If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Defendant
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Good Story, it takes a bit of time to really take off. No Romance with Kwon Yuri which was a mistake. Kwon Yuri was really hot and a very good performance by her. One of the Batter endings. The story doesn't drag on and flows well throughout the 18 episode. It would be a waste to not have a 2nd season, where the Romance takes off.

Story - 8
Acting - 10
Cast - 10
Enjoyment - 9
Ending - 9

RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Peach Girl
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
As soon as I saw that this movie was coming out, I was really jumping from excitement. Seeing my favorite childhood anime turn into a live-action movie is a huge deal for me. And of course I had many expectation for the movie because the trailer looked so nice. But right from the very start when I sat down to watch this, all of my childhood dreams were shattered by the harsh reality. In my opinion, the biggest problem was not the plot ( the whole story was majorly changed from the original one in the anime or manga), but the actors and some of the scenes. It really felt like I was watching a cheap low-bugdet film, where they used inexperienced actors, despite the beautiful landscapes and backgrounds in the movie. However, some scenes felt really nostalgic and I was awed by the warming musical score. Overall, this movie adaptation did not exceed or nearly come close to my expectations. Nevertheless, I'd watch this movie again every once in a while. So if you're a fan of the original Peach Girl series, watch this and let me know if it was close to what you expected and if you enjoyed it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
27 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a hard review for me. I love the writer and I love love love Lee Jong Suk. For me, he's an actor who has a knack for good roles and the talent to pull off those roles. He's my favorite! So it wasn't until yesterday, after much introspection, I admitted to myself that maybe I did not enjoy this drama as much as I wanted to (god, I wanted to). And as soon as I let that buried feeling out, the reasons came pouring down on me.

1. The Plot - What I loved about Park Hye Run's writing (particularly in Pinocchio and I Hear Your Voice) was that she knew what to say and when to say it. With Korean dramas, things can get messy and all over the place, particularly when dealing with themes of past and present. She did a fab job tying lose ends before, but in WYWS the story was all over the place. The back-and-forth of the story was really messy and the "past" didn't have the impact it intended. It reminded me of Kill Me Heal Me (another amazing drama with painful back-flashes). I loved how original her idea was but it wasn't articulated properly.

2. Suzy - I have always felt Suzy has potential to be a decent actress but so far, everything she has done has been problematic to me. I don't know if anyone else feels this way but I have spent some time thinking why I don't feel affected by her. It's not bad acting but it's the "cutesy" act. For some reason, Suzy's acting comes off as a half-hearted cutesy attempt. Instead of improving her acting, she focuses more on being pretty and sounding cute. When she acts, it feels like we're supposed to bow down to her beauty or something. And it hinders my experience because, instead of empathizing with her character, I end up feeling envious or annoyed. She has a hard time evoking that feeling of human-connection and understanding in me.

3. Lee Jong Suk - My two points are self-contradictory here. Firstly, I feel Lee Jong Suk is being typecast as this perfect character. In every drama, he practically plays the same guy in a different professional field and having a different life story . Secondly, he did try to do something new in this drama  by pulling a Jang Hye Jung. He's literally the male version of Lee Bo Young's iconic character in I Hear Your Voice here. But sadly, he does not pull it off convincingly. So basically, he did try something new but it didn't work out well. But he really needs to keep experimenting more. I know he can pull it off and show more variety!

The chemistry was sadly lacking between the main couple. I don't know whose fault it is, but my disappointment was palpable while watching the whole drama. I was waiting for that "click" moment but they never seemed to click. At least not for me.

The rest of the cast was relatively better. I loved Woo Tak and the people in Jae Chan's office. The cases were interesting but not enough. The last case was the best out of the lot and the saving grace for me! Overall, I loved the idea but I wish they had built upon it some more and the lead pair had more chemistry.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The King in Love
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
It's been a while since I've finished this drama so I initially (and foolishly) believed that I wouldn't have a problem with reviewing this drama. But boy was I wrong on some many levels. Immediately, all of the emotions I've kept tucked away somewhere came rushing out.

This storyline is so unlike any other and that's the main reason why I loved it so much. I'm a true sucker for historical dramas and although I do enjoy a happy ending, I find myself appreciating a drama more when it doesn't always give me what I want. Life happens, you know?

With idol turned actors, I usually have my opinions about them. There are only a few that I have positive opinions about and Im Shi Wan is one of those people. He did such an amazing job delivering those raw emotions, it gave me chills.

And no words can describe how much I was affected by their soundtracks. Even after finishing the drama, I wasn't ready to let go. I had to listen to their OST's every second of every day for almost an entire month because I was clearly possessed. But no matter how much it hurt whenever I listened to it, it didn't hurt as much as when the final episode aired.

Overall, I think this drama did a sensational job at making me feel some type of way. This has got to be one of the best dramas I've ever had the pleasures of watching. I would highly recommend this to anyone who's looking for a good romance. But keep a box of tissues next to you, just in case. This drama is too good not to come back for. There is no doubt in my mind that I won't be returning for a second run.

With that said,
Llama out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Save Me
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I had a really hard time finishing this drama. Not because it was bad, but because it was very dark and left me questioning all religious groups by the end.

In the beginning, I was very intrigued. I was curious to see how this storyline would progress and ultimately how it would go down. However, at times, the progression felt a little slow. But I think it was by the middle that I started to feel a little uncomfortable watching this. You see, here's the thing. I've never been a religious person, but I figured when the time was right I would gladly explore that realm. However, this drama completely knocked that ball out of the park for me. I don't think I've ever been so traumatized by a drama in my life. Of course, that isn't to say that this drama wasn't good. It did a compelling job of storytelling. But is it my cup of tea? No.

All of the actors and actresses did a tremendous job with maintaining the suspense. But really, I think the antagonists were the rising stars of this drama because it's never easy to be a convincing bad guy. I mean, not just anybody can make a smile look so evil.

As for the soundtracks, it was dark and rough around the edges. I think the main reason why my overall ratings for this drama is so much lower than what others might've given is because of the music. Again, not saying that the soundtracks were bad. My opinions are irrelevant. But is it my cup of tea? No.

Overall, I think the cast members were great and did an excellent job at bringing this story to its full potential. I would recommend this drama, but only to those with a brave soul. And I hate to say this, but I just can't bring myself to rewatch it again. I probably should've known from the start that this wasn't going to be the drama for me, but I truly thought I could handle it then. I just didn't know how much of a wimp I really was. But now I know.

With that said,
Llama out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Alchemist
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 4.5
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Just finished watching this and hm... this drama is kinda boring. Although each ep is only 15-ish minutes, I still feel bored watching it. I skipped quite a lot of parts while watching....

Actually, I love the overall idea of the drama. However, I feel like 12 episodes might be too long. I could not see any big problem(s) in the drama and the main problem itself could actually be solved within 5 eps max? In fact, from ep 1 - 9, I could not see any emotion development between the main leads. And to be honest, I am much more interested in the side characters (including the professors) instead of the main characters.

If u are looking for a meaningful and a drama that will leave an impression on you after you finish watching, I do not really recommend this drama. But nevertheless, this may only be my personal opinion hehe

PS: I love the shy guy and the insomnia guy. Hope to see them in more dramas in the future! >.<

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Age of Youth 2
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
First off, I just wanted to give this drama a huge round of applause because we all know that it is damn near impossible to get a second season for any k-drama. If you're currently attending college (like me), you will find this drama very relatable. That may or may not be a good thing, but nonetheless, still relatable. For me, I found comfort in it. This drama taught me a lot of life lessons and made me realize all of the little things that I've taken for granted.

The storyline will definitely give you a fresh black eye. I was not prepared for all the feels, even though I should've been because I also watched the first season... and I know what you're all thinking: shame on me. *inserting a cutout of my face plastered on top of Cersei's nude self as she does the walk of shame here* But I also loved how they each had their own trials to face, yet were brought together by this sense of comradery.  

The writers did a fantastic job of creating each individual character and the actresses did an even more spectacular job at bringing them to life. As I watched each of the girls go through their own trials, I really felt like I was with them every step of the way. It was nice to see how each character faced their own obstacles but did so together. One thing that I was truly disappointed about was that I didn't get to see some of the original cast. That isn't to say the new members didn't do well, because they did. I just missed those familiar faces.

The original soundtrack for this drama was a pleasant surprise. Maybe because it's not as upbeat as most of the other soundtracks but this one definitely gave me chill indie vibes (with the occasional heart-wrenching ones).

Overall, this drama is a must-watch. Even if you're no longer in college, you'll find yourself reminiscing about those days. But if you're not in college yet, it'll still give you a good idea of what to expect. Would I rewatch this? Yeah, I think so. There might come a day where I would, I just don't know if my heart will ever be prepared for it.

And with that said,
Llama out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Doctors
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 4.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Firstly, this drama is literally a click bait. Why is there 5 titles and most of them about a bad-ass girl that becomes a doctor. 70% of this drama has nothing to do with that and is even a "comedy" medical drama which makes very little sense to me. The only reason that I watched this drama was for Park Shin Hye who I think has a potential to be one of the best Korean actresses. She did a great job, however, the writing and character design did not help her portray her character and actual develop farther than when she actually becomes a doctor because honestly if I had watched episodes 1-7 (I think?) and episodes 19-20 I would completely understand the way each character ended up and why. There was no indepth plot or ideas, just a series of "obstacles" that had no relevance to the main themes.

Secondly, I watched this drama even though I hate teacher/student pairings and I will say that aspect of the drama did not make me  cringe as much as the idea usually does... this is most likely due to the separate acting of Kim Rae Won and Park Shin Hye. I don't think there was the astounding chemistry and romance that a lot of other reviewers profess to loving. It wasn't even interesting in my opinion. If I am being honest, I would have preferred Jisoo somehow coming back into the show even though it is cheesy to see some actual tension, awkwardness and conflict. I was actually rooting for literally anyone except for KRW at one point cause everything was so boring. Why place a second male lead that everyone knows has 0 chance? I don't think anyone thought that the PSH and KRW characters would not be the couple.
WARNING, MY PERSONAL PREFERENCE AHEAD: I really hate teacher/student relationships because of their very nature. I am not talking about the age difference which is already a major factor. I mean the principal and mindset and realism to have amorous feelings for someone that is supposed to be your mentor/mentee. It does not make sense and would never happen. Anyone that is reading this, think back on all your teachers... maybe even your aunt or uncle... how many can you say that you would fall in love with? Not lust. Love. I would bet none. Some may argue "that's the beauty because its so rare its meaningful" I would argue that this is a similar situation as falling in love with your step-parent. Not blood-related, but the initial relationship must be something that was inherently wrong to begin with. I would argue that there are many other story lines and characters to create, don't just try to force something that doesn't make sense.

I would never rewatch this drama given the fact that I had to skip past most of the very drawn out "dramatic" and "important" scenes because they really were not. The best part of the drama for me was the music because I really liked all three of the main songs: "No Way," "Sunflower" and "It's Love."

Finally, I think that some people really liked this drama for two reasons... actually two people: Park Shin Hye and Kim Rae Won. I am telling all readers and watchers, please do not rate solely based on one character or actor that you prefer. It makes it so that your comments do not provide insight or describe if you actually watched and understood the drama.

P.S. - Lee Sung Kyung is beautiful and I hope she gets lead parts where she can act as a novel character instead of the "Jealous Bitch" troupe.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Last Minute Romance
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I finished watching this drama yesterday and I think it is a nice drama.

This drama combines various types of emotions together: happiness, sadness, frustration, and anger. One minute I am laughing and the next minute I am crying.
It successfully portrays how life really is; sometimes things do not go as smoothly as we think they will, sometimes efforts do not lead to a fruitful outcome and sometimes those you think are nice stab you in the back. However, I personally do not enjoy the 'cosplaying' parts of the show and I skipped most of them.

If you want to feel a bunch of emotions all over your heart, I recommend this drama!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Between Friendship and Love
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I just finished watching this drama last night and I am quite impressed by it. This drama is (super) short, light, sweet and cute at the same time. Both of the main leads portray their characters nicely and I could see the chemistry between them. I am looking forward to seeing them in more dramas in the future (PS: the main guy is cute too haha). However, although I love the ending, I do think that it would be better if this drama has a different ending (since I should not give any spoiler, I could not explain it in detail >.<).

If you are looking for a drama to kill some time, this is a good choice! You can increase your meme collection too through this drama~!

Oh btw, is this drama an 'advertisement'? Could not help but feel like it is an advertisement hahaha

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kill Me, Heal Me
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 3.5
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I really just don't understand the hype for this. I just could not get into this at all. I was so excited to watch it once I found out it had to do with DID (dissociative identity disorder) as well as after hearing all the rave reviews, but I couldn't be anymore let down. My biggest issue is with the portrayal of the illness (DID) I know this is a k-drama so I didn't expect textbook accuracy with a mental health consultant on site during filming or anything like that, but the portrayal of DID is just so silly and flat out stupid that it completely removes any empathy I felt for Do Hyun's illness. When he switches personalities, it's much more akin to a comic book villain transforming than it is someone changing personalities due to mental illness. I could stand for the corny eye color/tattoo change thing if that was my only issue, but add to that the seizure like tantrums he experiences when he switches on top of that and I just have checked out at this point. Despite my faults with the portrayal of the illness, there was some interesting plot lines here, but they were all so convoluted and muddled to the point that I hardly ever knew what was going on. I've never been one for bureaucratic/corporate espionage and conspiracy plot lines, but the ones here were just so exceptionally dull. It was way too much, all the different family dramas, the corporate theatrics, the mental illness, murder mysteries, all kind of thrown together into one incomprehensible mess. I really wish this had focused much more on Do Hyun staying inpatient while battling his illness and trying to recover his memory, while also dealing with the blossoming relationship between himself and his doctor (the female lead) I had a lot of issues with the tone as well. It's kind of all over the place, and I love a lot of drama sthat transcend genres. This just comes off more as desperate and unfocused rather than creative and eclectic. I also found this show to be quite ugly to look at as well. Just very dry and washed out looking... I don't know. I don't mean to rag on this drama too much as I can understand why some people would enjoy it but there's just too much going on for me.  There is a great show buried deep down somewhere in this mess. I just wish I cared enough to dig and find out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dear Prince
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 4.5
One day when I was watching this my roommate walked in and asked "Are all Chinese dramas made so cheaply?" The answer is no! But this one sure was. It's full on bad lighting, cheesy sound affects, and over the top camera angles. If this kind of stuff doesn't bug you and your just looking for a light-hearted romance then this is for you! The shows strong point was the unique plot line- it's definitely not the drama you think it's going to be when you start it! The main actress carried the show and I don't think I could've finished it if it wasn't her acting in it.  It was a really nice show for me to start during exam season because I could put it on and watch an episode when I was stressed but didn't feel like I needed to stay up the whole night to finish it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Witch Yoo Hee
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
It's a memorable drama but it has 2 big flaws:

1 This story was totally refreshing and great, everything was perfect but by the final chapters writers decided to just ruin it and do the same overused love triangle clichés to conclude it.

2 Main male lead performance was really weak.

As most dramas I have seen, it just felt down by the end, however I find this one to be very outsanding whatsoever. All the cast performed great, The lead female did a fantastic job and all the cast was great too.  The most memorable cast I have watched, and the most memorable female lead. One of the funniest I have watched too.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kaitou Tantei Yamaneko
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 5.5
This is the kind of drama that asks you questions like:

'What are you made of? What is in your core? What are your principles? What is it that you can't live without? Wha- Nah, just kidding. That's just Yamaneko being his usual extra self.

Part puss in boots, part Sherlock and part Robin Hood- Kaitou Tantei comes with its own unique spurn of mystery, a cheeky slice of detective and hilarious laugh-out-loud slapstick comedy.

Let's take a moment of silence to appreciate the brilliance that is Kame Kazuya. Is there anything this man can't do? If being an excellent singer, dancer and beatboxer wasn't enough; twenty minutes into the first episode and he twerked his way into my favorite actors list. The way he's able to juggle different emotions is simply amazing and the fact that he's just so beautiful to look at only helps his case.

Kame's Yamaneko is undeniably one of Dramaland's most beloved characters. Rocking his retro sunglasses, an edgy cat mask and the infamous smirk, he fights crime with crime; one theft at a time.

He's the only one who can be tone-deaf, wet his pants, guzzle noodles like they're water, be extremely over-the-top and cringey to the max but at the end, still retain the charisma and cool that defines him. He just has so much swag and style that all I can say is that he's the definition of a badass diva.

Yamaneko is that one rude asshole who comes bullshit free himself and doesn't tolerate anybody else's bs either. He does what he wants to do, when he wants to do it. He's the kind of person that would literally yank you by the hair, shove you infront of a mirror and scream your every insecurity, flaw and your deepest secret into your ear. He'll challenge you to face your worst self and at the end, push you head-on into whatever it was that you were running away from.

However, under all his arrogance and goofy persona hides a deeply compassionate, patriotic and thoughtful individual. Ten steps ahead of everyone and always thorough with his strategies; Yamaneko is an idiotic genius. He won my heart over and over again in every episode and made me feel genuine warmth and happiness.

The rest of the cast-especially the versatile Narimiya Hiroki- holds their own against him. Katsamura, Mao, Rikako, Sekimoto- literally all of the characters were people that I felt deeply for.

Kaitou Tantei is an acquired taste. It comes with its fair share of contradictions. It's in your face, yet sincere. It has an almost ridiculous plot, yet intelligent writing. It's characters are over-dramatic but not pretentious. It's peculier, yet simple. A beautiful story of friendship, yet an account of jarring betrayal. Seemingly lame jokes and puns, yet excellent and thought provoking dialogues. Hilariously non-serious, yet almost tragic beneathe the layers. But ultimately, in its core, it's a show that doesn't aim to please anyone.

Middle fingers up, put them hands high.
Wave it in their face, tell 'em boy bye.

^That's the motto it lives by. Devoid of the usual tropes and the same ol' bullshit, the Dorama comes with a sort of refreshing freedom that is now rarely seen. It's incredible just how much of the story they covered in as little as ten episodes (only 45 minutes worth).

They started in an almost coy manner and ended with a sly hint of tongue in cheek. While some complain and whine that the ending was rushed and not properly executed, it was perfect for me. It was exactly in line with the feel of the show; leaving you with a feeling of hope and an uncertainty of the future and I absolutely loved it.

The dorky cat sound effects and the pink panther style background instrumental served to further increase the show's allure. The OST: Unlock by Gat-Tun (Kame's idol group) is so appropriate for the show and never failed to turn me up. Kame sounds so good in real life that I think that all the purposefully awful singing he did in the show must've done a number on his throat.

I believe I couldn't have picked a better show to begin my J-Dorama journey. I highly reccomend this and to those who are having cold feet about watching it; I would like to quote my baby Yamaneko's words:

"Don't think, just feeeeeel. And it will be Fanthastic." Cue the tongue swipe~

Meow.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Make It Right: The Series
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
"Overall, the acting was a bit off at first but things get to be better after a while." - Most reviews do  have this sentiment and it is absolutely true. I did not finish watching it the first time I tried because I could not feel the chemistry between the main characters (though there is, its a bit off) but things do get better. Story lacks the direction on how the characters would develop especially the main couple. There may have been unnecessary side stories that does not make sense to the entire show.

However, the couple development is really good especially the Frame x Book couple and is one of the reason, I think, the pairing is famous. The pair's story development is great and one can definitely understand where the romantic feelings come from.

 For the main couple, there seems to be a lot of confusion with push and pulls that would make you rethink where their feelings are really progressing too. The chaos makes it hard to see the actual direction of the main couples. The theme song is good, catchy and is appropriate (the kind of music that will give you the feels along with the show). Generally, it is still part of the BL Series one should watch out for.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?