Sort by:
Moon Child
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 18, 2017
Feb 18, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
So I decided to re- watch this movie 9 years later, first time I only watched this due to my obsession with Gackt- Sam and didn't really get the plot or cared much. Now as I am a bit older (much older) I realized the plot was had deeper meaning than two good looking guys being BFF ..Lol

If you watch pass the gang and violence, the plot has deeper meaning to read more it. Its about friendship, loyalty, love and the desired to survive in a cruel and cold world.

Sho and Kei friendship from start was doomed to end up in either one of them dying or something horrible happened to them. But as the story line develops their friendship becomes more of older brother trying to look out for his fearless and sometime baka little brother who sometimes can be so careless but yet very loving and carrying towards his family and friends around him.


The story doesn't really go into dept why the female lead wasn't talking much , so you need to read the plot on wiki after watching it to understand her character. The fact that Gackt-Sama wrote some of the plot made it even more interesting.Watch behind the scene (on YT but so subs) and you will love this film more.

I will definitely re-watch this movie again in few years time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Some, 2014
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 18, 2017
Feb 18, 2017
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This movie, was really short, so It is quite easy to re watch as many times as needed.

But the problem with it, is that it is shrouded in mystery. nothing is properly explained, and i was left guessing when it was over.

The actors were good looking though, well one of them more than the other, but there was charisma. And of course, the fan service was not bad either. So read more I would recommend it. It IS only 8 minutes long.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Witness
0 people found this review helpful
by Anna
Other reviews by this user
Feb 17, 2017
Feb 17, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I know I'm so late to just notice this movie and watching it in February 2017. But I got to say: I LOVE IT!!! It was totally AWESOME! By that I also mean i love the other movie"Blind". The tension, the suspense, the mystery of "The Witness" kept me hooked up and I didn't let my eyes go off the screen. Once again, I LOVE EVERY SCENE and EVERY SUBPLOT of the read more movie!!! Also LOVE THE MUSIC in it! I'll recommend this movie to anyone who loved mystery or detective story, but if you're looking for romance, there won't be in it---just saying=). After all, I love those two main leads-- Yang Mi and Luhan. Anyway, I been watching movies/dramas made with them and been listening to every music made by Luhan. Now I can't wait for that drama with Luhan on the novel "Fighter of the Destiny" and I am currently watching "Three Lives Three Worlds Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms" with Yang Mi in it and i think you should try it too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pandora
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 16, 2017
Feb 16, 2017
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
A disaster-themed movie has quite often produced in Korean Industry these days. But what makes this movie really interesting was, it's purpose to criticize the Korean Government (President Park Scandal, Sewol Tragedy) as well as the concern of many regarding a nuclear power plant in southern areas which is peril of earthquake.

The movies showed a lil bit of government's incapacity to react on national crisis due to politics and nation's image read more issues. And this fatal mistakes led to a bigger crisis and loss from their citizen. The pace was fast. We got straight to the main crisis on the first few minutes, but the writer still capable to maintain the depth of each character. There wasn't any flashback scene (almost), unlike the usual Korean Movie's with fast pace plot, but we still able to understand each character's idealism and initial heart.

Pandora showed a good, undisturbing, graphics. There wasn't any action and all the focus was to solve one big crisis in any way feasible. Surprisingly, with this thick and intense plot, Pandora wasn't boring at all. In fact, we were brought to a roller coaster of emotion, right from the very start. A mass production, with the purpose to remind that a big advantage has the same amount of risk within it. Entertaining, as well as educating (who knows that South Korea has 24 nuclear power plant in 9 southern cities?)

That's it the Pandora.
"Don't close your eyes because of fear. Don't cover your ears because of fears. We have opened the Pandora's Box. Although disaster were inside. Wasn't there also hope?"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Man on High Heels
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 16, 2017
Feb 16, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Watch this for Cha Seung Won's acting. He is 100% absolutely amazing in this role. I was completely invested in his character from the beginning all the way up to the very end. I think that is why the ending disappointed me so much. Cha Seung Won's acting makes you really connect with Jiwook. To not have a clearer resolution to his struggle within himself just...left me wanting more. Left me wanting read more a happy endng because he deserved it. This movie deserved it. I would have given it 10/10. That being said, I still highly recommend watching it. The disappointing end is still worth it to see Cha Seung Won's portrayal of Jiwook.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seven Days: Monday - Thursday
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 16, 2017
Feb 16, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
these kind of movies R normally a lil' slow, well sweet but slow. so just tuRned it on afteR a long tiRed day foR a good nap & guess wht. it happened to be a slow one..(thought i'll be black out haRdly in 15 mints.) ''DEMO'' i ended up finishing not only this one but also it's sequel, back to back in a Row & my haRdly 15 mints. eventually tuRned out read more to be 3 AM in the moRning ...
i think i'm kinda keen on to this genRe & it's one of my favoRites .. loved the leads .. diRections n specially those lil' mind talks
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Entangled
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 15, 2017
Feb 15, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Unfortunately, the summary above is somewhat of a spoiler. Since I had not read it, the events were quite a shock to me. This movie would best be described as a horror show. It is the unraveling of a family. The family dynamics are revealed one at a time until the final climax. It was quite unsettling and a unique watch. The acting is quite good and hauntingly realistic. Do not, however, read more expect a "feel good" movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suddenly Seventeen
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 14, 2017
Feb 14, 2017
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Time traveling is not a new concept in dramaland. In fact many of today's favorite dramas and movies involve time travelling....... to the point that some of us (me!) gets so sick of it.

Only one sentence got me watching this movie... it's "she revisits her past and learns what it takes to love herself again".

Really .... for those people who are depressed, on a slump, on the point of their read more life where they do not know what they are doing or on the point where none of your plans and visions work... take time to watch this movie.

As I said, time travelling is not a new concept, but what makes this movie unique is that only the mind of the main character travels back on time, forcing her seventeen years old self to live the life of her current 28 years old. Looks satisfying isn't it? to live your life when you're done studying, have your own job, and you do not have to worry about all the drama in your teens. But what if the current you isn't living the life you wanted? What if none of your "future" plans made it to your present? What would you do? This movie ventures on how a person can learn to love herself back despite of all the disappointments she made out of herself.

On the romance part...I do not really like what happens to her love life so no... I won't venture that part.

The acting was good especially the lead character. She was on point and it will really show the difference within the two "personas" just with her eyes. The rest of the cast were also good but nothing special of some sort.

I didn't pay that much attention to music with the the fuss going on...so no it does not make that much impact on me.

Overall, it's a must see movie.... especially to those who fits the criteria I mention above. If you don't meet the criteria.... ah who cares? I already said it's a must watch movie. So go... watch it!

I don't know if this count as a review and if it will ever help anyone decide... but oh well..!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yoko The Cherry Blossom
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 14, 2017
Feb 14, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
overall, Takashi-san acting was the main poin to give 8.0 to this movie, he's just so amazing, i mean it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Handmaiden
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 13, 2017
Feb 13, 2017
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was itching to see Park Chan-wook's return to South Korean films after Thirst (2009) and his English-debut, Stoker (2013). Because of that, my expectations for The Handmaiden were definitely high.

Were they met?

Yes and no.

I don't know what I exactly expected to see. Maybe I was looking for something ala-Oldboy (2003), his best work to date and something better than Stoker (I didn't quite like it). But instead, I read more got something different. I just don't know if it's better or worst (than Oldboy but better than Stoker).

I find myself very enthralled with the production the most.

Park proves his mastery when it comes to making feels look beautiful and meaningful, and to me, his handling of build-up and then exploding them all at once is done so gracefully, so smoothly, so satisfying.

The Handmaiden is visually beautiful on all levels. Based (or inspired) by Sarah Waters' The Fingersmith, Park shifts the setting to 1930s colonial Korea. Just like Stoker, The Handmaiden is eerie, full of suspense and has a sexual, erotic tone—which clearly represents his film.

Broken into three parts, Park knows what cards to keep and when to reveal them—leaving room for a grand voila. The Handmaiden, itself, it not complicated nor does the plot try to be mysterious but its Park's touches that makes it sexually mysterious and ultimately full of taunting and teasing.

Colors emit a gothic vibe, the cinematography is superb, the score embraces the atmosphere and the characters are showered with undeniable tension from start to finish.

Ultimately, Park triumphs at showing female sexual satisfaction without the need of men. It's liberating as much as it's satisfying—an exploration, or explosion rather, of the female characters' undiscovered desires.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Master
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 13, 2017
Feb 13, 2017
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Maybe because I have a bias for Kim Woo Bin and Lee Byung Hun or the fact that I saw director Ui-seok Jo, Kang Dong Won and Kim Woo Bin during their premiere here in Hong Kong that I enjoyed this film. Or maybe because I have an undying crush for Kim Woo Bin so I liked this film.

Maybe those are clouded my judgement.

But I admit, Master is not a read more perfect film. It certainly helps if you love the actors you are seeing on screen.

Cold Eyes (2013) director, Ui-seok Jo makes the style of Master, a reminiscent of his 2013 hit. Fast-paced, suspense and action-filled. I did enjoy Master a little bit more though, I felt like it has more substance, however questionable it may be.

Lee Byung Hun plays the bad guy (not a first), the CEO of a big company, One Network who is scamming their customers and is involved in fraud cases among others. Kim Woo Bin plays the section chief of communications/technology, a tech-whiz of some sort and Kang Dong Won plays the head of the investigating team. The three have good chemistry—each a talented actor on their own.

No doubt Lee has an actor. My first time to see Kang (and quiet guy during the premiere as well) and crime/action films are not new to him. Kim, this is probably his best role (for me) to date. Though, better characterization would work—given that we have 3 contrasting characters. But I think Ui suffers from that problem regardless.

Kudos though for showing us two badass female characters, played by Uhm Ji-won and Jin Kyung, though they deserve more screen time. And justice for Jin's character.

Master is messy. It starts strong—intriguing even, leading us on, much like Cold Eyes' exposition. But ultimately, things start to get a little bit out-of-place. There is little backbone or sense in how things escalated. They either seem ridiculous or just not how it's supposed to go.

Ui tries to back it up with comic relief which Kim does well and contrasts with Kang's serious demeanour. Lee does it well too.

Yu Eok does well with the cinematography, contrasting Seoul's tall buildings to the Philippines' tropical and cramped houses. Though as a Filipino, it's still a bit disappointing that Tondo (one of the largest squatter areas and poorest is the one chosen to showcase including the poor environment and such, there is so much more to show than that but okay).

Action-wise, it's more intense than Cold Eyes but the latter has better suspense and build-up though the former tried to throw a plot twist that seems wow at first but ridiculous the next...due to the lack of a backbone.

It's not the "exotic" place that would save Master. It's the cast. It's the reason that, despite all its flaws, that I ultimately still enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Age of Shadows
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 13, 2017
Feb 13, 2017
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Renowned South Korean director, Kim Jee-woon returns after a 3-year hiatus in the country's Best Foreign Film entry, "The Age of Shadows". Like Woon's other films, (I Saw the Devil, A Bittersweet Life), Shadows is an action-packed cat-and-mouse thriller extravagant.

Shadows has an amazing line up: Sang Kang-ho (Memories of Murder, Thirst), Gong Yoo (Train to Busan, A Man and a Woman) and cameo appearance from Lee Byung-hun (A Bittersweet Life, Inside read more Men) whom Kim has worked previously and Um Tae-Goo (Coin Locker Girl, Veteran).

Pulled at the edge of your seat from start to finish, Kim doesn't disappoint tossing action sequences and twists that he carefully crafts and builds in suspense, only to laid them out with the greatest satisfaction, it leaves you hungry for more.

Just like "I Saw the Devil" and "A Bittersweet Life", Kim starts Shadows with little-to-nothing description of what's going out, only to follow it up with an action-filled chase scene, an amputated toe nail and blood splashed across the wall.

Shadows' 30 minutes train sequence is one of the best I've ever seen. This is the juice. It builds the plot as much as it shapes it and moves it, that includes the characters too. Accompanied by a more menacing version of Ravel's Bolero, the adrenaline just doesn't stop. I, for one, had to pause the film just so I could breathe. Kim brings us from compartment to compartment from character to character from discoveries to discoveries.

Cinematographer Kim Ji-Young does a fine job of transporting us to a 1920s setting of South Korea and Shanghai (the accuracy may be question but it looks beautiful nonetheless) with retro-like colors and saturated tones. Kim ravishes in extremism at times, with loud shoot outs, dialogues delivered in sinister whispers, loud slapping sounds, to torture scenes that likens to his other film, "I Saw the Devil".

Kim channels his narrative into powerful loyalty that seems like The Age of Shadows take a patriotic approach but ultimately, this thrill-filled film is entertaining as much as it is greatly crafted.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Magician
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 13, 2017
Feb 13, 2017
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Exploitation and corruption are never far from entertainment.

I probably heard that from somewhere but this was the first thing that came to mind while watching this movie.

Being a fan of historical movies/dramas, I knew I would enjoy this but the plot was quite predictable. Even better, this movie is capable of making you all mushy on the inside and then disgusted with the human race. Almost no in between.

This read more was my first time watching a film featuring the actress, Go Ah Ra. As the princess, I feel that her strong features and personality make her memorable and it worked well with the “Bear” joke going on between the main characters when they first met. in contrast, is Bo Eum( Jo Yoon Hee), the older sister with delicate features, portrayed with constant composure, and knowing of how she established herself- you can’t help but admire her.

Interesting enough, it’s when she is shaken up by the antagonist, Gwi Mol (Kwak Do Won) , does it add weight to the villain. The subtle act of reintroducing him using his signature sharpened nails -loved it. It's brilliant how his revenge against Hwan Hee almost put the country in jeopardy - Gwi Mol is ruthless, merciless, clever as hell, but frankly bringing Hwan Hee back to the theater for the final showdown was a dumb ass move. Yes, I get how fucked up it is to turn his "home" to his grave but at the same time he brought Hwan Hee back to his element, assuring me he would fail.

I’m a sucker for plots that involve two characters who have a positive impact on each other but you can’t help but ignore the reality of their situation and feel all bittersweet about it. However, the twist that caught me off guard was (Lee Kyeong Yoeng) General Ahn’s decision for the princess in the end. I loved this character. He takes on the father role to the princess when all seem to have abandoned her, even sacrificing himself. I appreciated him so much.

Despite it’s predictability, this movie was enjoyable to watch, visually-appealing, and with great acting. I recommended it if you are a fan of the historical genre
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Sassy Girl
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 12, 2017
Feb 12, 2017
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 3.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Frankly, after hearing a lot about it, I expected something very different from what I got.

To me, I did not really care for this story. I did not care if the couple stayed together or never saw each other again. The dude was lame to say the least, and yes he did change for the girl, but, the girl wasn't that great either. So, in essence it's a story about two read more not so great people getting together, for some reason, or because of fate or something.

I only really watched this because of the kdrama that they are making this year that will be based on this plot. I hope both characters are some what better than these characters so I can root for them. These characters just made me want the movie to finish already. But, I guess I should have expected something like this, I have never really cared for most Korean Movies, and a lot had to do with the characters in the movie. I don't know why but, Korea makes great tv shows, but most of the movies I have watched from Korea are really lacking. The ones I have liked so far are IL Mare, Blind, and Miss Granny.

I liked the music and the actors in this movie however. I think they were the only thing good about this movie. The twists in this drama made me question more on how they were possible rather than be surprised at all. Like the tree twist, do trees really grow that fast in a year? This twist left me confused for ages. Anyway, I hope that if you decide to watch this, you do not feel like you wasted your time. I am not sure if I wasted my time or not, but, now I can say I have watched the movie. Not sure whether that is a good thing or not.

I don't know, I am just confused, after watching the movie, I am not sure what else to say. That's it for my review.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Little DJ
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 12, 2017
Feb 12, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Since I am a Kamiki’s fan and since there are no reviews for this beautiful movie, I really wanted to help others to know one of the viewers’ opinion about it.

So briefly, the story is about a 12-year-old boy named Taro, who loves baseball and radio, especially “Music Express”(a song request show).The actions take place in 1977 in a small seaside town, however Taro gets into a SERIOUS illness that leads read more him to be hospitalized for months. Throughout his stay, Taro becomes the DJ at the hospital and he gradually changes the depressing mood there to a graceful one. Taro starts to make friends and finds his love “Tamaki”, a girl who is a year older...No spoilers...just discover the ending yourself...

This movie is a tear-jerker, with so many amounts of feelings. Just imagine a young boy facing his illness and trying to recover from it and make others smile despite everything, a mixture of cute romance and heartwarming bonds with parents.

With great music from the 70's...you will definitely get in the mood of that innocent and pure times.

The cast: I started the movie simply for the brilliant actor, Kamiki and I ended up liking all the cast, they did a great job. Everyone strengthens the movie with his/her existence enough that you cannot help but worry about each character.

I honestly have no negative points to say about the movie, but I am sure that some of you might find it a little bit slow (but it was fine for me!)
If you like tear-jerkers or you are one of those hospital genre fans, “Little Dj “will definitely touch your heart...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No