickly literally right after Nueng gets dumped. After graduation Porsch moves into Nuengs house to take some time off of school and be with his boyfriend. People find out quickly that Porsche and Nueng are in a relationship, Nueng parents accepted the relationship quickly. Porsches parents show up randomly. There is no real sense of time so everything feels speed up. Porsches parents are told by him he is gay and is in a relationship his dad gets ill and goes to the hospital. He eventually excepts the relationship. More time passes both Porsche and Nueng get engaged and plan to get married even if it’s not seen legal in Thailand. Jane shows up with a baby, Porsche gets jealous because Nueng feels like he needs to watch over Jane because they are friends even though they haven’t seen each other since they broke up. The baby belongs to another man, he left her high and dry. Nueng let’s her work for his family, Porsche gets even more jealous, Jane becomes sick.... she dies. I don’t understand why no one contacts Janes family through the whole time Jane is sick and potentially dying. This show is filled with holes. They magically adopt and raise Janes child as their own still no family members of Jane or the ex boyfriend of Jane the father of the baby. Before Jane dies Porsche and Nueng gets married and Nueng dies “of a heart attack” at their wedding. They don’t explain how Jane does but it was caused by the illness they just don’t say when. Ohh and I forgot to mention Porsch has an damn imaginary friend which you don’t find out until the last episode. This whole time I thought his female friend was a real PERSON. Porsche And Nuengs family raise Janes daughter and you as a baby to a small child near the end of the series. Once his female imaginary friend disappeared she changed into Porsches husband instead saying to take care of Janes child. The story was sweet because Porsch and Nueng didn’t have the drama of people of keeping them apart they actually where a couple and didn’t try to hide it. They got “married” in the eyes of their family and friends. I just hate how Porsche ended up a damn widow. He wasn’t even married with Nueng for a day less than a day. If you don’t care about happy endings go ahead watch it but this isn’t for people who want to watch a romantic series and expect a happy ending because you aren’t getting one. Also all these people you see at the intro of the series they never show up. You will see random couples, secondary roles and you only see them at the intro. The whole series is of Porsche, Nueng, Porsches parents who where there temporarily, Nuengs parents, Jane, Janes new/ex boyfriend aka baby daddy, we see Janes family once, random classmates, random employees at Nuengs families business but not the people at the intro credits of the show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Doctor Prisoner
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Story: 7.0
Doctor Prisoner is a great cat and mouse, revenge drama. The pacing of the story is spot on, I rarely felt that a scene or arc, for that matter, was dragging on for to long. The story stays true to the original premise throughout the show. It is sometimes quite predictable. But, more often then not the they story stays one step ahead to keep the suspense and intrigue.

Acting/Cast: 8.5
I thoroughly enjoyed the acting in Doctor Prisoner and found the cast to amazing fits for their respective characters. I would have loved to see more emotional range from Nam Goong Min who plays the main role as Na Yi Je. His character often feels a bit one dimensional, as 99% of the time he is a mysterious, stoic character that shows little to no emotion. My rating might be lower if not for Kim Byung Chul as Sun Min Shik and Choi Won Young as Lee Jae Joon. Their acting was spot on and often had me at the edge of my seat.

Music: 8.0
I am not to picky about the music in the dramas I watch; all I ask is that it not be over the top or over used. Thankfully Doctor Prisoner mainly uses music too enhance scenes and often it is in the background. It is never over the top and never finds itself out staying its welcome. Nothing blew me away, but at the same time nothing bothered me about it.

Rewatch Value: 6.0
I don't see myself ever re-watching this show. Not that its a bad show, but their are much better shows I would watch if I wanted to re-watch something.

Overall: 7.0
I would recommended this show if you are looking for a interesting revenge story that is not crazy dark or you just want to watch something that is not a romance drama for a change of pace.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 6/10
Hana ni Keda Mono
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
6 of 10 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
OK, I decided to read the manga before watching this and manga has better character development, although I could only find 12 chapters in English—which only covers through episode 4 or 5. I’m putting this on hold until I can read the rest of the manga, because I don’t like the direction this is going.

Personally, I like the acting. Hyo was perfectly cast with his gorgeous smile. I’ve seen several comments about Kumi not having any expressions but that is how she is written in the manga. The rest of the actors are doing a fine job.

Will return to update this once I watch all of it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Pretty Man
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
28 of 28 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
This review may contain spoilers
Story start with a good note , love story of school's friends who are interconnected with eachother as family and family's business partners .. some of the middle episodes were getting bored because misunderstanding instead of getting solve ,there was a creation of new misunderstanding then everything getting solve so the drama ends with new misunderstanding..
Male lead actor all the time in a drama had same facial expression that is monotonous face because he faced a lot in his life but at some stage his acting looked loose not felt connected with the character. There is very less eye contact when he talk with the others ,I think that's maked that his acting at some point is so loose ..At some point he had happy scene where he looked cute and felt connected with the character.
Female lead actor acting was good she looked all the time cute, Adorable and beautiful.. .
Second lead couple story I didn't getting it why director didn't solve their love story because this drama has a second season .
I wish that second season has same character .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Doctor John
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
Doctor John is a Korean medical drama based on the Japanese novel "On Hand of God" by Yo Kusakabe. This drama discusses the controversial topic of euthanasia; displaying arguements from all sides. This drama is about a talented anesthesiologist who spent three years in prison for performing euthanasia on a dying patient whose pain he couldn't reduce. a second year resident of anesthesiology who took a break after she was unable to save her father in an accident, and the lives of the doctors in the hospital anesthesiology department. The cast played their characters very well and the soundtrack fit the drama well. I would recommend this drama to a more mature audience.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love O2O
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
30 of 30 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is the only 2nd Chinese drama that I can say I am very satisfied and would re-watch it again. Here's why. The male lead and the female lead are smart, tough, unique in their characteristic, and understanding to each other. They both know they love each other which is great because it's usually only one or the other that won't realize that until the very last minute and I'm not a huge fan of that. They don't let anybody boss them around which is definitely a plus for me. The chemistry is so on point. I just love seeing every scene with the leads together. Besides the chemistry of the leads, what makes it even better is the level of friendship shown in this drama, from the brotherhood with Xiao Nai & sisterly relationships of Wei Wei. You don't see that too often in dramas. Their friends is what kept the comedy in this drama. I also love how they come back to the game and re enact the game scenes as their characters. That was really amazing to see the actors & actresses in their modern day outfits but also their historical outfits. Yes, there are villains in this drama but the difference here is, while they still make you feel annoyed at them, they aren't as powerful as other villains from other dramas and I really appreciate that. What makes it better is that the 2 main villains do realize their wrong and turn their lives around for the better. Even they become likable eventually.

Definitely my favorite drama by far. The 30 episodes were written well since the writers knew what they were doing. If you need a break from frustration, then this drama is for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lawless Attorney
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
i'll give you as short as i can and if you looking for detailed review look for other :)

Part of the 3/4 episode went on to describe the character of Cha Moon Shook as powerful and brilliant minded so that our main couple seemed did not emerge in the series, that they are co-star/supporting actor of the main lead Cha Moon Shook .

i really want to drop it but only for "lee joon gi " i finished it and of course for his fight/action scenes which hook me till the last

" i'm disappointed " Apart from this, I did not have anything else to say. :(

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kahogo no Kahoko
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers
This is a wonderful drama that is close to real life's problems, every scenes seem natural. We have overbearing parents, doormat spouses, sheltered kids, dirt poor lovers around us. The only one that does not seem real is Kahoko's extended family. Grandparents, uncles/aunts, and her cousin seem perfect, until one by one's issues are revealed throughout the drama. Kahoko and Hajime's chemistry is natural and sweet. Her transformation from dependent to dependable is painful to watch, thankfully Hajime and her big family are very supportive. The actor and actress who played as her parents really aced as dysfunctional father/mother.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Bloody Romance
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
36 of 36 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Encore, encore!

What a pleasantly surprise of a drama!
Entirely refreshing though has a somber tone. Slightly familiar story but presented in a different way, without predictable moments or lack of intrigue. Very well written and a highly recommended watch!

1. Story
Wan Mei's journey from an impoverished birth to being betrayed and having to fend for survival, ultimately reaching her destination was filled with dark moments and decisions that tested her moral conscience, yet out sprung a beautiful romance and unexpected alliances.

This drama is very well written, many times in some dramas I would be left with questions or asking myself what happened to that particular scene or part of the story but this drama appropriately addressed in within the script.

It is well paced and rarely a dull moment with the characters being so open ended and sometimes you could not tell which side of moral conscience they were on. At 36 episodes, its filled with mystery, intrigue, and surprises. It didn't feel lacking or anything dragged out.

2. Characters
The main leads were exceptional and exhibited natural chemistry. There were some stronger characters that I will highlight below but the majority of the supporting cast did a wonderfully in their roles.

Wan Mei -- an exceptional actress; she brought to life this character and throughout the story, she held with her, her humble beginnings and though she took on a new identity, Su Qi Xue could still be seen underneath it all. Her chemistry with Chang An was genuine and moving, they definitely created a memorable relationship even if I initially thought it was unlikely.

Chang An -- complimentary to Wan Mei's character and he was her main foundation. His character was a calm, thoughtful and loyal opposite to Wan Mei's indecisiveness and fragile character. He remained her source of inspiration and his role heavily influenced the development of Wan Mei. Their chemistry was very alluring since there were many moments where they weren't able to show affection, yet you could still feel it there.

Gong Zi -- an interesting character; he exhibited antihero tendencies and other times heroic capacities. He was the silent supporter of Wan Mei and she sort of filled a hole that was left in his life. He fit this role perfectly, and he portrays a mysterious and slightly dark personality very well.

Yue Ying -- she was one of the more hapless characters as all of her intention and feelings went towards Gong Zi, he never reciprocated the same sentiments with only one scene a saving grace. A very likeable character and very much similar to Chang An in some ways. I really wanted her to end up with Gong Zi, it was a perfect match!

Wan Xiang -- in the beginning, a very detestable character that closely resembled the main villain, however she entirely changed and became a person to root for in the later half of the story. She played her character extremely well.

Xing Feng -- maybe the most interesting character since he is a Shadow, similar to Chang An and Yue Ying, yet his master was the main villain of the story and his character is closely associated with her. However like Gong Zi, he showed heroic capacities towards the end and holds secret to the hopeful ending.

Cha Luo -- the main villain and a very good (bad) one. Her performance was entirely believable and a great cast for the role. In the story, she could be compared to Wan Mei in terms of her journey and also romantic relationship with her shadow, yet she was on the opposite side of the moral spectrum to Wan Mei. There were many "Yin" and "Yang" characters in this drama and she could be considered the Yin to Wan Mei's Yang in terms or morale.

I also really enjoyed Liu Guang's character.

3. Costume / Set Design / Cinematography
The other drama with highly exceptional set production and attention to detail was The Untamed. I think these dramas are on the same level since the set design fit so well as if it were actual and authentic. Costumes were outstanding, it all fit together so well.

Cinematography, no question was superb. Almost any frame could have been considered very artistic. It is something to highly praise about and comment on.

4. Music
It was different but somehow the soundtrack fits so perfectly. The main theme can be considered haunting yet moving and beautiful. They also featured many instrumental pieces that were outstanding as well.

The soundtrack very close to being one of the top soundtracks, but its a matter of tastes.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NL_VDLnrRkU&list=PLXNBJ-hfssNYmf9YOulQSUGCtqVAURocO&index=12

5. Ending
If the ending had not been open ended or hopeful as the last scene insinuated, I would not have given such a high rating. Luckily though, it was neither good nor bad since it left room for a possible Season 2, or if not, it retained one of the main characters -- Chang An.

Overall definitely a recommended watch, a very good surprise of a drama!
Only reason I hesitated to watch this was because of the title, which I feel could be renamed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
To The Beautiful You
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10

Excels in dumb, fun, cheesiness

I watched this around the time I first got into kpop. This show is pure, unabashed cheesiness, and I have never been able to find another kdrama that makes me as happy while watching it as this one. It's extremely silly. I can only stomach so many serious melodramas before I return to this one. If you don't like cheesy, dumb fun, this is not the show for you.

STORY: Honestly? Dumb as hell. Love it.

ACTING: Serviceable. Lee Hyunwoo does all the acting on behalf of everyone else. Minho is actually better than anticipated. Frankly speaking, main female characters don't have much acting to do - especially when the show's tone makes it clear it's not supposed to be a convincing charade, everyone's just blind. But watching Sulli enjoy herself, as Jaehee does, is a DELIGHT.

MUSIC: I'm so sorry if you have good taste in music, but I LOVE this soundtrack. It gets extremely repetitive but I don't care because I love it. I don't have any of them on my phone and I rarely get the opportunity to relisten but I still know all the words.

REWATCH VALUE: I mentioned in the intro I always come back to this. I've rewatched it probably 10 times over the years. Rewatching it again now.

Love you, Sulli.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
3 Will Be Free
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
This review ONLY HAS SPOILERS so don't read it if you didn't finish the show!!!!! I warned you........


This ending is so good! I didn't expect P'Mae to kill Shin's dad but he DID order to kill Ter. I guess the reason why she didn't kill the three for killing Phon is because she realized there was a difference between killing out of pride and killing to survive...So sad Ter died but I guess I expected it from the time he said he would be there for her when she woke up...
Next is Shin, Neo and Miw... I'm so happy they are all together now, and free. I'm glad they didn't go for the boring love triangle route because I had hopes they were all going to be in love with each other and in a three way relationship from the trailer...
Beautiful ending teaching us that you have to be yourself to be happy, and not try to meet someone else's expectations...I'm happy with the way it ended :)
(Even PP gets to have his happy ending and work with Shin to unsuccessfully flirt with him forever XD)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Something About 1 Percent
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
I dropped this drama once, thinking how plain the female lead is, and how she left her little students by themselves only to look for a wounded man. Once I picked up again I stayed for several more episodes and the story gets better. Nonetheless, there are some fillers like Jae In's sister and Jae In's ex, probably inserted in the drama to spice up the show but they're not done right. Should expand more on Tae Ha and Hyeon Jin. The chemistry is strong with some steamy kisses. And I love the real deal proposal, it sounds so grounded.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Bussaba Na Talad
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
33 of 33 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I can honestly say I throughly enjoyed this show even though there wasn’t much context and honestly it was a crazy ride, but I’ve seen even crazier Thai dramas and I’ve had better stories and this is your average one. Shout out to Neko for subbing this though so I could enjoy it. It was a quick watch, only like 30 minute episodes but it was all so cliche at the same time. I liked the chemistry between the main characters and I’m upset they messed with them for more than 90% of the show because they really should’ve embraced the chemistry the two had but oh well. The female lead was nice but stubborn; the male lead was too nice for his own good, the family members were done even though I didn’t mind the girl cousin, she got better and the comedy was comedic for the most part. Overall it’s not the best show but it’s so fast and easy, you’ll forget it when you’re not bored and remember it when you are. It’s worth a watch though.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions