6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is one of the few dramas that is truly a rom/com from beginning to end. Most dramas today lose the com around episode 8 or 9 but this one was well thought out and used several good cameos to keep the comedic moments going throughout the story. I don't normally give out 10's to a drama. I'm very selective and it has to be really good and make me want to read more watch it over to even be in the running for a 10. I have to say that this drama is a 10. One of the biggest draws for this drama is the story. When you hear "sports drama" it's almost always something glamorous or popular like basketball, soccer, or baseball, but you would never think about weightlifting, much less women's weightlifting. Sung Kyung and the other actresses do a tremendous job at portraying a group of female athletes that are not all thin and beautiful but still have the same feelings and needs. All of the actors really portrayed their characters well and had great chemistry. The main couple, and the sub couples were all a joy to watch. But be warned, this is a binge drama that can make you lose track of time when you start it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You Who Came from the Stars
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama was..interesting. I had high expectations since this drama was so popular and the center of the Hallyu wave at one point, and I thought to myself all throughout the drama, 'is it really that good?' And no matter how many times I thought about it, I still didn't find myself thinking it was. I tried watching this drama around three years ago when it first came out, but got to read more episode 11 and didn't want to continue watching. However, I decided to give this drama another shot, and I managed to get through all of the episodes because of some occasional funny moments and because Kim Soo Hyun made it more bearable.

I think this drama is pretty overrated, mainly because of the top stars in this drama and popularity of it because otherwise, I don't see a basis for this 8.9 rating. Personally, I love Kim Soo Hyun -he's one of my favorite actors- but for some reason this drama just didn't cut it for me.

This drama had a lot of potential but it kind of just went all over the place. There's a lot of genres and different mysteries throughout, which is what brought this drama down. The genres ranged from historical/saeguk genre dating back to the Joseon years to modern 20th century top-star actors to family drama to crazy messed up crime to magic sci-fi to comedy to conglomerate businesses. I like all of these genres, but when they are combined, it just doesn't work out. Like one moment you'd be watching middle-aged scholars write historical books in the 1600's and the next moment you'd be brought into reality when a top star actress is being arrogant and demands to be escorted at every second.

I loved the sci-fi theme about how Do Min Joon was an 'alien' and had special superpowers, and I think if the story just focused on this, it would have had so much more potential and still have been very interesting. But when they brought in egocentric film industry characters and psychopathic serial killers, it really made the story all over the place. Sometimes, it even felt like Do Min Joon's powers were just a side story because it focused so much on solving the murder crimes committed by Lee Jae Kyung (who was a complete psycho btw, and everytime he came on the screen, I just wanted to scream).

Do Min Joon, however, was an amazing character and I loved his personality. Deep down, he is a very kind person that is loyal and will sacrifice his life protecting others. His awesome alien capabilities made him all the more cool and I wish I could do those things like teleport lmao. Kim Soo Hyun being cast as him was a great choice, but I wish I could say the same for Jun Ji Hyun. Her character was someone that was spoiled, bratty, and arrogant af considering she plays a topstar actress. Sometimes I wish someone else was cast because she is considerably older than Do Min Joon. However, after her career went downhill, you can see that she is actually someone pretty cute with a lot aegyo, especially when she starts to realize that she likes Do Min Joon, and I thought it was very cute when she got clingy to him. Even though she seems like she has everything in the eyes of others, she really doesn't.

Cheon Song Yi's brother was hilarious. At first, he was portrayed as someone very arrogant, and I was like...? what's his purpose in this drama; but, especially after seeing his interactions with Do Min Joon his character took a complete reversal and he was really funny. Also considering the fact that Ahn Jae Hyung plays a high school student even though he is older Do Min Joon is also pretty funny. That E.T. moment though (replayed that like 10 times xD)

Okay moving on to some other characters. Hee Kyung go really annoying sometimes and it got on my nerves, but I liked him better towards the end when he realized what his brother was doing bc he was pretty smart about it. Also, his obsession towards Song Yi was kinda creepy, like no offense but an enlarged picture of her on your bedroom wall?? Okay sorry. Anyways, I also liked Yoo Se Mi's brother, the prosecutor, because he was pretty smart yet still handsome!

The music was nice, but not amazing. There's of course the infamous 'My Destiny' song which I like, but has been overplayed so much that I kind of don't like it anymore lol.

Overall, this drama was okay, but just could have been so much better! Just the plot had so many categories that it just couldn't concentrate on one thing to make it better. However, this may be a good drama to watch if you are new to kdramas!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nirvana in Fire
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I WISH I CAN CURSE ON THIS REVIEW BECAUSE I'M NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS ENDING BUT IT WAS A REALLY GOOD SHOW F**K IT
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Beach Boys
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
How should we live our lives? I think this drama is about it.

All I can say is that dramas from 90s were the best! Beach Boys is a masterpiece of bromance.

I will miss Hiromi and Kaito.

The actors were great. They made me laugh and cry until the end. Everyone has something interesting and touchful.

I would like to watch it over and over and over.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Let's Make a New Start
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
First things first, please don’t get put off by the amount of episodes! I started watching this when it aired in May so I apologise if I can't remember the beginning perfectly ^^
I really enjoyed watching Start Again, the characters are all so likable and the plot was really interesting, the only con being it was very predictable, but at times it could also surprise you, especially as it neared the read more ending of the episode, cliffhangers that made you want to watch the next episode. The romance is sweet, not overly strong but enough to keep you cheering for them through their troubles. The beginning was extremely well delivered, and kept me wanting more, until it began nearing the end when the plot started to get rushed, and it just got too predictable for me to take seriously, eg I skipped some scenes at the VERY end, like the last few episodes.

The main cast, including Park Min Ji (who played Bo Ra in Cheese in the Trap), Kim Jeong Hoon, Park Sun Ho and Go Woo Ri were pleasant to watch especially Go Woo Ri who played her ‘’ rather antagonistic’’ character very well. The other thing about Start Again is that there are A LOT of connections between the characters, this can either be a good or bad thing, however I found it interesting, but often at times silly. The music is one of the best things about this drama, the OT/ET by Park Seeyoung I really loved, and the many songs and instrumentals used I still listen to today.

Start Again was the first daily drama I watched, and I really enjoyed watching it, and I'm happy I completed it, there were many times that had me excited for the next episode, times when something unexpected happened, and the times that were just so sweet made Start Again a memorable drama to say the least, plus the 35 minute length daily was perfect. Although I don’t want to watch this drama again anytime soon, I can definitely see myself re-watching it in the future!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Princess Wei Young
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Political storyline is well developed. But it dragged on when plots were recycled. It gets tiring as making you want to quit watching it but I stay dedicated to get it over and done with. The characters in here are not singled out, only when unnecessary to the plot. Some character developments were actually impressive to watch. Overall I would give this a 8.5/10. Be ready to skip some scenes for they read more might annoy you with repeated drama. You might just end up watching the entire series within two days.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Bromance
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This was a better-sweet story. It was a bit unsettling how the poignancy was so pushed. To anyone uncertain of watching this film, I wouldn't shy away. There is a tender love in this story, but you must prepare your emotions for a ride.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Romantic Doctor Teacher Kim is a thought provoking and quirky drama that thrives off the strong character development and heart-pulling patient cases that are seamlessly interwoven with the main characters' own storylines.

I should say that I love medical dramas though. As an aspiring doctor, RDTK really made me think about the responsibilities of a doctor that extend past the operation room.
I began to watch RDTK because of Seo Hyun Jin read more but I stayed for Han Seok Kyu. Dr.Kim's complexity and romantic ideals of a character pulled me in, made me curious, and is essentially the anchor of the whole show.

What constitutes as a 'good' doctor? Essentially, the story revolves around that question that seems to have a simple answer; however, there's no real right or wrong answer and everyone has their own definition of a 'good' doctor. Philosophies and ideologies clash and it's just utterly fascinating to watch as morals are questioned and consciences are tested in the face of moral dilemmas.

Asides from the philosophical questions, hospital politics, and the emotional patient stories, the romance also holds its own in this already plot packed drama. The romance, while not at the forefront of the show, is a slow burn that keeps you wanting more, and when it finally happens, it is so satisfying. Gotta love the slow burns that are worth waiting for.

The whole cast of Doldam hospital seems like a big family. Side storylines are interesting, bromances are fun, and the verbal fights are satisfying.

Even if you don't like medical dramas, please don't pass up on this drama. RDTK is a a human drama, about human emotions, actions, and consequences. It poses interesting questions about society and humanity. I really enjoyed this unique drama that is honestly extremely different from other dramas I've watched before. If anything, at least give RDTK a try to see if it's up your alley!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Madame Antoine
1 people found this review helpful
by Kara
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I started out really liking the plot and cast of this drama. It was refreshing watching a drama with an older leading lady with a kid. Half way through it though the story and plot seemed to drag on.
The best part was each episode (mostly) had a mini story line dealing with customers and how each side of the main romance pair helped them
The bad was how the relationship between read more the two main romance characters was constantly going round and round having the same conflict.
It is a light drama with a great cast of personalities and actors. So if you're looking for something to casually watch I would go for it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tunnel
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Anyone knows the movie "Buried"? Or did you see "D-Day"?

Well, this one is not exactly the same but there are many similarities in the basic concept. It's about a man who gets trapped in a collapsed tunnel. Luckily, his phones gets a signal, so he can make an emergency call. Otherwise any help would have taken some time since the tunnel itself was a new construction and didn't have much traffic read more yet.

The overall meaning of this movie doesn't seem to be his struggle to survive until rescue arrives. It rather displays that so many things can actually go wrong, and what the public and single individuals are thinking about the whole incident as times passes. And although I got angry so many times while watching, many things got closer to reality than we would admit. Secret thoughts versus proper behavior versus taking action through the back door. How would one really behave when facing an extreme situation - being a victim, a bystander, a culprit or a person in charge. Who's protecting his interests and who's protecting his conscience?

The movie wasn't perfect. Most of it was gripping but it still had its longueurs. Maybe... if they had reduced some of those parts that made me angry throughout the movie...? Wouldn't have done any damage.

The acting was really good. I'm only starting to appreciate Ha Jeong Woo's acting but I'm already quite impressed with what I've seen so far. There were so many characters that most of them couldn't show any depth and many of them felt like silhouettes and ghosts. But those few who got more screen time were good in delivering the message.

Korean filmmakers have a knack for disaster movies - though in their own way, but they hardly disappoint.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
very cute! The best Japanese BL I've seen.

It's very cute and lighthearted, I totally recommend. The cast is really cute.

VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Round Trip to Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
WOW. This was super angsty, but really good. I cried so much ;-;
not much of a review, but I do recommend to his to people who aren't very sensitive to feels.
I thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
AHHH! I don't have much to say, but this is definitely my fav BL now. Book and Frame are sO CUTE!!!!!!!!


I recommend definitely!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
SWAP
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Oh wow! I've seen many many BL dramas, and SWAP is one of my favorites. I really liked the story, because it wasn't just a BL, but there were also elements of GL (between the famous singer and the other girl haha).

Overall, this was super good (the story and all), but what really did it for me is LEOxLUCAS!!!!

I discovered Leo and Lucas before I even watched this. I saw read more a little clip of them somewhere on a mountain and THEY LOOKED LIKE THEY WERE A CANON COUPLE. Later on, I discovered SWAP and realized that they weren't actually dating (T_T) but I truly believe that there's something between them.
:)
I recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sotus: The Series
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
WOW! This is one of the best BL series I've ever seen! It's super super cute, and not too angsty. I realllllly love SOTUS. It kinda reminded me of Love Sick, which is also super super good.
The acting wasn't the best at first, but it definitely improved throughout the series. Also DAMN. THOSE KISS SCENES (my hearteu :3)
totally recommend for any fellow fujoshi!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions