Sort by:
Little Black Dress
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 8, 2011
Jun 8, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I liked this movie. It had a good story to it. The issues that were brought up were exactly what most ppl in their twenties go through. The friendship that endured throughout the film made it easier for the lead characters to deal with life. It just shows that having a friend to talk to can make a big difference when we deal with problems in everyday life. The story may not read more be what most ppl like to watch b/c it is simple but profound. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Jun 8, 2011
Jun 8, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I was working when I watched this movie which may explain my lower ratings for this movie. The storyline was unique and very interesting. The only problem was that at some points in the movie I was scratching my head and wondering why the character did what they did, but my guess is that i must've missed something. The Cast was terrific and the characters were believable. The music was okay. It read more didn't really stand out much. I'm not much of a rewatcher, but this movie would be a decent rewatch simply because it has no real surprises. You know what's going to end up happening from the very beginning. Overall, it's an okay movie, but one you'll watch and end up forgetting for the most part.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rough Cut
24 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 7, 2011
Jun 7, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Punch! This movie is like a punch. Weird description, I know.

There were a lot of clever, artsy, indy details built into this movie that I got a real kick out of:

1) They played up the fact that this is a movie with a movie in a very obvious and clever way.

2) So Ji Sub's name is Kang Pae (gangster) and Kang Ji Hwan's name is Su Ta (star).

3) read more The scripts for the "movie" in the shooting scenes were the actual script for the movie.

4) And the ending...

I loved the intensity of both Ji Sub and Ji Hwan, their acting and characters. I loved that Ji Sub always wore black and Ji Hwan wore white. I loved the spoiled angry child in Su Ta and the way he got in over his head so deeply. Kang Ji Hwan always impresses me..Always.

I loved So Ji Sub's anger...his pure rage. His character's desperation and desperate grab for something more in his life, something he wanted, to make a change. The frustration of his inability to understand what to do with it once he'd grabbed on. And how his past, his personality and his lot in life were like a greased palm that made it impossible for him to keep hold. And then the terrible acceptance...He doesn't have to say much. That is the beauty of his acting. (sorry fangirl)

Watch it for the punch...beginning, middle and end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Lovely Complex
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 7, 2011
Jun 7, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Lovely Complex was an extraordinary drama, and I have fallen in love with it. At first, I was skeptical because I thought the story-line seemed ridiculous, and that the movie would wind up being boring, but it was the exact opposite; I've fallen in love with the "ridiculous" story-line. You really got to feel the characters in this movie, and there were times where I felt like crying and laughing alongside the read more characters. Whenever it would begin to get depressing, they would add a spark of comical relief, though, they were careful enough as to not spoil the mood.

The only thing I have a problem with is the actress that plays as Risa. I think she's a beautiful actress, but throughout the entire movie, she had annoying body movements. I think it may be because she's trying to actually imitate the anime character (though it's being done poorly, because even anime characters don't shake around like she is) and at times it would really begin to tick me off. It was like she had a twitch or she was just a total spazz. Her acting was great, it's just I think she tried a little too hard. The actor that plays as Otani was WAY cute. He fit the role perfectly, and despite Risa's actress being *kind of* annoying, they still looked adorable together.

Overall, I loved this film and I definitely would re-watch it again, in fact, I have... 3 times already!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I loved this movie! Although I liked the drama I think this movie tops all the Nodame interpretations. It was a bit more serious and angsty. I was frustrated when Chiaki & Nodame had to be a part. I do liked though that she stood up to him and he had to see what he was missing in order to appreciate her. The ending was simple. I need another sequel to tie up lose ends!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Finding Mr. Destiny
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 5, 2011
Jun 5, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
After watching this movie, I now believe that fate really does exist. No matter how many years it will take, if you are really fated to meet someone or either meet them again, it will happen.



This movie is really good. It definitely is a must watch. It's funny, cute, and romantic. I love Gong Yo and it's been awhile since I've seen him in a film and this is good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Antique Bakery
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 5, 2011
Jun 5, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I tend to most enjoy movies or shows that have food as some aspect in them, so I expected a great deal from this movie right off the bat. I wasn't sure how I would enjoy seeing Joo Ji Hoon in something other than Goong, since that was the first and only thing I'd seen him in until watching Antique Bakery. However, upon watching this movie I found that I enjoy his read more character in this more than in Goong.



Overall, the movie was spectacular. From the music to the pretty faces, right down to the acting and mouthwatering desserts. The interactions between the four men were adorable at times, and I laughed myself out of my seat at others. I've always been a fan of Kim Jae Wook, so to see him here was a real treat.



Wonderful movie, and one I will definitely be watching again when I have the time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
How do you start the movie? I don't see a PLAY button. I clicked on "Contact Us" button, but nothing happens. This is my first time on "My Drama List" and having a hard time viewing a movie not knowing where the PLAY button is. Sorry for using the review box to submit for help but Contact Us link is not working. Thanks.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti Do
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 4, 2011
Jun 4, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Ok, so I watched this and thought it was like a drama cut up and pasted to make a movie. Which was disappointing to me. But, having said that I really loved the story and the acting was great. I wish the movie flowed a little better or that is was just made into a drama. I will watch it again b/c I loved the actors and the music was amazing. The read more guilt trip that is placed on the lead actress is hard for me to deal w/ b/c I am not the type of person that puts up w/ crap like that. I understand staying w/ some1 b/c u love them not b/c u feel guilty. I also understand depression and how it affects others so this story has an interesting twist for me in that area. I sometimes wounder about the differences in culture when I watch these movies or dramas. This one shows a huge difference in how we think. I love to see the view point of others. It opens up a whole new world for me. I hope others enjoy this movie as much as I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
S Diary
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 4, 2011
Jun 4, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Truthfully this movie was as great as I thought it would be. It really hearts me to say this because Kim Sun Ah is one of the best actors out there. The story starts of okay then goes all over the place. Sure it has a good idea in its story line but it doesn't really get this idea across. Halfway through the movie I really just wanted to turn it off. read more Overall it was an okay movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Come Rain Come Shine
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 4, 2011
Jun 4, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Rita's view hits the nail on the head but I wanted to add some thougts.

The lighting, the constant rain and even the angles of the house all lent themselves to the mood of the film. Which I thought was a clever technique. The acting in the film was very good. Hyun Bin may be gorgeous but time and time again he has proven he's got serious skills. I don't watch him read more because he's cute anymore. I watch him because I know I am going to be watching a really great actor.

Having said that: This film is shot in a really quiet way. In one shot in particular you just see the woman sitting on a chair, smoking a cig for a good minute or so. There were times when I thought the director was building upon the silence. Using the rain and the dark and the two character's obvious silences toward an end of some kind.

With the woman I felt frustration and guilt. From him I could feel sadness and quiet hopeless acceptance. Sometimes it felt that they were using their silence to punish eachother. I was waiting for some kind of breakthrough. For some of this emotion to surface. This was not to be... I felt like this movie ended in the middle of a sentance and now we don't know what anyone involved was even trying to say.

It's like going to an abstact art exhibit at looking at a painting of a single huge black dot on a white canvas and thinking..."Why?" and "I hope the artist didn't get paid for this" and "Yeah, I did one just like that in kindergarten." Sometimes when you try to be to artsy, clever and minimalist...you fail big time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kimi ni shika kikoenai
17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 3, 2011
Jun 3, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is an major romance flick. I'm not a big romance fan, but this film was so good. I'm not sure how to review it without giving anything away, but the story and acting are perfect.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Millionaire's First Love
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 1, 2011
Jun 1, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I give this movie an overall 4, but not because it I thought it was generally really bad - I thought some aspects were excellent, while others were pretty much terrible, which is why I figured a more detailed explanation was in order. Other people will opine on the actual plot, so I'll mention some things that were more important to my experience of the movie:





The read more visuals are great, both in terms of a pretty cast and gorgeous cinematography. This is probably my favorite part of the whole movie - visually, I absolutely adored the feel of it. Also, I don't know how qualified I am to say this, seeing as I generally won't call acting bad unless the actors look like grade school students putting on their first play, but I thought the acting was pretty good. The fellow students in the rural school were rather endearing, as was Lee Yeon Hee. However-



The movie does not flow at all. The editing is frequently jarring - especially when poignant scenes are cut before their full emotional impact could be felt. Character development - in fact, development of any sort - is really jumpy. I still have no idea when the main guy suddenly fell in love with the girl, or when there were any developments in their relationship, because all the viewer sees is that in one scene they feel one way about each other and in the next they feel completely differently. Major aspects of the story, like the lost mother storyline or the boy's grandfather's story, are left awkwardly underdeveloped. I also feel that the supporting cast and their stories are severely underutilized/developed.





The result of all this is that it frequently feels like the actual movie is happening between the scenes we get to see. The sense of "Wait, when did that happen?" or just "Wait, what?" steals some of the poignancy from the scenes that individually are really well done. What we do see could have been part of a really great movie, but that movie was never made. Perhaps if it had been a drama instead and had more time to develop things - or if everything had just been better developed in this shorter time frame - it could have been much better. As it is, though, it's pretty disappointing.





That being said, I do have a soft spot in my heart for this movie, mostly thanks to its vibe and its potential [and those endearing characters], which is why I couldn't rate it poorly without an explanation. Also, while I totally wouldn't mind rewatching certain scenes, I would never watch that whole movie again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Laundry
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 1, 2011
Jun 1, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Some movies captivate me because of the thrill to know, the excitment of actions and scenes, the schooting opulence. Others are more like an old album of photographs, little moments stored away in order to look at them in the future and smile. Laudry falls in the second category, for me.

The pace of the movie and the general feel of it are clear from the very first minutes. Ordinary and yet read more unique people coming and going, a young lead who does nothing more than observe the world from a very static point of view, never moving too far. His world is made of little things, of routinary chores and familiar faces and places.
When his environement is somehow overturned he takes the new challenge with the calmness and ingenuity of a child.
It's endearing, adorable to watch, heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time.

I watched this movie because Yosuke Kubozuka plays the main role in it. I'm enchanted by this actor, his versatility and ability to make the viewer empathize with his characters, no matter what they do or who they are.
His acting here is so believable it impressed me once more. He managed to create a character who is at the same time sad and sunny.
As I said, the movie is a collection of moments. There is a crying one which felt so much like a punch in my guts I will never forget it.

The music fits the bill. It's not unforgettable, but simple as the movie itself.

If you want to fall in love with a character who is neither hot, nor heroic, nor cool or romantic in the traditional sense of the word, watch this movie.
The re-watch value is high because I will definetely go back to it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Come Rain Come Shine
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 31, 2011
May 31, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Stay away from this movie if you look for something happening, for romance or for passion. Nothing happens, at least nothing in the eye of the viewer, while everything takes place in the world of the characters.



I knew that Come Rain, Come Shine was an essay movie and I watched it knowing it. I was reminded of some French nouvelle vague film, full of silences and broken read more dialogues.

It's a slow, sedate film, where emotions are expressed via immobility, instead of events. I read the film didn't get a good reception at the Berlin Film Festival, but then again, I've learnt never to base my judgment on European film festivals, unless I want to end up watching a movie by some unknown Uzbek director with 20 minutes shoot of a solitary ant walking on a roof.

I'm not joking, the movie really exists.



The acting is awesome. I could say that Hyun Bin is his usual gorgeous self, but in this case it would be a very shallow statement, mostly because for a good portion of the movie the only thing one gets to see of him is his silhouette in half darkness. But he's got the chance to use one of his best traits in terms of acting: showing feelings with the mere twitching of the lips, the raising of an eyebrow or a tilt of his head.

Im Su Jung is just as expressive, her mood highlighted by an excessive thinness and pallor which make her look like a fragile doll. Her character is the "guilty" party, and yet one can't help feeling for her frustration in front of her husband's wall of infuriating politeness.



I would have given the music a 0 if the option were available, for the simple reason that... there is NO music. One may object that the absence of sound is more deafening than anything else, which is certainly true about this movie, but doesn't make rating the music any more possible.



Given the premises, I think you will understand why the re-watch value is pretty low. Personally, I was oddly captivated by this movie, possibly because it came after an interesting debate on this same site about marriage and its expiry-date. But I'm not sure I'm ready to recommend this film to anyone, unless you're a Hyun Bin's fan like me and while watching fantazise about having him frolicking in YOUR kitchen, instead of the stage one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No