Angry Mom (2015) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.4 (scored by 9,067 users)
  • Ranked: #435
  • Popularity: #143
  • Watchers: 17,357

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

23 edits
20 edits
18 edits
16 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
purplenette
82 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Honestly, when I read the synopsis of a mother that goes to high school, I thought this was going to be ridiculous and the story would be a comedy. I was absolutely wrong. Angry Mom is intense and takes a look at the darker side of human kind. It brings to light truths of school bullying and corruption under the exaggeration of a drama. The writer did a great job intertwining the lives of the characters and their individual stories while making each character necessary and building excellent character development. One angry mother starts a sequence of events to shine a light on the problems that every one else tries to ignore and/or cover up until she has rallied the help of teachers and other mothers alike. The best part is that the lead female character is strong while being emotional and conflicted on how to help her child. I absolutely love strong female leads.

Kim Hee Sun is perfect as loving and protective mom Jo Kang Ja as well as teenage friend Jo Bang Wool. I can't say enough about her acting. All of the actors were great from the young to the veteran actors. Regardless of Ji Soo's good looks, that boy can act. His emotional versatility as Go Bok Dong will take him a long way in the future. I look forward to seeing more of him. Kim Tae Hoon makes it easy and strangely sad to hate Do Jeong Woo. The person I felt the most conflict for was Kim Hee Won as Ahn Dong Chil. I wasn't sure what to think of him until the very end. I'm so glad the writer clears every thing up with him. His character was the link that held the story together. Besides the female lead, my favorite character is Go Su Hee as the quirky and totally lovable and ultimate best friend, Han Gong Joo. I adore her!!! I think the weak link is surprisingly Ji Hyun Woo as Park Noh Ah although I will say as the drama went on he got better. It may have been his character being that he seemed naive and weak that became stronger while remaining nice.

The music is really good.

I will probably rewatch this at some point.

I recommend this drama to everyone. It is really well written and acted,

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DreamingKoreanBallad
59 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I thoroughly enjoyed this drama from beginning to end. You might go into this thinking it's just another 'school' drama with teens bullying teens and what-not but it's not I promise you - this show had an equally dark side balanced so well with comedy - I applaud the writer & directors and everyone who made it possible! A school filled with corruption and head haunches greedy for power and money - we see how low they can go just for power. Kids lives get entangled in this mess and with Jo Kang Ja's help learn how to climb out of "hell".

Kim Hee Sun rocked as a high-schooler believe it or not, I was surprised how good she looked in a high-school uniform. She was great at portraying a mother determined to protect her daughter, although a little naïve in the beginning her character grew throughout the drama. Even though she was a mother she matched so well with one high-schooler I couldn't help but ship them whenever they were together. and watching her fight with people was a plus.
Kim Yoo Jung as Oh Ah Ran was great a playing a teenager scared of the people that threatened her and her moms safety. I loved her moments with Hong Sang Tae played by B1A4's Baro - she melted his heart of ice.
Ji Soo as Go Bok Dong - this guy literally stole the show, not to mention my heart too <3 Every scene he was in was beautiful, dark, emotional, heartbreaking and brilliant! His damaged heart at the start of the drama was beautifully mended throughout the drama, with the warm touch of people who cared for him and those he cared for - his tears were wiped away <3 He was my favorite out of all the characters on this drama and the main reason for my checking in diligently every week! You'll fall in love with him too as you watch this drama.
Ji Hyun Woo as Park No Ah (whenever I say/hear his name I can't help but laugh a little inside "No Ah = Noah - the ark) anyways lol - I honestly can't think of any other actor who would pull off a naïve, sincere, honest, and "greatest fool" (quoting the drama words) "in the world." than he himself. I honestly got annoyed by his naivety in the beginning of the drama but it eventually ended up being his charm "after his eyes were opened". His fight to protect "his kids" was precious. & I enjoyed watching it.
Baro played a character who was caught in the prison of his dad's rules - Kim Yoo Jung tries to pull him out.
All the villains, supporting cast, guest stars were great.

The OST might not be up everyone's alley but it sure was right up mine! Most of the songs have a jazzy feel to them and are in half English/Korean - I loved each and every song! "Angry Mom" by Lee Juhan, "Sunny Side Up" by Ashbun, "Happy Magic" by Lee Hyun Woo, "Crying, Crying, Crying/I Love You, I'm Sorry" by ALi, & "Teleport Me" by Aberdeen Orange.

I would definitely re-watch this sometime in the near future and I highly recommend it^^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
palak
19 people found this review helpful
Aug 14, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I am an idiot. I remember loving the trailer of this show and the whole idea of a mom coming to school was so refreshing. But the first episode had such serious themes and I realized that there won't be much romance between the main cast (Bang Wool being married and everything), I never picked it up. But a few days back I was watching these funny videos on YouTube (Asian Drama On Crack I think) and they had so many funny moments from Angry mom (my favorite in the whole compilation even though I hadn't even watched the show!) I was literally compelled to pick this show again.

The plot is perfect. It won some kind MBC scenario award and while I don't know that is exactly, I can vouch that the script fully deserved it. The plot dealt with various school related issues and a lot more. It was so refreshing and hilarious. It never became stale even during the second half of the show (something that happens quite often) and just kept getting better and better. There was no romance but there were ships that didn't exactly sink (which was a huge surprise). This show has set a trend with shows like "Make A Woman Cry" and now "Second Time Twenty Years Old" coming up with similar situation.

The characters were wonderful. I have watched Kim Hee Sun in Faith and while I liked her there, this is where I fell in love with her. She was effortless! Park No Ah's character has received some criticism for being incompetent and useless. But he was somebody I could relate to. We're both "greenhouse kids" who refuse to see the harsh realities of the world but we're both trying to come out at our own pace. Kang Ja's friend Gong Joo and her minions were so awesome. I loved the guys' wigs. Bok Dong was my favorite. He was so cute when he fell for Kang Ja and the times he was like "Don't touch my body" XD Baro's character was completely in contrast with with his previous role in Reply 1994. But he was flawless here and those glasses really helped him look more like a bully (lol). Yoo Jung was her best as usual. She's a wonderful actress who keeps getting better and better. Rest of the negative characters and the supporting characters were great. The one negative character that stood out for me was Chairman Hong. After watching him as a funny character in Protect The Boss, it is really hard to see him do roles like this. He is an abusive person who gets a kick from hitting women. But the actor is versatile. Kudos to him.

The music is different from the typical OST and I absolutely loved it. People who loved shows like School 2013 and 2015 should definitely watch this. It's your thing. And if you're a drama addict in general and have enough time, you would breeze through this show in a couple of days without skipping stuff. That's the addiction level of this show. I'm so glad I watched this!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Becca
11 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
There appears to be an increasing trend of revealing corruption and darkness in dramas these days that is oddly refreshing and yet, heartbreakingly realistic. Angry Mom, despite its amusing logo and happy promotional poster, is definitely not for the faint hearted. The story is intense, and it had me eager to watch each episode the second it was released every week.

The story is heavily focused on the influence of political corruption on familial relationships and high school life. Hardly surprising from a show called 'Angry Mom' because the drama is very much about anger and the intense emotions and conflicts of being a mother. The drama is by no means 'realistic' - you have to watch with this in mind, things are of course going to be exaggerated for dramatic value but nonetheless, there are little hints of truth in everything.
But be not afeared, it's not all doom and gloom, the writer is absolutely brilliant at weaving in comic relief. I lived for those hilarious moments among the darkness that seemed to envelope every character. The thing that struck me the most when watching the drama was the character progressions. Each main and significant secondary character had their moment to shine and develop. This is simply not a one-woman show about a mock-heroic attempt to enact justice on behalf of the weak and unrepresented. It is a drama about developing awareness and tackling the problems head on with others. Problems simply do not go away if you do nothing about them, and it is up to you to make a difference - but also, the fight is not a lonely one. It is all about creating honest relationships, maintaining them, and working together to achieve the ultimate goal. This drama is filled with poetic and moral messages that make you realise that this was very much a writers piece. The directing was also great, but for me, the writing was just the star of the show.

The cast were also perfect for this drama. I have never seen Kim Hee Sun act before but my god, she can act. Her portrayal of this loving mother with a troubled past trying to protect her daughter was just so brilliant to watch - and you just can't help but love a strong female lead. She has shown so much versatility with her emotions that I cannot help but admire her and look forward to her next project. All the other cast members - villains and all - were all very well acted and I have nothing but praise. When an actor makes me hate a villain with great intensity, it means that they're doing a pretty darn good job at acting convincingly. I cannot write this without mentioning our breakout star Ji Soo, I don't think I know anyone who dislikes Go Bok Dong. He was a bad guy with a soft heart and I think everyone will have a soft spot for him. This was a wonderful breakout project for Ji Soo and it clearly displayed his potential. There are so many others who I want to mention and praise, but I think the one who left the strongest impression on me was Kim Hee Won - Ahn Dong Chil. I could never get myself to hate his character, and boy, Hee Won was perfect for Ahn Dong Chil. He begun as such a complex character and it was a real treat to see him unravel and in some ways, peel off the hardened layer bit by bit to see what he was truly like. I cannot go on without spoiling so I will leave it at that.

As much as I want to give this a perfect 10 just for sheer enjoyment and roller coaster ride over the past 8 weeks or so, I felt like it just missed the mark. I set the rewatch value slightly lower because I don't think I can handle watching this again because some aspects of the drama just make you angry. It's not about the execution of the drama itself, but the cruelness of reality really kicks in at times. But saying that, I will always be happy to skim over to the fun, adorable, and out-right hilarious moments for sure :)

Overall, I am very happy with how this drama went. I definitely recommend it because it provides a lot of food for thought for how we should view life and our experiences that will definitely be worth considering!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nelly
10 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
OVERALL
Watch if you're looking for a drama with a good social critique but don't want to give up on comedy. Keep it for later if you're craving to see love stories.

THE STORY
Like many people, I started watching Angry Mom with a preconceived idea of what the show should be about – 50% comedy, 30% real/serious stuff, 20% romance. Angry Mom turned out to be far from my expectations – 60% real/serious stuff, 25% comedy, 5% romance – but I’m very far from disappointed. Yes, I can’t lie, I’m sad there was no love story for Kang Ja (the mom), because I think she deserved it and there was room for it in the story. But the drama is an extremely well-thought social critique of the Korean educational environment, with well-written, complex characters who, for the most part, evolve throughout the story, and relationships that evolve as well. There’s tragedy, there’s comedy, there’s suspense and a touch of action; all genres mashed up naturally so nothing feels forced. Most importantly, there’s hope. Angry Mom’s message is that we can against corruption and bullying, so we should fight against it.

THE ACTING
Great. Everyone was just great. I love Kim Yoojung and Kim Heesun, and Ji Hyun Woo is in my to-stalk list since Queen In Hyun’s man, so no surprise there. The villains, all good actors I already respected, no surprise there. But Ji Soo is a surprise, and one I’ll be stalking too. Even Baro and Lizzy were quite good. I liked them all!

THE MUSIC
Some people complained throughout the drama that the music was weird and did not fit with the story. I disagree. Or I agree, sometimes music and scenes were “mismatched” when we compare this drama to others, but it was clearly intentional, and I found it rather innovative and refreshing. I don’t need overly dramatic music in times of action or suspense, and sometimes I found that the music was a good indicator of what characters were feeling or of what would happen in the future. So…I liked!

REWATCH VALUE
Definitely high.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Zoe
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 14, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Angry Mom is seriously a very fierce show but the kind that's so compelling because you don't know where it's going to go or what the characters are going to do next or what line the drama is going to cross. Yes, it's stressful, particularly the first few episodes when I wasn't sure if I was going to like it and stick with it. But by episode 3, with the dynamics and the premise set up, I knew I was going to enjoy it.
I was a little nervous starting this one having heard of violence and intense bullying. I guess you could say I have a weak stomach. But as always, when Kdramas pick a topic, they dig into it and explore it and twist it upside down and analyse it under a microscope.
I found Ah Ran pretty annoying throughout the drama although she has the cutest smile. Even after finishing it, I'm not exactly clear why Ah Ran was acting so mean towards her mother.
Plot-wise, it's actually quite slow. But the slightest development in the drama made me sit up and pay attention. This happened again and again. By the halfway mark, I was wondering what would be the next thing that would capture my interest and all the drama had to do was rearrange the seating plan in the class and bang, I was back on board. Haha.
If this was a book, I think I would be really depressed. There are a lot of bad things that happen but it's like I didn't realise it until I sat back to count them up. The main characters throughout the drama are continuously banging their heads against a brick wall. It's fail after fail so it's unusual for me to be able to be able to stick with the drama and actually appreciate it.

Kang Ja
I knew I was in good hands with this heroine. Her school days were equally as violent but she was the one dishing it. She was quite the legend. The contrast of the sweet and naive mother with Kang Ja's actual personality is really interesting. Ah Ran is the one person who can walk all over Kang Ja. But it's also great how being a mother is part of Kang Ja's personality too. She's bossy and empathetic and wants to look after everyone.
I think the fun part about this is that there's a lot of maturity to this heroine that is lacking in the other characters because she's twice their age. And she understands where they are coming from even though they might present with a false front to appear cool or to remain in the school hierarchy.
When Kang Ja's secrets starts spilling out I like that she doesn't make any apologies. She believes in what she's doing.

Go Bok Dong
I liked him from the start. He's a forced baby gang member and he owns it with his whole tone, language and body demeanour. He's like, really vicious. But most of the time it's his attempt to steer people clear of danger. His actions speak much louder than his words.
I was so tickled pink when he was worried that Jo Kang was ruining her life. It was the sweetest thing ever.
When it comes to romance, Bok Dong has zero swag.
Go Bok Dong really broke my heart actually.
I've never felt so sorry for a character.
He really gets the short end of the stick.
Some of his most emotional moments, are really quite comical and yet it's so important to him I felt doubly bad all at once even while I was laughing.
The actor Ji Soo is really amazing. I was so convinced of his adolescence. His portrayal of a teenage boy unable to deal with letting his heart feel and the way it comes bursting out at random moments is brilliant.
My favourite moments were when he was being scary. He uses his face so effectively to convey his vehemence. He is also really good at crying.

No Ah
He's such a harmless and gentle teacher. I get a big kick out of seeing him scandalised by the other side of the tracks. As his dad says, “You were beaten as a kid and now you're a teacher you're still getting beat up by the other students.”
Of course he has a big heart but generally I was scoffing at his ineptness. He fails miserably at cracking the kid code. But he perseveres. And when his kindness shines through at some moments of the drama, it's very touching.

Hong Sang Tae
This kid seems like a predictable character but he was full of surprises as the spoiled poor little rich boy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mitta
7 people found this review helpful
May 10, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
When I first read about this drama, I was lukewarm towards it. High school drama, bullying and a mother cross dressing as a high schooler? How can they pull it off? But the story had enough substance and promise of a backdrop romantic theme so it intrigued me. Two episodes in, the reasons I was drawn to it went out the window. And that reason is Kim Hee Sun.

Kim Hee Sun is a gem! I have not seen any of her work prior to this and was thoroughly impressed. Not sure how many actresses can seamlessly transform from an overprotective mom to high school kick ass heroine and make it believable. Her stellar performance was supported by superb casting all way round. No one seemed to be out of character which is a huge credit to the production for the coherent ensemble.

The mother daughter chemistry had the right amount of banter and sappy moments. There were a few tear jerker scenes which any mother with a teenage daughter would understand and cherish.

The family dynamic was also superbly done and not over the top. The kdrama staple of the evil mother in law plot device and undeserving husband get a nice twist; very pleasant surprise here.

All other protagonists were equally stellar. Kim Yoo Jung as Ah Ran was both strong and vulnerable; wanting to protect the people she love against the evil force but at the same time feeling lost and powerless.

Ji Soo is clearly the new heartthrob but as other reviewers have said, he can act and is not just a pretty face. His portrayal as the lovesick teenager was endearing. His struggles between wanting to protect Bang Wol and wanting to hate her guts were masterfully acted.

Kim Hee Won must be a pro at playing the villain. I saw him in Misaeng and he made me cringe and he successfully delivered here too. His Ahn Dong Chil character was a conflicted one and the writer did a phenomenal job bringing out his humanistic side in an explainable and meaningful manner.

At first I was afraid Princess Han and her minions would make me cringe at their shenanigans but again, this show proved me wrong. Go Su Hee as Han Gong Joo was the perfect fit as Kang Ja’s best friend and confidante and her role was pivotal to the story.

Ji Hyun Woo as Park No Ah did his part but he definitely was not the standout as the top male lead. Perhaps the writer did not give his character enough substance or others simply outshone him. Same goes for Kim Tae Hoon as the ultimate villain Do Jeong Woo. He did make it easy for us to hate him.

As with any kdrama, there are always exaggerations, over-dramatizations and loopholes but these were easy to overlook and forgiven. For example the characterization of the vice principal for an elite high school a tad unrealistic? Not a big deal.

Overall, the pace was excellent; the layers were revealed in appropriate dosages keeping the audience interested without frustrating them. In spite of its dark subject matter depicting many gritty, dirty humanity, it has brilliance of light hearted humour nicely woven into key moments. The level of suspense and cliffhangers, typical of dramas, were not out of place and tastefully executed.

The music did its part by blending in seamlessly and making the scenes impactful but I wouldn’t say they were memorable. It was not the star but accomplished its feat.

Angry Mom is a highly, highly recommended watch for first timers. But for someone like me who loves sappy romantic moments, I will probably not re-watch it again for nostalgic reason but will happily re-watch with friends and families for none other than social reasons.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 10, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Not what you would expect from a drama that has main story a mom who goes back to school. Actually, the whole silly comedy that one would have expected is easily dashed out by the first episode that is a shocking bullying themed episode full of drama. The first half of the drama, actually, exploits that theme, until the politics kick in. And sure, the whole corruption theme is entertaining, but not something that you haven't seen before. Still, it was okay, with the performances excelling in every way by every one. Finally, I have to point out the egg thing. There were several scenes with eggs breaking or falling and crushing on the ground. I don't really know what was the meaning behind it but they just kept showing it. So, 7 out of 10. PS Seems like Jisoo will never break his second lead curse ...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Naksken
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 10, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
At first I was really sceptical about this premise of this drama. What a silly idea: a mom whose daughter is being bullied dresses as a teenager and enrols in school to get to the bottom of it. And as young as Kim Hee Sun looks, no one could possibly mistake her as a teenager. But quite often when we watch dramas there's some kind of disbelief that we have to suspend. In "I can hear your voice" it's that the lead can hear your thoughts if he can see your eyes and there are plenty of other examples.

I decided to watch because I have no problem suspending disbelief and I'm a huge Kim Hee Sun fan, I think she's brilliant and this drama is no exception. She has no business being THAT good at acting like a teenager - she's amazing and believable.

The story is great, complex, fast moving for the most part and entirely believable. It's a bit slow in a few episodes in the middle, but that doesn't ruin anything. It tackles big issues like corruption, and high school bullying well and with feeling.

All the acting was fabulous, everyone did a great job with complex and interesting characters. There was great personal development from everyone. Almost all the characters were likeable and by the end even some of the bad guys had my sympathy and i'm sure much of this was due to the brilliant performances put in as well as the well written characters.

Watching Ji Hyun Woo play bumbling, ultra caring, teacher Park Noh Ah grow a backbone was so satisfying. He was such a great character played so well. Kim Yoo Jung as Oh Ah Ran and Ji Soo as Go Bok Dong were both brilliant. These are two young actors I'll follow closely. Both of their performances were nuanced and believable. Kim Hee Won as gangster Ahn Dong Chil was so wonderful, my feelings towards him changed slowly as he changed as a character, it really was an excellent performance. The standout, of course, was Kim Hee Sun. I really love how expressive she is without huge gestures, no screaming, over the top crying which is all too common for Korean "mom" actresses. I felt her pain when she hurt, I felt her exhilaration. I thought she was fantastic.

All of the side characters were really well built characters and all of the actors put in good work to bring them to life. Han Gong Joo and her two stooges, and secretary Joo Ae Yeon had interesting stories, brilliantly portrayed

Where this drama loses points is the same place most dramas lose points for me. An over-played, too evil bad guy (or two). I just can't believe their motivations because they're too bad. It happens so often and I'm so tired of it. In this drama it's extra jarring because all the other characters are so good, and all the other acting is wonderful. I wish writers would stop writing bad guys like this and hiring such bad actors to portray them.

The music was used well in the right context.

I think rewatch value for this is quite low, I can't imagine watching it again now that I know the resolution and have watched the plot play out.

I highly recommend this drama. The story is solid, the acting is excellent. If you haven't already, give it a go.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
akisame
5 people found this review helpful
Jul 10, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
I don't mind suspending disbelief as long as a drama can convince me that the unbelievable is actually believable. This just didn't happen in 'Angry Mom'. Kim Hee-sun is awesome and she does look quite youthful for her age, but I was frustrated that people actually believed that she was a 19 year old high school student. Either the writer wrote really dense characters or he/she thought that the audience was really dumb (and I hate being made to feel like a dumb viewer).

'Angry Mom' also suffered when it came to setting the tone; the drama was verging on being dark and melodramatic to being slapstick funny, the show didn't actually set its tone until we reached the halfway point. Less patient viewers would have probably have already dropped the show by then as the messed up tone made AM feel like it didn't have any sense of direction, and it actually became quite boring during episodes 6, 7 and 8.

I didn't actually get a feel for the show until the second half of the drama, which, although not perfect, was defintely the best part of the whole show. The tone was solid, the twists were genuinely surprising, the pacing was swift and the tension was rife. It kept me on my seat, and I didn't feel the need to fast forward any of the scenes in order to make the 70 minutes go by faster.

Alas, the first half of the show was an utter bore and suffered from too many problems to make it earn a score higher than 5.0.

It was fun watch during the second half, but 'Angry Mom' really isn't anything special. If you want a good high school drama, skip this, and watch Shut Up! Flower Boy Band instead.

NB: Dear Angry Mom,

Thank you for introducing me to the perfectly adorable Ji Soo. I am utterly grateful.

- akisame

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mary28
4 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
This drama had all the qualities that makes a drama perfect. It was meaningful, intense, realistic, comic relief and exceptional actors. I never saw a story that was told like this and I congratulate them for having the best scenario of 2014. Alll the cast members, directors, actors and writers did an amazing job in pulling off such an amazing drama.

Plot- Yes, political corruption and school corruption are not unommon themes for k-dramas, but using the perspective of a parent who took matters into her own hands was definitely new. I applaud Kim Hee Sun for her splendid execution of her role as the mother. This drama defined the role of a true educator, a parent love for her child and the meaning of true courage. The best thing about this drama, although it showed the atrocities that most people usually turn a blind eye to, it was not a freaking sob story because it showed that people did not live their life to be pitied. They all just wanted to be heard!

Cast: I saw a lot of actors that I was not familiar with, but it did not stop me from watching it because each actor/actresses seriously displayed their acting abilities. Lastly, it was fun to see a cast where everyone complimented each others abilty.

Romance- If you are looking for a simple basic romcom, please don't watch this drama because it sheds the truth that their is nothing romantic about life. Yes, the drama is intense and don't get me wrong there is a cute snip of romance in it because in life everyone needs to be loved. Any love that formed was engaging to watch because it just happened naturally and I won't give any hints because then that would be a spoiler. Lastly, remember that romance does not play a major role in it because with or without it the drama is still exceptional!

The best thing about Angry Mom was its fast-paced speed, no loop holes and a nice flow. Worst thing was that I watched it while it was airing, so it was painful waiting for the next episode. I loved it and I definitely recommend it for others to watch:)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
maakopla
4 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 3.0
This is a rather dark drama with a pinch of comedy and whiff of romance. The main focus is on Kang Ja's fight against the injustice of the corruption. For a change, this is a Korean drama that doesn't beautify anything. The tragedy is raw and ugly, the plight is real. The story itself follows a typical Korean formula with the sweet and righteous protagonist sacrificing and going through immense torture (on all levels) before the justice finally prevails. In a sense, the ending was extremely cheesy and unrealistic, but it was also beautiful and idealistic like a model of how things should be.

The acting is good and that's what makes this drama so enjoyable. The cast brings Angry Mom to life and it's a pleasure to watch them all. There are no unnecessary side characters and every character feels important, they change and develop. It's also interesting to see how the story plays out, how the bag guys drive themselves into a corner. There are so many levels to this story, the mother - daughter relationship, a parent -child relationship, husband - wife, teacher - student, parent - school, law - citizen, weak - powerful, good - bad, money - human being, etc.

I think, Angry Mom is a remarkable drama in South Korea, it addresses all the current problems of the society very clearly and the message rings strong. This is not some high school drama about students bullying each other or about love, this is a drama about one angry mom who decided that enough is enough and actually went and stood up against the injustice.

What brings my score down is the overflowing melodrama. There was a lot of crying, which is understandable, but when they sniffled for 20 minutes in each episode it became downright annoying. The character development regarding some side characters was lacking and rushed. The repeating pattern with Kang Ja always on the losing end became a bit repetitive and numbing in the long run. Sometimes the story stopped for minutes for some characters to share their poetic and philosophic world views like for educational purposes... And then there were all those super unrealistic and distracting &quot;the easy way out's&quot; for the writers that brought the quality down.

The last episode was a great disappointment. Not only did they rush things but a lot of last minute advertisement was pushed in and it was totally obvious.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?