Signal
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Summary: This is a must watch, every episode was like it was straight from a cinema. This show is hyped and rightfully so, I have yet to see another crime/investigation drama like this one. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time and surprisingly the writers, producers, and actors kept that suspense throughout the whole show.

+/- Plot:
The plot went from thick and thin, and I mean that read more in a good way. They didn't leave you too confused from the get go, but they would subtly unfold different factors so that you could come up with your own theories not only on the investigations but the actual backstory too. I loved how each of the crimes were told in a different way, some cases from the start you knew who the culprit was, but others left you guessing. But it wasn't the investigations that left me satisfied with this drama's storyline and production, but the actual backstory that linked all the characters together. As we slowly started uncovering the corruption I couldn't even handle! I was actually bawling my eyes out from anger at one point and I couldn't even stop it.
I loved how they producers perfectly weaved the present with the past, at no point was ever confused.

+/- Acting/Cast:
All of the actors really did an amazing job at telling their characters' stories. I was deeply moved by all of them. I have to say though that Jo Jin Woong really stole the show. What made me love his character all the more was how dedicated he was as a detective, friend, etc. He was so upright and true to morals, no matter who was persuading him to do the wrong thing, and that's what I admired so much about him. He really was extraordinarily charming.
Lee Je Hoon portrayed his character fairly well too, I really felt the anguish with him during the times we found out the wrongs committed against him and his family. I will say that in the first episode or two I was a little annoyed with him, not sure if it was his uppity character or a little exaggeration on his part, but it took me a couple episodes to warm up to him. But once the fondness developed, I began to really enjoy his acting and portrayal of his character.
Kim Hye Soo's character was a little off putting to me for some reason. I think it was how much they contrasted her throughout the show, I was just a little unsure of her throughout the whole thing. In the present she's a complete badass, but then that's contrasted with her character of the past with the 'flashbacks'. And we see her in a completely different light, timid, innocent, and kind of dumb. I mean, I really liked her present portrayal which is probably why I was a little disappointed in how much her character differed. I guess it's just that I wanted her to be the strong woman character that's so rarely seen in dramas, but in the end I guess everyone has a weakness.

+/- Music:
I loved how they chose to remake some old 80's songs for their soundtrack, I thought it was a really nice addition and touch to the whole show. It exposed me to a lot of songs that I would have never otherwise known about. They also put in the suspense tracks at the right points, got my blood pressure up and left my palms sweating even!

Rewatch Value: I would definitely rewatch this drama, the storyline hands down is amazing and the cast worked really well together. I think it would still have the same suspense factor that it had the first time I watched it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dramaworld
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.5
  • Music 3.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This show had some potential, but fell very, very flat.

The show had an interesting concept, with a kdrama fan falling into her favorite show. The writers didn't take this idea anywhere, though, with absolutely nothing interesting happening at all. I didn't care about the characters or the plot in any capacity. I'm almost afraid to complain about the show because it feels like I'm critiquing a five year old's drawing. This read more show's only redeeming quality was a few jokes which played on kdrama cliches, and the odd cameo. Sadly, this was really all the drama had to offer. The writers wrote the most amateurish script I've ever seen, and the stilted acting didn't make anything better.

I wish it was better.

I definitely do not recommend watching this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Local Hero
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I don't get why this drama has that much of disappointed comments. I thought it was good, of course not the best but good! I think it's even better than lot of applauded drama of these days ^-^
Story: the story is quite classical of some parts -especially the end- are cliché, but it still is nice. You get surprised in every episode by something.
Acting/cast : not exceptional but they still read more played good. Beautiful actors. I had already seen in The K2 the guy who plays here the policeman, but I hadn't really liked the way he acted. This drama made me like him more.
Of course their smile/mimics can get a bit annoying after 16 episodes but it's quite normal in dramas haha
Music... Ah, the music... This is the best point about this drama. A big part of the plot is played in a bar so of course the music choice is large. But for action and everything, there was great music. Sometimes they used the same one again, sometimes it was a new music for only one action. But honestly, this drama was a pleasure to watch especially thanks to the music!
Rewatch value: well, once you know the plot, of course it gets less interesting, but I know I'll probably re watch it in a few month. Even if only for the music or the way it is filmed (because it is greatly well filmed!)
So I really enjoyed this drama. I had been in a little hole, not knowing what to watch next as I though I had already watched everything related to this thema and dropping countless drama. But I really liked this one. I can understand that some people can get bored, especially in the first two episode, but it wasn't my case. It's certainly a bit too much long, but a lot of drama are like that nowadays.
My opinion: go watch it! Don't drop it after only the two first episode. You have to let the plot get installed.
(Sorry for my bad English u_u)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Le Jun Kai
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
First of all wow..This show is awesome..It may not be the right show for all to see but I really liked it.
The story line from start kept you on your toes. If you are into mob shows and know what they are all about this one is for you to see. I will have your emotional scale going up and down.

Peter Ho and Janine Chang are very good actors. The read more chemistry between them is totally awesome.

The music and be found on you tube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cz-Rzyw5_gE
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kill Me, Heal Me
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
From cliffhangers to romance to mind blowing comedy...it has it all. Worth watchin the splended performamce the first time YoNa meets OhRi Oppa!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Handmaiden
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was itching to see Park Chan-wook's return to South Korean films after Thirst (2009) and his English-debut, Stoker (2013). Because of that, my expectations for The Handmaiden were definitely high.

Were they met?

Yes and no.

I don't know what I exactly expected to see. Maybe I was looking for something ala-Oldboy (2003), his best work to date and something better than Stoker (I didn't quite like it). But instead, I read more got something different. I just don't know if it's better or worst (than Oldboy but better than Stoker).

I find myself very enthralled with the production the most.

Park proves his mastery when it comes to making feels look beautiful and meaningful, and to me, his handling of build-up and then exploding them all at once is done so gracefully, so smoothly, so satisfying.

The Handmaiden is visually beautiful on all levels. Based (or inspired) by Sarah Waters' The Fingersmith, Park shifts the setting to 1930s colonial Korea. Just like Stoker, The Handmaiden is eerie, full of suspense and has a sexual, erotic tone—which clearly represents his film.

Broken into three parts, Park knows what cards to keep and when to reveal them—leaving room for a grand voila. The Handmaiden, itself, it not complicated nor does the plot try to be mysterious but its Park's touches that makes it sexually mysterious and ultimately full of taunting and teasing.

Colors emit a gothic vibe, the cinematography is superb, the score embraces the atmosphere and the characters are showered with undeniable tension from start to finish.

Ultimately, Park triumphs at showing female sexual satisfaction without the need of men. It's liberating as much as it's satisfying—an exploration, or explosion rather, of the female characters' undiscovered desires.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Master
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Maybe because I have a bias for Kim Woo Bin and Lee Byung Hun or the fact that I saw director Ui-seok Jo, Kang Dong Won and Kim Woo Bin during their premiere here in Hong Kong that I enjoyed this film. Or maybe because I have an undying crush for Kim Woo Bin so I liked this film.

Maybe those are clouded my judgement.

But I admit, Master is not a read more perfect film. It certainly helps if you love the actors you are seeing on screen.

Cold Eyes (2013) director, Ui-seok Jo makes the style of Master, a reminiscent of his 2013 hit. Fast-paced, suspense and action-filled. I did enjoy Master a little bit more though, I felt like it has more substance, however questionable it may be.

Lee Byung Hun plays the bad guy (not a first), the CEO of a big company, One Network who is scamming their customers and is involved in fraud cases among others. Kim Woo Bin plays the section chief of communications/technology, a tech-whiz of some sort and Kang Dong Won plays the head of the investigating team. The three have good chemistry—each a talented actor on their own.

No doubt Lee has an actor. My first time to see Kang (and quiet guy during the premiere as well) and crime/action films are not new to him. Kim, this is probably his best role (for me) to date. Though, better characterization would work—given that we have 3 contrasting characters. But I think Ui suffers from that problem regardless.

Kudos though for showing us two badass female characters, played by Uhm Ji-won and Jin Kyung, though they deserve more screen time. And justice for Jin's character.

Master is messy. It starts strong—intriguing even, leading us on, much like Cold Eyes' exposition. But ultimately, things start to get a little bit out-of-place. There is little backbone or sense in how things escalated. They either seem ridiculous or just not how it's supposed to go.

Ui tries to back it up with comic relief which Kim does well and contrasts with Kang's serious demeanour. Lee does it well too.

Yu Eok does well with the cinematography, contrasting Seoul's tall buildings to the Philippines' tropical and cramped houses. Though as a Filipino, it's still a bit disappointing that Tondo (one of the largest squatter areas and poorest is the one chosen to showcase including the poor environment and such, there is so much more to show than that but okay).

Action-wise, it's more intense than Cold Eyes but the latter has better suspense and build-up though the former tried to throw a plot twist that seems wow at first but ridiculous the next...due to the lack of a backbone.

It's not the "exotic" place that would save Master. It's the cast. It's the reason that, despite all its flaws, that I ultimately still enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Age of Shadows
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Renowned South Korean director, Kim Jee-woon returns after a 3-year hiatus in the country's Best Foreign Film entry, "The Age of Shadows". Like Woon's other films, (I Saw the Devil, A Bittersweet Life), Shadows is an action-packed cat-and-mouse thriller extravagant.

Shadows has an amazing line up: Sang Kang-ho (Memories of Murder, Thirst), Gong Yoo (Train to Busan, A Man and a Woman) and cameo appearance from Lee Byung-hun (A Bittersweet Life, Inside read more Men) whom Kim has worked previously and Um Tae-Goo (Coin Locker Girl, Veteran).

Pulled at the edge of your seat from start to finish, Kim doesn't disappoint tossing action sequences and twists that he carefully crafts and builds in suspense, only to laid them out with the greatest satisfaction, it leaves you hungry for more.

Just like "I Saw the Devil" and "A Bittersweet Life", Kim starts Shadows with little-to-nothing description of what's going out, only to follow it up with an action-filled chase scene, an amputated toe nail and blood splashed across the wall.

Shadows' 30 minutes train sequence is one of the best I've ever seen. This is the juice. It builds the plot as much as it shapes it and moves it, that includes the characters too. Accompanied by a more menacing version of Ravel's Bolero, the adrenaline just doesn't stop. I, for one, had to pause the film just so I could breathe. Kim brings us from compartment to compartment from character to character from discoveries to discoveries.

Cinematographer Kim Ji-Young does a fine job of transporting us to a 1920s setting of South Korea and Shanghai (the accuracy may be question but it looks beautiful nonetheless) with retro-like colors and saturated tones. Kim ravishes in extremism at times, with loud shoot outs, dialogues delivered in sinister whispers, loud slapping sounds, to torture scenes that likens to his other film, "I Saw the Devil".

Kim channels his narrative into powerful loyalty that seems like The Age of Shadows take a patriotic approach but ultimately, this thrill-filled film is entertaining as much as it is greatly crafted.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Magician
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Exploitation and corruption are never far from entertainment.

I probably heard that from somewhere but this was the first thing that came to mind while watching this movie.

Being a fan of historical movies/dramas, I knew I would enjoy this but the plot was quite predictable. Even better, this movie is capable of making you all mushy on the inside and then disgusted with the human race. Almost no in between.

This read more was my first time watching a film featuring the actress, Go Ah Ra. As the princess, I feel that her strong features and personality make her memorable and it worked well with the “Bear” joke going on between the main characters when they first met. in contrast, is Bo Eum( Jo Yoon Hee), the older sister with delicate features, portrayed with constant composure, and knowing of how she established herself- you can’t help but admire her.

Interesting enough, it’s when she is shaken up by the antagonist, Gwi Mol (Kwak Do Won) , does it add weight to the villain. The subtle act of reintroducing him using his signature sharpened nails -loved it. It's brilliant how his revenge against Hwan Hee almost put the country in jeopardy - Gwi Mol is ruthless, merciless, clever as hell, but frankly bringing Hwan Hee back to the theater for the final showdown was a dumb ass move. Yes, I get how fucked up it is to turn his "home" to his grave but at the same time he brought Hwan Hee back to his element, assuring me he would fail.

I’m a sucker for plots that involve two characters who have a positive impact on each other but you can’t help but ignore the reality of their situation and feel all bittersweet about it. However, the twist that caught me off guard was (Lee Kyeong Yoeng) General Ahn’s decision for the princess in the end. I loved this character. He takes on the father role to the princess when all seem to have abandoned her, even sacrificing himself. I appreciated him so much.

Despite it’s predictability, this movie was enjoyable to watch, visually-appealing, and with great acting. I recommended it if you are a fan of the historical genre
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bad Guy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
?????? ???? ?? ????? ??? ?????? ???? ?? ?????? ?????? ??? ??????? ?? ???? ????? ????????
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have nothing negative to say about WFKBJ! I adored it from start to finish. I will definitely watch it again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I have watched it because I found the plot interesting, I am not a fan of GY or KGE. At the first episodes I found her irritating but then I get used to her.

The story is interesting and keeps you wondering about what's gonna happen next.

I will probably watch another drama of GY but I do not think that I'll watch one of KGE dramas. I have watched Train to read more Busan and he is very talented.

while watching there is one thing might irritate you that is the great age difference betw Goblin & ET.

That love things in the edge of being a pedapholie

Goblin is a man who is over 900 yrs old but looks like a man who is in his late 30's early 40's while ET is only 19 yrs old and a high schooler. She is inlove with a man who is at the age of her dad / can be easily have / had kids at her age.

And if we think of the era he comes from he possibly might have concubines, wives and a couple of kids.

They are good match physically but in this drama, it was over the border. I do ship them but not on this drama, they can easily be bf / gf as KGE likes elderly guys and GY likes younger girls.

I was more interested in Sunny and Grim Reaper couple. they were a fantastic couple.

There were a lot of product placements, from stuff toys, to TBS White Musk Perfume, which I end up buying and now using a room spray as the perfume is that much crap, the watches he wore, canon camera which is worth over £2000 this is with only a small lens.

I only find the Canon placement irritating I thought it was related with the upcoming scenes as they have openly showed us, like poking someone's eye. it was that obvious.

I really enjoyed the Canada scenes, and a couple of Korea Seoul scenes but that's it.

I want to see Yoo In Na, LDW, Yook Sung Jae, & Lee El in one drama. I will not go back & rewatch this drama. It was one shot for me, I will forget about it within few months.

If it was not KGE as a leading lady, and if there were less flashbacks, less repetitions it would be an excellent drama
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Star of the Universe
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
It is an easy romance, A girl who becomes a GRP and falls in love to a famous singer.

She begs to return to the world, so she's been given a chance to fulfil her wishes and when those are completed she's going to die again.

Woo Joo"Universe" also fell in love with her. they overcome many things with love but the end.. Both happy and sad..

If Byul did not had read more the accident that day, she would potentially living happily ever after with Woo Joo.

It does not have a rewatch value, but I will most probably download the episodes and turn it into a movie and rewatch like that.

As there are still some stuff that I do not get, as I do watch 5-6 dramas in a week, it all juggles up after a while
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
love this drama. This is the first drama that I have seen Angel Baby in. She is so mesmerizing and talented. She looks like what a fairy queen would look like yet pulls off playing a strong character. I would like to see more if her dramas. Chang Wallace gets 5 stars from me in this drama. I recently saw him in a new movie with Lee Min Ho and he was read more very funny in that movie. Sun Sean I had not seen before he is another terrific actor. Would love to see him in another drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Goblin is a good drama, but even though I gave it a 9, it is not the best in other ways. I'll talk about what was good about the drama first, then I'll talk about what I disliked about the drama.

Characters

The characters were all great, especially the two male leads. Their interactions with each other were especially entertaining. I can't say for sure that I really disliked any of the read more characters, though I think I liked the second leads better than the male leads. They were more entertaining and they made a little more sense than the main leads, which I will get back to later.

Actors

I loved every one of the actors. Usually there's an actor I hate, but not in this drama. They were all enjoyable to watch and they all did a splendid job.

Plot

The story was interesting, especially with the grim reaper stuff. In the end I kind of wish that the way life and death work in the show would work similarly in real life too. The plot always kept me interested throughout the show and there were a lot of cliff hangers. Stupid plot devices were used sparingly and they partially made sense.

Visuals

The cinematography was fantastic. Even if you don't like everything else about this show, you will just like looking at it. It is beautiful and a sight for sore eyes.

Music

I love the majority of the music in this show and I've listened to many of the songs multiple times. The soundtrack really stood out and I don't think I really disliked any of the songs.

What I Disliked

I felt absolutely no chemistry between the male leads, personally. I thought they made great friends, but I always grimaced at any romantic moments. I just couldn't see them together romantically. I see them as inseparable friends, but no more than that.

Also, the main male lead kind of irritated me. He's supposed to be like 800+ years old but he acts like a child. Also, you cannot tell me that he never fell in love with anyone until he met the main female lead. I think it is an excuse to blame his childlike behavior on his personality. In You Who Came from the Stars, the main male lead had lead a similarly long life like the main lead of Goblin, but he was not childish in any name of the word. I felt that his personality was far more realistic for someone that had lived for a long time. As a character the main lead of Goblin is great, but when you realize how long he's lived he just doesn't make sense.

Overall

Of course I recommend that you watch Goblin. Overall it was a really good show and there are plenty of reasons to watch it despite my negative comments at the end. Give it a try and you'll probably like it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions