Sort by:
Secret
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Months ago as I was looking for piano pieces, I found a video "Secret Piano Battle". A group of high school students come together watching two of their classmates competing in piano with some really difficult pieces to excel each other.
That scene is taken from this movie and I finally watched it last night.

First thing is I really wanted to study at a high school like this one where you read more can have piano battles with friends instead of bickering idly. -_-

That being said, I liked all the piano scenes especially the battle scene and the"Secret".
The film is a bit paranormal, there is a good twist which I wasn't expecting to happen so it did surprise me near the final.Other than music, it tells us a few things about friendship,being the "odd" one among the people, not being able to fit in...
The final scene left me a bit up in the air. I can't say I didn't like it but then I can't say I did either.
I just think they may have thought something better for the final scene.
Still, it may worth watching once if you like music.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hope
0 people found this review helpful
by Sumi
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is one of the best Korean movies I have ever watched, I cried, laughed and smiled because of it. The story is absolutely heartbreaking, some scenes made me cry like a baby, I couldn't stop thinking about how could a human being could do that to a child but besides that the movie is incredible. The story is not just heartbreaking but it's an inspirational . If you are a read more sensible person this movie is not for you but if you can endure violence scenes than you will endure it just fine. The cast is completely amazing and they fit the characters perfectly well. I couldn't find anything bad about this movie, everything is very well done.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wolf Girl and Black Prince
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Really cute movie!
The story is easy to understand and although the characters have maybe a "bad" past, they don't explain too much about it, so it's not to deep.
The characters all in all are typical for a japanese movie: Tsundere boy and a girl who, i guess, wants to fall in love. I liked the interactions between the main characters, maybe ecspecially because it;s Yamazaki Kento :D But the main read more girl's character was kind of annoying till the end.

As i said, the story is easy, but sometimes too normal and in the middle of the movie the story is staying on one point, not going on until it reaches the "highlight" of the movie. I just watched it and i can't remember what actually happened in the middle.

Really annoying for me was the camera... Maybe i am a bit overreacting, but they often didn't show the faces while some characters were conversating and just filmed on a higher position... So you can't really see the actors actually acting in those scenes.

The other lead actors were good for the story and not explained too much, so they just helped on some points were it was useful.

All on all the storyline was nice for a stressful day to relax with some cute actors! I recommend it for lovers of typical japanese movies and tsundere lovers like me ^-^ !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Montage
0 people found this review helpful
by Sumi
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Just by reading the synopsis you won't feel any desire to watch the movie, but believe that behind this little piece of the story is an incredible story about the murder of a seven year old girl. This movies has a few twists that can change your whole perspective of the story. Even if the beginning doesn't look like it's worth watching, you will have to continue and you will find yourself read more addicted to the story, you will start to connect the clues and the end will surprise you.
The cast was chosen very well and the story is very good, if you like thriller/mystery movies you will like this one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Saw The Devil
0 people found this review helpful
by Sumi
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This movie has sex scenes and violent scenes, so if you are a sensible person this movie is not for you but if you are not a sensible person and you like this kind of movie than you will love this one.
What I liked so much about this movie was the fact that Soo-Hyun gave up everything to revenge his fiancé and to make the killer suffer as much as he read more could. While you watch the movie you will notice how Kyung-chul's eyes can make you turn on the lights again once you see how he doesn't feel anything after killing a person. The cast is very well chosen, achou Min Shik did a very good job as a psychopath, like I said before, just by looking at his eyes I wanted to turn off the screen because it's really scary, that only shows how good his act was.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Han Zi Gao - The Male Queen
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Excellent story, superb acting, and the most physically attractive cast ever. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Great Wall
2 people found this review helpful
by Ruyi
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I watched this in the cinema and it was superb!! The creatures and cinematography looked convincing and the acting...it's too good...just beautiful... especially Damon Matt :) The main highlight of this movie is to tell us to trust...trust people...trust in yourself etc. I know..I'm talking about the movie like I'm writing an assessment or something XD

So, that was just like a introduction. Now, I will move on to how I think read more of the story, acting/cast, music and re watch value (I'm kinda copying what other people are doing for their reviews but.. let's move on XD)

STORY:
Thrilling. I loved it...because I love thrilling movies hehe. In this movie, there was always something happening that thrills us, whether it's a creature gonna attack them, preparing for a battle or even just explaining what the Taotei's are is thrilling!! I will not make this paragraph long so I'll just make this short...if I extend the paragraph, I might add spoilers and I know you don't want that ;)

NOOOO!!!! I just wrote a really good review but somehow got deleted T_T
So, this second half is my second time writing the review...(it took me a lot of time!)

ACTING/CAST:
..........I feel so blank after all that writing is deleted T_T Anyways, Damon Matt's acting is the top of the top. I can't describe it but it's too good lol. At the very start of the movie, he had really messy and long hair that I didn't even realise it was Matt. Until, when he fixed it, I was like, "OMG! It's him...." (I actually don't know who damon matt is but now I know :) He's an actor who played as William Garin in The Great Wall :D) The movie was already better with Matt (and luhan and karry!*fangirls*) but it was even better with JingTian too! I've never seen her before but she's a goddess...Just beautiful..I'm speechless.

MUSIC:
You know, usually, when I make reviews, I talk about how emotional that ost was or how powerful his/her voice has! But this time, no voice...just instruments XD But I liked it. The music really fitted in with what was happening in the movie. Impressive.

REWATCH VALUE:
Have you experienced this before? Whenever, I go to the cinemas, the movie always seems to go very fast! It's like BAM! DONE! LET'S GO HOME! But, I don't want to. I just wanna watch another movie! (for example, Beauty and the Beast) 9.0 I might have rated it too high, since I went to the cinamas to watch it-
actually..... the movie would have gone really quickly if I watched it online too! lol

OVERALL:
Superb. Thrilling. Convincing. Impressive~~ I loved this movie-I mean I love this movie and still love it lol. It really makes your day more interesting! Definitely Recommend it! (espcially for a boring Sunday afternoon) I watched it on a Sunday afternoon but that sunday afternoon wasn't sunny...it was raining...really badly....bu that doesn't mean my day was bad! I love the movie, The Great Wall and I'm actually going to The Great Wall next year.....will I see those creatures (taotei)? XD......hopefully not...

P.S. "Trust (???” Trust in your people, yourself. You can do it. (yep! Motivation Quote! Fighting! )
lololololololol
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Like For Likes
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Like For Likes. This South Korean movie really reminded me of Love Actually in the set up and tone. It's basically three interweaving romance plot lines that link together based on the overlapping relationships among the characters. It has Yoo Ah In as Noh Jin Woo, a Hallyu star who just completed his military obligation and is looking for his comeback project, and Lee Mi Yeon as Jo Kyeong Ah, the drama read more writer who put him on the map and with whom he had a one night stand as one couple. The second couple is Kim Ju Hyuk as Jung Sung Chan, a restaurateur who has a wide network of friends and acquaintances, and Choi Ji Woo as Ham Joo Ran, a flight attendant and his landlord, who end up sharing a home as roommates. The third couple is Kang Ha Neul as Lee Soo Ho, an adorably awkward and naive songwriter/composer who is hiding something, and Lee Som as Jang Na Yeon, the forward, bold woman for whom he has fallen. All the cast in this are great, but Kang Ha Neul's story line was particularly well done. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Time Trip App
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Historical knowledge galore! I'm sorry if I get some things wrong in Japanese history... I took European history.

Historical Backgound/Story
Time Trip App does involve quite a bit of history but the most important thing to know is the Katsu Kaishuu saved Edo (Tokyo) from a civil war between the emperor who abdicated his throne in 1867 and the new government. This is the transition between the Tokugawa shogunate (Edo period) and read more the Meiji Restoration called the Bakumatsu. The movie seems to express the indecision of Katsu Kaishuu when faced with making the choice that changed the history of Japan with a certain foolishness for comedy. Ishihara Satomi's teacher character is problematic at first. The plot is quick to expose her flaws as a teacher and corrects her flaws through her experiences in the past. Strangely enough, Shintaro Numata seems to be the only student involved the development of the main storyline as the others are cast aside into their own side plot. There is more amusement at the situations these future characters find themselves in rather than comedy provided by Katsu Kaishuu. Also, I hate to crush everyone's hope and dreams but the ROMANCE IS PRACTICALLY NONEXISTENT! The time travel trope manifest itself in this movie by recycling elements from Back to the Future. The goal is the same: to return things to how they once were and to safely go back to the future.

Acting/Cast
Tamaki Hiroshi and Ishihara Satomi!! Wow, both are great seasoned actors! Tamaki Hiroshi's acting in here does outshine Ishihara Satomi's because he is playing a historical character. Although his acting and looks may reflect the true Katsu Kaishuu, he does keep the historical timeline accurate with his fool-like personality. Ishihara's character may be generally dislikeable; however, do take note that she is playing a character going through self-realization. By the end of the movie her attitude will take a turn for the better. The students were also played by experienced actors and I was not disappointed with their acting. Kawaguchi Haruna is a cut above the rest, going above and beyond with her modern street girl personality.

Music
There are horribly cheesy music to go with effects. The OST is nothing overly done, all songs are ordinary, to the point that it portrays each atmosphere with a sense of familiarity. The ending song, INFINITY?ZERO by nano, seems to be the only actual song in this movie. The song fails to fit in with the rest of the movie since it is heavy metal, but it is a good song and a highly energetic way to end a happy movie.

Rewatch Value
Rewatch this for missed historical references. Or maybe just to see Tamaki Hiroshi and Ishihara Satomi. Props and setting-wise, this movie is a goldmine. Each Bakamatsu or Early Meiji setting building is the stuff of textbooks.

Overall
This is a great movie to watch if you are bored and know some Japanese history. Without historical context this movie seems absurd because all plot is build on real history. This movie does try to appeal to the younger generation with the student and the time travel trope but can also be a family movie enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Fine..Thank You..Love You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Oscar award for worst movie if i could rate it under zero i won't hesitate for a moment
where is the story & the plot
i hated every moment in front of it
it's the most vapid & disgusting comic i have ever seen i didn't even smile
the story can be much better than that million times the idea it self is good but the plot was really rubbish
WARNING : read more don't waste ur time as i did >_
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Laundry
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I really LOVE this movie!

I like the slow pace and the quirkiness of it.

I watched this film because of Kubozuka Yosuke (GO, Ping Pong) but it made me a BIG fan of Koyuki.

She is just AWESOME in Laundry and i LOVE every second of screentime of her in this.

It is a really quiet and perhaps strange little film but i watched it several times and never got bored! read more HIGHLY recommended! (If you appreciate the little, sometimes hidden things!)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Round Trip to Love Part 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 days ago
18 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Ugh! So it seems that there will be no Part 3, according to comments found online so far. These Chinese gay dramas are infuriating as they get off to a good start, share a good story, then get banned leaving everyone disappointed that there is no ending, good or bad.

This is the last straw, I m done with Chinese gay dramas unless the entire movie is completed and available.

Such a read more waste of time, not just for me watching, but everyone involved in making them.

And let me add one more thing... enough with the gay shaming, movie after movie of mothers and fathers falling ill because of their homophobic points of view, enough of the shaming of being gay, by family and so called friends, and classmates.

Though being gay, anywhere in the world can be difficult, there are equally as many men and women who have wonderfully accepting families, friends and communities.

Stop the shame!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Moebius
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 days ago
18 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
All I can say about this movie is how fucked up it is...literally. It's beyond twisted and disgusting. but i can applaud the acting skills since there is absoultely no dialogue. it's just truly a fucked up movie.... I don't even think the creator is ok lol. But it's up to yall to decide.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Perfect Couple
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
19 days ago
19 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
If you can get past the female lead's voice (and that is a BIG if) then this is a pretty good movie. It has a little bit of everything. It's obviously a rom-com but it also has a compelling cops vs. criminals story & good action scenes.

Lee Dong Wook and Jun Soo Kyung are what make this movie worth watching. If it wasn't for them my cast score would be even read more lower. It's as low as it is strictly because of the female lead, Hyun Young. She's actually not a bad actress and pretty good at comedy but her voice is so grating that it's all you can focus on. But I will say that as the movie goes on you will get slightly used to it. But only slightly! And the writers are obviously aware of how annoying it is cuz they work in a few jokes about it.

Lee Dong Wook really carries this movie. He's very believable as someone who strives to be a great cop but has a phobia that can sometimes interfere with that. He's also very easy on the eyes.

This is my favorite role of Jun Soo Kyung's. Her character's personality & antics are laugh out loud funny. She will have you cracking up so much. Especially in the last 20 minutes.

The movie has a very good pace & doesn't drag. So if you're looking for some time to kill this is a good movie to watch. Just don't have the volume too loud... :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ashita No Joe
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
19 days ago
19 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Very nice and deep movie. Kudos to the actor for having immersed themselves so much in the story. I heard they had to train for months and lost each ~10kilos, which is 20%~ of their weight... Whoah.
The story in itself isn't only a story about just fighting. It's about living, and getting up again after each it; it's about life in the slums too, although this part wasn't as deepened as read more I would've wanted it to be, but week, that wasn't the main part of the movie. This movie is for you if:
-you like box
-you don't really like box but well a movie full of adrenaline like this one is what you're looking for
-yamapi ~~
- you want to stop a little time to fully immerse you in an intense movie~
Ect..
Well, it's a nice movie, but I'd say you have to watch it even if just for the actors since their transformation is so great. I mean, they really looked like they were on the verge of dying o_o
I stared this movie from afar but never really felt like watching it, but now that I did I'm not regretting it. It was a great and intense movie!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions