Beautiful Gong Shim

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 8,829 users)
  • Ranked: #1334
  • Popularity: #140
  • Watchers: 16,543

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

20 edits
10 edits
9 edits
7 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Richel
69 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
The best way I can describe this show is by asking you to picture a house. It's a very nice house, but over time the foundation seems to crumble. Then one day, the entire building can't hold itself up anymore and collapses in on itself until it's just a pile of separate, broken parts that used to make a beautiful whole.

Beautiful Gong Shim began as a drama with infinite promise in the rom-com area. The two main characters are quirky and at first glance, you just expect a cute little romance that you can enjoy without much thought. I'll also point out that the first few episodes included some of the most ridiculously funny moments I've ever experienced in any drama, so my expectations were incredibly high as the rest of the episodes came out.

A little past halfway through it, though, the plot tried way too hard to be serious and suspenseful, thus losing its initial humorous merits. The feeling is somewhat like listening to your grandparents tell stories: at first, you're pretty interested, but it quickly gets boring, yet you feel an obligation to sit there until the very last word. I stopped finding things to laugh at. The romantic moments were less rewarding in the midst of the mess of the conspiracy plot the writers drew up for no apparent reason. The characters deteriorated and lost every trait that made them unique.

If there were one redeeming aspect of this drama, I'd have to say that it's Nam Goong Min. Usually a professional in depicting a psycho serial killer in other dramas, this time he's the lead male with a fair amount of goofballness. He was a joy to watch, but his character was not spared in the enormous *let's-make-everyone-generic* massacre. Everyone else fulfilled their roles nicely, but Goong Min's really the star of this show. (Which is interesting, as I thought the directors would give Minah more of a spotlight but she really dropped off the radar late into the drama. I could say less of the wig they made her wear though.)

The music was fun; there were multiple tracks that cheered me up along the way and altogether, they were nice to listen to.

In general, I'd recommend watching maybe the first ten episodes, if not less. The beginning is worth watching, as it puts a smile on your face pretty frequently. It's just the second half that becomes appallingly boring (trust me, you probably wouldn't even miss anything if you skipped straight to the last episode as soon as the story even starts to drag).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sharreb
21 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.5
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
Its a struggle to decide a fair score. It would depend on your expectations. I started not really expecting much and found myself surprised by Min Ah who made Gong shim very endearing and cute. Then theres Nam goon Min's Ahn Dan tae, super goofball that makes him different among many k dramas over the years. This was a pairing i wasnt sure will work on paper but onscreen their sparring hair pulling and banter was an easy watch. Throw in a second male lead Jun Soo that was puppy cute and a nicely written bromance with Dan tae. Suddenly im game for more episodes.

Then the focus was lost or shall i say shifted. The Dan tae birth secret and uncovering culprit should have and would have made an okay side plot. Instead this thin plot with an unremarkable antagonist (that was transparent and revealed very early on) was stretch to fill many episodes. If they had stared true on the Gong shim path, more on her character development, growth in career and confidence and interactions with both Dan tae and Jun soo this drama would have been better. Instead she became a prop, mostly on the sidelines and only utilise when the writers feel like it.

Overall the storyline is forgettable but i will remember the wig, the brush Gong shim used to brush her teeth and some of the cuter moments of the trio.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
manicmuse
11 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 5.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Watching this drama is like boarding a luxury cruise ship, and thinking you you are going to have a fabulous vacation, then right when you start having the best time ever you hear Celine Dion start to sing about her heart and you realize the ship is about to crash into an iceberg, and you want to get off, or turn back, but it's too late. Honestly, I sensed early on that this show would be a disaster, but I loved the main 3 characters so much that I didn't want to believe it.

The best part of this story is the relationship between Gong Shim, Joon Soo, and Ahn Dan Tae (I don't know why the sister is even in the promo pic). The bromance, the romance, even the rivalry works. Together they are hilarious and heartwarming. I loved weird Gong Shim, in her wig. I think Min Ah was a strong leading lady. I loved sweet Joon Soo with his perpetual smile. Ohn Joo Wan is adorable. I loved seeing Nam Gung Min not play a sinister bad guy, but instead play a strangely adorable character with a random super power. The early episodes, where we get to know these characters, and they get to know each other, are the best episodes. It's like a completely different show compared to the rest of the drama. As soon as they started getting more into the missing kid storyline, the show went from fun romcom to the stupidest mystery thriller ever.

I am so angry at the writing that I actually had to google the writer. Apparently she wrote for some dramas that I liked, so I don't get it. I am giving the story a 4 only because of those early moments between the 3 characters, but honestly the cast deserves the credit for that. The story itself deserves maybe a 2.5 at best. The worst part of the story is that everything is obvious from the very beginning. EVERYTHING. We watch the whole show waiting for the characters to figure out what we already know, and watch them frustratingly misunderstand each other in the process. What also doesn't help is that our main characters suddenly start acting completely different. Ahn Dan Tae starts to literally seem like he has multiple personality disorder. He always retains at least a small part of his charm, because Nam Gung Min is a great actor, but once he started to change the show became less interesting. His booty is consistent though, and deserves an honorable mention.

The rest of the cast is pretty mediocre, and stereotypical, while some have some really horrible overacting moments. I liked Gong Shim' parents, but her sister is a useless character. If they wanted to make her a serious rival that we cared about, then she should have been much more involved in the story. The grandmother was another character that I honestly didn't care about, and some of her crying scenes were laughably bad. I liked the dude from the convenience store, but when a minor convenience store character outshines other major characters, you know something is very very wrong.

The soundtrack is good though. I really liked a lot of the songs, but some lost their charm when the show started to.

Overall, this is a drama of wasted potential. It didn't know if it wanted to be a romcom, or a melodrama, or a thriller, so it just tried to sloppily integrate the them all. All that did was water down what they could have done well.

As much as I want to recommend watching the 3 main leads, I have to recommend skipping this one. The story goes nowhere. It's longer than it should be, and felt like it. It desperately clings to drama clichés to fill in the time. The last two episodes are embarrassingly bad. Not only do they pretty much identical to another drama that aired around the same time, but the closure for the characters felt so forced that I could't take it seriously.

I hope someone takes the best moments between the three leads and edits this show to be the length it's supposed to be (10 episodes max!). I would recommend watching that video in a heartbeat. Otherwise watching 20 episodes of this is not worth hitting the iceberg. And if you already started it, don't listen to rose, it's ok to let go.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kingsqueen
8 people found this review helpful
Jul 19, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
I could just cry. This show started out with SO much potential. It started off cute and funny with adorable leads that won my heart. Then about half way through, I started to worry. This is a 20 episode show and the story was starting to flounder. Surely, they will save it and all will be well - I believed this. And those leads - gosh, they are cute! Nearing the end, and I am really starting to get annoyed with Writer-nim. What the heck were you thinking Story-Writer??? And then the last episode comes, and I am so sadly disappointed in this show. If they had cut out most of the intense, glaring, staring contests maybe they could have written a tighter story. It's almost like the writer had so many ideas and tried to shove them all in to the show whether they fit or not. There were so many loose ends and "what the heck" moments that I could spend an hour listing them all.

I cannot, in good consciousness, recommend this show to anyone. I really wanted to. I was smitten with Nam Goong Min and Min Ah - those leads were the bright spot in the pile of poo this story became. (And incidentally, this is the first time I've seen either of them act. I've not seen NGM do his villainous roles, but I think comedy suits him.) The story is named after Gong Shim. However, the title character doesn't seem to be the focus of the show in the back half at all. And her sister, who is on the cover as a "main lead" - is relegated to an afterthought. Her story goes NOWHERE. Joon Soo, the other main lead, was likable, but mostly boring. The writers essentially did nothing with his character. The focus of the show ended up with Ahn Dan Tae. They described one story to us, and we got something completely different.

The ending was rushed and the last episode was completely and totally random and thrown together. I felt like they wanted to tie up a lot of loose ends, but they did not even do a good job of that. They had TWENTY episodes to finish this story. There was NO good reason that the ending should have been rushed. I feel sorry for the actors that were involved in this story. I would absolutely watch these actors do another show, and so wish that THIS story had been executed properly.

The Good:
The cast
The music
The comedic moments
The cuteness of the couple

The Bad:
The loose ends
The bait and switch story
The length
The unsatisfactory ending (happy ending, but not done correctly)

The Ugly:
Poorly executed storyline (throw it at the wall and see what sticks)
Characters backburnered and forgotten
Unending glares and stare-downs
What the Heck moments galore

I originally intended to give this drama a score of 7 because I WAS entertained and enjoyed ADT and GS so much. As my husband and I discussed it this morning, my rating dropped to a 6.5, and then by the end of our conversation I had to conclude that (as much as I hated to do it) that this story really only deserves, at best, a 5.5. Sorry show! I wanted to love you!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Meep
4 people found this review helpful
Jul 20, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 4.0
Beautiful Gong Shim started off as a delightfully quirky rom-com, with a winning main character in Gong Shim, who was not afraid to speak her mind, but also had dreams and aspirations for her life, wanting to learn Italian and become an artist and was working towards making those dreams a reality, her unsupportive family be damned.

She dealt with the stress-induced hairloss by wearing her signature wig, conjoured up hilarious scenarios in her head, but never seemed to lose sight of what made her great.

Add to that a truly oddball main character in Ahn Dan Tae, who looked like a sort of hobo, but was actually a human rights lawyer after a stint in prison, wonderfully played by Namgoong Min whose facial gymnastics are a true highlight and a second lead in Sook Jun Soo whose bromance with ADT was a sight to behold as they never really fought over Gong Shim but both were enchanted by her character and wanted to help her because of it, plus some great humour and fluffy chemistry and you have a winning combination of characters and a good set up for a drama.

Gong Shim's family played the necessary foil to Gong Shim, especially her odious sister Gong Mi, and Jun Soo's family had a missing heir-secret that could be used to fill out the plot.

So where did it go wrong? How come my rating for this is so low?

Well, sadly as the story progressed Gong Shim and her dreams and aspirations fell further and further into the background. Ahn Dan Tae seemingly completely took over and missing heir storyline derailed the quirky, funny rom-com into another chaebol-inheritance-family-drama. Plot threads were pretty unceremoniously dropped and a drama where the name of the main character is in the title was no longer about the main character at all, suddenly she was the third lead instead of the first.

This is not due to Minah's acting, she was perfectly fine and her Gong Shim is a character I will continue to like, but it seems decisions were made to make the chaebol-inheritance plot the most important.
Plus the drama broke up the bromance for too long, the humour faded away and Gong Shim made some really weird choices that put her in danger and turned her into another brainless heroine. I want characters to make at least somewhat logical choices, so I can understand if not empathise.

EDIT: ADT also makes some questionable choices later on that I don't understand which soured me on the pairing as well.

Ah well, put BGS into the 'Meh'-bin for me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
blackvarlden
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 19, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 1.5
I don't want to waste more time on this show than I already have so i'm just going to say this. It was good. Really good. I am angry because of how cute, quirky and great the characters (at least everyone but the uncle and the older sister) were. It all went down the drain. I'm so disappointed, it used to be the show I looked forward to the most. Honestly, I blame the director and the writing, the actors did their best but do yourself a favor and watch the first 9 episodes and then read the recaps of the rest if you're curious.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 19, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Beautiful Gong Shim is a cute rom/com with a little angst in it. Mostly I rated it lower because of the last few episodes. I don't understand why the writer turned the cute rom/com of love into angsty crap. Where is my wedding? Any of you that know me should know by now that I am not a rom/com fan and love me some birth secret makjang and if people die in the end it is okay with me. However, I was really into this cheesy romance and wanted the ending to be more spectacular cheese. I was so disappointed. The story is okay, but the character development was horrible. The writer changed these two quirky, lovable people into stereotypes. In the end they barely had the characteristics that made them so unique.

I have never seen Min Ah in a drama. She was totally adorable as Gong Shim. I liked her character a lot. The other actors were good also. They are what made the dram worth watching. Nam Gung Min as Ahn Dan Tae was totally funny a far cry from his usual psycho roles.

The music is good.

I will never rewatch this.

I recommend this drama for the funny cuteness if nothing else.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BootyfulSwan
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 31, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I was interested to watch this drama coz it's so damn funny!! Very light hearted and enjoyable, But then after eps 11, how come it become so serious? I still continue watching it since it's already halfway, but i kind of miss the laugh that i had in the beginning of the drama. I like to see how silly gong shim and ahn dan tae. But then everything becomes boring about uncovering ahn dan tae family's mystery, not a good approach writer nim! It shld be kept short and continue the focus about gong shim!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Minarii
1 people found this review helpful
Apr 4, 2018
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
You are looking for something that will make you happy? You need something that will cheer you up and make you smile a lot? Or maybe you want to take a break from action/suspense/mystery dramas that are full of plot twists, that make your brain explode? Then watch this.

Story:
As a rom-com drama i have to say it was good. The romance between Gong Shim and Ahn Dan Tae was really cute and pleasent to watch. I wish there were more romantic moments between them though and also more kisses, which semeed too unnatural for me. There were a lot (like.. a lot) of funny moments and funny characters and i think these funny moments made me love this drama. What i didn't like in the plot is that there were some moments that seemed too unrealistic, at least to me.
Also everything was really predictable. Even from the beginning you know what's going to happen, you know what the writer's idea is. I don't really mind that though, it was interesting anyway.

Acting/Cast:
I just love the cast! When you see Minah as a main role, you'll probably think that she will ruin the drama with bad acting or something like that because that's what most people think that when they see kpop idol as an actor. But no, Minah IS good at acting. There were moments i just forgot that Gong Shim was actually Minah, she did a great job! But i have to admit, Gong Shim inspired me so much! She is really strong, she never gives up. She acts friendly even with people who hurt her feelings, just because she is too good. And the most important - she knows how to love herself.
It was my first drama with Nam Goong Min and i have to say i'm surprised (in a good way). His acting is really natural and it was just a pleasure to watch him.
Joon Soo is the one who made me smile the most. Ohn Joo Wan really did a good job. His character is really lovable and it's easy to like him.
What to say about Gong Mi though... Yeah, sometimes she was annoying, she was too unnecessary selfish, but i couldn't bring myself to hate her. The actress is pretty and gave me a warm feeling, so i didn't mind Gong Mi most of the time.
I didn't like Bang Eun Hee's acting, her voice were too deep and the way she was talking was so strange that made me cringe.

Music:
I love all the OSTs, especially Coffee Boy's song. It's a song that makes your heart flutter wherever you hear it. Most of the songs are like that - they make you smile like a fool, they make you happy.

Rewatch Value: I will rewatch this for sure. Maybe when I'm sad or maybe when I'm bored, but I'll definitely watch this again.

Overall:
This drama made me happy, it just gave me the warm feeling i needed. It made me believe in my dreams to some extent, so i don't regret watching it. If you love cute couples, even more cute bromances and funny moments this drama is definitely for you. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pammo1949
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 19, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 3.5
I had to challenge myself to write a semi-positive review.. Initially it was just fun watching NG play a different type role and he showed his versatility and talent as an actor. What ruins most of these dramas for me is the costume design person. Annoyed and distracted by the leads wig and dress (based on her age) throughout each episode. The story telling was consistent until the 19th episode when the drama gets bogged down with nonsensical responses to the situations that were created for the drama. I kept asking myself "why?" Entertaining and funny in spots but just not an exceptional comedy or romantic drama K dramas can't remove themselves from cliches. You can watch for light entertainment if nothing else to d but don't expect this drama to end up as one of your "favs"

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Maria Clara Abello
1 people found this review helpful
27 days ago
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
I have watched a ton of different dramas, many genres and from may countries, but this is one of those dramas ypu never forget. Not only is the relationship of the main couple sweet and beautiful, they both grow in the best way throughout the development of the series. One of the most importante things for me in these types of dramas that are light hearted and dont focus on the DRAMA of every little thing that could go wrong in the life of the main characters, like some other more serious dramas do, its that it has to be funny and Beautiful Gong Shim did it for me, it is one of the FUNNIEST dramas I have ever seen, i couldn´t even sleep through the night because I didnt want to stop laughing.

I recomend this drama a 100% if you are looking for a good time to push your worries aside.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MelissaSternenberg
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 28, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.5
As a lot of other people have stated, the beginning of the drama and the end of the drama sometimes seem like completely different animals. The beginning has us learning about the two sisters and the diametrically opposed viewpoints and struggles they have...and somewhere around the middle it turns into the story of the two male leads and a dark, troubled past in their respective families.

It's interesting how this series was billed about a story of two sisters, when to be quite honest Gong Mi (Gong Shim's older, 'prettier' sister) is all but written out of the drama as a whole. I wonder what happened there?

Either way, the actors had excellent performances all around, though I admit I would've liked to see more of Gong Mi in the entire drama, even if as the predictable foil 2nd female lead. The music was probably what stood out the most to me in this drama, and the two male leads.

That being said, this was fortunately a case of a drama more or less losing its way down the line, but not failing to be entertaining all the same. I still greatly enjoyed this drama and would likely recommend it to someone...though it's not likely to be on my top ten.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?