Completed
Age of Youth 2
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
I binge watched both the seasons because it was just that good. The storyline was amazing with its realistic portrayal of love and friendship. I loved that it was thought provoking. It's a refreshing change from the usual love triangle laden dramas.
The change in cast was a bit of a disappointment because Ji Woo just wasn't meant for the role of Eun Jae. I don't know if it was her acting or the way her character was written, but I didn't like watching her scenes. And I did miss Kang Yi Na but was glad that she didn't disappear completely.
Song Ji Won is by far my favourite character and I really loved her with Sung Min. The epilogue of 8 years later was the saddest part for me.
Season two left me with a lot of unanswered questions so I really wish for season 3 to happen. And if it does, Ji Won and Sung Min deserve a happy ending.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love by Chance
8 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
Love by Chance is a very cute and fluffy BL drama with some maturity. What I like most about this BL is that while its all cute and fluffy, the characters who are 18 years olds actually act their age, they have sexual desires , lots of sex talk and even condoms  is shown. So this show is not completely innocent even if it at first glance looks like it will be all innocent and pure.  It doesn't gloss over sex etc which is very refreshing, because acting as if sex doesn't even exist when you are 18 (its by that age hormones is at it highest) is very unrealistic.
The main couple Ae (played by the only 17 year old Perth) and Pete (played by Saint) has one of the best chemistry I ever seen in BL, its super natural and you can tell that the actors are comfortable with each other. No awkwardness (it never felt forced) to my pleasant surprise! I honestly thought the OTP would come across as a bit awkward becsuse well... Perth is not even an adult yet! And I never imagined they would let him do very intimate scenes due to that, I thought at most what we would get is only one akward "kiss" at the finale episode where Ae and Pete just press lips together and that's it lol. But I was sooo wrong. Ae and Pete has many sexy/hot/intimate scenes with real kisses and some of their scenes are very sexual. They actually act like their real age, just like 18 years old boys in love would act : horny and being sexually active. They act like a real couple that are very touchy with each other, you could tell how much in love they are with each other... in so many dramas its only told that a couple is in love, but its never shown because of lack of affection/intimacy. But its not the case of LBC , it was both told and shown.

The university student Pete is an very beautiful & handsome secretly gay guy with very low selfesteem. He is from a rich family and he is very shy, timid and submissive. Pete has been over protected and thus doesn't know for exemple how to order a meal or how to ride a bicycle (he never even sat at one in the back while another person is riding it). He is also very innocent and pure hearted which has resulted him getting used by others because of his naivety/gullibility. The man Pete loved betrayed him just because he wants Pete's money and is constantly harrassing him.
Ae is the complete opposite of Pete , he is not rich and not described as handsome (hah! Him NOT handsome??? What a joke) , unlike Pete who is tall, pale and has gentle/soft/ a bit feminine festures , Ae is short, darker, has rough/masculine features. Their personalities is opposite too; Pete is shy, polite, timid and comes across as weak. Ae is brash, fool mouthed, straight forward and very strong. He is awesome, Ae might be a shortie but he has such a big aura around him,even bigger aura than bunch of tall people even if he was surrounded by them. Ae feels warm and safe and homely, he is that kind of person I would feel completely safe with, someone who I can trust to protect me... as the author said "Ae was a good man but he wasn't handsome, tall or rich, the only thing he had was a heart as wide as the ocean". Sometimes I have to mentally slap myself because I always am about to forget that Perth is only still a 17 year old boy, but there is something about him... he has a bit of baby face still, but he still looks mature for his age.

Pete is the cutest, most purest thing ever... I love him equally as much as Ae. He might come across as "weak" but there is some inner strength in him, Pete is not a completely push over. He's naive and gullible but thats because he is so pure hearted, he wants to think the best of everyone... even if Pete has gotten betrayed his pureness still never left which I really appreciate... despite the betrayal from Trump (lol the name) - the man he once loved - he still didn't have any trust issuses and trusted Ae immediately <3

They bring the best out of each other ... they're in a healthy loving relationship that are full of love and respect (even though Ae can admittedly be a bit too possessive and I wish he would trust Pete a bit more).. But for being a BL their relationship is healthy one .. as you all may know there is lots of shitty BL couples out there that are very toxic/abusive,, which however is not the case of Ae and Pete... they communicate with each other instead of keeping it inside themselves... I love how they had such a good start with each other and how soft gentle and caring they are... no physical or mental abuse... no rape or drunken sex... I love how consensual it is when it comes to intimacy , how Ae never pressures Pete into sex, how much Ae cares about Pete's well being (afraid to hurt him)... How they manage to be so cute and adorable together at one minute, and the other minute so damn hot and sexy together... and then so damn romantic and touching ! How they manage to balance being cute/soft together with them being sexy/hot and romantic/beautiful. I love how affectionate they are with each other and not afraid to show it. They make such a beautiful couple and I love how soft they can be for each other. Nothing more sweet than soft boys being soft with each other. For those reasons Ae and Pete is one of my favorite couples, gay or straight! <3

Also, I love how protective Ae is about Pete , how he wants to take care of Pete all the time... how he promised Pete to take care of him/protect him (a promise he never breaks as long as he lives) , for me that's very romantic. Maybe I'm a bit traditional but I would love a boyfriend like that, but an amazing boyfriend like Ae is almost impossible to find lol. I can go on and on how much I love this OTP, but I end it here :)

I know its a stupid reason but I felt Perth was too young since he's not even an adult yet! I Was being prejudiced and thought he wouldn't be nearly as good at acting as the others and that because of his young age it would look so awkward for him when doing intimate scenes with Saint. I thought also that there is no way there would be any hot scenes /real kisses between them, i thought They would have a very innocent relationship lol.

But despite my prejudices I decided to give LBC a chance becsuse i saw some clips and thought it looked very cute. As i started watching i didn't have too high Expectations (i didn't expect it to be bad, but i didnt either expect it to be super good). But imagine my surprise! I fell in love with the show in the first 5 min already and I fell deeper and deeper.. And I Was sooo surprised by Perth's acting!! He is SO Great and talented for his age!! IMO he is the best actor in LBC even though he the youngest one, and his character Ae became my favorite! And I like I wtote, I was even more surprised that he didn't even look awkward during his intimate scenes with Saint, and that they even allowed him to have real kiss scenes and hot scenes.
So now I feel like slapping myself for having so much prejudice cuz i Was soooo proven wrong!! Never again will i be judgeful against a show /the actor or actress just because of his/her age.

The other main couple Tin (played by Mean) and Can (played by Plan) is very interguing and entertaining. I like this couple too, but IMO their relationship felt a bit rushed and was not as well developed as the relationship between Ae and Pete. Just like Pete, Tin is rich , tall and handsome. But that's where their similitaries ends. Tin is a huge, ice cold jerk with a snobish attitude who looks down on everyone who are below him in social status. He believes that the rich should only hang out with the rich and not mix with the none-rich. He even asks Pete out multiple times since he doesn't want Pete to be around someone like Ae. Of course Tin's cold and mean personality is because of his sad past... But then Can appears into his life - a hyperactive guy with immature streak. He always acts before he thinks and lets his emotions/feelings get the best of him. Can is of course not rich, he gets angry if anyone talks bad about his friends. Can is what you can say small but tough,
Innocent too just like Pete but in different way. He's annoying but so funny , cute and such an idiot lol! He won't let anyone mess with him without a fight. This cutiepie sure is fierce. He is so innocent that he thinks that kissing should only be on lips and no use for tounge lol. Anyway, unlike AexPete which had a good start with each other, TinxCan has a bad start (its the famous trope enemies-to-lovers).Tin looks down on Can because he is not rich, Can looks down on Tin because he is a rich snob. But of course, later on Can softens up Tin's cold heart and thanks to Can , Tin learns how to smile and trust again. For me there is nothing more beautiful than learning to trust again because of love. I have a weak spot for romances like that... that because of that one person, you become more human again/ learns to trust and love again as well.

As for the other 2 couples.who doesn't get much screen time...Lets start with Kengkla (played by Mark) and Techno (played by Gun). Their relationship is problematic and I dislike this couple. Kengkla is friends with Techno's little brother, for some reason Kengkla is obsessed with Techno and wants him. Instead of courting him / getting to know him better like a normal person would do, he takes Techno's brother for help. Techno's brother is basically selling Techno off in order for him to gain something to himself, as he stalks Techno for Kengkla , helps Kengkla destroy Techno's motorbike just so that Kengkla has a "excuse" to pick him up, etc. And the WORST thing that Techno's brother will help Kengkla with ... well, let's just say that's its messed up and very bad. I felt bad for Techno as he often is potrayed only for comedic relief where no one ever takes him seriously , not even the freshmen. Techno even has a terrible little brother and a stalkish obsessive guy after him. No one seems to respect him which is sad, because despite being slow and naive he is truly a good guy who doesn't deserve all the crap...

The last couple I also dislike is Tum (played by Title) and Tar (played by Earth). I got nothing much to say about them, they don't either have much screen time. They're stepsiblings and are both (secretly) in love with each other. Being in love with your own brother even if not related by blood is honestly a bit creepy for me, and what Tum did to Tar was horrible, it left me a bad taste in my mouth...especially because of what Tar been through.

Maybe I am being harsh, but I thought LBC would have been better off not including the last 2 couples (KengklaxTechno and TumxTar) because they're both so problematic and the show romanticizes their relationships. I feel like I am watching a different show when its about them, I don't get all giddy/warm inside (just weirded out) , unlike with the 2 main couples (AexPete and TinxCan) that made me all giddy/warm inside. I know LBC is based on a novel, and it's hard for me to understand that the same author who created 2 great main couples also created 2 creepy side couples. I don't want to spoil too much... but for those reasons I can't rate LBC - a otherwise wonderful show - 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Vampire Idol
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
79 of 79 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This review may contain spoilers
I am sad to say that not only was this story cut short by 40 episodes but also isn’t English dubbed for the last 30+ episodes, but I am happy to say that it’s a wonderful break from the over saturated “look” of vampires.
Between the prince’s full name used as a punishment, to the romantic sillyness of Rabbit and Woo’s relationship, and the craziness of 14 people trying to keep a secret, live together, many of the stories really could have finished out a great show.
From the first episode when the 4 vamps are watching IWTV and ask if humans become mosquitoes if they get bitten by them I knew I needed to watch more. There was the miss-step in a twilight mindset, but quickly showed who was preferred by the audience of the 4 vamps.
As I said the last 30+ episodes I have not been able to find in English and so even with my tiny knowledge of the Korean language I got the jist of what happens and what could have happened in the missing 40 episodes. Not all would have ended up with someone and the secret wouldn’t have been important anymore. They would have started their lives as many people do when moving to a new place.
I do wish there was a reunion of the characters either scripted or not but it’s been a long time. Don’t get me wrong I prefer the dangerous, they will kill you kind of vampire, but this series will always be on my list of favorites.
(Sorry to add but Soo Hyuk here and as Gwi is my favorite vamp of all time.)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Vampire Prosecutor 2
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This season is better than the first in that the focus wasn’t only on the cases. With the mix in of the new antagonist who is a cleaver and worthy foe.
I admit that the L character is the only reason I watched it to the end. He was electric and I wished he had his own series of causing chaos. Vampires are supposed to be the dangerous monsters of nightmares, and L never disappoints.
It was disappointing it the hint of a 3rd season with no response.
If you need a vampire fix, start with season 2.
Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 12/16
The Smile Has Left Your Eyes
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
12 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This drama is not like other romantic dramas, this one is suspense, thriller and romantic at the same time. The story will grow on you and will stick with you, the story of this drama would make you question morality and whats right and wrong. It tells how life is unpredictable and goes according to its own plan. That a man has many shades to him, if there is a darker side of him then there must be an entirely opposite and sweet side to him. That every action of ours no matter how small it is have consequences, even if you think that you are doing a good deed it may not necessarily yield the result that we want. This drama is a remake of famous Japanese drama and for me its a masterpiece. Its story is not cliched but is different and full of twists. All the actors deserve standing ovation. Seo Inguk has proved that he is a man of many colours.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Obsessed with Heart
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
The story was excellent. You can read about in the plot. I like that the story connects three different stories. And as with great supernatural stories we are left with a little mystery to solve within ourselves.

It is hard to believe how young the actors are because they were all better than most of the older adults in some of the Asian dramas I have watched. They are naturals.

The music was great overall, but I only in the context of the series. I doubt I would download any of it

It definitely needs to be rewatched to understand the mysteries of it. And with all the excellent writing and acting it would be worth it.

The series has a heart that will bring you to tears if you have a heart.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jealousy Incarnate
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
I came here after watching dramas like It's Ok that's love and Oh My Ghostess, expecting some great stories and performance from the actors who did great in the dramas mentioned before.
The acting skills in this drama were really high, with complex and fast dialogs, also a lot of corporal expressions and improvisations. The music was nice and most of the writings were really well thought and the themes were developed really well with deepness and intention.
So why I give and 8 over 10 in overall and no more?
As the title said I felt the drama lacked a bit on the charm side, maybe because they put too much effort on some bittersweet comedy scenes and the main male character had a kind of akward personality, with the contrast of giving a great personality to the second lead male and rival of the main.
Also the main stories were somehow simple (probably more suited for 16-20 episodes instead of 24), forcing the drama to focus on some side scenes not very intriguing but some of them funny at least. With that, the dramatics lost some strenght.
However, the high acting sklls and a decent conclusion of the stories made up for a really decent drama overall.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Agent X
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
42 of 42 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
For a drama about the chinese civil war, this is actually a quite interesting and a refreshing twist to the normal story line for this kind of drama. The story line is quite complex, there's a quite a bit of mystery and scandals going on throughout the drama which only we the audience and the parties involved know about until it all gets exposed in the end.
One of the two downsides to it is probably the production; the action scenes seem to well synchronised to be realistic and the props used frankly resembled something brought from a toy store. And then of course there was the female lead. Tiffany Tang is well known for taking Mary Sue roles and this role did not disappoint. Everyone else seems to take their role extremely seriously and was convincing enough to be special agents, only she was....let's say luck was always on her side so she didn't need to do much in order to survive and succeed. But hey, I got to like her in the end, as the drama could be quite depressing and dark sometimes and you could always guarantee she would cause some sort of trouble to lighten things up again.
But overall it was an enjoyable drama and I would really recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Girl Who Sees Scents
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Unfortunately there's a basic word count for reviews so 'Show is dumb and everyone is stupid' will probably be deemed inadequate. So I will attempt to put some more words around that overall conclusion to at least meet the minimum requirements.

Shin Se-kyung (Oh Choi-rim/Choi Eun-seol) and Park Yoo-chun ( Choi Moo-gak) put in enjoyable performances in this show about a woman who can see smells and a man who has some kind of traumatic narcolepsy. Regardless of the show's flaws - and it has many - the OTP has a lot of cute and the relationship is enjoyably angst-free.

Even in the romance scenes, however, this drama is paint-by-numbers. It consists of a succession of kdrama cliches, jarring tonal shifts and the obligatory serial killer. All of this could be forgiven if the plot wasn't almost entirely driven by people being excruciatingly stupid.

Even the male lead - who starts the show as the Best Detective Ever by virtue of not being a blistering idiot - gets quickly infected with Stupid once he's finally accepted by the crack team of morons in the Investigative Unit. These detectives are played almost entirely for comic relief by a number of quality Korean actors who really deserve better.

The central conceit of the show - the female lead's synesthesia - is treated more as a supernatural power than a medical condition and her emotional journey is regularly jettisoned in favour of the male lead's. This is a common problem with kdramas and this show is one of the worst examples of it.

Show gives us a generic and poorly-drawn antagonist whose genius is regularly achieved by the other characters being exceptionally dumb. We're supposed to think this antagonist is playing Chess with the police, but really it's more like a drunken game of snakes and ladders.

In the end, show is dumb and everyone is stupid.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mr. Sunshine
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I don't speak Korean so I had to watch this series with subtitles. I watched the entire series twice! This is the best drama that I have watch in all of 2018. The cinematography, sound, special effects, costumes, just about everything is absolutely stunning and left us mesmerized for the entire series. But most of all the acting by all the characters in the series are all top notch. The music also needs special mention. The pieces were perfectly matched to almost every scene. Sori by Lee Suhyun of AKMU was especially haunting and beautiful. There wasn't a dry eye in the room.

I started the series sort of half interested. I found the first episode to be somewhat disjointed and confusing. It turns out it was a necessary step to understanding the rest of the series. By the third episode we were all hooked not just by the superb acting of Kim Tae-ri and Lee Byung-hun but also Kim Kang-hoon who played Eugene as a child. And it only got better from there! This is definitely binge worthy.

Kudos to the director, cinematographer, sound editor, for a truly epic experience.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
HIStory2: Boundary Crossing
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It is an amazing series for a person who would love to watch something quick but interesting and meaningful. It is a drama with complex plot and I think there is also a part 2 coming with it. This will keep you hooked up to know more about the characters and even rewatch it a few times just because you'll feel like rewatching it a million times again! The two main couples are simply amazing in expressing the characters as if it was their own life...and its simply breathtaking!
I think only in part two they might explain more about the character. Though the drama is about love, they have equally given importance to the theme of volleyball. Volleyball is the main part which connects all the characters in the drama and its quite a refreshing scene out of the cliches that usually exist in dramas. A sport based gay drama...already waiting for part two....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love by Chance
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
I watched the last episode without a subtitle, because I am a little impatient but I won't let that affect my review. I will be speaking honestly based on my opinions about the series. I initially liked it for the interaction between the characters Ae and Pete, but then as I met through the other characters I am floored . I loved all the couples in the drama. Though there are four main couples... I personally feel Ae and Pete has predominated the rest of the couples(it is just my opinion). But that is also an advantage in the series, you get to see the sweet and fluffy moments between Ae and Pete. The friendship between the characters is amazing, the family aspects, the development of love between the main couples and the already existing hidden love. It is all beautiful. On the whole, I wish there was another episode to it(I am not entirely sure if there is a season 2) Kinda felt it was a bit abrupt (again, it can just be me). I would love to see if there is a part two...I am not sure if I will rewatch it again...maybe for the couples I like the most!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sotus S: The Series
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
13 of 13 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I watched SOTUS S right after I watched SOTUS The Series, truth is that I was addicted and desperately wanted to know what happened to the characters after the end of its prequel. Honestly it did not disappoint me in any ways. I personally loved the whole idea and the extra scenes they put in the story. I am still amazed by the love between the main lead characters and their friendships too. Its worth rewatching and will not fail to lure you into their love! The cast and crew who worked on it should be really appreciated especially Krist and Singto who are such professionals to bring out the best out of the characters.
P.S : I found a video of the interview of Kongpob and Arthit on youtube after Sotus S series... which btw is really cool. People who have already watched the series should check it out!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
'Cause You're My Boy
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
This show started off really promising but like many of the other reviewers said, it went downhill very, VERY fast. So many problems popping up out of nowhere, so many unanswered questions to issues that were presented as big, it was just a big fucking mess, which was sad because the the two main actors really had a lot of chemistry with each other. The budget was low, one big giveaway for that was from the terrible audio in a lot of the scenes. Letting us at least know whatever condition Mork had that caused his nosebleeds and not leaving us with all this ominous talk about taking care of each other forever and not “leaving” (aka dying) would’ve been one way to make the show better. The other thing I think they could’ve done is about one of the last scenes where Tee is leaving to go study abroad and he puts the blindfold on Mork. It was assumed by a lot of people that he was going to ask Mork to go with him but the scene just kind of ends with nothing and then we get that weird last scene that’s the ice cream commercial that I’m not even gonna talk about. I think the best close for the season would’ve been for Tee to ask Mork to go with him because at that point, both of their families had accepted them, and it just seemed like that’s what they were setting up for this whole time. The reason my overall review is pretty high is because the actual scenes with the couple were adorable and they melted my heart. They were cute as hell tbh. I would rewatch just for those cute scenes of them. I’m looking forward to their episode in our skyy to see where they are at now.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sotus: The Series
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
For a person who didn't want to watch any series for two years(since the release of Sotus), I started watching the series (completed it overnight) for a single conversation b/w the main leads and I am hooked to it. In my opinion, the idea of Love beyond Lust is beautifully depicted in SOTUS The Series which is also another reason why I am completely addicted to it (rewatched it at least 20 times by now). I literally fell in love with every single aspect in the series including the story, cast and crew, the acting, music, in short everything but most of all, the love between the main leads and the friendship they share with their friends. I definitely have to mention Krist and Singto for doing an amazing job, along with the other cast and crew members who put their effort in making this a wonderful series. Hats off to them all. For a lady who doesn't even know a single word in Thai I surely enjoyed it with the help of subtitles(Which wasn't bad at all) and the show did manage to pull me into the field of Thai dramas since then!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions