Sort by:
Like For Likes
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 17, 2017
Mar 17, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I just loved it. So. Much.

I came across the trailer by chance on youtube and oh man, thanks to the algorithm who does the recommandations.

This movie has Love Actually vibes and as someone who absolutely loved and watch this movie almost every Christmas, I was curious to see this movie.
And it's awesome.
You'll find that it's predictable. But who cares, it's a feel good movie, with happy endings, and read more the ride is so nice and fluffy that you won't even mind. You'll just sit comfortably in your pyjamas, sip your tea while just enjoying a very nice and happy movie.
At least, it made me happy. It made me feel good. I smiled so much, and laughed, and even cried at the happy endings.
I just loved it (loved so much. I know i repeat myself. But i loved it. Did i say how much i loved it?).

The acting is great. It isn't over-acted (which is a nice change, compared to the dramas). Every actor pulled off their role perfectly.

The ost. Oh man. So in tune with the movie. The ambiance was absolutely gorgeous, from the music to the setting, to the colours, everything.

To be honest, I just finished it and I already want to rewatch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Rise of a Tomboy
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 17, 2017
Mar 17, 2017
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Even though the plot is pretty predictable it was defiantly an interesting story to follow.

Acting wise I think the cast did very well and showed their characters very well. Personal I didn't care to much for how much the female character ran over people to get what she wanted but it did show her personality well. I also didn't like that the male lead had pretty much almost little to almost read more nothing of a personality. It wasn't define and all I got from it was that he was a guy who pretty much got walked on his whole life. He gets hit like....a lot. Another thing I didn't like was how much she abused him physically. Even though through all of that, with how extreme her personality was from his I could see why they work out very well as a couple, because otherwise...... .__.

Music wasn't to special. It wasn't bad but nothing to really write about. Though I will say I did like the song he sang.

I honestly could not re-watch this movie. This couple was new to me and even though I enjoyed it somewhat the first time. I would have to yank my hair out to struggle to watch it a second time.

Overall it was something new that was very much predictable with characters that was almost unbelievable in their personality's. I would say its a good 7.5/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Night Surprise
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 16, 2017
Mar 16, 2017
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
when i first looked at this page, i was surprised (hah get it?) to find that there was no review and was tempted to watch it for that reason.

this movie is very obscure considering it's plot i would've thought there were some love as the recommendations for three dads one mom and one night stud have.

i had yet to have seen a chinese movie but i was pleasantly overwhelmed at read more the slapstick comedy and humor this movie had to offer.

for the plot i gave it a 7.5 rating because it was a somewhat new idea but played very cliche-ingly. a woman gets drunk and gets pregnant from a one-night stand? big deal! the father is someone among her coworkers? hmm i see... i don't want to lie and say that i didn't skip a few boring parts in the movie.
interestingly enough, the plot manages to tie itself together and make for a somewhat enjoyable comedy with a few moments that got me teary (ugh).

acting and cast was.......decent enough. definitely enjoyed the eye candy.

music??????? there was music??????when?? lol (i mean that it was forgettable and didn't really make a big impact on this movie so low rating for music)

lastly, for rewatch value, as boring this movie was i did enjoy it and laughed here and there so i can definitely say theres a small chance ill revisit this movie again. it was a nice break from all the goblin angst im going through atm.

hope my review was of some value!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
So Young
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 16, 2017
Mar 16, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
I have things to do but somehow I ended up watching this movie.
The summary kind of let me thought that it was going to be like a light comedy but it wasn't like that at all. If you're gonna watch it you should be prepared, because it is gonna turn quite drammatic. But, it was worth it, definitely.
At first I didn't like the setting (the uni) and it bothered me read more the fact that we didn't have a time collocation (that place seemed like a place from decades ago!). At the end, it turns out that it should be in the 21th century, so I am a little bit shocked. If we could grade that too, it would be surely low.
After that, the other thing that bothered me was the protagonist's early character. I hated her, really. As a girl I feel like she really was shameful... but nevertheless, this is a movie, she started to be enjoyable, later on, I appreciated.
The story was thought up and written really well, because it wasn't the usual clichè and it was able to trasmit strong feelings to the audience, according to me. There are twists that I never predicted but I was also able to identify with some of the characters, thus I felt really involved in it.
I don't really know how to judge the cast, but I felt like it was right. As for the music, I didn't really minded it, but never found it out of context.
Last but not least, I will not rewatch it. Absolutely. Never. Again. Probably.
Enjoy!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cutter
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 15, 2017
Mar 15, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Really excellent, both as a mystery thriller of high school boys becoming involved in the lurid criminal underworld and in the unfolding of the characters of the protagonists. It's also a classic tale of how an innocent acting for good motives (helping his mother) gets caught up in crime. I also feel the BL theme is absolutely central to this movie. All the events that happened would simply not have developed the read more way they did but for the initial attraction between Se Joon and Yoon Jae. It's brought out when the pair meet at the end when the truth seems clear even if still unspoken. There's also the irony that the "strong" character Se Joon is revealed as vulnerable exactly where his deepest feelings lie - if he'd been strong enough to express his feelings to Yoon Jae I'm sure the triangle between him, Yoon Jae and Eun Yeong would have been shown as unreal and events would not have ended up as they did. I get the feeling Se Joon realised his attraction but could not express it, whereas Yoon Jae was too innocent and suppressed his feelings but may have finally realised the truth too late. Depends how you interpret the ending. I felt sorry for poor Eun Yeong - well played by the lovely Moon Ga Young - who was really caught in the middle between two boys unable to fully express their love for each other. The treatment of her character's part was for me the most objectionable aspect of the movie - if maybe justified by the plot. The ending was also very well thought out and acted, even if - for those of us with a romantic outlook - a real bummer. Re-watch value high because even when you know the story, it's a pleasure to appreciate the finer details of how the characters develop and the plot is acted out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 15, 2017
Mar 15, 2017
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Months ago as I was looking for piano pieces, I found a video "Secret Piano Battle". A group of high school students come together watching two of their classmates competing in piano with some really difficult pieces to excel each other.
That scene is taken from this movie and I finally watched it last night.

First thing is I really wanted to study at a high school like this one where you read more can have piano battles with friends instead of bickering idly. -_-

That being said, I liked all the piano scenes especially the battle scene and the"Secret".
The film is a bit paranormal, there is a good twist which I wasn't expecting to happen so it did surprise me near the final.Other than music, it tells us a few things about friendship,being the "odd" one among the people, not being able to fit in...
The final scene left me a bit up in the air. I can't say I didn't like it but then I can't say I did either.
I just think they may have thought something better for the final scene.
Still, it may worth watching once if you like music.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hope
0 people found this review helpful
by Sumi
Other reviews by this user
Mar 13, 2017
Mar 13, 2017
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is one of the best Korean movies I have ever watched, I cried, laughed and smiled because of it. The story is absolutely heartbreaking, some scenes made me cry like a baby, I couldn't stop thinking about how could a human being could do that to a child but besides that the movie is incredible. The story is not just heartbreaking but it's an inspirational . If you are a read more sensible person this movie is not for you but if you can endure violence scenes than you will endure it just fine. The cast is completely amazing and they fit the characters perfectly well. I couldn't find anything bad about this movie, everything is very well done.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wolf Girl and Black Prince
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 13, 2017
Mar 13, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Really cute movie!
The story is easy to understand and although the characters have maybe a "bad" past, they don't explain too much about it, so it's not to deep.
The characters all in all are typical for a japanese movie: Tsundere boy and a girl who, i guess, wants to fall in love. I liked the interactions between the main characters, maybe ecspecially because it;s Yamazaki Kento :D But the main read more girl's character was kind of annoying till the end.

As i said, the story is easy, but sometimes too normal and in the middle of the movie the story is staying on one point, not going on until it reaches the "highlight" of the movie. I just watched it and i can't remember what actually happened in the middle.

Really annoying for me was the camera... Maybe i am a bit overreacting, but they often didn't show the faces while some characters were conversating and just filmed on a higher position... So you can't really see the actors actually acting in those scenes.

The other lead actors were good for the story and not explained too much, so they just helped on some points were it was useful.

All on all the storyline was nice for a stressful day to relax with some cute actors! I recommend it for lovers of typical japanese movies and tsundere lovers like me ^-^ !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Montage
0 people found this review helpful
by Sumi
Other reviews by this user
Mar 13, 2017
Mar 13, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Just by reading the synopsis you won't feel any desire to watch the movie, but believe me, behind this little piece of the story is an incredible story about the murder of a seven year old girl. This movies has a few twists that can change your whole perspective of the story. Even if the beginning doesn't look like it's worth watching, you will have to continue and you will find yourself read more addicted to the story, you will start to connect the clues and the end will surprise you.
The cast was chosen very well and the story is very good, if you like thriller/mystery movies you will like this one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Saw The Devil
0 people found this review helpful
by Sumi
Other reviews by this user
Mar 13, 2017
Mar 13, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This movie has sex scenes and violent scenes, so if you are a sensible person this movie is not for you but if you are not a sensible person and you like this kind of movie than you will love this one.
What I liked so much about this movie was the fact that Soo-Hyun gave up everything to revenge his fiancé and to make the killer suffer as much as he read more could. While you watch the movie you will notice how Kyung-chul's eyes can make you turn on the lights again once you see how he doesn't feel anything after killing a person. The cast is very well chosen, achou Min Shik did a very good job as a psychopath, like I said before, just by looking at his eyes I wanted to turn off the screen because it's really scary, that only shows how good his act was.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Han Zi Gao - The Male Queen
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 13, 2017
Mar 13, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Excellent story, superb acting, and the most physically attractive cast ever. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Great Wall
2 people found this review helpful
by Ruyi
Other reviews by this user
Mar 13, 2017
Mar 13, 2017
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I watched this in the cinema and it was superb!! The creatures and cinematography looked convincing and the acting...it's too good...just beautiful... especially Damon Matt :) The main highlight of this movie is to tell us to trust...trust people...trust in yourself etc. I know..I'm talking about the movie like I'm writing an assessment or something XD

So, that was just like a introduction. Now, I will move on to how I think read more of the story, acting/cast, music and re watch value (I'm kinda copying what other people are doing for their reviews but.. let's move on XD)

STORY:
Thrilling. I loved it...because I love thrilling movies hehe. In this movie, there was always something happening that thrills us, whether it's a creature gonna attack them, preparing for a battle or even just explaining what the Taotei's are is thrilling!! I will not make this paragraph long so I'll just make this short...if I extend the paragraph, I might add spoilers and I know you don't want that ;)

NOOOO!!!! I just wrote a really good review but somehow got deleted T_T
So, this second half is my second time writing the review...(it took me a lot of time!)

ACTING/CAST:
..........I feel so blank after all that writing is deleted T_T Anyways, Damon Matt's acting is the top of the top. I can't describe it but it's too good lol. At the very start of the movie, he had really messy and long hair that I didn't even realise it was Matt. Until, when he fixed it, I was like, "OMG! It's him...." (I actually don't know who damon matt is but now I know :) He's an actor who played as William Garin in The Great Wall :D) The movie was already better with Matt (and luhan and karry!*fangirls*) but it was even better with JingTian too! I've never seen her before but she's a goddess...Just beautiful..I'm speechless.

MUSIC:
You know, usually, when I make reviews, I talk about how emotional that ost was or how powerful his/her voice has! But this time, no voice...just instruments XD But I liked it. The music really fitted in with what was happening in the movie. Impressive.

REWATCH VALUE:
Have you experienced this before? Whenever, I go to the cinemas, the movie always seems to go very fast! It's like BAM! DONE! LET'S GO HOME! But, I don't want to. I just wanna watch another movie! (for example, Beauty and the Beast) 9.0 I might have rated it too high, since I went to the cinamas to watch it-
actually..... the movie would have gone really quickly if I watched it online too! lol

OVERALL:
Superb. Thrilling. Convincing. Impressive~~ I loved this movie-I mean I love this movie and still love it lol. It really makes your day more interesting! Definitely Recommend it! (espcially for a boring Sunday afternoon) I watched it on a Sunday afternoon but that sunday afternoon wasn't sunny...it was raining...really badly....bu that doesn't mean my day was bad! I love the movie, The Great Wall and I'm actually going to The Great Wall next year.....will I see those creatures (taotei)? XD......hopefully not...

P.S. "Trust (???” Trust in your people, yourself. You can do it. (yep! Motivation Quote! Fighting! )
lololololololol
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Like For Likes
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 12, 2017
Mar 12, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Like For Likes. This South Korean movie really reminded me of Love Actually in the set up and tone. It's basically three interweaving romance plot lines that link together based on the overlapping relationships among the characters. It has Yoo Ah In as Noh Jin Woo, a Hallyu star who just completed his military obligation and is looking for his comeback project, and Lee Mi Yeon as Jo Kyeong Ah, the drama read more writer who put him on the map and with whom he had a one night stand as one couple. The second couple is Kim Ju Hyuk as Jung Sung Chan, a restaurateur who has a wide network of friends and acquaintances, and Choi Ji Woo as Ham Joo Ran, a flight attendant and his landlord, who end up sharing a home as roommates. The third couple is Kang Ha Neul as Lee Soo Ho, an adorably awkward and naive songwriter/composer who is hiding something, and Lee Som as Jang Na Yeon, the forward, bold woman for whom he has fallen. All the cast in this are great, but Kang Ha Neul's story line was particularly well done. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Time Trip App
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 12, 2017
Mar 12, 2017
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Historical knowledge galore! I'm sorry if I get some things wrong in Japanese history... I took European history.

Historical Backgound/Story
Time Trip App does involve quite a bit of history but the most important thing to know is the Katsu Kaishuu saved Edo (Tokyo) from a civil war between the emperor who abdicated his throne in 1867 and the new government. This is the transition between the Tokugawa shogunate (Edo period) and read more the Meiji Restoration called the Bakumatsu. The movie seems to express the indecision of Katsu Kaishuu when faced with making the choice that changed the history of Japan with a certain foolishness for comedy. Ishihara Satomi's teacher character is problematic at first. The plot is quick to expose her flaws as a teacher and corrects her flaws through her experiences in the past. Strangely enough, Shintaro Numata seems to be the only student involved the development of the main storyline as the others are cast aside into their own side plot. There is more amusement at the situations these future characters find themselves in rather than comedy provided by Katsu Kaishuu. Also, I hate to crush everyone's hope and dreams but the ROMANCE IS PRACTICALLY NONEXISTENT! The time travel trope manifest itself in this movie by recycling elements from Back to the Future. The goal is the same: to return things to how they once were and to safely go back to the future.

Acting/Cast
Tamaki Hiroshi and Ishihara Satomi!! Wow, both are great seasoned actors! Tamaki Hiroshi's acting in here does outshine Ishihara Satomi's because he is playing a historical character. Although his acting and looks may reflect the true Katsu Kaishuu, he does keep the historical timeline accurate with his fool-like personality. Ishihara's character may be generally dislikeable; however, do take note that she is playing a character going through self-realization. By the end of the movie her attitude will take a turn for the better. The students were also played by experienced actors and I was not disappointed with their acting. Kawaguchi Haruna is a cut above the rest, going above and beyond with her modern street girl personality.

Music
There are horribly cheesy music to go with effects. The OST is nothing overly done, all songs are ordinary, to the point that it portrays each atmosphere with a sense of familiarity. The ending song, INFINITY?ZERO by nano, seems to be the only actual song in this movie. The song fails to fit in with the rest of the movie since it is heavy metal, but it is a good song and a highly energetic way to end a happy movie.

Rewatch Value
Rewatch this for missed historical references. Or maybe just to see Tamaki Hiroshi and Ishihara Satomi. Props and setting-wise, this movie is a goldmine. Each Bakamatsu or Early Meiji setting building is the stuff of textbooks.

Overall
This is a great movie to watch if you are bored and know some Japanese history. Without historical context this movie seems absurd because all plot is build on real history. This movie does try to appeal to the younger generation with the student and the time travel trope but can also be a family movie enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Fine..Thank You..Love You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 10, 2017
Mar 10, 2017
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Oscar award for worst movie if i could rate it under zero i won't hesitate for a moment
where is the story & the plot
i hated every moment in front of it
it's the most vapid & disgusting comic i have ever seen i didn't even smile
the story can be much better than that million times the idea it self is good but the plot was really rubbish
WARNING : read more don't waste ur time as i did >_
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No