If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
The Longest 24 Months
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 5, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I watched this movie because I was curious exactly how things worked when men went into army service. Its part of the korean culture I haven't completely grasped yet. While it wasn't a movie on males in army service itself (which is probably good because I more than likely would have gotten bored xD) it did help me understand a bit more. I adored all the different stories going on in the movie. It didn't seem too busy or confusing like some movies when they try to keep more than one thing going. Connections between characters in other storylines were subtle enough that it wasn't unrealistic. It’s not too predictable of a movie and I really liked that about it. I don’t rewatch movies often but if I was going to I wouldn’t mind sitting through this one again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
First Time
50 people found this review helpful
Aug 5, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a fascinating movie. I am surprised I am the first person to add it to my drama list. At first the movie started off a bit cheesy and I even thought about quiting it but I am glad I didin't because after about 30 minutes the viewers see the other side of First Time. I love how it managed to be both heartwarming and dramatic. Normally, movies about sick people are depressing to watch and it takes a lot of time for me to force myself to watch them. However, First Time is quite unique, because even though it is about a sick person, it does not revolve around a hospital. Also, it was very colorful, the decoration crew did an awesome job. The only complaint I have about this movie is that the main heroine's fantasies were painted in almost-chibis. I don't think these drawings suited the movie.

The acting was very good. I especially enjoyed the main couple's and Jiang Shan's (Shiqiao's mother) performance in the movie.

I love the soundtrack, most of the songs were created for this movie. I especially love the ending song, too bad I can't find it for download yet :(.

Overall, this was a very enjoyable movie. I`m glad I decided to watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Boss, My Hero
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 5, 2012
Overall 2.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This show sucked big time i was seriously let down by the show. I'm normally pretty biased bout mostly all korean dramas/movies i watch. But really it was just dreadful to me i highly suggest not watching it at all. But if you really do watch the japan version.
Was this review helpful to you?
Peak: The Rescuers
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 4, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
A typical mountaineering/adventure movie...nothing is special about the story that draws attention...a casual kinda plot-line that we usually see in mountaineering movies!

Cast was alright...and music too! nothing top notch but just perfect along the storyline!

But, what drew my attention was Shun's acting! You won't see that typical Shun here with an introvert character, but something totally different from his usual genre! He was cheerful...actually more than cheerful! hmmm...what should I say to make it exact?! hmmm...maybe a "feisty" kinda character...which somehow went JUST FINE with him!! and that's what made me give more attention to the movie! And, guess what...I enjoyed it...from the second I saw Shun smiling...if I'm to note exactly then from 07.54min of the movie 'till the end...haha!! His smile was really something...watch the movie and you'll know exactly what I'm trying to say!!

Happy WATCHING!!! ^o^*

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
One Day
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 3, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I really like this film it makes me think and think until the end.
And also I felt sad for both of them :((
I just found this review and copy it. Just to share!
-
-
-
One Day is continuing my lucky streak of picking quality Taiwanese films (Honey PuPu, Blowfish, Starry, Starry Night and Make Up), making me wonder why so many people are still ignoring (or missing) the obvious (artistic) growth of the Taiwanese cinema industry these past couple of years. One Day is everything a good romantic film should be, with some spicy fantastical overtones thrown in for good measure.

If you've been paying attention to my reviews the name Chi-jan Hou's might ring a little bell. Chi-jan Hou was responsible for the Juliet's Choice segment in Juliets, which I must admit did raise expectations considerably. Though I still prefer his short segment in Juliets Hou definitely delivers with One Day, marking him as one of the current talents of Taiwanese cinema and hopefully one to look out for in the future.

One Day takes a while to settle in. Hou liberally switches between different time lines and jumps rather drastically between scenes, leaving his audience in the dark for the larger part of the first half hour. No need to panic though, as the film goes on all the mysteries will be cleared up. By the time the end credits roll across the screen you'll have a coherent storyline that, even though not quite realistic, is easy enough to understand. The mysterious elements Hou introduces do work in favor of the romance though, granting the film fairytale-like qualities (though with a darker rim than usual).

One Day follows the life of Singing, a young girl working on a local ferry service, earning her some extra money. On one of her trips she bumps into Tsung, a young army boy who seems to know Singing from somewhere. That same night the ferry breaks down and all the passengers on the ferry are suddenly missing, nowhere to be found. Only Tsung, Singing and a recluse Indian man remain on the ship, unaware of their remarkable fate.

Stylistically you should know what to expect by now. Visually speaking One Day is a truly beautiful film, filled to the brim with exceptional camera work and delicate, well-orchestrated shots. A perfect, well-balanced mix of Japanese minimalism and Chinese grandeur. A lovely visual tone of voice that makes romances like these all the more agreeable and keeps them from turning into sentimental monstrosities.

The same goes for the soundtrack. Sure you know what a piano-tune soundtrack sounds like by now, but as long as it's quietly doing its thing in the background, slyly setting out the boundaries for a warm, enveloping atmosphere, there's nothing inherently wrong with it. You might not even notice the soundtrack while watching One Day, but you can be sure it's working its magic in the background.

The romance of One Day is firmly positioned on the shoulders of Bryan Chang and Nikki Hsieh. The supporting cast is decent enough, but their roles are so minimal that they are hardly worth mentioning. Chang and Hsieh make for a great on-screen couple and really pull the focus of the film towards them. Not to spoil too much, but the chemistry between the both of them is essential to the film's finale. Between the both of them, Hsieh (Make Up, Honey PuPu) is clearly the biggest talent though and is practically assured of a great future in acting.

Little by little the mysteries clear up and slowly the inevitable ending reveals itself. It's a worthy finale, excellently executed and highly effective. Seasoned film fans won't be too surprised by it, but as is often the case, execution trumps originality. Even though Hou pretty much unveils all the mysterious threads of One Day, there's still a certain cloak of mystery hanging over the film when the film ends. It keeps the reigning atmosphere of the film alive while still providing a neatly tied up ending.

One Day is above all a stylish romance, with some supernatural touches thrown in for good measure. It's a beautiful film, wonderfully executed and growing more engrossing with each passing minute. The film knows little to no weak point, and if you feel lost during the first half hour just reassure yourself that everything will be made clear by the end. Probably not the best entry film for people interested in the current wave of modern Taiwanese cinema, but a great recommendation for existing fans.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Seducing Mr. Perfect
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 3, 2012
Overall 2.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
Looking back I had a feeling a I probably would not like this movie, the plot line just seemed...different...from anything else I have heard about but the acting was DREADFUL. The main lead's english was superb but that was it...he was 1D, dry, and not ineresting nor engaging; and to top it off I thought his acting skills, to be nice, need polishing.

The different storyline was the reason I had become inerested in this movie but the way they chose to protray the plot was unineresting. THe reason the story earned a 5 was because there were some funny sences that I could not help but laugh. The acting was poor so that got a 3 while the music was unmemorable and did not help further the watcher's inerest and emotions nor did the music support the plot line.

This movie did not grab hold of my emotions nor did I feel any excitement and chemistry from the actors. I begun to skip around becuase the plot was becoming too tiresome and drawn out.

Overall I gave it a 2 maybe a 2.5 but I would not try to re-watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Mighty Princess
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 2, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is a light movie for when you are sad or in a bad mood. It has good looking actors and it is sweet. At the beginning I felt that things were a little bit rushed and it was superficial, however towards the end the fighting scene, the tension and the music were superb combined together, and the whisperings almost blew me away. I love actress Shin Min Ah, this is my second drama that I've watched with her (the first one is My girlfriend is a Gumiho which I HIGHLY recommend). Yu Geon is so handsome, he is totally my type, and I couldn't help myself from squealing like a little girl every time he appeared.
This is a fun movie and it is very light. It makes you dreamy so you shouldn't have high expectations from it, however it is a nice movie. Enjoy!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Aug 2, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 3.0
So I wasn't planning on writing a review for this movie, however after watching it I feel compelled to write one.

Story: The story is like the synopsis says, a girl, Naomi, loses her memory of the past 5 years. For the first theird of the story she is lost trying to figure out who she is and what her life was like before. For the second third, she seems to not care about who she was because she had changed and she liked who she was now and not before. For the third half, it seems like she was split between her old and new self. So yea the story was a bit confusing. I feel like there was no smooth transition of events. It didn't flow well for me. I get that this is supposed be one of those deeper emotional think-hard movies, and I usually get those, but with this movie I just ended up confused and a bit upset about the ending. There was no real wrap-up of the story, I get that the ending is supposed to indicate that she decided to be with Mirai and that they were perfect for each other since the beginning, but there is no sense of closure for any of the characters. I still want to know what the heck happened to them in between the time frame of the movie. That's another problem, they tried to fit a whole year's worth of events in one movie. They way they handled made it seems mashed and mixed together. I still don't know why she and Yuji broke up. I know that he had told her to forget him if he goes crazy, but did he go crazy? Because at the end he seemed pretty normal to me. Also, she promised Yuji that she wouldn't leave him even if he went crazy. There is no real explanation of why they broke up or how they fell out of love. It just happened... What I liked though was the concept of the story, and the setting. I thought the whole going to an Japanese American school thing was cool, although it didn't really fit into the story well. There was no main purpose of the American aspect other than to get the Hollywood actors, like Emma Roberts, in this movie. This story would be the same with or without the American characters and in a all-Japanese high school.

Acting: The acting was ok. But some of the American actors, Ace especially, seemed a bit out of place among the Japanese actors. Also some of the Japanese actors seemed a bit forced when speaking English, especially Mirai. The best acting in my opinion was during the Yuji and Naomi scenes. Even those were a bit forced at times as well, especially the beach scene.

Music: I loved the music. Great music choices, in fact I'm going to look up the OST right now so I can get some of the songs.

Rewatch: I don't think I'll watch this headache of a movie again.

Overall: I liked the concept and idea, however the producers failed to take what could have been a great story and made it into a jumbled mess of a movie like this. Not having read the book, I feel that this story was just all over the place. It had a great meaning to it, You're never really who you think you are, People change. High School is just a memory that fades away. But it just got lost somehow in between when Naomi was choosing between all the boys she had fawning over her. When her dad explained the whole I forget High School and all the things I did as a kid, I was like oh so that was the point of this story. I had to think for 10 minutes about how this story fit with that theme. I gave it a seven because I really liked the Yuji story line and I liked Naomi's dad, but that's all I'll ever really remember of the story.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ikigami: The Ultimate Limit
10 people found this review helpful
Aug 2, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I had been meaning to watch Ikigami for a long while and finally watched today.

If you like novels like 1984, Lord Of The Flies, The Giver or Hunger Games...You may like watching Ikigami, The Ultimate Limit. Set in an unknown but familiar looking future time; the population is contained and controlled by random selection. Children are inoculated when they enter school and sometime during their young adulthood; the 'chosen to sacrifice for prosperity' are given 24 hours notice of their death. The story begins here for the viewer. We get to follow one man (Shota Matsuda) who's job it is to inform the chosen that their death is nigh.

I found it incredibly interesting; the different reactions people had to this news. This story is more about the human condition, human reactions in the face of death with nothing left to lose. It is not a rousing tale of the populous rising up to over throw the oppression. It is dark, sad and really touching.

The color pallet of the film lends itself to this feeling. Dark blue lighting, cloudy days, windowless rooms and dank underground work places. There are glimpses of light just as their are glimpses of hope in the lives of those lived and those left behind.

I've never read the manga but I am curious now. I recommend this film highly and not just because I am a rabid fan of Matsuda Shota. But I am a fan for a reason besides the superficial. He is a great actor, with a rubber face, fearless emoting and the ability to go very dark. He can turn it on a dime and be comedic too but for that you will have to watch some of his other films and dramas.

The whole cast was stellar. I particularly loved Yuta Kanai and Yamada Takayuki. Their acting was amazing and their stories touched my heart.

This is a cool movie. Give it a try if you are in the mood for darker fare.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Seducing Mr. Perfect
8 people found this review helpful
Aug 1, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I liked it. I'm not someone who usually likes a lot of Korean drama, I mean, usually I find them more trouble than they're worth so this is the possibly the fist Korean movie I can truly say I enjoyed.

A lot of parts though had me cringing, especially the female lead's attempts at seduction cause every time she came up with an idea I would close my eyes and be like "This can not end well." But it was really funny, though it'll probable make you feel embarrassed for her.

Her reason for doing, well, what she was doing, I found a bit weird and lacking, but I realized the whole honor issue is a big deal in most Asian countries and I've actually seen something like that in another drama so it didn't really bother me much.

Anyway, so I gave the story a ten cause though it's quite usual and ordinary,the transition and pacing was good and easy which I cant say for a lot of dramas. The acting I found really good. The female lead acted out her part really well, that I was actually able to sympathize with her character in most parts (some not so much) and the male lead not only spoke very convincing American English, he also played his part really well. I mean, some might say that his face had a lack of expression at some points but that's because that was the character he was playing. He is a cold ruthless business man, he can't be expected smile or cry at everything he feels. I was actually able to tell what he was feeling even with the "lack" of facial expression which i think is remarkable. His acting was really good, and most of the actors did a really good job.

The music for me was very unusual cause i have never heard music like that in a Korean movie before so i was actually really pleased it seemed to fit. I mean it sounded a bit americanized at first but when i realized it was actually Korean, i was like "Hmm, cool." So the music was a very big plus for me and very appropriate.

Would I watch this again? Maybe, probably, yes. 'Maybe' because i usually don' like to watch things where the female lead makes a fool of herself, but 'probably' because I liked the movie, and the characters. I didn't find the transition from English to Korean, awkward at all.

Basically I jumped into this without reading the reviews but I'm happy about that because I found that most of the faults mentioned I didn't notice till I read the reviews so I actually enjoyed the movie. And it was funny too.

so yeah, I would recommend this. It's really good :). Good enough to inspire me to write my first ever review on my drama list. Hurray :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Heavenly Forest
5 people found this review helpful
Aug 1, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
What a movie. The Japanese can definitely do romance!
I was deliberating whether to give it a 9, because although the story was very cute, it didn't strike me as special. I did half enjoy watching it though. It didn't feel like the actors were acting ;)

But as we moved to the latter stages, I knew this had to score high. It tugged my heartstrings, and a beautiful love shone through. How could I have labelled it as mediocre in the beginning?
I've seen Hiroshi Tamaki in Nodame, and loved him in it. I loved him in this also, albeit a different way, and he gelled well with the female lead. Who by the way, is GORGEOUS, however geeky they make her look.

Enter this with no expectations, and you will be blown away. Thankfully, I didn't read any spoilers beforehand, though I did get an inkling, when she coughed up blood when she lost her baby molars. I was thinking...hmmmm.

Looks up. Did I give anything away there? Nah. Not really :) What a gorgeous movie. For the first time, I truly believe Japan can do romance better than Korea, if they wanted too :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Tokyo Girl
30 people found this review helpful
Jul 31, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I've never written a review for anything before, nor, am i very good at writing them, but, i just had to say something about this movie...

This movie, was beautiful, it brought me to tears. It's a bittersweet love story about a girl, in 2008, who drops her cell phone during an earthquake, and a boy from 1912 finds it. They are able to talk on the phone, and start to have feelings for each other.

There was this one scene in particular, that really moved me, and not to give away any spoilers, i will call it "the gift from Erizen and the old lady/little girl scene" when you watch the movie, you will understand. It was beautiful, and very touching. I've re-watched that scene a few times, and it still makes me tear up...


I'm going to end my review by saying that you should definitely watch this movie, you will not regret it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Fairy Tale Killer
5 people found this review helpful
Jul 31, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I did not have high expectations of this movie.
i was thinking. this would be only a "OK" movie. not high scored. not special.
but I´m was wrong!!!

it was a great movie !
Iam really suprised.
already in the beginning you know who the murderer is,but the writer and the film director have done a good job !
nevertheless it was in every single second exciting !

to make a movie about a insane killer who kills people based on a farytale -great idea!
"the sheep kill the wolf"


i see also chinese people know to make such a good thriller movie !
thanks for it !

i can recommmend !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Man From Nowhere
5 people found this review helpful
Jul 31, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Though not boasting of a unique storyline, this movie definitely has a lot to offer. Won Bin played a mysterious man, definitely a character telling you there's more to him than what you actually see. The little kid, definitely a character that gets in to trouble. I think the best thing that kept the movie at top is the high-class acting by the whole cast. There is 'realistic' action in the movie, not the type where the character goes flying everywhere unscratched and a reasonable mix of gruesomeness on the sides. This is a movie that's hard to miss.
Was this review helpful to you?
The Man From Nowhere
7 people found this review helpful
Jul 31, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Holy Shit. The movie is the most badass, most action packed revenge movie I have ever seen. This movie is right now my top favourite movie. The main actor....my goodness the main actor acts so well in this movie. He plays the character so right. I hope he won many awards because of this. But he's not the only fantastic actor. The child actress is fantastic. Its funny, I expect children to be horrible actors/resses but this little girl was so believable. I'm amazed. The story is well written and by well written I mean f****** amazing. If you haven't watch this movie, this should be top on your list of movies to watch. Watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?