If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Noble Aspirations
0 people found this review helpful
28 minutes ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
I just finished this series, and despite all the bullshit, which i'll get into, it was a pretty decent watch.

Pros
- Great acting
- The romance
-  Most side characters are likable, and understanding
- The entire setting was great
- Beautiful music
Cons
- The MC is pretty retarded-
So many unavoidable situations, but the MC was too stupid/stubborn
- The effects were bad most of the time
- Villains always got away (I fricken hate this troupe)
- Again, the MC is just so stupid, honestly it really brings the series down

Overall, not too great, but not bad.













Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Between Friendship and Love
1 people found this review helpful
by ivy
8 hours ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
The episodes of this drama are short but is enough to give you a sweet tooth! It talks about relationships of love and friendship among ordinary people, which I think is nice because most people could relate to it especially ordinary Koreans.
I also liked that they chose new and unknown korean actors for this web series, because it really presented well the setting and the image they wanted to portray which is an ordinary workplace. It wouldn't have been very convincing if they were to put famous actors or idols in it.
If you are bored and just want a cute drama to pass by time i suggest you give this a try, 35 minutes and you are done with the whole series, and would leave you smiling.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Bride of the Century
0 people found this review helpful
9 hours ago
Overall 8.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This was a re-watch of a drama that I've seen before.  It's one of those dramas that starts out kind of rom-com and then veers abruptly into melodrama, so story feels a bit uneven as a result of this.  But it's Lee Hong Ki as the main male lead and I can forgive a lot for Lee Hong Ki.  He plays Choi Kang Ju, the heir to Taeyang Group, who is engaged to Jang Yi Kyung, played by Yang Jin Sung, who just happens to look exactly like Na Doo Rim, also played by Yang Jin Sung.  Rumor has it that Kang Ju's family has a curse where the first bride of the first born son of each generation will die after the wedding. Yi Kyung and her conniving mother have a plan to thwart that fate when they discover the existence of Doo Rim. One of the things I love about this drama is the chemistry Yang Jin Sung has with Lee Hong Ki when she's playing Doo Rim and yet there's a complete lack of chemistry when she's playing Yi Kyung.  Sung Hyuk has a wonderful (though at the end somewhat dogged) turn as the Second Lead Who Will Not Get the Girl.  As usual, the second lead is a bit too passive and sad-sack and thus stands no chance.

One of my frustrations with this drama, however, is that they spend a not insignificant amount of time in the first two episodes establishing that Doo Rim is not only plucky - as any poor girl must be if she's to meet and win an arrogant chaebol - but also that she's competent at fighting and taking care of herself and anyone else.  Therefore, it's especially disappointing when, later in the series, there are multiple instances of her life being in danger and all she does is flail uselessly and gasp and scream and otherwise act ineffectually in her own defense. Another frustration is how comically deplorable the bad guys end up being. They hit a point where they are so bad that it borders on tedious.

All that said, I still very much enjoy the show. The pacing is good and keeps you moving, even through the frustrating bits. And really, I could listen to Lee Honk Ki speak forever.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love O2O
1 people found this review helpful
by Nora
21 hours ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
The story is really creative, it reminded me of an anime called Sword Art Online somehow, maybe because they filmed it as if they actually enter the game world for real!! When the guy (I forgot his name so I would just call him the guy)  said he was preparing for his wedding was really cute as if he would be married in real life, it was just a game bruh LOL!! This drama is actually the first Chinese drama I watched after a very long time, and it got me completely HOOKED again!! and now I gotta find similar dramas to this one ASAP T.T

I have no complaint about this drama except that maybe if they can find a better actress for the main girl?? I don't dislike her, don't get me wrong it just that her acting was pretty stiff and seemed a little bit forced here :((  BUT still highly recommended!!




Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Whirlwind Girl 2
0 people found this review helpful
21 hours ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
I love the first season, but I'm crazy about Season 2!!!

Again, if you're looking for a romance series, don't watch this. Although it has so many dreamy, romantic scenes, it is still a martial arts themed drama. and no ship will sail lol.

After watching season 2, I was curious what others thought and I was surprised that so many people didn't like it even after watching the whole season. It was understandable that many will not like it at first because they changed the actress who played the lead role AND Yang Yang is not in this season. I must admit I was hesitant to start it because there is no Yang Yang BUT I think the new Qi Bai Cao suited the role much better than the first one. And the MOST IMPORTANT FACTOR is Ji Chang Wook was introduced as the new lead actor. And there are so many things to like in this new season.

1. Storywise, I like Season 2 better. The characters had matured and the story became deeper and more complicated. Even tho this is not a romance story, there were so many romantic scenes that any normal girl will have her heart melting from those scenes.
2. Cooler action scenes. Also, Bai Cao and Chang An's training scenes were beautiful. It's like they're dancing and they're so good to look at.
3. Fang Ting Hao. I liked him in Season 1. I love him in Season 2. His character is just so deep and I really feel sorry for him. He suffered a lot because of his love for Bai Cao.
4. The music. Chen Xiang's (played Fang Ting Hao) voice is so dreamy. I just love his songs in the series (both in seasons 1 and 2).
5. A lot of people hated the last 2 episodes because they were mostly flashbacks. I don't mind. Most of them were my favorite scenes anyway. They were nice flashbacks.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Stay With Me
1 people found this review helpful
by Nora
21 hours ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This drama is pretty great, but I feel like there are too many unnecessary plots. Also, I think the main couple of this drama broke up way too often. I mean, come on!! Everytime there they face a problem they would just decide to broke up thinking that it was the best for their partner without even discuss it with each other!! What kind of couple are they?!? The plot twist I also think is pretty ridiculous, why? because people kept on blaming someone who in my opinion didn't have anything to do with for an accident that happened unexpectedly. I'll give you an example, the girl blamed the guy for her dad's death because when they broke up she called her dad which made her dad hurried back home and died in a traffic accident. WTH?! Nevertheless... still a happy ending though.

Acting wise, however, the actors they did a great job describing each character. Especially Xiao Huo, I feel really bad for him and wishing him a happy ending with a great woman (he sacrificed way too much for the main girl, it made my heart hurt T.T)!!


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Another Miss Oh
1 people found this review helpful
by xuxu
1 day ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This drama become the best drama I have ever watched, I love the story-line, the chemistry between the main leads, and of course the OSTs. Everything was on point!!! The reason why I really like this drama is that there are both sad and hilarious scenes which help balance out your mood throughout the drama. The chemistry between the main couple is just perfect. Trust me, you won't regret watching this drama. Not to lie to you, I have re-watched this drama more than 5 times. I highly recommend you to watch this drama!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Kuzu no Honkai
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
I didn't expect a very bold action on 1st episode. It surprised me that someone ( writer) came up with this story line. Very brave and unusual.
Plot twist at the end makes my heart broken.(*Because I always in a K-drama plot) This drama turns me to think seriously about Love and sex from Japanese point of view. It's kind of different from what I believe, but then I realized they're just high school students. And this kind of thing is happening for real somewhere.
This drama teach you to let go of something what doesn't belong to you in a worse way and also in a good way.

I like this drama because it's uncommon story. When you getting bored with k-drama love story, this drama is surely something new.
But be careful there is a lot of Mature content in each episodes.
A little bit boring in the middle but it's not that hard to finish it.



Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Surface Thoughts:
This drama blew me away with its quirky and light hearted feel. This is an overall feel good drama that anyone can enjoy watching.

Cast:
The chemistry between Joo Hyuk and Sung Kyung really worked, with a great story along side the acting. Cast was flawless to say the least.

Story:
Critically speaking the story wasn't too complex that it would confuse fans (complaints I've seen on other dramas), yet it's not too simple. You gradually get to figure out more about these characters as the drama progresses, giving the plot more backbone to rebound itself on. I also love how they implemented such an idea that strays away from the norm. Sung Kyung as beautiful as she is, played a difficult role that strays away from "Korean beauty", something that most Korean dramas are not willing to do (not saying theirs anything wrong with that, just that it was a very ambitious idea that payed off ). It all worked out and came together for a great ending in my opinion.

Overall:
Overall Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo is a banger of a show! Something to consider watching if you haven't already, or something to re-watch in the future if you have.

Note: This is my first drama review hope you enjoy. : )

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
2 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.5
I criticised a lot but you know it's a 9. It is a good drama. Go ahead and watch it!
Overall, I gave it a 9 but looking at other things u know it doesn't deserve this bias of mine.  Not fond of the two leads. thought I gave the acting of the male lead's actor a go after haven't watched him in anything for a long time and his acting is not favoured in the Jdrama-community. So what am I even biased about?  I can't figure it out. I just like it for it being able to coerce the lazy me to watch one episode after another and after another. . .
- Only 5.0 for acting/cast coz they can't emote to the maximum. The young lead actress delivers sometimes but cannot sometimes. Aside from the 2 leads,  many casts are all good.  The police was great and the male lead's mom did the best acting job, second would be Kento Kaku.
- Story is 9.0 coz I like the twists, but the director shouldn't have hinted at EP8 about who it is coz smarter viewers would already be guessing right on who that is.  That hint was so obvious. Should have waited until final episode to shock viewers.
- Music: 5.0 coz I like Leo Ieiri . If I didn't like her I wouldn't even rate this this much. The way the music is used it is tooooo much; annoying is a harsh word,  and it is not annoying at all, so I would say the soundtrack is just not optimised. Scenes that shouldn't have it should not have it playing over the moment they are doing some big thing, revelation, or an epic scene, or a crucial scene. The song just makes it awkward and cheesy.
- Rewatch: 1.5  for all the reasons above.

but I'm satisfied with having watched this show. It is not a regret. It is a good show.  Recommend for everyone.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
W
0 people found this review helpful
by Nora
2 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
First of all, the idea of this drama was really creative and different, the actors were also really great (especially the main male character </3), the setting, the background everything was great. However, the plot though, it's really confusing. I'm not the type who will watch the entire episodes minutes by minutes, I would do a lot of skipping because I don't have enough patience, but still understand at least what was going on in the drama as a whole. This one though, I still don't understand the main plot or how the webtoon's author had the power to enter the webtoon's world he created. I asked my friends (they also said they don't understand too) who also watched this and even google it, and I still don't understand. I think it's such a pity because maybe if they simplified the conflict a little bit it would be more enjoyable? What do you guys think?

Would I rewatch this? Maybe, but solely because of the actor LOL he's soo handsome </3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Girlfriend is a Gumiho
0 people found this review helpful
by Nora
2 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
I started to fell in love with Lee Seung Gi and Shin Min Ah here. Their acting were so great, the emotion, the comedy everything blends together and created this awesome hilarious drama. This drama doesn't have a lot of magic/fantasy features besides the Gumiho herself (if I remember correctly), so this would be CGI friendly for those who don't like CGI dramas. The two main characters' chemistry were also really great, I felt like nothing was forced and it just slowly developed deeper and deeper between them (if that makes sense). I highly recommend this for everyone especially for those who just star to watch K-drama :D


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
American Hustle Life
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
One of the funniest, cringiest and heart-warming series that BTS did! If you're an ARMY, you need to watch this!

You'll fall in love with all of the members once again, laugh at their quirky personalities and amazing English skills. It is essentially a story of their success, hardships and a way to the whole western music world. By the way, these are some of the most iconic memes and jokes of BTS that are jumbled into 8 episodes. so if you're staning any member, you NEED to watch this. My favorite thing was the interaction between the group members and the American artists. You can really spot the cultural differences and how 2 separate cultures can merge into 1. As much as every episode was enjoyable and totally amazing, in my opinion, this show needs a season 2!

An entertaining series worth the watch that will put a smile on your face!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
3 days ago
Overall 10
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
I do not even know where to start. I apologize for my English, I'm not fluent.

Rebel is a story about taking the reins of life itself. It begins in an intense way, and shows how a slave tries to break free in order to protect his family. But unfortunately, some things go wrong and the family falls into cycles of suffering. One revenge leads to another, and tragedies continue to happen. Fortunately, this does not leave a difficult story to watch. It is light on many times, intense on others, and all the time we see ourselves being captivated by the characters.

--- Action
The action scenes are very well done, even to almost have supernatural elements. The cinematography is beautiful, but despite that sometimes have such beautiful scenes that disclose the rest of the style of the drama. But that does not count as a negative point at all.

--- Performance
PERFECT. Nothing to complain about the actors. They all played the roles brilliantly. However, I detest the Gil Dong child. But it's just my opinion and how it did not last long, irrelevsi it and I followed the show.
Yoon Gyun Sang demonstrates all his acting power as Gil Dong. He is so innocent and strong at the same time. Your character emanates a warmth and dignified maturity. And because he's so tall and big (the broadest shoulders I've ever seen in my life) he looks like a big bear brother or like I said to my brother, a wardrobe haha. Yoon Gyu Sang seems to have been born for this role (as well as Mo Hyul in Six Flying Dragons.) He simply COMBINES a warrior who fights for a cause! And especially now as Gil Dong, he had a chance to show off a man's strength! Ahaha

I do not consider Ga Ryung as the protagonist. Unlike other fans, I think she existed there just to be Gil Dong's romantic couple. She was not annoying, she was a good character. A strong woman for her time as well as a good wife and cause partner. But that's all. Whether she was there or not, had no strong influence on the plot. But the Importance of it is not for the story, it is for our hero, Gil Dong. If it had not been for Ga Ryung, he probably would have had a solitary existence. His love for her is remarkable. It is perceptible that it is she who allows him to live as a human being as well as a fighter. And that's what makes the novel beautiful. A firm, supportive, strong-willed woman. She also fights her own war later, on the scene with the King. Honestly, a woman strong in many ways and who matured very cruelly.
It simply hurt in me to hear her call for her husband, and Gil Dong call for her. The way the name "Ga Ryung" came from Gil Dong's mouth, seriously, it caused me tears! And how she screamed for "Husband" ... A lot of chemistry! And a beautiful novel! It seemed like everything was going to fall apart!

The king is a character full of conflicts. He has a distorted moral sense and believes that he does the right thing all the time. Unlike the other fans, I did not find him such a brilliant character.

The female light of this show was Lee Honey as Nook So. What was that, gentlemen? What bright woman is that? What a formidable character is this? She definitely shone. Rebel would not be the same without this actress. All that she lived, being an imperfect woman, and also ahead of her time; being a Gisaeng and an "artist," she conquered the power in the only way she could get, and did not regret it to an end. A mature woman, full, feminine, strong, and full of defects. This was Nook So. The villain who was never a real villain. Palms for her! She, unlike Ga Ryung, did not need a man to make her shine any more. Nook So shone so bright that it made the men who were by his side still stronger. This is the presence that the character played by Lee Honey had.
Nook So and Gil Dong were the ones who brought this drama to its zenith. It is interesting to see the form that links with the other.

This was a memorable drama. Although I have the feeling that they have not taken advantage of all the premises they put into the plot, I have nothing to complain about. All very good.

One of the best epic soundtracks, side by side with The Princess Man and Six Flying Dragons. I can not stop listening to the Music and to be touched by remembering excerpts from this drama.

Yoo Gyun Sang, you're an incredible actor and born for epics!
I will rewatch soon !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Master's Sun
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 3.5
I took up The Master’s Sun because it was highly recommended by my buddies on Instagram. I take all my buddies recommendations seriously and try to watch as many as they recommend. I had read great reviews for this drama so was super excited to watch it. But for some reason, I did not like the drama as much as a lot of other viewers. Though I did enjoy each episode, I would often find it difficult to keep going back to it. I had felt something similar for City Hunter where I would be impressed by each episode but would find it difficult to keep up with it. I am surprised at myself that despite liking the main leads, I still could not love the drama as much as I would want to.  
Let’s weigh this spooky but funny drama on our drama beam balance and see what weighs it down.


Good Weights
So Ji Sub: I have seen Ji Sub on a lot of drama posters but never watched any of his dramas. I don’t know why but he never appealed to me. I did watch his drama ‘I’m Sorry, I Love You’ but then I was writing (still writing) written updates for its Turkish adaptation, Bir Ask Hikayesi and though Ji Sub was good in the drama, I found the Turkish actor, Seckin Ozdemir far better in the same role. I think I had some bias against him which I suppose ended after I watched The Master’s Sun. So Ji Sub looks good and acts amazing. His unrelenting attitude and occasional man-childish behaviour in the drama makes him surprisingly cute. He gives out a very Mr. Darcy vibe, a cute Mr. Darcy.  

Gong Hyo Jin: My first KDrama heroine :) she features as a good weight in all her dramas that I have reviewed. She is an astoundingly talented actress who can bring any character to life with her easy performance. From a smart doctor to a struggling TV anchor to a psychic, she has played every role with such conviction that I can never find a flaw in any of her characters. She played the anxious and terrified Gong Shil with such conviction that I felt pity for her. She even impersonated a cat with perfection. I love simply love her. If you ever see her name in the cast list of a drama, do watch it as she is an amazing actress.


Bad Weights
Amnesia: The amnesia angle is very common in Korean dramas and I hate it. I hate it in almost every drama that has it. I feel the memory loss angle is added when the writer has to stretch the story for a few more episodes and has no other idea of how to do it. It frustrates me more than it frustrates the person who has lost his memory in the drama. In this drama, somewhere towards the end, Joong Won loses his memory and guess what, he remembers everything and everyone except Gong Shil. Very convenient, right? And then again the same old thing, she tries to push him away from her but he is drawn to her like a fly to a sweetmeat. Sorry, I do not always enjoy this selective memory loss angle and here too it was unwanted and forced.

Unresolved Issues: I am a very passionate drama viewer. When I am watching a drama, my brain is constantly working trying to figure out why the character is doing what it’s doing and what will it do next. In this drama, Gong Shil sees ghosts and is able to ward them off only when she touches Jong Won. From the very first episode, my head started working to determine what could be the reason behind this magical touch. I had a million theories in my head justifying the source of his special ability. But when the drama ended and I realised that they never explained the reason behind their ‘special’ connection I felt wronged. I hate it when writers add certain aspects to generate curiosity and never bother to address them. This is one major reason why I will not rate this drama high.  

Love Story: Though Ji Sub and Hyo Jin shared a sparkling on-screen chemistry, their love story was too slow burn for my liking. I am not against slow burn, but this was a little too much and I despised the couple for being so difficult. They looked so nice together but always ensured that something stood between them. His arrogance, her pride, his amnesia, her nobility or some random reason always kept them apart and it frustrated me. Had they been less of a typical drama couple and more of a normal couple, I would have enjoyed the drama more.

All in all, the drama is enjoyable. A lot of viewers consider this as the best KDrama but for me, it was a decent entertainer. I wasn’t wowed by anything but never felt bored either. The supporting cast and parallel storyline were enjoyable. I liked Kang Woo and Yi Rung’s love story. I don’t know why a popular actress would chase after a security guard who is not interested in her a bit, I still liked their chemistry. They were cute. The OST is also good. Nothing really is bad about this drama. It is good for a one-time watch.
 
I give The Master’s Sun 3 out of 5 rating. Funny, romantic, scary and entertaining. This drama is worth a watch.
 
Originally posted on www.alphagirl.in

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?