Sort by:
Beck
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
What can I say, I love this kind of movie. Where a group of losers form a solid friendship and success in whatever they want to accomplish, after a few struggles and when no one would have given them a chance.

I have to say that Hiro impressed me with his English accent. It was good and not awkward at all. His hair was a bit MEH; straight hair does not suit read more him and sometimes, he looked a bit like Michael Jackson. But he played his role very well; I thought sometimes he actually played the guitar (I don't know if he did or not).

Sato Takeru was OK I guess, in his role of Koyuki. The typical nice, naive boy from school, that is bullied (by no other than one of the "Crows" members!) and has basically, no interest in life. Until he meets this rocker and wants to learn to play guitar. I was more impressed with the bags under his eyes, to be honest. Such a young boy with that issue. He should have gained more weight (he was too thin when he was younger).

Osamu Mukai does well whatever he plays. Although I may prefer him in this kind of role, more tough. I did not like his bleached hair at first, but after a few minutes, I was OK with it. He did very well his role as a bassist; not too many lines but his presence was enough for me. Second best in the cast.

Kiritani Kenta was the best actor for me in this movie, hands down. I liked his rap, his crazy hairdo, and that scene where he fights against the bullies. He has such a funny face.

At least the female role in the movie, in the hands of Kutsuna Shiori, made sense (unlike in Crows :P). Her English was good, and I can't say anything bad about her acting. The transition from English to Japanese and vice-versa was well accomplished, and I liked when she was frustrated and yelled in English.

I also liked Sakurai-kun, new student at school and Koyuki's new friend. He had a good chemistry with the band, and looked to kind.

There is a good soundtrack, my favorite the one at the end ("Don't look back in anger"). There are some negative reviews about Koyuki not actually singing in the entire movie, but it did make sense to me, and I like that we only need to see people's expression to know he has a marvelous voice. Since the movie is based on a manga, and it is very hard to please people regarding something delicate as A VOICE, it was good they made it this way.

My only complain would be the length of the movie (2 hours and a half). It never drags nor it is never boring, but it is long.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love 911
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This is a good watch, it did not make me flutter maybe because I was not attracted to the male lead. He looks manly and good looking but not my type. Still he did a good job.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Millionaire's First Love
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
this has a huge potential to be a wow movie for me but still, it did not wow me. huhu should I give up hoping for a wow korean romantic movie? The female lead is pretty and hyun bin of course is handsome, but I did not see the chemistry in them, I did not see their sprouting love coming so I did not have reasons to feel emotional towards the ending... read more I wish a lot of scenes were different and were more convincing.But it is still a good watch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Tutor Friend
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I enjoyed watching this feel good movie, Kwon Sang Woo was so charming and of course it is always nice to see Gong Yoo.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Run Off
0 people found this review helpful
by Lady
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
It was an emotional ride with all those 'Mighty Ducks' feels - an excellent sports movie, that shows just how much grit it takes not to win, but to keep going.

I loved the fact that first; it was focused on the women - all that girl power! And second; it was based on a true story - it shows the courage, the hardships and the relationships that formed over the course read more of time as they became a great team - not just in skills but because of what they had to endure to get to where they are.

The actressesssss; from Soo Ae (Sweet Stranger and Me) who plays Lee Ji Won, and Park So Dam's' guest appearance (Cinderella and the Four Knights) who plays Lee Ji Hye. As sisters in the movie they brought all that sass and strength to their roles.

You can see a lot of development in the characters/ people they played. For instance Kim Seul Gi (Splash Splash LOVE), who's plays Jo Mi Ran, who at first seems more focused on getting paid than being in a team, but soon evolves into a player that puts a lot of heart into ice hockey. Also, Kim Ye Won (Tomorrow with You) who plays Kim Ga Yeon, who is unemployed and whom is at first only interested in her appearance, but soon develops into someone with a big heart and who isn't afraid to get hurt.

Whether they were at all like the people they were playing is yet to be seen and whether the story stays true to the real events, we cannot be sure, nevertheless they all did well and it put a big spotlight on a team that deserves praise for their efforts.

I definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Your Lie in April
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Kento, you little thing, you got me wrapped around your finger again!
I watched this movie with a skeptical attitude. Not a big fan of plots which one of the main characters suffer from an incurable illness, but this has actually some good points.
The plot is a little bit different from any other shojo mangas, that's maybe the reason why I loved the manga so much.
An adorable kid met this read more bubbly girl who's a violinist. The girl wants the boy to play the piano again so she starts to encourage him to not turns his back to the real love of his little life; classical music.
What I love about this story is the huge love for music shown by the characters.
Kento played an amazing Arima here. He's cute, nerdy, a ball of fluffiness. His cry scenes gave me goosebumps.
The cinematography is colorful, making every single actor look like an anime character.
There isn't a real love story, at least in the manga version, so I was a little bit confused when I saw how the movie ended.
Kaori's illness isn't explained at all, leaving the audience thinking "What the actual hell is this girl daying of?"
Expect for Suzu Hirose's voice tone that actually sounded like the one of an anime voice actress, everything was well directed. Sometimes the peace of the movie was a little bit slow, making me look at my phone, but it wasn't actually a big deal.
Hands up for Kento's acting here. Comparing this character to Naruse's one, I think he has done a better job in here.
At least, Arima made me feel something.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
We need more! As much as I liked the movie, I think they lost precious time with the story of Michelle and her brother. Just when Haruhi realized her feelings for Tamaki! While Tamaki still didn't.... There are lots of silly CG (little hearts, blushed cheeks) that I enjoyed, just like in the dorama. And the settings are beautiful! Not only the elegant school, but Asakusa and other places in Tokyo. At read more least there wasn't a budget when they had to film this!

And a Korean-actor was cast, maybe to have a wider audience? The English he and Michelle speak was not bad, but it wasn't too good either. Which wouldn't have bothered me at all except that they talked in whispers! I had to come closer to the screen to understand at least half of it... and they were supposed to talk in English every day or so... ha! As if.

I loved the contest they have at school, it is one of my favorite plot to watch in a live-action. Kinda like HanaKimi, where there are several groups that compete against each other, in the silliest games! My favorite part of the movie! My least favorite: everything that was about Michelle and her brother. What a pain, it dragged so much sometimes. I wanted more Host Club, more Tamaki-Haruhi, not more about a girl with the most terrible hair (seriously, how could she comb that tangled mess??) and with a brother complex.

I wish the scriptwriter had chosen another arc instead of that... nevertheless, it was good to see the gang again XD
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Miracle in Cell No. 7
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Father-daughter love! Will surely make you cry a bucket! Talking about good movie, this is one of the movies that would pop up to your mind first.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Crucible
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I am not into social issues, but watching this was not a waste of time. You can go ahead watch it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love 911
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Who doesn't love a little romantic comedy now and again? I personally really enjoy some romcoms! SOME. I never made it through My Sassy Girl (the movie ofc) because it was just too much even if it had Jeon Ji Hyun and the lead male omo kill me now.
I'll admit I only initially watched this because of Han Hyo Joo...

Story (7.5):
The beginning has some antics to get the two read more leads together, one a firefighter and the other a doctor, and I don't think it felt cliche or contrived at all. Perhaps a little, but it was pretty refreshing and a bit comedic too.
Later on in the story I felt like I was watching a couple different movies, most notably the indie film Fireproof (EXACT SAME TRAIN SCENE I TELL YOU), and at the end of the movie I felt like some parts of the story line weren't fulfilled, but this is still a fun movie to watch regardless.

Acting/Cast (9.5):
Han Hyo Joo.
I was going to end this part here, but I guess I'll continue on. So, I kind of like Han Hyo Joo as an actress. I've seen her in a billion other things, like Dong Yi, Shining Inheritance, Always, etc. and I liked her in those; if you did too, then there's no way she'll disappoint here! The rest of the cast was pretty decent and some I felt were pretty topnotch even if I'd never seen them anywhere else. I've got to say, the husband of the brain dead woman really surprised me with his acting...

Music (7.0):
Meh. I grew up on Beethoven and Mozart; sue me, but nothing life-changing here. Fortunately it didn't stick out as bad either.

Rewatch Value (7.0):
I don't rewatch things very much, but I'd say given enough time I could easily rewatch this one.

Overall (8.0):
Maybe a bit optimistic of a score. I'd give it more of a 7.75, but I'll round up on this one since it was decent. I'll admit I was using that 10 second skip feature a little bit at parts, but it was worth the watch. Recommended especially to romcom and Han Hyo Joo fans!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Coming Soon
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Story: The story was not 100% original although the background story for it was very nicely done. The twist was also very nice. But it was not a movie that kept me on my toes nor did it truly terrify me. It was good though.

Acting: The acting in this movie was pretty good. Some scenes seemed a little lackluster while others seemed a bit over the top. That being said, the read more actors suited their roles well and interacted very well on screen.

Music: The music and sound effects for the movie were what you would expect, nothing too standout. It fit the film well but did not build a whole lot of suspense. I found the lack of background music a little distracting personally.

Rewatch: I personally would not rewatch this. However, die-hard horror fans or Thai movie fans might rewatch this.

Overall: This was an okay movie, not the best and not the worst. I was able to sit through it without getting too bored and the ending was pretty worth it. I wouldn't watch it again, but it does have some rewatch value. It was alright to watch once.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Clash of the Families 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Although the main couple didn't have much screen time together, it was fun to watch, Our main guy is the son of Korea's most wanted Swindlers son, Our Main guy is the daughter of the police officer who dedicated himself to catch the Swindlers, Ah so it happens to be daughter and son fell in love, he decides to be a police but his ma and dad - his girlfriend's dad does read more everything for him not pass the test so he can't become a police officer.

It is fun from the start to the end..

it sort of reminded me Peter Sellers movies. Sort of Modern Pink Panther ( Imagine what happens if Pink Panther's son falls love with the daughter of Inspector Jacques Clouseau) yeah the parents here not like Inspector Jacques Clouseau ( not clumsy lol ) watch it thinking that way :D you'll have more fun : D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Sassy Girl
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I have seen this when years back, while my friends were hooked with it, I remember not liking it as I thought I would at that time.
I watched it again today to find out why I it was a so so movie for me before and checked if it will give me different feelings now.
Well, It's a good movie, but not a great one. It is still so so for read more me. Maybe because my expectations from a movie is the same as what Kdramas make me feel but for some reasons I just didn't feel that from watching this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Moment to Remember
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Seeing all the comments about this movie, I thought at last I could a favorite korean movie, but sadly I did not feel that with this movie, And I did not shed a tear,yay. I even skipped some parts in the middle because it gets a boring for me..the concept is interesting but the movie was slow and I was not hooked with the scenes. Although "Always" is not my favorite movie read more but I like it better than this one. still hoping to find a great korean movie,preferrably a romantic one.Good luck to me!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fabricated City
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I was looking forward to this because I love Ji Chang Wook and I like action films when they are well done. But it was disappointing. There is plenty of action, but very little in the way of character development. JCW and the other actors aren't given much interesting to say. This movie cuts from one action scene to the next with very little in between to make you care about what read more happens to these characters.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No