The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
MARS
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
Good drama, but the film is better because of the many different aspects of the narrative. The plot seemed more interesting in the movie than the drama itself. Basically at its core, it's a love story. A very deep. A very shy girl gets involved in a friendship with the bad boy of the school, which eventually turns into romance. However, there are many forces at play that will try to separate them. I can honestly say that I liked the old feel of this drama. The  T-drama is very old, now by the technical standards of the time, and  the quality, budget it had, left a little to be desired, we have naughty  cinematography, but the soundtrack is good. I liked the simplicity of the format and the cast, "MARS" despite the stumbling has adapted very well.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Hayate the Combat Butler
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
Very poor adaptation.
"Hayate the Combat Butler" is basically a hilarious romantic comedy that is full of parodies and censorship. There  are several obvious romantic interests among the characters yet not so  relevant to the story, but it helps to give purpose to the narrative  which in my view is very bad. The quality of cinematography is great for a comedy with characters that have the classic dramatic tone. Compared  to similar romance comedies that arrived at the same time the drama is  yummy and vibrant, however, there are dozens of flaws and far more  superior dramas. Overall, this is definitely a drama for  fans of dramas adapted due to the amount of jokes, errors and  performance related to these, the story is the weaker aspect and, after a  while, it is quite tedious and repetitive.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Go Fighting! Season 3
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
It's the first time I'm writing a review so it might be a bit messy, but here it goes:
EVERYTHING about Go Fighting was amazing to me. This was my first chinese show and it was very new. During the first episodes of Go Fighting S1 I couldn't figure out what it was actually about but then I immediately got attracted by the concept and THE CAST. I'd come for Yixing, and I stayed for everyone else. They are all like true brothers and watching them made me so happy. Trust me, if you start this show you can't get out of it. Atleast that's what happened to me :P

The reason I gave the show overall 9/10 is that during some episodes I didn't find it similar to Go Fighting season 1 & 2. But don't mind me, you'll love the show!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
3 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
Zijun had to go through hardship to be compassionate, but during her 1st marriage, she was such an ungrateful child.....now she has grown up and the only ones who sees it is her ex husband and Hehan.   Hehan feels in love not in love is big difference.
Tang Jing is not excepting responsibility to all the games she'd played to get passion from Hehan.   She had dragged Hehan into these mess.  Their relationship is not a business, Love or Non-Love is not a negotiable contract.  She kept saying she'd waited for 10 years, but it had been 10 years of Hehan's life as well.   She never trusted Hehan, and holds grudge, wouldn't let it go.   Now Tangjing wants to punish her best friend-Zijun for all the games she had done...who is the spoiled child now.   Who should get blamed here?  She is in her late 30th, an adult, must to take obligation instead of blaming anyone else.  She needs to learn to respect the man she so-called "love".
Zijun is the most pretty one inside out, she has no harm to anyone.   She is very forgiving person.   So she deserves the best after all.

Coming-up 2nd season of it, the ending should be like this:
Hehan and Zijun, two love birds eventually come together for good. TangJing meets the man of her dreams much happier than she ever dreamed of because the passion she was looking for is in the new love but this one does not allow her go her way.
Zijun’s ex-husband’s Junsheng , remember he’d always loved Zijun but her childish ways drove him to Lingling’s arms.....over time, Lingling has proven to be the manipulator as she truly is...that leads eventually their divorce, but Junsheng finally begins to stand up, no fear in him as a man instead of mouse he was.   After divorce, he too eventually finds someone new to love, so he grows up, always being Hehan’s friend as well as Zijun's.
Zijun's sister and husband finally grow up and settle down for him to take over the restaurant so Luo Luo can ride off in the sunset with Old Zhun.
Everyone gets what they deserve.
Finally to Chinese crew and producers, please don’t let the audience down when make 2nd season of it.    Thanks

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Meloholic
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
Song that describes this show's plot: Hang On( C. Baumann Remix) by DJ Freedom

I actually liked this show with the inneudos and all. The first 5 episodes were checking if viewers would stay with the show( with the sex puns and craziness), then they dropped the plot line hard in episode 6. I'm rewatching this show with the friend on the bus and I have enjoyed seeing it again.

I liked that the main guy couldn't fight. It added extra comedy value.
I also liked that the secondary personality was a thot. That was hilarious. I got to say the word "thot" a lot, just to describe the character.
I liked the transgender boy too. Extra comedy value. We were laughing so hard.

They only thing I particularly hated was there wasn't more fighting. I wished there was more battles.  There was room for that. Sometimes characters would let something happen to them and they could have hit the attacker with an item like a vase.

If you are looking for top tier drama, go elsewhere. If you are looking for a drama to enjoy and laugh at, this is where you stay. If you are looking for drama with cliches you laugh at, this is your show. If you hate comedy, get out immediately. If you are looking for smart thriller drama, nope, leave now. If you are looking you something heartwarming, this is kind of your show.

Everyone drags this show in mud, but enjoy the show for what is, not for what it isn't.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Hwarang
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
As I am very fond of Historical dramas, I thought I may give Hwarang a shot. Even though it was not that bad, the series did not meet my expectations, while having so much potential. The series had some decent side stories, which were pleasant to watch. However failed to meet any expectation of mine with their main story, which was very lacking, basic and weak. No clue why this series actually got twenty episodes as I am sure it would have fitted in just sixteen episodes. The actors were not doing a bad job and must say that they were up to standards, however I don't think Go Ah Ro (I like her as an actress though) should be used for a character like this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Introverted Boss
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
First of all I've got to confess that I am not really experienced in writing rewievs but reading not so pleasant reviews about this drama I felt a need to justificate it just a little bit.
The story itself is not top notch and I would not anticipate thrilling action or brilliant back story (it wasn't that bad though) from it but the strenght of this drama lies somwhere else. I strongly believe that the characters are what makes this drama unique and special. Have you ever watched a drama or a movie where you totally didn't get motivation beyond character's decisions? In this drama all the characters are given proper psychological background and you got to see their own struggles and the reason beyond their actions. There is also no stereotypicall villain and you you can not fully hate anyone (trust me irritation over female lead will pass) what's more you can see great character development.
Moving on to social anxiety topic I think that is another highlight of this drama and makes wievers reflect on few things. It coused me physical pain to watch how lonely and missunderstoodwas Hwang Ki was despite his trully warm and carrying personality. Placing the action in PR agency helped a lot to emphasize this issue in an interesting and creative way.
Lastly I would like to adress a bit touchy subject which was mix of sweet comedy with tragedy in the background. I personaly enjoyed quite a bit the comedy side. Hwang Ki and the rest of Silent Monster crew were just hilarious and adorable at the same time. Transitions between melodrama and comedy were subtle but I didn't have a problem with that so I guess it depends from a wiever if she or he would enjoy it.
About the music: typicall drama OST it was ok but not great.
Overall I think that the drama despite being not for everyone is still rather underrated. I think that people who are looking for complex characters, are interested in sociall anxiety topic or want a drama with refreshing male lead would enjoy it quite a bit.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Boku, Unmei no Hito desu
0 people found this review helpful
by Luly
3 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This might have been one of the most hyped dramas of the year, for the cast alone. At least, to people who's been around Johnny's for enough time to know what a big deal it was to have Kamenashi Kazuya and Yamashita Tomohisa together in a drama and performing the theme song, 12 years after Nobuta wo Produce/Seishun Amigo. And no matter what your taste in dramas is, if you were around for enough time, you know the impact Nobuta wo Produce had. Just like 12 years prior, the two were joined by a female lead, but considering Horikita Maki retired, someone like Kimura Fumino was an ideal choice to balance these two. Now, was it worth the hype? It's hard to say.

I'd say this drama is a close relative to Proposal Daisakusen in terms of plot, somewhat. There's a man whose destiny seems to be getting together with this girl and in comes a mysterious guy to act as some sort of donor character, a facilitator, to some extent, with the ultimatum that they have to get together because their future child will save the world in 30 years. No pressure.

I've been pleasently surprised with the main characters on this one. It's been a very recurring trope for the josei genre in general to have female leads who are either incredibly naive or too kind for their own good, clumsy and cutesy; and often paired with male leads who are cold, distant, seemingly disinterested or somewhat stalkerish. Not that it's a new trope, it's been around for ages, but it was everywhere last year. This is a really nice change, but not only that, the roles seem to be somewhat reversed from what they normally are: the male lead is the one pursuing destiny, believing in romance and wanting to go the distance for a chance to show his feelings, sometimes intense enough to break down in front of the female lead; while she's the guarded one, who isn't convinced by talks of destiny and love and who has been hurt once too many times to be taking chances easily. That alone got my attention from the start and the performances helped immensely, because they are enough to convey these characters perfectly. I also very much enjoyed Yamapi's funny and filled-with-puns character, and his scenes with Kame were a delight, but I can understand if it's not everyone's cup of tea.

My issue with this drama is that I felt that the writing wasn't up to par with the characters and performances. The plot was straightforward enough and could lead to interesting developments, but I feel there were some plot holes, inconsistencies and overall loose ends here and there, especially for the last few episodes. If this had been a straight-on comedy, I would have probably overlooked that a bit more, but it wasn't, the dramatic moments were intense and believable and the performances in those were too good as to put this in the shelf of "comedy" and call it a day. It's a very well-balanced drama, in that regard, and the performers are versatile and enjoyable. However, I don't feel the narrative of the plot and the writing, when it came to that, were as well adjusted as they could have been for it to work much better and make the characters justice. It wasn't terrible, but it won't be a memorable drama in general for me, at least not for the writing.

I think that, when it comes down to it, it was a refreshing take on a romantic drama with adult leads, which is more than I can say for what I expected. It's not the best written one around, but it's very well performed and the characters alone make it worth the while. It's not the mind-blowing comeback I was hoping for, but it's enough to make me proud I've waited and happy that I've watched.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Liar Game
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
I enjoyed this drama a lot. There are certainly a lot of plot twists and unexpected scenes which kept me watching. I kinda (?) binge watched this series and completed in less than 3 days. I loved the acting skill and the characters were all really unique. I especially liked Jamie and how she made us hate her with all our hearts in the first few episodes but quickly we all came to adore her cleverness and sharpness. Nam Da Jung's character however, I personally felt she was too naive and that naiveness could be frustrating at times. However, the supporting roles and the main roles worked together really well and I am once again impressed with the actor who played the villain. I highly recommend this drama to those who are curious and interested~

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
3 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
What attracted me to this drama was the borderline incest. I know, I'm weird but there's something fascinating about that!
The issue I had with this drama was that nothing really happens?
If people are that worried about the 'incest' part, don't be because Haruka does not realise it himself that his actions are because he is in love with her, not because she is his younger sister.
I found Haruka so damn good looking! He gave me tsundere vibes and I love how he is just soooooo sweet to Setoka.
Setoka on the other hand is a type of female character I don't really like. Falls in love with boys too easily, but in  a way I liked her positive attitude, which is the reason why she is so bullet proof to males rejecting her love confessions.
The other love interests for Setoka were appealing to the eyes, but their characters were not developed well enough for me to really care about them. Yes, they are love rivals, but let's be real, I'm rooting for Haruka to get Setoka!
Overall, it is good and very short drama to watch!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sisters Slam Dunk: Season 2
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Great show! It is a variety, but in many ways it is so much more. There are things for everyone such as comedy, emotion, and music, plus a great set of women working to achieve a great goal! Lots of different dynamics too, and shows sides to certain people that can't be seen anywhere else. For those who love Minzy, Hong Jinyoung, and or Somi, you will love all of the new things you will discover about and with them. Their vibe is very reminiscent of the girl group EXID, so if you are a LEGGO I would also recommend!
Was this review helpful to you?
Avengers Social Club
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Amazing story, great characters, and great character development. So many different stories coming together to rise up out of the shadows and do something more than what is expected, plus there is some quality humor that can only come from this mix of actresses. La Miran gives so much vibrance and authenticity to her character's background, and both Lee Yowon and myung Sebin pull at heartstrings that I didn't even know I had. I recommend to anyone who wants to break away from very stereotypical K-drama romance stories and instead see the development of a great friendship/squad that fights against many underlying social problems! Hope this show gets the recognition it deserves!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Oh My Grace
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 1.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I try to be fairly open minded when approaching dramas, but the trailer made me really nervous to watch this. Something about female lead is instantly not likeable, maybe it's a lack of feeling of genuine personality or an overworked trope she has to portray. Her movement exaggerations seem very over performed rather than a natural action carried out. Her Korean lines sounded better than her lines delivered in English which fell very flat and sound very 'read'. The fact that a woman her age cannot figure out how to fold clothes into a bag was a final straw for me...I mean it's not rocket science. The only thing she seems good at is getting drunk. They should have cast a sassy girl who is excellent at improv like Megan Bowen (youtube). Somehow the story didn't really pull together overall so it might leave you annoyed and unsatisfied. Poor male actors did what they could with what they were given to work with, they tried  but they just couldn't sell it!
For drama with non-Asian lead, I suggest Tamra the Island.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Love So Beautiful
9 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This has become my absolute favorite drama of all time! So cute!!

I remember I had found out about this drama on YouTube when the trailer had showed up on my feed (https://youtu.be/GUV50QDDR-M). I was about to not click on it, but I'm glad I did. The trailer was soo cute and I really thought that the show was airing already. I immediately shared the trailer with my friend and she was hooked in! We began obsessing over when the show was going to air, and even counting down how many days until the first episode would release (lol). If you were following the drama on it's MDL page, you would know that the airing date was originally said to be November 30, but then it was updated to November 9! I think I've watched the trailer more than ten times now just to fill the time as I wait for new episodes to be released.

This drama is generally about a girl who is the childhood friend of the boy she likes. They go to school together, and eventually mutual feelings develop. While this happens, a new male student is introduced, and happens to become the male lead's rival (there is a female rival too, but she isn't a major part of the story). Although there is a love triangle, nothing overly dramatic or harsh happens between the male characters, except for a little jealousy here and there. This is mainly because they share the same friend circle, and the boys are pretty mature...although...the male lead gets jealous quite a lot XD. Also, the story secretly highlights some real issues people face in life, and that not everything in life goes as smoothly as planned (work, college, relationships). On a side note, the high school portion of the story does take up a majority of the drama (meaning there are more episodes focused on it), but nevertheless it is still a wonderful drama.

I also want to point out some key characteristics of the different people in this drama.
Chen Xiaoxi: She is a very easy-going, cute, innocent, and funny character. Although she isn't the brightest when it comes to her studies, sports, and other things, she shows determination regardless. I personally think she is the friend people wish they had during their childhood.
Jiang Chen: He is very smart, good-looking, and mature for his age. Unlike many other dramas, he does secretly like Xiaoxi back--though we constantly see him trying to pretend to not be interested in Xiaoxi--and isn't afraid to let her know later in the story. I love that his love for Xiaoxi never strays, and in his heart there is no room for anyone else but her.
Wu Bosong: He is a very thoughtful, sweet, and funny person. We often see him running back and forth to get things for Xiaoxi and make sure that she is okay. A lot of the things he does for Xiaoxi he hides it from her, and I especially loved the time where he told the store owner to say that everything was less expensive than it really was, for Xiaoxi. He is the guy that all girls wish they meet. He is honestly just soo caring!
Jing Jing: I absolutely love her, she is such a great friend to Xiaoxi, and stands up for her friends no matter one. She is smart, pretty, and strong as an individual.
Lu Yang: He is so cute and funny. Although he is very childish, he can be a very serious person. He is a person who does not take friendships lightly, and will always help out no matter what.

I personally found this drama very cute, funny, and light-hearted. It has just the right feel and even though it's supposed to be a romance drama, it didn't feel overwhelming. What I mean by that is the drama didn't have one scene after another that was solely focused on the main characters, at least in the beginning when they were still in high school. It didn't shout "ROMANCE" all the time. It was balanced, and focused in on other relationships too and the overall "story", if you get what I mean; which I think is something Chinese dramas excel in. For me, I prefer when dramas develop an exciting plot and not just an exciting romance story. As the story goes on, I noticed that towards the last few episodes where it is focusing on their adulthood, that the pace of the story picked up. Although it did not affect my experience in watching the drama, I wish the drama could have slowed down a little bit and been a little longer. There were multiple times where the story suddenly jumped through a period of time in their life ("one month later").

Overall, I would definitely recommend this drama.

P.S. If you were wondering how tall Hu Yitian is he's 188cm, and Shen Yue is 160cm.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Love So Beautiful
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I came across this drama simply because I had finished my exams and wanted something to watch and I gave this drama a try without much of a thought tbh. But hey, that's probably the best thing I've done in a sometime. SO for anyone wondering if this is worth the watch IT DEFINITELY IS! I highly recommend watching this show. Honestly throughout the whole time I was watching this show, I was anticipating everything. The story was well thought out and planned, and it's a bonus seeing as the actors and actresses acted really well. Out of all the Chinese teen dramas I've watched, this far by was the best (I haven't watched a lot but so far this is the best).

There are many reasons why I would recommend you this show but the biggest reason would be how beautifully friendship was portrayed throughout the drama. The amount of times I had to hold back my tears and laughter was crazy. The way friendship was portrayed in this drama really gave me a reality wake up call. I absolutely loved the main cast and the support cast. The main guy: His character was played out really good. Sometimes I just wanted to chuck a shoe at him for being such an idiot but EITHER WAY HE'S  BEAUTIFUL so it didn't matter. The way he fell in love with the girl is heartwarming. Main girl: She's absolutely cute. I loved her everything about her, from her cuteness to her willingness to always try her hardest. I was envious of how the main cast progressed their love. It was honestly beautiful to see their friendship grow into love. HONESTLY THEIR LOVE WAS WORTH IT. I felt like a kid wanting to just stay in school forever after watching this drama. This drama honestly portrays how someone progresses from being a kid at high school to an adult facing reality. The girl bestfriend: OMG. There's nothing you can hate about this girl. She's what everyone wants as a bestfriend. She's beautiful, smart, funny, and most of all cares so much for her friends. I loved seeing the friends stick up to one another, regardless of them having issues with one another. I will tell you right now, if you were to watch this show what you'd love is her character. She is literally everyone's dream bestfriend. I promise. The boy bestfriend (swimmer): My heart breaks for him. 1) He's absolutely beautiful 2) WHY DID HE HAVE TO FALL IN LOVE? He's legit the guy you'd want as a bestfriend. He's someone whose willingness makes you cry inside and outside. Out of everyone, I felt a sense of happiness towards him the most. I WILL TELL YOU RIGHT NOW, he IS the best. THE FRIENDS PORTRAYED IN THIS DRAMA WAS AMAZING. I can't obviously miss out the cute little boy: HE WAS CUTE. Omg, I had to hold onto my heart everytime I watched him. His cuteness just takes my breath away all the damn time. It, too was beautiful to watch his love for the girl progress. Can I just say how strong the love triangle was between the main cast and the swimmer? Some point, ngl I hoped for the swimmer to be the main guy. Why? BECAUSE MY HEART HURTS WATCHING HIM.

Long story short:
This drama is a MUST WATCH.
Music. Acting. Storyline. Visuals. Everything. is 10/10.

Will I watch this again? Absolutely. I'm definitely going to come back and watch this after my exams finish. Honestly, for those who have already left school, this is THE DRAMA. It will seriously let you reminisce, allow you to feel melancholic etc! It will most definitely make you want to go back to school and cherish all those moments, good or bad. I'm saying from from a high school student, this drama is beautiful. In every way possible.  

I am very new to Chinese dramas (as I usually watch Korean mostly) but this is far by the best I've watched. This drama I believe is an actual depiction of what it feels like to grow up and mature. I will say it right now, for sure you won't regret watching this drama. If you hate it, or don't like it: that's okay, I'll take the blame but I WILL SAY IT AGAIN THIS DRAMA IS A MUST WATCH.

For all the directors and producers, thank you for producing an amazing drama.
And of course, I can't understand Chinese so thank you for all the subbers who have worked extremely hard to allow international viewers like me to enjoy something so beautiful.

WATCH THIS SHOW. You won't regret it. :)
I hope for those who have watched this show, can write reviews so others can watch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?