Yankee-kun to Megane-chan (2010) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.5 (scored by 4,546 users)
  • Ranked: #2529
  • Popularity: #420
  • Watchers: 8,414

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

10 edits
9 edits
8 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
drkangel41
19 people found this review helpful
Aug 17, 2012
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This show is officially one of my favorite dramas. I watched this drama before i realized that it was based off a manga but after watching it, I loved it so much that i tried out the manga. The drama actually altered the characters and story order quite a bit from the manga, and I've come to love the drama even more because of it.

The drama changed the characters to be more lovable, relatable, and endearing and the plot was not slow or draggy at all to me. Yankee to Megane is one of those dramas that has a manga/anime-esque feel to it, and by that I mean that the whole story revolves around small events, like Hana Kimi. It's not going to be a show with a gripping plot that'll keep you at the edge of your chair or anything because it has a different style. So I disagree with the previous reviewer that the events are out of place, because that's how these dramas are stylized to be and the way the drama portrays it is actually a lot more coherent then the manga.

The drama is a great light and funny story, but also has heart and good points of friendship. The acting is also great. The main leads were fantastic and I love how the actors portrayed the characters. The supporting cast, was average, but unimportant to the focus of the main characters.

As I am stil reading the manga currently, it makes me miss the slight differences in the characters and even though I just finished watching this drama a couple days ago, i already feel like watching it again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
addicted2dramas
11 people found this review helpful
Mar 14, 2013
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I have seen lots of Japanese school dramas but Yankee-kun to Megane-chan makes to the top place on my list. Simply saying this is an outstanding piece of work would not be enough. It tells a story that is heartwarming to the core. I am glad I decided to watch this otherwise I would have missed out on a true gem.

While school dramas happen to be among my favourites because they are so enjoyable, this is the first time I was fully invested in one from the first episode to the last. I finished it in just a day and a half and had a blast while doing it. It had such spectacular scenes that they will definitely go down as classic Jdrama moments for me. Often quirky at times, it could get hilarious to the point you would just keep laughing. Other times it was either very touching or relatable because of some realistic issues in it.

In its heart it is a tale about friendship, human relations and above all- growing up and trying to be better people. I have to say this is the most consistent drama I have seen till date. Not a single episode, not a single moment ever fell weak or draggy for me. Plus its three-dimensional characters are what make this drama into a masterpiece. None of them ever turn out the way they seem. It reminds us of how we are all humans, in spite of the good and the bad in us. Also that embracing these traits is a must in order to respect yourself. I found this drama having some great quotable dialogues.

Anyway, at first look Hana is just a dork and Daichi is a no-good person. From then on how these characters grow is almost unbelievable. I found the aspect of Hana seeming smart but being a dunce, and Daichi seeming dumb but being bright very funny. I was very impressed by the performances of Naka Riisa and Narimiya Hiroki. They are both fantastic actors and can convey every emotional successfully. The supporting cast was also great.

I like to mention the relationship between Hana and her grandfather and also Daichi and his father were one of the best things about the drama.

Like lots of Jdramas, this one has some great moments of friendship also. If you watch this drama then try to get past the over-enthusiasm of Hana because she is such a likable character. This drama easily avoided lots of cliches but incorporates the most common one in mangas- a cold, rude, arrogant guy and a seemingly clingy and stupid girl. I liked their bickering relationship and the ending was hilarious if not fully satisfying.

I wish there was a season 2 since 10 episodes seems way too short for me. I am giving this drama a high rewatch value because I want to watch it again in its entirety.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
10 people found this review helpful
Jun 5, 2011
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Story- The pace of the show is good. Although the first couple eps may seem a little too slow for some. I wish they would have built the relationship more of Ada & Daichii even if it was their friendship. There was room for improvement. The ending was cute but a little disappointing. There needs to be a special!



Acting/Cast- the acting was good not spectacular, enough to carry the show. The supporting cast was helpful.



Music- I'm not one to really notice the OST unless Im able to get it in my head therefore being memorable so Id say this was an average OST.



Rewatch- Fun & entertaining makes this one to watch again.



Overall- Pretty good J drama that is entertaining.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
khat_chan
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 5, 2012
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This Drama really was great!!not only seeing some super strong Deliquents also learning some values out of the story.Somewhat this is one of my favorite drama as well. The cast,who did the roles were really suited for it esp. their portrayal as Yankees. And also it made me laugh til the end of the episodes.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Maqluba
4 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2011
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
one of my favorite (if not THE favorite) jdrama around. It made me a Hiroki fan (he could do no wrong after I saw him here...yeah even that dolittle series lol)...

One reason I love jdramas so much= the funny...and this show gives you plenty of it...I've re-watched it so many times and I STILL crack up every time:D

and its not just random funny things happening like in HanaKimi..there is an actual storyline and its not TOTALLY off the wall. It also helps that the girls are bada$$ and all of the parentals are cool and funny and the melodramatics aren't tooo...melo?...

Its not repetitive, the main two actors have chemistry, and I personally didn't think it slowed down... I think if you watch something like HanaKimi and then watch this show you might think its slower because they do add background stories to each character...but com'on! its only 10 episode and if not for anything else watch it to stare at the pretty that is Narimiya Hiroki and Hongo Kanata :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
blackstar_aria
3 people found this review helpful
May 3, 2011
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Ok this drama gets major points because I am still reading the manga. ( If you liked this read the manga its better)

The whole story centers around Hana Adachi and how she is trying her hardest to become a part of her class, and no longer be a outcast like she was when she was a yankee. Because hana has a big heart whenever she sees someone who is a loner or an outcast she invites them to join her group which is the student council. Its fun to see Hana being so naieve and sweet and pulling the kindness out of everyone around her especially shinagawa. oh and the girl can fight!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplebichonhorse
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 16, 2012
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Overall I loved the plot for the first 5ish episodes, and while the plot was ok after that I felt it just got a bit too slow. It would have been an even better drama in my opinion if they had cut a couple of episodes or revised the plot a little. (For example: while the school cultural festival was nice it just seemed a bit out of place in this drama -I did love all the crazy costumes though! Also, the episode at the study retreat with the teacher and his son scene seemed a little out of place as well -I know they were trying to make a point, but they could have done it differently). This drama was primarily about the growth of friendships, comraderie, yankees, a hint of romance, families, and just overall school life. I would recommend watching this if you liked other school oriented dramas like kinyo club, hana yori dango, boys before flowers, nodame cantabile even though the premise is quite different than the other dramas.

The acting was good, although there was overacting in some parts due to the character the actors and actresses were portraying, but in a way something about the acting just didn't always click with me and I can't place my finger on it.

Music was enjoyable and fit really well with each scene (I love the piano piece toward the end of the last episode when the main guy is thinking -if anyone knows what it is please let me know!!)

I would rewatch this drama, but this is one of the dramas where although I liked it I don't want to watch it again for quite a while.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Orange-Panda
2 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2011
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
The drama is funny but it was just too slow. The main girls acting was goofy and annoying at times. It also didn\''t have much romance and the chemistry between the main leads is very very weak. Loved the msuic, it was sooo funky and normally I don\''t care about the music much. I think it\''s a good drama but since I have seen a drama thats really really good, this does not match up to it.

Hope you enjoy it, if you do plan to watch it =)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
OhSoEnthusiastic
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 2, 2018
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
It's based on a manga, so it's obviously over-the-top and a little ridiculous in terms of it's acting and storytelling style, but that's also what makes it so much fun. I was roaring with laughter throughout each and every episode. I loved our leads to bits and enjoyed every moment of interaction between them. I also found the story to be quite heartfelt and moving in how it dealt with family relationships and the pressures of Japanese school life. I did want more of a conclusion to the romance in the finale, but I guess that's just more incentive to read the manga the drama is based on. I already planned on reading it, but now I Really have to. If you are not a fan of the outlandish style of acting and storytelling Japanese dramas sometimes employ, this might not be the drama for you. But if that doesn't bother you, and you enjoy a good story centered around school life and innocent romance and family and friendship, then I can't recommend this enough.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Crisl
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 27, 2019
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
Свежачок про трудные школьные годы в исполнении взрослых то людей Narimiya Hiroki вообще 28 лет. Однако его можно понять - главные роли хочется, а постоянно дают второстепенные. Но вот тут он и оторвался. А так, все штампы налицо: хулиган с золотым сердцем, девочка-активистка вся правильная аж светится, тихий забитый друг-отличник, враг-соперник, которого можно перевоспитать и так далее и тому подобное. Вот чесное слово и не надоедает ни им ни мне
Хироки мне нравится давно, а тут еще Naka Riisa забавная - впервые ее вижу. Вся остальная молодежь слабовата, старшее поколение играет получше, но все равно не дотягивают до того же, например "Самурая из высшей школы".

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?