• Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Though not familiar with Japanese movies I can really say this was a fun film! I saw it twice and still enjoyed it! The actors were good; they communicated well the angst of starting and sustaining a relationship. I particularly liked Asuka's character - assertive without being brusque; tender without being sappy. The Nanami Ryu character was convincing in his wish to hold on to his dislike for marriage despite his growing read more enchantment for Asuka.
Let me not forget the supporting characters - they showed friendship and affection for one another. An uplifting movie all in all!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Touch of Green
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
A Touch of Green is consistently heartbreaking, heavy in its themes, yet amazingly gripping, painfully realistic and most importantly, so very human. A shining gem in the age of stagnating Taiwanese dramas, this terribly underrated show is 100% recommended for its superb subtleties in writing, excellent character developments and fantastic acting amongst other things.

Strong female characters in a feminist drama, three-dimensional yet flawed characters, a touch of romance and sheer quality read more in writing+dialogue intertwined with great acting - what's there not to love?

PLOT: It is hard to summarise this show into a seemingly exciting synopsis without sounding like every other historical drama. In fact, it’s because there are SO MANY THINGS happening that you are just pulled along with each episode without much time to think about what just happened. And things don’t necessarily happen in clear cut arcs either, unlike more simplistic drama plots. What are cliches even?

However, a more important reason for this is the sheer heavy nature of the show. The first third of the drama is still fairly easy to watch quickly given its relatively more lighthearted nature. The show even arguably has its fair share of unexpected comedy to balance the heartache.

But soon, you will realise the drama is gonna take you to discover new lows. Just when you think that things cannot get worse, the drama proves you wrong time and again. It seems nearly impossible not to cry at all throughout the entirety of the show.

Hence a word of warning for all those (planning on) watching this, this drama definitely requires mental preparation. However!! This should never act as deterrent for you from watching the show! The story and characters are all so good there was no way my friend and I were planning to drop this.

CHARACTERS: In this highly character-driven plot, the characters are the backbone, flesh and the shining glory of this drama in many essences.

Again, it is hard to describe the main characters succinctly because it would do them no justice at all to create a stereotype for them to fit in. All of them are so complex and unique that the show definitely acts to shatter typecasting of the actors themselves.

In a nutshell attempt, Zhu Qing is independent and takes no BS from anyone yet beholds an unspoken innocence. Guo Zhen is also not just a charismatic and defiant pilot, but also harbours darkness in his heart only leaked through his sarcastic jabs and comments.
image

A great source of enjoyment from this show was simply watching the character development of all of the characters, especially across the more obvious “arcs” across time. It was also brilliantly portrayed and written how the characters kept their quirks and personality in some way or form across time. Yet all of them also grew and changed because of their respective painful experiences into new roles that the audience would never have thought to expect from the characters.

Human nature is so strongly presented in this show to our delight~. None of the characters are stereotypically “good” or “bad”. Most significantly, the wives and their seemingly demure nature is contrasted with the sacrifices and moral dilemmas that they are willing to go through for their husbands.

The relationship between the main characters are also constantly changing with new events. While they are friends and love each other, they fight, they leave snide remarks, they seek forgiveness and even betray each other.

Sometimes the characters even do seemingly inexplicable and irrational things, yet that is exactly what makes the show so human and complex. Even minor new characters are constantly introduced with almost none of them disappearing insignificantly.

STORYTELLING: Another part about this show I enjoyed very much was the narration/dialogue and many subtleties delivered in the filming direction.

Using the voice of Mo Ting, Xiao Zhou’s daughter and various objects in the show, many beautiful metaphors are delivered – the fake math equation 5×1=3, time being a drug with unknown side effects; a dove; plane 513; and the pilot’s bomber jacket next to Shi Niang’s qipao being kept.

There is simply so much depth being included into every scene whether with dialogue or not that not a single scene should be missed.

OST: The main reason that I came to know of this drama was through Hebe Tien’s OST MV for this show titled "As it is" which can also be translated as “Numbed” or “Jaded”. This theme song alone epitomises much of the show’s heartbreak and complexity in its lyrics and appropos dramatism.

Clearly, the MV was enticing enough to reel me in to desperately find sources for it just to find out what this interesting-looking story was about.

REWATCH VALUE: There's probably so much more subtlety to appreciate from the script through rewatching, especially with the level of depth and complexity in the writing of characters. Hence, there should be a lot to still enjoy in the sheer quality of this drama, as long as you're prepared for the whirlwind of emotional drama to ensue.

CONS: If there is any thing to complain about this show, it’s that it can be hard to understand. The show uses specific and historically related references, so it’s somewhat easy to get lost and not catch why certain things are happening to the characters. Simultaneously, the characters themselves often use roundabout sarcastic jabs and often don’t mean what they say. So once you lose the context, it’s hard to understand what they really intended to mean.

However, the main problem for more international audiences with watching this show is the complete lack of English subtitle versions for this show (at this moment), not to mention the already few sources online for the original raws. (Though it remains to be seen how this level of complex subtleties can ever dream to be translated with equivalent poise.)

So if you CAN understand Chinese, PLEASE do give this show a try, because this show is really THAT good. I cannot do enough justice to this epitome of an underrated drama which swept accolades at the 2016 Golden Bell Awards, other than you being able to simply watch it and see it for yourself.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ishitachi no Renai Jijo
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Don't let the title of the drama fool you - I thought it was going to be just another tawdry Grey's Anatomy-esque romantic-melodrama-with-hospital-backdrop and the first two episodes kind of leave you with that impression. In the beginning, it feels like they're trying a little bit too hard to be sexy and scandalous, but that soon takes a backseat as the real plots begin to unravel.

I ended up falling love with read more every main and supporting character, and becoming invested in every subplot running throughout the show. Every storyline is strong without convoluting the overarching story or making it clunky. The interwoven relationships in this story take precedence but the eventual main conflict is career-based with a dash of social commentary; the fact that their work also takes part of the centre focus is exactly what made it more than just a romantic melodrama.

Most of all, the conclusions that are drawn in the end are both realistic and satisfying, which is normally such a hard balance to strike. Every character, even the main antagonist, is done justly without oversimplifying the end of their respective arcs.

Ishitachi no Renai Jijou is by no means a flawless drama - it has its own tendencies to fall into the regular Japanese drama tropes at times - but overall it's clever, modern, presents us with complex characters and a refreshing outlook on love and work without being too preachy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Attack on Titan
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 1.5
  • Acting/Cast 4.5
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
When watching this movie, I honestly couldn't tell whether most of it was a joke or not. The graphics are a pain to watch, with the director getting so lazy that at one point, they had actual blood splattering on the screen for "dramatic effect". I actually feel bad for the cast of this movie, as the movie itself was one of no good qualities or good plot, even though I sincerely read more tried my best to like it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rebel: Thief Who Stole the People
1 people found this review helpful
by Rule
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Griped me from the first episode. Thrilling, intriguing, exciting and enjoyable.
The acting is superb, especially of the evil king, he did the best job, I've seen him in many plays but this one is defiantly his best work
The rest did a wonderful job too. All characters portrayed their work so good that you loved the good and hated the evil ones with a vengeance.
saw and then re saw with read more my husband again and enjoyed both times equally.
Sageuk lovers don't miss on this one.
Overall: highly recommended.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tunnel
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
While most people claimed they lost interest in the second half of the series, I found the first half very plain and the second half better – which led me to give it a 8/10 overall when it could've been as low as a 5/10 up until episode 7.

Now, don't get me wrong. Each episode from 1 to 7 wasn't bad; they just didn't add up into a good 7-hour experience read more for me. They were good one-by-one. If you have seen American series (police or crime series in particular), you'll know how they start an episode with one case and ends it within that episode, and nothing from that episode will affect the next episode at all. As soon as our main detective Park Kwang Ho arrives in 2016, Tunnel plays that card.

For character introduction purposes, not touching on the main plot for a short while is totally okay. However, the length of 7 episodes of doing that is painfully long – 44% in and there's still no progress whatsoever. That point kept bugging me all the way. Apart from that, the main characters are good at their job, so the one-case-one-episode is averagely fun on its own.

I believe that the story picks up around episode 8. From then on until episode 12, the pace of the drama suddenly changes in a good way. These are the most exciting and suspenseful 4 episodes in my opinion. There is a surprising amount of improvements from character development to story revelations. The last phase of the drama, episode 13-16, cools down a lot, but it still keeps playing with the main story. For me, it was fine. By the end of the series, I was more satisfied than I thought when I went through the first half.

--

It's still too bad that after all those satisfying second half, I still don't see the point of making this a time-traveling drama. Of course, the "tunnel" and the time-traveling play a part in this story. I just think that they could've made use of this theme much more – or dropped that idea completely.

This story could totally survive as a normal crime drama because the main detectives and criminals aren't so boring. The main character who time-travels lacks a lot of "oldies" qualities I expected to see from its premise. By this I mean that he could've possessed old-school yet surprisingly useful methods that help with the modern crime-solving process, or rather appear really countrified that he looks funny. Instead, he adapts to the modern world so well. If this wasn't a time-travel drama and this character was a detective from the present time, it'll still work just fine. It feels almost as if the writers are using this "time-traveling" trigger word just to call for attention.

At the same time, Tunnel cannot escape a lot of clichés in making their characters and criminals, and even situations – but that's okay. It's still entertaining. The cast and their acting really save the entire show. They're extremely great in every given situation, although again, you'll have to get to the second half of the show to see so. I rated their acting a 10/10 although some small side characters are so-so because they don't have much impact anyway.

Music doesn't boost the show at all, in my opinion. The background music and sound effect cues aren't awkward however, so I gave it a 6/10. This is the genre that doesn't need emotional OSTs to play at heartbreaking moments anyway. I still wished I ended it with one or two songs to keep listening to. I ended up with none.

--

Final thoughts: I wouldn't suggest my friends to watch this for the time-traveling. I would suggest them to watch simply because it's a good crime drama with good acting. I liked it – don't get me wrong after I point out all those cons. Those things bugged me all the time but only slightly, and I didn't regret watching this show. Also, I barely rewatch dramas, and a crime drama can be either too predictable or too gruesome to rewatch, so I gave that part a low score.

Overall, it's a 8/10 for me because it does only 75~80% of what it initially promised to do. This score is not to be compared with other dramas, especially the ones that are not from this genre.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Mourning Forest
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
A winning movie!
"The Mourning Forest," won the Grand Prix at the 2007 Cannes Film Festival.
A film that revolves around a man of 70 years with dementia who lives in an elderly home in Japan, the film tackles the problem from a totally different perspective where young people admire the values ??of the older generation, especially family stressing Eternal love for the spouses.
Sensitive that traces the quixotic pilgrimage of a read more senile old man to his wife's tomb in a forest that connects a mystical relationship with nature.
Mourning Forest can be divided into two parts.
The first part introduces the viewer to the two main characters. Both have suffered personal losses and are suffering. We see two figures in what we can call "allusion to life."
The second part reverses the situation, we see two figures in what we can call "the forest covers the human figures". There is cold, darkness, and overflowing mystical streams that threaten the "hypothermia" of the characters. There are definite allusions to death and regeneration. "After the two enter the forest, the forest becomes the force that supports them, watches over both, sometimes softly, sometimes more rigorously." Words of the director, where at the end of the film the director indicates the meaning of the term "mogari". Mogari means "time or act of mourning" referring to the original title.
"The Mourning Forest" is a film about understanding the richer complexities of life and death. "Running water never comes back to its source," says old Shigeki to his nurse, words of solace for a young woman looking from New to your marriage after you lose a child. "If sad things happen, you should not be sad or fighting them, but promise to make the world a better place for children to be born. That's my message, "Kawase told the Reuters news agency. At the Cannes festival, director Kawase said she did" Mourning Forest "because" her grandmother was becoming a bit senile, and today these people are being looked down and pitied, Forgetting that this can happen to us someday. "Kawase said she hopes viewers will learn goodness and a new way of dealing with the hardships she said could help people across the world overcome religious and cultural differences.
Kawase made a rich movie using his own story when the forest itself transforms into a metaphor for memories and traditions, becoming a source of eternal strength. A contemporary Japanese film blending nature and tradition into narrative but gets lost in its own complexity!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Was Born, But...
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Funny and charming.
That is, but much more, the great highlight goes without a doubt to the exceptional performance of the children in a "silent" film directed by Yasijiro Ozu which we can perfectly frame the satire on the rigid structure of Japanese society and a history of comings and goings About children who are learning to live in a less than perfect world. It is a lasting "masterpiece" that has maintained read more its universal appeal over the years.
For example, eight-year-old Keichi (Tomio Aoki) and his ten-year-old brother Ryoichi (Hideo Sugawara) come to live in a small suburb of Tokyo, after their father, Mr. Yoshii (Tatsuo Saito), a Secretary, you get a promotion. The transition to the suburbs, however, is not smooth. Bullying intimidates the boys, but soon wins the "fight" with the help of a delivery boy (Shoichi Kojufita). Taro (Kato), son of his father's employer, Mr. Iwasaki (Takeshi Sakamoto), who seems to be always dressed in a black suit, worthy of his station in life. Boys' behavior mirrors adults with their games and power strategies, including the very funny "resurrection" ritual.
"I Was Born, But ..." endorses the acceptance of reflected status, judicious ambiguity makes it appear that it is merely making observations rather than judgments, simplicity with the realities that the family must face were the key to success. Children have lost their innocence and must accept the fact that life is not fair, but they also see that happiness can be achieved by rising above their prescribed status. Unfortunately, many of the boys shown in the film had to fight and die in a bloody war only ten years later, partly a consequence of the rigid social structure that Ozu satirized in the film. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bangkok Love Story
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
STORY: The story is a long one that plods along with two guys who love and hate themselves and each other with a heavy dose of resentment. It's not a soft and sweet "Love Story" and never develops into that either. There isn't anything I would call a relationship. There are a couple okay scenes but I was always wondering why they were together. It was made in 2007 but reminds me read more of the American 80's low budget gritty crime dramas.

ACTING/CAST/MUSIC: OK

REWATCH VALUE: No. If it was much shorter or the "love story" was much better developed, sure.

OVERALL: I watched this with a friend hoping for a good love story but it's a hateful love story instead.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Amphetamine
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
STORY: Confusing, drug-induced nightmare. Either I need to be high or a former meth user to get it; not sure. This isn't the typical guy-saves-other-guy-from-horrible-drug-addition-live-happily-ever-after movie. In this movie, drugs is greater than love.

ACTING/CAST: Well, a lot of anger, hatred, self-loathing, portrayed well.

MUSIC: Um, don't remember.

REWATCH VALUE: Not really.

OVERALL: Parts of it are okay, but it seems like the movie tries to be much bigger than it can read more be. I say watch it, it's not bad, but not great either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love at First Flood
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie was filmed during a giant flood in Bangkok in 2011. I looked it up and the actual flood lasted 175 days, however people went about life and overcame it together. Just to see the way people were living during the flood by itself is a cool story, but here we have a full movie filmed.
This film is about 4 people meeting while volunteering for flood relief and changing each read more other's lives and others'. The movie was also not bad. I found it informative, funny, cute and light hearted.
I think the story was well told and casted. I always seem to love Thai movie's music. I guess if you hate indie rock music you might not like the music in the background. I think I would rewatch this movie less for the romantic story but more as a documentary of sorts because a flooded city of millions is fascinating and this movie displayed it in such an amazing way.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Senior
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
My rating is a 9.5 for overall, however if you look at the specific ratings here, it says otherwise. Those are specific. I'd rewatch this film a few times over, because it's feel good and a bit slap-stick with some rather deep topics.

I didn't think I was going to like it. I really wanted to watch it cause I wanted to see how good looking the boy was. I couldn't tell, read more cause of the make up. He was cute. I know superficial, but I had to check. He's hot. I'm an old woman not a fan girl, but us old ladies can be superficial too.

I liked the way they set up the movie only because I really did like the girls acting. I liked the way she seemed blind versus actually seeing the ghosts. Which is pretty cool. I became tired with the whole actually seeing ghosts the way the Kdramas were running them. So this was a very refreshing.

There were really deep issues that involve triggers like suicide, bullying, murder, child pornography, statutory rape, etc. Therefore, there are serious issues running around here. While on the flip side there are also cheesy effects that are used that you get or you think kill parts of the film.

Overall, I really enjoyed it. I would watch it again. I thought the acting was really nice. I did like the story. I was hoping for actually a happy ending here. kind of like the boy ghost is reborn or something. Something. Something here. Something. I loved the music. I think the soundtrack was on point. I would rewatch this a few times. It's a feel good film despite some of the heavy topics.

I liked the use of friendship here. Friendship was really the biggest push in the film, if not the mystery and a bit of the romance. The friendship between Ant and Mon really did it for me. Senior/Mon friendship/romance was on point.

These things would make me come back. I would get some popcorn. Pick a Sunday when there is only golf and you have nothing else to do and just watch it. You won't be disappointed. It's a nice matinee film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tunnel
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Tunnel got a lot of comparisons to Signal in the beginning and I can see it a little bit. I don't think it was quite as good as Signal, but I still enjoyed it a lot and looked forward to it every week. The story was engaging and the characters were written well. I enjoyed the dynamics of the 3 main characters and how they interacted with each other. As with all read more time travel shows, there are a few plot holes, but nothing major enough to detract from the show.

Choi Jin Hyuk did a wonderful job as Park Kwang Ho. He put a lot of emotion into his performance and really twisted my heart for him and how badly he wanted to catch the killer and get home to his wife, Yeon Sook. Yoon Hyun Min also played Seon Jae well, and his progress as a character was interesting to watch. Same for Lee Yoo Young as Shin Jae Yi. She started out almost robotic, but it was a quirk of her character and not due to bad writing. When her shell finally cracks open, she is a sympathetic character.
I have nothing but praise for all the cast - excellent work!

The music was good, nothing stand out, but enjoyable all the same.

This one isn't really suitable for re-watch as the suspense is gone after you've seen it once.

I would definitely recommend it to fans of the shows genres.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pinocchio
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Yes, yes and YES! This drama just knocked it out of the park on every damn level. This ranks up there with shows like Healer and one of my faves. Firstly, the entire cast was just amazing, Park Shin Hye and Lee Jong Suk were perfect, their romance sweet without being too angsty, but mainly they hit all the right notes from start to finish. There were no draggy moments in the read more show, the pace kept me interested, even in the slower, more poignant moments, I didn't feel like screen time was being wasted. What I loved about what this show did was how the story broke my heart right at the start, and then, bit by bit, put it all back together. Some parts were hard to watch, especially at the start, but the payoff is so wonderful, that it was all worth it. I loved how fleshed out everyone was, not just the main characters. Even our so-called baddies were real people with motive and doubts and guilt (except for one, but sometimes people are just sociopaths). I adored the family dynamics with dad and granddad, and because of the convoluted ties between all of them, the relationship between the leads wasn't just going to be a given, and they realized and respected that without making it into an angst-fest - how refreshing! And then there were the other families, the teams of reporters, their camaraderie and bickering, the central 4 (who I dubbed the scoobie gang) and their seniors - I loved them all. So, while the show put a big grin on my face in the end, I'm so sad to leave these characters, and really, can we please have a sit com just dealing with the antics of newbie reporters to console us?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Arang and the Magistrate
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
So this had all the elements that should have made me absolutely love it: An historical fantasy staring Shin Min Ah and the lovely Lee Joon Gi, who have a sweet chemistry. But there were things that in the end just fell kinda flat. Maybe it was the over the top villain who's every wide-eyed 'look at me I'm eeeevil' scene grated to the point I wanted to stab something. Maybe it read more was the resolution of Arang's plot that felt very patched together and all deus ex machina (and maybe that was the point but it still doesn't feel earned to me). Still, what really did entertain me, besides Lee Joon Gi's smolder, was the side characters, particularly Dol Sue and his hilarious interactions with Bang Wool, and of course the back and forth between the Jade and Hades (by the way, wasn't Jade extremely pretty? Those eyes...).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No