Classic (2003) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 3,446 users)
  • Ranked: #640
  • Popularity: #603
  • Watchers: 6,178

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

20%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

14 edits
6 edits
4 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
vereelimee
33 people found this review helpful
Feb 4, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I expected this to be a typical teen romance movie, but it stole my heart. The story tricked me until the very end. I loved every bit of it.

You get a double story in the end with her and her mother's love story. This certainly is the perfect mix of gushy romance with coming of age.

Much MUCH better than Romeo and Juliet by far. It's more satisfying than sad at the end and worth the watch! Perfect for a girl's night. My friends dread subtitles but they had nothing to complain about when it was over.

Although, I give the music a nine because I wouldn't necessarily go out of my way to hear it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ShreeyaSharma
12 people found this review helpful
Jul 30, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
There were about 35 minutes left for the movie to get over and I'd already given a rating of 8.5 thinking nothing could redeem the rating now at this point. The scores I've given now after finishing the movie tell a whole different story. This is the magic of the movie. A good movie turned into a beautiful story in a matter of 30 minutes. I'm still holding back tears as I type the review.

I began the movie thinking I already had the plot figured out. While watching the movie I still thought that this isn't such a great movie maybe. By the end I was choked up and bawling my eyes out. The story takes such an unexpected turn towards the end that you just never see it coming. It was a beautifully woven tale about the love stories of a mother and daughter. In fact, as far as unrequited love stories go, this has got to be my favorite one. Usually at the end of those, I'm cursing the characters for their foolishness but this time, I was awestruck by the sheer power of sentiments and reality when it comes to loving someone you cannot be with. The strongest part of the movie, as well as the best, is the story.

The actors were all truly amazing. Son Ye Jin is one of my favorite actors and she never fails to impress me. She did a great job playing both the roles and brought credibility to the screen. Jo Seung Woo was brilliant from the first scene he appeared in, you just love the guy by the end. Jo In Sung and Lee Ki Woo had smaller roles but were pretty good in their own respect.

I never usually notice the music in a movie because there's not much time, not much focus on it. But the music of this movie was heartbreaking and heartwarming-ly beautiful. The instrumental theme of the movie made me feel bittersweet, like an unrequited love.

I could definitely watch this movie again but maybe in a little while, not in the near future. I'd like to see it again when the effect of this tie wears off and I need to be reminded that yes not all the love stories get their happy ends but life moves on nevertheless.

A must watch movie for everybody. Steer clear if you don't like too of much emotional hooha. But I'd still recommend it anyway because it's just that brilliant!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Forever_Shawol
13 people found this review helpful
Oct 6, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Amazing movie Classic is defintely "The Classic" Movie! It was so beautiful I can't put this into words, I expected to die in tears but It was really funny. Made me laugh and cried, I was somewhat confused because Son ye Jin acted as both Ji hye and Joo Hee...But soon did I realise Ji Hye always had her hair down and her mom didn't

Cast: Amazing I love Son Ye Jin and the guy that acted as Joo Ha was just awesome! Sang Min's character...well we didn't see alot of him until the end , but I think he was good too. Tae Soo was well acted too.

Music: The instrumental is so beautiful I really love it , some what heart breaking and somewhat relaxing?

Rewatch: I will difintely re watch this someday but...Next I have a bunch of other K-movies waiting like A Moment to Remember or My Sassy Girl!

Overall: Everyone should be watching this, I loved the cute scenes in the rain as well as everything else. It all made sense in the end.The power of love :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
leahakiko
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 17, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
Ah man. My eyes are still red from crying. I don't understand why I loved this movie so much. It was simple and a complete cliche, but the acting, the ending, and the overall finish of this movie left me feeling sad yet completely content at the same time.

Story | (This movie goes back and forth between the past and the present, so don't get confused as to why the main actress is with two different men.) Two love stories in two different decades. In both stories, someone writes a love letter to the person they themselves have feelings for, but let someone else use their true feelings to attract the one they like. Through many events, both stories develop and change for the better and for worse.

Cast | Originally, I only watched this because of Jo In Sung, but ended up loving Jo Seung Woo's character and acting. His character was lovable and when he was serious, I could feel my heart jerking. Ah. he was great. Son Ye Jin was great as her two roles but her chemistry with Jo Seung Woo was undeniable. There wasn't much time to show a better connection between her and In Sung's character but even with the little time they had, I loved them together. Lee Ki Woo made his character extremely lovable and you couldn't help but love him even with the storyline. Not much air time for the supporting characters, but I enjoyed them.

Music | Any movie or drama that has an amazing instrumental will automatically win me over in the music category. When I Love you More and More is an amazing OST with lyrics and with just instrumentals. It puts you in the right mood for this type of movie.

Rewatch | Not too sure, I did love it though. It was a great movie that is for sure, but my god was it sad. It hit me in a certain spot and I'm not sure if I could handle this movie a second time. Maybe in a few years I'll rewatch but as of right now, I am scarred from the greatness of this movie.

Overall | Great. That's it. I'm not going to lie, parts of this movie moved slower than I hoped. But the last 20 minutes of this movie made all those slow moments worth it. This is that type of movie where you need to watch it because of the ending. The ending made this movie great (to me). If you're ever in the mood for a romantic yet tearjerker (hope that's not just me that love that combination), this is your movie. Please anyone thinking about this, give it a watch!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
addicted2dramas
10 people found this review helpful
Aug 19, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie is so famous. I heard a lot of praise about it from my friend and watched it a few weeks ago.

The story is thoroughly cliche but I did like the beginning. Compared to the parents' story, I would have preferred to know more about the present day love story. They focused too much on the 70s era and too less on the present day. I understood the love from the 70s but the present one hardly had any basis to fall in love.

Although the cinematography looks good, the screenplay is boring. Also I was not happy with the editing and the direction was clumsy in parts. I expected better from this movie and had to skip a few parts.

I would not watch it again, but anyone looking for a pure and innocent kind of love story- here it is for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 5, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I don't know but although I found the premise for Classic to be very interesting, I didn't really enjoy watching it in the end. The story jumps back and forth between past and present but I was kind of bored with the past storyline and wished to see more of the present romance storyline. The acting was very good but the characters didn't grab me. It had a good ending at least...
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JustBruck
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 11, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN!!! I will totally recommend it to anyone!!! It has the same feel as the American movie, The Notebook, but it totally better and so much more romantic!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
TheWanderer_Beansprout
2 people found this review helpful
Apr 17, 2018
Completed 2
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Why I like this movie? Because its timeless. It’s sad, funny, romantic and it chases you for a very long time. Its very rare for me to feel satisfaction in the very end of the movie and this was the first one. It was created beautifully, lovely at the same time...So much wonderful feels even the sad ones. All the characters were very likable even the supporting actors. everything was amazing. But I need to say this. Joon Ha's smile made me feel that its wonderful to live. Its like a rare gem, so much emotion.
Music was wonderfully made for this movie.a classical song for a very classic story.

It made me think that I didn't understand much about love. Its not all about happiness its about the timeliness of the love for each other no matter what happen.

Overall this will be in my heart forever.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
asiandramafan
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 6, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
What a movie, I never expected this movie to be this much intense. The movie starts in present day and we have flashbacks to show us the history / the past story...

It is a great love story of a mother and a daughter. Mother's love story never had a happy ending.. She could not have her own happy ending, this shows us not all not every love story can have a happy ending, even if you think that you have your own happy ending, when third parties are involved this happy ending can change to not so happy ending just like we have it in the movie.


Daughter falls ( Ji Hye ) in love with a guy who is involved in their school's theatre club but one of her friend's also fancies the guy she likes.


Her mother (Joo Hye) is the daughter of a congressman and been promised to marry another guy Tae Soo who is a friend of Joo Ha ( the man her mother is in love with) knowing that his friend and his fiance is in love with each other he lets both to write letter to each other using his name but one day Tae Soo's father learns this and he beats Tae Soo to death, Tae Soo commits to suicide and been saved by Joo Ha and one of the other friend the last minute, with the feeling of guilt he joins Vietnam War and loses his eyesight, ( first I thought it might be Korean War but timeline does not fit as it was in 1950 to 1953, and Hippy Hippy Shake released in 1959's) after returning back from War, he meets the woman he loves (Joo Hye) and tells her a lie that he got married and asks her to move on, her mother had no choice but to marry Tae Soo, after his death his friend 's informed her that at the time he was not married but he got married after Tae Soo and her got married, he also had a son, while Tae Soo had a daughter.

I was sort of guessing about who the guy is that our main girl Jin Hye is in love with, glad that I was not wrong...

But I wish I we could see how the daughter & son of the unrequited lovers ( not really unrequited but lovers who couldn't have their happy ending) love developed in the present day, wish they had gave an equal part to present and past in the movie..

The last 45 minutes of this drama was a torture for me as I was bawling all the time..

When it comes to the musics, I only remmeber Hippy Hippy Shake from the dance scenes, so the OST is not that memorable.

OMG Lee Ki Woo, If I am not wrong he is the tallest Korean Actor, 1.95 cm... I think after him Lee Kwang Soo is the tallest Korean Actor with 1.90 cm

I believe I will watch this movie for 2 or 3 more times but not more than 3 times..

I am not going to tell you more because it will spoil everything.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kerry
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 15, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I am happy I finally watched this. It's a beautiful story, some tears shed but still beautiful. The acting was great and I am always happy to watch Son Ye Jin & Jo In Sung. Overall Classic is a classic great movie to watch.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Suzy Yarashi
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 11, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
As iam writtying this, i cant stop crying, at been along time since a movi can touch my soul like this one. I acnt belive at passe 13 since this move came out, and let me tell you , it is a masterpiece. I think if you dislike this movie , the reason it need to be ; you just dont like romance, because it is impossible to not fall in love with this brilant movie.
There is no better adjective to set this movie! "The Classic" at first glance may be regarded as more of a cliché novel, of extremely predictable history. And so it is! But no, do not get carried away by it. You know what I think about cliches, do not you? If not, I'll tell you one more time. I do not care what the story comes to tell, I care how the story will be told!
It's not just another teenage romance, it's the teen romance, created to be enjoyed, lived and experienced by young adults who admire the Classics! It is by no means one of those usual American youth love films. The fact is that The Classic is an indispensable film in any Oriental movie collection, especially for those who like Korean romantic cinema or just good love stories with a lot of soul.
The movie is also critical! It portrays rigidly, in every sense of the term, the period of political turmoil that South Korea passed while under the Military Regime. Physical punishment, harassment and other consequences of this form of government. There is still room to demonstrate moments of manifest, in addition to surgically approaching the Vietnam War.
"The Classic" is not just a romance movie, it goes beyond. I could talk even more about the wealth of details that the feature is about to bring, but I would need to split the review into two parts. So see yourself and draw your conclusions.
I have come to believe more in fate and more in chance at the end of the film. The sensations and emotions lead us to the real facts that we are subject in life. ''Not everything is flowers''. There are difficulties, there are obstacles. And the easy way is not always better than that of pain! We all have happy and sad stories!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
minnieboogie
0 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
SO PERFECT, I KNOW IT WAS NOT EASY TO LIVING AND LOVING IN WAR TIME, THIS IS THE MOST PERFECT FILM THAT I'VE EVER WATCHED!! FROM THIS FILM, I'M FALLING IN LOVE WITH JO SEUNG WOO, HE IS REALLY SO HANDSOME THEN AND NOW!! I'M BIGGEST YOUR FANS, SEUNG WOO OPPA!!!!

I HAVE WATCHED TWICE BUT I NEVER GETTING BORED OF THIS MOVIE, SO ROMANTIC, I ALWAYS IMAGINE IF JOON HA DIDN'T LIED ABOUT HIS MARRIED, WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO THEIR STORY!!

ANYWAYS, I'LL KEEP WATCH WHEN I MISS SEUNG WOO OPPA!! KKKKKKK

Was this review helpful to you?