Sort by:
One Smile is Very Alluring
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 30, 2016
Dec 30, 2016
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
*I have to say that I DID watch the drama before I watched the movie version SO my review might be a bit biased, but I will try to write this review to mainly be based on this movie only.*

To start off, this movie was jammed pack with information and for the time that was available, they overall did a good job at fitting as much as they can from the read more book to this movie. But since it was a movie, they lost a lot of smoother transitions that would have made this a better production.

Plot/Setting: -8- For "A Smile is beautiful," I love this movie's storyline! The way the characters interacted online and offline was so cute and I have never seen any movie with that concept before! The downside was that since it was a movie, I got confused at some parts and the jumps between scenes were just too fast for me. Even so, they did a good job at capturing the main parts of the story and they made the scenes work together within 1.5 hours.

Acting/Cast: -8- Angela Baby did a decent job playing Bei Wei Wei in this movie. From what I was expecting though, Bei Wei Wei's character could have been a bit more "introverted" but of course, a bit different doesn't always mean it's a bad thing :) Now Jing Boran, I have to say, does not have the looks like Yang Yang (Actor playing Xiao Nai in the drama version) but I love how his character was a tad bit more open in this version.

Music: -9- The music fitted in nicely with the scenes of the movie so no complaints from me!

Rewatch value: -5- Even though the movie had its pros, this is mainly a one time movie for me.

Overall: -7.5- Due to the jumpy transitions between the scenes, I will have to rate this movie an overall 7.5/10. But of course, for the limited time provided for them, they had great uses of ideas and it all fit together very well.

I would recommend this for anyone who wants to watch a gaming type movie with cute interactions between the two main leads.

Thanks for Reading!
|Ciao For Now! ~Lily L|
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Spirits' Homecoming
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 30, 2016
Dec 30, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Sad but powerful story. Would definitely watch again. Hope this atrocity is never repeated.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bandage
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 30, 2016
Dec 30, 2016
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
For the longest time I avoided this movie because Jin just rubs me the wrong way (and it has nothing to do with kattun) but I eventually gave in for Shunji Iwai who produced and wrote it. I actually liked it more than I thought I would considering I saw a lot of negative opinions about the characters (especially the girl) and the ending. Like someone else said this movie is like read more a more mature version of Beck. The characters are not fully likeable but they feel more real and the story feels more authentic. They get moody, selfish, jealous, insecure, undeceive, immature, and abuse alcohol.

The volatile, kind of onesided, relationship between Natsu and Asako is portrayed quite well even if they were frustrating. It is not some fluffy story of 'tru luv'. At that point in their life they were pretty incompatible and Asako explained it well during their conversation towards the end.
The band members aren't some bffs with a dream, they get into conflicts - some petty, some serious. The focus isn't just on the band members as musicians and their inner drama but on the business side of the music industry in the early 90s and its pitfalls. Is fame worth the price of artistic integrity?

The acting is strong even with Jin there. At first I was like 'why was he even cast, he can't sing or act' but looking at Natsu's character I understood why Jin worked. Even if this is the only type of role he knows how to act, it was a fit here. Perhaps he was playing himself and that's why it worked JK :)

I liked the music very much here. I would have liked it more if Jin was a better singer but the songs were catchy, I even downloaded them (I liked the song by Happies the most). Lands is one of two fictional bands to ever top the music charts in Japan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Man and A Woman
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 30, 2016
Dec 30, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Story-
story from everyday life which is often forced to keep as secret.
but the movie..you have to watch it as a classic with understanding of the emotions not the scenes..
i decided to watch this just for gong yoo and but ended up realizing common problem in human souls which is buried under the responsibilities of families..

Acting-
simply it was brilliant..cuz both of them were able to portray the real read more pain you face in such situations..if i just appreciate gong you that would be unfair..

Music-
it was ok..not much noticeable but blended with the situations..but they were not able to make my heart ache..that job was also done by the cast..

Re watch Value-
i dont re-watch anything..

Overall-
Classic..but only for the people who has open and understandable mind..i have to admit that its not for the people who are looking for fairy tales..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
honestly this is the best movie i ever saw!!!!!!! i recommend it to everyone!!!!! the song in this movie is so good and beautiful, they made me cry especially " dream" by wang bowen.... his voice/ acting skills are amazinggggg
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ballad
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 29, 2016
Dec 29, 2016
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
If you wanna watch something slightly different and not too impegnative this movie is for you!
I love times-slipping movies and this one let me taste what was like during the sengoku period in Japan, a period known for the costant military conflicts. Of course It doesn't shows much violence, after all the protagonist is just a kid. The romance between the princess and the general is more like a side story, read more true love is just one of the many themes displayed... Friendship, loyalty and so on. It's one of those movie that leave you with a warm feeling and a clear message.
If I was able to make you just a little curious, enjoy! =)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dec 29, 2016
Dec 29, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I am really amaze on how the creativity of the story made. I like the overall motive of this movie. The offender admit that he is wrong in the last scene which is good part that he learn to admit of his mistake because of love. Love make us crazy sometimes. But I believe the loves depend on how we define it and how we respond to situation. Doing stuffs like rape, read more or any unlikely inhumane acts is not an act of love but it's a "lust" that cause of some factor of irresponsible kind of love. I believe this movie is really happening in our real life. It's hypocrite to say that we can't do crazy thing because of love. As they commonly say "too much love can kill you". People has its own definition of love depends on how they interpret it base on their experiences and learning. The movie tell us many possibilities of a situation that cause of either true and selfish love. At the end of the line, we realize that love takes time to realize it's truly love. At the beginning, we feel uncertain if it's love or lust. As the time goes by, we can have our own answer of love in the right time. I believe the movie is great and awesome. A movie that Something we can be aware of. I believe its a movie that can make you cry due to several moral lessons of what love might bring you in the end. Enjoy watching this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Creepy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 29, 2016
Dec 29, 2016
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This movie has so much potential. The plot seems to be interesting and yes, they did stick to it but I think that there has to be another way that they could make the movie more appealing. I did enjoy watching it though because of the curiosity but really, this movie seems off. But the title itself was a great choice since it is really creepy and not that horror type of read more creepy but it was insane!

For the story, i'm going to give it an 8.5. I like the plot but the way they extend it was not great! I'm super resentful about it.

The actors did a great job executing their characters well especially Nishino-san (Kagawa Teruyuki). He makes his sinister character seems natural. They did really great and I couldnt ask for other actors to play their roles.

Music? There's nothing special about in fact, I havent even heard a music I think haha. It's all like a daily life basis which they wouldnt stress out the music.

And nope! I dont think I would watch it again. I wouldnt even dare to see Kagawa's character ever again. Such a psychopath.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dec 28, 2016
Dec 28, 2016
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.5
  • Music 3.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
One of the worst movies out there. If this was based on a manga (which I didn't read---normally I would have read a manga before the film) it's atrocious. The acting is lackluster to say the least----everyone in the main cast is super attractive but they need growth to be interesting.

The premise of the story is these kids get together because they're rejected by all other social groups in their school. read more The main character is because he's half-Japanese/Half-White---so he has "blonde" hair. The others are rejected for some other factor, one has big tits, another likes science and is horny. I don't know. Just a poorly executed storyline without any dimensional characterization.

As I said the acting is not helpful. I think for men this could be a great film or even women if you're into the superficial and extreme T&A (Tits & Ass). I mean all of those teases are all over the place and extreme. I was actually impressed by the boys self-control, which made me think he might be gay. That could be an over the top statement, but that's not even a nice guy attitude.

Anyway, not impressive.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 28, 2016
Dec 28, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
My impression of "My Annoying Brother" is that its a great family type of movie, at least in my opinion...
I expected a sad story about how Du Yeong(D.O Kyungsoo)becomes blind and deals with his brother Ko Doo Shik(Jo Jung Suk)who goes out of prison(i remind you,a SAD story). Well...it was actually really different from what i imagined. First the swearing is a lot, i dont know if Korea sees this as read more a family movie, considering they blur out knives and guns...And i like how they delivered the story! Comedy, swearing, family drama i'm glad the movie is not another sad movie hit, which i expected from the person who made it. The reason im giving the story 9.5 is because i feel something was missing, just a little.
The acting was great. The bromance made me scream, cry and laugh. It was funny to see the swearing which is really really a lot more than in any drama you have ever seen. Jo Jung Suk is one of my favorite actors because of this movie(in my top 3). His acting is out of this world, i did not doubt his acting for a second. Next lead D.O Kyungsoo: I was worried about D.O because, since "I Remember You" i havent seen him in a lot of dramas or movies. Gladly there was nothing to worry about,he is just as good as always. Lets hope we can see him in more dramas and movies.
Next: Park Shin Hye(Lee Soo Hyeon) was a big suprise for me when i found out about the cast. Her acting was great i'm so glad she was in this movie i cant imagine another female in this role (that's not an A list actress) to grab my attention. Otherwise the role would be very simple, bland and waste of screen time. She delivered the role of caring for Du Yeong so well, that felt it! I dont know why i expected romance between her and the brothers,maybe that's what was missing for me in the story. I shiped her and Du Yeong so hard, but i have a feeling, that if it was a romance movie she would go to Ko Doo Shik and Du Yeong would be the sad second lead who is blind.... so maybe its not good to have romance in this movie after all but just cute, lovely-dovey bromance. The acting is a 10, best cast ever!
Now to the topic about the music in the drama. Its the only thing that didn't stick out enough to
impress me. I dont get it they had D.O Kyungsoo of EXO and Jo Jong Suk(they sang one song) who can both sing couldnt they make them sing the songs or at least give the signers better songs! They werent bad dont get me wrong but they were not on the same level as the story,acting and visual of the cast and scenery. That's why im giving it 7.5.
As a rewatch value i would soo watch it again. Yes, yes and yes. I only wish i could watch it with my family but they don't even understand english. Thankfully i can watch it with my sister because its a great family movie that plays with your emotions. Even if there are a little shirtless scenes XD. 9.5
Overall its a great movie it had comedy it wasn't all sad like i expected it to be. The relationship between the brothers really made my legs jelly. I really liked it! Even if i gave the music 7.5 im still giving it a 10 for overall impression because the other movies that could hold my attention that long without me spacing off are only Train to Busan, Miracle in Cell No. 7 and Werewolf Boy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Best Friend's Wedding
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 28, 2016
Dec 28, 2016
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie was mediocre. There were no twists and turns. The flashback scenes did add to the story and make it more relate-able. This movie is something everyone has seen before, and there is nothing the creators do to make it stick out.

The acting was okay. The lead did a good job, but it was nothing spectacular. The music did not stick out either. The one thing that did make this read more movie memorable was the White guy Nick, who was actually a lead. His Chinese was perfect and his character was rather charming.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hope
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 27, 2016
Dec 27, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I have known many friends that have been sexually assaulted so this movie hit home,
This isn't a typical movie on sexually assault . Heart wrenching and painful to watch.

I rate this movie a 10/10 but I couldn't give a higher rating for the rewatch value, it would be just too hard to endure it again
Please bring a full box of tissues if you plan on watching, and here I read more thought Miracle in Cell # 7 was heavy
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hot Road
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 27, 2016
Dec 27, 2016
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This movie is intense. Like, seriously, INTENSE. If you don't like any of the following, turn back now:
- motorcycles and the people (hot boys) that ride them
- gang activity
- potential emotional scarring for life (both the characters and the viewer)
- traumatic and turbulent relationships
- crying (again, both the characters and the viewer...mostly the viewer)

Basically I remember coming across this movie by accident a while ago and read more I thought it looked interesting (I'm a sucker for just about any type of romantic story...tragic or not), so I sat down to watch it, not realizing the emotional rollercoaster ride that I was in for. Don't get me wrong, this movie is fantastic in many ways: the acting, the writing, the cinematography...oh, god, the cinematography. I just didn't fully understand how INTENSE this movie is. If you are not prepared to feel like your heart has been fed through a wood chipper, don't watch this movie. But if you have a warehouse full of boxes of tissues, a stern constitution, and a truckload of emotional superglue to put yourself back together with at the end, by all means, enjoy.

(Nah, for reals, this movie is great and I highly recommend it. But, uh, if you do watch it and you decide to never watch it again...I get you. This isn't a movie that's easy to rewatch, hence the low score for rewatch value. Then again, if you like it enough to rewatch it, great. Just don't invite me over to your house for movie night, OK? OK.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sonatine
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 26, 2016
Dec 26, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Great film, everything almost perfect

Beat Takeshi has done many yakuza films but this one was the best and so original, although, he always plays a dark character and is very serious but always laughs a little in every film he is in, that's what make his films good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Don't Forget Me
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 26, 2016
Dec 26, 2016
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
I decided to watch this movie because it was psychological and i really liked movies with that genre.

With the movie, the story was good and the actors were good but then how the movie goes is just too quiet. Too quiet in the sense that in the middle of watching the movie i became bored but still i finished it though. The twist is a good idea but the execution is read more poor. Poor because when it was the climax i was just like "ahh..that's why" not like how i would usually expected to wherein it would leave you with tears, goosebumps or just the feeling of contentment of knowing the exact reason of the events in the movie.

If i will be asked if would want to watch again, i would say "no" not only because i really don't like watching the same movie twice or more but also because i can't find the reason to watch it again.

It was not a waste of time but not a great use of time either...

NOTE: mainly my own opinion, i just wanted to help so i hope you would respect my views about the movie...THANK YOU :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions