If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
While You Were Sleeping
6 people found this review helpful
by Elle
2 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.5
This drama promised greatness, which it unfortunately was unable to deliver entirely. The premise sounded intriguing with a little fantasy twist. Though the plot had some interesting twists and turns, overall the drama had a very repetitive setup. Most of the episodes consisted of one of the characters having a dream, throughout the episode they work to prevent it and at the end they save the day, rinse and repeat.

I also had a lot of trouble backing the lead couple in While You Were Sleeping. Even though Lee Jong Suk and Suzy did very well in their roles. I didn’t sense a whole lot of chemistry or any for that matter. Thinking back on the drama, I don’t even know when feelings started to form and the romance began.

Yet there are some points in this drama that just blew me away. The pilot for instance was a work of art. If only they were able to keep that going week over week. A handful of these episodes where so beautiful and breathtaking. The effects used to bridge reality and dream whisk you away to another world. The visual effects that this drama uses make a good argument to watch it.

Overall, I think While You Were Sleeping is an interesting enough drama to watch. Unfortunately, I don’t think it was able to deliver on the ultra-hype that proceeded it.  If you are interested in the premise, watch this drama! Get swept away in this beautiful striking drama!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.5
This drama has a  strong pilot episode that is why my expectation is  high.

Story – the plot is  new and the drama manages to be consistent.  There are certain points I wish the drama has tackle but overall it wasn’t a bad one.

Acting/Cast

Jung Jae Chan/Lee Jong Suk – there is no doubt that LJS always delivers the best dramas out there. I must say that his chemistry with Suzy is good. However I was a bit disappointed at the last episode with the crying scene. It didn’t seem to be believable for me. I remember LJS in Pinocchio and his acting there is so good and maybe I was comparing him with that drama.

Nam Hong Joo/ Suzy Bae – She did improve a lot and her character is well played. I don’t have a lot to say because I am not disappointed but I am not also that impressed.

Han Woo Tak/ Jung Hae in - The back story of Woo Tak is missing. He seems to be a warm person and if only the writer give him more spotlight, probably he will be one of the greatest second lead in the history of all second leads.

Lee Yu Beom / Lee Yang Seob – hands down acting! I mean if only we get to choose who delivered the best performance in the drama, this is the man y’all! Wow! He really deserves an award I hope he will. I get angry whenever he is on screen but the same time I was clapping my hands for his superb acting

Music- there is no doubt that the sound track played a big role for this drama. It was placed at the right moment of it. It gave me all that feels that made me tear up

Overall, I think there is so much hyped about this drama to the point that viewers forget the importance of how it is executed. There are some loopholes and things that didn’t satisfy me but it is still my favorite because there are moments in it that I will not forget.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Blade of the Immortal
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Just finished watching this and was extremely happy I chose to watch this movie tonight.   Kimura was amazing. Erika Toda does excellent with her part.  If you like samurai movies AT ALL you must watch this movie.  I am a huge Kurosawa fan and this movie gives you the same feel.  More like Hidden Fortress than any of his other stuff.  Yes there is blood and gore but not too over the top.  The girl needing protection isn't too whiny or too stony she comes off as a real person.

I recommend this is you like action samurai movies.

Oh and the sound track at least the closing song I must find it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Miracle in Cell No. 7
0 people found this review helpful
by kfif
2 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
This is actually the first time I write a review although I thought that I would never do it, but after watching this movie I couldn't help it.
The story was really well written, starting with this character that will frustate you, why? because he is the purest and kind person and you will adore him,  yet he becomes falsely accused and you'll become enraged by all the injustice that happens in the world. The way he treats is daughter makes you feel warm inside, in spite of his disability he is the best parent she could have.
As I said the relationship father-daughter will move your feelings but also the friendship of the 7º cell mates, those who will do everything in their power to help him.
The acting was on point. I already new that those actors were great but I really got impressed by Kal So Won acting, for such a young child taking such an emotional role she was amazing, every time she cried she shattered my heart into pieces.
The soundtrack was really good but in some parts I was so immersed on the story that only after some time I would notice it, like if the music was blended in the story.
I had this movie on my plan to watch for a long time and I regret that I haven't seen it sooner.
I don't recall crying so much after seeing a movie or drama, it was like a storm of emotions inside of me and even 5 minutes after the movie I was still crying, so be prepared with a lot of tissues.

It is simultaneously the most beautiful, loving and sad story that I ever seen.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Bride of Habaek
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 4.0
Remakes never really work out for me. If it's nothing like the original, then I'm usually not interested. And sadly, that was the case for this drama. I had high hopes for them to succeed because the manhwa was such a success, but it came out a little short.

If you're a fan of the original work, just know that the plot doesn't go down the route you think it might take. For me, that was a bit of a disappoint. I understand that when doing a remake, it can't entirely match the original. But they could've at least tried to follow it. Where one thing lacks, another should make it up. I was hoping the costumes would give them a chance at redemption, however, it only left me with a big hole in what could've been something great.

The casting was only mediocre. If I'm going to be entirely honest, the supporting characters were the only reason why I stuck around and finished it.

Luckily for them though, I'm more generous when it comes to the original soundtracks. Just give me good ballads and I'm all ears. I basically like anything that can give me feels, even if it's just a little bit.

Overall, if you haven't seen the original work, then you'll probably have a better time watching this than I did. One thing that I'm starting to realize is that my expectations for this drama might've been too high. At the end of the day, my loyalties lie with the manhwa version so unfortunately, I'm going to have to say no to rewatching this.

With that said,
Llama out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
8 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
While You Were Sleeping is a thriller that instantly catches your attention within the first couple episodes. The fast paced actions and jumps between scenes keeps you guessing and wanting more. This pacing however, slows down drastically with a rather repetitive, slice-of-life-like nature as the drama gradually inches towards its main climax. So if you're expecting a constant thriller ride, you might find your expectations unmet through the middle of the series. If you enjoy the every day life scenario with crime & law and romance, with a hint of supernatural dreams mixed into it, then this drama is right up your alley.

The plot isn't the most original idea, with dreams somewhat akin to the premonitions of the Final Destination franchise, though with slight modifications in the mechanics of said premonitions. The execution of the dreams is definitely done far more superbly however. The story doesn't just lead you with a series of events that occur chronologically, but pieces together a larger puzzle with dreams and events that foreshadow one another and tie up loose ends. This makes a lot of cases and mysteries more unpredictable than what meets the eye, though by the drama's repetitive nature, some conclusions by default are predictable to a means.

What really makes the drama for me are the acting and characters. If you have a strong distaste for Suzy's acting, know that I have not seen Suzy in any other dramas, nor have I known her from her singing career, so my conclusion on her acting is solely based on this drama. Suzy does Hong Joo a great service in portraying her character's ordinary yet quirky personality. She doesn't rely on pretty appearances to pull off her character.  In fact, we see very early on that Hong Joo would rather sacrifice her beauty for the lives she cares about most. Lee Jong Suk does a great job playing Jae Chan as well. The character is actually quite similar to Jong Suk's many other roles, so if you've seen him before, you can know what to expect. As far as the leading pair's chemistry, I won't deny at times their relationship felt awkward, but it's not the worst. They have their moments, but the romance isn't as strong as your usual romcom.

Jung Hae In does a fantastic job as Han Woo Tak, and you just can't help but feel for him. I would argue this drama may contribute to a large case of second lead syndrome. At many times, it felt as though he and Suzy shared more chemistry than the latter with Jong Suk. Above all, I was absolutely blown away by Lee Sang Yeob's performance as Lee Yoo Beom. His character drove me insane. I absolutely hated him, but can't help but respect how Lee Sang Yeob could portray such a menacing character. He got every little detail down in persuading viewers of Yeo Beom's conniving nature, from hand motions to slight changes in facial expressions.

There's not much to say about the music; it was amazing. The soundtrack was beautiful, and was always inserted at the right times. There were no scenes where I strongly felt that the background music did not fit the scene, and many of the records ranged from a comedic euphony to an intense, suspenseful orchestra.

If you enjoyed the romance and comedy moments, you might enjoy a rewatch, but I'd say the show loses a lot of its surprise factor spark after you finish it, especially as it deals with crime & law. Overall, this drama was a great watch. There were some bumps along the ride, but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
1 people found this review helpful
by neo
2 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
I'll begin by saying that this is my first time seeing most of the main actors in anything (I've only previously seen Lee Jong Suk in No Breathing and Seven First Kisses, which weren't really enough for me to form much of an opinion on his acting), so I'm writing this with a relatively neutral standpoint without notable bias or existing strong opinions towards any of the actors. Also, this is my first time writing a review and I'll likely ramble a lot, so please bear with me!

The Good:

The originality of the plot was what drew me in initially and convinced me to give this drama a chance, and I still stand by the fact that it holds its own uniqueness and merit in how ambitious the premise was from the beginning. It's been a while since the initial episodes of a drama have captured my interest so quickly; the only issue was how it progressed as the episodes went on. I'll elaborate more on this later on in this review.

The soundtrack is among one of the best ones I've heard in a long time (in fact, I'm listening to the OST as I write this), and I particularly like the tracks by Eddy Kim, Henry and Monogram. I find the songs to be very well-suited to the overall mood of the drama, and excel at providing a soothing, dream-like atmosphere. The cinematography does a great job at this too, and WYWS is a very visually appealing drama as a whole. I liked how a lot of the dream sequences were executed, the use of colour and the use of changes in how the screen appears to viewers as the drama switches from a dream to reality and vice versa. There were few instances where they felt a little out of place (some of which I feel they may have revealed a little too much information, which detracted slightly from the suspense factor of some events), and it was a tad confusing to wrap my head around to begin with, but I'd still agree that the flow of these scenes were generally good.

I admit that I wasn't really sold on a lot of the workplace bickering and humour towards the start of the drama, but I really found myself warming to the side characters and secondary leads as the drama progressed, particularly Woo Tak, Seung Won, Prosecutor Lee, Chief Choi and Prosecutor Sohn. Personally, I would've liked to have seen more done with Woo Tak's character, and I have to admit that I felt as though he and Hong Joo had more chemistry in some of their shared scenes (I'm really feeling the second lead syndrome here, guys). It'd be lovely to have seen him end up happy with someone too, though I did enjoy his friendship with Kyung Han, his sunbae. It was also a delight to watch the brotherly relationship and believable bickering between Jae Chan and Seung Won. Additional props go to Lee Sang Yeob, who really impressed me with his portrayal of the drama's main antagonist, Yoo Beom - you know that the actor's doing a great job when it aggravates you every time you see them on screen. I'd like to see more from both him and Jung Hae In, as this is the first time seeing their works.

The Okay:

The main couple were lacking... something. I don't know if it was lack of chemistry, the execution of some of the scenes or the way the actors portrayed the romance, but I'd gone through the episodes feeling as though something was missing. I wasn't entirely convinced by it, since the basis of the romance relied a fair amount on random insertions of cute and comical scenes, which whilst endearing and adorable at times, felt a little too oddly-timed and a tad cringey or overdone on some occasions. Whilst I think it was a little too oversaturated in parts in terms of romance, I wouldn't say it was flat out unconvincing or difficult to watch (I appreciated the more sentimental/deep scenes in parts) but I wouldn't say it was particularly great either. Just okay.

The Not-So-Good:

My main gripe with WYWS is that the direction and pacing were pretty much all over the place; the initial episodes were strong, well-paced and left me with high hopes (perhaps too high, in hindsight). I was intrigued as to how it would all unfold as more events took place and how changes being made to one event would lead to another happening in its place. I enjoyed that unpredictability in the first few weeks and anticipated explanation behind how the dreams occurred in the first place, but in the middle episodes, it really started to grow predictable and repetitive.

I appreciate that some of the ways the cases were wrapped up were well done (and some of them were emotionally impactful, such as the case where Prosecutor Sohn's chronically ill son was directly affected by the outcome), but the fact that you're aware that somehow, our main leads will find a solution, often seemingly out of nowhere, takes away a little of the anticipation. In some cases, the way they wrapped up seemed too neat, too good to be true for my liking.

Towards the latter episodes, I really felt as though the plot lagged for so long that they left themselves with too much to cram in at the end. The ending itself was satisfying enough, but only just about. It could've really done with being more well-timed, with sufficient suspense to hold the viewer's attention, but as previously mentioned, the fact that some dreams gave a little too much about some situations away detracted from this. A lot of the past/present connections between characters should've been tied up and resolved earlier on to allow for more time to build up to the final case, and then wrap up neatly for the finale. Personally, I found this to be the most disappointing part, especially considering that the drama was entirely pre-produced.

Overall verdict:

I won't dissuade anyone from watching, and would still recommend that you try it out if the genres, actors, tropes or premise appeal to you in any way. If you're undecided, I still think you should give this drama a chance, as despite its flaws, I did complete it having enjoyed it as a whole. If you're here for a fast-paced, unpredictable plot and strong chemistry between the main leads... I don't think this is the drama for you.

Thanks for reading : )

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
9 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Overall I thought that this drama had its ups and downs. There were some parts that I really enjoyed and others where I did not enjoy it so much. Let's start with the parts I liked. I enjoyed the fact that our main hero was a sort of anti-hero. The character played by Lee Jong Suk was by no means perfect. He had many many many flaws that the show sort of built around. The characters made fun of him for his flaws and it definitely added a hilarious layer of comedy to the show. I also really liked the ending. I wouldn't say that it was the best wrap-up ending I've ever seen. Nonetheless, it ended the show on a "decently" sweet note. You'll see what I mean when you finish watching the last episode. Lastly I really who was cast as the two main characters. Lee Jong Suk and Suzy are probably one of my most favorite actors and actresses, respectively. There wasn't really much that I didn't like other than the story/plot.

Story: [8.0/10] While you were sleeping is basically your typical prosecutor/lawyer/law drama with a slight little twist. The character played by Suzy can dream of events that happens in the future. Meanwhile Lee Jong Suk plays the role of a prosecutor. Throughout the drama he goes through solving many different cases through this ability that pops up to help him solve the case. There's is also a prosecutor turned lawyer played by Lee Sang Yeob who is the main antagonist of this story. He mostly spends his time defending the criminals opposite of main character prosecutor. I felt like the story started out pretty strong, but near the end it really started to waver. The story gets a little less interesting in my opinion when the viewers see the end result because Suzy's character can dream of the future. Instead we are left with trying to understand how we reach an end through viewing the stuff that happens in the middle. I'm just a little disappointed because it flt like the plot could be summed up as saying a prosecutor who solves cases through dreaming of the future. It basically makes for a deus ex machina. Other than my disdain for the simple plot, I really enjoyed the comedy. I also sort of liked the romance, but I felt like there wasn't too much spark or chemistry. Although I feel like that may also be a result of the plot and how the dreams played a role in how the two main characters ended up falling in love/getting together. It sort of makes it superficial. In the end, I thought that the story lacked a climax. I went to watch the episode today on 11/16 to find that it was the last one! I was like OMG WHAT? The show definitely didn't lead me to think it was nearing the end because it was sort of anti-climatic as well.

Acting/Cast; [9.5/10] This was one of my favorite parts of the drama. I'm a big fan of the two main characters. Often times I feel like a show has better production value if you have big name actors and actresses. This drama was one of them. Lee Jong Suk and Suzy has been in many big named dramas that ended up doing very well. I also enjoyed the villain that was played by Lee Sang Yeob as well. It really made me annoyed when I saw him enter the screen. I know that a show has a decent villain whenever I hate to see them. It means that the show made a good attempt at trying to make him  a treacherous character.

Music: [8.0/10] I generally don't really have much about to say about music in dramas unless the genre of a drama is specifically musically-related. The music was okay. I give it around an 8.0/10.

In conclusion, I give this drama an 8.5/10. Generally I usually view dramas that score at least an 8.5 on MDL. I find that these shows are very much so above average. A 9.0 is a must watch and anything higher than that is what I assume to be a top notch drama. This show currently has a 9.0 at the time of me writing this. I slightly disagree. This isn't really a must watch drama on MDL for me, but I definitely think it's above average. I definitely felt like they could have done more with the dream concept as well as the plot. Although I'm sure that they were a little constrained based on the fact that this was a prosecutor type drama. TL;DR I liked the characters, the ending, and the comedy. I wasn't a big fan of the plot.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.5
I have such mixed feelings about this drama. ????????
When I heard all the hype surrounding this drama, at first, I kinda dismissed it since a lot of hyped up dramas never impressed me, but "While You Were Sleeping" did have my attention just after the first episode, which is a great plus.

STORY: Okay, here's the hard part. I LOVED how the plot began and all, but somewhere down a few 10-12 episodes, I started losing my interest and began looking forward to other dramas. Don't get me wrong, the plot was still good enough to make me keep watching, but it felt a bit predictable and stagnant at times. After a long time I decided to catch up, and yeah, although it wasn't as great as it started out to be, it still didn't disappoint me either, and I actually kind felt bad about dropping it earlier. 

ACTING:  I was already a fan of both the Lee Jong Suk and Suzy but I kinda love them a lot more after watching the drama. For me, a major factor in watching a drama is chemistry, and THEY HAD UNBELIEVABLE CHEMISTRY. They were so cute together that I just had to keep watching the drama for them.
JUNG HAE IN WAS BAE. I love him, I don't know why I've never noticed him before, cause he is HOT. And yes, his acting was on point.
Kim Won Hae's role was a plus, as I always like his acting. Overall I felt all the actors played their parts very well, and the acting in the drama is definitely a plus point

OST: I AM IN LOVE WITH THE OST FROM THIS DRAMA. There isn't a single song I don't like hearing, and Suzy's "I Love You Boy", Roy Kim's "It'd be good" and Lee Jong Suk's "Come To Me" are definitely my favourites. Boy, who knew Lee Jong Suk could sing so well!

OVERALL: I do like this drama but I feel like could have been SO much more better of they had added a little more suspense, and a little more flow to it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
I liked this drama even though I never really got passionate about it. It had some gaping issues that prevented me from really being in love with it, but I did enjoy it.

Story:
The plot premise is very interesting and unique but was not very well executed. My biggest issue with the dreams is that how they work was never really fully explained. This is one of my biggest gripes with this and all Sci-fi/fantasy dramas- we need to know the rules so we can know the stakes. Without this, anything can happen for any reason and as a viewer you can't get as invested in the story. The dreams felt a bit contrived at times. There also wasn't really a solid plotline running throughout the entire show, and there was rarely any sense of urgency.

Acting:
I love them both to pieces but I feel like neither Lee Jong Suk or Suzy are strong enough actors to carry a drama on their own. Aside from their acting not being the strongest, they have very little romantic chemistry. Other than that, their characters are very well written and are fun and believable as friends. As well, the supporting cast have great chemistry with the leads and are very strong actors.

Music
The music was outstanding and very well utilized. This show, like the writers' other work, "I Hear Your Voice," also makes amazing use of an instrumental OST, which really adds to emotional moments.

Overall
Overall, I had my gripes with this drama but I enjoyed it. It had a stellar first few episodes, and kind of slowed down in the middle and sort of sputtered out at the end, but as a whole it was pretty good. As a viewer I feel like I put more effort into thinking about directions that both the plot and characters could have gone in than the writer did at times. Even though there were things I thought could have been done better, there was nothing I hated, and I don't regret watching it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
8 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
This was the drama I was most excited about and I had high expectations and I can tell you that I wasn't disappointed.
The story is original and the first episode starts pretty well. I really liked the opening and the structure of the episodes. I really love Lee Jong Suk and I knew that he's going to give everything in this role, and he did play amazing. I did like the other characters as well. It's true that there were few that I didn't really like, but the storyline and the way things were explained made me forget about the hate.
I really enjoyed watching every single episode, and the last ones were incredible. They kept me in suspense and I couldn't really tell what was going to happen. I did like the fact that they didn't give a big attention to the love triangle, the producer decided to focus on the friendship of the three 'dreamers'.
I can't really say bad things about this series, I mean, the things I didn't really like were essential and they made everything more interesting. If I would have to choose one thing that I hated about this drama, I would choose one of the suspects/criminals. *I am not going to tell the name of the one I hated the most, just because I don't want to give any spoilers.*
I seriously recommend watching this drama, not only because this is somehow a goodbye from Lee Jong Suk because he's enrolling in the army, but because the story and the characters are built up in a beautiful way that makes this drama stand out from the others.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
3 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
With so many similar dramas like this one it really fascinates me how much I've liked this one. It's your typical law, supernatural, romance drama with a hint of quirkiness. I guess anybody who likes series of the same genres will enjoy this one.

First of all, the story isn't that all unique, but I definitely enjoyed how the plot was nice, clear and straightforward from the first episodes. Episode 1-2-3 and *poof* - you're hooked. The series looses it's fast pace when everything seems clear, however, the pace is quickly swept up again after an episode or two. Also, it's so satisfying when the little plot holes in the drama start to fill up little by little as the show progresses. As I always like to focus on romance and the relationships between characters in every Korean drama, the love story between the main characters was like a breeze of fresh air. Jung Chae Chan's and Nam Hong Ju's affection for each other and how natural it was made the drama so enjoyable to watch. Speaking about enjoyable, I'll talk about my new oppa. Oh yeah, it's Jung Hae In. I fell in love with Han Woo Tak's character right away. He is my new perfection of what any man in Kdrama world should be. Also, he's very lovable. Beware!

Hence, the multi-talented actors made this show worth watching. The star-studded cast put a smile on my face. However, I get that many people are fed up with Lee Jong Suk's acting - he tends to play the same type of character most of the time, but he has done a spectacular job in this once again. Not to mention that him and Suzy even recorded songs for the OST of the drama. An emotional and moving soundtrack is one of the most important elements of a successful drama. Personally, I'm very impressed with all of the songs, hence, now I have many songs to rewind over and over again while getting ready in the morning!

So, as I've finished the drama 30 minutes ago, I can proudly say that I'll miss it. I remember not expecting much from the synopsis and the trailer, but now I'm very happy with my decision. If you love an intense, romance filled and fresh crime-solving dramas, you'll probably enjoy this one as much as I did!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
2 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This isn't really a review but just my thoughts after finished watching this. Contains major spoilers so if you want read this with discretion please.

First problem, the biggest plot came pretty late, after 27 out of 32 episodes, and it wasn’t even that momentous, it was basically 3 people recognizing each other, and it had no impact to the show’s crux.

Second, they focused too much on the romance. The main couple was a bit all over the place. Romance scenes popped up every 5 minutes, even inappropriate sometimes, and often really cheesy. And what makes me mad the most is, they literally killed my second favorite character to fortify the main couple’s relationship.
Like, the death just didn’t make any sense and absolutely wasn’t necessary and other than that it was to prevent something that could’ve been avoided easily long ago. Feels like they used that in order to cover up a massive amount of plot holes and most of all it was their last solution to save the show which is viewers tears.

Third, acting is not that good. All they did good were smirk and squint, and cry. LJS still can’t act panicking right. I love him from Doctor Stranger but somehow he got worse in this one. Especially when the show was climaxing. That kinda makes romance scenes feel cheesy to me.

On the other hand, the show looks nice, good cinematography and good soundtracks. Humor was alright. TBH the biggest plot twist for me is who was the bride at that last episode. Jesus it still giving me shiver while writing this.

I think the show could have done much more. Because the 'can tell the future, messing with the time' theme has been used in so many other works that been considered Masterpiece in different forms such as anime, games, movies,... I was super hyped when I found out this show contains that material. If you’ve came across an anime called ‘Steins Gate’ or a game called ‘Life is Strange’ you’ll know what I mean. You save this person, 10 more people die because of that. The more time you save that person the more you create a butterfly effect. You save this girl 4 times to prevent her inevitable death and somehow a typhoon with a size of the moon appears and wipes away the whole town clean. So you gotta choose between stuff, stuff that as same important to you and that person, you gotta sacrifice either one of them, but if you do it good you can still get a happy ending. Now I’m not comparing these to the show, but the way they handled it, and the way they built it up was so clever and engaging and immersing. You have these first 10 episodes full of sunflowers and silky roads, and after episode 10 it feel worse than standing on Normandy in WW2. That’s how you do a plot twist. That’s how you make a show good. I was preparing all my body and my mind for something like that. I was ready to give this show a 11/10. Now I can’t tell that I’m not a bit disappointed. I personally thought they would inherit and learn from those successful factors and develop them into a new story but no, they just didn't do it. They chose to remain a formal KDrama and insisted too much on the romance aspect. They made the name of the show less meaningful. 

Well maybe it’s just me who set the bar too high. I’m totally new to this KDrama thing and after all, there are things you can draw and code but simply just can’t film it out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
8 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 2.0
One word I would use to describe this drama: average. This drama is really no different from every other drama. It really let me down and failed to live up to expectations (for me).

Note: When I am referring to an ‘episode’, I am talking about a 30 minute episode :)

Story: 5/10
The show starts off with a huge bang. Just in the first four episodes, a ton of stuff was going on and I was not sure what to think because my brain was very confused. It was cleared up in the next few episodes, and I genuinely enjoyed the beginning. But after that point, things got repetitive. From episode 9-24, the show was basically a repeating itself over and over. I could easily predict what was going to happen, and the supposed “cliffhangers” were terribly predictable. Even the last cliffhanger in the finale did not get my attention since I knew that everything was going to be the same. But the show does conclude really well. The last few episodes were the most exciting and I really liked how this drama ended. But... that's kind of late, don't ya think?

Acting/Cast: 8/10
I do have to say, Suzy’s acting seemed to have improved. She played Hong Joo pretty well, but I didn’t like this character at all because she was one-dimensional and had zero development. Lee Jong Suk, playing Prosecutor Jung Jae Chan is same as always (he always chooses the same types of roles, which leads me to believe that he can’t act and is only popular because of his looks… please don’t fight me on that xD). Also lately I noticed (after listening to his OSTs for this drama which are mehh imo) that Lee Jong Suk speaks with the most boring voice ever. This also leads me to believe that he only has one tone of voice: a flat, monotonous voice.But Jung Hae In’s character, Han Woo Tak, completely stole the show for me. He had a way more more interesting character than all of the other leads combined. I only stuck through to the end because of him.

Characters: 5/10
There was barely any character development in Hong Joo or Jae Chan. But I did really enjoy the side characters.

Music: 10/10
I can probably say this without getting attacked: WYWS is the drama with the best OST of 2017. A few were mehh but the majority of them were beautiful.  I like “It’s You” by Henry soooo much. I may be biased since I love Henry and English OSTs…

Enjoyment level: 6/10
I did like the beginning, but it got boring in the middle. WYWS only got better in the last four episodes in my opinion (but that is too late to save). There was ‘true’ suspense; suspense that kept me on the edge of my seat in the last episodes. I think that WYWS ended really strongly, which is pretty hard to do since all the viewers wants to be satisfied. I also really loved the comedy in this drama. Some parts had me rofl xD

Rewatch value: 1/10
This drama was average and boring most of the time so I will never touch it ever again.

If you are looking for a good law drama, go check out Witch’s Court. Witch’s Court is literally the polar opposite of While You Were Sleeping (can’t explain or I will be giving out spoilers xD) and is a lot better in every aspect.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
4 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Are you looking for a thiriller? Something that will keep you on the edge of your seat? If yes then for the most part this drama probably isn't for you. But if your looking for a sweet funny romcom this this drama is probably for you!

Story - the story was great at first. It kept you on the edge of your seat while making you crazy waiting for the next episode. Soon after around ep 16/8 the drama lost its thrilling spark. The dreams became repetitive, and usually had the same outcomes. If you think of this drama as mainly romcom, I think you would enjoy it though. :)

Acting/cast - I liked the cast. Suzy was great, she improved quite a bit and her character was pretty funny sometimes. Lee Jong suk was the same as always. His performance was enjoyable, although I think he should try to play a different type of character next time. As it feels that his character is always the same character in a different world. The rest of the cast was great!

Music - I really enjoyed the Music, especially Come To Me by Lee Jong Suk, and Lucid Dream  by Monogram.

Rewatch Value - I feel like you could rewatch this drama after a long time but if you rewatch it right away you will get bored by the repetitiveness. 

Overall - This drama was a good watch. I watched around one episode a day so I didn't get bored by it, and enjoyed it quite a bit. I recommend this if you are looking for a cute romcom.

(Sorry for any spelling errors, I wrote this on a phone and in a hurry)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?