The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
A Moment to Remember
6 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
This was a great movie. Sad and emotional but great acting. The two actors made their acting and relationship believable.I cried several times and I kept rooting for them. There was no evil ex like or love triangles like other shows so this was straight forward. Its hopelessly romantic but alil sad too
Was this review helpful to you?
Eternal Summer
9 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Beautiful & evocative movie with a great piano OST & Ending song by Ah Shin (Mayday); Eternal Summer.

The story is somewhat slow but everything is expertly tied together with great acting by the three leads & is worth watching for the stylish cinematography alone.

Warning: BL/Gay themes. Some nudity.
Was this review helpful to you?
Angel's Egg
4 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2012
Overall 4.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I came across this movie randomly on a website. Even though it is not very famous, its synopsis sounded interesting so I decided to watch it. Turns out its story was actually good.

I liked the story. While the movie plays with the 'pure love' concept, its outtake on the whole thing is quite different. It's about a young art student who has a girlfriend. One day out of the blue he meets an attractive girl on the subway train and becomes fascinated with her. He seeks artistic inspiration from her and starts drawing her images. The next time he meets her he finds out she is the older sister of his girlfriend (Ouch!). In spite of that, he can't help but fall for her. Then the rest of the movie focuses on events that bring these two people together.

I think this movie makes you question a lot of things. As stated in the synopsis it makes you question- 'Is the person who stands next to you, is the person that gives you true comfort and love? Can you say that you love him/her from the bottom of your heart?'. In the end, you will have a very interesting answer. What I loved about this movie was how you can interpret it in so many ways. The behaviour of the characters can be perceived in a different way by every one who watches it. It raises the whole question of whether love can be used as an excuse to please your own self in spite of the fact that you are hurting someone else during the process?

I had a love-hate relationship with Ayuta's character and his actions. While the movie is slow without much action, it is shown in a melancholic way and has some tragedy attached to it. I loved the way it was shot- with nice locations and a steady camera. I've seen enough tragic movies and over here it plays out very abruptly which sort of makes the ending unsatisfactory.

It was made poorly otherwise it could have been so much better.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
As One
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Great, great movie. Gave the story a 10 because it was based off a true story. Never heard about this movie until today, mainly watched it because Lee Jong Suk talked about it on a variety show. I didn't know the story or cast and just watched it.

This is a very inspiring movie. there are always movies about enemies somehow getting put together and becoming a team, but it's usually fiction. the fact that this actually happened makes it that much more amazing.

I loved the cast. didn't realize Ha Ji Won was in it, and as always she aced her role. the supporting roles were all great. there wasn't one person that didn't fit their role.

I absolutely love sport movies and the ones based on true stories are the best! Plus the ending was just priceless. it made me smile (: Everyone should watch this movie!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Daisy
12 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
OMG!!!! I just finished watching Daisy (and it's like 4am now, yes I know I'm mad) I have only one thing to say about this movie. IT'S AWESOME!!!

The beginning started of sooo beautifully it was just unbelievable with the dream-like setting. It portrayed the beauty of the Netherlands sooo well, it was just wonderful to see all that nature scenes. And I'm not just saying that because it's my birth country no, I really mean it!

The actors were too good, every one of them played their characters sooo well!!! I fell in love with both the male leads! I couldn't choose who I liked more: Lee Sung Jae who played the role of officer Jeong Woo, or Jung Woo Sung who played the role of assassin Park Yi! and of course i can't forget Jun Ji Hyun, who played the female lead Hye Young. She was just wonderful, she was able to portray the sadness and pain so well. None of the actors exaggerated their characters. It was just perfect!

I totally love the music used in the movie, maybe that's because they used classical/ballads. It was totally in synch with the plot of the movie. I think because of that I ended up enjoying it even more xD

Daisy is now on my list of all time favourite movies

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sadako 3D
8 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2012
Overall 3.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
First of all, let me just say that I am a massive fan of the 'Ring' series - I went crazy over the movies, the remakes, the prequel, the novels etc. But I was let-down with this.

The series as a whole is very psychological, jumpy, and scary at times...at least, that's what it's meant to be. However, THIS movie tried too hard to be scary and not enough focus was on the truly freaky parts or Sadako herself, which was a bit of a downer seeing as it's meant to be all about her.

Many people were attracted to this because of Seto Koji and Yamamoto Yusuke, which is all well and good, but their parts were not amazing in the slightest...and I'm a fan of Yamamoto!

Good parts? The plot was promising but executed poorly. The Ring 2 remake even did better with plot, and that was a bit rubbish...

It's 1.33am right now, and you can bet that I'll be sleeping undisturbed tonight.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Harmony
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 8, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Kim yun jin did a really great job in this trying to sing. I kept wondering if that was her real voice. This is her first korean movie that av seen her in since I know her as sun from Lost.The epicenter of this movie was the little baby. He was soo adorable and made the show relatable. The grandma did an outstanding job. The ending was emotional and I found myself crying several times. Its a touching movie.
Was this review helpful to you?
A Tale of Two Sisters
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 8, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This was my first korean movie even before I was into koreans or kpop. I was very impressed that I watched it several times later. I noticed moon geun young (younger sister) from this movie. She's talented as well as the rest. The dad is also a good actor as av seen him in other shows. The story is a thriller and from the beginning its confusing and dark. I loved the ending I was screaming. Anyway must see
Was this review helpful to you?
In His Chart
7 people found this review helpful
Nov 8, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Well, for the story. The story line is okay. It's got some cute, some jokes and some sad through it. The whole story is just relaxed throughout.

I liked seeing Sakurai Sho being all messed up and Miyazaki Aoi being the nice and beautiful wife she ought to be. The other characters, they played their parts just right and were amazing till the end.

I sometimes do rewatch dramas or movies when I'm bored, or when I remembered a scene and wanted to rewatch that scene only but end up rewatching everything till the end anyways. But this story.. How do I put it? The feeling can only be delivered once. I almost cried I tell you, almost. But yeah, if I rewatched it, I won't be able to feel the same way. It's like I know what to expect. So.. yeah. A 7.

Overall, awesome movie. I totally recommend it if you're into relaxed and light movies.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Isn't Anyone Alive?
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 8, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
First of all, I didn't get this story. This story is based on an urban legend, where everyone starts dying one by one. I did have a good laugh watching it though, because of the humor. But the story still lacked so many things and there were so many loopholes in it. When you watch it, do empty your head of everything. If you want to watch it, watch it for the humor.
Was this review helpful to you?
Death Note: The Last Name
7 people found this review helpful
Nov 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
My first review! Lets hope I get to everything...:)

I loved the cast. Fujiwara perfectly portrayed Light, at times acting as the composed, intelligent, passionate indivitual he once was. He was clearly able to get across as someone who had lost their intentions, going mad with power and more then willing to kill to protect himself.

Matsuyama was the very image of L! It was like seeing L come to life, by the very way he sat, gorged himself on sweets, and his every expression! There was no one better then him.

The music was mediocre, it matched the mood faily well but didn't leave much of an impression.

THE STORY WAS FREAKING AWESOME. Nothing can compare. Death Note didn't have any wholes in it, and it was a piece of intellicuel art. Though for the movie some things that happened in the anime had to be left out for time purposes.

This movie is more then worth your time, and its so good you will even get a thrill out of watching it again and again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Norwegian Wood
15 people found this review helpful
Nov 6, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
What caught my attention was the story about tragic loss set in the 1960s. I should have guessed the involvement of sex in the movie judging from its name 'Norwegian Wood' (a very popular Beatles' song- one of my personal favourites too). This should fall under the genre of doom-erotica because there's both in it- lots of tragedy and lots of sex.

It is basically a love triangle between a self-absorbed guy, his schizophrenic friend and a free-spirited girl. I loved the whole idea of it, and unique characterizations. I think I loved Midori the best. Watanabe has to be one of the dullest protagonists I have encountered in a long time. I would gladly call him an indecisive jerk who likes screwing around with the feelings of both girls. I take it that he and Naoko are bound by their mutual feelings of loss, and liked that aspect of their relationship very much. I can't help but say this movie is surprisingly likable and one of the best made by the Japanese (out of the ones I have seen).

With its outstanding camera work this could have easily been a masterpiece. There are scenes which outright take your breath away. I also liked how the relationship between Watanabe and Naoko is shown in every season, providing us with a distraction from their (sometimes boring) relationship in the form of beautiful scenery and settings. It also has very good background score.

Only after I was done watching the movie, its good points crawled into my mind. It was a great story with a good cast and a slow screenplay. There were times I was bored and annoyed while watching this movie, but I reckon the novel must be loads better. I am definitely going to read it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Bad Girls
14 people found this review helpful
Nov 5, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
It was good light and fluffy! Of course I didnt grade it like I would grade others this is on its own special level nothing much to say about it! it quirky and a fun one....and no twists to ruin your mood so why not!
Reasons
1. Mike He is in it.
2. Something fun and different other then those sappy ones that make you want to die in a corner and cry your heart out (not that I dont love those :p)
3. Short and a good one if you have hw yet are addicted to dramas (like moi)!
4. Mike He is in it!!
Was this review helpful to you?
We Were There: Part 1
18 people found this review helpful
Nov 5, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
1) The reason I watched this :

I’ve seen the anime so I was excited to see the film adaptation.

2) Storyline/Plot:

*I already saw the anime so the story was known to me; I would say it was a fast forward script from the one in the anime. Writers cut the 26 episodes in a two hours film which made it lose so many cores compared to the original one.

*Now the review for those who haven’t watched the anime or read the manga:

Positive points:

*The film was a light school romantic story wrapped up with some melodramatic feelings without falling into the tragedy level. It actually belongs to the “Slice of life” category.

*Main genres:

--->Romance: Like any slice of life melodramatic story, the romantic concept was sad while being innocent; it was interesting because the plot was divided between the past and the present.
However, the romantic development was way too fast to contain a lot of depth yet the important feelings were there.

--->Life: There were those moments where you feel that this story touches real life; it makes you think about your first love, your first relationship and the tragedies that can happen anytime when you least expect it. Although it was important to have those elements that touches life but the existence of hope is what made it more appealing.

--->School: It’s your usual Japanese school drama, it was an important concept to make plot changes happen.

Negative Points:

*It was very fast, it doesn’t leave you time to think about the story’s core. I did rather that they made it into a drama instead of a film.

Story: 7.5/10.

3) Acting/Cast:

*It was really good to see Ikuta Toma in this film since it has been a long time that I saw him in something; his Yano portrayal was actually quite well.
On the other hand, Yoshitaka Yuriko was good enough to keep me interested but I can’t say the same about the rest of the cast because many actors didn’t deliver enough feelings to make it sound real.

*As for characters, they were brought to life but I have to admit that they lacked depth in many aspects and it all goes back to the fast forward storyline.
Yano was a good character but it didn’t have many sadness moments like it’s supposed to.
Takahashi was less annoying than the anime (which is a good point).
I hated the way Takeuchi character appeared here, it was uninteresting when it’s supposed to be one of the most captivating characters in the story but again it’s all due to the fast script.

*Other characters were simply neuter to watch, no special feelings about them.

*Appreciated Character: Yamamoto Yuri was an impressive character here because many plot changes depended on her existence.

*Relationships:

--->Romance: The romantic concept was good enough but it lacked depth so the chemistry wasn’t that great.

--->Friendship: This is a school drama so it’s supposed to have many friendships yet there weren’t many moments to talk about.

--->The triangle: The one that had Yamamoto Yuri was interesting but the one with Takeuchi was simply ridiculous to watch.

Cast: 7/10.
Acting: 8/10.

4) The ending

*There’s Bokura Ga Ita Kouhen so this can’t be considered as an ending that’s why I won’t rate it for now.


5) My impression (how did it affect me):

*To start with I was impatiently waiting for this film to come out, I wasn’t fully satisfied but I wasn’t disappointed either because it was fair enough compared to the anime.
*It felt good to see some characters come to life while others seemed really annoying plus I was bothered by the quick script; the fast events didn’t allow me to feel the depth of tragedies presented in this storyline.

*Is this film memorable: Maybe, I am not sure if I should remember this because I rather remembering the anime instead. However, I may change my mind after watching Part two.

My impression: 7/10.

6) Overall:

*If you like innocent romantic school dramas then you would like this.
*If you watched the anime then you may want to give this a go.

*Bokura Ga Ita Zenpen was a good film on the emotional scale, it had many interesting turns but it was rushed in many plot changes. Overall, it was faithful enough as a live action adaptation.

Overall: 8/10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Little Bride
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 5, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is my introduction to the world of Korean dramas and movies and I totally love this movie.
It has a kind of warm feeling with it which makes me happy,every time I watch it.It is my go-to movie and the credit for my present drama love goes to this as well.
The movie has romance,comedy,drama....everything.I liked it so much that when it ended I felt disappointed that why it ended up so soon.
Kim Rae Won and Moon Geun Young are so adorable together and have a great chemistry.
A must watch movie!!
Was this review helpful to you?