Sort by:
Finding Mr. Destiny
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
21 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I enjoyed this movie. Like other reviewers, It was a little slow at first as you catch up to all the characters and learn what they do and who they are etc. Once it gets going, It gets good. The main lead was cute, a refreshing character against the norm because she is not typically beautiful or perfect, but great in her own way. The male lead is very charming, you can read more see him as he warms up to her and it's very sweet. Happy ending, if you love romance and interesting plots this is a good choice. Although the romance aspect isn't as prominent as other films, it's still satisfying.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seducing Mr. Perfect
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
21 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I really enjoyed this movie. Daniel Henney is a great actor, and his chemistry with the lead actress was adorable. I haven't seen a ton of Korean movies, so I'm not an authority on the subject, But If you enjoy RomComs with endearing (ok, embarrassing) moments, you really enjoy this movie. Also, The aspect of Daniel speaking English throughout the film was a really interesting part and made me feel more into read more the movie (as a native English speaker).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Loaded with absurdities and confusions, this film makes us wonder how much we really know about someone we believe is our friend. Random encounters immerse our protagonist in a sad and fascinating story. Quoting a character: "you have been dragged into a story that is not yours", and that intrusion is what makes the movie so captivating.

Story:
Full of Bob Dylan music and a deep love for animals, the story shows read more innocent and noble characters like Shiina and mysterious and extravagant ones like Kawasaki. While dealing with friendship, values, disease, and revenge.

Acting:
Gaku Hamada perfectly portrays that person who only tries to fit in, he is the impressionable provincial. Eita, on the other hand, represents very well the long range of expressions that his character demands.

Overall:
How valuable are the bonds we create? Who is lying? Who says the truth?
Coupled with a sharp criticism of racism by many Japanese towards foreigners living in Japan, this is a valuable and worthy film. Because ultimately, Shiina also feels like a stranger, even though in his own country.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Miracle in Cell No. 7
0 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
23 days ago
23 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
It was cute and funny and sad. The little actress is amazing and the protagonist was convincing. All the secondary characters played their part well and we got to know all the minor players just enough to care about them and be interested in their individual personalities and back stories. The story telling was pretty tight with not a lot of waffling and something interesting was always happening.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Falling Flowers
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
23 days ago
23 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
If you're not familiar with Xiao Hong's life story, and her writings (The Feild of Life and Death, or Death of Mistress Wang) this story is going to go over you head. This is a film where you should have some background knowledge before watching, although if you give it a shot without it's a whirlwind of a drama once you get past the pacing.

The story is the true life story read more of Xiao Hong the writer, and for as unbelievable as the her life seems; it's 100% true. The chronological order is accurate, as well as names and locations for where critical moments take place. While the pacing is slow, it helps respect the duration of Xiao Hong's life, which was a very brief 35 years of life.

Acting, was honestly a mixed bag in my opinion. A lot of the scenes were well done, if not a little too bland where it seemed where I looking at people on the street verses actors or actresses. The intimacy scenes, sexual and non-sexual are very dramatically rendered, some of them too much so. If you have historical background in China, you'll understand why. Of course, there were a few scenes where I did tear up. More towards the end after you start to care for the characters, but touching where I did cry despite not being a crier.

The music was unnoticeable, at least to me. And I doubt I'll be rewatching this since I had to watch it for class and a bit longer then my current tastes.

If you're a fan of Xiao Hong, you should give this movie a shot. Even if you're not a fan of her, this movie while slow is worth the build up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fabricated City
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
23 days ago
23 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Watched this with my brother at our local cinemas with English subtitles. Loved it! Great thriller/action film. Adequate amount of explosions/slow motion. Good quality plot that kept me guessing, and a truly despicable villain. Could have done better when it comes to character development. Great soundtrack. Very fast paced, very entertaining. If you're looking for a blockbuster thriller/action, this is the film for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
23 days ago
23 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Be warned: I watched the kdrama before I watched this. I really really really loved the kdrama, and the whole reason why I watched this movie was to compare it to the kdrama. Honestly, the movie fell short.

Pros:
The bully: lol forgot his name, but I thought he was the best actor, and I liked how it portrayed his bullying. The movie didn't water down his bullying at all. I liked read more how the movie showed that yes, he was human and had his own personal struggles, but bullying is bullying regardless. I actually felt bad and sympathized with Juri, which is something the kdrama could never make me do. It really showed how cruel he can be, but at the same time didn't let us lose hope in him.

Kashiwagi: for as little screen time he has, he really affects the characters and all they do. Ryoko's main reason for holding the trial is to show to herself that Kashiwagi was wrong, she's not all talk and no action. She will act.

Matsuko/the rabbit boy: lol I forgot his name (these japanese names are killing me). I just thought they were both so cute and innocent. They both lighten up the show, and remind us that there's still purity and goodness in the world.

Cons:

Ryoko: ok this really bothered me. Her whole ordeal is that the adults are inadequately protecting them. This is why she's holding the trial. And then, after telling the adults that clearly the kids need to protect themselves because they're not doing their jobs, she has the gall to ask the adults for the evidence that they collected. Like girl, you just told them that they're incompetent, but now you want THEIR evidence to use in YOUR trial. Seo yeon was gullible at times, but at least she collected her evidence and went through what she said. Kashiwagi is right, this girl is all talk and no action. She'll talk about a trial, and even put up a trial, but she'll do none of the work to go with it. No she'll take the incompetent adults work instead. Now, this may be proven wrong in the second movie, but right now she's just coming off as bratty.

joon yeong vs. rabbit boy: ok, this is something that will only bother you if you've seen the kdrama, but honestly, i like joon yeong's character a lot more. His character really stuck with me after the kdrama. Rabbit boy is cute and funny, but that's it so far. There's no depth, and it honestly saddens me that joon yeong's whole story was an add on (so far, again this could be proven wrong in the second movie).

Suspense: maybe because I've seen the kdrama, but I don't find this supsensful at all. But I think that's just the writing. Because I'm rewatching god's gift for like the 4th time, but I still feel the suspense. I'm just not feeling it in this drama.

Music: There's no music!! I can hear the silence, and it's really annoying. This is the second asian movie I've seen, and it's like they have a thing against music. I mean really, I feel like the suspense thing could be fixed if they just added some suspenseful music.

Overall, I like the kdrama way better. I feel like it has more depth and emotion so far. Would I reccomend this? If you have nothing to do, sure go watch it. But if you're busy I wouldn't waste your time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chihayafuru: Shimo no Ku
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
24 days ago
24 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I have mixed feelings towards this show.
I think it is still one of the best live action out there but I can't bring myself to love it.
I have no problem with it overall.
The characterization is good. The actors does not only really fits the anime/manga characters but they are all good in acting too!
The music was on point. Unlike some production where the viewers hardly pay attention to read more the music, the show's music manages to make the viewers notice and appreciate it's value to every scene.
As for the story, it was good. I was open-minded to the plot's changes. I didn't mind the inconsistency it has with the original manga/anime story. I was even willing to let go the difference I noticed in the matches.
What makes me stop from loving this adaptation was how they portray Chihaya in the first part. The Chihaya I know and love would not do something like that. She would never be that selfish and narrow-minded. The Chihaya I know is greedy at fault. She want everything (win the team compitition, make Taichi an A-class, recruit new members, win each class individual matches, and more). I cannot bring myself to accept what happen at the first part that I was watching with poker watch the whole time (excet for the part of Tachi and Chihaya's EPIC high five.. I mean that seriously was a game changer!)

Anyway, it was worth the watch.
Since the beginning I have been shipping Chihaya-Tachi and Arata-Shinobu and with the chemistry I felt with the actors, I felt my ship getting stronger.. XD
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Because I Love You
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
25 days ago
25 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Here's a better summary for you: After an accident, the soul of Lee Hyeong continuously possesses the bodies of a wide range of characters. What these characters have in common is that they're all struggling with love. Lee Hyeong attempts to mend said love while in search for his own identity.

This is a fairly slow-paced movie, and it may be a great choice if you're having a peaceful weekend and you read more which to watch something that doesn't require a lot of focus. It is an enjoyable movie which may leave you feeling pleased and happy for all or some of the side characters - I say side characters because this is a movie that doesn't follow just -one- storyline; it moves from one couple to another, all as Lee Hyeong moves on to other bodies. Because of this, it felt more like watching a bunch of shorter movies than one movie as a whole. That said, I felt like it lacked a bit of a main purpose.

Yet again, I would recommend to watch it, for one of those calm evenings when you just want something to relax to.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
25 days ago
25 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Ah, I finally watched it.
Being a Sato takeru fan, I had been waiting for this movie since the news of him playing in it came.
Then when it came out, I got the feeling that I shouldn't watch it. It's been a few months and I always looked at the images and comments but I was feeling that it wasn't the right time yet.
Then today I woke up and automatically read more I started watching it without even realizing it.
I wasn't disappointed.
Story:
Ok, the story may be a bit predictable, even more if you've read the synopsis. You can even guess how it will get done ect ect. But anyway, it was very enjoyable and there were some surprises.
Seeming-casual moments of life that are actually so important. They were so beautifully depicted!
You know what will happen, but that won't make you stop watching it, because you know it will be beautiful.
Acting:
As I said, I was already a Sato Takeru fan since a few years, so my opinion is probably biased, but I have to say his acting was top notch. The way he portrayed the devil was amazing and so different from the main character. Really, I was surprised. I like when he plays in movie like that or like "Real" (another of his movies that is kinda similar I think)
As for the other actors, I thought the mother played really well. You could see everything in her eyes and I love that. The girlfriend was really well played too, and the father fitted his role well. Well, they had fitted their roles haha.
And kudos for the cats That stayed so still and this everything like they had to x) gosh they were so cute hehe.
Music: well it's always said that music makes a good movie. Here, I wasn't disappointed: there were A LOT of music (well, you need at least that much for that kind of movie haha) and they were good musics and always on point.
Rewatch value: of course I will rewatch it! Maybe I'll see something that I didn't see while watching it for the first time. And the story is so beautiful... Yes, there is a good rewatch value because even though you already know more or less most of the story before even watching it the first time, it's still so enjoyable to watch. So yep.
Total: well, I just have to say that I think this movie could have been more. Or that it was complete, but then another movie should do more- I don't really know how to say it...
I feel like it was very beautiful and enjoyable but at the same time it's just like this movie did what it had to and nothing more. But maybe if I had watched it on a cinema screen it would've been different, as the beauuuuutiful images would probably have got more effect on me. I still think it is a very beautiful and poetic movie and that you need to sit comfortably and be totally awake to watch it, so that you can watch it and understand it entirely. I liked a lot the structure of the movie too.
It's not a sad movie actually, more like a beautiful life movie- life and death , yep, but about the beautifulness of life ~
So sit comfortably and go watch it!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Silenced
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
25 days ago
25 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
This movie is something else.

First off the story is very interesting. The setting is set in the beautiful Korean woods. The scenery adds to that creepy feeling of no escape. It's also set in 1938 which is interesting as it's set in the time Japan ruled over Korea. Even before the movie starts you get this feeling of powerlessness.

The acting is very well done. In horror movies from any country, read more acting is always the most important as it sets the mood. The acting these ladies had to do was very believable. Not to spoiler anything, there are scenes where you just can't believe they pulled it off.

You don't really get to hear much of the OST for this movie as it's normally not what you're focusing on. Yet the music and sound effects add to the effect of every scene.

Now, into the nitty gritty (without having to spoiler anything). After the ending, you are left with nothing, but questions. There is also a really of a relationship building with Joo Ran and Yeon Deok yet this isn't really explored which felt like nothing, but a tease. A personal added note a found this movie on Netflix and the bio says nothing about the time period and Japanese ruling. So when they kept switching from Japanese to Korean it caught me off guard and it made me very confused, but this of course is a mistake on Netflix's end. Still be prepared for bilingualism.

The rewatch value isn't very good as it's a horror movie. The scares aren't really anything in this film in the first place. Seeing them again would have even less of an effect. The main plot force starts to get good yet is stopped abruptly when the movie ends. Also this movie has quite a slow start as the first time the plot becomes interesting it's 30 minutes in. It also doesn't help that the entire is already 1 hour and 39 minutes.

In the end, I would say give this movie a try. I feel like it will be a big yes or no for people. I wouldn't really this film any priority, but if you have the extra time, why not. It's not really good, but it definitely isn't horrible. It gets my award of 'Being Okay'.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Enoshima Prism
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
26 days ago
26 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This film was quite good, but I wouldn't say it is an absolute must see. It was a film based around friendship, with sadness involved too. What I enjoyed was the fact that it was more friendship-based then romance, but still had that aspect. If you are looking for a heartfelt film, based around friendship that has a happy ending, then I would suggest this film.

The story was quite beautiful really. read more Shuta was a very sweet, caring character which made the story very nice. On face value, the friendship is portrayed quite well. I think they fitted quite well into the story and they had fairly good charisma. However, thinking about the story line, it is similar to things I have seen before, but more friendship based (did I mention it is quite friendship based). It is not completely original, and seems like a mixture of a few dramas and/or films. Despite the lack of originality in the story, it's a good storyline.

However, due to the lack of originality and the feeling of having seen this before, it does not have a huge rewatch value. This does not mean you have seen it before, and it is worth watching, but it is familiar.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strobe Edge
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
26 days ago
26 days ago
  • Overall 4.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Watched this randomly while on a binge of romantic-Japanese-manga-adaptation-movies. Stumbled across this while hearing positive feedback on the manga. The only comment I can make is "meh" since it is what it is. The movie is everything you expect it to be: cheesy, cutesy, romantic, childish, infuriating, dramatic.
Nicely brought to the screen but I wasn't very fond of the plot so I wouldn't re-watch it again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Say "I Love You"
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
26 days ago
26 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Before watching this movie, I've watched the anime and read the manga and fell in love with the mature love story that was full of drama, tension and character development. But I was a bit disappointed because the movie didn't portray a lot of it...
I guess it's because you can't have the whole story and every scene be jumbled into a 2 hour movie. But the overall love story was great, read more the characters had that nice vibe. Perfect recommendation for those who just want a romantic movie marathon late at night!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
L♥DK
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
26 days ago
26 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The story of this drama is quite overused, since there are so many series with basically the same plot or the same concept. But I'm actually a huge fan of the whole "girl living with boy" idea! I was quite disappointed with the casting for this drama, actually. The acting was lacking, the ending was quite generic. I'm guessing the manga is probably a lot better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No