I Give My First Love to You (2009) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 6,970 users)
  • Ranked: #1039
  • Popularity: #253
  • Watchers: 12,553

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

10 edits
8 edits
2 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
Yabbe
42 people found this review helpful
Dec 27, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
If you've read the manga you might be a little disappointed with this theatrical version. If you haven't read the manga (or read it and want to watch this anyway) then you definitely should watch it. The romance is so beautiful and their struggles are so difficult that you can't help but scream at them.
The acting is absolutely incredible, the story is heart wrenching, and above all the story is believable.
If you're not sure if this movie is for you watch the first 10 minutes. By the time the 10 minute mark rolls by I think you will realize how touching this movie will be. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JustBruck
32 people found this review helpful
Jun 22, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Maybe I just really love young love, but I absolutely loved this movie! Yes I did cry but I knew that it was both sad and happy tears. I have gone back and forth for awhile now whether or not I should watch this movie, I finally did and I am so glad that i did :) This movie is so moving and full of warm feelings inside! I hope that you don't avoid watching this because it's a little sad, but I fully understand if you do as well. I hope this review helps and if it doesn't then message me and I hope that I can be of help to you :)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hira-M
8 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This movie made me cry so much! I've never cried this much while watching a movie since A Walk To Remember. And, though the stories kinda matched (in this the boy had a serious disease, in AWTR the girl did), I think this story was much more sad. Because in AWTR there wasn't really any hope for Jamie to survive. But in IGMFLTY (Yeah, I can't write the whole thing =P) the writer was like "The boy is going to die. No wait, it's ok! He'll be alright. There's still hope... Haha! Just kidding! He really is going to die." So my heart went like "No, he's going to die! But he's so sweet! Why do nice people always have to die?" Then it was like "OMG he can be saved! I knew they wouldn't break my heart like this!" And in the end it was like "Noooo!!! Why do you have to break my heart, stick it together and then break it even harder?!! If you had to kill him, why give me hope first?"

Ok, so I hadn't read the manga before (still haven't) and I have no idea if this has an anime or not. So I didn't know the story at all. I saw this while searching for a movie (I think) and decided to watch it since it looked good. I'm so glad I did! I don't know if the cast is like the people in the manga, but they were pretty good actors.

The romance was so sweet! Takuma and Mayu were lovers since they were kids and when you've loved someone for so long, it makes it all the more harder to let them go. Takuma was such a sweet, nice and innocent guy. And he had such a positive attitude even when he knew he was going to die. He was a sweetheart! Mayu was a perfect match for him. She was a headstrong girl who didn't give up easily.

When I first saw Kou, I was like "That guy needs a psychiatrist!" But what happened to him was really sad. He may have seemed like a crazy guy, but you could also see that he was good at heart. And he had had a rough life. But that doesn't stop me from wishing that Takuma would've gotten Kou's heart, even if it seems selfish.

My favorite part of the movie was when Takuma awakens for one day to take Mayu to their "honeymoon". I kept laughing and crying throughout because I was happy that they got a special day together but I also knew what awaited them at the end of the day.

This was an amazing movie and I highly recommend it if you are not afraid to watch romantic tragedies. But I must warn you, keep your tissues with you while watching it! 'Cause my tears started as soon as the movie did and ended long after the movie had.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hylia
7 people found this review helpful
Feb 23, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
Please, forgive me for starting a review like this, but I'm not sure how to start it. I just watched this movie for the first time and honestly I cannot describe how beautiful it was. For those who doesn't like sad movies or melodrama this movie might be tiring, I know that because there was I time I didn't like melodramas either, but even if I didn't I'm sure I would like this one.
You, the reader, might be suspicious of such high ratings I gave to this movie, you might be wondering "Is that movie so good?", well I don't know how to answer you that question, because I don't know your personal preference, but I hope this review will help you to make a decision to either watch it or not.

When I first saw the recommendation for this movie at Kimi Ni Todoke's page (here at MDL) I thought it could be a good movie, the synopsis that I read later made my expectations drop, but I'm glad I manage to watch it. I could never imagine how intense and touching this movie could be, while watching it I couldn't look away from the screen, it is such a inspiring movie and at some point, to some people can be personal in so many different ways - even aside the main plot it can happen, even for someone who never have been through something like that, at some point, it can become a little personal. I, myself, at some point of this movie could see me in the character's shoes.
But I must make the "cryers" aware that, if you use to cry easily, this movie will absolutely make you cry a river, so please keep some tissue by your side.

Like I've already wrote, the story can be very touching and inspiring, but this wouldn't be possible without the work of the screenwriter and the collaboration between the crew and the cast, the main character's performers were a really good choice, they're chemistry, I mean the fictional relationship they portrait for the movie, seems so natural that at some point I thought by myself if that was really a movie, the only thing I didn't liked much was the ability of the main male character to cry at certain scene because seemed a little forced, but since everything else was so good I couldn't complain for much longer than a few minutes. The OST is the best and I wish I could have it, it matched very well with the movie and it was well applied in the different scenes.
I gave a 9 for Rewatch Value because for me, at least, this is one of those movies that should be watched carefully so I can still fully appreciate without ever get tired of it.

This movie is one of those that can make you smile instead laughing, the kind of movie that make you anxious with the happiest scenes between the character's because you don't know what's next (if you, like me, haven't watch it before), you can either hate or love the main character as much as you can learn to love or hate the secondary ones, but I won't say why because that you'll need to find out while watching.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
OneAndOnlyCassiopeia
6 people found this review helpful
Jun 2, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
At first I thought the movie was really boring and stuff. I didn't appreciate it because the characters talk a lot, there's no interesting happenings. But while watching, you'll really feel the emotion of the characters. The actors were really great, they really did a good job to portray the role. I would definitely watch it again because the movie's really good. You will not regret watching this. You'll learn a lot in this movie too, like.. Appreciate even the little things around you. Or always give importance to everyone who cares for you. You'll never know when they'll leave you and never come back right? So that's it. I hope you'll really get interested in this movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
insertrandomcoolname
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 27, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Story: Despite this being a cliche romance story, two people in love and one gravely ill, it manages to grasp your heart and your undivided attention. It doesn’t matter how many times I see this type of plot, I still fall heada first into it and cry each time. It must be because of the time limit, that they are so young and die so quickly, before anything truly begins. While they loved in high school and shared many experiences, it was only the beginning and it had to end so quickly.

This is one of the first movies that I watched where I started to cry within the first half hour. It isn’t usually until the climax or ending, but not this one. Even when it starts out with Takuma and Mayu as young children, there is a small sense of hopelessness. You just know what is going to happen and you don’t want it to end that way.

It is true that the plot is simple and the ending predictable, but that does not mean it isn’t a good movie. While the ending may affect your opinion, it isn’t all that matters. What does is the journey, how Takuma and Mayu got there and how it affects you.

One more thing: Don’t go in comparing this to the manga like people do with Koizora. Yes, it is a live action but it is also a movie on it’s own and deserves to be viewed as that. Don’t judge it because it was different, but because of the story and their love.

Music: It was sweet, quiet and romantic. It didn’t have too much of an impact on me. It mostly just set the scene and mood.

Cast/Acting: A big part of the reason why I wanted to watch this way because of Inoue Mao and Okada Masaki. I had seen the two of them act in their respective dramas (Hana Yori Dango/A Gentle Breeze in the Village) and I kind of wondered if they would have been able to pull off a deep romantic movie. The way they act is so different. Mao has that stubborn and happy vibe while Masaki seems a bit more reserved. In the end they pulled it off very well and seemed to have great chemistry. While he pushed her away she remained stubborn, grasping on tighter and unwilling to let go.

Rewatch Value: 10
READ MORE DRAMA AND MOVIE REVIEWS HERE: http://dramadevoted.tumblr.com

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DramaAddiction
6 people found this review helpful
Sep 8, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
“During the restricted time we had, we loved each other enough as much as a lifetime”

Another Japanese movie that will touch your heart and soul. Though we have seen this sort of plot before, something about love and a time limit on life, or love and someone dying or going to dye, never seems to get old in my book. There is something about the power of love and those brave enough to go ahead with it, even when they know there wont be a happy ending, that makes me a little emotional and well, inspired. The saying that love concerns all, comes to mind when I see something like this and it truly touches my heart.

Can I just say, that you will need a box of tissues for this movie. Even in a short amount of time, there will be tears flowing down your face like no other, well that is if you have a heart, or I may just be over emotional, but I like to think the first. This movie had me bawling in the first 12 minutes, which is pretty much a record for any type of movie or drama…so props for that. A movie or drama that can make me cry and feel deep emotions, is always a plus for me, because I am the type of girl who loves a good sob fest.

The acting in this drama was good. I mean, I don’t think there was really anything lacking. The characters were realistic enough, in their body language and dialogue, so it didn’t take away from the viewing experience. With overly emotional/sad movies or dramas, we sometimes see actors and actresses over acting, and sometimes under acting, but I think in this we had a nice medium. Inoue Mao did a good job at playing the role of a woman/girl who is deeply in love with someone, and doesn’t care about their time limit, and trying to make every moment count. She acted head strong, and had a tough yet emotional role, that I think she fit well. Okada Masaki did a good job as well, playing our main role, and this being the first time seeing him in anything, I have to say I want to go and see more of him, because for some reason, he drew me in, with his personality that shinned through his character.

The music and cinematography was good in this drama, and made it even more enjoyable. The story may be an old one, but each time its told, it had a different twist, and this is no exception. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, and recommend it to those who are looking for something that can touch their hearts, and make you cry. I know there are other people out there who like that as well. So over all, I enjoyed this movie and think that it would also make a nice movie as well. But maybe following the Manga (which I haven’t read, but heard had a different ending) or following this storyline as well, either way I think it would make for a truly cry worthy drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
addicted2dramas
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 22, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie is an ordinary run of the mill tragic story. From the beginning to end, hardly any parts felt original. They were all filled with boring cliches. This movie seemed to be influenced a lot by Koizora. But of course, it was probably better.

Inoue Mao was one of the reasons to watch this film. I expected it to be good and touching. I did feel bad for the hero, but it failed to be anything more. I would say I have seen better movies of the 'pure love' genre. I would call this is a disappointment because it had a lot of potential. The movie begins on a very serious note and stays that way till the end.

It was easy to predict the ending of this movie. It lacked originality. However, the romance was sweet and touching. The acting department was alright and not one of the strongest points. I won't be remembering this movie fondly because it was pretty forgettable to me.

It is recommended to only those who love the young love movies with tragedy attached to it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
biniBningPunkista
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 9, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
As much as I love Inoue Mao and as much as I find Okada Masaki to be a cutie and a sweetheart… the film was… I guess I have to get over it.

I hated the ending. I can't believe that's how crappy they made the ending to be. This is a manga adaptation!!! The least they could do was follow the manga. I'm mad for the mangaka who didn't fight for her rights. The ending just ruined it for me.

They started the film with a couple of really cute kids whose acting was superb. I love that part were the young boy kissed the young girl so she would stop crying. (Those kids are so freaking adorable!) Then it shifts to the older version the kids, who actually grew up. Here comes in Junior high student Mayu (Mao) and Takuma (Masaki) up to the point they went to high school.

I would have to say, the cinematography was really beautiful and the sound track is pure joy to listen to though the movie was a bit draggy in some parts. The main cast were really good at their role and the story line is so great. Even the manga was quirky, funny and heavy all at the same time. Mao portrayed Mayu as a love-struck teenager who wouldn't let go of a promise made to her. Masaki was great at portraying a guy who is also in love but is afraid to love because he knew he was going to die eventually, *sigh* harsh reality for these two teenage kids.

As the story went on, I was getting too much engrossed because of everything. Even cried in some scenes… but the ending. Oh well. It is a beautifully made movie. But it shows you how much time you are wasting by being an idiot.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Elodie
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 1, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Boku no Hatsukoi wo Kimi ni Sasagu is this kind of story where you don't know weither to laugh or cry like a baby. You end up doing both and it's also correct this way.
I was smiling a lot but I also cried a lot. The acting is really good and I highly recomend it for people who wants a feels trip !
It was all so perfect, I just don't know what to point out, this is simply beautiful.
I also heard that there was a manga for interested ones !
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DamiKim
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 2, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
I am kinda late with the review but here I go : )

The story may seem kind of rushed and at times kind of filled with scenes. But those scenes were not just for filling in the end, they were just made so it can break your heart into million pieces later ( kidding....notreally). What I mean is, we saw these two interacting and purely loving each other since they were young. They experienced true love and didn't just wait till the last moment. Like another review said the writer would give you hope then take it away and back to giving hope during the whole movie but that's why it wasn't boring and didn't actually make me guess the end ( at first I thought he'd die, then I thought he'd live and so on ). I liked the story! Didn't look like another basic romantic w some sickness story to me.

As for the acting we didn't get to meet the supporting roles too much except for Kou. I loved it!!! The expressions spoke for themselves. As for Mayu I couldn't help but love her acting. When she was sad or when he would be in danger but didn't know if he'd make it. You can see her confusion, agony and sadness in her face. But I got to point out the little kid actors. They are truly a m a z i n g.. so fun watching the start and the flashbacks throughout the movie.

I totally recommend this movie, but i suggest you keep a box of tissues if the melodrama gets you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
i_am_andi
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 6, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
The story is okay but not amazing. The acting is okay but not amazing. The setting is too simple. The ending of the story is predictable. I would be very honest and bold to say that when it comes to drama, I'm not a big fan of Japanese' because I have watched some of their dramas and none of it touched and amazed me so far. Their manga are the best though, I think they'd better stick to it.
Was this review helpful to you?