Sort by:
Flying Colors
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
A movie that the title (and description for that matter) doesn't do it justice. Truthfully, they both make it sound like a comedy that would quickly get boring. But, it is actually quite an enjoyable film, with the leading lady rocking it with her performance. The movie had a light feeling, but explored the family dynamics very effectively, giving it a little depth. The fact that the film makers didn't focus, or read more added, a romantic element into it, to overshadow the whole main story, helped a lot to turn the film into a more unique movie than the rest manga like movies. However, the romance "danger" was there, with an other outcast dropped there, dangerously approaching the girl. But the film just kept focused on the main plot, having the girl outsmart herself and aim for the miracle. So, 8 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 3.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie was exactly like the relationship between the girl and the boy: it's obnoxious, a little idiotic, kind of nerve wracking, but in the end, like the guy said, it's really difficult to get over it. The story is a been far stretched, as the girl, who is in the less clever class of her school, has to move in with the top student of the school, after her house collapsed read more like a house of cards. The twist here is that the girl was in love with the boy for years, but, after confessing to him, she was rejected very rudely. The girl simply annoys the guy and there is no indication that he even likes her. But, the ending just takes the most clever twist ever to let you anticipate for the second film. So, 4 out of 10, because the film makers could have tried to presented the facts better than just leave them look like a cheep comedy rather than a manga movie. Plus, the chemistry between the two were lacking, even though their performances were really good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Little Forest: Summer & Autumn
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I've got mixed feelings about this one. Although it was beautiful, for a story as a whole it wasn't much. The plot dragged through the two films in snail pace, with the story being revealed too slowly. There is some depth in it, with the girl finally revealing us that her mother left her five years ago. And there is more to it, if the film had made a better presentation of read more the girl's relationship with her mother. Also, it would have been good if the movie focused a little on the reasons why she left the city to come back to her farm house, or why she left the farm house in the first place. But maybe the second film gives a clearer view on the matter. Other than that, the film focuses on the connection between nature, agriculture and cooking. The sceneries are beautiful, as well as the cinematography regarding the cooking process. I guess you can say that the performance of the leading lady was good, though she didn't have much to work with. So, 5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Little Forest: Winter & Spring
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
The second movie follows the same example as the first one, recipes, nature and a few story lines here and there. Of course, the scenery was beautiful in here as well, with the green forest and the white snowy landscapes creating an idyllic atmosphere, making the movie look like a moving painting. In this movie, the recipes had more meaning behind them, as they were originated not from the girl's past with read more her mother but rather had been triggered by a story from the past that had shaped her character now. The plot thickens with the girl interacting more with friends, co workers and potential lovers. The mother daughter relationship is here as well, but it never gets deeper than a few hints here and there for the mother's character. Finally, the ending was a bit rushed, with the conclusion seeming like it was out of the blue. So, 5 out of 5.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Beauty Inside
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Interesting movie about an even more interesting and entertaining theme. Though, I couldn't help it but await for the guy's condition to eventually (miraculously) change. But, as the hero says (short of), love can change things but can make things difficult as well. The girl was amazing in her performance, as she displayed perfect chemistry with each actor that played her partner. Plus, some of the actors were really good (exapmle, the read more girl who performed the scene where the mother confesses her secret to her son). Still, however, it felt like it needed something more, maybe some twist or something more powerful. But all in all, a nice love story, so 7 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yesterday Once More
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
The only reason this movie gets 8 out of 10 from me is that, in the end, you just need more. The story had a feel of a Japanese manga high school movie with a touch of those back to the old good days movies. Unlike other young love Chinese movies I have watched that were like bad teen TV movies, this one was really good. The story is touching and it read more focuses less on developing a cliché love story and more on having the audience get to know the characters. Truelly, the only thing that this film got wrong was the ending. Even though everyone's' story was concluded, the main one was left open wide, and you just need a good conclusion on the love story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yell for the Blue Sky
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Refreshing story, but extremely boring. Okay, the plot was okay, with a girl who tries to play trumpet at her school club and a boy who wants to win the championship with the school baseball team. The film focused on their efforts to become the best in their field and to fulfil their dreams. With some ups and downs (which were the few only twists of the movie) they strive and overcome read more their difficulties. However, the movie never reaches that point where you can finally see that they had succeeded. Especially for the girl, we only see some scenes at the very end, when the movie has already finished. Good performances from the actors help a lot to make this movie better. However, the romance was extremely weak. So, 4 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cyrano Agency
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 2.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This one wasn't a bad movie. Though the romance was not as powerful as it could have been, there was a tragic mood in it and eventually, you kind of feel sad for the character, even though you must root for the other guy. The whole idea of the agency and their projects is interesting, reminding me of the inception team that prepared for the big operation before entering the guy's dream. read more Sure, the projects are too few to get a good taste of what is happening, but still, it's interesting to see how they operated. After the first operation, the movie focuses more on two or three characters and leaves the other guys aside, as they only play side roles. Though the flashbacks aren't that confusing, and the performances were good, the big mystery behind the lead character's past relationship wasn't that big of a mystery after all, as it wasn't enough to create a thrill mood for the audience. All in all, not a bad movie, so 6 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
We Were There: Part 1
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
My main problem with this movie was the love story. Though in the description, the whole background drama sounded intriguing, the final result was more like a girl is pushing the situation way too much as the boy clearly had some intimacy issues. I wish there was a better representation of how he felt and his actual character, but the movie focused on the girl and her feelings, as well as the read more minor love triangle. Other than that, the movie was okay. The first half was enjoyable, but the second half was kind of boring. The girl was lovable and the leading lady performed very well. I am not sure about the leading man's performance, maybe it was the script that didn't help him or his character was not easy to be presented. Finally, the ending was a bit to rough, as the way it is leading you to watch the second movie is a bit awkward. So, 4 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You Are My Sunshine
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Worth a watch.

I've been a fan of Gu Man adaptations but what really pushed me to watch this was Yang Mi. Fresh off Eternal Love I've been looking for something to sate my appetite for both Yang Mi and Mark Chao and this didn't disappoint. HXM was also a bonus (as I did find him quite dreamy in Cruel Romance...which is quite strange for a self proclaimed feminist, he was quite read more overpowering in CR tbh but I couldn't resist) This review is purely for the film as I've not actually seen the drama

In terms of the story, this is quite fateful to the source (I'm reliably informed) so I have no complaints there. Kept me glued despite the frequent choppy editing (whoever they hired to edit this need to seriously up their skills as despite beautiful cinematography and framework, the way the scene's were cut and transitioned felt jarring) Despite that little gripe this second-chance -at-love story really resonated and made me ache for both the main characters. I really hope we get more Gu Man adaptations as I'm absolutely in love with her stories.

Acting was great...Yang Mi can really deliver, I love that she's beautiful AND can act, no wonder she's so in demand. I'm looking forward to seeing more from her. You can feel her character's emotions and her chemistry with HXM was spot on. HXM surprised me by his performance, man can emote well. Gone was the sometimes wooden acting from CR. I love him even more now.

Music was beautiful, I loved the main song (the one in the hospital and shower scene) anyone please put me out of my misery as I really want to know the name of this song. If I had to say anything negative, it was that the upload I watched had a weird carnival music playing in the background? It was disconcerting...

I would definitely want to watch this again, not for a while but yes worth a watch now and will be again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goddess Sent to the Door
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Undoubtedly a suspense movie to the height.
The great strength of this film is its history, there was a very well executed work, minimally thinking, not only in the suspense but to keep it to the end without revealing the author and without giving spoilers is difficult in a story, imagine in three that must Be consistent with the context of the principal.
There are three stories that run parallel to each read more other, one for each protagonist, following a fast action rhythm interspersed with moments of long passive action dialogues.
The cast is also very good, I liked a lot of the choices, it was perfect both in acting when combination, there are many elements that combine, a young but adult cast fell like a glove for the countless action scenes and suspense that "Goddess Sent to the Door "provides.
Luxurious cinematography, richly detailed scenes, good camera movement, cherish scenes,
The framing of each scene sequence is perfect.
Soundtrack is good although a little absent at the option of the director who preferred not to abuse musical themes because of the fight scenes which may disrupt the sound design in general.
Blood at the time of cutting with correct amount letting gravity do the rest demonstrates just how effective and professional the special effects are.
Overall, "Goddess Sent to the Door" is a legitimate suspense action movie, proper torture techniques, clean acting, passive and active action very well interspersed make it a pleasurable movie to watch, well worth it, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Decent but has its flaws.
One of the best features involved here is the continuation of the story a rather scary atmosphere at the beginning now a permanent part of the story.
It has a good change of pace. Since it involves the gangsters who get there to their hiding place, this manages to include some pretty nice subjects as well as the elements of continuous comedy which is quite scary to read more see in concept yet the execution is made to laugh a lot like the original did.
The strong point is the plot which seems very varied and unfocused, going around so many different elements that the film does not really have any real focus.
Generally speaking "Buppha Ratree: A Haunting in Japan" is equivalent to "Scary Movie" an American film of the genre comedy of the year 2000 directed by Keenen Ivory Wayans.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Unvanished Vapour
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Persistence or foolishness?
"The Unvanished Vapour" is based on a young man who, although he fails, always does not give up on his dream of being a great cartoonist, even if he pays a high price for it, they go forward where only death can stop him ...
The narrative is the big problem, the movie in its midst becomes annoying, due to the monotony of the main character, without great expectations read more the boy narrates superficially his monotonous life, is not a film that causes great impact, is slow, simple With an expected end within the predictable.
The performance is divided, the protagonist did not show much performance because of the script, since the adjuvants were slightly above expectations, at least I liked it.
Cinematography and camera movements have not matched, there are scenes where the background scenery could be better taken advantage of but the camera movement ends up cutting out beautification parts, it's like taking a picture where only the trunk of the person appears.
I expected more from the soundtrack, reasonable yet not the most appropriate, except exceptions, but in sum it escapes the context, listening to it makes it clear that does not belong to that scene, which does not involve ...
In general, "The Unvanished Vapour" is monotonous, having peaks of ups and downs, comes to a critical point of desistence given to a poorly done script and much monotony of the character, when we watch something we want this something interesting that attracts us , Which holds our attention, was not what "The Unvanished Vapour" did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Don't Let Love Wait
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Although the premise is interesting, it's not a good movie.
The story is well told, well written, the problem is that it has no feelings, a dead story interpreted by a cast without life.
The performance is far below expected, part by choice, was not good choice by the director Tong Xiao-Hui in what refers to the choice of the actors ideas for that role.
The soundtrack in turn is good, I read more liked it, average but good, since the cinematography is also the height, good scenarios well built according to the standard of the acceptable.
Overall reasonable film, do not expect a sentimental commotion, it's cold and a little unnecessary like that "HUBLLE" movie poster that makes no sense at all. If you look for a neutral movie and without sentimental value is a good movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Female Brothers
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
A very beautiful story.
"Sisters Women" are not just another love story, contrary to each other, this one, has dramatic elements more authentic to reality by way of well written writing, as transitions, past and present are very good, do not cause confusion but emotion.
With a young but professionally efficient and active cast they knew how to act consistently and most importantly convincingly.
A photograph and soundtrack are very well-aligned, from read more a choice with a practice with a sound-reconstruction, where well-constructed artificial settings blended with Shanghai's external scene outlets. From classical music, a contemporary pop gave a touch of modernity to this romantic comedy.
Generally speaking "female sisters" is very good, all elements are homogeneous a complement the other and so a good film in technical terms and a good story not that refers to a feeling for the expectorar, a film to be Appreciated. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No