Nobuta Wo Produce (2005) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 11,263 users)
  • Ranked: #1485
  • Popularity: #129
  • Watchers: 18,064

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

20 edits
9 edits
8 edits
7 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
addicted2dramas
67 people found this review helpful
Aug 31, 2012
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Move over Hana Yori Dango or Hana Kimi. This is definitely the best Jdrama I have seen till date. This is what I call a must-see. Even people who generally don't like Japanese dramas should watch this because they don't know what a marvelous show they are missing out on. I am so thrilled that I watched it because these kinds of shows nowadays are rare.

While the story of the show is nothing out of the ordinary, it turned out to be a lot different from what I expected. I thought it would turn out to be predictable and cliche from start to end, but it left me pleasantly surprised at a lot of places. There were certain twists that I had thought would happen but they were pretty different from what I was anticipating. Also, the ending was also contrary to what was expected. It was not at all obvious. I would have liked to make a lot of changes to it, but the current one makes great sense.

While the characters weren't extraordinary, their traits were very relatable. I only found Nobuka's character to be having very unbelievable and fictional traits. I don't know why there is a trend of certain dark and depressed females in Japanese dramas. These depressed females all have the same of look of the ghost from Ring movie. But I suppose it adds to the fun part. But really, I have neither seen nor heard about people like her so I can't say if it was based on fact or entirely imaginary.

I didn't like Shuji that much for the majority of the show because there seemed to be no character development at all till the last three episodes or so. Even Nobuka's character hardly grew. That was very unsatisfactory. Also, the most ridiculous thing was that while almost all situations were being dealt practically, why couldn't just Nobuka just go to a therapist to cure her mental issues? That part was very absurd. In spite of these shortcomings, Maki Horikita played the role excellently. She was very cute the way she kept nodding in a typical way. And the way she kept walking with her head hung low was very cute. The funniest scenes were the 'Nobuta Power Enter' ones. I can still laugh at that because it was done so well. Maki really proved to be a versatile actress and she has anyway done a lot of great shows.

The second guy, Akira was probably my favorite in it. I was so taken in by his character and loved him entirely till episode 6 or 7 because he seemed to be developing in the best way. Also, the actor Yamapi (who plays Akira) was simply brilliant throughout. During the last few episodes, the character of Akira stopped growing and became a victim of bad writing and inconsistency, hence reducing his charm. But it had nothing to do with the acting. Still, I cared more about him than other characters on the show.

And I was so impressed by Erika Toda. She's stunning and acts really well. I can't wait to watch her in Liar Game! I was so happy to find out she is the lead star of that show! I was worried during this show's progress that she would turn out to be the antagonist and thankfully that didn't happen, so I was happy in that aspect. She played a sweet girl and came off as very likable. Shuji was an idiot for not falling for her.

And I have to mention the character of the vice principle. Her character was pure genius. All the best scenes and dialogues went in her basket. She is the perfect kind of teacher that students can have. I would love to meet such a person in real life. It really was one of the best characters of the show with the best characterization, hands down.

Apart from all this, the sub plots were all excellent. Most of all this show portrays friendship very beautifully. Also subjects like teen depression, bullying and peer pressure are raised splendidly. Most of all, they provide with lessons to be learnt in the end. And the fact that life has to move on in spite of everything, and one should treasure the best memories of youth seem to be the core messages of the show. And of course, it tells us to live life fully and appreciate the life we have and the people we have around us.

The writing deteriorated in the last two episodes but it didn't go beyond a certain level of unreasonable. Plus, nobody overacted in this drama so I am thankful for that. It gets dragged a but but it is well within the limit of bearable. And for the rewatch value- it was enjoyable the first time so I am sure it can be watched again (even if I won't).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jeaniessi
45 people found this review helpful
Jan 12, 2012
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
What a sweet drama! While the premise of Nobuta wo Produce is not original, it is freshly told and I enjoyed every episode.

What I really found endearing is the frankness of the lead male Shuji and his inner monologue/narration. I like that he was outwardly popular but inwardly unsure, bored, scared and lonely. The theme of this show is a simple one. Finding true friendship...whether you are a popular kid, a quirky loner or a withdrawn, scared and painfully shy newcomer.

Each episode is written to show the development of this core friendship. As the synopsis and title reveal, these three come together to 'produce' Nobuta and make her popular but...wow is that so not what really matters here. I loved the way the story unfolded in such an original manner compared to the way a westernized show would have handled this. Lovely.

The acting is great. Not perfect but very good. My favorite was Yamashita Tomohisa who played Akira. He was so quirky, clumsy and strange but what a loyal and steadfast friend. Yamapi was great. There are a lot of wonderful characters to be found within the setting of their school; teachers and students alike. I enjoyed Shuji's family. They were a hoot! Nobuta was like a flower opening up to the sun when Shuji and Akira found her. I loved the development of her strength and their loyalty to her. Wonderful!

At 10 episodes, this series was a fast and entertaining watch. No story line or plot point dragged on too long or bogged down the pace. The music was fine..not memorable but not bad either. But this drama isn't really about a standout soundtrack so I did not find it distracting or lacking in any way. I gave the re-watch value an 8 because while I might not watch it again this was a very entertaining drama and others might really enjoy watching more than once.

I recommend this drama highly. It's quick, it's sweet, it's touching and fun. Give it try if you are hesitating.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kei_ryusaki
12 people found this review helpful
Oct 7, 2013
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Note: I rarely give 10 or 9. Thus, if it has 10/9 rating in a particular category, then it really overwhelmed my criteria.

Three words: "Simple yet Meaningful"

Overall - The development of the main characters and the main point of the story had been conveyed creatively.

Story - Simple yet the key points had been established. Idealistic scenarios from realistic conventional and unconventional characters had been well plotted.

Acting/Actor - Realistic portrayal of the raw emotions of the students had been displayed. Each of the actors consistently performed their roles effectively to make the story focused on what it intends to say.

Music - Deemed fit for this kind of story. It also enhanced the scenarios to support the emotions of the characters.

Rewatch Value - As for this kind of story which is mild yet meaningful, it had been rewatchable because of the development of the raw emotions and attitude of the characters. These made the unexpected friendship be deeply bonded due to both typical and unusual events where they matured in rendering trust and understanding for each other.

For the fans of friendship genre and anyone who wants to try this, this simple drama will leave you a smile on your face and you might hope to have or have had this kind of bond with your friends.

By the way, my criteria per review and how I rate each category are discussed in my profile.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kyra-x
11 people found this review helpful
Jan 29, 2014
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This was the first jdrama I watched. I thought it was really sweet. It was also very funny and I laughed a lot. It's a good story and I loved the character developments. The acting was great and I liked how they showed the stories of each character. I really loved Yamapi's acting!
I think I could watch this drama over and over again, and I'd still laugh.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
shie1121
11 people found this review helpful
Jul 7, 2013
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I think this drama is one of the best Jdorama ever produced.. not the typical drama that dealt with love story and romance but entirely about pure and genuine friendship. That 3 different individuals with different personalities and traits would "click" together and build a solid friendship, and that's make the story inspirational.

Since it has been released on 2005, you will see the younger Kamenashi Kazuya, Yamashita Tomohisa, and Horikita Maki. They're just so good portraying their roles. I just love how Kazuya have that innate confident in him that makes him so admirable, while Yamashita have that cuteness charm in him that is so adorable. And let's not forget Maki, she's so believable. From the way she walks and talks, it's all consistent.

The whole story is just so wonderful. To be able to make a drama that isn't based on a love story but on true friendship is that makes this story unique. And also in every episodes, a moral lesson can be learned!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DramaBunny
10 people found this review helpful
Dec 28, 2011
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is a great drama, with an even greater lesson to be learned from it. It's about friendship, and excepting yourself as you are. The lead girl Nobuta struggles with being painfully shy, but with the help of Shunji & Akira she eventually overcomes it, and the three form a beautiful, yet complicated bond.

It is full of laughs, cries, and everything that makes a drama good to watch. It is one of my favorites, and I'm sure it could become yours as well!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SeRose
10 people found this review helpful
Aug 8, 2012
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
Nobuta is my first Jdrama, and I'm not sure it will ever be toppled as my favorite. A high school coming of age drama, Nobuta explores the true meaning of friendship, in the moment and forever. I'm not sure I've ever seen a trio of characters portray such a deep level of non-sexual chemistry. They actors together are completely in sync, and the story line is unique, quirky, deeply moving and poignant, and just glorious overall. I am so sad that there were only 10 eposides. I could have watched these characters forever.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Deeheartsdramas
8 people found this review helpful
Aug 21, 2015
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama is so not what I was expecting when I started the first episode. I figured it would be your typical high-school drama love triangle. Sure, there may be some of that element - and you may even suffer a few moments of second-lead syndrome...but this story is so much more. I'm still new to dramas, and there are several that I've truly enjoyed - but even as I enjoy them they're kind of a guilty pleasure because they're tropey and contrived - kind of like that novel you take to the beach because you don't really want to think real hard while you're basking in the sun.

This one is not that novel.

Oh, sure, it sounds like it at first. How many times has Pygmalion been remade as a teen romance, after all? Hot boy turns nerdy girl into beautiful princess and falls in love in spite of himself, right?

Wrong.

I keep seeing people saying "the plot is cliche, very ordinary". The premise may be cliche. But I felt the way the premise was implemented in the story line isn't cliche at all. This story isn't really about Nobuta becoming pretty or popular. It's about three people who learn to open up with each other and develop one of the most beautiful friendships between them I've ever had the pleasure to watch.

Honestly, I wasn't sure about it at first. One of the characters, Akira, was off-putting to me because his behavior is just bizarre - but he grows on you. And at first Shuji comes off as...kind of a jerk who hides behind a nice-guy facade, but as the story progresses you find out he's not, at all. He's just as scared and lonely and human as the other two, but they've each built their own armor to protect themselves. It's when the armor begins to crack that the story really gets good. Nobuta is your typical weird, loner girl...but even she turns out to have some hidden depths. The ending was amazing and left me teary-eyed, but in a good way for a change. I highly recommend watching this one, especially if you like high-school stories, or stories about a trio of friends. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pinay0917
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 16, 2012
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I’ve seen a lot of asian dramas! and I mean a loooot! but most of them are romantic comedies coz i like power hugs and all those cheezy things in love stories (hahaha) so, I never thought I would like a drama about friendship. Nobuta wo Produce is a story with realistic issues. A lot of us can relate to the shuji-kun character. Most of us would really do everything to get along with everyone well and just avoid conflitcs. I also have the fear of not being liked at by people at work and in my community. That would be so depressing!. This drama did not teach me new things about life.. what it did was remind me of the little things I sometimes forget.. like, having the option to hide the thing that hurt you in a jar. and then when you’re completely over it, you will accidentally open the jar and see that thing again but this time you won’t feel pain but you will laugh at the memory it brings you.. hehehe. so, go ahead, watch it. this drama is a good choice. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
iAcchan
7 people found this review helpful
Jan 12, 2012
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Nobuta wo Produce~ a great jdrama.

Story- The storyline revolves around 2 boys and a girl, where the girl has closed herself off from the outside world and the two boys just don't really fit into their school and they decide to give her a makeover, "produce" her into the most popular girl at school. Its a fun idea with great moments. The drama is fun and quirky for the most part, showing emotional scenes whenever necessary. For a while, I copied "Nobuta's power.... Activate!" just because it was cute.

Acting/Cast- What makes this drama is the trio of stars that play the leads, Maki-chan, Kamenashi Kazuya and Yammapi. Alone, each star has the potential to make a great drama, and together, they show their capabilities. I actually didnt recognize Maki-chan in this at first(I know, I didnt read the cast list, blahh), but seeing her change from the quirky character of Hana Kimi into a dark, and pessimistic girl is a complete turnaround. Kame has also released a few of his own dramas, in my opion, the best being Tatta Hitotsu no Koi.
And Yammapi has been in many dramas such as Kurasagi, Dragon Zakura, so on and so forth. With such talented leads, its bound to be good.

Music- I dont know why, but music in jdramas never really stick to me unlike kdramas. Im pretty sure Kat-tun or Arashi sang the songs for this drama, so it'll be popular within japan/ fans of the two bands.

Rewatch? Hmm, I don't know about the rewatch. Maybe just a few scenes that were memorable but thats about it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Skye-N-Rain
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 14, 2011
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This is one of my favorite Jdramas.



Story: 8/10 The plot behind this drama is pretty ordinary. It's to make a loner girl at school, into one of the popular kids. That being said, I enjoyed every minute of it.



Acting: 10/10 The acting by Kamenashi Kazuya and Yamashita Tomohisa was outstanding. Erika Toda also did a great job. Overall, the entire cast was relatively flawless. One great thing about Yamaspi in this drama was the fact that he plays a very cute and quirky character unlike his other dramas.



Music: 7/10 The music for this jdrama was pretty average. It served it's purpose and I forgot it soon after I finished the drama.



Rewatch Value: 6/10 This is actually one of the better dramas to rewatch since you know what's going to happen from the very beginning.



Overall: 9/10 All in All, this drama is one of the more lighthearted, fun to watch Jdramas that everyone should watch. So what are you waiting for? Go! Go! Go!


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Swara Bose
4 people found this review helpful
Mar 13, 2016
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
No Words to describe the after effect of completing this show. It left with tears of happiness. The story is so realistic. Its touchy. What a great finish it has.
Mindblowing performances by the three lead actors - Kazuya Kamenashi(Shuji),Tomohisa Yamashita(Akira) and Maki Horikita(Nobuko/Nobuta). The young actors have so much understanding of their characters.Can't think,at their age,I was so intelligent and understanding. Kudos to them.Out of the three my favorite is Kazuya Kamenashi. He looks so handsome. He shows his three dimensional side too well.
Kazuya Kamenashi plays the role of Shuji who is the most popular guy in the school. He wants to make everyone happy and keep up his popularity.
Tomohisa Yamashita plays a eccentric guy Akira who wants to be friends with Shuji. Though he is rich,he likes to live like dime on street.
One fine day he meets a shy and introvert girl Nubiko who gets contantly bullied in school.Though Shuji acts cool in front of his classmates,he and his friend Akira try to build Nobuko's confidence and make her a popular girl so that no one bullies her. After several persuasion and inspiration from these two guys,she starts putting effort in changing herself.
A deep friendship starts building between these three and they do lots of activities to promote her popularity.

This drama is about friendship between three people.There is no melodrama or over the top scenes. Everything seems natural. The girl Nobuko(named as Nobuta) doesn't undergo any dramatic change. The change seems gradual and realistic. There is no heavy-duty romance and love triangle as such. The school premises are set realistically and change that happens in the three people's life is gradual. You can understand and feel all the three characters.

Its a rare gem. Very few stories are written so well.Acting is top notch. Though the support cast is good,the lead three actors shine in their roles.
Also,it needs to be mentioned that the theme song "Seishun Amigo" is sung by the two male leads who are also pop idols. The song is great and it is picturised with two cute pigs(anime).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?