Sort by:
Shaolin Soccer
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Very funny!
I've re-watched this movie several times. It goes from the coaches past to the present with all the players, mixing kung fu with soccer, buns, and everyday life. Even characters you see and would think are pointless extras (by standers) have their moments. Each member has their own special skill in kung fu, and each team stands out in an amusing way making the games very interesting. No boring scenes read more or pointless conversation. Random comedy bits. It's a good family movie also. I highly recommend it ^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Crucible
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
great movie dealing with an extremely sensitive subject matter.

my one gripe with it was that it gets very uncomfortable to watch (trigger warnings all over the place) as the movie tends to be extremely graphic when describing and showing the type of abuse suffered by these children.

if you can stomach it, go for it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Finding Mr. Destiny
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie was different. I thought it was kinda slow @ 1st, but it picked up quick. It showed a different look on 1st loves. Just b/c u found ur 1st love does not mean that they r the person u r fated 2 be w/. I love that Gong Yoo can play a dorky type character that still gets the girl....LOL! He has this manliness about him that shines through even read more when he is playing the part of a chicken. Seo Ji Woo's character was a great compliment 2 Han Gi Joon. Where he was scared 2 face things she wasn't & where she was scared he wasn't. I was happy throughout the movie & I loved that the flashbacks had me guessing about Ji Woo's 1st love. I recommend this movie if ur looking for something 2 make u feel like; even though u missed love the 1st time u can always find it again & usually where u least expect it. Hope for a true love is what u get from this movie. I hope all who watch enjoy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gantz
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
i've read the manga, watched the anime, and now watched both movies.

if you are expecting a true adaptation of the manga (like what the anime should have been!), this isn't it. what this movie does is remove all of the awful stuff (mindless violence, nudity, awful character traits, gore, cursing) and crams it into a R rated movie.

if you're ok with that, then this movie is great. the director and read more set designer did an amazing job with recreating the hollow world of the manga. one minor complaint is that the characters weren't built up. kei is a complete turd in the manga (but not that much in the anime) and that's completely removed from the movie. characters seemed sorta hollow because of the lack of character development.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Chaser
18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
The Chaser is the kind of film that will most likely go unnoticed because of its lack of action, and modern execution of storytelling. As Roger Ebert says in his review; it is the type of film that reminds us of Hitchcock, and the days when suspense and drama was more exciting than a bunch of men playing stunts and trying to make us believe it is possible.

The Chaser is a read more contrived, and manipulative story, which brings us to a clearer understanding of police bureaucracy and corruption. It is not the kind of film to enjoy with a sensible heart, but it will grip you and make you wish reality wouldn't be so grim.

No matter how I write this review, I know I will not make this film justice. There are so many things to address in this story, and I don't have the confidence to answer all questions without messing up my credibility as I go. I might be too mushy, or seemed too biased as I admire this film with all honesty. But I will do my best.

What to expect from The Chaser?: With a well written script, and a rookie director (Na Hong-jin), you will get drama at is best, mixed with suspense, and a dash of British humor.

The story is no doubt well writing. Its an act at manipulation, it will grab you and play with your conscience throughout the whole film. The writers have given the audience all the tools with which we can formulate our own idea of how the story should go, and what it seems reasonable that should happen given the situation the characters are thrown into. However, nothing happens like it should, and there seems to be good reasons why not.

You will find yourself immerse in Jung-ho's quest to find one of his missing girls, who he believes is being sold in the human market. With no lead on her whereabouts, and the cops putting importance on bureaucracy and the media, there is plenty of time for all sorts of ill-fated events to befall the call girl. Jung-ho at first seemed like an uncaring pimp, but gradually turns into the hero we all expect to see from him.

The attention put into character development is absolutely perfect. I believed every action taken, because it seemed genuine. Logic exist in this world, but we are not perfect.

The directing is simply stunning. Hong-jin takes you through the story with such conviction he will amaze you, that you are indeed stupefied.

There will be a chase, and there will be a climatic moment, also a conclusion. But none will have any of the superficiality we are exposed to so often we seemed to be ready for it. No embellished fight scenes, no overly acted deaths, and no open endings. No, there is no sequel to The Chaser. The story ends here! What there will be is a realism so hard to deal with, you might want to have a lighthearted comedy lined up.

All in all, The Chaser is not claimed to be one of Korea's number one film in recent years for no reason. If you are a true lover of suspense, this one is definitely a must watch for you.

All my ratings are 10 except for re-watch value, as it is a suspense, and it will not have the same effect again. For me, it does not matter; when a friend asks me for a recommendation, I know it's time to watch The Chaser.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're My Pet
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
People need to stop comparing this to the original manga or even the Japanese drama that followed after that - it is true, that this movie has made some major changes and cuts BUT (to come to the real important point) nevertheless the movie is not a good but an outstanding one!

The storyline is built up very nicely, the actors are awesome (especially the female lead!) and somehow they were able read more to mix drama, comedy and lovestory in a pleasant way - it's not too much or too less from everything. It's a good and well-balanced movie who deserves recognition beyond the original. I have to confess that I liked this interpretation much more.

I'm going that far and insist that this movie is not based on the Japanese original but is inspired by it- that sounds so much more precise and may be able to change your expectations (and prejudices) on that movie.

Definitely a must watch!

Cheers,
Genshi
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love On-Air
24 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

At the time, I didn't have time to watch dramas so I only watched films. This was appealing enough to give it a try.

2) Storyline/Plot:

This film's story seemed somehow special and different from any other idol or rom-com film that's why it felt appealing.

Positive points:

*The story was smooth since it combined great events and feelings together.
*The mini-stories intoduced during the film read more were a nice touch to avoid slow moments.
*The love story was light to the point that it would make you think that this isn't a romantic film yet the important feelings were there plus it felt like the right thing to do.

*Considering the fact that it was almost a musical film, I would say that the music was cool; not great, not bad.

Negative points:

*There was something missing in this film. They should've pushed it a little far in the middle since the story's development felt incomplete.


Story: 7.5/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Lee Min Jung : I really loved that actress here; she knew how to deliever feelings and make good expressions. She portrayed her role well and gave a good impression as the lead lady plus she's pretty.

*Lee Jung Jin : I liked his character too, he was so mature and manly in many ways , he did his role in a good way.

*I loved the relationship between leads whether in fighting or in romance; good chemistry.
*I liked other cast plus there acting was satisfying.

Cast: 8/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

Even though it was a typical rom-com ending but I end up enjoying it and closing the screen with a happy face.

The ending: 7.5/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I was entertained, it was fun to watch.
*I was a little surprised since I hadn't much expectations for this but I end up liking it. I just love it when a film/drama surprise me (in a good way of course)
*I wasn't bored which is enough to make me satisfied.

My impression 8.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like rom-coms then you would like this.
*If you like musical films then you may appreciate this.
*If you like light love stories then this is for you.

Overall: 7.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sakuran
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
When I first tried to watch this film, I was on my way home riding a plane and was 6,000 feet off the ground. 10 minutes through the film, I started to realize that it was rather a sexually explicit movie. My seatmates by the way were a bunch of old people. I was so embarrassed to find out that the movie I was watching was something not appropriate for the public read more eye. Ack!

Setting aside my embarrassment, I watched it at home again without any kids or grannies around.

To be honest, this was the first film that I have appreciated Ando Masunobu in. I've first seen him in "Synesthezia" with Aoi Miyazaki, but I didn't like his character there too much. Here in Sakuran I loved the way he acted as Seiji who was the "keeper" or "care-taker" of the Oiran, (the highest ranking female prostitute in the house) which was eventually transferred to Kiyoha (Anna Tsuchiya). I loved the way she played the hot headed TOP Woman. Even though she wasn't the Oiran yet, she already had the attitude of one. She was spunky and feisty for a woman who lives and breathes the life in a brothel. Though this was her role, her life as an Oiran in the making was bitter and sad, she's witty and beautiful but was kept in a container, thus her life is compared to a goldfish in a bowl.

The story was manga based, so it had a bit of a shoujou-ish plot line going on. Nonetheless, it was a great movie. The ending was just my taste, the setting was perfect and beautiful, as well was the over all cinematography. Everything was vibrant with hues such as red... red... and more red. I think that color has so much significance for this movie. It makes sense that the bright colors used for the film was very appropriate for its theme. The sound track was fit for the whole movie and it has caught my attention so much that I researched about the singer Shiina Ringo and discovered the band Tokyo Jihen, hence I now have the collection of their songs.

I have already re-watched this Movie several times and would re-watch it again in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kisaragi
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
A really funny movie starred by 5 outstanding actors including Oguri Shun. I can't help laughing through out the duration of the film.

Why? As the five characters slowly investigate among themselves the truth behind the death of their gravure idol during her 1 year memorial anniversary, they unfold each other's personal lives and connection with the dead idol. During this time, they are all cooped up in a small apartment formulating read more reasons as to what really happened before and during the time of their idol's death.

If you think this is a boring film, well watch the movie and think again. This isn't your average film full of talk, mystery and well… more talk. This is one of those films that would make you scratch your head in the beginning, then seat straight-look-forward-to-screen in the middle and finally say "So that's what happened" in the end.

Its very entertaining to watch not that their acting was over the top, it was simply perfect. Every character portrayed themselves so well. The way they analyzed each other, puzzled things together and draw a conclusion to each scenario... it was very smart and witty. There were flashbacks to give a better visual of the scenarios they come up with and that definitely helped in building up the story and make the unfolding of the mystery more fun. I give kudos to the writer of this movie who made everything interesting.

Cinematography wise, it wasn't much since the focus is more on each characters who are talking inside a small room and as for the music I wasn't able to remember it much but it did somehow help as a background to build up the mood of the film.

Recommending this to those who like watching films which are more on the conversation side with mystery and comic relief on the side lines. BTW, there's no other film that I could compare it with since I think… it is one of a kind.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gimme Heaven
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
What made this movie watchable?

The story line… it kept me hanging on until the very end.

If you are a very curious person like me when it comes to mind boggling stuff, you are definitely one to hang on till the last scene even though this movie has a lot of draggy moments. The camera tends to focus on everything and anything, but then at the end of the movie, I read more got to understand the significance of those lens focus. The cast were great, I like Miyazaki's character as Mari, I thought the characters in this movie did not seem complicated but I got that all wrong. The lead actor was a bit too good for this movie though, I felt that he could have done better on other films, his acting here was a bit wasted. But still, he was awesome and brought his own character to life. A person who sees a different perspective and trying to live a normal life, he was able to full it off.

The ending confused me a lot and there are also scenarios where I had to analyze or think too much to actually understand what was going on but over all this movie is a good watch once I came to terms with the fact that there were a lot of meanings on the different scenes that were shown.

This film made me watch it twice so just I could re-analyze and understand everything that actually happened. Sound track was okay, but what really got me listening was the ending song entitled "Gerbera" on the last scene. That song gave me the meaning of synesthezia all together. It was a significant title once I was able to understand the whole meaning of the film.

Giving this 8/10 for everything I have mentioned and recommending it to those who don't mind draggy stuff and would love to have their brains twisted into analyzing the film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Day
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Don't give up your today for the unknown future...

A fantastic story and cinematography! I enjoyed every second of this strange and calm movie. The main point of the movie is even if the person happens to know his/her future, he'she is not going to give up the any second of happiness to avoid the consequences... Really touching and intriguing little story...

In the middle there was a point I stopped the read more movie, and started thinking for myself 'hmm... what's going on, now he knows her, she doesn't know him, and it began like she knew him and he didn't know her, which is the dream? which is the reality? what time is it now?' As I analyzed and collected in my mind all the details I knew for the moment, I just pushed play, as all I came up with were the collection of facts I had seen until the moment was stopped. And then the answers just flowed into my head with the beautiful scenes and dialogues (which by the way are rare in this movie)... Also the best characteristic of this movie is that the events are in wrong and chaotic chronological order... which makes you think and think and give freedom to your imagination... Which part is the dream? When is the past, the future, the present? Who's going to disappear in thin air? Is going to make the decision? Is anything going to change? So many questions...

Fantastic movie, really... I hope I'd do the same as the main female lead...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rough Cut
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
First of all you can't go wrong watching So Ji Sub and Kang Ji Hwan in a movie together!!! This is a movie within a movie and both main characters have a problem with distinguishing reality from fiction. Both Ji Sub/Kang Pae and Ji Hwan/Su Ta are so intense. They play off of eachother very well.

I am a total Ji Sub fan...he plays dark and scary very well.

If you are read more looking to watch something violent, then this is so the movie to watch!!! It is great!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Thirst
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
OK this is the 2nd Korean movie that I watched 2day w/ sex in it. I am like ???! So despite that I am like totally disappointed in this movie. It had such great potential but then fizzled. I thought certain parts were like totally right on, but then he gave the crazy chick his blood & everything went a little crazy from there. I was kinda sad when the old blind read more priest wanted 2 drink his blood 2 fix his eyes. Priests r supposed 2 be above all that right? OK so this movie wasn't all that I thought it would be, but it is showing a vampire w/ a conscience. This makes u question what is right & wrong when faced w/ this situation. But the ending is cool! Death by sunlight.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Millionaire's First Love
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 12, 2012
May 12, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
The story is sad but has a good feel to it. She teaches him how to love and he loves her for it. I like that you how it is going to end so you are prepared. The acting was really well done also. They gave a pretty raw emotional performance. The extras were good too. The music was very pretty. I wouldn't rewatch it because it is too sad.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 12, 2012
May 12, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie actually struck me more by its cinematography than plot or story...like magnificently beautiful classical piece it just flowed right in front of my eyes...
I love movies with symbolism, and this movie fed my hunger for it wholly and the most satisfying way...
It's been 20 minutes I have finished watching it, and my eyes still see and my ears still hear the main character playing the piano, be it read more during the duel, or with one hand, or two pianos at the same time...
There are scenes in the movie that just refuse to leave my head... The bicycle turning back after being asked to ride slower, childish games between the two leads, their piano duet, the apples, the nature... and music, music, music...
Half of the movie was a love triangle, and I was loving it, then BOOM! it turns out a whole another story...and I'm still marveling it.
I was praying during the last moments of the movie, I was honestly praying...
The effects of the movie and the sudden changes in music left me breathless, absolutely beautiful movie...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions