Sort by:
Creepy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
26 days ago
26 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This movie has so much potential. The plot seems to be interesting and yes, they did stick to it but I think that there has to be another way that they could make the movie more appealing. I did enjoy watching it though because of the curiosity but really, this movie seems off. But the title itself was a great choice since it is really creepy and not that horror type of read more creepy but it was insane!

For the story, i'm going to give it an 8.5. I like the plot but the way they extend it was not great! I'm super resentful about it.

The actors did a great job executing their characters well especially Nishino-san (Kagawa Teruyuki). He makes his sinister character seems natural. They did really great and I couldnt ask for other actors to play their roles.

Music? There's nothing special about in fact, I havent even heard a music I think haha. It's all like a daily life basis which they wouldnt stress out the music.

And nope! I dont think I would watch it again. I wouldnt even dare to see Kagawa's character ever again. Such a psychopath.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
27 days ago
27 days ago
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.5
  • Music 3.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
One of the worst movies out there. If this was based on a manga (which I didn't read---normally I would have read a manga before the film) it's atrocious. The acting is lackluster to say the least----everyone in the main cast is super attractive but they need growth to be interesting.

The premise of the story is these kids get together because they're rejected by all other social groups in their school. read more The main character is because he's half-Japanese/Half-White---so he has "blonde" hair. The others are rejected for some other factor, one has big tits, another likes science and is horny. I don't know. Just a poorly executed storyline without any dimensional characterization.

As I said the acting is not helpful. I think for men this could be a great film or even women if you're into the superficial and extreme T&A (Tits & Ass). I mean all of those teases are all over the place and extreme. I was actually impressed by the boys self-control, which made me think he might be gay. That could be an over the top statement, but that's not even a nice guy attitude.

Anyway, not impressive.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
27 days ago
27 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
My impression of "My Annoying Brother" is that its a great family type of movie, at least in my opinion...
I expected a sad story about how Du Yeong(D.O Kyungsoo)becomes blind and deals with his brother Ko Doo Shik(Jo Jung Suk)who goes out of prison(i remind you,a SAD story). Well...it was actually really different from what i imagined. First the swearing is a lot, i dont know if Korea sees this as read more a family movie, considering they blur out knives and guns...And i like how they delivered the story! Comedy, swearing, family drama i'm glad the movie is not another sad movie hit, which i expected from the person who made it. The reason im giving the story 9.5 is because i feel something was missing, just a little.
The acting was great. The bromance made me scream, cry and laugh. It was funny to see the swearing which is really really a lot more than in any drama you have ever seen. Jo Jung Suk is one of my favorite actors because of this movie(in my top 3). His acting is out of this world, i did not doubt his acting for a second. Next lead D.O Kyungsoo: I was worried about D.O because, since "I Remember You" i havent seen him in a lot of dramas or movies. Gladly there was nothing to worry about,he is just as good as always. Lets hope we can see him in more dramas and movies.
Next: Park Shin Hye(Lee Soo Hyeon) was a big suprise for me when i found out about the cast. Her acting was great i'm so glad she was in this movie i cant imagine another female in this role (that's not an A list actress) to grab my attention. Otherwise the role would be very simple, bland and waste of screen time. She delivered the role of caring for Du Yeong so well, that felt it! I dont know why i expected romance between her and the brothers,maybe that's what was missing for me in the story. I shiped her and Du Yeong so hard, but i have a feeling, that if it was a romance movie she would go to Ko Doo Shik and Du Yeong would be the sad second lead who is blind.... so maybe its not good to have romance in this movie after all but just cute, lovely-dovey bromance. The acting is a 10, best cast ever!
Now to the topic about the music in the drama. Its the only thing that didn't stick out enough to
impress me. I dont get it they had D.O Kyungsoo of EXO and Jo Jong Suk(they sang one song) who can both sing couldnt they make them sing the songs or at least give the signers better songs! They werent bad dont get me wrong but they were not on the same level as the story,acting and visual of the cast and scenery. That's why im giving it 7.5.
As a rewatch value i would soo watch it again. Yes, yes and yes. I only wish i could watch it with my family but they don't even understand english. Thankfully i can watch it with my sister because its a great family movie that plays with your emotions. Even if there are a little shirtless scenes XD. 9.5
Overall its a great movie it had comedy it wasn't all sad like i expected it to be. The relationship between the brothers really made my legs jelly. I really liked it! Even if i gave the music 7.5 im still giving it a 10 for overall impression because the other movies that could hold my attention that long without me spacing off are only Train to Busan, Miracle in Cell No. 7 and Werewolf Boy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Best Friend's Wedding
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
27 days ago
27 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie was mediocre. There were no twists and turns. The flashback scenes did add to the story and make it more relate-able. This movie is something everyone has seen before, and there is nothing the creators do to make it stick out.

The acting was okay. The lead did a good job, but it was nothing spectacular. The music did not stick out either. The one thing that did make this read more movie memorable was the White guy Nick, who was actually a lead. His Chinese was perfect and his character was rather charming.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hope
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
28 days ago
28 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I have known many friends that have been sexually assaulted so this movie hit home,
This isn't a typical movie on sexually assault . Heart wrenching and painful to watch.

I rate this movie a 10/10 but I couldn't give a higher rating for the rewatch value, it would be just too hard to endure it again
Please bring a full box of tissues if you plan on watching, and here I read more thought Miracle in Cell # 7 was heavy
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hot Road
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
28 days ago
28 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This movie is intense. Like, seriously, INTENSE. If you don't like any of the following, turn back now:
- motorcycles and the people (hot boys) that ride them
- gang activity
- potential emotional scarring for life (both the characters and the viewer)
- traumatic and turbulent relationships
- crying (again, both the characters and the viewer...mostly the viewer)

Basically I remember coming across this movie by accident a while ago and read more I thought it looked interesting (I'm a sucker for just about any type of romantic story...tragic or not), so I sat down to watch it, not realizing the emotional rollercoaster ride that I was in for. Don't get me wrong, this movie is fantastic in many ways: the acting, the writing, the cinematography...oh, god, the cinematography. I just didn't fully understand how INTENSE this movie is. If you are not prepared to feel like your heart has been fed through a wood chipper, don't watch this movie. But if you have a warehouse full of boxes of tissues, a stern constitution, and a truckload of emotional superglue to put yourself back together with at the end, by all means, enjoy.

(Nah, for reals, this movie is great and I highly recommend it. But, uh, if you do watch it and you decide to never watch it again...I get you. This isn't a movie that's easy to rewatch, hence the low score for rewatch value. Then again, if you like it enough to rewatch it, great. Just don't invite me over to your house for movie night, OK? OK.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sonatine
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
29 days ago
29 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Great film, everything almost perfect

Beat Takeshi has done many yakuza films but this one was the best and so original, although, he always plays a dark character and is very serious but always laughs a little in every film he is in, that's what make his films good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Don't Forget Me
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
29 days ago
29 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
I decided to watch this movie because it was psychological and i really liked movies with that genre.

With the movie, the story was good and the actors were good but then how the movie goes is just too quiet. Too quiet in the sense that in the middle of watching the movie i became bored but still i finished it though. The twist is a good idea but the execution is read more poor. Poor because when it was the climax i was just like "ahh..that's why" not like how i would usually expected to wherein it would leave you with tears, goosebumps or just the feeling of contentment of knowing the exact reason of the events in the movie.

If i will be asked if would want to watch again, i would say "no" not only because i really don't like watching the same movie twice or more but also because i can't find the reason to watch it again.

It was not a waste of time but not a great use of time either...

NOTE: mainly my own opinion, i just wanted to help so i hope you would respect my views about the movie...THANK YOU :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Our Times
0 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
30 days ago
30 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I’m not really sure why this story decided to incorporate older actors for the grown up characters. It really lacked emotional punch.

I’m usually not one for high school romances. The story starts with a bumbling, cowering heroine.

The actors are great though. They really portray the feel and emotion of the characters beautifully.

It is also one hell of a cute romance.

It has all the tropes but it kind of read more worked.

The characters sometimes were very sensible and logical.

The beginning was cringey, the ending was a flop but the middle....the middle was GORGEOUS.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Chronicles of Evil
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 24, 2016
Dec 24, 2016
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I wanted to give it an 8 but the pace was a bit slow to keep me intrigued all time.
But, for the unpredictable plot twist and because of the amazing cast, it was a great movie. And Park Seo Joon performed very well in this movie. But I can't really say it is a good police.movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 23, 2016
Dec 23, 2016
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I'll start by saying that i'm not keen on movies in general (wether Korean or Western) and that kdramas are mostly the only cinematographic pieces I watch, but, I indulged in this because I like DO, and because Jo Jung Suk (whom I didn't know before this) seemed a pretty fun actor from the promo interview.

I watched the movie without subs. There you have it, and nope, I don't speak korean read more (yet)
Before you think my review is invalid because I couldn't grasp everything perfectly, let me stop you because this is the exact reason I'm writing this review: even with my extremely limited understanding of the language, the story, the actions, the whole thing seemed crystal-clear to me. I never felt like I was watching a foreign-language movie. Everything made sense and seemed logic, because the acting is top-notch. Top. Notch.

When the brothers were having a quarrel, I understood it.
When they were laughing with each other, my heart melted.
When they were teasing each other, I chuckled.
When they were talking over sad stuff, I teared up a bit.

And I cried like a baby at the end.

Their facial expressions are mostly flawless and very accurate. I mean if one tells X in X country their puppy died they'd have the same reaction as Y in Y country, we all constitute humankind.
Their tones also help to get the feel of the situation, even if they're basically talking gibberish to you, their tone makes sense.
Now if you know even like 30 really basic words like mom, eat etc. it's gonna help a LOT. And you probably do know these words and way more than 30 if you've been swept by the Hallyu long ago so you have no excuse not to watch this movie :-)

I thought I'd have to watch this a second time to understand it fully but I really don't, and actually had to write down in my notes that I watched this movie in Korean because there's zero gray area really.

I understood about 10% of the lines (literally, as in I know what they're saying right now bc I know exactly all the words), but my actual understand of the plot and what was happening was around 90%, maybe even 95% because as I said before, the few words you know, the scenes and mostly the perfect faces and the tone, of the actors makes you totally forget you're watching it without subs.

I gave this an 8. It wasn't actually that incredible of a movie, it was rather two well-spent hours and a good laugh, but 7.5 just didn't seem good enough, that's why I settled with the upper mark.

In a nutshell: a good watch !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Treacherous
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 22, 2016
Dec 22, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Yes there are sex scenes and you know what? They're really well done--sometimes sensual, sometimes raunchy, other times like a work of art. It honestly adds to the experience of the movie. If you're bothered by sex then don't watch?

I've watched The Treacherous twice now and I loved it even more the second time. The cinematography is really great and the acting is really well done too. If you're into saeguk read more dramas, you'll love certain aspects of this like the inclusion of pansori by the narrator as well as some of the character, the traditional sword dancing, and of course the ever present court politics.

The King was the most interesting character, mostly because this is based off true history. My understanding and knowledge of Korean history is mainly from what I've watched in dramas (lol) so I'm not sure how much artistic license they took with the portrayal of this tryant king, but MAN was he out of his goddamn mind! It was insane! But that's what makes this movie so wild and enjoyable--there are almost no limits to the insanity...its raunchy and violent at times, but that's supposed to be the point. The film explores greed, power, lust, revenge all very dark and entrancing themes that really draw you in. The camera work really helps to add!

Honestly, the rating is probably so low because you have viewers who are used to watched sappy, romcom movies and dramas and this is definitely no where near that sort of story. If you're looking for something gritty, explicit, exciting, sexy, and just insane you will not regret watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
3 people found this review helpful
by tar
Other reviews by this user
Dec 21, 2016
Dec 21, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
When I found this movie came from the same scriptwriter for Miracle in Cell No. 7, I believe this movie was going to be tearjerker movie but not really. This movie gave me butterfly.

From the plot, It's alright to make this kind of relationship. The plot is very meaningful yet simple so there are no complicated plot here or there. The acting was very great. When I watched the movie, I read more even forgot that Do Kyungsoo is a fluffy man from EXO and Jo Jung Suk is a king of romantic comedy (this is my opinion). They reflects the character very well. Do Kyungsoo gave prove that he's not just a simply idol turned actor because he potray the character very well. Fyi, Do Kyungsoo play as Go Do Young who is judo athlete and couldn't see. Jo Jung Suk play as Go Doo Sik who is ex convict and rude guy. Jo Jung Suk play as playful and so rude (I mean he's very rude here) and make me want to punch him but yeah it's me got excited to see them both in one place. Ah not too forget, Park Shin Hye play as Soo Hyun who is judo coach and she gave big part for the plot.

There are so many cringe yet funny scenes because you know, this movie is bro comedy so don't worry, this movie has many emotions to offer. The soundtrack is good but I only remember the song that Jo Jung Suk and Do Kyungsoo sing called Don't Worry and the song fits the movie.

As an EXO fan and Jo Jung Suk fan, I would like to watch this again. Damn, I cried for a long time but I also laugh until I forgot my popcorn. I love this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Sassy Girl
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 21, 2016
Dec 21, 2016
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Honestly, for the biggest majority of the movie, it was painful to get through. I didn't particularly enjoy neither character at all and really didn't want to finish it. However, I am glad I did because the ending was one of the best I've seen in a while. Somehow the ending was almost enough to atone for the whole movie. I give the last 15 minutes a 10/10, while the rest of read more the movie only gets a 4.5/10. This gives it an average of 7.5.

(honestly, if i were to tell someone to watch it, I would tell them to skip over the middle because it would make the movie better).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Paradise Kiss
0 people found this review helpful
by Dana
Other reviews by this user
Dec 20, 2016
Dec 20, 2016
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
The film is pretty much the same as the manga except for a few things.
There's not really any backstory for most of the characters, so some of the scenes have a bit different context than in the book. The ending was also changed from the manga.
Besides that, its a pretty faithful adaptation.It's a fun watch for fans and for people just interested in fashion.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions