Sort by:
Write a Review
SeRose
26 of 29 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 5, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I only began Bloody Monday because I was told by a dear friend that Miura Haruma was hot. What I didn't know is that he happens to be a good actor, of which I suspected but needed some time (about 2 episodes) to confirm. But there you have it. The reason why I watched a Japanese drama about a terrorist cell intent on destroying Tokyo with a deadly virus known as Bloody read more X was because of Miura Haruma. Our then 18 year old lead star plays Takagi Fujimaro, aka Falcon – an internationally acclaimed master hacker who of course becomes unwittingly involved in… dun Dun DUN… saving the world. Or at least Tokyo.

Needless to say is that Bloody Monday is an intense action-thriller that successfully kept my interest in its 11 episode run. Before I get down to knit-picking it, let me just say that for the most part I was pretty sure on how much I liked it. It was a staunch 8/10 from at least episode 3 onwards. Whether that was because Miura Haruma proved to be so efficient at portraying a genius high school boy/hacker whose world is thrown off balance by the intrusion of downright evil and plot-twist-worthy terrorists is a moot point. I try to be objective, but the only proof I have right now is to say that when he cried, I cried. No Kdrama heroine-esqe tears from this boy. I believed him! I was also impressed with the nearly endless series of plot twists, some of which I predicted from day 1 and some of which I never in my wildest dreams saw coming (and I seriously dream plot twist detection - it’s my one consolation before bed that at least my brain is smarter than Dramaland-ish plot twists). In the last five minutes, I hastily changed my 8 to a 9. I like a good emotional twist. So sue me.

While Bloody Monday is an overall exciting watch with notable acting (even among the supporting cast), I’m just going to have to say that thrillers, even more than comedies, come under my scrutiny for gaping plot holes. For instance, I’m pretty sure I could hand in my current resume, and instantly get a job with the number one Japanese intelligence agency (in this drama, Third-i), because obviously my rationale for thinking out logical strategies is higher than half the plans created by the master spooks in Bloody Monday. I also know that when you’re gearing up for a gun-fight, you really shouldn't walk up to your intended target close enough to where your target can easily disarm you and aim that gun directly at your own head. But I digress.

And all plot holes aside, I really did have shivers most of the times I sat down to watch this drama unfold. Having genuine anxiety for fictional characters goes a long way in my book of Appreciating Entertainment 101.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ashu
13 of 14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 1, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Bloody Monday was my first ever suspense drama. I didn\'\'t quite know what to expect, but I had heard wonderful things about this drama and figured I had to give it a go. I believe it was the seventh drama I ever watched.

This drama made me a Miura Haruma fangirl. He is a great actor for his age. As someone who has read the manga (after the drama, though) I have read more to say he portrais Takagi Fujimaru very very well. The only thing I have to criticize him for is his hacking. Just hitting random keys won\'\'t hack anyone - at least try to make it belivable.

For me the plot for this drama is great. I like that Falcon isn\'\'t some superman with superpowers and unnatural psyche and is \"the one to save them all!\". He is a normal high school boy who gets involved in some really dangerous affairs - and is afraid. I like to see the sense of humanity in it.

To be perfectly honest I don\'\'t really remember the music in this. It\'\'s nearly a year since I\'\'ve watched it, but I remember liking the theme song. :P

This drama actually seems to suit everyone. It has high schools (for the school drama lovers), cops (for the cop-drama lovers), suspense (for the suspense lovers) and Miura Haruma (for the fangirls). There really isn\'\'t a reason not to watch this, and it\'\'s just brilliant in my opinion.

Definitely falls under my \'\'must watch\'\' list.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Skye-N-Rain
26 of 31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Aug 3, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This drama really had been on the edge of my sit till the very end. It's one of those dramas where the producers throw you a twist in every episode, and for that reason I really liked it. The storyline was something I enjoyed pretty well, and the cast did a great job in making that happen. The music was great as i still listen to the songs sometimes. The rewatch value read more is pretty low since for dramas that are based off of twists and turns, once you already know what's going to happen, it loses the wow factor. Overall though, I'm giving this an 8, since this is really a top tier drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
NewKDramaAddict
7 of 7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 5, 2013
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
For you old school people, this is Hackers meets Contagion! Loved it! What a ride! Started and finished in a 24 hour period! I'm still riding a Bloody Monday high! The acting was stellar! I still can't get over the fact that Miura was like 17 years old when this was filmed. The constant twists and turns of the story will keep you on the edge of your seat. Sleep? What's that read more when the world as we know it is about to end. I really did enjoy this. So much, I'm now going to continue the ride and watch Bloody Monday 2! Who's with me!?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
jenl821
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 28, 2014
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This show is one word: intense! I was on the edge of my seat every episode as I watched the plot unfold. It was so intriguing, and it kept me guessing about who was really good and who was actually bad.

The acting was amazing. Miura Haruma was perfect. This was my first drama I watched with him and I was amazed at his acting ability. I totally fell for his character, read more and I loved everything about him in this role.

The plot kept moving every episode, and I was completely hooked. It was hard to stop watching, I just wanted to watch the next episode.

The characters are believable, the plot-line amazing, and the overall feel of the show was a high-intensity, adrenaline filled show that will keep you guessing with each cliffhanger ending!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
sachi89
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This is not an average "virus infection" series.
The story is very good with lots of details. You have to see all the episodes to understand everything, everyone and to catch up with the storyline. They selected the best actors/actresses for playing the characters. Along the happenings you'll get confused by them and don't know who the good and bad guys anymore. It's just amazing! I didn't get bored during the episodes read more because everything happens so fast and there's no stop.
By the way I haven't read the manga, but still love this drama. It's a very special series of investigation stories. It's very exciting!
For the rewatch value I gave only 5 because I don't think there's any meaning of watching it again there's a lot of thing that won't make a great impression on you for the second time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
DeceptivelyBlonde
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 4, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is absolutely my all time favorite drama...I've already seen it and the sequel through four times, and introduced several friends to the show. The plotline is fabulously written, and surprisingly believable considering the genre. Some of the scenes are a little forced, but not nearly as many as usually appear in this type of show. The bad guys are not entirely stupid and incapable of winning, which makes the struggle between read more the heroes and the villains that much more attention-grabbing. The characters fit their parts perfectly, and each one keeps the story moving along until the end. The philosophy that was behind this show is probably what caught my attention the most. It actually raised several concepts that my friends and I spent a great deal of time discussing. It was both entertaining and interesting. Furthermore, this is one of the first mysteries I've seen in ages where I actually didn't know who the bad guys were or what was going to happen until the very end. Bloody Monday is suspenseful, fast-paced, well-thought-out, and wonderfully acted from beginning to end. I watched them all in 2 days and instantly got the second season (which is just as good as the first). Definitely a must watch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
TouchoftheWind
9 of 11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 25, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I adored this drama- its was incredibly well written and kept you guessing until the very end. The plot is very intricate and would need full concentration otherwise you may miss something- however, with a drama this well executed its doubtful your attention would stray. The story is flawless, which is why I give it a 10. The pacing was perfect and gave you enough time to make your own judgements on read more everything and then leaving you utterly surprised at the twists and turns of the plot. While the series is fast paced the time given to each small arc is paced well and you don't feel like its rushed.

The cast is perfectly chosen- the acting is superb and the cast is incredibly in tune with each other pulling off any scene with ease. There were 3 actors who really made this show perfect for me- Miura Haruma, Satoh Takeru, and Narimiya Hiroki. I would like to especially mention the latter at his portrayal of J was chilling and so well acted I was almost rooting for the character just because I wanted to see more of him. The cast is a perfect 10 for me!

I admit I didn't really pay much attention to the music- however, the bits I did pay attention to were incredibly well executed and I saw no fault with it. With some shows he music can be a distraction and with Bloody Monday I barely noticed it which to me indicates how well it actually fit with the show. So I give the music a 10.

The rewatch value I would also put at a 10, because while there is a second season I will be watching this again.

Overall, a flawless and spectacular series!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
dramafreak007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 27, 2014
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The following is an Everything HONEST review. Sarcasm up ahead. You have been warned.


From the network which has brought Death Note and Ataru to television sets all over Japan and computer screens all over the world comes Bloody Monday. Not a girl's period day.

Meet Takagi Fujimaru(Miura Haruma), a legendary hacker nicknamed Falcon for hacking into something by chance during junior high which happened to lead the police to prevent a read more possible terrorist act. And my friends were watching porn on their laptops, the culture difference is appalling. He promises never to hack again because its NOT like he didn't help save a lot of people. But when his friend is sexually harassed by a hentai sensei Takagi hacks into his computer to expose his sadist and masochistic ways to the school. Good thing because things were turning into a cliche, disgusting, hentai scene. Too bad his kind act causes the sensei to seek revenge along with a emerging terrorist group set on becoming kamisamas by destroying Tokyo. Which basically uses him and other people as a pawns to satisfiy their need of destruction. Fathom at how are hero miraculously surivive hostage siutations and deadly showdowns, but how his sister keeps letting strangers in their house. Seriously you almost got killed because of it. A story with so much twists and plots it'll have you guessing who is on the terrorist side, but still have plot conviences for the main characters. Kinda like a book.

Starring
The Yellow Falcon(Falcon)
Rookies player(Otoya)
MILF(Maya)
Yankee J(J)
Bloody Monday... I understand why everyone was complaining that the police unit missed ample opportunities to just shoot the terrorists, but is it necessary to post spoilers along with your comment. Really took away some of the mystery.
Cliche Counter:
Annoying sister cliche
Single parent household cliche
Pervy sensei is from the science department
Pervy sensei is into bondage
Pervy sensei is into dressing like a girl
Only one person knew about "the plan"
The boss is the least expected person
Japanese high school uniform...wait they didn't wear uniform! Not a cliche
Good guy with a troubled past
Bad guy with a troubled past
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
shoujo85
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Loved: I only watched Bloody Monday because it has Miura Haruma in it - but I'm glad I did. The storyline is well crafted, there are continual emotional and plot developments and our hero bravely battles on when hope seems gone. There are also some real tear-jerking moments - something I totally didn't expect in this dorama. Narimiya Hiroki as the terrorist 'J' is a treat to behold - he totally pulls read more it off in a charismatic, slightly insane way! The rest of the supporting cast (including all the THIRD-i agents) are great as well.



Didn't Love: I wasn't particularly fond of the violence in Bloody Monday but it's a given in this type of dorama. The idea of Falcon being a genius able to hack anything and everything is a bit too unrealistic (although understandable as he is the hero).



Bloody Monday is a suspense dorama so I wouldn't recommend it for the really squeamish (it should be fine for most viewers though). There are plenty of other aspects to Bloody Monday that more than make up for the occasional 'scary bits'. I think ultimately it's about the bonds which bring people together (love, friendship, family, sacrifice) and the things that destroy them (jealousy, hate, and selfishness). Not a lighthearted show, but worth watching if you're a more serious viewer - plus you get some great Haruma eye-candy!



<< See more of my reviews at doramasan.wordpress.com >>
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
michi-chan
6 of 7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Story- I gave it a perfect score mainly because it was really Ozmmm, Awesome, Fantastic, Masterpiece.

Acting/Cast- Nothing's wrong with the casting, I guess?

Music- I don't really care about the music of any drama, but I guess the negative 1 would be mainly because the song was sad? (I'm so unreasonable, sorry =D)

Rewatch Value- Once you watch it, you'll definitely want to to watch it all over again, I mean, read more it's so great that's what I felt.

Overall- 10, Masterpiece.

Hmm, When I was watching this, I was like "I wanna finish this ASAP". It makes you think what would happen next and makes you wanna finish it all in an instant. The twists were great as well as the cutting of scenes per episodes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
AsianDramaAddix
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 20, 2013
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Okay so if you like dramas that will leave you clutching the edge of your seat till the very end then this is the perfect drama. Unlike most Japanese dramas this drama doesn't really spend a great deal of time focusing on a central love relationship but instead it draws you in with more of a 24 feel. You are constantly wondering if Falcon is going to save Tokyo in time and read more who is going to die next for him to succeed in that task.

You add in Falcon's awesome acting skills along with J's craziness then you have a combination that can't be beat. If you like shows like LOST or 24 then you would love this drama. And it helps that you can spend 11 episodes looking at Narimiya Hiroki's good looking face.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bloody Monday

Alternative Titles

  • Native title:

    ブラッディ・マンデイ

Details

  • Country:

    Japan
  • Type:

    Drama
  • Episodes:

    11
  • Aired:

    Oct 11, 2008 to Dec 20, 2008
  • Aired On:

    Saturday
  • Network:

    TBS
  • Duration:

    50 min.

Statistics

  • Score:

    8.5 (scored by 3,596 users)
  • Ranked:

    #98
  • Popularity:

    #173