Sort by:
Baby, Baby, Baby!
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 27, 2011
Dec 27, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
After I watched Umareru (Being Born) I thought I should give this movie a go. The movie started out really well then it got rather crazy (or bazaar?) at the end. Mizuki Alisa (Yoko) and Tanihara Shosuke (Tetsuya)gave an amazing performance. So if you liked Umareru you will probably like this movie. As for the rest of you, I think you might want to pass by this movie (you won't be missing read more much except for an exceptional acting performance by the main characters).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're My Pet
25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 27, 2011
Dec 27, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Going into this movie I kept telling myself that I wouldn't compare it to the drama, and that was actually pretty easily done. If you are a huge fan of the Japanese drama, you will not like this, unless your like me.

The story, is not original, seeings how its been done before, however its not like the drama either. I liked the movie because, it was lighthearted, and I was in read more major need of the fluffiness of it. It's upbeat, and not to serious.

Chemistry wise, could have been better. JGS was very adorkable in his role as Momo. You don't actually believe he is a pet, but you can see the cute qualities of a pet in him. He maintained his pride as a man, while being what she needed.

For "Momo" to supposedly be a dancer, I was very disappointed. There wasn't enough dancing. And, the music seemed sub-par to me.

I would re-watch this, if after a spat of really sad melodrama's, I need a pick-me-up.

Overall, not a bad movie, but not a great one either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're My Pet
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 27, 2011
Dec 27, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Kimi wa Petto is a drama based on the original manga written by the Mangaka Yayoi Okawa. An unique story who takes place in the world of a Business woman's life. You're My Pet is an alternate movie version based on the actual drama already being displayed earlier with Matsumoto Jun in the lead role as momo.

Replacing Matsumoto, Jang Keun Suk takes on the role of the boy who has a read more sparkling career ahead of him. In Ho is a boy who spends most of his time reaching for his dream. A dancer who wishes to advance to perform in musicals sometimes in the future. Not really having somewhere to live and always ending up having to sleep on the hard wooden floor in the dance studio he manages to fix up an agreement with a buddy of his. He'll take his place as a cleaning lady for a woman who seems to have way to little time on her hands.
Meanwhile, Ji Eun is a woman of unusual status both with height and career. Everything seems to be working out succesfully for her, Except one thing. She Can't seem to find a man who can accept her for the person she is. Not a man who can live up to her standards atleast.. Constantly being let down with guys she decides she wants to get a pet. A Dog that will welcome her when she arrives home from work, A playful dog who'll appreciate all her hard work. In Ho moves in to her apartment and takes the place of his friend with one condition. He has to become her ''Pet..'' Then, She'll do the cleaning herself.. Only becoming a pet won't be enough though.. He has to give up on all human things, Especially sexually. Agreeing to this agreement, A hard road ahead awaits them both as love shows up in the most unexpected place.. A Romance between a Girl and a Boy. Will their Master and Pet relationship come in the way of the romance happening?.. Will the secret about Ji Eun's pet being a human, be revealed?

I really liked this movie.. I actually really didn't have that much expectations to this story atall.. I saw the actual drama a couple of months ago, And I liked it.. But it didn't make my top 5 dramalist.. This movie made my favorite list unexpectedly.
The Rewatch value is plenty high, I actually feel like rewatching it again right now, Despite of just having completed it. The musically score and soundtrack were really good with performances from Keun-Suk himself inserted into the story.

This Movie is a must watch for sure, Especially recommended for rom-com lovers, And fans of the Kimi wa Petto drama..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kisarazu Cats Eye: Nihon Series
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 26, 2011
Dec 26, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
If you've seen the drama then you will probably like this movie. I liked the drama (aside from the mega cheesy acting) so I decided to give the movie a shot.

Yep...the movie is just a weird as the series...

The movie had good acting, decent music, and a crazy messed-up story line (just like the series). I prefer the drama over the movie, but I'm still glad I watch it. It read more made me laugh and it also made me wonder why the Japanese make such random-ass shows. Anyway, if you like the drama you will most likely enjoy the movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Give My First Love to You
33 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 26, 2011
Dec 26, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
If you've read the manga you might be a little disappointed with this theatrical version. If you haven't read the manga (or read it and want to watch this anyway) then you definitely should watch it. The romance is so beautiful and their struggles are so difficult that you can't help but scream at them.
The acting is absolutely incredible, the story is heart wrenching, and above all the story is believable. read more If you're not sure if this movie is for you watch the first 10 minutes. By the time the 10 minute mark rolls by I think you will realize how touching this movie will be. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Acacia
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 24, 2011
Dec 24, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Pretty original storyline but it wasn't carried out very well. I only liked the last scenes. Where everything was uncovered. The usual Asian horror things. It was predictable (If you're an Asian horror fan.) I certainly wouldn't watch this again. I feel so sorry for the kid *sigh* but its an OK movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kiss Me, Kill Me
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 23, 2011
Dec 23, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I though this would be similar to the move 'My Girlfriend is An Agent' but it turned out even more entertaining, to me at least. The storyline is interesting and the acting was really good! Some scenes surprised me because I expected something else to happen but it was a good sort of surprise, I hate it when a movie is predictable ;p

The two main actors will be added to my fav. list.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Confessions
47 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 23, 2011
Dec 23, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I am speechless. I can't even express how I feel. This whole movie was a mind game, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. So many events, so many lives, but one purpose. I wish to write something as dark and meaningful like this someday.

I doubted that I would like this movie at first. The dialogue in the first scene was long. But I came to understand it was important. I don't regret read more the stubbornness I had to sit through that particular scene. Then came the confessions. Just...wow! What a brilliant scheme! This was a really clever one.

The music was very good and it achieved the desired effect. Even added an artistic tinge.

The characters were very well portrayed. I even sympathized with the worst of them (psycho kid). Had a conflicting sense of hating the things he did and feeling sorry for his situation.

I hold great admiration to the writer of this movie. Thank you, this actually had everything I ever wanted to see in a movie. It leaves a deep impression that I won't be able to shake off anytime soon.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Grave Of The Fireflies
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 22, 2011
Dec 22, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
just a quick rage review... (this is for those who have watched the two former versions of GOTFF)

i will make a more believable review soon..

1. from my ultra POV, this is an uber lame attempt to capture or remake the intensity of the story that showed by the ghibli movie.

2. very pathetic movie... the actors doesnt make an effort in doing their best and they looks like they are read more just reciting the script.

3. the tv special of GOTFF is more movie like than this film

4. Im sorry for those who gave this version a 10/10...

5. feel free to object and i think i will get "not helpful"

ps: my favorite scene in the original were borifying epicfailness on this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dec 22, 2011
Dec 22, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This movie sheds light on the events that took place in the cold war. Things we would refuse to admit. The moment when children are left behind and people only care about themselves. This one will make you cry for hours on end. It is the beautiful story of dedication of a brother to his young sister, even after everyone turned their back on them in their time of need.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ip Man
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 22, 2011
Dec 22, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This one is a true masterpiece. The sheer love the main character harbors for his country is just beautiful! The patriotism and the amazing martial art will keep you attached to your computer screen. I watched this movie more than once with the next one and will continue to do so. The story never gets old. I LOVED IT. I can't even put it into words. Let me just say that if read more you missed this one, then you have missed out on one of the BEST Asian movies ever.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Almost Love
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 22, 2011
Dec 22, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Honestly, this is one of those movies you watch but it doesn't really leave a lasting effect on you. The storyline is beautiful, yet it is predictable and overused in many movies. It still tries to provide a fresh aspect. The movie isn't impressive really, but I found it entertaining. Near the end some events will seem to come out of the blue, like an afterthought the screen writers added for extra read more emotional turmoil. It still shows that love can overcome. Really touching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 Litre of Tears
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 22, 2011
Dec 22, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
1 liter of tears is an understatement to the amount I lost during this drama. The storyline will leave you in depression for a long while. Family values are engraved into your mind after watching this, even performing the simplest tasks will make you grateful for your health. The acting was beautiful. I don't have the heart to watch this again but it is worth watching once.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dec 22, 2011
Dec 22, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It cheered me up with its HILARIOUS scenes. I absolutely loved the acting from the main characters. I will definitely watch it again just to have some good laughs. The storyline was very good. It made me laugh right from the start! It was the first movie in which I saw Kang Ji Hwan act, now he is on my favorite list. That says something XD
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Battle Royale
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 22, 2011
Dec 22, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
The only reason I watched Battle Royale was because I read the book The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and after a bit of research I found it was very similar to the Battle Royale novel. The movie was very rushed into plain gore. It is the typical count down movie where characters go down one after the other, but in this one they go down in groups. It is an old read more one though so I will give credit to the bluntness and the originality of the storyline. It does bring controversy. I do wish for a remake though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions