Sort by:
Orange
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
First: I haven't read the manga, I just knew the general topic of this movie, not the outcome.

And I have to say - it was beautiful.

No Japanese goofyness, no exaggerated clichés that are played out. Just a story about friendship, love, emotions, suffering and happiness.

Sure, it is not a 100% real-life depiction, and of course the timidness of the main female character is difficult to understand for us Westerners, read more but this doesn't hinder us to feel the amazing sincere vibe that is portrayed here.

This really does not require any more elaborated words or descriptions - it is a movie that is an enrichment. Just go and watch it and feel the warmth of it in your heart.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cutter
0 people found this review helpful
by Emx
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
One of the best movies.. I watched it nearly FIVE times.
If you are into psychology and.. BL.. maybe.. You will absolutely love that!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Revenge: A Love Story
0 people found this review helpful
by Yume
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
It's a hard movie to watch actually so before you watch this one, be sure to know if you can tolerate seeing some gore scenes since I wouldn't recommend if you're sensitive (otherwise just skip those scenes like me)

Revenge? Definitely. Love story? Yeah, very small part of the movie since the guy is busy having his revenge. This movie is sad, tragic, fills you up with rage and is full of read more injustice. It literally made my blood boil and I almost teared up because of the unfairness the police treated a small innocent girl, note the "police". The movie starts out with the main guy, Kit, going crazy with serial killing, which is his first revenge move, then we go back in time and get to see how he fell in love with the cute girl that has a mental illness. After her granny died she had none, so she stayed at a welfare, mental hospital. Poor kiddo wanted to make her happy by taking her out of there by secret, but that's when things started to change and where the police got involved, in a bad way. Some police officers did really bad things, funny thing is that they covered it all up and lied to the upper men. Kit went to jail, came back six months later and started his revenge for what they did.

Would I recommend this movie? I don't really know, it a pretty crazy movie after all, you wont feel any happiness watching this. The ending was super weird. But unless you like some crazy grotesque shit like this movie then go ahead. Otherwise, I wouldn't really.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nineteen
0 people found this review helpful
by Nyli
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This film is just decent. Not horrible but not great either. Would I watch it again? Sure but only if there wasn't anything else better to watch. However if you're a Big Bang stan then this film is a must see with TOP and Seungri in 2 of the main roles. The acting is not great but the soundtrack is good. As for the plot, it is a little weak but passable. read more I think what the film got correct is how some teenagers would react when faced with running away. There was also the scene with TOP rapping which was very good. I almost wish we got more of that scene. The ending was good and wrapped up things neatly.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Day
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
“One Day” announces the birth of a new genre,

I had to think for a couple of days before writing this review because I had to sort out my feelings and thoughts so I could form them into words. Sadly though, mission is not accomplished. No matter how hard I thought about it, it is really hard to put this movie into words. It is a movie that you need to “sense” read more not “read” about. Thanks to director Lee Yoon-Ki, who is known as an emotional delicate director, the movie had so much charm and beauty added to the already beautiful story.

'One Day' is a healing-fantasy movie about two wounded people, it depicts the story of a man and a spirit with a similar pain and scar who meet each other ‘one day’. One of the reasons I labeled this movie as a new genre is because even though there was no love story going on between the two, the story was very much about ‘love’. It was fascinating to me that loneliness, emptiness, anxiety, and lack of heart of two people could be healed without the ‘I love you, I don’t love you’ format. I can’t even begin to express how captivated I was by the fact that this movie healed wounds without "love" between Kang Soo and Mi So. With all the sorrow in disguise it still managed to be a refreshing new genre.

One of the modest yet profound messages in the movie is when it suggests that a ‘blind’ person should be referred to as ‘blind’ person and not ‘impaired’ (it made a huge difference in Korean language and in my opinion it makes a difference in English as well as my own language).

Kang Soo and Mi So are two people who face each other through their scars and as they get closer, they realize that their wounds are in 'contact'. The best expression I could define them with is, 'window' because they were like a window to each other. On one hand Mi So is Kang Soo’s window to his inner-self and the memories that he locked away after losing his wife. On the other hand, Kang Soo is Mi So’s window to the world.

The story on the surface ‘a living person meeting a spirit’ is not a new material it's been done before countless of times. However, unlike other projects, ‘One Day’ depicts pain and loss in a beautifully healing fantasy. Mi So as a character as her name suggests (her name means ‘smile’), is not just your average spirit, she’s a bright, vivid, warm, sweet and endearing bundle of joy. Watching her smile was all the joy I needed.

The delicate and modest directing of Lee Yoo-Ki takes this fantasy and naturally applies it in our reality without risking the material becoming overwhelming.

Two of the most remarkable points in 'One Day' are Kim Nam Gil and Chun Woo Hee’s golden performance (calling it 'golden' is an understatement). KNG’s charismatic act through his deep expressive eyes even with scenes featuring no dialogues at all has once again swept me off my feet. He embodied Kang Soo and captured every bits and pieces of his pain and sorrow. KNG’s delicate display of Kang Soo’s emotion was top class graceful performance. However, this movie’s heartthrob I shall say is Chun Woo Hee. It is hard enough to play a blind character, but to also have to play a spirit, who on the other hand can actually see, is a challenge on its own. I don’t know how I will adjust to the fact that she’s not Mi So and she’ll be playing other characters in the future but I do very much look forward to her future projects.

Music:
Wonderful instruments combined with exquisite sceneries that had me taking deep breathe several times as I feast my eyes. This is the first time I’m actually happy with the music section in a movie.

Overall:
I’m a person who enjoys dramas a lot more than I do with movies, simply because movies have different format and the fact that they end so quickly doesn’t allow me to connect emotionally as well as I do mentally. Thus, it’s really hard to find a movie that not only do I NOT want to ever finish, but also makes me feel as if I’ve entered a different world. ‘One Day’ is that kind of movie to me, a movie that I never thought I’d come to meet. I went to watch it as a huge KNG’s fan and came out with a movie that I can finally label as an absolute favorite of mine. ‘One Day’ is definitely not a movie for everyone, but it’s a movie that will have you sensing all shades and colors of emotions.'One Day' is a beautiful, fresh, artistic, delicate, ‘feel good’ (despite the sadness) and enriched with classic vibes movie. It has ‘rightfully’ stole my heart. Finally I have met my 10/10 movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bittersweet
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Just randomly picked this movie from my collections. They should put friendship, comedy and food as the genre too though. And yes, if you are searching for romance, this movie is not for you. Barely there romance, yes. I don't know about the manga tho, since it is a webtoon and I rarely read webtoon so I don't know the ending of this manga.

It focus on how the heroine is trying read more to catch the hero's attention. The movie is very comedic, I laugh often on her ways to attract the guy. It is more on how their friendship blooms, how the guy taught her on life through foods so yeah, their relationship is kind of sweet.

I watched Kawaguchi Haruna's previous drama and I must say she improved a lot in this movie. She delivered that desperate woman's act successfully. This is the first time I watch something with Hayashi Kento, he is good, an eye candy too.

The ending made you want to know more, kind of hoping for a continuation of this movie. This movie is short, about an hour and half only so if you want something light heartening you can try pick this movie. Recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yell for the Blue Sky
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This movie is a really cute film. I enjoyed it a lot. It wasn't over dramatic and had a simple story to tell. The two leads bond over their desires to succeed in each of their own clubs: Ono in brass band and Daisuke in baseball. Both want to get to the finals, however each meets their own struggles along the way.
The actors were really good in this. They showed their read more character's passion and determination well. I also believe the supporting characters should be admired. This movie doesn't have complicated love triangles but rivals who look out for one another.
If you hate brass band music then this film isn't for you since it is pretty much the soundtrack.
The story wasn't rushed, but did leave some gaps I would have prefered filled.
Anyway...watch this if you are looking for a light story with minimal drama and lots to look forward to.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I hate this movie so much. It's pretty much an absolutely perfect zombie movie, so perfect that I didn't realize I hadn't seen a perfect zombie movie before. But that's why I hate it. I hate it because it captured the tragedy, the hopelessness, the fear, everything, it captured it all perfectly.

Be Warned, should you watch this, have some tissues, and maybe some ice cream, ready.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fabricated City
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Oh, this was fun. I love action movies and really good chase scenes. Fabricated City has several to spare. FC is nothing like I thought it might be from reading the description. It is a lot more grittier and realistic than I expected. If Ji Chang Wook, was trying to rid himself of the pretty boy image in order to move into meatier roles, he certainly found the right vehicle. I found read more the prison scenes especially surprising.

In a nutshell, Freeter/NEET (whatever you want to call him) Kwon Yoo finds himself beautifully set up for a murder. Like most NEETs he spends most of his day playing online MMOs. He is the chief or leader of a raid party in what appears to be his favorite MMO. There is a fantastic scene that takes place in the game. Honestly, I thought this would be on the level of certain animes that have people possibly stuck in their games like BTOOM! or even Log Horizon. It's not. The production team did a very good job introducing the game and the real world. They make it clear this is no fantasy. His team come from behind their computers to help prove his innocence. Because of that I found the story somewhat original.

The cast is great. JCW did a very good job as Kwon Yoo, especially once he realized he needed to toughen up and protect himself to survive. The cast has some of my favorite Korean character/supporting actors like Oh Jung Se (recently in Missing 9), Kim Sang Ho (Missing 9, TEN), and Kim Min Kyo (currently seen in Strong Woman DBS). Woo Hyun also has a small weird role that fit him perfectly. The cast did a fine job. They had chemistry, whether be it friendly or hatred. The connections were there.

The music was good. It helped at excitement and tension at the right places. I don't remember any actual songs, but, to be honest, one would have been out of place.

I would definitely watch this again. I hope that Netflix gets it soon so there can be actual subs timed correctly. That's right I watched a version lacking subs and what subs there were were poorly timed AND I still recommend it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seven Days: Monday - Thursday
1 people found this review helpful
by asdu
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
An outstanding movie that features the romance between two high school boys.
Any BL fan would enjoy it. If you are looking for smut, this might not be for you as it focuses more on a romantic relationship rather than a sexual one. I would recommend this to those who are part of the LGBT community as well, as someone who is queer.

This story is really really cute. At first, I read more didn't like it because I thought it was going to be one of those cheesy BL stories that fill me with anger and hate. But it wasn't like that. The plot was very original compared to other BL stories I have read about, or even watched. I enjoyed every second of this movie, and wondered what would happen next. It was very unpredictable for me.

The biggest part in this movie that I would say had the hugest impact on me would be the characters. I felt like I could connect with them, I wanted to cry with them and laugh with them. The acting was so good. The silence in the movie had a huge effect on how I felt, and their relationship seemed so realistic. I could just feel their emotions. I found myself loving the characters as I kept watching and loved how we got to learn about their past a bit. There was a lot of character development. It was interesting to see how these two characters were exploring their sexuality.

Although the story mostly had instrumental music, I think it suited the story. It helped create the mood in the story as I kept watching and contributed to my enjoyment of the drama. The music is not very memorable though.

I would definitely rewatch this again. I hope they'll create a third movie maybe, or even a drama that continues this story... the ending is satisfying and I loved it. It was perfect, it hurts, but I love it.
Although this may not focus on the issues that LGBT people face, I think it's a wonderful love story. It was not forced, and seemed very consensual to me.

I'm definitely a huge fan of this movie now.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
No Mercy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
My initial thought right at the time when the movie ended- "That was indeed merciless and monstrous" and then I recalled that the name of the movie was itself "No Mercy". At first I want to state that this drama is not for the ones with a weak heart, irrespective of the gore, this drama possesses a bitter taste to the bile and indeed this is highly recommended to the strong hearted read more ones because you won't regret it. This movie recommended to me by a friend and truly I wasn't held back from my position for even a second. If you like crime thriller and deep devotee of the classic Old Boy (2003), then this movie is just the one for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mermaid
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I'm too tired to even put in words how disappointed in this movie that I am. It zapped all my strength. Stephen Chow can and has done better. China has and can do better. I still can not wrap my mind around how THIS is China's #1 grossing movie of all time? I'm just confused.

What was done well: The film is heavy on the environment as it should be considering we're read more talking a sea creature and what man is doing to the oceans. The cast is also good for their roles.

What was done not so well: The CGI was iffy. The story is shallow (a little water humor there).

The story isn't your typical The Little Mermaid. I won't spoil it for you, but let's just say Ariel isn't looking for her prince. Instead Chow did an interesting twist on the old Hans Christian Andersen story. A tycoon buys a gulf without any idea about the marine life. His partner (and crazed stalker) has a team of scientist using new tech to chase away protected marine life so the area can be developed. The mermaids aren't too happy about this. I think the idea is interesting and sound. I just wish it had been played out and developed more.

Like I said the cast was good for their roles. What I mean is they didn't have very much acting to do. It seems like the script was thin with very little meat on it's bones. Much of the cast was reduced to silly and primarily unfunny gags that Chow has done much better. That being said I enjoyed Deng Chao's performance. He was entertaining.

The music. OMG the music. Only if you are a lover of Chinese opera. I'm still trying to figure out how Chao was latin dancing to traditional Chinese music. The man has moves. It's weird, but it seemed like the music was mixed too loud. It was overpowering to me sometimes. It didn't really add to the story, help convey emotion, or push the story along.

I have no need to rewatch this movie. Admittedly, I wouldn't mind seeing the entire office scene including Chao's dancing again. They can keep the rest.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Too Young To Die!
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Such an awesome movie!

It's so weird, which makes it so funny.
The cast and music are awesome.
I laughed my way through this movie (and, for the record, I was having a pretty shitty day). It really helped up my spirits.
The reason the rewatch value I put is so low is simply because I never rewatch anything, but I wouldn't mind rewatching this movie.

It was so funny. Recommend everyone to watch it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kung Fu Yoga
0 people found this review helpful
by Ram
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This movie was very entertaining and really combines the two cultures. There really is no music to showcase but that is okay because of the great scenery and comedy that fills the void.

The acting was good and the action in this movie is very good showcasing good choreography. I would re watch this with some friends for sure.

This movie almost feels like Jackie Chan's "the myth" but its still very read more different, enough to be considered a different movie.

It is a good watch and you will have fun for sure.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Summer to Winter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
17 days ago
17 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I LOVE THE MOVIE,.hoping there will be part 2. I love their chemistry. The story tells us that love is unconditional, it does not require gender. Summer To Winter is a movie who also proves that friendship is a basic foundation of love..Congratulations Thailand
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No