Orange Days (2004) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 2,135 users)
  • Ranked: #660
  • Popularity: #740
  • Watchers: 5,018

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

4 edits
3 edits
2 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
amrita828
34 people found this review helpful
May 1, 2011
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama already had a very good review, one that doesn't need to be expanded.

The reason why I write one is because I loved this show and wish to share the joy, so to speak.



I believe the best trait of this drama is in its script. Eriko Kitagawa - the screenwriter - does not disappoint.

It's a collection of memorable, beautiful quotes, whether about love, friendship, dreams or fears for the future. They make you pause and think.

And the screentime given to this disparate group of friends can really make your day, so universal it is in the world of friendship, be it in Japan, America, Europe or elsewhere. Change the names and perhaps the face features, and you'll be reminded of your own experiences.



It's truly difficult not to fall in love with Sae and Kai, so sweet is their love story, but it's just as hard not to laugh, dispair or rejoice with all the other characters.

Shibasaki Kou does such a wonderful job here, one soon forgets she has lost her hearing and can almost "hear" her talk.



In short: I can't imagine anyone being disappointed by this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PrettyCarEye
52 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Orange Days is a throwback from 2004, but don't let that put you off if you haven't seen it yet. This gem of a story is timeless and universal. Even if you watch it 10 years from now it'll still have meaning. Watching this show induced a strong sense of nostalgia in me. We all know what it’s like to be young and uncertain about our place in this big scary world. And for me, it wasn't so long ago that I faced the exact same crossroads as the characters did.

The show gives us a peek into the lives of 5 friends, all college students on the cusp of becoming contributing citizens to society. Some have dreams they want to pursue, some have dreams they've had to let go and some are still trying to figure out what next. Their stories are all relatable and poignantly human. Inevitably you'll find yourself reevaluating your own life and wondering if you're on the path you set out for yourself.

Orange Days is also a sweet love story. About a beautiful, talented girl who lost the thing she loved the most, who was without hope and angry at the world because of her misfortune, and the boy who healed her soul with his kindness, his patience, his gentleness, his understanding, and most of all, his unconditional love. Kai, our hero, has got to be one of the most compassionate heroes I've ever come across. Massive kudos to the actor for bringing him so impressively to life!

Kai manages to be both masculine and incredibly sweet and sensitive at the same time and let me tell you it was pretty darn sexy to watch. Sae is one very lucky girl. All the while I kept thinking, where the heck was my Kai when I was in college? LOL I enjoyed every minute of watching these two on their journey to find themselves and each other.

Both leads were standouts, but the supporting cast did a fairly good job too. I was drawn to Shohei who projected an air of infallibility, but was really just a lost kid searching for the love he never got from the most important woman in his life. I really liked him and wished his story had more development. He had a weird sense of fashion, though. I don't think young men wore such ugly-ass clothes, even in 2003/2004. LOL

Orange Days did not avoid the usual Asian drama clichés -- the ever present love triangle, the mandatory separation and what have you, but somehow it wasn't over played to the point where it got annoying (as is the tendency in a lot of other -- for eg Korean -- dramas). Issues were resolved quickly so that the characters' growth as people remained the focus.

All in all, what made this show an absolute joy to watch is that it's a great slice of life drama about overcoming grief and savouring the precious moments we have with the people we love. But it isn't pessimistic in its message. There's an undercurrent of hope that permeates the stories of each character. You get a nice dose of reality but not so much that you're unable or unwilling to escape into their world. It also reaffirms the fact that no matter where we're from, no matter our gender or our ethnicity the only race that really exists on earth is the human race, and we all share the same hopes, dreams and fears about finding our way in this life.

I don’t usually take notice of music, but I remember the music in this drama because it was so simple and yet so effective. Unlike the theme song in Autumn's Concerto (Taiwanese drama) that literally almost drove me mad, the music here served its purpose of evoking all the right emotions at the right time. Even though the same instrumentals were repeated throughout the drama, it didn't feel repetitive because it wasn't overdone to the point where it grated on the nerves.

I think anyone who watches Orange Days will come away with a joyous feeling of having just watched something great. And like me you'll probably be sad that it's over.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
palak
17 people found this review helpful
Feb 6, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
One of the best Japanese dramas I have ever seen. Orange Days is about a bunch of friends in university and it might make you nostalgic about your own college days (unless you're still in college/haven't been to college yet). It'll remind you of your carefree days as a student where you could spend 3 days camped up in front of a university, looking for a violin without worrying about things like (say) losing your job. I loved every second of this drama. There wasn't a single dull moment in the story. I picked up a few things in the sign language department too.

Coming to the characters. I loved them all! They were amazing together but even individually all the characters were so lovable in their own different ways. Kai was my favorite. I've always loved the name "Kai" ever since I read The Snow Queen. But the Kai here is just awesome. He's such a caring and sweet person. You know, the kind of people who just attract you with their personality and you can't help loving them and it's all about the substance, not the looks. Not that Kai wasn't good looking. I mean, he was hot, working those spikes like no other man on this planet (lol)! I loved Sae too. I could go on staring at her all day long while she talks in sign language. Ok, that came out a little wrong. I'm just saying that I'm really intrigued by the sign language. I feel like learning it now! Her character was awesome. So strong, despite feeling the blues of her situation at times. She was pretty funny too.

The music was great for this show and the re-watch value is super-high for me. Total ten. This drama is beautiful and addictive and I think most people would love it and should give it a try.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Chukuma
15 people found this review helpful
Apr 6, 2011
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Even if the summary may be a turnoff for some, Orange Days is a very distinct drama and you'll get intertwined in its beautiful and bittersweet tale. The drama touches on romance, friendships, self-acceptance, life after college, and other topics young adults face today in our world. The drama isn't too serious; it has sparks of humor as well. The characters are brilliant, endearing, and make this drama come to life. Now if you are not a fan of romance or youth drama, this probably isn't your cup of tea, but I still feel you should give it watch a try, watch an episode or two. I highly recommend this drama. If you like romance, youth dramas, or any of the actors from the cast, give it a shot!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Marse
7 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
There really comes a time when you will encounter a truly beautiful work and I can consider Orange Days as one of those. Orange Days is a captivating and heartwarming series that showed the wonders of love, friendship, and dreams for the future.

It is great to watch the smooth development of the story unfold before your eyes. It may not have much of those cheesy scenes unlike some other dramas, but the romance scenes here are sweet, and innocent, in my opinion, if I may add. The friendship between the five characters are good, too! The story made me think of my future again. Somehow, watching this makes me feel nostalgic.

I really commend the actors and actresses for being able to portray their roles very well. It's a well-chosen cast. I wondered how long it took them to be able to learn some sign language because it seems that they're good at it, especially the lead characters. Oh, and it's great that they have chemistry, too!

This series doesn't have that of a memorable music, in my opinion, but I actually don't care that much about it because the great story and acting compensated for it. In any case, it's simple and just suits the scenes where it's played.

I'll definitely re-watch this someday! It's worth it to watch and I bet it'll be worth it to re-watch.

I give this a 9.5 because of the great time I had while watching it. I was a bit hesitant to watch it at first, but I didn't regret trying it. I really recommend it to everyone. It'll be too bad to miss watching something as precious as this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
khjfan01
6 people found this review helpful
Mar 27, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I LOVED Orange Days!!!

What a sweet and touching drama this is. It's the type of drama that will have you feeling nostalgic, and it'll make u want to hop on the phone or send a quick message to friends you haven't talked to in awhile. I was going to call this a coming of age drama, but it's not really, since all the characters are adults in their senior year of college.

The story is so much more than some deaf girl and the challenges she faces while trying to fit normally into society. It's all about deep friendships, forming bonds, creating memories, finding your way. Most of all, taking value and worth in yourself.

I just have so many feels just thinking about Orange Days. After I finished this drama for the first time, I wanted me and my friends to get a notebook and write in it just like in the drama. Omg this drama will have you missing simpler times (if you've already graduated from high school or college), or make you really appreciate the times you have now (if you haven't).

Overall, I rate this drama a 9.5 because it's not something I could watch over and over again, back to back. And the music, although nice and fitting, doesn't make me want to run and download it. Everything else is pretty much perfect to me. I recommend this drama to everyone honestly. It's really that good. I thoroughly suggest u give it a chance.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
cantiara
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 2, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama is very very GOOD. Not just good, but very very GOOD. The theme is probably common, which is Love, but somehow this one gives a different kind of feeling. The theme seems to be much broader than only about the love between two people; it's also about friendship, life and dreams. Still sounds common the way I say it, doesn't it? Just watch it and you'll get what I mean.

The storyline is wonderful, the dialogues are amusing (in a witty way) and very very moving. Moreover, I also think the series is well paced; I didn't get the draggy feeling at all, I only wanted more! Not too mention, the acting is very good. The casts truly did a good job.

And finally, I can never get enough of Kai-kun. He is the sweetest male character I've ever encountered in a drama. You'd really be touched by all the things he'd said and done to/for Sae.

I have always wished for a second season ever since I finished watching it. I know it's impossible but hey, one can dream, right?

Anyway, I highly recommend those who haven't watched this one to watch it. It is definitely one of my favourite Japanese series ever.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
roujin
6 people found this review helpful
Apr 27, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Orange Days is a Japanese drama series based around the lives of college students. There’s Kai Yuuki (Satoshi Tsumabaki), a senior studying social welfare, and his group of friends (Hiroki Narimiya and Eita). They’re a tight-knit group, hanging out whenever possible, and just generally having fun. Kai is in the middle of applying for jobs, however, and this is stressing him out. One day he sees a young woman named Sae playing the violin near the school. He gives her an orange. Sae, however princess-like she may look, is all full of attitude, fragile emotions, and complexities. A few years ago, she went deaf, and it’s only recently that she’s gotten back to her normal life. The show is then about their complicated relationship.

I would like to mainly focus on just one aspect of Orange Days (though I’m sure I’ll end up mentioning a lot of stuff anyway): how it shows the time of your life when you start to love someone more than your own family, who means something completely different to you and can give you a completely different sort of happiness.

There’s a moment late in the series where Sae’s mom tells Kai he has no business meddling with Sae’s health issues, since he’s a stranger. It’s an understandable attitude coming from a mother. She’s worried about Sae, and she sees this boy Kai as relatively unimportant in the scheme of things. But what we’ve learned throughout the show is that Kai is not just a stranger. In fact, to Sae, he’s become her most important person. She has her friend Akane who she can talk to, sure, but when it comes to Kai, it’s different. There’s a great conversation in the show where Sae talks about what she imagines her future to be like, and in every scenario, Kai is there. The series is largely about the crucial time when the bonds and friendships you’re going to have for the rest of your life are created; it’s something different than your family, because this is something that you created yourself.

It’s something that’s inevitable. We each create our own world, separate from our parents at some point during our life. One of the key struggles for Sae is trying to figure out how to deal with her loyalty and love for her mother (and respecting her feelings) while still trying to be true to her own heart and do what she wants to do. In a sense, these thoughts and feelings are a little selfish. We must come to the conclusion that our happiness is what matters the most, and to seek that will mean forgoing some other person’s idea of happiness. Sae tries to go along with her mom’s vision of her happiness, because she’s trying to be a good daughter and she respects all the sacrifices that her mom had to make because of Sae’s illness. But it is not her happiness. Kai, the one who can make her laugh, the one who can make her cry, the one who can make her feel like “just a girl.” In Orange Days, Sae and Kai change each other’s lives, they motivate each other to keep trying hard, they hurt each other deeply; no one else could do those things for them. So when Sae’s mom calls Kai a stranger, the audience immediately knows that she is wrong. Who else could Sae share her fears, her insecurities, her tears, other than with the one she truly loves? No one could provide the same comfort, the same assurance that he could.

Most love stories are about this, in the end. But they rarely affect me with the same power as Orange Days does. Perhaps it’s because I relate more to the college setting, the level of maturity and self-awareness of the characters that this strikes me as the best Asian drama series I’ve ever seen. Most of these shows are fun, charming, and all that, but it’s very rare that I find one that I think has beauty and grace. It’s a show that dares you to become a better person. After watching Kai and Sae try their best to find their happiness, it’s up to us to go forward and seek out our own.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Elle
4 people found this review helpful
Feb 26, 2017
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Orange Days is a truly touching story. With Tsumabuki Satoshi and Shibasaki Kou as the leads, their performances will not disappoint. Shibasaki's character is so raw throughout the series. The drama does an absolutely amazing job at making the multiple conversations in sign language compelling and relatable. This drama also ties in the value of friends and how Shibasaki's friendships with the other four main characters help her to heal and go after her dreams. Mr. Children's "Sign" is Orange Days Ending Theme. It suits the drama very well. I highly recommend this drama, if you are looking for a sweet, slice of life drama about college life, friendship, finding you career path and chasing your dreams.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
OneLifePillow
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 31, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I just loved it! I could not stop watching it. The love between the 2 were so intense! Kai did his best to make it work! Sae was a hard worker and deserved Kai. I have tried to find love stories like theirs but I still can't. It was so nice I had to watch it a 2nd time, then a 3rd, and then a 4th. so cute! If you like, love stories you will love this one!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dramaqueen4life
5 people found this review helpful
Jan 3, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I LOVED this drama.Now lemme tell you why
This drama may seem like a typical love story with the guy falling in love with a girl but it is so MUCH more.

This is indeed a love story and one of the best out there.Im officially stalking Erika Keitagawa,the script writer of this drama.Do not drop it thinking that the girl is deaf so it would be filled with lots of tears and angst.It definately has its share of that too but its more about this group of youngsters not knowing their place in the world and actually working towards it by being together and finding out their place and making the friendships in life matter.

The depiction of friendship is one of the best.I could feel the care and friendship when the guys stole each others food or when they pulled each others leg because in reality that's what guys do.Tease and play and make fun and still have the bromance going on.The friendship between the girls was heartfelt too.Ozawa Akane learned sign language just becuse she wanted to converse with her friend.How sweet is that.These people will give their lives for each other and that's how strong the friendship is.

Sae is not the typical heroine.She's arrogant,moody and full of her own insecurities and issues.Shibasaki Kou is simply amazing as Sae.Without her voice she can still make us feel all her emotions.Her eyes speak and so does her sign language.I never knew one could express so many emotions through sign languge.You can feel her frustration and anger when her hands speak fast and her sadness when they are barely moving.she brought something fresh to my screen and all her dilemna about falling in love with a normal guy seems so real and touching.After she worked through her insecurities and emotions she came out as just another girl with dreams and fantasy of prince charming and not someone physically handicapped but someone just like you or me.

Kai is the type of guy we can be friends with and eventually fall in love.The one with whom falling in love is as easy as breathing.He gives a warm feeling and with whom you could talk about anything for hours and still won't get bored.The one who'll piggyback you when your feet hurt and the type of guy who'll fight for your honour even when he knows he'll get beaten up in return :D
Its not that he has no flaws but his flaws are so minimal.I LOVE his character and how he doesnt pity Sae for being the way she is but treats her like he would any other girl.Tsumabuki Satoshi as Kai was so cute.

The leads romance was filled with light and sweet moments.They had a few tearjerker scenes which brought more emotion to the story.The subplot of Akane and Sano falling in love was interesting too.Sano being a playboy and how Akane actually turns this good for nothing guy who considers himself worthless into someone who can actually learn to love and care was good to watch.

What i also liked and could connect with is how none of them knew what they had to do with their lives and how after they came together they solved each question,each problem together and came out victorious.Their dilemna in thinking what career to choose or their stress over not finding a job is so real and so relatable that i saw myself in them with the same aspirations and dreams in life.

The music was soothing and beautiful.

All addicts know that at some point every drama drags and this did too but only in the later few episodes.Its pretty well made so there aren't much flaws here even when i tried to find some.

Romance,friendship and teenage angst in one gifted Package deserves to be watched by all
Go and watch it NOW..:P

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
H1kikomori
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
I surprisingly enjoyed Orange Days to the point i finished it in one sitting. I believe it was the progression it took and the fact it did not only concentrate on the two but the friends love life as well.
Acting was good so you felt her emotions regarding her new life since losing her hearing but at many times she was totally being stubborn.

And i also loved listening to the violin (never had before) and i wish to learn sign language more now than before
Was this review helpful to you?