Proposal Daisakusen (2007)

Sort by:
Write a Review
20 of 24 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 20, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
[Warning: long review]

This isn't just a show. It's a story close to life; a story of great moral value and lessons to be learnt. This is an amazing journey through the eyes of a man who can be similar to many of us at some point in our lives. And I believe many people, including myself, have come out of this journey a better person. The below is more an in-depth read more review more for people who've already watched the show, but if you are curious to what exactly is so good about the show, feel free to read on, since there are no big spoilers in this review.

The story is simple enough; Ken is a shy guy who never managed to express his love to his childhood friend, Rei, and now he is attending her wedding to another man. A fairy pops up to grant Ken the ability to correct some regrets of his past so that hopefully he will face an improved situation in the present. The idea of time-travel seems to contradict the idea of the show being close to life; if you think about it, however, everyone faces some regrets of action or non-action in the past; time-travelling back to change these is an ability we always wanted, and we simply see Ken doing what we wished we could do. These timeslips create a blueprint in the show which becomes obvious very quickly; in fact it is so faithfully replicated that the show is always in danger of becoming repetitive. However, each episode is executed masterfully such that the repetition doesn't become tiring; it instead gives the viewer a standard framework from which to view the characters, their story and the outcome of Ken's actions, making them seem all the more clearer and connected to the present. More importantly, you get to see Ken's gradual emotional development through the series. It is argued by many watchers that this format isn't the best way to present the show due to the repetitiveness; but for me it possesses a mesmerizing charm and cuteness that endears me to the show.

The characters are excellent, and I totally mean it when I say that. Many shows out there create characters to suit the story, which results in disjointed personalities and actions that seem out-of-character in some scenarios; ProDai is one of the rare few that have wholesome, complex characters whom you get to understand and relate to as the story progresses. It is as though the story is written to suit the characters, which is how real life works; this makes the show so much closer to life. Sometimes, it even angers the audience when they see how stubborn a person's personality in the show can be, because at times the show simply stagnates when Ken cannot bring himself to change the past; to me however, this is also one of the charms of the show, the rigidity of personalities is just so like life. Nevertheless, the genius scriptwriters have churned out enough twists and turns in the story to keep it interesting throughout, and effortlessly blended in moral lessons which never seem to be forced into the story (something J-doramas are bad at). Most importantly, the show was brought to a complete end, albeit an open-ended one, which was satisfying for most, but completely amazing for me.

Acting is top class as well; vintage performances are seen from Nagasawa Masami, Hamada Gaku and Mikami Hiroshi, as well as of course the star of the show, Yamashita Tomohisa. His acting isn't particularly fantastic, but he gave his character a personality unique to himself; he became Ken, Ken became him. In all, his was an absolutely memorable performance. The OST is another highlight of the show, with BGM that is always at the right places, at the right time, and invoke heavy doses of emotion and goose-bumps that really bring the show up to another level. Who could forget the inspiring themes of Rising Road and Hallelujah Flash, and their rearranged emotional renditions that play in heart-tugging scenes? The ending theme, Ashita Hareru Kana, and the insert Chiisana Koi no Uta are, well, I don't think I have to say more. Personally I have Ame Agari (translated as 'after the rain')as my favourite as well, because of the scenes that it plays in, and the meaning of the song towards the show: after the rain, sadness will vanish and everything will start anew.

With all that being said, the show has its flaws as well. Particular aspects that stuck out include the lack of development in one of the main characters, Mikio, and the convenient shafting of Tada, portrayed as the guy everyone hates but really, is just a good man fighting for his own love. Even so, I give the show a 10. I have to admit that I'm biased in the score and in this review; but it is really because I love the show so much. My advice is really to follow the show in its entirety, indulge in the characters and feel the fun, the anguish, the anxiety, and the exhilaration in the show. And most importantly, learn from it, and I promise any watcher that it will be a enjoyable and memorable journey for you as well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 28, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
7 years ago, when I first watched this drama, I experienced the same frustration related by so many reviewers here and elsewhere. I gave it tepid marks then, because annoyance surpassed the pleasure. Why I decided to re-watch it and why my overall opinion on the drama changed so drastically this second time around, is the reason for my present review.
I have been led to think by past experiences that the read more more I watch Asian dramas, the more fastidious I become; it is therefore quite ironic that in this case my better knowledge came out as an incentive to appreciate the drama more, not less.

When I approached Proposal Daisakusen the first time, all my attention was captured by the love story between Kenzo and Rei. I was so anxious for him to do the right thing and say the right words that I overlooked all the rest. But guess what: as odd as it may sound, this drama is all about 'the rest'. Daisakusen in Japanese means 'big strategy', as in organizing a war campaign. View in this light, we could think of Kenzo's time travelling as it were a war where single episodes are the several battles fought. To maintain the analogy, if while watching you put all your energy in trying to win every single battle, you'll end up frustrated, but if you keep the target in mind, i.e. win the war, you may truly appreciate this 'big strategy'. Despite all premises to the contrary, this drama is not so much about Kenzo managing to change Rei's heart as it is a journey of a young man understanding what's truly important in life and establishing clear priorities. It also makes you reflect upon the true meaning of love, whether it were only about declaring it aloud or rather be there when the person you love needs you.

In this sense, I believe this drama to be a lot cleverer than your average romantic comedy. It touches issues like friendship, family, loyalty, generosity and honesty. It takes its time, lingering on what seem little details, but it turns out that changing a small detail can make a huge difference not only in your life, but on the direction the people around you will take as well. The thin thread underlying the whole show is an old friend: carpe diem. Seize the moment and the opportunity, you may not have a second chance. This is a very simple philosophy, but it is so dear to me I firmly believe it cannot be repeated or stressed enough. Don't procrastinate, don't give the people around you for granted, thinking you have all the time in the world to do the right thing, to convey your feeling or to listen to them when they need an ear.
I consider the special as integral part of the drama, so I indirectly include that one in this review. They called it special, but it could just as well be episode 12, so I suggest you watch the special too before rating the show.

The acting is fine. It could have been more intense, but I'm willing to forgive the occasional stone-face because the characters created by the whole cast are truly endearing and hard to forget. They are very natural as a group of friends and as such I ended up imagining them.
The music isn't the strong trait of the drama. It has a lovely instrumental piece and a very old-fashioned song repeated now and again. In the end, I have become quite deaf to both. A little variety wouldn’t have hurt...

I suppose there's no need for me to explain why the re-watch value is so high. If you are ready to put aside Kenzo's eternal hesitation and Rei's insecurity - which by the way are paramount traits of their personality, without which the drama wouldn't have been created - and you fix gaze and mind on the whole picture, you may end up loving it as much as I did on second watching. There's a constellation of little events, many related to the Japanese culture and rituals, that is delicious and heart-warming.
After 7 years, I'm now ready to recommend this drama to everyone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
16 of 20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 18, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
1) The reason I watched this:

The first reason was Yamapi then I read about it in a well written blog by a friend of mine therefore I decided to give it a try.

2) Storyline/Plot:

*Generally speaking, it's a romantic story wrapped up with some comedy and let's not forget the fantasy element represented by the "fairy".

Positive Points:

*I can't think of many positive points in this drama but let's read more speak about the main genres present here:

--->Humor: I think it's the only element that I appreciated it while watching the drama, it's not like I laughed so hard but the funny scenes thrown every once in a while were good to watch even though they weren't freakily present but the random choice of humor was good.

Negative Points:

--->Romance: Considering the fact that this is a romantic story, I haven't felt the romantic atmosphere till the last episodes, I kept waiting and waiting for something lightening to happen yet it was practically the same each episode: No major changing, that's why after watching the first 3 episodes I knew that I have to wait for the end to see the major changing when it comes to romance.

*The story development was really slow as annoyingly slow; you know how the episode will begin and how it will end. The last 3 episodes of the dramas were the most important ones when it comes to story development, other than that it was moving like a turtle.

Story rating 5.5/10

2) Acting/Cast:

*Yamashita Tomohisa:

So Yamapi is one of my favorite actors, he's the sort of actor that I feel happy when I see him on screen not to forget that he's one of the main reasons why I started watching this drama.
Now let's be objective; no matter how much I like Yamapi I have to admit that his acting was really poor in this drama, I haven't felt anything, it's like he haven't delivered a thing that can touch me: Sad but true.
Ken character wasn't good, I liked it at some points but I quickly lost interest in it, the main reason is the slow movement of the drama that made it so dull.

*Nagasawa Masami:

I am not familiar with her as an actress, I hate to admit this but when it comes to acting she was better than Yamapi but that doesn't mean that she was dazzling; she was acceptable.
When it comes to Rei, she was really annoying as a character, I didn't like the character development; it was really bothersome to watch.

*Other Cast: Some the supporting roles lacked development (such as Mikio's character), some of them were fun to watch (Hisashi) and the rest weren't bad; acceptable overall.


--->Friendship: The only relationship that I appreciated while watching this drama, I enjoyed watching the friendship between Ken, Rei, Mikio, Hisashi and Eri; it seemed pure and pretty strong in a way that makes you want to see more scenes were those 5 are gathered.

--->Romance: I haven't felt any chemistry so it wasn't that great but again it's all due to the slow development of the storyline.

--->The triangle: When I speak about the triangle I would say that it existed while it haven't actually exist; Cryptic right? Well, that's because there wasn't the usual feelings of a triangle when you see Ken, Rei and Tetsuya.

Cast: 8/10
Acting: 6/10.

3) The ending:

"I made it!!" That's what I was thinking when I finished the drama. I knew from the beginning that the major development and the "jump" of the drama will happen at the end, it was all expected.
Since there was a Special after this drama, I don't think it would be considered as an ending yet both of the drama and the Special endings weren't any different.

The ending: 7.5/10.

4) My Impression (How did it affect me):

*This drama had one of the slowest storyline's developments out of all dramas that I’ve seen so far. As a person that have the lowest level of patience, it really played with my nerves, I won't deny that I skipped many parts because like I said you know how every episode will begin and how it will end.
*It's one of those dramas that I wanted to reach the last episode to find out what will happen (even though I already anticipated it), I just wanted to finish and get over with it. It was simply one of the boring dramas that I’ve seen.

*Is this drama memorable: Partly yes. Even though I didn't like this drama, I will remember those boring feelings that I had while watching this and I will remember not to recommend it to anyone that has a slow patience level.

My impression: 4/10.

5) Overall:

*If you're die-hard Yamapi fan then you will like this.
*If you don't mind slow development then you may like this.

*Proposal Daikusen is a drama that you have to wait for the last episode to see the major change; if you don't mind that then I think you won't hate this.

Overall: 6/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
8 of 9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2014
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This was just an amazing drama ! When I started , I though it was going to be a average drama ! But boy was I way off ! It truly is a master piece ! How he tries to win back his love .Also, I love the different take on this one . Time traveling back in to the past and chaining things to make a better future (this reminds me read more of Nine Times Time Travel :where the main character travels back in time and figures out its consequences after words ) It is cute and nice drama !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
11 of 14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 21, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Well, I must say, as much as I think that Yamapi is cute and all (cute as in kawaii, still), his acting skills need much work. For some reason I don't like Nagasawa Masami, but she was more likeable than way-too-cool-to-actually-act Yamapi (sorry to fans, but most of the times his idol-ness was too transparent in the story). Fujiki Naohito here seems quite a boring character - I mean it's probably the read more role, but for the first time watching him, I felt like that about his characters.
All in all, I actually watched it two times, but I can't say I was left with much from the story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
17 of 26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 19, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Proposal Daisakusen is a time travel drama that takes a man back in time to right past wrongs. Going into this fresh off Buzzer Beat and Kurosagi I had some high expectations due to Yamapi and my growing appreciation for him. For the most part I really liked this drama.

There were however, some elements that frustrated me. This is the kind of drama where there is an automatic redundancy that comes read more with the plot. Every episode he goes back, fixes a small mistake from his past. I think because of this you have to have a hook to keep the viewer watching. I found myself being frustrated by the many chances given and lost as well as many words left unspoken for too long.

I am thankful this drama was only 11 episodes because anymore and I don't think I'd have been able to finish. I must admit I almost gave up after 8 but due to the acting and the sweetness of the main couple I came back and finished. The characters were charming and I wanted to see if Kenzo would finally get his Rei. In the many sweet moments and scenes of their friendship and underlying love story is where the tentative hook to stick with this over rode the urge to drop it.

The movie/special redeemed this show for me but I will expound more in that review. The editing and directing were also good. I would imagine it is difficult to pull off time travel, past and future worlds and keep up consistency but this drama does it well.

The music didn't really stand out for me. I am giving this a 7 because there are dramas out there that want and need a good OST and some that simply aren't really about the music in the background. I think this drama was fine without a standout OST.

The rewatch value is just medium. Mostly because I know I won't watch again but I am sure others will.

This is a sweet little story. Try and have patience with it and I do think you will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
10 of 14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 5, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I chose this drama because i saw Yamapi in it (what other reasons would i need?) lol. I really came to like this drama. Yamapi is given "supernatural" chances at a friends wedding to go back in time and make her fall in love with him and not marry the other guy.

I got frustrated with the character's inability to say what he felt even after all the chances. It read more seemed like the same situation kept happening over and over and over again. He was sent back to a point in time, he is meant to change a situation, he gets scared, makes no progress and then has to return to the current time.

i liked the ending, it was a real clifhanger. (so watch the special)

Although it doesnt engross you into the story- The acting was really good actually, the side stories were intresting and it was funny as well so it was good all around. From the first 3 episodes youll know if you like it or not.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 8, 2015
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
If you had a chance to go back in time to confess to the one you love and change your destiny, would you do it? Well, then, "Hareruja, chansu!"

What I loved the most about this dorama was the co-existence of romance and time travel (subgenre of fantasy rather than sci-fi, but who cares). The idea of going back in time to change your destiny is not a new one, but only read more being able to go back through photos is, and I found it brilliant. Yes, there is the tiny detail that, if you can just go back to a time where you've taken a picture, why not just gather other pictures to get other chances? But let's not look for logic in romantic doramas, or we'll end up wondering why the hell Ken (Yamapi) didn't just confess when he got back the first time.

The characters in general were all good. Ken and Rei being the leads, get most of the screen time, but I actually fell in love with Mikio not knowing how or when. Maybe the fact that he's the most mature of the group is what made me fall for him, I don't know. I just wish he had more screen time - or a more elaborated storyline at least.

My favourite character in all this, though, is probably the fairy. He's such a unique character, for starters, and I like the way he supported Ken's love from the get-go. It's too bad he only appeared at the beginning and the end of the episodes, though. I would have liked it more if he could have been a sort of guide to Ken even in the past, you know?

As for the acting, I didn't like Yamapi very much, to be honest. I felt like he was good at playing certain emotions, but couldn't fully let himself go on others. But maybe it's the character, I don't know, I'm not a Yamapi expert.

I found the music great, especially the ending theme. The whole video to go with it is quite weird, though. I imagine it has been hard for them not to laugh while looking at each other for what seems like hours. It made me uncomfortable at times lol

To be honest, the whole story is actually very predictable (especially the way it ends), but I liked it nonetheless. It's a very nice way to spend one's weekend: binge-watching ProDai and then being obsessed with Yamapi's ridiculous pose all through the following week. Just give this dorama a "chansu" ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 of 6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 25, 2013
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I've already reviewed each ep so that's gonna be short...
the story is unique I loved that each ep was special on it's own & it's about a simple basic Idea..."getting the chance to repair your old mistakes" and If it didn't work then face your reality & change now for the future...
it's beautiful, touching & I personally learned many lessons from it ^^
*do your best as long as you read more have time to.
*chance wasted is a chance wasted.
*good friends are gonna be your shelter when you need them.
*fight for your love because it's worth it.
*the past has gone but your future is within your hands.
*it's not always about the "wrong" you did, maybe it's about the "good" you didn't do.
the things Ken done for Rei & the friendship those five had made me really enviable...
the acting was really good & all the side characters did great job...
the music was wonderful...I really loved the song...
and I'll definitely re-watch this...
don't forget about the special or you won't get the full story ^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 23, 2013
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I really ended up liking this drama, but it was very very annoying.

Its about ken who travels back in time to the locations of pictures that are shown in Rei, girl he is madly in love with, and Tada,guy she is marrying, wedding. He does this to try to change the outcome of his relationship with Rei.

This does get very repetitive later on, but it is worth it.

The interruptions read more to his confessions are ridiculously stupid at times and too fcking coincidental. It makes you want to drop the show, but these interruptions will be well worth it because when his final confession finally gets heard it is very satisfying. I was actually crying because you could feel the pain he was feeling. I think if his past confessions had gone through it wouldn't have had such an emotional effect as his final one. So even though you will probably be cursing and hitting your head to the wall it is well worth the wait.

I rated the acting an 8 due to some silly times he would clasp his hand to his mouth when he was shock. And the way he acts right when his about to time travel. Its very silly, but I think that was probably just a comical thing they put in on purpose.

Rewatch value is a 7 due to the repetitive time travels.

Over all I did like this drama and i give it a 8.5/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 30, 2013
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0

Ken was an attractive, smart, athletic, dense guy who was in love with his childhood friend Rei. A love that spanned for 14 years without a SINGLE confession, nothing at all. When he attends her wedding to their old high school sensei Tada who in a way is a pedophile since he liked her BEFORE she was an adult. Man I got a little sidetracked. read more *Cough*. Ken will be given not one, not two, but ELEVEN chances to go back to the past and try to convey his feelings to Rei thanks to a fairy who looks like a middle aged man for some reason. Marvel at the irony of two people who have put themselves in the friendzone. A love story that teaches women NOT to be straightforward with a dense and shy guy no matter how much they DON'T get it, but be straightforward with another straighforward person. Honestly if she was just more straightforward with Ken instead of blaming him... the whole show would be different. A show with the MOST disappointing ending... if you have the inability to imagine, but if you are able to connect the dots then this show has a GOOD ending.

Ken doll(Ken)
"Strive" Rei(Rei)
Naughty Sensei(Tada)
Greatest Friend Ever(Mikio)
Comedy Act(Tsuru)
Best Girl Friend(Eri)
Not A Fairy(Fairy)
Proposal Daisakusen... wait why is Mikio the only one able to tell that Ken is from the future? When Ken mentioned future stuff Tsuru was also there... oh wait he is a baka never mind.

Cliche Counter
*culture festival*
*baseball team striving to go to koshien*
*male lead is childhood friends with female lead*
wow this show had so few cliches.

In case you guys are unaware this review have a lot of sarcasm based off the Honest Reviews and Everything Wrong With videos about movies. You should check them out on youtube under the usernames Screenjunkies and Cinemasins. Hope you enjoyed the review this is my first time doing this on a Japanese drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 of 9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 19, 2013
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Honestly, this is one of the worst dramas I've ever seen. Someone mentioning the title to me sends me in an automatic rant mode. I feel like I wasted my life with the 7 or so episodes that I watched.

I came into this drama with high expectations. I knew it was popular and every jdrama sight practically faints over Yamapi. At first I liked it. It's a time travel drama, but read more I liked the idea of being able to travel back in time through photographs. It's original and interesting.

As many others have said this type of drama begs for repetition. He can't confess to her in the first episode because then the drama would be over. The drama delivers zany misunderstandings, close calls, and you actually do want to root for the main male lead Iwase Ken.

What makes me give it such an awful review is how it ends. I ended up becoming tired of the repetitive plot lines and search to see how the drama ended to see it if was worth my time. It is not at all. I wont spoil how it ends, but I will say that the ending is so stupidly contrived and unrealistic that it offends my life. I will say that the future takes place at a WEDDING. Not even a wedding, the reception to said wedding. The main female lead and love interest, Yoshida Rei, is MARRIED the the present time. The only way I could see the ending actually being decent is if they villainize the love rival, Tada Tetsuya, but he is actually a pretty decent guy so it doesn't even a little bit work.

The horrible ending on top of sub-par acting and repetition make me loathe this drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Proposal Daisakusen

Alternative Titles

  • Native title:

  • Also Known as:

    Operation Love; Proposal Mission; puropoozu daisakusen


  • Country:

  • Type:

  • Episodes:

  • Aired:

    Apr 16, 2007 to Jun 25, 2007
  • Network:

    Fuji TV
  • Duration:

    45 min.


  • Score:

    7.6 (scored by 3,789 users)
  • Ranked:

  • Popularity: