49
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I thought i want to start watching J-drama again and i choose this one, i don't regret it.
It's fun, cute, funny, but it has a deep meaningful story too. The most importantly it's short.
I cannot watch too lengthy drama anymore, i think i am just too tired, i need good drama that does not make me feel awful and feel forced to finish watching it. K-drama nowadays are full of read more fillers, i can't take it anymore, need to choose a good one, i don't have much time :D Anyway, this is a short drama with good story, i love it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
By all means, this drama should have been pretty mediocre. Not too bad, but certainly not great, either. Every element, every twist, every plot line is something we all have seen in numerous dramas before.

But it's the characters that made and wrapped the drama in shiny gold packaging for me. I know there are many people saying that the actress playing Ro Woon is extremely irritating, but somehow, I never thought read more that. Every action of hers fit her personality (nosy, loud, argumentative etc.) perfectly, so I could hardly fault either the actress or the character.

Which brings me to the acting. I thought most of the acting by the main and supporting cast were pretty solid. They did full justice to their characters (though I wish some of them got more screen time, but oh well). The leads were great and their chemistry was PERFECT. It's been a long time since I've seen the main couple so well casted, but they really did make an excellent pair. Their opposing personalities were surprisingly well matched and Eun Hwan Gi as a character was absolutely adorable. He was the main highlight of the show, to be honest. The couple and Hwan Gi were MAJOR points in favour of the drama, almost fully overshadowing the negatives.

The negatives were minor for me, since I could so easily look past them, but a main one would definitely be how much the beginning was stretched. There were a few unnecessary scenes which, I felt, could have been edited out for clarity. Hence, I agree that the first 5 episodes were pretty boring, which was why some people (including ones I know) dropped the drama early on.
But I highly recommend you push on, like I did. It gets MUCH better, the pace stabilises and the whole drama gets more interesting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Noble, My Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This drama is totally a definition of a very cheesy drama, but not necessarily in a bad way. It has every element of what a real rom-com should be like, starting from the rich man poor girl and ending with the evil mother. It was short, sweet and very fast paced. So if you're looking for a quick and cute drama to ease your heart, then give this a go!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
- No Comment -
Some people have already pointed out it's flaws.
- Full of fillers
- Crazy flashbacks
- Weird Romance Story for lead characters
- Oh my Gosh, it's so hard to finish this drama, i keep skipping it
- I prefer second lead story line but there is not much time for them
- End up It's so cliche
- Very predictable story line
- Boring
- The end read more (with so much resentment towards this drama)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Generally speaking, I usually have the opposite effect for over-hyped things. The more hype a thing has, the more likely it is for me to not like it. I went into watching Eternal Love with low expectations and as I had predicted at the time, I didn't find it too extra ordinary in the beginning.

STORY:

Eternal Love is comprised of the following three stages:

Episode 1-15:
This is when Yang Mi read more plays Si Yin and we are mostly being introduced to the characters. Ye Hua and Su Su meet up. It sets the pace of the story. This part doesn't have any wow factors, rather it provides an undercurrent of mild amusement. At this point you're not completely invested in the story but you also cannot let it go.

Episode 16-30:
Now this part was just plain torturous. This constructs the build up towards the main plot. It showcases Su Su's and Ye Hua's love and all the hardships she had to face as a mortal. Even though their sweet moments were heart warming, over-all this is literally the deadest portion of the show. It's not exactly the shows fault, rather the sypnosis's. We already know that SuSu is going to go blind and kill herself and honestly, I just felt like only after that, the true story would kick in which is why I had to fast forward some scenes because the whole wait did get, frankly, very boring. I understood that it was necessary for the character development and it provided a strong basis for the story to continue but that didn't mean that I found the drag-on particularly enjoyable. But since my intuition said that the light at the end of the tunnel would be very bright, I persevered.

Episode 30-58:
And this is when the show sky rockets to its summit. I think Episode 30 was by far the best episode made. From here onwards there are so many emotions; one great scene followed by another and suddenly I went from being half-heartedly interested to full on obsessed.

Acting:
Damn, I think I have a little bit of a crush on Yang Mi. She's such an absolute star to be honest. She portrayed her different personalities excellently. From the youthful and mischievous Si Yin, to the kind-hearted and vulnerable SuSu and finally to the boss ass queen Bai Qian; she simply slayed. There is this utter grace with which she speaks and moves that you can't help but be entranced by her. She was the true embodiment of a Queen and a total badass. Her fighting scenes were so empowering and the way she wields that Jade Purity Fan; just dang. She's a woman of power to her core and when Ye Hua forcefully kisses her once, she doesn't just let it be -nuhhun- she bestows him with a five fingered bitch slap 'cause ain't nobody messing with the Queen of Qing Qiu.

Mark was also a very nice surprise. He expressed a multitude of emotions just with his eyes. He didn't have to speak or show rather even the slightest twitch of his face spoke volumes. To be honest, I really fell in love with Ye Hua's character in the later part of the show. He's so selfless and devoted in his affection for Bai Qian that you can't help but root for him. Mark's delivery of Mo Yuan's character was also very impressive. Mo Yuan is a personality that demands respect and he gave him the elegance and majestic aura that was required.

Their chemistry is sizzling hot and both of them compliment each other to the max. I love how their love story transcends all worlds and they're two people destined to be together. I mean towards the end I was so committed to seeing their happy ending that for the first time in my life, I deliberately went to seek out spoilers just so I could have a consolation that everything wouldn't be in vain. Even though the ending is pretty sappy and the consequent events just turn out to be interestingly very very convenient for everybody, I think I wouldn't have opted for less.

The most annoying part of this show probably has to do with everything that was related to the Ghost Realm. Xian nu is literally the world's dumbest villain to ever grace the screens. I mean sure if you gonna be a negative ass bitch, filled to the brim with inferiority complexes, the least you can do is actually have some brains to execute your deviltry, instead she remains pitiful throughout and besides being an annoyance, doesn't amount to much.
Never fear though, because her husband matches her toe to toe as far as stupidity is concerned. Li JIng has a constant "woe-is-me" expression plastered on. He always acts like he is the most tragic person alive and he's constantly throwing pity parties and pining after someone he wronged. Like really bitch, if you gon' whine about how pathetic your life is and how you're suffering so much you should've thought better when you decided to waste your life being a nuisance and cheating on someone you supposedly loved. Smh. I was very thankful when both of these roaches finally ended up dead 'cause they literally belonged with each other in hell.

One of the best things about Eternal Love are the side stories. I had so much love for Dijun and Feng Jiu. Dijun, with his constantly amused face (as if the whole world was a huge joke to him) and Feng Jiu, with her endearing personality and child like tendencies really won me over. This show has so much character development and attention to detail. With excellent emotional delivery and story writing, I think the hype surrounding it is more or less justified.

One thing that I found hilarious was how little Bai Qian truly cared for her son like, ain't nobody got time for that but A-li is legit a ball of adorableness and the few moments they share together are absolute bliss.

Rewatching a 58 episode show is no easy feat so I don't think that I'd be doing that but there are definitely some iconic moments that I have already watched a thousand times over and will continue to revisit.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kleun Cheewit
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
OMG, i can't breath because of this thai drama, i love both of them (Mark and Yaya) since 2011!!!
the lead actor and actress are so freakin awesome, i hope i can watch them together as a couple in other lakorn !! i hope so 1000 %
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Rise of a Tomboy
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Even though the plot is pretty predictable it was defiantly an interesting story to follow.

Acting wise I think the cast did very well and showed their characters very well. Personal I didn't care to much for how much the female character ran over people to get what she wanted but it did show her personality well. I also didn't like that the male lead had pretty much almost little to almost read more nothing of a personality. It wasn't define and all I got from it was that he was a guy who pretty much got walked on his whole life. He gets hit like....a lot. Another thing I didn't like was how much she abused him physically. Even though through all of that, with how extreme her personality was from his I could see why they work out very well as a couple, because otherwise...... .__.

Music wasn't to special. It wasn't bad but nothing to really write about. Though I will say I did like the song he sang.

I honestly could not re-watch this movie. This couple was new to me and even though I enjoyed it somewhat the first time. I would have to yank my hair out to struggle to watch it a second time.

Overall it was something new that was very much predictable with characters that was almost unbelievable in their personality's. I would say its a good 7.5/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Good Wife
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
A two day marathon with an all night binge of streaming and ice cream to finish. Loved the freshness and strength of the wife. Each episode showed growth in her character and her perceptions of "self" as opposed to the blur women find themselves in when they are married -- usually there is a you somewhere buried at the end of the day of taking care of everyone else's needs. This was read more not that kind of drama -- even mother in law was no more than a woman whose child you married - not a focus of your intention. Didn't watch many of the American episodes of the Good Wife but I'm convinced this was a better crisper version. Of course the ending could be debated. What isl a Good Wife? But I thought the ending was apropos to the situation since contested divorces could become dirty and everyone was in a position that would be harmed by pursing that route. My favorite line in Jurassic Park "Life finds a way" I believe love found a way in this drama and it was satisfying to see a strong woman rise out of the ashes to achieve her goals and ambitions.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
So, it's just my early Wuxia before I start being chinese drama fans.

--Stroy--

The first 10 episodes, you'll watch a background why Main Chara become like that. It's quite interesting. and because of it we'll appreciate more in the future episode. About 4-5 episode later, you'll feel rather bored because the plot is take in the same place and we know what to do in that scene. I suggest you just read more forward it to find an interesting scene. Finally, after some hardship to wait a badass scene, we'll surely found it in the less episode. And you'll have some euphoria sense till the end.

--Acting/Cast--

The main character is suit to act like that. Because, he's not really handsome, but his deed make him a charismatic person. So, that's why many girls like him. And for girls have their own uniqueness. Zhao Ming, the naughty mongolian princess who always threaten main chara badly but actually it just to attract some attentions. Xiao Zhao, the cold women but have big love for main chara. Yin Li, the crazy girl who always love main chara while still kids. You'll think who suit main chara more, and then you'll know it.

--Music--

I dont have much about it, but the ending time song sound very touching.

--Rewatch Value--

If I rewatch it, I'll skip some episodes and then going to the scene while main chara in adult form.

--Overall--

I like this drama because of epic wuxia fight. And of course, the main chara make me think "there's still a person as good as him, i hope he will deserve the best girl". If you like the story about person who'll dominate martial art world because of his Kung-Fu, this is the answer.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Super Star Academy
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I've watched my fair share of bad dramas, but this was just the worst! The plot was terrible, as well as the acting. Each episode consists of a 22 minute runtime and after finishing the end of episode 4 I regret having continued past the second.

Like most dramas you get a gist of a shows originality and likability within the first 2 episodes. This had neither for me. If you're into read more dramas with a supernatural/school/romance and action type of genre, I recommend watching Moorim School (on KissAsian) first, I watched the entirety of that series and it was good but not to the point of wanting to rewatch.

I'm not sure how Super Star academy obtained the reviews it did with its lackluster acting, plot, and show effects, but to each their own.

I've made the mistake missing out on dramas sooner because I was too focused on the reviews. I recommend if you're on here looking through the reviews before watching, give a try. Each person has their own opinion and if you like it great, if not then I feel your pain.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
5 people found this review helpful
by QAS
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Ten Miles Peach Blossoms is one of those rare drama phenomena of the early 21st century. The skills of the actors, the scriptwriter, the novelist, the directors, the music composers and musicians, the set designer, the costume designer, the production crew, are reflected in this cinematic masterpiece that China has shared with the world. The emotional pull of the story and creative plot transcend culture and language. When subtitles can draw tears read more of sorrow and joy, the actors, directors and the scriptwriter have done a very effective job.

The charismatic actor, Mark Chao, was destined to play Ye Hua and Mo Quan. His interpretations of the two unique individuals, demonstrate his range of acting skills. Yang MI revealed her acting range with the two dinstinctive entities, Bai Qian and Su Su.

The psychotic, obsessive antagonists, Su Jin and Xuan Nu, as much as we hated them, were portrayed convincingly by personable actors, Maggie Huang and Zhu Xudan, respectively.

The young actors, Hummer Zhang (A-Li), Huang Tianqi (Fire Qilin), Zhang Youhao (Mi Gu), and Little Zhao Ge character, ultimately stole the show.

If there were travel tours to Peach Blossom Valley, international travelers would be booking the next flight to China.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kleun Cheewit
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have been watching lakorns since last year and even longer have watched various of other Asian dramas for seven years now that I easily lose interest because either the plot, characters, or the overall storyline makes no sense or changes within the middle. The same cannot be said of this drama, from beginning to end the storyline, characters, and plot has always been consistent. I didn't know much of Yaya or read more Prin before heading into this drama, but afterwards they have made a huge impact when it comes to further lakorns in the future.

The story is like Secret (kdrama), if anyone ever watched it, and although Secret has been one of my favorite dramas when it comes to revenge/hate turning into love and obsession, this lakorn has beaten it out of the water due to the main characters but more so to Yaya's potrayal of Jeerawat or Jee.

Story:
Very Simple, Jee is a major nangek/celebrity who despite all the fame and status lives her life constantly in the rumor mill potrayed as a whore and slut who snatches up people husbands. In reality, she is anything but and instead is just a woman or rather a girl who just wants love, mainly from her mother that she continuously protects at the cost of her own self-respect. While Satit is a young lawyer who is deeply in love with his fiance Tiw, all for justice and the fight for the underdog and the little man. Unlike in the synopsis, Jee is NOT an alcoholic and instead is lusted after by her stepfather and is heavily drugged (IM style in the arm) and in her pursuit to run away from her eventual rape innocently hit and run over Satit's fiance Tiw. Instead of actually running, Jee tries to express her apologies and own up to her mistake, however, the people around her refuses for her to do so and instead her assistant takes the fall while she lives her life in a constant cycle of regret, guilt, remorse, and horror for the fact she cannot pay for the crime that she caused.

Satit, however, doesn't believe what is released to the public and is in hot pursuit to punish Jee for his fiance's death which leads to his obsession. Eventually constant interactions, fighting/arguments, and slowly seeing the inner truth of who Jee really is makes him falls in love with her. But at the same time, he struggles with the reality that he might be falling for the very woman who killed the love of his life and is constantly struggling to battle his own feelings.

Of course there are two other couples but in reality it became such a nuisance (really in Piak and Chaiyan's case) but they only at times help the main draw closer and own up to their feelings.


Acting/Cast:
If I didn't state it earlier, this show was amazing not from the story itself alone, but from the flawless potrayal from the main characters and the amazing chemistry between Jee and Satit. Although Prin was amazing showing Satit as someone obsessed, I have to give the full recognition to Yaya for such an amazing job as Jee.

Yaya: have never seen her before, never knew her before, or etc...but my GODDDD!!!!! She was simply amazing as Jeerawat. She potrayed the hard as nails, aloof, bitch that everyone saw her but at the same time show the vulnerabilities of a young woman (more so girl in my opinion) that just wanted love. Love from her mother and those around her that were actually genuine. At times female leads that just cry nonstop would be annoying and ridiculous but you knew Jee was crying was because she built such a icy facade for the world that when it came to herself, her manager Suki, and her best friend Dao, that was the only time she could really be herself and let it out. Each time, each time, Yaya did such an amazing job showing the emotions of someone lost, tired, hopeful, yearning, and just wanting someone to just love her for herself. Although as the audience battled with the decisions she made at times Yaya did such a seamless job in showing someone fighting with herself and inner desires, wants, and needs. She was not a Candy female lead or someone so darn evil you wonder if she was REALLY a lead female. Rather she was human. She was realistic. She came from a broken home, her mother and her struggled and suffered for everything they got, and even then she wouldn't show others her true self. she was tough as nails and at the same time vulnerable. She was as real as you are gonna get if you want a realistic female lead that is not sugarcoated but is not always wearing a smile despite all the crap life hands to her.

Piak: a insecure housewife now producer/director who constantly suspects her husband Chaiyan is sleeping with his female actresses (nangek) and more specifically, thinks he is sleeping with Jee. Her (adopted) brother is Satit.

Chaiyan: is best friends with Jee, rather shares a brother/sister relationship to Jee that is constantly misconstrued to his wife and the media as an affair.

Dao: Jee's best friend with Jee and is in love with Jate

Jate: confused and playing both fields. In love with Jee but attracted to Dao.


Rewatch Value, Overall:

I would watch this show again at least a few months from now to completely forget the story-line (which i doubt) as this show is just so darn intriguing, and not so predictable compared to most dramas. As i stated before this show has two other couples and to me were either annoying at times or just so unbelievable, but they don't ruin the story. This lakorn is sooooooo enjoyable, intriguing, and unpredictable. Highly recommend to watch, and watch, watch, and then watch some more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Night Surprise
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
when i first looked at this page, i was surprised (hah get it?) to find that there was no review and was tempted to watch it for that reason.

this movie is very obscure considering it's plot i would've thought there were some love as the recommendations for three dads one mom and one night stud have.

i had yet to have seen a chinese movie but i was pleasantly overwhelmed at read more the slapstick comedy and humor this movie had to offer.

for the plot i gave it a 7.5 rating because it was a somewhat new idea but played very cliche-ingly. a woman gets drunk and gets pregnant from a one-night stand? big deal! the father is someone among her coworkers? hmm i see... i don't want to lie and say that i didn't skip a few boring parts in the movie.
interestingly enough, the plot manages to tie itself together and make for a somewhat enjoyable comedy with a few moments that got me teary (ugh).

acting and cast was.......decent enough. definitely enjoyed the eye candy.

music??????? there was music??????when?? lol (i mean that it was forgettable and didn't really make a big impact on this movie so low rating for music)

lastly, for rewatch value, as boring this movie was i did enjoy it and laughed here and there so i can definitely say theres a small chance ill revisit this movie again. it was a nice break from all the goblin angst im going through atm.

hope my review was of some value!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
So Young
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
I have things to do but somehow I ended up watching this movie.
The summary kind of let me thing that it was going to be like a light comedy but it wasn't like that at all. If you're gonna watch it you should be prepared, because it is gonna turn quite drammatic. But, it was worth it, definitely.
At first I didn't like the setting (the uni) and it bothered me read more the fact that we didn't have a time collocation (that place seemed like a place from decades ago!). At the end, it turns out that it should be in the 21th century, so I am a little bit shocked. If we could grade that too, it would be surely low.
After that, the other thing that bothered me was the protagonist's early character. I hated her, really. As a girl I feel like she really was shameful... but nevertheless, this is a movie, she started to be enjoyable, later on, I appreciated.
The story was thought up and written really well, because it wasn't the usual clichè and it was able to trasmit strong feelings to the audience, according to me. There are twists that I never predicted but I was also able to identify with some of the characters, thus I felt really involved in it.
I don't really know how to judge the cast, but I felt like it was right. As for the music, I didn't really minded it, but never found it out of context.
Last but not least, I will not rewatch it. Absolutely. Never. Again. Probably.
Enjoy!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Descendants of the Sun
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Descendants of the Sun. I just finished re-watching this drama. There is a reason why this drama was such a huge hit when it was airing. The majority of kdramas are filmed as they air, but this drama bucked the trend by being entirely pre-filmed and produced before airing. Song Joong Ki plays Yoo Shi Jin, a military man and member of the special forces in the Korean army, and Song Hye read more Kyo plays Kang Mo Yeon, a high profile doctor. The chemistry between them is so wonderful they were dubbed the Song-Song Couple and they are the primary couple in this drama (which refreshingly lacks any real love triangles). Jin Goo is Seo Dae Yeong, a Sergeant under Yoo Shi Jin in the special forces unit, and his romantic partner is Kim Ji Won playing Yoon Myung Ju, a doctor in the Korean army. Both romantic couples have story lines that are touching, funny, heart warming, and heart wrenching. They both have their obstacles to overcome. This drama has an amazing mixture of humor (especially in the bromance between Yoo Shi Jin and Seo Dae Young) and drama. Fair warning, Episode 15 is the One With All The Crying. The supporting cast and sub-stories in this drama are as engaging as the main actors and stories and the writing is witty and fast paced. I highly recommend this for anyone who likes a good romance mixed with a little action and flavored with a touch of melodrama. It scratches a lot of itches. The story can veer off into the territory of 'Seriously?' on occasion, but it's completely forgivable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No