109 Strange Things
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Overall, it was pretty average.

The story focused on some basic philosophical questions about robots (do they have feelings/free will/whatever?) but didnt really offer any deeper/surprising/more complex thoughts or ideas. It also was about struggle of 90’s kids/millenials who cant find jobs because they studied arts/humanities but again, no realistic outcome came from it.

Main characters were pretty okay but all of the side-characters were extremely annoying. And we still dont know read more if is Jung Chaeyeon good actress or not because she played basically same character as in Drinking Solo (finding out if Chaeyeon was good/decent actress was main reason i wanted to watch this).

There were some plot holes but at least this webdrama wasnt incredibly stupid. And it certainly had some idea behind it but it could be handled a bit better.

Watch it if: you are a fan of Choi TaeJoon or Jung ChaeYeon (she is incredibly pretty).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
After watching this series I'm scared of not being able to find a better drama. It the perfect rom-com that I love. This drama is the perfect example of unconditional love and even though the storyline and the characters seem very unrealistic at times, it's still so relatable at times.

Not gonna lie, I started watching this because of the two main characters and I was not disappointed. They really got into read more their roles and the romance through the whole series made my heart melt...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Watched this right after Kiss Me so I was already familiar with the actors and their acting. The plot is incredibly interesting and draws you right into a binge session.

The shipping of the two leads is so real in this drama that it's crazy. They're both really cute and the scenes make you cry sometimes but they definitely leave a fuzzy feeling. I recommend this for cutesy romance lovers. :) Worth a rewatch as well!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This is my second Kdrama review and I try to keep it short. Goblin is a must watch K-drama, but taken slow. Not in once, because of the complicated stories of the characters.
My facts are here:

Positive:

- Great storyline - one of a kind in K-dramas till now. I learned a lot about Korean people's beliefs.
- Great friendship between Gong Yoo and Lee Dong Wook. I loved every moment read more of their communication. It seemed they're friends in real life
- Great chemistry between Lee Dong Wook and Yoo In Na. The love between their characters was very well acted as if they're couple in real life. I loved every moment of their relationship.
- The Goblin character is really complicated and I liked it very much.. It's well played. But I fell for Grim Reaper Character - it;s also very complicted and I loved it in every single moment even more.
- The emotions that Gong Yoo and Yoo In Na were like they're real brother and sister. They are great actors and so is Lee Dong Wook.
- No loopholes and more realistic ending..


Negative:

- Lack of Chemistry between the goblin and his bride. Mostly of her part, the actress Kim Go Eun just didn't do well in my opinon. She didn't put her heart in the role and it seemed out of place. This is way I don't give 10 to this Drama. When Gong Yoo showed passion and deep emotions, she didn't respond and it seemed forced. I don't think I will watch another drama with Kim Go Eun.
- Time loops withous some kind of explaination what happened those years
- Yoo in Na parting with Grim reaper. I couldn't understand if she died after she "left"". If she didn;t die why nobody looked for her?

I liked Goblin I watched it slow to understand better the things. So, if you wonder to watch it, do it, but take 1 or 2 episode per day for example. The producer and writer of this Drama are great, but they shouldn't concentrate too much on the tears. Characters moved on with their lives, that should be shown. I will rewatch this drama some time in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Full House came out when almost all the dramas then are filled with dying characters who have met their death either by accident or incurable diseases! Imagine my joy when this drama came out.

Full house is the adaptation of the korean comic book (manwha) with same name. I am very much amazed on how well they closely executed the storyline and even the changes they made. Let me also point out read more that they built the "Full House" almost exactly the same as the one in the book!

The characters are so refreshing and their antics are sooo funny! Not to mention they have an undeniable chemistry! I have enjoyed watching this drama and has a good rewatch value!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seven Days: Monday - Thursday
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
these kind of movies R normally a lil' slow, well sweet but slow. so just tuRned it on afteR a long tiRed day foR a good nap & guess wht. it happened to be a slow one..(thought i'll be black out haRdly in 15 mints.) ''DEMO'' i ended up finishing not only this one but also it's sequel, back to back in a Row & my haRdly 15 mints. eventually tuRned out read more to be 3 AM in the moRning ...
i think i'm kinda keen on to this genRe & it's one of my favoRites .. loved the leads .. diRections n specially those lil' mind talks
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Descendants of the Sun
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Summary: I feel like I was wayyyy too late to jump on this band wagon. I'm still struggling to understand everyone's fascination with this show. Ultimately, would I recommend this show? Honestly speaking, no. But, perhaps I just had such high expectations due to the hype. If you're looking for something with an overwhelming amount of cheesy English lines, somewhat heart racing missions carried out by South Korean "black ops", and terribly read more inaccurate medical happenings, look no further.

+/- Plot:
Overall, this drama's storyline was not terrible, I wouldn't say that it was every really dragging and I was never really bored. That being said I still have several complaints. The storyline of the lead couple was repetitive with them hashing and rehashing the same argument over and over; them going stead, him going away on a mission, her questioning if she can handle their relationship, something life threatening happening to her, he saving her, and her falling for him all over. They did at some moment have some cute scenes. However, I was actually finding myself more interested in the second lead couple's romance, even though it did follow some of the conventional Korean drama's storylines. All the adversities they faced while abroad were exciting, even if they were pretty unbelievable at times.
I couldn't believe how forgiving they were of the medical portions of this drama though. Everything was wrong on so many levels. I'm not asking that it has to be completely accurate, but for it to at least be somewhat believable. The scriptwriters were pretty shameless and flagrant about the minimal research they put into it.
Overall, it felt a little like they just tried to mash three different categories of dramas together (romantic comedy, action/suspense, and medical) and I really feel like they were just reaching at some points. And don't even get me started on the amount of advertisements they tried to weave in at every moment possible. I understand that this was an expensive production, but it was pretty unbelievable at the end. I could go on about my complaints, but if there's any DOTS fans reading this I will be burned at the stake as it is.

+/- Acting/Cast:
While there were moments when I was supposed to be saddened to tears in the last couple episodes, I wasn't. This just goes to say how unattached I was to all the characters, and speaks wonders about their acting. To be honest, I just found a majority of their acting a bit cheesy, overdone, and not convincing. I consider myself a fan of Song Joong Ki, but this drama was not effective for me. I was laughing at the "intense" moments and grimacing at a portion of the romantic scenes. Which leads me into Song Hye Kyo; she's cute and I'll leave it at that. I had problems with her character; indecisive and constantly nagging. I felt that Kim Ji Won and Jin Goo's romance was 10 fold better, which is probably why I was more interested in them.
McInnis David was fine to begin with, but let's just say I understand why he's not an A list American actor.
All the other side characters were decent, I would say that some unnecessary; but my favorite side characters were Dr. Song Sang Hyeon and nurse Ha Ja Ae. They played their innocent, sweet romance really well and it was cute to see them act together.

+/- Music:
There are several songs from well known artists, several of which have sung songs for other popular dramas. They were all pretty catchy for the most part, but I would say there was really only one or two songs that stood out too me.

Rewatch value: This drama wasn't so terrible that I couldn't rewatch it, however it would never be at the top of my list for dramas that I would watch again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cheese in the Trap
2 people found this review helpful
by Aria
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Story: As an ongoing reader of the original webtoon, I can say that the drama captured the the story quite well in most aspects. The story, in both the webtoon and the show, is interesting, complicated, and realistically portrayed. With it's intriguing and lovable characters and it's well done sub plots, it keeps making you want to know what happens next. The vibe is similar and would be a great alternative to read more the webtoon if you don't mind missing out on a couple of things and don't mind a second rate ending.
One of the few things that bothered me was the way that Yoo Jungs story line was told. If you read the webtoon, you'll see a much greater emphasis on his mentality and how he became how he was. In the show, he's made out to be a bad person who didn't deserve Seol, but in the webtoon, he was just a child who grew up with a neglectful father and was forced to be apathetic and distant. You get to see more interactions with his father and his classmates in his childhood, and you can see how much of an affect his father had on him; he wasn't born manipulative, he just lacked genuine guidance and comfort. As someone who related to Yoo Jung, I was sad to see his character dealt with in such a way. In the drama, his childhood and his way of thinking isn't focused on as much as it should have been.
He also lacked a lot of scenes too in comparison to In Ho. I liked In Hos characterization just the same as in the webtoon but was sad to see him take so much screen time away from Yoo Jung. The lack of screen time for Yoo Jung also affected the way his relationship with Seol developed, it didn't feel as real as it was in the webtoon, there were much more interactions between them and the way it paced just made much more sense.
The ending was average at best. Maybe it was because I was expecting much more, but it left me disappointed and not satisfied. They could have added at least one final scene between Seol and Yoo Jung at the end, but it was left missing. The story felt incomplete.

Acting/Cast:
There was not one scene from the main actors that I felt could have been acted differently, besides from one of the supporting roles. The supporting actors were almost as good as the leads, but I felt it was a bit exaggerated at one part. Other than that, I can't see myself complaining for both the acting and the actors, I was happy with all of the cast. Each scene felt so real and genuine, and I found myself taking time to appreciate the main actors' acting at some points.

Music:
The soundtrack was beautiful and fitted the vibe of the show perfectly.

Overall:
Had there not been the issues with the ending and the characterization, I would have given this drama a 9 and maybe even a 10, but I had to drop it down to an 8 for it's faults. The show is worth the watch whether you decide to read the webtoon or not, but I would recommend reading it before watching the drama. If you give it a read before starting this show, you'll understand Yoo Jungs character much more and his relationship with Seol. If you decide to watch it after, it would be a great bonus if you like the drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Entangled
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Unfortunately, the summary above is somewhat of a spoiler. Since I had not read it, the events were quite a shock to me. This movie would best be described as a horror show. It is the unraveling of a family. The family dynamics are revealed one at a time until the final climax. It was quite unsettling and a unique watch. The acting is quite good and hauntingly realistic. Do not, however, read more expect a "feel good" movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Story in Harvard
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Often the screenwriter leaves the actors to carry the show and this is the case here. Kim Rae Won and Kim Tae Hee light up the screen with their sizzling romance. There are genuine emotions and feelings, hot, sexy kisses, and lovemaking from the onset. This is why I love some of these older dramas. You don't have to sit through 16 hours for a mere henpeck of a kiss.

If you've read more seen Sunflower, you already know the talent Kim Rae Won exhibits. And Kim Tae Hee is the wicked stepsister you love to hate in Stairway to Heaven. Then in Iris, she is the cool agent the others all vie to win over. Yes, these two are electric together.

Unfortunately, the storyline is full of holes. Kim Tae Hee as a Harvard medical student with time for 2 jobs, volunteer work, and dating is ludicrous! And poor Lee Jung Jin is reduced to a groveling, rejected, lovelorn suitor the entire drama. No normal person would hang on that long!

If you are not a romance fanatic, skip this one. If you are, you will be rewarded. This is, after all, dramaland where the story does not always have to be realistic to work.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
General and I is an overall enjoyable romance & political/military intrigue drama. Your level of enjoyment will probably depend on your expectations (so true of so many dramas) and whether you read the book. So - full disclosure - I am a viewer who only read the first 6 very short chapters to kind of get the style of the writer. If you are a fan of romance with a large dose read more of intrigue, I would give it a go but it isn't perfect so here goes:

Story Flaws:

- The foundation of the story is the epic love between the General and Bai Ping Ting, but the drama chose to give short thrift to the falling in love aspect of the story using an overused trope. I would understand this but, you know, 62 episodes so no time constraints to use as an excuse. Many people dumped the drama early on because they weren't feeling it so go in knowing you have to eventually kind of buy into these two.

- Past the middle point of the drama it spins its wheels and many found it dragging. I actually enjoyed many of these episodes but eventually I also got a little frustrated. They could have taken 5 of those episodes and put them in the first part of the drama to build the love story.

-At this same middle point, writers decided to go a certain route which was also in the book but the reasoning in the book (because commenters commented) made both leads flawed people. To me the drama threw the female character under the bus. To be fair, commenters also did indicate some aspects as relates to the General's character during this same time frame were better in the drama. I don't want spoilers so I'll leave it at that.

Production Issues:

Use of Slow Motion: Almost every single moment of emotional impact utilizes slow motion. I swear you could cut 4 hours of drama time just in using regular speed. This to me, actually lessened the impact and, oddly, the sensuality of some of the intimate scenes between the two leads. I mean there is one scene in particular that could have been so much more impactful but the use of not only slow motion but a wind machine made it super cheesy. I think they were going for super romantic and maybe it worked for some.

Angelababy's make up: I'm over expecting reality when it comes to make up in C-Dramas. You could go through heck and back and still have perfect hair and make up. But the makeup artist who decided to use a little lip stain making BPT look like she'd been sucking on a cherry lollypop or had bloody lips....well, it took me out of the drama.

Pros:

-I'm a sucker for romance, but that always means a lot of politics and such with the dramas, and often it is repetitive and simplistic. I dinged the production on the foundation of the romance, but they did a great job in handling a lot of characters and setting up the political intrigue. Also the characters weren't cookie cutter. They were flawed individuals who at times made good decisions and often bad decisions. I wish they'd actually given more nuance to the leads because I thought they were a bit too perfect. All the co-stars did a stellar job.

-The Smexy. I don't need explicit, but if we have an epic love story, I want some real looking kisses and such and show delivers. No deer in the headlights going on here.

-I have watched a lot of historicals, and this drama actually surprised me with some of the twist and turns. I love that because in so many dramas, we viewers can be steps ahead of the characters. Good job drama.

-I thought the costumes - both the armor and the dresses - were well done. Also loved the OST.

-Overall, I thought the chemistry between Wallace Chung and AB was solid. I've seen better but generally thought that around episode 15 Angelababy got comfortable. Since this was pre-produced and they might not have filmed in order, this could be because I think the material actually got better. Basically she's only as good as the material given to her. Wallace Chung certainly brings the sexy, and I think he did a good job but not outstanding which brings me to...

Misc:

....the dubbing. Maybe because I've actually heard WC's real voice, but around the halfway point, I began to really dislike the tone of the voice actor doing the dubbing. It was too soft and just not powerful enough and that really does hinder how I viewed WC's performance. I don't know why it took so long to bug me. I'm used to dubbing and this is the first time it really hindered how I viewed a performance. And, truly, I really do like Wallace Chung.


Issues Others Had:

I had no trouble with any of this but here goes: Flying action scenes...I'm used to them. Heavy use of green screen; bothered me in beginning but again, it kind of goes with the territory. Only so much $$ to spend on production.

So depending on my mood, this could be a 7.5 to 8 and since I was left with a satisfied feeling after watching the last episode, I'm going with the 8.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Blow Breeze
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Not recommended so hard...
Typically another indian drama where they had to fight in house or over money.
The stupidity level of this drama is too damn high that i regret watching this.
Even if a little good has to happen in drama they will make it so stupid that all will go over again and again... better waste your time on something else rather than this.
Thanks (no hate).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Signal
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
If you're into the crime investigation genre of drama, this is definitely one of the best. The cinematography is just amazing. The story plot was well written & all the main and supporting actors acted amazingly. The background music was well fitted into the show too. Every episode of this drama made me feel like I was watching a movie. Just remarkable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Blood
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama is one of the few dramas that i actually remember and one of the best vampire dramas in my opinion (and i've watched many vampire dramas!). The acting was really good, especially Ahn Jae Hyun, and i think the cast were amazing too. It's a shame about the ending though as I would have liked to know more about what happened. Hopefully, we might get a sequel (although it's very unlikely -_- )
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I would say that i'm satisfied enough with this drama. The thing is i have read the novel beforehand, and as a viewer i would expect this drama to be perfect with my own depiction of the leads. Dubbing almost ruins this drama, but as you go through you will get used to it. The female lead was not supposed to be that beautiful, thankfully it didn't really highlight that. While the read more male lead overcame the stereotype of my mind!

There were some parts changed compared to the novel, i found it reasonable as the drama needs to have some background story (you will know when you read the novel). I'm also half glad/half dissappointed with the mid-part. If you guys find it repetitive in the middle, that might be because they changed those part. Let me tell you that the middle part is actually the part when the female lead and the male lead really deepens their relationship in the novel. So my suggestion is to : Watch this -> Read the novel.

(FYI, i think Bai Ping Ting is little bit of masochist in the novel. That would explain in some comments why she would be willing to die so eagerly)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions