Something in the Rain (2018) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 7,156 users)
  • Ranked: #1348
  • Popularity: #176
  • Watchers: 15,669

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

3%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

63 edits
48 edits
19 edits
14 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Hayleyshy
65 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
If you have every read John Green’s Fault in Our Stars, there is a quote that states:

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once”.

For me, this sums up most of this drama. It is watching two people slowly and then passionately fall in love with one another. The doubting if the other feels the same, the awkwardness of new love, the heart fluttering moments, and everything in between. The realism, chemistry, and gradual buildup of the relationship in the story was unlike anything I have ever experienced. It was reminiscent of the director, Ahn Pan Seok’s, previous work Secret Love Affair. Except this is less about two lost souls finding one another and more of a story of realizing the right person was someone you knew all along. Brilliant in its subtleties, this was a true example of a slow-paced romantic melodrama.

However, despite this drama’s strong beginnings, the middle could best be described as lukewarm. Muddled with repetitive plot scenarios that take far too long to resolve, around episode 9 this drama started to feel almost like a chore to watch. The chemistry was still there but the spark was missing, making what could have been my favorite romance of all time, one that I found myself barely making it to its conclusion. But despite its faults, this drama still deserves a solid 8, because it’s first 6 to7 episodes literally had ME feeling butterflies. I even wanted to tell random passersbys to watch this drama if they want to FEEEEEL what it is like for two people to fall in love. I did not think it was possible for me to feel so strongly about a drama, and for this it deserves the 8.

Overall, I recommend it, but mostly the first nine episodes. After that, you could probably skip to the finale and be just as satisfied.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
amrita828
142 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 24
Overall 6.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
“Sometimes it’s hard to be a viewer… La la la, la la la, la la la…”

End of review, thanks for reading.

Indeed, I could end my review here, since the above is basically all the drama left me with. But to the precious 18 hours – or something – I’ve dedicated to this show, I owe at least a more in-depth epitaph.

"Something in the rain" would have worked wonderfully as a 2 hour movie: the plot can be easily condensed in so short a time, we would have enjoyed a lovely on-screen chemistry and there would have been still room for the artsy cinematography the drama likes so much to sport. But, alas, the writer and director opted for a long narration, taking one conflict and a half and building this repetitive and aggravating slice of “real” life around it. What in the beginning seemed like beautiful aesthetics meant to create an atmosphere and enhance the plot, turned soon enough to be a trick to hide the lack of it. Because of that, the cinematography became, in my eyes, one of the drama flaws.

Let me make this clear: I have absolutely nothing against a slow pace that helps the viewer enter the world of the characters. I love small details: a meaningful glance, a trembling hand, a quiet dialogue that says it all, but here scenes are simply overstretched, even the most mundane, irrelevant ones. I have actually timed a scene: a character gets out of a taxi and walks unobserved on the road for as much as 65 seconds (try to count in your head and you’ll realize it’s an eternity). The camera stays still and the character walks. No close-up shot of the face expression, no weird or telling gate, no encounter to be remembered later on, just a walk that bears no significance whatsoever in the plot, except perhaps that it teaches us how people walk in Korea. I could go on describing scenes like this one, there are a handful. When a 2 whole minutes hug came, I truly became restless. And bored.

All the while, most characters are extremely bi-dimentional. No explanation, flashback or insight is given to justify their motivations. They are trapped in this present bubble and immortalized with one or two character traits only. We are left to speculate about their past, future and, at times, present. This show isn’t centered around a meaty plot, but does not focus on characterization either. There’s only so much a believable on-screen chemistry and artsy aesthetics can do to keep my interest alive.

Which brings me to the love story itself. The only positive trait of this romance is it’s realism, at least in the beginning. However, because these two jump from meeting on the road to being madly in love, I was deprived of my favourite part of romance, that is the falling in love process. Worse, episode after episode I started feeling like a voyeur, peeping through the keyhole to spy on an ordinary albeit pretty married couple in its daily routine. Since voyeurism isn’t my favourite hobby, I lost interest very soon in the nth walk with or without umbrella or yet another scene with these two frolicking around with the ever-present music that should tell a story but does not. They have no heart-to-heart chat, they don’t talk about their dreams, their plans, their future together, they hide more than they tell. Why these two people who have very little in common should love each other is not for us to know. Ah, yes! They are both gorgeous, that must be it.
The tension is all built around the opposition of a mother who’s in serious need of good therapy in whatever culture we set this story. Don’t get me started on the ex boyfriend arc and the harassment on the working place: the first goes nowhere and the second takes an eternity to go… where did it go?

Not yet happy, these badly outlined characters are for the most part disagreeable. If I have to watch a slice of life drama, I want to become attached to these people, but here I grew increasingly indifferent to all of them, otp included. The heroine is possibly the one who frustrated me the most and no amount of sociological analysis on the customs of South Korea will ever make me love a grown up woman who can’t stand up for her rights and for the people she supposedly loves. The fact that the author decided to portray a female lead who never learns from her own mistakes put a huge distance between me and her and makes the ending, good or bad, senseless. If it was my fault to expect something different, than I’ll take the blame, but at least I have learned something and will try to be a wiser viewer in the future (i.e., drop the hot potato before it scorches).

Finally, the music! Two good songs repeated ad nauseam and another old-fashioned two that made seaweeds grow in my ears. That’s the ost – an inappropriate definition anyway, since ost stands for “Original Sound Track”, that is, songs or music created on purpose for the show. I doubt Carla Bruni (?), Bruce Willis (??) or even talented Rachael Yamagata met to create this meager ensemble.

It’s extremely ironic and sad that the episode I enjoyed the most is the discussed last one. If only everything had taken place much earlier on, I’d have liked this drama. Unfortunately, as it stands it makes little sense and the prospect of subjecting myself to a second watch is unthinkable.
My dear 18 hours, RIP.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KPopCoq
19 people found this review helpful
May 31, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 4.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I felt a little guilty for not enjoying a series that everybody seemed to be raving about but I was honestly so disappointed in this one that I had to check some reviews to see if it was just me. Reading the opinions of others has helped give some clarity to my own feelings and in one case has offered some cultural reasoning to justify what I consider to be character failings however none of these have relieved my pain so maybe writing this will help.

My complaints break down into three groups - OST, plot lines and character traits.

OST: This may be my first k-drama with an all English soundtrack (if there were Korean tracks I failed to notice) and my first thought was how distracting it was watching people interact in a foreign language with somebody crooning in English in your earhole. After many dramas where the OST becomes as ingrained on your memories as the most touching scenes do, I wondered if Koreans watching dramas with more typical soundtracks are just as distracted by the constantly repetitive lyrics. If I never hear any of these songs again in any version I will count myself blessed.

Plot Lines: Every single storyline in this series had an unsatisfactory ending. Whether it be the relationship of the main characters, the friendship between Jin Ah and Kyung Sun, the behavior of Gyu Min or the sexual harassment in the workplace. In each case we were presented with an issue of conflict, there was much angst and aggravation until the worst possible outcome was realised (or forgotten in the case of the ex-boyfriend) - and then after a jump to the future there is brief resolution. I'm actually quite angry that such an important issue as sexual harassment in the workplace was given the treatment it got. I doubt anybody suffering from this treatment would feel inspired or hopeful about coming forward from watching this.

Character Traits: I will concede that in order for there to be drama, there must be conflict. Tropes like bad boy turns good or family disapproves of relationship all require failings of character and as a previous reviewer wrote "If you don't know anything about Korean culture or the passive characteristics of Asian, this drama will seem silly & annoying, and will never understand the reasons behind choices & actions made", I also recognise that these stories are being told through a different set of cultural norms. However just because something is prevalent within a culture doesn't mean it's right or acceptable and although drama as an art form is often about reflecting truth in society, it is also a medium for setting examples for how we could live. Nobody in this drama became a better person. Joon Hee was possessive and controlling until the end and Jin Ah was a compulsive liar throughout.

What I perceived as being a story about an unconventional relationship where true love wins out against negative cultural norms, turned out to be about a group of self interested and morally deprived individuals failing to grow as human beings. Truth in society indeed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Yeo-ri
15 people found this review helpful
Jun 2, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
The story was so complex, realistic and fascinating at the same time. I've read reviews on different forum to have better comprehension of the story and I'm glad i found this review almost exactly to what I see this drama in general.

THE CASTING & ORIGINAL STORY SET -UP
In a recent interview, PD Ahn said he wanted to work with SYJ. He felt that she was the best actress to play a mid-30s woman at the centerpiece of this realistic drama. “That’s why, from the very beginning, I thought that there was no one else for the leading role of ‘Pretty Noona’ but Son Ye Jin. I only contacted one person [for the role], and it worked out. She decided to take the role even after seeing all the negative sides to it.” He added with a laugh, “I was really surprised.”

SYJ said she also wanted to work with the director. Her fellow actresses gave him high marks. And when she was recruited for the series, PD Ahn promised he would do things so she could meet her goals. As a result, the series was shot more like an independent art film. There were little wasted scenes. And the mood on the set was fun but professional.

SYJ is a professional. Her reputation is to immerse herself in her characters. She was aware of the negatives of JA (her life, her decisions, her mistakes, etc.) He claims the scripts were all read in full in October, 2017 (but does not say if the scripts were changed in the end).

In initial filming before the premiere, JA’s character was described as a hard working person with a lonely personal life where she stares at empty bottles of liquor. She is a typical South Korean woman in her 30s who feels emptiness in her heart because she doesn't feel accomplished in either career or love which every woman around her age can empathize with. Son Ye Jin is showing so much motivation and effort as she is always holding onto her script and having numerous discussions with the director on expressing her character more fully. She is doing a great job in portraying Jin-ah's change of emotion with her detailed acting and really becoming the character. Everyone should be expecting great things to come out of this drama,” a staff member said.
At the beginning, JA’s situation can be summed up as follows:

1. She is 35 still living at home with her parents.
2. She is going out with a terrible BF who has cheated on her after she slept with him (meaning she was serious about the relationship but he was not).
3. Her mother is pushing her to marry the terrible BF because of his status and JA’s age.
4. She is stuck in a dead end job subject to work place harassment and takes blame for others’ mistakes.

JA character is a meek, introverted, weak, hard working but repressed follower of society norms. She really does not talk about goals or a future. It appears she has resigned herself to an unhappy life because she is trapped in a culturally oppressive and socially conservative paternalistic world.

The show was always set up to be JA’s journey to self-awareness and independence. It was meant to be a realistic sad story.

What hooked viewers in the initial episodes was the chemistry between JA and JH. It was an unintended consequence because it masked the original story line and theme. PD Ahn stated in that recent interview that the theme of the show was the simple question:

“Are we really in love?”

THE INITIAL CHEMISTRY

If you look objectively at the beginning of JA and JH’s romantic relationship, it was a quick and burning passion. The reason for JA was simple: she was coming off a dead cat bounce relationship with her cheating ex-BF. Since her mid 20s, JA had been groomed by her mother to go out with a certain kind of man (one of status, means and upward mobility). JA’s only hope with these blind dates was that the man would “like” her. JA went out on those dates not out of a search for love but obligation to her mother. JA must have seemed that this current ex-BF was her best shot since she was serious enough to slept with him but his betrayal left her bitter, angry and alone.

JH returns to Korea after 3 years in USA. He is friends with JA’s brother, SH. He knows JH dates many women (because of his looks and charm). He knows he has a stubborn temper. JH is young and carefree in YOLO life style. JH grew up without parents so it appears that he is still harboring abandonment issues. He had dated many women in the past, but apparently could not get beyond 3 months (which is interesting since the 100 day mark in Korea is a milestone of a “serious” relationship.) He is charming, attentive, but also selfish, temperamental and paternalistic.

In a chance timing of motive and opportunity, JH returned to Korea after three years, and the first cute woman he saw he went after (surprising himself that it was his noona.) The surprise flirtation and familiarity was the spark to set them on a quick path to become lovers.

JA and JH get caught up in the mystery, excitement and secrecy of their romance. So did the audience. It was clear that JA and JH loved being together. It was an infatuation.

Attraction? Yes, they both complimented each other about their appearance.
Escapism? Yes, they both were coming back from negative experiences to find comfort in each others’ arms, away from their daily grind and problems.
Infatuation? Yes, the hot and secret aspect of their intense and short lived passion for each other.
True love? No. Even though viewers were caught up with the initial passion, the couple’s relationship was foreshadowed to be doomed. As reality encroached on their secret life, real serious issues arose between their family members and friends which the couple did not or could not discuss and work out together.

How each character viewed their relationship was telling:

JA did like the fact that a younger man found her attractive and desirable. It may have been a long time since a man approached her (instead of through blind dates). She wanted to keep it a secret because she knew it was all merely fun: companionship with benefits, not a serious relationship. Also, JA wanted to keep it secret because she knew the negative ramifications to her family and friendship with KS.

However, JH did not want to keep it secret. This showed his naivety. His character always lived in the moment, not thinking long term consequences of his actions.
Their relationship turned into a cliche teenage crush. And as the episodes went on, there was no intellectual, emotional or spiritual growth in their relationship. They never discussed a shared future together.

THE MIDDLE CONFLICTS

The greatest problem with the story was JA’s interaction with the people around her. It was an intentional portrayal. She was an apologetic follower. She rarely stood up for herself. Her decision making was mired in self-conflict, self-doubt. She thought the world viewed her as a commodity and not as a person or a woman.

And this was embedded in how she dealt with her personal life, including her affair with JH. The series lacked deep discussions between the characters that is the foundation for serious relationships.

JA was conditioned to be subservient and accept what others told her.

What were the major issues in JA’s life?

1. Her mother’s desire that she marry the “right” man. But after a serious of loser boyfriends, JA had basically given up on a chance to meet Mr. Right, someone she could passionately love while be acceptable to her family.

2. Her job was becoming more unbearable. The demands and blame she took for other workers mistakes were mounting. The harassment of her by superiors was intolerable. She was in a dead end job with no real chance of promotion.

3. She had few friends. KS was her best friend who she could confide in. It seemed that JA had a hard time making new friends. When she does make a close friend, she tries hard not to break that bond, even it means hurting herself in the process.

4. She has a maniac ex-BF who wants to get back together or ruin her life.

How did the couple “work” to resolve these issues? They did not. JA and JH were merely apologetic to JA’s mother about their relationship, but did nothing to convince their families that they had a future together. JH did nothing to help JA resolve her work place issues, or support her if she wanted to change career path. JH brought JA to meet some of his friends (on the overnight trip) but JA did not do the same. (this shows JH was more into the relationship than JA). JH got jealous and violent about JA’s ex-BF which contributed to conflict between them because he did not discuss beforehand with JA his actions.

The breaking point was JH demanding that JA come to him to the US. Of course, JA said no. She felt insulted that JH’s solution was to run away from problems. (Not to mention that it would be impossible for JA to suddenly move to the US with no job, no spouse, and no money with the country’s current immigration policies). JH solution was that JA would be there for him. He was angry that she rejected his solution. He never understood her position, her feelings or her long term goals.

The couple’s initial passion glossed over several important aspects missing from consideration on whether this was heading toward a serious relationship or “true love.”

1. Communication. Their communication was superficial. They did not discuss important issues or ideas which represents mutual immaturity. They never opened up to each other on what their personal goals were (job, career, changes, etc.) or how they wanted to achieve them. They never really understood the other person's emotional state, and they never deeply discussed how the other person felt in a given situation. I recently read a psychological study that concluded that many people told “white lies” early in their relationships as a means of making themselves more “attractive” to their partner. Usually, those minor lies were used to build up a person’s self-esteem or enhance their traits (prospects) to the other person. But in JA and JH case, those lies were meant to hide the truth and real feelings (under the fabrication that they did not want to “hurt” the other person.) Instead of talking things through, they glossed matters over and then began to mistrust each other. The each called the other “childish.” They could not talk to each other about serious matters because they were caught up in the teenage aspects of a romance fairy tale.

2. Compatibility. Sympathy, friendship and like-mindedness are critical foundation blocks to any serious relationship. JH knew about JA’s situation at home and at work, but his support for her situation was tempered and distant. He wanted to control the situation. Likewise, JA did not seek out his advice on how to find a solution to any of her problems. Also, JH did not ask JA for advice on his work, his options or his troubles. JA and JH knew each other before dating, but there is no evidence that they were “friends.” Friends have mutual interests, concerns, ambitions, support, trust, varied experiences to share. JA and KS had serious discussions as friends. JH and SH had serious talks as friends. But JA and JH never had such a connection because such “real life” discussions would have interfered with them hanging out together and having fun as a new, care free couple.

3. Commitment. JA and JH never discussed the big things like their expectations, marriage and family life together. JH’s solution was unilaterally demanding JA move with him to the US. He never asked her hand in marriage. Some women would call this behavior selfish, inappropriate or “clingy.” JA’s solution to move out of her house so she could continue to date JH but not live with him showed that she was not ready to fully commit to him (she would later say she had things she wanted to be independent to become strong.) They never had the heart-to-heart discussion of “making plans” together as a couple. Even though both are adults, they both had serious maturity issues.. (Continuation at the comment section)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Soula
14 people found this review helpful
Jul 5, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 4.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

A whole bunch of episodes that lead to NOTHING

Dude. What kind of ending was THAT?! I'm so mad. The story was so slow and prolonged and I would have been okay with it, because my hopes were that they would end up happily ever after. Where the mom would finally recognize her flaws and let them be together. Or at least they would recognize that they wouldn't be able to be together with the way her mother feels and therefore, change the way they would make their relationship work. But instead, they broke up and got back together after some time apart and realizing that they still loved each other and they were back to square one!!! Nothing changed - not her mother (they didn't really try to convince her mother, they just said they love each other and pouted), not their relationship/behavior toward each other and we weren't lead to believe that things would be different. They would just "be."

And can I please just say - this mother was absolutely unrealistic and it's not possible to like her. She didn't care if she was ruining her daughter's happiness, it was her way or the highway and she ended up losing her daughter in the end. Realistically, a parent should be objective and when they realize that they're being unrealistic and that their children are pulling away from them, they change in an attempt to keep them. So yes, I HATED this mother very much - wanting to punch her in the mouth a lot. A lot of people hated the mother in Uncontrollably Fond (and I didn't), but I for real hated this mom (just to give you something to go off of).

OMG. If that was gonna be the case, why did I waste 16 hours (give or take, because some of the episodes were longer than 1 hour) if they were just gonna be together after all the heartbreak with no developments?! I literally screamed at the TV for an hour after finishing this drama and it is probably my most HATED drama, right after, That Winter, The Wind Blows.

So many stupid things happened between them and NOTHING changed. Which means the stupid issues they had were absolutely POINTLESS.
I can respect your opinion if you like this drama, but it dragged too much and since the events that transpired essentially led to nothing, I can't every recommend it to anyone (I'd actually try my best to dissuade you from the waste of time).
One (and only) nice thing? Jung Hae In is VERY attractive. Feast your eyes because that's ALL worth seeing or paying attention to in this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
lostpanchi
12 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This is my first time writing a review & I hope it goes well. & English is not my first language so forgive me if there is any mistake .

I have mixed reactions about this drama. The first 8-10 episodes were too good. It was realistic with a decent plot & had so many heart fluttering moments. The chemistry between the two leads is GREAT & both the actors did a very good job.
The first half was great but
but then everything went downhill after that.I had to force myself to sit down & watch each episode. Disappointing coz I had lots of expectations & I really adored this drama.
I think the main issue was that there wasn't enough plot to fill 16 episodes so they created unnecessary drama towards the end.
If I could just rate just the first half , I would rate it 8.5/10
It had potentials to be a great drama but the writers ruined it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kath
11 people found this review helpful
May 26, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This was very complex and slow-building melodrama. The families were really culturally interesting and complex. For an American who is not Asian, it was a little astonishing but believable because of the acting. Adult children need to come to terms with their parents and their expectation if they are going to become authentic adults. I saw this drama as a reflection of how that happens in any society. I know this is a love story but it is also more than that. It was very different, particularly in how the female grew in the story. Not your usual Kdrama rom-com stuff. I think this was an important drama for women to watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
tteokbokki
13 people found this review helpful
May 23, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is an under-rated drama that deserves much higher credit. Story is simple & common but actually unconventional; thoughtfully written with depth & lots of hidden messages while romance is mature but so sweet. If you don't know anything about Korean culture or the passive characteristics of Asian, this drama will seem silly & annoying, and will never understand the reasons behind choices & actions made. I'm most appreciative for the charming-intelligent heroine who's above Cinderella wannabes & drama queens with inferiority complex. FINALLY, a heroine that deserves to be loved and respected. Chemistry between the characters were amazing, especially the main, while supporting casts had scene-stealing presence. Hope to see more of clever/mature writing like this one; looking forward screenwriter Kim Eun future work.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Scrlt_pimpernel
7 people found this review helpful
Jun 11, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 4.0
This drama started out so promising. I loved the chemistry between the main couple. They were too cute for words for the first six -eight episodes. I loved the interaction and blooming romance. But the drama really went downhill after the halfway point. It turned into a melo melo, and not the cute noona romance I was first sold on. The heroine was so annoying and made one stupid mistake after another. It was like she was trying to sabotage the relationship by episode 12. The ending was just so unsatisfactory, with the last two episodes seriously depressing me. Overall, I liked half the show. Loved the cutie main lead. But would never watch this one again!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ChinguMode
8 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Producer Ahn Pan Seok is considered one of Korea's finest PDs for three main reasons: his shows are beautiful works of art defined as much by what he doesn't choose to show as much as by what he does; his use of music is poignant, artful and powerful; and he's a strong feminist, creating female victims of a sexist and misogynistic culture and then freeing them in ways that can be brutal but are no less cathartic.

So it seems strange to write a review about his latest work and say that, while it no less beautiful or artful or well-framed, it's use of music is ear-screechingly bad and its portrayal of women's lives depressing. In fact, this is the most depressing Korean drama I've seen since Misty told us a woman can only have success if she destroys men - and she won't be happy anyway when she does it.

Which is not to say that there is anything wrong with the writing, acting or cinematography of this show. It is, in fact, a warm and often-visually beautiful representation of the ordinary life of a very ordinary noona and her very ordinary romance with her friend's dongsaeng. But it is in the show's realism that it fails.

Jin-ah (Son Ye-jin) is the most everywoman portrayed on TV: told her job is to compromise, to keep the peace, to slide through without conflict. Basically raised to be this way and then simultaneously judged for being this way. Forced to be a participant, essentially, in her own mistreatment. In the end, Jin-ah will only be happy, and the people around her will only be happy, if she stops trying to make everyone happy. She's such an everywoman that I don't know why the writers and the PD told the story at all - unless it's to completely depress us as to the current state of feminism.

For those who want a fluffy, happy romance this is the wrong show, even if there's a lot of that in the first half. Love it seems can survive in a bubble but can't survive the real world, even if the two people in the romance are not doing anything wrong.

In the end, this show gets a seven because it was a very good piece of television despite the depressing overall theme. The one true flaw was the OST, which was so awful it had me muting the soundtrack throughout. If you told me a few weeks ago that I'd be muting the soundtrack in a PD Ahn drama, I wouldn't have believed you. But here I am. And if I have to hear 'Stand By Your Man' one more time, it will be one time too many.

Sometimes it is hard to be a woman. But only if you are brought up to embrace noble martyrdom as a woman's main role. It is ironic perhaps that the people who will truly hate this show are the ones who love shows that promote woman's noble martyrdom as a virtue to be rewarded - like Mischievous Kiss. And while there is a lesson in that for women, it's not a particularly uplifting one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JimmyChooLove
7 people found this review helpful
May 20, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This was a strong melodrama with an extremely thin plot but a talented cast. What I found most compelling was the intimate, jazzy mood that was created. I just wish there was a more compelling storyline to go with it. The show really runs out of steam at the end and it suffers pretty badly from some tired drama tropes.

What was good:
- The chemistry of the lead couple. They were completely believable as a couple in love. If seeing two people snuggle and kiss for 14 episodes is your jam, then this is your show. I also found their journey in love pretty believable, until the end. It was flawed and realistic... except for the end, which was terrible.
- Showing tough issues like workplace harassment, domestic abuse, and what filial piety looks like in modern times. What was most frustrating was that the issues didn’t all get the discussions they deserved.
- The mood and direction. In contrast to a lot of Kdramas that are shown to be bathed in blinding white light, everything in this show was shot with warmth and intimacy. There were a lot of scenes that were shot to seem like you were intruding on an intimate moment and a lot of silent scenes where you could see the characters processing their emotions. I thought it was really beautiful and resonant.

What was not good:
- The writing. There are a lot of interesting side characters in the show and I kept on wanting to learn about their motivations and was pretty disappointed. The mom was pretty frustrating and I don’t blame the actress. The story just didn’t give her much to work with beyond being “oppisitional”... but why? Her logic made some sense but was so extreme it didn’t warrant 10 episodes of plot. Hers was just one example of the story not being handled well.
- Clumsy resolution. Without giving things away the ending was pretty cliche. There are last minute obstacles that could have been resolved with communication and then a quick resolution at the very very end.

Overall, I recommend the drama but caution expecting much from the story. Clearly the drama was more character rather than plot driven. I just feel like this couple deserved more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
michin_girl
15 people found this review helpful
Apr 21, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 5
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I'm writing this bc at first this drama seemed like any other romance drama which made me hesitant to start watching it.

But 6 episodes in, I was left pleasantly surprised with its content.

It touches upon a lot of controversial topics like mistreatment/sexual abuse of women at their workplace and in general, romance between an older woman and a younger man, unhealthy/obsessive relationships, mother pressuring their children to only care about the background of people they hang out with and how they can benefit them, negative view on those without parents, on those who pursue an artistic career...

Main leads are absolutely adorable together, have amazing chemistry and make you die from happiness while watching them interact.

This is why for now, I recommend you to watch it. Just be ready to get extremely frustrated whenever her mother shows up. The actress portraying her did a great job.


*Update after ep 12

Unnecessary drama, conflicts around their love life are starting to get boring.
I did like how they brought up a topic on suicide.
Also, currently i curious the most about how will their movement against sexual harassment at work turn out.

*Update after finishing the drama
I would say this drama didn't fulfill my expectations. In the end they didn't resolve the problems they kept on dragging for over minimum of 8 episodes and just gave us a rushed, not so well thought-out ending.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?