Marriage, Not Dating (2014) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 16,299 users)
  • Ranked: #778
  • Popularity: #63
  • Watchers: 28,599

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

7 edits
6 edits
6 edits
6 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
All Time Favorite Dramas
271 titles 425 loves 6
Arranged/Fake/Forced Marriage
54 titles 63 loves 3

Recently Watched By

Completed
palak
135 people found this review helpful
Sep 26, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I think this is one of those dramas where you sit back and say "Wow, so this is also a way a Korean Drama can be made". I mean, don't get me wrong, there were some kdrama cliches in Marriage Not Dating but nothing was overbearing. In fact, I loved those cliches too. And it was an extremely refreshing romantic-comedy.

The plot was very interesting throughout. A guy wants to stay single while his family (mostly his mom) threatens to get him married. So he decides to make Jang Mi his fake girlfriend as he knows his family would never approve of her as their daughter-in-law. The funniest ride starts right there at their first meeting. I loved how they started every episode with some fast-forwarded scene that made you go, "did I miss an episode or something?". lol.

The characters were all amazing. I haven't loved a female lead in a long time the way I loved Jang Mi. She was hilarious and had a kind heart. I mean, sure, she got a little clingy at times but that was funny too. Ki Tae was great. Out of all their friends, Hoon Dong was the best! I didn't care much for second leads, which was pretty much a bonus because I hate having second lead syndrome. Both the families were great. I think Ki Tae's mom's character was the most interesting. Sometimes I loved her and there were times I really hated her (can't believe Jang Mi never disliked her). But there were also times I pitied her. By the end of the drama I realized she was the character I became most emotionally invested in. I loved her and loved how she grew as a person. In fact I loved the growth of every character in this drama. I think when it comes to creating beautiful characters, TVN is the best. Whether it's the characters from Reply 1997/1994 or shut up flower boy band, they all impressed us and it had nothing to do with fancy celebrities but rather with the script.

The music is great. "Love Lane" and "Stop The Love Now" have been a part of my daily jam for a while now. It's a cute, cheerful OST overall. Moreover I loved the funny background music (people who have watched this would know what I'm talking about). I think I haven't loved any bgm this much since the "meh" for Sam Chun Po in Reply 1994. Hahaha.

Overall I would recommend this drama for the slightly-different but cute love story and the hilarious family situations. Definitely worth a watch and a rewatch!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
yellowposh
42 people found this review helpful
Aug 24, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Honestly I did not expect anything about this drama, I just randomly clicked the first two episodes and it got me hooked.

Story: I gave it an 8 since the plot isn't any groundbreaking and I admit the description for this drama is cliche but when you get into the drama itself, it was so refreshing. In most romcom kdramas, I usually know or my expectations were right on what will happen next but Marriage Not Dating is just pure surprise. They made the cliche worth watching, you don't even know what to expect.

Acting/Cast: 10. The actors are so perfect esp the main leads. I already forget the last time I root for the main couple so much. Props to Han Groo and Yeon Woo Jin, it's like this drama its tailor-made for them. Though the side characters Jinwoon and Sunhwa did not appeal to me, Jung Min (Hoon Dong), and Kim Hae Sook are so great I kind of forget the 2nd leads.

Music: Should I include the sound effects here because 10 is not enough for it. :The sound effects guy must be in every romcom drama) The OSTs in this drama are so good and it match the scenes perfectly.

Rewatch Value: Oh boy, this one of the few kdramas I will never get tired rewatching. Maybe I'll start in a few hours. Haha. :)

Overall: 9.5 This my highest rated kdrama ever because I never give a perfect 10. It's just me but definitely all those almost perfect dramas waned in the middle or still lacks something. But all in all this is still the best romcom drama for me. No extended angst and pure fun.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
IamVan
31 people found this review helpful
Jan 16, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
Story: This is definitely one of the best written dramas of 2014. It's really hard to stand out in a sea of romantic comedy dramas but this one managed to be memorable because it actually managed to be funny and romantic until the end. The story didn't have any melodramatic moments. There are scenes that will really make you cry but it's because the characters are so endearing and likable. The story might sound cliche at first but the writer is very clever in twisting expectations. You might know what would happen but it turns another way. The opening sequences are also really creative. The second leads were a little sketchy and unlikable in some episodes but they weren't really the focus on the story so they didn't cause major problems. I really love the two leads and their families. The story really did a lot to make you care for them. The heroine really was an awesome character. One of the best characters of 2014.

Acting/Cast: The acting was the strongest weapon of this drama. Han Groo and Yun Woo Jin were really committed to their roles. I really loved how Han Groo manages to look silly and funny in comedic scenes then be genuinely endearing in dramatic scenes. She manages to give more depth to her character. I want to see her in more dramas. Yun Woo Jin was also really good and he really had so much chemistry with Han Groo. The actress who played his mother was awesome. She was really hard to care for at first but as the story showed the layers of her character, she became a very memorable character. Her acting managed to elevate the material more. I rooted for her in the end. The other supporting characters did well enough to support the leads and most of them were memorable.

Music: The music was good enough to help elevate the drama. There were really excellent musical choices that helps makes the drama more clever. The ending song was definitely memorable for me. I always hum it from time to time.

Overall: This was definitely in my opinion, the best romantic comedy drama of 2014. From the writing to the directing and of course the acting, everything was just pitch perfect. Everything was in perfect harmony with each other. There were some flaws but they were too minor and not enough to derail the whole thing. I would definitely watch it again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
23 people found this review helpful
Aug 24, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Strangely enough I have seen a lot of good romantic comedies this year. Marriage, Not Dating is easy to watch. The story is smoothly written with great character development and some great emotional moments both happy and sad. I like that it approaches a variety of different relationships from different perspectives. It is sad at times with out being depressing and funny at times with out being over the top. I enjoyed every episode and anticipated the new episodes from week to week. If you haven't watched it, then you might feel like marathoning it.

It is great to see Yun Woo Jin in a leading role after Arang and the horrible When a Man Loves. He is a great actor that doesn't disappoint as Gong Ki Tae. His character obviously had trust issues and who could blame him after growing up like that. He is a fantastic kisser...HOT. I remember seeing Han Groo in some supporting roles and I wasn't sure she would be able to pull off the lead. She proved me wrong as Joo Jang Mi. I enjoyed this strong, quirky character a lot. Although her character had to do some unimaginable actions, she pulled it off as believable. I like how the writer let her sincerity shine through the deception. It was very interesting. I usually end up hating all the parents when watching dramas like this, but this time I liked them all and the way the characters were used to show the scars that can be left on a child's heart. The other actors were good including the cutie, 2AM's Jin Woon. He wasn't really given a lot to do and I'm not sure if that was written so the main leads took center stage or because he is such a newbie actor. Anyway, he didn't suck.

I liked the music through out

I will probably rewatch this. I'm tempted to do it right now.

If you like romantic comedies or even just an easy to watch drama, then I think this is a good choice. It isn't the kind of drama that tears your heart out with emotion, but instead gives a comfortable feeling.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Forever Lee Seung Gi
9 people found this review helpful
Aug 24, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama is one of the best so far! I've never seen on-screen couple in other Korean dramas, whose chemistry is so convincing that you wish for them to be together off-screen too. I'm so selective when it comes to dramas. If in the first three episodes a certain drama doesn't get into me, i would drop it even if I hear or read good reviews about it. But this drama had gotten me hooked from the first to the very last episode. It got me laughed every episode and cringed from embarrassment every time the main leads do something that would made one wish for a hole he can hide into. And to top it all, the main couples' scenes when they were finally together are the most swoon worthy of all. I also love how they portray the mother of Ki Tae/Gi Tae. She actually made me cry!!!

Of course I also have some hangups with this drama. In the middle episodes they tend to drag the story and highlight on some unnecessary scenes but all in all it's okay.

I would like to recommend it to those who want to laugh their heart out and fall in love with the main lead couple.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
manicmuse
8 people found this review helpful
May 29, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
This is a super fun rom com! It's the kind of drama that you watch again, and again, or quickly marathon straight through (which I just did), because you just have to watch what happens next. This drama is not deep, or very intellectual, but it isn't completely shallow either. It showcases how unpredictable relationships can be. It even explores some heavy situations, and mature topics, without losing the light feel of the drama. While watching I laughed, cried, and felt genuine butterflies. The cast got me totally invested in their shenanigans from beginning to end.

This is an ensemble cast comedy in lot of ways, but it does primarily focus on Gong Ki Tae and Jang Mi, and what their fake relationship becomes. Faking a relationship is nothing new in kdramaland, but these two felt like a different kind of couple. Han Groo as Jang Mi is so unpredictable, an charmingly imperfect, that she was an awesome character to root for, and I was excited to see how she would react to certain situations. Yeon Woo Jin as cool Gong Ki Tae was her total opposite, yet made a perfect match. They have palpable chemistry, and I became instantly addicted to seeing what would happen between them.

Add to that a truly great supporting cast, who were just as interesting as the leads (even if I hated some of the characters). In real life, this crew of 6 friends would be the worst friends EVER, but in kdramaland I loved their relationships, and the love hexagon it created. Most of the characters are flawed but likable. Jung Jin Woon as Han Yeo Reum is great eye candy, but also was an interesting character. Han Sun Hwa
as Se Ah is an über beyotch, but also oddly likable, and won my sympathy. Heo Jeong Min as Lee Hoon Dong is a cross between a jerk and a lovable clown (similar to his role in Another Miss Oh ) - his is another character that grew on me. Then there is Yoon So Hee who was really good as Nam Hyun Hee, even though she was an almost impossible character to like. I prefer these kinds of characters in dramas to one dimensional forgettable ones. I never felt the urge to skip through their scenes, which is also a good sign.

The cast of family members are great too. I won't name them all, but the VIP of this whole drama to me is Kim Hae Sook as the mom. She is officially my favorite KDrama actress. I loooooove watching her in dramas, because she may not be the leading lady, but she always manages to steal the show. I almost thought that that wouldn't be the case with this show, because she first appears to be so passive, but the scenes where she simply and sweetly says "Jang Mi" were some of the most memorable moments of the show. Still, I took .5 points away because the acting is super over the top at times. I know that's the style of the show, but in some moments it was almost too much - like I'm laughing when I should be crying bad.

Speaking of style, I love the way this drama took some pretty overdone clichés and showed them in a new way. Each episode starts with a teaser of what's to come, one that's ambiguous yet intriguing enough that you become eager to see what actually happens during the show. It's often not at all what was implied, like an anti-spoiler, but it works well, and kept me hooked. The plot is never boring, cheesy at times, possibly too predictable in a few moments, but still never boring. Some heavy situations are taken too lightly, and some light situations become epic problems, but this is not the kind of drama that one should analyze deeply. The storytelling also definitely doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it puts some custom chromed rims on that wheel so it feels like new.

The soundtrack was also a perfect fit, and I had to download it. Even the over the top comedy effects and extra EXTRA cheesy songs grew on me. I found myself involuntarily humming "love lane"... OMG it's still stuck in my head... that and "barago barago baraedo neol..." make it stop... lol

So would I watch this again? Definitely! I couldn't allow myself to give this a perfect score, or add it to my favorites list, only because is does rely so much on doing what has already been done a million times before, BUT it does it better than most. Even the ending held my interest till the very last moments, and ended up being perfect! As far as rom-coms go, I'd say that this one is a MVP must watch. As far as life changing dramas go... hmm... It's not without some valuable perspectives on love, dating and marriage... but don't take things too seriously and you will enjoy it much more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Zoe
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama is a bit more mature than the fluff that is most kdramas. I really loved that they can have conversations that young adults would be having even though it's still super PG and the characters respond quite juvenile-ishly. At least we've got some mature content like drinking games, talking about sex, even dick sizes, and getting up to more naughty shenanigans which I loved. It's unusual for a drama to portray how horny the male lead is.
There are some weird sound effects but one of the most original ones was when Jang Mi threatens Ki Tae and in the background there's a lion's growl and when they cut the camera to Ki Tae's face he's swallowing and there's a puppy whimper in the background. So weird but funny!
This drama is super modern. There's a kiss between the heroine and the secondary male lead. Unheard of! But also really hot. The skinship was out of this world for a Korean drama. So much touching! They have some awesome hugs too. Haha.
I rarely can watch a drama without skipping large sections towards the end. But this one, the characters are always engaging and fun to watch. I like how the drama plays around with relationships and how they really make fun of that whole, “I'm so cool” thing where everyone is nonchalant about exes and triangles. They even congratulate each other on it, “You were so confident around Se Ah. You were so cool around Yeo Reum.” I like how the drama fleshed out that they were just hiding their feelings from each other. “We talked less than when we were in the fake relationship.” I wasn't expecting that kind of levity, and it really added some depth to the rom-com.
I don't think I have ever enjoyed awkward as much as I enjoyed it this one. I think it's because they don't just pour it in bucket loads on the poor heroine but every character has to endure the most terribly awkward situations. I was cackling and soaking it all up.

Se Ah
She had to be the cool girl to hold onto Ki Tae as a friend and she has no sense whatsoever. She can't see that Ki Tae is both disgusted and terrified of her.

Hyun Hee
Hyun Hee is the BFF and she's pretty cool. She's supportive, a little sassy, and also has a lot of common sense and dignity. She really gets the short end of the stick the poor girl. I was really rooting for her HEA. And she has some tricks up her sleeves. Sometimes she seems so pitiful and helpless and then she pulls herself up by her bootstraps. Hyun Hee is pretty badass.

Yeo Reum
I have never felt more conflicted about a character and I never got tired of watching his handsome self strut around on the screen. Honestly, for the 16 hours of watching this drama, I was always ridiculously happy whenever he made an appearance. And that smile...! Gah. Even Ki Tae says, “his killer smile”. Hahaha. Such a hottie. He has the most beautiful facial expressions too. He's not your usual secondary male lead. He is also not perfect at all, which is refreshing because then I don't feel like the heroine is missing out too much by passing him by.
Jang Mi - “I'm trying to find myself.”
Yeo Reum - “You're weird.”
“What?”
Yeo Reum points at her. “You're right there. What more are you looking for?”

He was adorable for five minutes. He became an asshole really quickly when he was mean to Jang Mi just because she was a being a flirt. Who gives him the right to punish her? Dickhead. It's weird how he ended up being more important that I thought. I was disappointed that Jang Mi hadn't learned her lessons when it came to him.
In situations where there are two males in a stand-off I like how the Koreans use the term, “Don't be so scary” when they mean don't be so dramatic. Yeo Reum knows a lot about stand-offs and relationships.
Yeo Reum thinks most of the games the crowd he finds himself in as funny. He's younger than all of them and of quite a different mindset so he does enjoy adding fuel to the fire.
Yeo Reum is the epitome of the bad boy. He drives me nuts but he's so cute when he wants to be. I felt like a pickle forgiving him. But he and Jang Mi are also so couply together. I wish we had more chance to see him being genuine before his interest in Jang Mi became more of a power play. Most of the time I thought he was real sleazy but then he'd smile. Gah! I'm such a pushover. Bottom line though is I do not like him. He's bad news, petty and conceited. It's because he's handsome and he knows it. I hate that. He only likes her when it's easy or amuses him. That's disgusting...right?
But he's the kind of guy that will never show it when he's hurting. And he does hurt.
But similar to Se Ah, he only thinks of himself and is really really stupid when it comes to real relationships. They're so good at being cool they don't realise that there's more to love than being right or making all the cards fall into place.

Jang Mi
I like her enthusiasm for life. Her facial expressions are so cute and she dances to herself.
Also, I'm always really impressed by a heroine who can piggyback her love interest. It's so hilarious.
I love how modern she is. She so casually throws out to the traditional mother in law that “Who cares who works in the kitchen? They should help each other out.”
Mother in law - “You made a doctor peel chestnuts?” Damn straight.
Jang Mi throws herself wholeheartedly into anything she undertakes. I like that she gets excited over little things and that she's appreciative of the smallest positives. I like how happy she is. She finds the good things to smile about.
Of course, Jang Mi has to undergo some character development.
Jang Mi - “Stop being clingy. I want a cool relationship!”
Ki Tae - “You, of all people, are saying that?”

Hoon Dong
Hoon Dong is supposed to be a ridiculous character. And he is. Really childish, a mama's boy, spoiled, self-centred, playboy, etc. He does grow. Of course he does.

Ki Tae
Ki Tae is a neat freak. I love that moment when Jang Mi first visits his house and starts touching everything. He's so particular.
Throughout the show he has to do a lot of running. He has great form.
He also uses his eyes very effectively to convey his contempt. It's so fun to annoy him! His eyebrows are perfect too.
I actually like how much he whispers. He is a master at it. I get so convinced when he lowers his voice.
He's such a stern character, it's fun to see him start smiling as he looks over his photographic evidence of his and Jang Mi's relationship.
I like that he's always been the detached guy and finally he has to admit he has feelings for the klutz girl even before she feels that way about him. Ha!
Particularly what he does in Episode 11 is really epic for him. I love how he practices in the mirror.
And he only gets cuter from there on out. I love the way he says her name with such elation and hope.
He's absolutely adorable when he's in love. “You wanted a cool relationship. This is just too cool.”
I loved seeing him evolve and how caring and considerate his transformation left him.

Romance
Even if you were the last guy on earth...
“You and I have to act like a couple. My mum is meticulous.”
“What about my revenge?”
“Especially for your revenge. You're worth every penny.”

The Plot
Jang Mi - “Your family stalks you?”
Ki Tae - “It's a family full of love.”
The way he tries to convince her to be his fake girlfriend is hilarious and she rebuffs him beautifully and confidently. It doesn't take much though and soon the two are in league with each other. And Ki Tae finds she's even more perfect than ever. I think it's fun to have the Asian spin on the epitome of the worst possible partner for your child. Jang Mi plays it perfectly. I think it's hilarious that the less conservative members of the family although shocked are quite nice. Grandma approves! This kind of story, especially with Asian families, it's so cruel to play this kind of game because the parents are soooo invested in their kids. Their kid getting married is what they live for, how can you play around with that? It's too sad.
I eventually got really pissed by how silly and emotionally tied up they got into the situation. I really came to hate the manipulations and cruelty of Bong Hyang (mother in law from hell). The drama makes excuses for her. The other characters refrain from scheming out of mercy and not wanting to be evil. But she! She believes in what she does 100% doesn't hold back and really hurts the people around her in the name of duty and honour.

Mother in law
Such an annoying and manipulative witch. But this is Kdrama and of course she has to do something that makes me want to hi-five her.
She also gets her act together a little more, which is great towards the end of the drama.
Usually I require a little more comeuppance for all the trouble she caused, but I couldn't begrudge her pure happiness.

Fashion
Stubbies with a formal coat? Weird.
Ki Tae's fashion...I love it. Although in Episode 8...yuck!
Ki Tae also wears shorts which I have not seen Kdrama men wear. I was wondering where the calves were. Haha.

Elder treatment
Jang Mi is probably the first to speak back to an elder. Such a modern woman.
They also try and scare the parents off by tricking them into thinking Jang Mi is a rapscallion.
Ki Tae is a modern man as well and doesn't mind bodily moving his mother which, you have to admit, is not very deferentially Asian of him. I love it. It reminds me of my own brother's relationship with our mother who, yes, can be meddling but it portrays the family closeness.
On a random note, I thought I've seen it all with these subservient deference to the elder but for the future mother in law to turn up at the girl's workplace just to ask her to push the grocery trolley? WTF?
So yes, there are super weird moments like that but there's this one moment when the grandma says this line about her late husband deserving a particular treatment and oh my gosh! The sacrilege! I was cackling with glee.
I think what's important is that the elders have to learn things too and they need to have character development and I love that Bong Hyang gets told off.
I do like that even after having an argument, the Korean respect demands that there is some level of acknowledgment in the power relationship. That they can see past the feelings and still offer honour because it's so ingrained in them.

Music
I loved the music. It was really cute and I liked that that dramatic music wasn't overdone like some of the dramas I've seen.

The Ending
The staying power of the drama is really good I think. It kept me laughing right up till the end and I was engaged and always rooting for the characters.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BeaSP
6 people found this review helpful
Dec 30, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
If i had to describe this drama in two single words i would say ´Refreshing´and ´Hilarious´! The plot itself has it´s own backpack of clichés but the way that the story is told is not so common in most korean rom coms´. It was very smartly elaborated in a way that you would find yourself asking a ton of questions at the very begining of every episode like ´What in the world happened? Why is everyone acting crazy? Whose fault is it?´ and then all the crazy actions will be explained as you watch the episode to find out.
It is the crazy love lines, hilariously unexpected turn of events,the classcial music used in every funny moment and the slow motions that makes it even more hilarious, and of course it´s the characters chemistry and charismatic sense of humor (amazing acting from the entire cast) that makes ´Marriage, Not Dating´ an interesting and unique drama , just like its title.
Another wonderful thing was the lovely ost, my personal favourites were ´Stop the love now´ by Ben a.k.a BeBe Mignon and ´Love lane´ from the rookie girlsband Mamamoo ^^
To keep it short this drama features a good mix of romance and comedy that never fails to make you laugh out loud and keeping you interested of what´s coming next.

P.S- I really enjoyed this drama. It became one of my favourite rom coms´ so far ^-^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Viktorija
8 people found this review helpful
Feb 12, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 6.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama is like a gem in a pile of trash. And no, I am not saying that dramas around it are garbage. Marriage, Not Dating is both the pile of trash and the gem in it.

The story is as cliche as it gets. Marriage contracts, evil mothers, ex girlfriends and second male leads, this drama has everything! While that doesn't necessarily make it bad, in this case it did. Both the second male and female leads were annoying and hard to understand, the writers failed to make them even a tiny bit relatable, they just threw their backround stories on us saying "Here! That's what you want, right?". Both of them felt superficial and God do I hate people who smile all the time like Yeo Reum did. Since it doesn't really have a story, then It's automatically aiming to be a character driven drama, but they failed to costruct good characters. The last 3-4 episodes redeemed a lot of the drama by giving some character development to Jang Mi's parents and Gi Tae's mother, the way they handeled her character was easily the best part of this drama. The two main leads were cliche. A clumsy, no good female lead who's driven by her feelings and a rude main male lead who becomes nice by the end because love(?). Both of them only got sappy developments which is fine I guess.

Now the gem of this drama was the atmosphere, the way they handeled the comedy and mood shifts. It's so hard to do, yet they managed to do such a good job at it a scene could be both funny and heart wrenching and only God knows how they managed to pull it off. That's why I still managed to enjoy this drama. The main characters, even if not the most original, were fun to observe, because of the comedic situations they got themselves into and the way the writers handeled them.

The soundtrack was catchy, too. The way they used the "Bridal Chorus" was very creative. All the songs could totaly stand on their own.

This could have been really good, but it just wasn't and I am not seeing what other people did. While the gem shines brightly I just can't ignore the trash around it thus I would only recommend this drama if you have nothing else to watch and want a few laughs.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jeana
6 people found this review helpful
Apr 13, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
Watching Marriage, Not Dating is the definition of having your cake and getting to eat it too. It's a heart warming drama about love, life, food and family.

The serial shows two people, who couldn't be more different from each other fall in love and experience all the complications that come with an unexpected romance.

Jang Mi is a full of life woman whose empathy is her fatal flaw. She's considerate to a fault and her idealistic approach to everything combined with a tendency to always speak her mind, often gets her into a mess. Gi Tae is a huge cynic when it comes to commitment. He's rude, practical and prefers solitude. Due to unfavorable circumstances both of these find themselves bound to each other under the facade of marriage and from then on, utter hilarity ensues.

The love story between the characters is a very authentic and real slow-burn. They grow independently as individuals and then together as a couple. They have doubts, fights, laughs and ultimately, a deep understanding that comes with being aware and accepting of each other's flaws.

The drama showcases how the decisions made my the children are always heavily influenced by those made my the parents. It highlights what it means to be a family and above all it gives a message; that even when things could take a turn for the worse, it's okay to take chances in life.

With a sweet and bubbly OST, adorable laugh-out-loud moments, delicious food and a lovable cast, 'Marriage, Not Dating' is truly one of the best feel-good romantic comedies out there.

Enjoy!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
maakopla
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 7, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
An extremely decent romcom. I was swept into addiction after finishing the first few episodes and my excitement lasted until the last 4-5 episodes, the two last episodes bored me to death but were necessary to wrap up the story.

This drama was really well written, acting was nice and music effects interesting. The chemistry between the main couple was good and Jang Mi was a fun, surprisingly sane heroine. There was a lot to laugh about and many lovable characters.

It's hard to find much to complain about but if there is something I must mention is how one dimensional the side characters appeared. Too much time was given to boring pasta making, Jang Mi eating and Ki Tae's mom.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
GYong
6 people found this review helpful
Jul 23, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
IDK why so many people liked this drama.

It felt really silly to me. While I understand the reality of a couple grappling with their romance and having other partners in their lives before they find one another, this drama was entirely frustrating and only cute at certain points. I started watching this drama because of the overwhelmingly positive reviews on MDL, but only 2 episodes in I was already bored.

I'd have to admit that the drama performed well in certain areas. For one, the music was great! Super cute OST and I love that they didn't restrict themselves to recycling a few sets of songs just because they are written solely for the drama (i.e. they used other music too). I also understand that people like it because it is so down-to-earth and relatable, funny at some parts even. But yes, great acting from the main leads (can't really say the same for the support roles :/)

When I finished the drama I just felt like... I listened to my friend tell me her life story about how she got together with her current lover, for example. It just wasn't interesting enough for me. Guess this drama just didn't hit the right spots for me, in terms of plot at least. On a personal preference level, I like my dramas to make me feel like I'm reading a novel; and Marriage, Not Dating made me feel like I'm reading an autobiography. Sorry, not fictional and dramatic enough for me. Whoops.

Let me put it this way - if you're out for some great acting and a light filler drama, go for it. Also if you like those that are a little more slice-of-life-ish. But if you're like me and you're looking for dramas that make you choke up and cry, or your heart pound faster in anticipation... then I think you should look somewhere else.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?