Pieta in the Toilet
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Hilariously titled, Pieta in the Toilet marks RADWIMPS frontman, Yoji Noda's acting debut. And what better debut than to work alongside rising young Japanese actress, Hana Sugisaki, who at her young age has been garnering awards including a best supporting actress at the Japan Academy Awards.

Pieta in the Toilet is a mix of arthouse feature and an indie flick. Daishi Matsunaga crafts a beautifully poignant film that feels very raw and read more honest. He does this with simplicity. Forget dramatic sun flares or slow motions, the use of sound, dialogue and camera work makes the emotions overflow.

Noda and Sugisaki have an interesting dynamic much like their respective characters—a struggling painter and an angst-ridden teenager. In them, an unusual friendship forms. It's actually such a treat to see these two interact. Noda embodies a just-get-by character, soft spoken and at times, even delicate and Sugisaki counters that. Loud, headstrong and jarring, she delivers with such fluidity, it's lovely to watch her on screen.

Pieta in the Toilet doesn't patronize. In fact, it doesn't try too hard given its somewhat melodramatic plot. Instead, its characters are the highlight. I would have just probably wanted for the characters to be fleshed out more. And instead of speaking between the lines, it's much more better to be direct. I feel like that part leaves too much blanks to feel.

But nevertheless, the cinematography is to love. And the overall aesthetic and colors are very flat—embodying the film's very characters. Powerful ending.

To those who don't understand the title and say it has nothing to do with the film. Actually, it does. Especially in the final moments.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mother
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
South Korean heartthrob, Won Bin and Kim Hye-ja, typecast as an archetypal mother figure star in this mystery-thriller drama. While its premise sets it up as a typical find-the-killer, the film focuses more on the dynamics of Bin and Kim’s complicated mother-son relationship.

Kim Hye-ja displays a reverse Oedipus complex, protective of her son. Bong's attention to detail is prevalent, using Kim's acupuncture needles as symbolism for males' genitals to reserve the read more male-female role. Do joon (Won Bin) also highlights a complicated male-female relationship when the murdered girl questions his masculinity, resembling when his friend questions if he has even been with a woman and replies in an outburst.

Much more daring in its use of violence compared to Bong’s similar films like Memories of Murder, Bong’s signature dark aesthetics and gritty tones is a plus in the film’s overall mood. Brutally endearing and heartfelt performances fill this feature.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pink and Gray
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Isao Yukisada made a cameo in his own film. He even had a line. Japanese idol turned writer, Shigeaki Kato who wrote the novel this film is based on as well. To describe Pink in Gray would be: a film within a film.

I really love Yukisada's use of light, color and tone here. And to me, that has always been a strength of his since serving as assistant director in April read more Story, Love Letter and Swallowtail Butterfly (yes, Shunji Iwai's films; hence, the similarity between the two's use of light and color).

Another signature of his is using timelines. He subtly uses that here too. He shows how characters develop, their experiences and how these changes them is a signature. Seeing that Pink and Gray is an adaptation from a novel, which bears similarity to his previous films as well. And finally, Yukisada likes to incorporate love and friendship in his narratives and make them focal points for his characters to develop. That is inevitably true here as well.

Needless to say, Yukisada stays true to his style. But also brings something new to the table. Here, the mystery element is something new. And say, even until the end, it's still mysterious. Not everything is answered. It's very...open-ended. His films to me, have a soft side to them and while the friendship aspect here is that, there's also this desire for answers. The second half of the film also has a daring decision he takes as a director. Is it effective? I think it depends on your cup of tea. It has a purpose to the overall story but it's metaphorical that in a way...seems unnecessary as well.

Perhaps applaud also goes to the great young actors here. Yuto Nakajima, an idol from Hey! Say! JUMP! and the film serves as his feature debut. It's easy to compare it to his co-star, Masaki Suda, a versatile actor with many features under his belt. But Nakajima shines as his own, playing dual characters with clarity: one being a pretty-face docile character and the other a more assertive one.

But since I have a personal bias towards Masaki Suda, my love still personally goes to him. Playing Riba-chan, an angry and even dark misfit is a role not foreign to Suda. In fact, roles like this are his best. Baring a charismatic and attractive demeanour, he also plays Naruse very well. That laugh while blood pours from his mouth is haunting. Kaho is very much the same. Playing a timid, quiet girl at first and then transforming to a seductive heiress. Love the addition of Yuya Yagira here too.

Besides the use of light, color and tone, I think that the score also makes the film feel much more sentimental. I really love how Yukisada played with the narrative here without dropping any hints whatsoever, the twist/reveal at the end makes it so much more satisfying.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is a pretty good movie,although not very popular here on mydramalist.It's super funny,about school life and how the students cheat on tests in the most hilarious and creative way possible LOL.It's a good watch if you're having a bad day
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Beautiful Gong Shim
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is an example of "if it ain't broken, then why bother fixing?" Looking at you, storyline!

Super predictable plot, yet well executed, if all you are expecting is a cute rom-com. The rom-com moments had me laughing and smiling. Featuring a super adorable couple, you are rooting for them every step of the way. Great chemistry between the two main leads.

Namgoong Min is, of course, the MVP of the show. read more Ahn Dan Tae was a very well written character, and Min pulled off the character perfectly with his comedic acting. A little bit of swagger, a lot of heart and empathy. Gong Shim was also the perfectly written female lead. She's sweet, capable, and bold. Even though she has insecurities, she doesn't let her past hold her down and she pursues her dreams with vigor.

I almost didn't watch this because of Gong Mi's character, which is super annoying. She had no redeeming qualities, which is a waste on the writers' part. Joon Soo was a forgettable character, but thankfully his character did develop throughout the course of the drama.

Some other highlights beyond the adorable lead couple (they are seriously goals!), are: bromantic moments between the ahjusshis, great OST and sound effects, hilarious daydreams, and fun outfits worn by the cast.

I have mixed feelings on whether I liked the pace of the drama or not. On one hand, it dragged, especially towards the end. On the other hand, I loved all of the slice of life, fun moments from the main couple, which we were only able to see and enjoy because the drama is 20 episodes instead of 16.

All in all, don't have high expectations, and you will be pleasantly surprised and be able to fully enjoy this fun and lighthearted rom-com!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Leh Lub Salub Rarng
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
After a few times watching Thailand drama series I became in love and hooked. This drama series I accidentally found it and it turns out all the top Thai actor / actress, Nadech Kugimiya one of my favorite actors. Yaya Urassaya, the first time I saw her, and she was beautiful. There's also Ice Preechaya, I've seen when playing in the ATM Error (movie) and ATM Error 2 (drama series). Not to read more miss Tor Thanapob, first saw him in Hormones The Series I immediately liked him. 4 big names of Thai stars make this drama worthy of being one of the dramas to be recommended to watch.

Story
For the story, I think this is not a remake drama from Korea. The idea of ??the story taken is very unique about the exchange of body or soul caused by the karma they brought from their previous life (red: renarnation). Combined with the sparkling life of a famous Thai actress who is a bad-tempered idol, as well as the life of a police officer from a special unit who works to eradicate all sorts of crimes, one is the drug problem. I think this drama gives us a lot of lessons, raising current issues in society. At the end of the episode (red: episode 10) there is a pretty deep quotes that is "Does not matter what gender we are but to have someone who loves us, understands the way that we are, and ready to stay besaide us forever is enough". In addition we are also exposed from the exchange events of the bodies of Captain Ramin and Petra, that men or women have their respective obligations and rights. We must also respect them (if we are men, we should respect a woman who has sensitive thoughts and senses, and how not to wear them during menstruation and during childbirth, men should respect women and love them, and stop being a womanizer. And also if we women we should also respect men, understand their feelings and when men work we should appreciate what the job is, do not be childish, and another one, if we are a woman and want to cook for our spouse we must be true knowing our own capacity, whether our dishes are really good to eat or not, ex: when Petra cooks for Capt. Ramin and it turns out the food is bad, but because Capt. Ramin loves Petra, he still eats it.)

Act / Cats
For casts, this drama presents the top Thai actors / actresses (Especially for fans of Nadech Kugimiya.) For acting, this drama makes the audience feel up and down. First I was very happy to see Nadech and Yaya acting together as man and woman. But at once it made me feel a little strange when I saw Nadeh had to be a woman and Yaya became a man. When I've started to be comfortable with Nadech's role as a woman and Yaya as a man, this drama gets them into their original role (red: according to gender). And immediately re-exchanged their roles again. Make my feelings stir up. But, I'm also really amazed with Nadech is very good to play the figure of a woman (red: Petra). He acts very natural, although at the beginning when he became Petra I feel a little funny and keep laughing and a little bit weird. But Nadech proves that he is indeed a top Thai actor and can play any role. Ten fingers for Nadech's acting. For Yaya, it was the first time I saw her acting, and it turned out her acting was really good with her extraordinary beauty. Yaya's acting is also very natural, as well as when I see Nadech role as a woman I also feel a little strange when seeing Yaya role as a man (red: Capt. Ramin). Yaya can fight and use the rifle pretty well. Ten fingers for acting Yaya. And at the end of the episode I was made laughing when they swapped bodies again and it turns out that Petra is pregnant and who feels the pregnancy is Capt. Ramin and who felt the pain of giving birth. For acting Ice Preechaya as a gentle woman and very warm, successfully brought good. Different with the last time I saw her in the ATM Error 2 which acts as an independent woman. Tor Thanapob also quite succeeds in playing a good friend and junior, and at the same time being a fellow in love with his fiancé's best friend and senior.

Music
For music, this drama presents good backsong and is nice to hear.

Rewatch
To be honest I do not like the drama long enough but Leh Lub Salub Rarng presents a nice and entertaining spectacle. Make this drama worth a re-watch, but you should really prepare a lot of free time :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nana and Kaoru
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Although I think the idea of anime-manga screening is generally excellent. This was a bit of a bite for these actors!There were great moments, but it's simply not possible to make such a title with second-class actors. And if Tochihara Rakuto has a solid performance, he is totally shaded by a nice but empty NN main actress.
The story is not bad if you are in fetish, and in this case late read more teenagers are in an extremely innocent but sincere interest in SM. It is necessary to be open to look at this topic from several angles.
Personally, this is really a great story, but acting of main actress has bothered me the most, and turned the story off, and brought it in a bizarre kind of way!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This is the drama that made me fall in love with Lee Joon-Gi. His acting was remarkable. Without him, I honestly think the drama wouldn't have succeeded! If you love drama, tragedy and a lot of romance.. I recommend this!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
School 2017
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is the latest entry in the long running School series. (Each "season" is a stand alone season, new casts, new storylines, so not quite one would expect if one is mostly familiar with how American television series' work.) It carries all the hallmarks I've come to expect of school dramas - young adult romance, poor vs. rich struggles, bullying, corrupt administration, strained bromance, friendship struggles, etc. School 2017 does them all read more admirably well. The corruption in the school administration is over the top and horrifying disheartening. The young cast is enthusiastic and enjoyable to watch. Kim Jung Hyun (who I liked very much in Jealousy Incarnate) plays Hyun Tae Woon, the angry son of the school's chairman. Kim Se Jung plays Ra Eun Ho, the poor but plucky (aren't they always plucky?) aspiring webtoon artist who ends up being the target of the corrupt administration as the scapegoat for various things going on around the school. The extended cast does a good job selling the trials, tribulations, and triumphs of young friendship. You'll hate the rich, privileged parents who are all too happy to game the system for the advantage of their children only. You'll love the friendship and trust many of the students find which changes them for the better. I loved that there really wasn't a love triangle in this one, and the relationship between the two main characters is adorable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Very rarely do you find such long dramas with such heart-wrenching and sensitive topics that makes you warm and fuzzy and then kills you with laughter. I personally avoid long dramas even if they're comedy because if there are boring characters, at some point they tend to go slow and annoying (something that happened with The gentlemen of Wolghyesu tailor shop. Yes i finished it but it was a long journey). I read more started this after Song Joong Ki recommended it and said he was enjoying it. :D And boy he was not wrong.... I actually was glued to the drama and finished it within a week avoiding the regular shows i was watching.

If you're looking for the perfect rom-com to binge watch and are still skeptical about if or not you should then don't think much because you've found the right one to torture yourself with because you're in for a ride on the roller coaster of emotions!!! GO WATCH IT NOW!!!

Genre : Rom-com, Family, Slice of life

Story : Giving out the start of the story, a high end ex-idol/actor (he convinces us that he is a bad emotionless actor)decides to look for his father who abandoned him. The gentle father takes him in and the family goes through a lot of ups and downs but there is a twist. The elder daughter is a bad-ass you'd love to hate. The Son is unemployed and is preparing for the civil services examinations. The second daughter is a sweet little thing. And the maknae is a feisty bad girl with a good personality. The other characters that you have to get prepared for are the pd-ex of the elder daughter (He sets really unrealistic standards of men and you'd have to be really careful trying to not fall for him) and of course the mother.
It's amazing how each character is perfectly matched and well developed and gives out an almost dreamlike yet realistic feel to it. The more you watch it, the more you realise how you're going to miss the family badly when this ends. Unnecessary hindrances and evil characters are avoided and i can't believe but at some point i actually felt attached to the tortoise....

Acting : Special mentions to Lee Yoo Ri and Ryu Soo Young for giving us unrealistic goals. The chemistry hit right on spot and you start missing them more than the Jung So Min and Lee Joon. I don't think i have to say anything about the elder actors because they prove their experience and wit all through the show. The chemistry between Lee Joon And Jung So min lacked a little (personally i would say the other couples were way too perfect) but i wouldn't judge them. Lee joon's almost point on acting impressed me completely. I guess i will be following from now on.

Will I watch it again? May be if i miss the characters but honestly it was way too long.
Will I recommend it to anyone? Yeah i do. If you still have doubts, whadahell just try the first episode.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hiyokko
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
The opening is already a show apart.
"Hiyokko" is a drama that speaks of a rural Japan in the Olympic age of 64. A drama that adds cultural values to a story rich in details told by an acting cast aided by a beautiful soundtrack and flawless cinematography. Instead of having complex and fanciful themes, "Hiyokko" stands out for its simple and classic history with a focus on everyday life. As it read more says: Happiness is in the simple things of life. Good Drama!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Legend of the Naga Pearls
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
With a lot of censorship and editing, "Legend of the Naga Pearls" was not a well-planned film, it lacks imagination, yet it held firm to a reasonable adventure in a complete storyline and logic like lots of action, good CGI special effects as well as cinematography . The performance is striking and well synchronized, the soundtrack is fine and synchronized with the whole context. I will not recommend it because it is read more a long and flawed movie in terms of fun.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Haruta & Chika
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
A common film and a paradox, the highlight is the protagonists, the perseverance that the protagonists exhibit in pursuit of their individual or group goals, and a bit of the melodramatic demonstrated in the story are the final warm-up triumph of this film.
Masahide Ichii "Bring on the Melody!" It is among the most recent in this sub-genre. Based on a series of Sei Hatsuno teenage mystery novels that have already released read more a manga and TV anime, the film begins naively formic.
The film largely rules out the mysterious plots of soap operas, but focuses directly on a universal truth: being a high school hero, one who makes the big play in the field or hits the high note in the big concert, typical of anime, and manga, it looks wonderful in the abstract, but it can be scary at the moment if you watch yourself and put it into practice. A film that lacks life.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Moonhunter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The film is divided into two stories. One is the student revolt of October 1973 and the other is the personal history of Seksan, one of the student leaders, in the years 1974-1980. Technically speaking it is interesting to parallelize the two stories and leads to a very interesting ending question ...
The film is more about communism. After 1973, many students fled to Laos and or northern Thailand to organize an read more armed revolution, which are portrayed very well by the narrative and cast. In the end the film schedules an exact one remaining a little diffuse, but this really helps the movie because it allows more viewers to sympathize with it. A movie that is worth looking at.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Me If You Dare
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This was my first Chinese drama. I had been reluctant to watch them mainly because of the dubbing that drives me crazy, but thankfully was not present in this show. I decided to jump in after watching a clip online that intrigued me. I was immediately hooked on the characters, and I thought the cinematography was nicely done, as well as the music. There was a slow burn on the romance that read more built up steadily until a little over halfway through the show.

Jian Yao started off as a smart, independent female that was in control of her life. Bo Jin Yan was this enigmatic man whose cold exterior was gradually warming up to Jian Yao and drawing closer to her. I enjoyed the episodic cases they solved together and the growth of Jian Yao as Bo Jin Yan's protégé in criminal profiling, not to mention the blossoming of their feelings toward one another. There was some quiet humor in there as well that I enjoyed immensely. But in the end Jian Yao was just a damsel in distress, and Bo Jin Yan was running away to "catch the bad guy" immediately after telling her he'd be with her "24/7" -- more than once. She was left out of the loop completely.

So....why the 6.5 rating you say? Well, that's because the last 1/4 of the show, the story, once it moved from China to America, went downhill in flames for me. I raced to the finish of this show expecting things to get back on track, but they never did. It was almost as if they changed writers because the whole tone of the show changed completely. Jian Yao and Bo Jin Yan were hardly in a scene together afterwards, and their dynamic changed as well. The chemistry and romance was lost as they pursued "one" big bad villain. The plot got too twisted and convoluted. The actors playing the Americans were atrocious. The stilted speech was one thing, but there were several goofs as well. One text was sent out - with a misspelling of "steel" instead of the word "steal" that was meant....but on the receiving end, the text was completely different than what was sent out. The actors playing the Americans had a few flubs in their delivery of lines, as well as changing the names of the other characters a few times. There were a few that also could not hold their American accents. It was horribly distracting. Also, the Americans would speak in English, and the Chinese would reply in Chinese. This seemed very unrealistic, as how many Americans are fluent in Mandarin? And apparently New York police officers really need to wear their bulletproof vests. Yikes!
The 7.5 score for acting goes entirely to the Chinese cast in this case, points deducted for the "Americans". (Edited to add: Although, I do realize that English speakers are NOT the target audience, I hope that this information is helpful for those that it would make a difference to.)

Poor Jian Yao and Bo Jin Yan were almost completely different characters by the end of this show. Not the same one I was captivated by in the beginning. That disappointed me a lot and the only reason this is getting a 6.5 is for all the scenes in China. I feel bad hating on a show that most seemed to really love, but there it is. They could have fleshed out the story and the characters better if they had stayed put and continued in the direction they started. The switchover to New York also had the undesired outcome of not completing the setup they started in China. Many things were dropped and not explained.

Despite my utter letdown in the ending of this show, Huo Wallace has gained a new fan in me. I hope to one day see him act in something that will "wow" me like the start of this did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No