My Strange Hero (2018) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 4,258 users)
  • Ranked: #1009
  • Popularity: #318
  • Watchers: 10,625

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

65 edits
56 edits
29 edits
24 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
PHope
20 people found this review helpful
Feb 5, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
I had high hopes for this one. The two male leads are two of my favourite actors and I know they always provide good performances. So, at that department I was left very satisfied, as the performances from all the actors and actresses were really good. However, the story was boring. It lacked intensity and it didn't ignite any interest. The plot as well wasn't anything special. It actually started slow and continued slow. The ending was good and satisfying, but there was no surprise or interesting twist happening in the whole drama. So, after the tragedy of the past was revealed, the drama had nothing to offer. So, 6.5 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
annenana
17 people found this review helpful
Feb 6, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers
First of all, I only watched this drama because of Yoo Seung Ho. I mean, Yoo Seung Ho is a great actor, ever since he was little he was already superb in acting. I totally recommend everyone to watch this because you will surely not regret watching this - well that is if you like a drama that is about revenge.

I actually liked this drama because first, the acting was excellent. Every actor fits their role. Each and every episode, I felt happy, I felt sad and angry. Yoo Seung Ho is really a great actor, Jo Bo Ah also played her role well, Kwak Dong Yeon was also superb, he played that psycho or mentally ill role very well. I actually felt anger and hatred towards him, but when I reached the end, I could now understand why he felt that way.

Second, the chemistry of Yoo Seung Ho and Jo Bo Ah was 10/10 for me. THEY HAVE SUCH AMAZING CHEMISTRY. Every time they have some romantic scene, I WAS SERIOUSLY SMILING THE WHOLE TIME. I also remembered my first love every time i'm watching them.

Unfortunately, I wished that in the end, where they all celebrate Bok Su's graduation and Soo Jeong when she passed her exam, I wished that Se Ho was also there to celebrate with them. I just really wanted them all to be friends again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Louu_34
5 people found this review helpful
Feb 7, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
I started with high expectations but I was really disappointed. It was cute but there was nothing more to it. The story would have been very good but it was badly executed and badly written so in the end it's just boring, I've mostly watched it while doing something else.

The main plot is supposed to be revenge (I mean the main lead is literaly named revenge) but in the end it was mainly focused on the love story between the two main leads and the revenge is just put aside until the last few episodes. After the first 10 to 12 episodes, the story just drags on and on. It's a passable teen drama and maybe I'm getting too old to enjoy it, but overall it's way too cringy that it's hard to watch without wanting to throw away your computer. What bothered me the most is that they're adults but they constantly act as if they were 15.
The plot also included a sort of criticism of the Korean system of education with two characters close to the burn out, but they just mention it sometimes without really getting into the subject, which is a pity.

The great thing about this drama is the cast. All actors are very good in their own roles. Yoo Seungho has nothing more to prove, we all know he's a good actor, Jo Boah is also very good even though her character is sometimes very annoying, and Kwak Dongyeon is stunning as a villain.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
celestialocean
3 people found this review helpful
Feb 10, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This review may contain spoilers
This drama as a whole seems to be a reflection of the titular character; a strong plot isn't its strongest suit, but it more than makes up for its shortcomings in heart and charm. To be fair – I'm not Korean, nor have I lived in or even visited South Korea. I don't have in-depth knowledge of the state of its education system nor am I entirely sure how its laws/legal procedure differ from that of my own country. It did seem to me that realism was often sacrificed to amp up the drama. I'm actually more or less okay with that as long as other aspects of the story are engaging enough, and they were for me. A large part of the plot hinges upon a ridiculous degree of miscommunication/misunderstanding between the main characters, so the first part of the show can be frustrating to get through. Once that aspect of the plot is resolved between the main two characters, it becomes quite a bit more fun.

Character development is a strong point of this show. It is actually the least noticeable in Kang Bok Soo himself, as he had a strong sense of integrity and justice from the beginning, but he does eventually find passion and purpose in the process of completing his education. It is more apparent in the female lead, Son Soo Jung. At the beginning of the story, she does something unethical to advance her career and she stubbornly clings to her sense of self-righteousness regarding the conflict that lead to the falling out between her and Bok Soo. She is also afraid to make waves and speak up when she knows something isn't right because she doesn't want to risk her new position as a full-time teacher. She isn't the most likable character in the beginning. I watched this with comments on Viki; the hate directed at her is pretty vicious (and much of it misdirected). Rest assured, though - if you initially find her unlikable and you just can't see how she and Bok Soo could be a good couple, your opinion will most likely change if you keep watching. By the end, she does show a lot of courage and demonstrate her willingness to do what she has to in order to make amends and lead her students by example.

Still, no character grows more than Oh Se Ho, the antagonist responsible for Bok Soo's expulsion when he was originally in high school and his subsequent breakup with Soo Jung. The show's treatment of this character is a large part of why I came to appreciate it as much as I did. He changes in a gradual, believable manner, and the other characters' reactions to his growth are also fairly realistic and satisfying.

The acting in this drama is excellent – everyone brought their A game. I decided to watch this because I've enjoyed Yoo Seung Ho in other dramas and he is just as great in this. He is an exceptionally emotive actor. Although an actor having good looks is pretty much a given (and thus not something that particularly sets one apart from the next for me), he does have one of the brightest smiles I've seen, and he's quite good at crying; whatever the character feels, he's good at making you feel it. His comedic timing is also on point.

I only recall seeing Kwak Dong Yeon in "Love in the Moonlight." He was quite likable in that, but I was really impressed with him in this drama. His acting is so convincing and really goes a long way towards either making you love or hate the character. The contrast between his deranged, arrogant persona in the present and his more insecure, vulnerable persona in the past changes his features in a way that makes him nearly seem like two different people. The character becomes sympathetic thanks in very large part to the actor's skill in portraying his inner turmoil and desperation for love. (His scenes with Bok Soo’s mother and his former teacher, Park Dong Jun, were especially moving.) I'll definitely start keeping an eye out for his work in the future.

I'd never seen Jo Bo Ah in anything previously, but her acting was also very solid. While she did sell me on the character's cute and funny side from the beginning, I found her even more charming as the series progressed – perhaps because the character's nurturing, loving, protective qualities really only have a chance to shine later on.

It's not just the main actors/characters that are great in this drama, though. The supporting actors are wonderful. From Kim Mi Kyung (one of my favorites!) and Chun Ho Jin as everyone's favorite stand-in mom and dad, to Bok Soo's closest friends/coworkers, to his classmates – many of whom do have very distinct interests and personalities without needing to take up too much screen time – every character brings something different to the table and contributes to the funny, cute, and sentimental scenes that make up the heart of this drama. There are so many cute relationships to care about in addition to the main couple, both romantic and platonic.

Basically, this show has a bit of everything that I think would please many drama fans. It isn't a show to take too seriously because it doesn't take itself all that seriously most of the time; it is frequently over-the-top dramatic for humorous effect. Most episodes are a good mix of comedy, romance, and drama – and in my opinion, it really delivers on all three.

However, despite being mostly lighthearted in tone, it isn't a drama with nothing to say: it does serve as a critique of overbearing parenting and education styles that value performance above all else, including the mental well being, happiness, and integrity of the student. Some of the parents (and by parents, I mean moms, because dads apparently don't exist in this drama) actively push their children to cheat, seeming to believe that they really are doing what's best for their child by buying their way into a good university. The show advocates for fairness and balance. Its message to students is essentially, "yes, do study and try your best, but allow yourself to just relax and enjoy life, too." To parents and teachers, the message is: "it's fine to want your kids to do well, but let them be kids, too. The best thing you can do for them is to teach them how to live well by example." It is enjoyable to see students of both extremes internalize this message and become happier, more balanced, and more mature individuals as a result.

One last thing worth mentioning – the music is gorgeous. A good soundtrack can make any story better, and I think that the music is a huge asset to this show. The plot is admittedly flimsy at times, but the drama makes up for it in basically every other way. If this type of drama is generally up your alley (romantic comedy with dramatic flair), I'd recommend giving it a shot as long as you can be patient with it for a few episodes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
betun
3 people found this review helpful
Feb 6, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Genres blend beautifully in this delectable dessert

I started this drama after listening to its OST and getting intrigued by the teacher-student scenes in the video (Magic Dream) and I was not disappointed. I loved the romance. It was the cutest thing ever: that of experiencing second first love in the same setting after a seemingly irreparable parting, and the forbidden nature of the relationship making it even more irresistible.
The main plot acts as a critique to the competitive and discriminatory school system in Korea, a system that also has parallels in other countries; the system can have severe adverse consequences for even the achievers, not to mention those who find school more of a struggle. The issue of corruption in private school or university foundations is also dealt with quite elegantly. Our leads need to resolve betrayals and misunderstandings and then challenge a pretty difficult and hostile school system that is catering to only a select few. The roles of a teacher and of a mother are scrutinized. The performances of the characters are key rather than the story itself.
Yoo Seung Ho as the male lead Kang Bok Soo is truly a hero. His kind, playful and forgiving nature is hard to find fault with. He seems every ounce the mischievous schoolboy as well as the returning student looking for justice. His maturity in handling the issue of his first love makes the whole ride possible.Did I also mention that he is handsome as heck?
Jo Bo Ah as Soon So Jung was soooo adorable. Her character takes some very immature decisions that have major consequences and her initial refusal to take responsibility as well as her victim mindset could be frustrating for viewers for a bit. Yet,as she grows through the story, we see her change admirably. She is honest, courageous and resilient later on. She is crucial to the success of Bok Soo. I must confess though that I say these things in retrospect; while watching I was quite mesmerized by how pretty she looked.
Oh Se Ho, played by Kwak Dong Yeon, plays a crucial role in the drama and is the friend turned nemesis with his own back story. His dashing looks and unpredictable behaviour are sure to result in SLS (Second Lead Syndrome) among many.
Some elements that appealed specially: the hot kisses, Soon So Joong's unabashed eating and the classroom chemistry between the leads. The ending was tied up with bows on top but was credible. Due to my long years in the education system as a student, I could identify very strongly with some things. However, the witty humour of the show and the addictive sweetness of even the support characters( the classmates were superb) will appeal to even those who feel less strongly about education. This message of hope and of second chances sure resounded with me. When I was not concentrating on Jo Bo Ah's smile ;)
I will rewatch for sure.
( My rating is based on how it made me feel. It does not mean that it is a perfect drama.)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sinasina
2 people found this review helpful
Mar 9, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 5.5
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 3.0
This review may contain spoilers
This drama is like 30% romcom, 20% melo & 50% outlandish school life plot. I liked the cheesy romcom, I accepted the melo, but I absolutely hated the school life part. I consider myself very tolerant, when it comes to kdrama logic, or fiction in general, but this was just really really bad. Starting with the 27 years old guy goes back to school to get revenge, then moving onto the "let's save the school" plot & all the other various events that happen at school, it's just a plain terrible script, or at least it is bad from an adult viewer's perspective. Maybe the target audience is 14-16 years old kids, for them this drama might have been a lot more fun, I don't know. I didn't buy Seho's character development either, it's not believable to me. Some positive points to note are like the chemistry between the main leads, or that the writers didn't make the triangle too annoying, the OST is quite okay, also Boa is like the most beautiful woman I have ever seen.

(I have no problem with the slice of life in a school setting genre in general, this drama specifically is just below average)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Unnursvana
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 5, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
My Strange Hero was a drama that I decided to watch first and foremost for the actors. Before I started it I didn’t have much faith in the story itself, or how the revenge plot would mix in with the rom-com storyline. It managed to prove me wrong. I enjoyed it from the start.

The drama was rather successful in blending these sweeter rom-com elements with a more serious and dramatic plot. There was a fine balance between these two storylines and neither one seemed to take too much time from each other, but rather work together quite well. Some dramas are upper sweet and cute in the beginning, but then it hits you with all the drama and it sucks the life out of the romance. But this show made the drama and the rom-com elements work.

The most memorable and the best thing about the drama was the main couple - as it is supposed to be in such rom-coms - not the revenge plot, even if I did start to really enjoy it towards the end. But I watched this mostly for the characters and the sweet moments and other cute bits. The characters, from the main couple to the side characters were really cute.

The revenge or the more serious plot was a bit too dramatic at times, but at the same time I felt as if it needed a bit more momentum at times to really work. The drama didn’t dive deep enough sometimes I felt, but it didn’t matter much to me, because that wasn’t what I was watching the drama for. But I felt like, in the end, the drama had said all that it wanted or needed to say. So it felt satisfying.

The drama had loads of great characters, but what stood out for me the most was actually the female character, Son Soo Jung, who was completely the hero of this drama and goes the most character journey of them all. It is usually the female character who has the role of making the male hero a better person but doesn’t always change that much as a character, but it seemed to be the opposite of this drama, which was something I really liked.

Soo Jung starts the drama of being kinda guarded against everything and everyone, she does not do well in life and she makes some wrong decisions at the beginning, which she has to pay for later on, but in her relationship with Kang Bok Soo she learns or wants to do better and she opens up more. She got the storyline that the male leads usually get. The drama spends a lot of time on her as a character and her developmental as a person, making her one of the stronger characters in the drama. It’s not all dramas manage that, or do it as well as My Strange Hero did, which was something I really enjoyed.

Out of all the main characters in this drama, Bok Soo, goes through the smallest character journey, but he as a characters does not change as much through the drama. He becomes less focused on revenge and opens up more, but I feel like the main goal of that character was to help some of the other character grow as human beings.

My Strange Hero was a drama I didn’t expect much from but ended up waiting eagerly for the next episode every week. It was so light and fun and overall a rather solid rom-com. At least for me. I haven’t found a drama with Yoo Seung Ho that I enjoyed this much in a long, which I really enjoyed, since I am a big fan of his.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
manicmuse
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 14, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
"My Strange Hero" is a drama with a great cast but the drama itself doesn't get stellar grades from me. It starts out as a really interesting love triangle set years after a tragic event changes the lives of three students who are now reunited as adults at the same school. What it then turns into is a drama about school corruption, which wasn't bad, but was much less interesting. The characters are still strong, so that's what kept me watching even when the episodes started to drag. My main reason for continuing to watch was Yoo Seung Ho anyway, and he does not disappoint.

Yoo Seung Ho is so charming that the role of Kang Bok Soo is perfect for him. He plays a warmhearted jock who has more common sense than book smarts. Throughout the show, he becomes the unexpected "Hero" in various situations, and he returns to HS as an adult to finally graduate and get "revenge" on those who ruined his life as a student. He is matched romantically with Jo Bo Ah as Son Soo Jung who's character annoyed me at first, but they had extremely cute chemistry and I grew to like their romantic storyline a lot, even during it's corniest moments. Who interested me even more than the female lead is Kwak Dong Yeon as Oh Se Ho. He was such an interesting rival for Kang Bok Soo, and so sympathetic, that I almost couldn't dislike him, even when he was at his creepiest. These three characters are what got me hooked on the show initially. I found their backstory interesting, and their reuniting intriguing. It's when the story focused less on their dynamic and more on the school that I lost some interest.

Don't get me wrong, I liked the student characters too, and even liked the sometimes heavyhanded lessons and themes in some of the school storylines (suicide & performance pressure specifically). The underdog students in the Wildflower class were cute, and I liked rooting for them, but the whole save our corrupted school storyline was just too corny for me. I also liked Chun Ho Jin as teacher Park Dong Jun and was very entertained by Kim Yeo Jin as Im Se Kyung (one of the worst Kdrama mom's ever), but their roles started to feel redundant after a while, which made the short episodes feel much longer than they were. I actually have no complaints about any of the supporting cast and liked them all. Most of the characters are written to be pretty one-note, and the actors managed to still make them feel real.

Would I watch this again? No. As cute as it was at moments, I could not see myself watching the whole story again now that I know how things end. However, I did love the ending, even if it was pretty predictable.

Overall, this is a cute feel-good drama, that's never too serious, despite a few serious subjects, with an inspiring message about not letting labels or the past define your future. Maybe a bigger fan of school themed dramas would like this more than I did. Romance may not always be the main focus, but it drives the story enough to appeal to romance fans, and the two leads really deliver on the romantic feels. Yoo Seung Ho fans shouldn't miss this one for sure (definitely include me as a member of his fan club, especially after "I am not a robot"). It also certainly has moments that are full of awkwardly cheesy smiles, corny jokes, and predictable clichés, but somehow still had enough charm to keep me from dropping it. So I would definitely give this drama a passing grade, and recommend it, though I wouldn't add it to the honor roll. One thing the drama teaches is that having the best grades isn't everything, and having a lower grade doesn't mean you lack worth, and this drama is a great example of that!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
goguma1207
1 people found this review helpful
Apr 15, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
I went into this drama after reading a lot of the comments and reviews fully expecting to be disappointed or frustrated. Instead, I got one of the most heartwarming dramas I've ever had the pleasure of watching.

My favourite aspect of this drama is although the premise is about revenge, the ultimate lesson is that forgiveness is what leads to happiness. Forgiveness does not mean the person who does wrong gets away from the consequences of their action, but it means they receive the courage to fully face their own mistakes. Time and time again, different characters in this drama choose to believe in people and despite their actions, believe that everyone is capable of change.

If you're looking for a drama where revenge is sweet, this is not the drama for you. Bok Soo definitely gets the short end of the stick, even at the end when everything gets resolved. But if you're looking for a drama about second chances, forgiveness, believing in people and an adorable romance with a decent dose of comedy, I highly recommend this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
lishaaa
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 15, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers
This drama has me howling within the first 5 minutes, we had Michael Jackson and Whitney Houston within the space of minutes so I was already giving it soundtrack points but my god the opening scene with he male lead. I swiftly went from what the f*** is happening to laughing so hard it hurt.

CHARACTERS
Bok Soo: I loved him. He’s adorable, he’s pretty chill. He works hard. He’s a braver person than I am cause I wouldn’t have gone back if I was him. I loved watching him bond with his fellow students and help them out with his own brand of advice and boosting them up. He has some nice character growth too, subtle as it is.

Soo Jung: She seems to not really care about integrity or anything at the beginning, she can’t be bothered with the counselling etc. In the first couple episodes I was on the fence about her, but I was warming up to her and then you got the flashback to him being expelled and her siding with Se Ho and I was like wow I hope he blackmailed you or we’re not going to be friends. I was kind of disappointed in her character cause she knows she did wrong not even asking his side but she acts like she’s the victim and she was all “you aren’t the only one who’s suffered” sorry your suffering isn’t on the level of someone accused and charged with pushing someone off a building when he didn’t do it. BUT….she has a hell of a lot of character development throughout the series, she stops sitting quietly by as bad things happen, she starts to stand up for the students and really take care of them and show them the right way to do things, she gets more courageous and I loved how much her character changed.

Se Ho: I’ve never seen the actor play a bad guy before and hot damn I wanted to punch him in his smug face even before I started to figure out what he did. His character is obviously messed up, you find that out from the flashbacks thanks to his mother and I actually ended up being so damn sad that he could have been friends with Bok Soo and have the best friend he’s ever had in him…but he got jealous and he was not in a good place and he destroyed it and to be fair…while he didn’t come clean at the time, his mother did pressure him a lot. He also changes a lot, he’s pretty dislikeable in the beginning but by the end he tries to make amends and his growth is slow but you can see it.

There are also some great supporting characters in Bok Soo’s two BFFS who are with him through thick and thin, I loved the three of them together, they where hilarious and they always had Bok Soo’s back. Then there’s the kids, and I found it heart warming how Bok Soo looked out for them and helped them and how they accepted him as their hyung.

The acting from the main three leads was on point. Wow. I love Seung Ho, and he plays his part to perfection with the smiles and the darker moments when he’s out for revenge when his face completely changes. He made me laugh and choked me up but I feel like Se Ho’s actor was just…wow. Like I said, I’ve seen him play characters who are completely opposite and he portrays his character excellently and the emotion had me choking me up more than once an he makes you feel for a character that you could otherwise just hate. He’s convincing, and the contrast between his present and past self was just excellent, he goes from being lowkey deranged to being quite cute and vulnerable and you just wanna hug him. His performance was impressive.

Plot: It has light hearted moments, it has some ridiculous moments, and some completely hilarious moments, but it also tackles issues such as bullying, the school system in Korea and the pressures of it and overbearing parents, suicide and so on, and you’ll have an episode start out all pretty and funny…but then get more serious or sinister. I just liked how the plot unfolded, the flashbacks, the mix of the more serious and the funny and the heartwarming and how well the two vastly different kind of moments could go in one episode. It’s not all serious all the time, and the humour doesn’t take any levity away from the more serious moments. I have to say some moments with the parents and what they where doing to their kids or what the school was doing had me getting so mad that they where getting away with pulling this shit, but everything came to a satisfying and realistic conclusion. I know some people are disappointed Se Ho didn’t end up being BFFs with Bok Soo again but that…is just not realistic after everything that happened.

I also liked how it was shot, the happy flashbacks are all bright and overly saturated, and have a kind of pink tint to them. Whereas the more serious and upsetting ones are much colder and darker. It was a nice trick.

Negatives:
The level of misunderstanding between the two leads….bit of a reach. definitely made me frustrated more than once too. The plot isn’t the strongest at all times, let’s be real.

While I liked the romance and the way we saw it in the past and in the present and how it bloomed both times, and they had plenty of cute moments…it was also a source of disappointment. Because Bok Soo is supposed to be out for revenge but once the misunderstanding with he and the female lead are out of the way, and the romance kicks off….the drama is focused more on that and the revenge kinda falls by the wayside and I was disappointed by that because I was living for Bok Soo having his revenge moments.

Final Thoughts:
While some things are a bit OTT and a bit cheesy, and there was a source of disappointment when it came to how the revenge petered out at one point…this was a series that had me hooked wanting to see what went down and then wanting to see Bok Soo get his revenge. Each episode had a mix of heartwarming moments, serious and emotional and romance and it mixed everything together smoothly! I’m not sure if I would re-watch it but I did enjoy watching it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ChinguMode
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 19, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I've set my final rating for this show as Joy/10 and I don't even care that makes little sense.

Honestly, this marshmallow death of a show defies analysis or intellect. It bypasses the brain and goes straight for my endocrine system and so I love it despite its flaws (or even because of them).

On paper, My Strange Hero (otherwise known as Revenge Returns) look like a revenge drama - think Sassy Go Go meets Angry Mum. Kang Bok-soo (Yoo Seung-ho) returns to his highschool after 10 years to enact revenge on his former girlfriend Son Soo-jung (Jo Bo-ah) and best friend Oh Se-ho (Kwak Dong-yeon). In the process, he befriends a class of delinquent students and faces off against school corruption.

What sets Boksoo apart from its first frame is its commitment to forging its own path and telling its own story. From start to finish, this show knew exactly what story it wanted to tell, what message it wanted to send, what tone it wanted to set and who its characters were. It never waved from that. More than that, it never opted for tropes or cliches, preferring to be entirely itself from beginning to end. Boksoo may have come back to his school for revenge but what he really wanted - what we all really want - is justice instead.

I love Yoo Seung Ho's Bok-soo - a vibrant, kind and emotionally intelligent man. I love his badass girlfriend, a rare tsundere female who was waiting for a ball of warmth to melt her heart. I love them individually AND as an OTP and I can't remember the last time that happened *cough* INAR *cough*.

The show is far from perfect and yet its imperfections add to its enjoyment - if anything the show's flaws make it what it is in the same way as it strengths.

And while it technically can't compare to the great triumphs of 2019 - Sky Castle, Children of Nobody - it is still up there as one of the best shows this year.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nadilex
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 9, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
U guys should watch, trust me. This movie type is so fkin’ strange, many problems like edu, love,... cast is all good, actors cool and beauty, deep. Btw I just want to say it’s interesting asf, really really really awsome film haha. The plot is special and music, OST so great (example : Are you listening - Hwang Chi Yue). U will be fall in love when u see main’s smile, he’s fkin’ handsome and cool boy. Main girl too, very beautiful, I love all this casttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
Was this review helpful to you?