Sort by:
Write a Review
TouchoftheWind
9 of 11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 25, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I adored this drama- its was incredibly well written and kept you guessing until the very end. The plot is very intricate and would need full concentration otherwise you may miss something- however, with a drama this well executed its doubtful your attention would stray. The story is flawless, which is why I give it a 10. The pacing was perfect and gave you enough time to make your own judgements on read more everything and then leaving you utterly surprised at the twists and turns of the plot. While the series is fast paced the time given to each small arc is paced well and you don't feel like its rushed.

The cast is perfectly chosen- the acting is superb and the cast is incredibly in tune with each other pulling off any scene with ease. There were 3 actors who really made this show perfect for me- Miura Haruma, Satoh Takeru, and Narimiya Hiroki. I would like to especially mention the latter at his portrayal of J was chilling and so well acted I was almost rooting for the character just because I wanted to see more of him. The cast is a perfect 10 for me!

I admit I didn't really pay much attention to the music- however, the bits I did pay attention to were incredibly well executed and I saw no fault with it. With some shows he music can be a distraction and with Bloody Monday I barely noticed it which to me indicates how well it actually fit with the show. So I give the music a 10.

The rewatch value I would also put at a 10, because while there is a second season I will be watching this again.

Overall, a flawless and spectacular series!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
dramafreak007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 27, 2014
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The following is an Everything HONEST review. Sarcasm up ahead. You have been warned.


From the network which has brought Death Note and Ataru to television sets all over Japan and computer screens all over the world comes Bloody Monday. Not a girl's period day.

Meet Takagi Fujimaru(Miura Haruma), a legendary hacker nicknamed Falcon for hacking into something by chance during junior high which happened to lead the police to prevent a read more possible terrorist act. And my friends were watching porn on their laptops, the culture difference is appalling. He promises never to hack again because its NOT like he didn't help save a lot of people. But when his friend is sexually harassed by a hentai sensei Takagi hacks into his computer to expose his sadist and masochistic ways to the school. Good thing because things were turning into a cliche, disgusting, hentai scene. Too bad his kind act causes the sensei to seek revenge along with a emerging terrorist group set on becoming kamisamas by destroying Tokyo. Which basically uses him and other people as a pawns to satisfiy their need of destruction. Fathom at how are hero miraculously surivive hostage siutations and deadly showdowns, but how his sister keeps letting strangers in their house. Seriously you almost got killed because of it. A story with so much twists and plots it'll have you guessing who is on the terrorist side, but still have plot conviences for the main characters. Kinda like a book.

Starring
The Yellow Falcon(Falcon)
Rookies player(Otoya)
MILF(Maya)
Yankee J(J)
Bloody Monday... I understand why everyone was complaining that the police unit missed ample opportunities to just shoot the terrorists, but is it necessary to post spoilers along with your comment. Really took away some of the mystery.
Cliche Counter:
Annoying sister cliche
Single parent household cliche
Pervy sensei is from the science department
Pervy sensei is into bondage
Pervy sensei is into dressing like a girl
Only one person knew about "the plan"
The boss is the least expected person
Japanese high school uniform...wait they didn't wear uniform! Not a cliche
Good guy with a troubled past
Bad guy with a troubled past
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
shoujo85
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Loved: I only watched Bloody Monday because it has Miura Haruma in it - but I'm glad I did. The storyline is well crafted, there are continual emotional and plot developments and our hero bravely battles on when hope seems gone. There are also some real tear-jerking moments - something I totally didn't expect in this dorama. Narimiya Hiroki as the terrorist 'J' is a treat to behold - he totally pulls read more it off in a charismatic, slightly insane way! The rest of the supporting cast (including all the THIRD-i agents) are great as well.



Didn't Love: I wasn't particularly fond of the violence in Bloody Monday but it's a given in this type of dorama. The idea of Falcon being a genius able to hack anything and everything is a bit too unrealistic (although understandable as he is the hero).



Bloody Monday is a suspense dorama so I wouldn't recommend it for the really squeamish (it should be fine for most viewers though). There are plenty of other aspects to Bloody Monday that more than make up for the occasional 'scary bits'. I think ultimately it's about the bonds which bring people together (love, friendship, family, sacrifice) and the things that destroy them (jealousy, hate, and selfishness). Not a lighthearted show, but worth watching if you're a more serious viewer - plus you get some great Haruma eye-candy!



<< See more of my reviews at doramasan.wordpress.com >>
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
michi-chan
6 of 7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Story- I gave it a perfect score mainly because it was really Ozmmm, Awesome, Fantastic, Masterpiece.

Acting/Cast- Nothing's wrong with the casting, I guess?

Music- I don't really care about the music of any drama, but I guess the negative 1 would be mainly because the song was sad? (I'm so unreasonable, sorry =D)

Rewatch Value- Once you watch it, you'll definitely want to to watch it all over again, I mean, read more it's so great that's what I felt.

Overall- 10, Masterpiece.

Hmm, When I was watching this, I was like "I wanna finish this ASAP". It makes you think what would happen next and makes you wanna finish it all in an instant. The twists were great as well as the cutting of scenes per episodes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
AsianDramaAddix
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 20, 2013
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Okay so if you like dramas that will leave you clutching the edge of your seat till the very end then this is the perfect drama. Unlike most Japanese dramas this drama doesn't really spend a great deal of time focusing on a central love relationship but instead it draws you in with more of a 24 feel. You are constantly wondering if Falcon is going to save Tokyo in time and read more who is going to die next for him to succeed in that task.

You add in Falcon's awesome acting skills along with J's craziness then you have a combination that can't be beat. If you like shows like LOST or 24 then you would love this drama. And it helps that you can spend 11 episodes looking at Narimiya Hiroki's good looking face.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
DramaAddiction
5 of 8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 3, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
“Human beings store their memories in the surround space. Happy memories - upwards. Sad memories downwards.”


I finally finished Bloody Monday, a drama that had been requested by numerous people, and I am very happy that they requested it. I love this type of drama, action, thriller, and all that kind of stuff. It’s a really good break from watching the same old romantic comedy that tends to bore me after a read more while. The plot in this drama is something interesting, and caught my eye right away, from hacking to terrorism; I knew that I would love this drama.

The characters in this drama, man are they diverse. You never know what to expect from them, because they all have different sides to themselves. The main character, Falcon, his character is really good, for the fact that he wants to do right, and be just but then he is put in these situations in which he has to be bad, for the sake of his loved ones. Damn those terrorist, right? Then there is J, the so called leader of the terrorist organization. May I say he stole the show? Like seriously, Narimiya Hiroki’s acting was on point. He portrayed a character with such depth and can I say psychological problems very well. He was really good at playing the bad guy. But other than him, I think my favorite character had to be Kano Ikuma, he was pretty much just a bad ass. I mean he didn’t give a fuck, and he did what he wanted, he was ballzy, and I liked that about him!

This drama had so many twists; I didn’t even know what to do with myself. It seemed that everyone and their mom wanted to be a terrorist, a “God”. Like some of these people, I didn’t even see coming from a mile away. Wow. Really? The thing that the terrorist want to accomplish in this drama, is sort of strange to me. They want to kill people? They want to become Gods. I don’t understand, well I do, but I guess I can’t get my mind set into thinking that whipping out an entire city or country is making you anything other than a murder…let alone a god.

There were many times I found myself crying, watching this drama. I think it’s because of my love for human life, and everyone living, or the fact that I have become too emotional lately, either way. There are also a ton of amazing quotes in this drama. I think I just really like the way people worded things in this drama. It made it seem more deep and intelligent when they spoke. The ending to this drama was a little bit of an opened ended one, which is because there is a second season, which I will have to watch sometime, or if it gets requested. Like you will see that people you thought were dead, aren’t, and that stuff has just gotten to the surface, I don’t mean to spoil stuff, but I think shit was just now getting real, and things are about to go down in season 2. But not saying that season one didn’t have some serious shit going down in it.

Over all I enjoyed this drama. It gave me an insane paranoia of viral terrorism, but other than that I really enjoyed it. I love dramas where you don’t know who is who, and who to trust or not, that kind of keeping you on the edge sort of drama, to me are the best. So for those who are looking for something a little different than the standard romantic comedy or the overly emotional melodrama, this would be something that may interest you. Be prepared for some pretty graphic scenes, but sometimes those can be exciting. So if you love, computers, blood, crime, hot men and women, and some bad ass stuff, you should probably check it out. I mean hey, it’s only 11 episodes long, you have nothing to lose, other than your hope in humanity and your feeling of being safe at night.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Xuro
5 of 8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 10, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
A very intense series that kept you on the edge of your seat constantly. I was spending more time at night than I should have trying to get in another episode of this series.

I was very pleased with the outcome as I hadn't really read up much on reviews for this series and just took a gamble with the summary. The action was very well played out and the slow scenes read more didn't make you want to gouge out your eyes. It was easy transitions that kept you interested in what was going to happen next.

Though the whole falcon flying through to the zone was unappealing and probably the most boring part of the series but it added its own signature touch that others may feel unique and creative. This drama made one feel the unbearable emotions that the characters themselves felt, the actors did an excellent job in this one and hit home with the audience in a top-notch performance.

When I revisit this series, and I definitely will in the near future, I look forward to coming back to this review and revising it as I see fit. Overall I found this drama to be in my top 10 and with one of the best action dramas I have seen yet
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
nonynod
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 29, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The drama is a MUST watch, the story, cast and music is great, i had so much fun and excitement watching this drama, it kept me watching till the end, the whole idea got my attention, the actors/actresses were great, especially Orihara Maya (Kichise Michiko) the main character was awesome too, i also love how the main character is young and intelligent, plus the people around him are related to Third-I and read more the President, and of course third-i was so awesome, but i'll tell you this enjoy the first Bloody Monday cause the second isn't as great as the first.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
baka_usagi
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 23, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is the kind of drama that never failed to impress me. Every episode is a must watch with suspensive, heart-stopping cliff-hangers.

All I can say is WOW.. I love it. Fast-paced. Unique plot. Unexpected plot twists. THIS.IS.JUST.SO.PERFECT.

I LOVE J and MAYA ORIHARA. :D

Frankly speaking this is at par or above IRIS(K-drama) and MUCH BETTER than CITY HUNTER(K-drama).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
XiaoMei
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Aug 8, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Finally! Japan shows power action drama! Bloody Monday absorbs all the time and threads, luckily, aren't to much intricate. Of course, my favaourite character is J. - psychopatic, intelligent terrorist with specific sense of humor. I love this role! <3

During the last episodes, when there appeared false K. I was shocked, but when the true intetity was uncovered, I was totally shocked. To be fair, it was the only ony read more thing, which doesn't suit there. I would like to it will be Otoya and then a terrorist battle between brothers. Ok.. Ok.. It is only my alternative screenplay.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
jenl821
7 of 7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 28, 2014
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This show is one word: intense! I was on the edge of my seat every episode as I watched the plot unfold. It was so intriguing, and it kept me guessing about who was really good and who was actually bad.

The acting was amazing. Miura Haruma was perfect. This was my first drama I watched with him and I was amazed at his acting ability. I totally fell for his character, read more and I loved everything about him in this role.

The plot kept moving every episode, and I was completely hooked. It was hard to stop watching, I just wanted to watch the next episode.

The characters are believable, the plot-line amazing, and the overall feel of the show was a high-intensity, adrenaline filled show that will keep you guessing with each cliffhanger ending!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
NewKDramaAddict
8 of 8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 5, 2013
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
For you old school people, this is Hackers meets Contagion! Loved it! What a ride! Started and finished in a 24 hour period! I'm still riding a Bloody Monday high! The acting was stellar! I still can't get over the fact that Miura was like 17 years old when this was filmed. The constant twists and turns of the story will keep you on the edge of your seat. Sleep? What's that read more when the world as we know it is about to end. I really did enjoy this. So much, I'm now going to continue the ride and watch Bloody Monday 2! Who's with me!?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bloody Monday

Alternative Titles

  • Native title:

    ブラッディ・マンデイ

Details

  • Country:

    Japan
  • Type:

    Drama
  • Episodes:

    11
  • Aired:

    Oct 11, 2008 to Dec 20, 2008
  • Aired On:

    Saturday
  • Network:

    TBS
  • Duration:

    50 min.

Statistics

  • Score:

    8.5 (scored by 3,696 users)
  • Ranked:

    #103
  • Popularity:

    #180