If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
5 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
"Things We Do When We Fall in Love" has many details that resemble our lives ...
The  narrative is little complex but full of loopholes and loose situations,  but without much incident, it gives you full power for you to  interpret. Inside the car, in a motel, on a quiet street in the middle of the night, walking through a field, are examples of loose ends. There  are likely to be deeper meanings to be studied but the cameras and  cinematography are unstable giving a wild turn of lousy style, often  following behind the characters, or peering behind inanimate objects. An inanimate cast, they eat, sleep, and talk about the most mundane things. It  is not a romantic movie per se as the title suggests, but rather a very  romantic one that deals with the ordinary, arising from insecurity, and  the constant desire to be sought. Overall "Things We Do When We Fall in Love" tells the relationship between a man and a woman. One is a computer programmer, the other is a teacher. The  story unfolds at a peculiar pace, and, in the end, is included a  hastily played epilogue, which I thought would be unnecessary, if only  to show this pair of robots said as protagonists.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Fairy Tale of Love
1 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
One of the best dramatic romantic comedies I've seen ... but at the same time I'm afraid of a stupid movie.
A  simple story told in a fun way from an unlucky otaku who finds a lucky  fairy ... Of the elements that stand out the cast undoubtedly is the  differential, very harmonious, present, friendly and active,
in  particular the protagonist who embellished the film, the small and Zi  Li that besides being beautiful and cute, gave a moe touch.
Sound  staging and soundtrack are another strong point, Zi Li's babbling and  infantile phonetics gave the charm that the story needed, combined  cinematography provided comical, thrilling and dramatic moments in this  delightful romantic comedy of fantasy, love and emotion. Only the ending left much to be desired, a failed end, CGIs quaint and a cliché melodramatic music ...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Seven Days
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
The film tells the story of an old loner on a snowy mountain with a  fish, a bird and an emotional story of the child that comes into his  life ...
Devoid of dialogues, (silent movie) makes the viewer travel through the senses ...
The  experimental black and white cinematography of "Seven Days" to the eyes  is progressive, but at the same time, in reality it is a boring cycle,  without words in black and white, it becomes annoying. To  kill the fish, to kill the birds, but also a young age of the illusion  of lovers, a call bleak empty mountain shows the interior and a  vicissitudes of old age. A poetic film ...
"Seven Days" is a work worth exploring. The  origin of the film through the young director Xing Jian brings the  social phenomenon focusing on the attention of the elderly, however,  director as their childhood memories that are visible without film. And for the spirit of the film, a premise that conveys is to a "good" or "evil" human nature of discussion and solitude.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Our Little Sister
1 people found this review helpful
by Elle
6 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Koreeda Hirokazu has another classic family drama. I have appreciated Koreeda’s works since I was in college. Our Little Sister has a similar feel as my favorite of his, Still Walking. Again Koreeda delves into the family theme.  I found this film very touching and sweet. It is amazing how again Koreeda is able to capture family life so organically. Seeing the four sisters joke and quarrel helped to illustrate how much they care for one another. As well as over time their bonds with the newest sister start to develop and bloom. Ayase Haruka leads another star performance as the oldest sister, Sachi, and the matriarch of their Kamakura residence. This is a beautiful film that explores the definition of sisterhood. I strongly recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Pieta in the Toilet
1 people found this review helpful
by Elle
6 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Toire no Pieta explores how humans react to death. The story follows Hiroshi a 28 year old window washer who has just received word that he is dying. The movie follows him as he watches what those around him resort to to provide some solace to the pain of one’s impending death. Through these experiences, Hiroshi becomes acquainted with Mai, a loud brash high school girl who feels like there is nothing to live for. Through their limited interactions they end up both leaving quite an impact on each other.
I found this movie very poetic and subtle. I did enjoy watching it.  It is a lovely human drama exploring how we impact each other. The tone is very subdued. I disagree that this drama is a romance. I found this movie pretty touching. Though I think it is worth the time to watch it, I don’t think it can compete with the more acclaimed movies in this category e.g. If Cats Disappeared from the World (2016), Departures (2008).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Oasis
2 people found this review helpful
by Ceki
6 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
What makes this film absolutely fantastic but also terrifying at the same time is not how it portrays raw human emotions but the inability to escape the prison made of them.

We meet two characters who just CAN'T HELP IT. Jong Du suffers from a mild mental retardation while Gong Ju has a severe form of cerebral palsy, a terrible disorder that is incurable. Both of them are shunned by other people who are too afraid and disgusted to deal with them. However, they form a friendship and romance that helps them deal with loneliness. Dong Du is unable to fully comprehend the world around him (which sometimes results in him acting aggressively); while Gong Ju is exploited by her brother who uses her disability pension but leaves her all the time alone with only neighbors to look after her. Moon So Ri's acting is just brilliant, I've never seen anything like it.

There is one scene in the movie when we see how Gong Ju dreams about being normal and imagines having flirtatious interactions with Jong Du. Unfortunately, she is not able to move or even speak normally but still has a need to function properly like all other human beings. It is interesting to note, that all of all people, it is Jong Du who takes her on "adventure" and makes her experience just a bit of life that she has been depraved of.

This is a very difficult movie to watch and it isn't for everyone. There is no HEA for Jong Du and Gong Ju because there is no magical cure to help them be "normal".  But what this movie does is make you APPRECIATE YOUR LIFE MORE. It reminds you that there are people who got it worse than you, who can't eat/walk/talk properly and who depend on others' mercy to survive. So be kind to others who "can't help it" and live your life to the fullest.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Spellbound
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I loved this movie! Definitely one of my favorites. Lee Min Ki and Son Ye Jin made this wonderful. I don't think I could imagine any other actors playing their part. It wasn't too scary, but I don't think it was lacking. I feel like if they had made the movie scarier, or even less scary, it would have taken away from the story. I'm glad they didn't make the scare factor overpower the storyline like a lot a American horror movies do. 10/10; would watch again. I definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful to you?
Repatriation
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Kim  Dong-won's epic film explores the agonizing psychological and physical  survival of long-term "unconverted" North Korean political prisoners in  detention in South Korea and their quest to return home. The  filmmaker first became familiar with two unconverted prisoners in 1992.  Both men, arrested for espionage in the South, refused to denounce  their communist beliefs and fulfilled the full terms of 30 years. Designed for their stories and they personally, Dong won subsequently filmed them for more than a decade. In  the late 1990s, relations between North Korea and South Korea improved  significantly, and even the most enduring non-convertible cases were  released. How have these men survived the dehumanizing conversion process of systematic torture more than 40 years ago? What awaited them in the outer world? And what was their final destination? Ultimately,  a story about the indomitable human spirit, Repatriation is an  extraordinary chronicle of human drama in the context of political  change and a testimony to those who obstinately and at great cost  struggle for what they believe. Technically  the film is in agreement, there are no pros and cons, the way the story  is approached is excellent, however and especially if not spectator  does not like long dialogue documentaries, "Repatriation" is not an  option.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Neko Atsume no Ie
1 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
Cats, kittens, big cats!
A neko film turned into a cute and uplifting story about a distressed writer. Overall, I liked the film's high elemental feel, slightly out of focus but enjoyable to watch. There  were plenty of stylish zooms, close-ups mixed with slow-motion, and  other stylistic choices that were unique and contributed well to the  movie's animation concept, cinematography did its part. However,  sometimes the acting and the humor were very false do not notice that  immersion chemistry, in moments it was too much to make everyone seem  happy, there are also times that should be exciting, often felt  exaggerated. The plot fell a bit flat and was easily forgettable. All in all, a beautiful movie, but it lacked that little thing, the air of its grace.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Versus
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
The plot leaves a  lot to be desired, there are gaps in the story, the film does not  excite, clichés and more clichés ... The cast in turn was great, the  fights well synchronized, it was also very refreshing not to see both  wire-flying, cinematography and the placement of the cameras complied, was filmed in a way that did not seem so exaggerated. Not  out of nowhere love scenes, the "villain" was also top quality, overall  "Versus" does not please, joining all elements does not become  pleasurable, is intendant.
Was this review helpful to you?
Anarchist from Colony
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Far from being a movie, it is the documentary history of Korea and Japan ...
The film is fun, mature story, narrative that never loses focus. The script is watertight and the editing sharp. There are no dull moments or unnecessary sequences to divert the film from the main context of the story. He  manages to engage the viewer with his beautiful visuals, well-handled  cinematography, brilliant action scenes, fantastic and clairvoyant  dialogues and, above all, the extraordinary direction and execution, but  it is a film that is not merely a film is a flat biography, which can easily be seen in books ...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Spirits' Homecoming
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
It  is alleged that during World War II, the Japanese army kept 1 million  women from occupied countries and kept them as slaves where they were  euphemistically known as "comfort women" ... This film is effective but  not efficient to show how the 14-year-old  women were removed from their homes serving dozens of men daily and  faced terrible punishment for disobeying orders. The film is strewn with scenes of violence both physical and sexual. Day after day, women are expected to have sex with dozens of men who do not quit even when they are menstruating.
There  is no way out of this, and women who try to escape are shot dead in the  head ... But the film reaches a certain poetry in later scenes, as when  dozens of white butterflies float in the meadows, a visual metaphor for  the souls of the girls who return to their homes. The  film gives a perception and a sense of a nation finally able to  recognize its past and the brutality of the Japanese occupiers. This film has a strong sense of Korean identity, with traditional folk music prominent in several scenes.
Highlight  for Ha-Nang played a very innocent and pure matrix role, on the skin a  girl of 14 who, somehow, does not lose innocence. Son Sook has the eyes of someone who has seen many horrors but still has the ability to forgive. The film could have been better edited, but it tells a very difficult story. Very good, very good!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Forbidden Kingdom
2 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
Jackie Chan
Jet Li

nuff said.

This movie tells the story of two martial artist that must train a 21st century boy who has been transported to their time.  I have re-watched this movie at least a half a dozen times and enjoy it every time.  It feels kinda kid friendly at times so if you are looking for more grit this movie isn't for you.


 I Never give anything a score of 10 and unless it is amazing, I don't think I have ever watched anything amazing. Nothing below 6 unless I had to drop/shut it off.
Was this review helpful to you?
Ong Bak
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
Hi Super Martial Arts fan back with another review.  

This time our fighter is Tony Jaa and this series of movies show of Muay Thai choreography extremely well.  I don't watch these movies for plot or character development I watch them to be entertained by people who can do things, train their bodies to do things I can only image. The movie was done well enough I didn't shut it off and when I get into a martial arts mood I do re watch them.  If you like the movie Commando I am sure you will like these.
Was this review helpful to you?
8 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
I am huge fan of Kung Fu movies (any martial arts for that matter) and in the early eighties devoured tons and tons of badly dubbed ones.  This movies reminded me of all that and more.  My dvd is currently on loan to someone because we love to share and discuss with our friends.

I recommend this only if you love Wu-Shu type movies or like to play mystery science theatre (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mystery_Science_Theater_3000) with your friends.  

I watched this with out watching Dragon Inn first and was able to follow the plot line relatively easily.  If you are looking for a serious movie this isn't for you.  if you like well choreographed, slightly plausible fight scenes tied together with an okay premise, watch this and enjoy.  It is actually one of my favorite action movies out there ..It does have Donnie Yen in it after all.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?