Sort by:
Who's Camus Anyway?
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 9, 2012
Feb 9, 2012
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I just finished watching the movie...I'm a bit grossed out by the end. If you don't like gory horror movies, please skip the last five minutes of the movie. It's so real looking and disgusting. I almost thought that the actor acting as the actor in the movie was doing this in real life in the movie while no one was looking. Anyway...

I believe this is an independent film, so it's read more different. There are multiple people, multiple stories.
If you like film or are interested in making films, you may like this movie.

Overall the movie is okay, but personally, I would skip the last part.
Very melancholic.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Quick
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 9, 2012
Feb 9, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I loved it ! The storyline is simple and easy to understand. It does not have any draggy or unnecessary scenes. The movie is fast paced so you are constantly alert while watching. Packed with actions that will blow your mind. Lee Min-ki is brilliant in here. His co-star, Kang Hye-won was also good. Kim In-kwon provided the comic relief and he certainly delivered. Right from the start, the movie grabbed my read more full attention and I almost didn't blink throughout the whole story. Go watch it and you'll know :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Step More to the Sea
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 8, 2012
Feb 8, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
All the time I thought to myself how nice it was to have someone by your side when you're sick. I'm the person who usually doesn't depend on someone when I don't feel well because I don't like taking their time for my own problems. But once in a while, I know when to ask for someone's help and company when I am sick because I know that it feels so much read more better inside when someone is near and watching over me.

Stories about people with incapabilities or a tragedy usually is a tricky one when you review it. People usually look forward to excitement and suspense. You can't simply just say the tragedy is a let-down because that makes you feel horrible for seeming to be bored out of someone's misery. In this case, the story isn't boring at all but I honestly can say it's not a great one as well. Maybe because I don't know exactly what how it feels to have narcolepsy or the likes. But I feel happy that I get to know the story of the people who do.

At the end though, it wasn't really about the narcolepsy. It was about experiences that all of us have gone and will be through. Limitations, self-respect, and faith in general. Going through something so unexpected; not knowing when it will hit again and how to cure it.

The acting was good. It was nice seeing new faces and not expecting too much from them. I also love the ideas that they showed through photography and arts. I wish they would've put some good music in it though but I wish that in any movie. Anyway, it's a nice movie altogether. Not as simple as you'd think but not so heavy either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Drop
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 7, 2012
Feb 7, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Drop was hilarious. Lots of blood and fighting, like Majisuka Gakuen but with ikemen and without that whole pretentious story line of why they fight. Chuck full of shonen comic references, if this was not a shonen comic, it really felt like the target audience is young boys. This movie is literally bare bones boys fighting and protecting their pride.
What I liked was the honesty in the characters. As a true read more dramanista, I am always looking for the scheming friend, the evil mother, the rat in the group but there was none of that. The characters literally said out loud exactly what they felt, and it was refreshing. Narimiya Hiroki is an awesome actor! This type of character for him is not new (Yankee-kun to Megane-chan) but he is so believable even if you do see his wrinkles. He really brought the main character to life. Although the other supporting characters were to be stereotypical, they played their parts very well and I forgot i was watching actors at times. I must admit that started this because I love Mizushima Hiro. As much as I loved to watch him in this movie, his character fell flat. It could be the fault of the writers, but his character seemed under developed or maybe the character was supposed to be vicious/crazy but Hiro couldn’t commit to it. IDK. I may blame the writers because they introduced a lot of characters that have no development, no story line and then randomly appeared/ disappeared.
The main question on my mind while watching, “Why are they using fully grown men to play middle schoolers?” I know some of those dudes are in their 30’s! I mean these dudes had full facial hair but playing 15-17 year olds??!! I also couldn’t understand how some characters were not getting physically stronger with all the fights, like how are you remaining so weak but you can still run your mouth? Not to mention how cool the parents were with all of this, your son wants to become a delinquent and you say “ok!”?. To top it all off, there is a sudden sorrowful scene out of nowhere that causes major changes. (I had the stupid face on because I didn’t really see it coming).
There were certainly loose ends, unraveled strings, and frayed stitches, but it wasn’t boring. For a story that seems meant to tell young boys “life is short don’t waste it” I think it does a pretty decent job. However it gets a fat F for encouraging ruthless violence for younger ages. I, however am not in that demographic and anything that gives me a little eye candy while entertaining me, I say “bring it on!”. I do recommend the movie for a break from the complex story lines, the plotting and the scheming found in many of the dramas we see. Overall: Lots of cool real fights, loads of excitement.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Crows Zero
18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 7, 2012
Feb 7, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
this is a great movie!
I'm not a great fan of this type of movie, but I enjoyed the battles and the comic side of the story.
i really liked the cast,cuz,of course i'm a fan of Shun. I have to say, in this movie he displayed fantastic acting skills.One of his best movie in my opinion. I really loved Yamada Takayuki's acting in this one too. made me wanna see other read more movies whit him. The music was a plus of adrenalin and I think that there is no one that can complain about this. yes there war some slow dialogues but after all the "movement" I think they ware necessary to digest and even to understand the story.
A great movie, definitely rewatch this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Norwegian Wood
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 7, 2012
Feb 7, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The common mistake with fans and adaptations are the comparisons made between the original and the versions. People tend to have high expectations and end up disappointed. I love the novel and so I will try my best not to compare as people should see the movie as it is.

Unless if the story is completely changed. In this case, it wasn't. Fortunately, they kept the story and retained its value.

As read more for the the actual filmography, it is good. They picked the perfect settings and style. The music is great, as it is in the book, but obviously appreciated better in the film. Really good music. Bit iffy on the scene changes but that's barely anything.

No complaints with the cast either. Their acting is well-done and gave justice to the characters, especially the main ones. The 1960's setting did not get in their way at all. I did kind of imagined Reiko differently though, and Storm Trooper was not given much attention. But that's okay. I was also a bit uncomfortable with Watanabe in the film at first. I felt that he was different but now I don't think so. Kenichi Matsuyama's neutral expressions were perfectly splendid. Rinko's acting also made me realize how much more heavy Naoko's life was.

There are scenes that I thought should've been done differently but that does not make this film a failure at any cost. This is how the director imagined the novel and I am happily content with it. I'd recommend the novel not because I think it's better but because it shows much more than 2 hours can give.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Crucible
25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 6, 2012
Feb 6, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
First off, I would say that Juniko is actually lowballing it. I would give it a US rating of NC-17. AKA, 18+. If you are not an adult by legal definitions, pass this up. Read the news, don't watch the story. I have read extensively about this so I am going to add a bit about the factual accuracy of the story.

The director worked closely with the writer of the book read more and the victims. According to one article I read, he was too soft in the movie and that the reality was MUCH worse. He was doing his best to keep a balance between watchable and the truth.

What was shown was enough to make me physically ill. To give you an idea of my maturity? I am 22 going on 80 depending on who you talk to. This stuff normally does not phase me. I would never let my little 18 year old brother watch this. BEWARE.

Also, there are some things changed in the movie to make the teacher look a bit better than he was, please look in the discussion thread for some corrections to the movie. The only criticism I have of the movie was making the teacher look better than he was.

This movie will make you examine exactly how human you are. Victims from this case were extras in the movie. The actors were amazing and they were so good it made it hurt all the more. This is a movie to be watched with your friends: Ben, Jerry, and another human. You will not get through it otherwise. Also, Pepto might be useful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Our Happy Time
24 people found this review helpful
by Mica
Other reviews by this user
Feb 5, 2012
Feb 5, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Honestly I've watched a lot of movies and dramas but this has been one of the best movies I've ever seen. Definitely a #1 or #2 for me due to it's heart-warming story.

The story is about forgiveness and understanding. The two characters meet under unique circumstances and initially don't seem to get along. Yet, there's something each of them holds that can help the other. The lead female is a psychology read more major and the male lead is a criminal. Of course, she can help him in the obvious way: make him reflect on his mistakes and change his ways to lead a new life. But that would make for a simple and plot, so there's something more... There's something he doesn't know he can help her with until she shares her story. The misunderstandings they have of each other clear up and he wants to do whatever he can to help her as well. The way each character develops is what keeps you watching.

The acting is great! The cast members each do an excellent job portraying their characters - esp Dong Won and Na Young. They will have you bawling by the end of it but you will love it - especially if you like tear-jerkers.

I watched this movie when I first started watching Korean dramas back in 2007 an I've re-watched it over a couple times and still don't mind re-watching it with people who haven't seen it. It's a movie that does NOT lose it's re-watch value.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Crucible
18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 5, 2012
Feb 5, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
First, if you are under the age of 16, do NOT watch this movie. Due to numerous shocking scenes, this is not a movie that should be seen by a younger audience. I know that a lot of you might want to watch this movie because you really liked Gong Yoo's acting in previous dramas, but if you are 15 or younger, this movie might have a greater impact on you than read more you might think.
You've been warned.

Such a movie is impossible to rate. It's really hard to make the difference between the true story that captivates and shocks us, and the form, the way it is told, the movie. Personnally, on my MDL list, it is still rated N/A.

Story...well there is no story, those are facts. Those facts are, of course, adapted and the way this movie deliver that adaptation to us is outstanding. The dark atmosphere, the suspens that keeps us on edge, and the flashbacks system that makes things so vivid, everything is done to captivate the audience.

Thanks to all the members of the cast (who did an amazing job portraying their characters, especially the children and Gong Yoo...well Gong Yoo was simply exceptional) you will be trapped into this movie from its very first minute to the last. You will feel horror and despair as well little pieces of moved joy as you see the events happening as if you were there.

The music isn't a beautiful melody designed to make you cry every times you hear it, but it will make you feel calm, tense, or angry. It's really a part of the movie.

Rewatch value...honestly, it would be torture to me to rewatch this, but I'll still do it, because this movie is amazing and the acting astonishing. But I won't say it was beautiful. Although this movie is a piece of art, I'd feel sick to call it beautiful.

Since he got the main part, let's talk about Gong Yoo in this movie. His Kang In Ho is true, sincere, so kind and pure in front of all the horror happening before his eyes that it is impossible not to be moved by him. Gong Woo is definitly a top actor and I can't wait to see what he will do next.

But there is something bothering me about this movie, like all movies involving young actors.Even though this is all acting, I wonder how those children felt, when they were shooting some scenes...sometimes, I felt this movie was going too far...but this is only my point of view...

I know that my review is a little dark, but I just saw Crucible, and this movie is dark.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Grand Prix
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 5, 2012
Feb 5, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Story- heartwarming and inspriring. Basically there to send a message to the audience about not giving up on your dreams. There is a little romance going on with a cute ending.

Acting/Cast-First, I have to say I loved Kim Tae Hee in this. She really was believable as a Jockey. She had to play tough but still kept the pretty. I liked the male lead and they had a good chemistry for read more what thier relationship in the movie called for(still couldnt help picturing Song Sung Hyun in this role though as its my dream for him and KTH to do every movie/drama together from now on lol). I also wanted to mention the child actress. She was so good in her dramatic scenes and so cute to watch.

Music- The score was lovely. There was an original song that was kind of catchy and it sounded like it was KTH singing it.

Rewatch- This is a movie that can easily be watched again however since I didnt love the male lead Id probably wait a few years.

Overall this was an enjoyable watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yeosu
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 5, 2012
Feb 5, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
When I read the summary for Yeosu, I really didn’t get much from it so I went into thinking this was going to be a romance…

The story was very very simple and not a lot happens. The main plot in this is the “couple” traveling together to find the house/loved one of the person who’s ashes they are carrying around the entire movie. You think by the end the main characters read more are going to come together romantically and maybe raise the child together or something but yeah the ending just didn’t happen that way. In fact nothing really happens in the end at all but I’m not surprised because nothing happened during the movie either. Still, I enjoyed watching the leads interact and I was glad they were able to find some sort of comfort in each other during the time they were traveling together. The score was nice but not memorable. I really liked the leads but I’m not sure if I’d watch this again. Overall I’m not mad I watched this but am a little disappointed in the story. If you have a lot of patience and need something to watch I’d say try it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Blue Spring
6 people found this review helpful
by care
Other reviews by this user
Feb 4, 2012
Feb 4, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a very deep movie, not everyone will enjoy it. The pace is realtively slow and the atmosphere takes a huge role in the storytelling. It revolves around one of the main concerns of our society. Many people find dreams and have hopes for their lives, but there are those without anything. Just drifting along, nothing to work towards, nothing to do. How do these kids deal with the emptiness that read more their life is? Can they find something to hold on to? And when do they reach the point where living becomes too much effort?
Overall i feel like the movie is very artistic and accomplishes what it is set out to.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Always
52 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 4, 2012
Feb 4, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Finally! I watched Only You with high expectations and mostly...I wasn't disappointed.

The acting and chemistry between So Ji Sub and Han Hye Joo are what make this movie great. It's no secret I am a huge fan of So Ji Sub and I am very glad to see him do such a great job as Cheol Min ~ a man with a violent past who is struggling to rise above, better read more himself and repent the mistakes of his past. But I couldn't give this movie a higher score than 8.

Only You actually has a really great story set up: The rough, bad boy boxer unexpectedly meets a spunky, upbeat, innocent and mostly blind girl and they fall madly in love. Angst ensues when he tries to raise the money for an operation for her sight. I was thrilled watching the development of their romance. The way this movie played out would have gotten a higher score from me if they wouldn't have added the recycled element of connecting fates. The totally over used plot device of fate tying two lovers together is what drops the overall score for me. Time and again I see this scenario used in Korean movies and dramas and it gets old.

But the scenes between the lovers are filled with sweetness, sizzling chemistry, humor and heart. So Ji Sub is an extremely emotive actor who portrays every emotion in his eyes, expression and body language. He's just plain good. Call me a fan girl if you will but the man is talented. Han Hye Joo is also a favorite. I really liked her in Postman to Heaven and even more in Only You. She's one to watch for I think. I'd really like to see her in a drama again.

All the technical elements are there. Gritty, harsh lighting and gloomy settings and set design are used for his world and warmer light and more lovely settings are used for her world. When they are together everything is brighter. A nice touch by the cinematographer.

The music was very nice. Memorable in the opening sequence, in the love theme and the closing credits. I gave it a 9.

The re-watch value I give a 7 because in my case, the strength of my liking for the lead actor will have me watching this again. Others may feel differently.

Only you is a typical love story: touching, filled with angst but also includes a lot of light moments as well. I recommend it highly for all of us romantics out there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Classic
31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 4, 2012
Feb 4, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I expected this to be a typical teen romance movie, but it stole my heart. The story tricked me until the very end. I loved every bit of it.

You get a double story in the end with her and her mother's love story. This certainly is the perfect mix of gushy romance with coming of age.

Much MUCH better than Romeo and Juliet by far. It's more satisfying than sad at read more the end and worth the watch! Perfect for a girl's night. My friends dread subtitles but they had nothing to complain about when it was over.

Although, I give the music a nine because I wouldn't necessarily go out of my way to hear it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Open City
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 3, 2012
Feb 3, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
The movie is ,in my opinion, good. I am glad that i watched it, but this one time is more then enough. Also when i watched it i didn’t really understand al of it, because of that the story line was a bit lost.
Sometimes you will certainly think: that is a little bit too coincidental! But the actors brings it so that it is credible. That is a really strong point read more of the movie. Also a very good choice of music makes it a very good movie. The action scenes are unbelievable good. With al the knives.
the police was a bit odd in the beginning. It was like they were "the bad guys" ! maybe it was (or is) in Korea just how it goes!? hope notXD also when you are looking for a
“feel-good”movie, then this is not the movie that you are looking for.
All in all it's a fun movie to watch once?.
??? ? ??? ??. ?? ?? ? ?? ?????, ?? ? ?? ? ??? ????. ?? ?? ??? ?? ? ?? ??? ?? ??? ??? ?? ??? ?? ?? ???, ??? ? ???? ???.
??? ???? ????? ?? ?? ?????! ??? ??? ???????? ??? ?????. ? ?? ?? ?? ?????. ?? ??? ?? ?? ??? ?? ?? ??? ????.?? ??? ?? ?? ? ????. ? ?? ?.
??? ??? ? ??????. ??? "?? ??"? ?? ??? ???! ??? ???? ??? ???? (????)??!? ??? ???? ???? notXD ???
?? "?? ??", ??? ??? ???? ??? ???.
?? ??? ?? ? ??? ???? ?????.
p.s hope the translation is right!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions