The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Oh My Grace
5 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 2.0
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
It's a Dramafever original! My expectations weren't high to begin with, but I was cautiously optimistic since a) It's Dramafever's first drama and b) It' only seven 7-minute episodes.

After the first episode I knew it wasn't really good, but hey, it's important to try and it might improve.
After watching the whole drama, I can safely say it's been a while since I saw such a humongous dumpster fire.

Story: rushed and unconnected. They tried to squeeze in the whole 20 hour drama storyline in 49 minutes. It didn't work. Even the cliches seemed rushed. Still, we glimpsed the following: getting drunk, piggyback ride, eating food from street stalls, rich heir and poor girl trope, rebellious heir, love triangle, second lead syndrome, tsundere male lead and the poor girl getting a makeover trope. Ugh. Add in the open ending, terrible "inspirational" one-liners and a general sense of hopelessness as to where this plot is going and what you get is a whole new level of unwatchable. Honestly, if it wasn't this short, I wouldn't have made it.

Filming: do you like a shaky camera with lots of refocusing and jump cut scenes? If so, you're up for a real treat. My personal favorite was the scene in which they walk down the road - it lasts 5 seconds and has 3 jump cut scenes. We're on one end of the road. And now in the middle. And now at the other end! Wasn't this exciting? Yay.

Acting: I dislike insulting actors for their work so I'l just say the nicest things I can. They didn't stutter and the second lead's dancing was better than expected.

Music: boring but passable

Rewatch value: it has one? Honestly, if you want to watch a romantic short drama you're better off with pretty much anything. May I suggest Another Parting, Between Friendship and Love, The Boy Next Door, She is 200 Years Old? They're all under 2 hours long.

Good points: imagine all the money you'd save on plane tickets if all it took to travel across the ocean was to get drunk and pass out near the sea.

Bad points: everything else

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ruk Tong Oom
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
*sniff*... This one had SO MUCH potential. SO MUCH!!!! And it completely ruined it! Don't get me wrong, the first ten episodes were EXEMPLARY for a lakorn. Interesting premise, awesome chemistry between the main leads, fun side characters, great directing. But then came episode 11.
STORY: Epsiode 11 made the entire lakorn go down the drain for me. I would rather gouge my own eye out with a spoon than watch those last four episodes again. The first ten were great, with a smoothly developing plot line and everything. But then episodes 11-14 came along, and it was as though the first ten episodes never happened. The show started acting out every romantic cliche ever (I've seen the balloon with the ring attached to the end of it in about a hundred different rom-coms), and I don't remember anyone even mentioning Ta Nu in the last two episodes. They created a whole new plotline for the story in the span of one episode, and went off of that for the remainder of the drama. It wouldn't have been so bad if the new plot had 1) been relevant to the first ten episodes, and 2) not played off of every lakorn cliche there is. That whole line with the nang rai came completely out of the blue and was downright frustrating. Then the last episode... ugh. They literally wrote in Great getting injured in the most random way possible so we could have a scene of Matt crying over his hospital bed, then he recovered in less than ten minutes, and we rushed into a random pregnancy montage in the span of five minutes. It felt like the show had a complete personality transplant, and was trying to cram in every sweet scene possible with minimal plot development (if any). It made me so angry because the first ten episodes were SO GOOD. Then the drama just threw it all away.
ACTING/CAST: The cast did a really good job in their respective roles. The couples were well-developed and believable, and each of the characters was flawed in small ways, just like the rest of us. Great/Matt chemistry was on point, and Ta Nu was absolutely adorable.
MUSIC: Good, but nothing too remarkable.
REWATCH VALUE: 9 for the first ten episodes, 2 for the last four comes out to about 5. I have rewatched the first part, but the second is just too painful.
All in all, this lakorn had a lot of potential until it threw it all away in the most horrific ways possible.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
4 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
I AM SO SO PLEASED THAT THIS DRAMA DIDN'T DISAPPOINT ME! After watching The Bride of Habaek and being completely disappointed, I was hesitantly looking forward to this one. The last drama I watched Suzy in, I dropped after 3 episodes. But I fell in love with LJS and was excited to see these two leads together. This drama drew me in on episode 1. Rarely ever in dramas, have I ever had a first episode grip me and keep me on the edge of my seat. The attention to detail in this drama is superb. Things that happen that don't make sense in the moment, come back full circle and leave you sitting there gasping, "SO THAT'S WHAT IT WAS!" Kudos to the writers for weaving such intricate plot points. And the finale brings everything back full circle and is so satisfying. The OST in this drama is 10/10. For me, it was on par with Goblin's OST. Which is pretty hard, to be honest. I downloaded every track and even the background music. Suzy did such an amazing job with two of her singles for this ost. The whole thing has a soothing, melancholy vibe to it. It makes me feel all cozy and relaxed.  The actors were wonderful in their roles. Even supporting ones. Suzy gets a lot of flak for her acting, but I really think she did a good job here. And of course, LJS did a great job as well. This drama sort of gave me W vibes since the tension is so ramped up every episode. And there are sooooo many plot twists. All brilliant. All executed at just the right moment to give it maximum impact. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews for this drama. It's a must watch of 2017 for sure. If you are hesitating about watching it, I urge you to just take a chance and see. A running theme through this drama is fate and chances. And how one choice could impact your entire life. So take a chance and just click the first episode and you may find this right up there on your top drama list.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Legendary Tycoon
3 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 4.0
The Legendary Tycoon is a loosly based adaption of the life of legendary Hong Kong film mogul, Run Run Shaw. When I say loosely based adaption, however, I am very serious. Honestly speaking, the only true to his life facts in this drama are the family background and the time spent building up the film company in Singapore. Everything else, from the character names down to the characters themselves, are fictional. That's not necessarily a bad thing, and indeed, it worked well in the beginning. The issues started after the first one third of the drama, though.

My biggest problem with this drama started with the introduction of the charactets of Kong Lin Jie and Xaio Yu. From that point on, the story changed from a history of how the brothers established a movie company from nothing into a messy love triangle between Gu Yan Mei (the character bassed on Run Run Shaw), his fictional life long rival Lin Jie, and his simpering yet manipulative second love Xaio Yu. I had a huge dislike of Xaio Yu. None of it comes from the fact that because of the Hallayu ban in China, Ku Hye Sun was replaced with a Chinese actress. I would have intensely disliked the character no matter who played her. She was written awfully and I could not fathom why those two male characters would love her so much. I could go on and on about that, but I won't. I will just leave it at the character being awful and unlikable.

One other problem I had with it is the editing. I don't really even mean the obvious CGI edited in actress switch to scenes, either. I mean the editing of the whole drama in general. It really gets choppy in the final third. Characters are suddenly written out, things happen without explanation, new characters show up without back story. The characters you came to be attached to in the beginning are no longer there. It is hard to invest in the new characters. To top it all off, the last few episodes feel really weird. I won't spoil it, but I will say that new characters show up and things happen that do not make sense. It is only for overdramatic purposes.

Finally, my last complaint is that characters became inconsistent. Their personalities, motives and behaviors changed in order to force dramatic events in the plot. I hate it when drama writers do this! It is a major peeve of mine.

In the end, I can say again that The Legendary Tycoon started off really well and had a lot of potential but it lost itself along the way and became a chore to complete.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Love So Beautiful
11 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Taking this drama off my currently watching list and putting it on my completed list was a very bittersweet moment for me. I truly think I will NEVER find a drama as cute, sweet, and full of life and love as A Love So Beautiful. This drama will forever hold a special place in my heart.

STORY:
The plot follows your basic Itazura na Kiss franchise, except the girl isn't as clingy and the guy isn't as cold. This made the drama a lot more watchable because I wasn't constantly frustrated with the characters. The storyline also progressed very smoothly: it transitions from high school life to adult life (while focusing the most on high school life). I fell in love with the friend group and the teachers who supported Chen XiaoXi. Even the characters I had initially hated I grew to love because the character development is off the charts. This really is the best youth drama because it truly captured the ways how people change and grow as they enter adulthood. From the bittersweet graduation to the rowdy class reunion, this drama shows that even though friends can be separated by distance, they will never be truly separated by love and fate. The love story between Chen XiaoXi and Jiang Chen also developed really well. It was one of those romances where you can't keep a silly smile off of your face and there's always a tingle in your fingertips. Overall, what made the storyline so amazing was the romance, the friendships, and the development.

ACTING/CAST:
I am so so SO impressed with all of the leads. This was both Hu Yi Tian and Shen Yue's first main role and they did a phenomenal job. They also had adorable chemistry and the height difference between HYT and SY was the cutest thing ever. Sun Ning (Lu Yang) and Wang Zi Wei (Lin Jing Xiao) also really complimented each other and brought their character's relationship to life. Now, let's talk about Gao Zhi Ting (Wu Bo Song). I FELL IN LOVE WITH GAO ZHI TING. He was so charming, funny, and total husband material. I found myself in a constant state of distress as I watched this drama because I couldn't decide if I supported Jiang Chen or Wu Bo Song. The second lead syndrome was SO strong in this drama. The love triangle is definitely interesting to watch. Hands down amazing cast and amazing acting!!

MUSIC:
You have no idea how much I love the opening. I never skipped it once, and I always sang along to it each time I watched it. Not only is it super cute, but the lyrics also capture the essence of youth and young love. The ending song is also very good. However, when I finished the last episode and the ending song started to play I couldn't help but cry. The music is amazing and compliments the drama very well!!

REWATCH VALUE:
I would definitely rewatch it!! This was such a short and refreshing drama, and the storyline was very fresh. I fell in love with the characters, and I would definitely go back to see them again!

OVERALL:
Hands down the best drama I have EVER watched. I really hope they make a season 2 because it's being labeled as the best youth drama in China right now as well. For those people on the fence about this drama, jump over the fence!! I promise you won't regret it!! Thank you so much for creating this drama. It will forever hold a special place in my heart :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ito-kun A to E
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Love the casting and music. The value of this story is truly awesome, but it should have a bit more spark into the film.

Rio Yazaki is a 32-year-old screenwriter. She was once popular, but not anymore. In her past, she wrote hit drama series “Tokyo Doll House.” Since that time, she hasn't written any other hit titles. One day, Rio Yazaki gives a lecture. She gives out a questionnaire and from the answers, notices 4 women in her audience are dating the same man. Rio Yazaki decides to write a drama series based on these women's love story.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Vigilantes in Masks
0 people found this review helpful
by ken
4 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
The Vigilantes in Masks was my First ever Chinese Drama I watched and I got to say I'm glad I choose it to be my first one.

Story: The story is very good and simple. 4 heroes( 3 guys and 1 girl) help the poor people and their problems caused by high class rank people . This type of plot where the main actors are the good and have to fight evil will always be a favorite. I loved how each character was different so you could tell who is who and they all stand out. It was so hard to pick which one you loved the best but I just loved all 4 of them. Lots of challenges for them to overcome especially for Li Ge Xiao . 

Acting/Cast: I think the choices for each role was well done. I don't think anyone else would have made the drama better than this cast. I love the chemistry between Wallace Huo and Liu ShiShi.  Xing Yu as Chai Hu was just wonderful to watch his comedy mixed with his fighting was fun.

Music: I don't think its well known but the music is not a problem. The opening is good, it gives you a good feeling to get ready to kick ass. The ending song is much different more of a soft tone, quiet, or sad/love song. In the end I liked the music in this drama.

Rewatch Value: 30 episodes seems about right if the drama is gonna be long. I would love to watch it all over again.

Overall: If your new to Chinese dramas, then I suggest this to be your first one to watch. I really think more people should watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kimi Wa Petto
2 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
I loved it. It was cute and fluffy with a little bit of angst mixed in. It's a good drama for when a drama drought, haha!

Story: The story is one that I didn't want to watch because I didn't understand the story line, I thought it was going to be a little messed up, but then with I saw the cast, I didn't want to not watch it, so I gave it a try.

Cast: I really liked the cast, for me they fit their roles perfectly. Momo was so good at switching his faces between bright and dark. The main lead, while not very good at controlling her face, I think it played into making the character more, because she was such an innocent character who just wanted to have true acceptance. The other part of the cast, I think they did well- it was definitely interesting to see their arc.

Music: it fit, haha. I liked it!

Rewatch: I'll rewatch scenes probably, but not the whole drama...  I liked the scenes between the main match, so I'll probably watch them.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Wednesday 3:30 p.m.
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
This wasn't like something that I excepted - in a bit of a disappointing way! You lied to me, I read the reviews and they told me that it was going to be a short, but fun ride with lots of cutesy and fluffy scenes! It wasn't that at all!
I had a really hard time watching this, it seemed as though my attention span shrunk to the size of a pea and I would get distracted so easily while watching it. First of all, the plot isn't all of that unique or though-provoking and usually, overdone stories don't bother me too too much. But this drama was completely uninteresting. Web-style or short dramas tend to have many scenes that are appealing to viewers right at the first episodes, but this drama didn't have almost any heart-warming scenes that would make me squeak. Second, the characters didn't feel relatable or, in fact, I could't call them "real people" at all. I only rated this drama quite highly because of the main character chemistry. They were both very adorable. Oh, and that dog too! 
Maybe my expectations for short dramas are totally so high up there because of this one web-drama that I've watched recently, but this one isn't worth watching actually. You won't find many romantic or cutesy scenes in this one!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Mad Dog
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
Yes! Yes! Yes! I finally finished this what seemed to be a very long drama. I started this drama on a whim because, well, I liked the cover photo. Haha. Then I saw the actors. That gave me a boost to start watching it. But once it started, I found that I couldn't watch more than one episode a day. It seemed draggy. I'm not a newbie to revenge dramas, so this came as a surprise to me. Why did it seem so draggy. But once I hit episode 7 I was ready for my marathon!

The speed at which it took off was amazing. The planning, the backstabbing were all so sweet. I couldn't stop watching. From then until the end of the drama I was on the edge of my seat.

Mr. Choi was so bad ass, Pentium was my eye candy, Cheetah was always ready to make me laugh and Ms. Jang was just too pretty. Mad Dog team is so cool. Then in came Kim Min Joon. Gosh, he's such a looker. AMD the chemistry between him and Ms. Jang was hitting the roof. I loved it! If only there was more action between them. Oh well, nevertheless, very satisfying.

The acting was superb! I felt their pain when they cried and lost love ones. Damn. And other times they had me shouting at the screen. "Don't do that" "Send it quick" " Don't get caught" sigh. Draining. But this is what I look for in a drama. 

This drama might not be for everyone but I'd still recommend you give it a try. Definitely.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Because This is My First Life
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
This is my first review, so sorry if it's kinda akward.
Usually I don't like watching airing dramas because I prefer to binge watch them once they are finished, but as soon as I watched the first episode I got really hooked and was looking forward to every monday.

Story:

What I love about this drama is the fact that they focus on all 3 relationships and it never gets boring. Some things are quite predictable, but some aren't. I liked that there was a romance drama which isn't complete cliche and the story itself was really refreshing in my opinion and I was sad when it ended. Some people might didn't enjoy the last 2 episodes, but for me they were almost perfect for this drama to be honest.

Acting:

I was really looking forward to this drama because of the cast, and what can I say, they couldn't have find better actors for the roles and I really loved all of them.

Music:

I usually don't care too much about the OST's of a drama, I like to listen to them once in a while, and that's it. But somehow, for this drama i found the Soundtracks just perfect. They added the music so good and it always fit the situation well, especially when there were sad scenes. A good fittinh OST in an emotional scene makes me cry everytime, and this happend a
to me a few times while watching.

Rewatchable Value:

I think its one of those dramas, which you can rewatch without getting bored because of its funny scenes and the lovely characters.

Overall:

WATCH IT!! It's seriously so well written and i think most people will enjoy this one, since there are so many relatable topics. And the main couples are just adorable :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
4 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Good Morning Call, well, the first season was the one which I really enjoyed. Even though I'm not too keen on Japanese dramas, but I was really anticipating on watching this. I was frustrated when I found out that it came out only on Netflix Japan. And now, after a long road and months of waiting, I finally binge-watched it when it showed up on my Netflix account.
Right of the bat, it's definitely not one of my must-see dramas or something that was really enjoyable. I kind of felt obligated to finish it because I've admired the first season a lot. The biggest problem might be that the plot is just too similar to Itazura na Kiss, literally. There are so many non-coincidental similarities in both of the second seasons of these two dramas. And I'm such a huge fan of the Mischievous Kiss franchise, I felt betrayed that Good Morning Call was a rip-off of the original series. I do see some positive things in this series though. For example, the main male lead Uehara had a better attitude in this season, it made me enjoy his character a bit more. Well, Yoshikawa's character was kind of unbelievable, seemed unreal to me. To add, I though the cinematography had improved a lot in this season too! You could see that the budget was higher to draw more people in. 
But overall, with many negative and small positive things, I still rated this an 7* because it was fun and the story seems timeless. I only recommend watching season 1 if you haven't seen this series yet. Season 2 was a waste of precious time in my opinion.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Meloholic
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Ah, mediocre shows are so much harder to review than bad ones.

The best thing I can say about Meloholic is that it wasnt bad...
...that's about it.

There is nothing to write home about, yet there is nothing particularly annoying about the show. TVXQ's Yunho was pretty forgettable as a lead, even though his character was supposed to be charismatic and sexy. Kyung Soo Jin was fine as well, though I have to say, her portrayal of Han Ju Ri is probably the best part of this show. Individually, I liked both Yunho's and Soo Jin's characters. Together? That's a different story. There was very, very little romance development. He literally meets her and decides to date her in the same episode. Soo Jin's character Han Ye Ri was supposed to be closed off towards any and all romantic advances, but pretty readily accepts Yunho's Eunho (gawd, they have the same name.)

To call this a psychological show would be stretching it- there is BARELY any deep, psycho-analysis of Ye Ri and her dual personality. It was just like "Hey, heres a heroine with multiple personality disorder and her alter-ego is the total opposite of her. Done." One can't help but draw comparisons to Kill Me, Heal Me, another show that deals with the same issue, but executes it much better. I wish they used the disorder more effectively into the plotline and delved a little deeper into it instead of keeping it superficial.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Love So Beautiful
2 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is another meteor garden fever feels! Of course it's totally different story but the feels fever is the same for me after 17 years I felt it again!!! Without this my 2017 won't ever be completed!! Sad to say that it ends so fast!!! The best best! They are natural in acting it's not like Korean over acting cuteness! This is superb acting! The leading lady is very cute and charming and she will be acting as San chai in meteor garden remake, can't wait to watch her and she deserve it no wonder she's the chosen one!
Was this review helpful to you?
Together With Me The Series
1 people found this review helpful
by Mara
5 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0

The story is fantastic, especially the evolution and discovery of Knock true feelings. I loved the chemistry between the main couple, it was just wonderful. The most romantic scenes want it you to see them again and again... I enjoyed it a lot.  The friendship of Korn and Yiywa surprised me very much. Her character, in my opinion, was what they needed to take that little step to be together. Her personality was fun to watch, beautiful and strong. Perfect to unite couples.
There were times when I hated Knock's attitude because although he might be confused with certain situations, he can notice the bad intentions of others, his girlfriends was a total bi"#$.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?