Sort by:
Mess With The World
0 people found this review helpful
by dru
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
A movie which shows both the beautiful and ugly side of society (strength, pride, jealousy). These human aspects are shown very well in this movie, very realistic in terms of how things turn out. A movie that gets you thinking. If you want to watch something with events that make sense, then I highly recommend this movie. If you want to watch something pretty or don't like seeing people doing evil things, read more then you probably won't like this movie. Cast is nice, acting could have been better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Saki
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Mahjong is a traditional Chinese game of chance in chips with dice is widely popular in China and Japan. In its structure, "Saki" develops as a typical spokon. "Saki" has elements of seinen emphasis on exhibitions of affection, friendship, responsibility, care, desire to win, confusion, sadness, solidarity, support for others and spiritual faith in feelings. All this is present in the film however it lacked that emotion in acting.
I'm not a read more mahjong fan but this movie makes you change your mind. Cinematography and cast shoot out the front, the quality of camera positioning are excellent, the story and narrative are almost perfect only lacked more emotion, maybe a Korean remake is a guarantee of a flawless film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Puppy Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
"Puppy Love" is a subtle film but it has its charm in the history and cinematography, the soundtrack is also pleasant, it has as protagonist two young people who fall in love but have their lives changed by mundane motives. The narrative is good could be better built, but when you join all the elements this detail goes unnoticed and in the end "Puppy Love" becomes a good love story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kimi ni shika kikoenai
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
The story was bittersweet and had a peculiar take to it, but it was a tad predictable. I had a idea of what was going to happen - not to my surprise, it did happen. Although it had a calm vibe, I found it rather dragging and dull during the exposition (prior to the rising action). During the first 55 minutes of the film, I ended up pausing it twice because I read more was already falling asleep. Some parts of the story were not explained, like how their atypical communication came to be.

The acting on the male lead was more exceptional than the female. Although I like the female actress, a number of scenes of her were rather bothersome.

Of all aspects of the movie, I enjoyed the music. It really added to the calm factor of the movie. It soothed my ears as I watched the film. I also ended up "Shazaming" the music in hopes I could find the song title.

Maybe if I watched this in a theatre when the movie just came out 11 years ago, I would prolly enjoy it more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Night Flight
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This movie gives a hard look into what life can be like as a gay male living in South Korea. It doesn't paint the world in sparkles and make everything look perfect and pretty. It depicts the harsh truth that people are awful, they do terrible things to innocent people, and no one stops them.
It's very emotional, and left me very emotional during and after the movie ended. I won't spoil read more anything, but the ending isn't extremely sad like lots of BL movies tend to be. It's definitely worth watching, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
No Regret
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I just finished this movie and my response is this: "I.... what?" The last 20 minutes are like you are watching a completely different movie, which happens to also be a student amateur film. I don't even know how to rate this. Do I rate it for the first 1.5hrs, or do I rate it for the last half hour? I honestly don't even know at this point...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Stray Goat
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
Well this movie is available now in newasian u can watch it ..
For my opinion about it well..overall it's beautiful film but it's not that kind of movie that makes us want to watch it again and again ...
It didn't give a powerful impact well it is sad but it didn't make my heart shake and also I felt that there is missing part plus I didn't understand the end read more I mean what happened to the girl
For positive point of I liked the acting and the background ...I mean the place that was shot the film complete the story
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hello Stranger
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
I watched this back when it first came out.
The only Asian language I can stand is Japanese but this movie was good enough to make me love it even with that annoyance.
This is what romantic comedies should be but aren't and I cannot stand them. I recommend this if you like romance in general. It's fun and has a serious romance.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
If you like to see a very complicate, emotional and strong developement between two contrasting men...then this is definitely the right drama!!

I just love the story. It´s completely different from all lovey-dovey dramas. All scenes have this special feeling which goes through the whole drama. Also the second drama is just genius!!
The acting is amazing. I love Meng Rui and Wang Bowen acting together...they are so lovely.
The music.......yeah, well....everytime read more I hear "Dream" or especially "Uncon.Love" I cry sooo bad. So the atmosphere fits in every scene...IT`S JUST PERFECT; OK?! xD Best drama ever seen...
Recommendable? YEAH!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Beauty Inside
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
If I had to describe the movie with just one word, "wonderful" is the first thing that comes to mind.
I will start with the pros
First of all the I really enjoyed how the film was directed. It makes you want to go to all the places the characters visited because of the cozy feel they bring. So if you like cute cafés, vintage furniture and all those fairytale-like places, you'd read more know what I mean.
I think Han Hyo Joo is the best choice to play the character of Yi Soo. Her acting perfectly portrayed the girl, who is kind with everyone, a little naive, confused with her own feelings but still - the definition of a "good person".
Maybe it's because of me, but I found the movie really emotional. It makes you feel bad for the faceless Woo Jin who has nobody beside him and can't have a normal life. Even the woman he loves can't recognize him on the street. That was kind of off too because we can't get to see some nice chemisty between Hyo Joo and a costar but I personally really liked her with Park Seo Joon and I'm rooting for another project with the both.

Although I really enojeyd the movie, I can't vote with a straight 10 because the storyline is lacking. Except for the man changing his looks, there is nothing special about it. He falls in love, she falls in love but is later confused. However, they have their happy ending and everything is nice. It wasn't properly explained the reason behind Woo Jin's transformations.

In summary, if you're looking for a movie to spend the night with, this one is a great choice and I think everyone would like it. I hope my first ever review was helpful and I apologise if there were too many English mistakes. :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Lustful Gisaeng
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
"Lustful Gisaeng" has a narrative and an extremely simple story, to join that cinematography is good, proper soundtrack, however, a poor film elements, do not see anything different, a morbid film that does not excite one bit and Excessive break in sensuality.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret Sunshine
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Traveling with her young son, she wants to leave Seoul to start a new life in Miryang, the hometown of her late husband just lost in a traffic accident. With her easy and friendly personality, she soon establishes herself as a piano teacher in this new home, making friends and being courted always so shyly by a 39-year-old mechanic shop owner, friendly and happy ...
Everything that happens above occurs in the read more first hour of the movie of almost two and a half hours. The rest of the film is dedicated to investigating Lee's mental state after suffering this horrible and devastating double duel.
In her storytelling ability, under an easy-going style, this film is one of those designed to seek the top actress's awards. With resounding success, she became instrumental to Jeon Do-yeon winning the best actress at Cannes in 2007. A more deserved victory. Overall, "Sunshine Secret" is a classic with very good contemporary of arguments and elements, is just worth seeing again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tokyo!
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
"Tokyo!" Is a movie reinventing the great city of Tokyo as in a modern fairy tales.
Three fantasies of alienation, make the movie more original, original and fun! First with an adaptation of a comic book by Gabrielle Bell "Cecil & Jordan in NewYork" was the best in my opinion, with a good narrative.
The Caravax segment, called "Merde", is about a creature, like an excess Leprechaun, who crawls out of the read more sewer and starts tackling random people on the streets is good but reflects a lot the homeless paranoid schizophrenic of a narrative.
And the latter is similar to a short Gondry movie, very good too.
Short stories, good but not excellent, they are vibrant, whimsical, and modern fantasies that are almost as universal in their simplicity as they could be told anywhere.
The film could happen in any city really, with some adjustments, but the stories resonate especially with Tokyo. No more a medium movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pieta
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
With an unforgettable ending!
"Pieta" is not one of the best in terms of acting and narrative, you may find holes in history or strangeness in acting. However, the cinematography and positioning of the cameras is impressive, from which you could fly to another world in an instant.
In my opinion, elaborate scenarios or experienced actors and actresses are not prerequisite for movies to be good or bad. Need the set to read more be the whole, "Pieta" does this, with a touch of essence vague in meaning, but abstract and cinematic. You must find your meaning with your own imagination in a story tortured with intriguing metaphors. Good movie, I recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
To Live
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
"Huozhe" or "To Live" takes us on a trip in China from the 1940s to the 1970s. By that time, we will see life through the eyes of Fugui and Jiazhen, husband and wife with 2 children, as well as the mother of Fugui ...
An exceptional narrative film that captures attention from beginning to end, effectively putting us there, with part of the family. The acting seems so natural that it read more gives the impression of being something witnessed live thanks to the help of the cinematography and positioning of the cameras.
Emotional, without being cute, honest and historically accurate, the film has a black cover covering it. In moments of sadness, it is taken a little to allow us to see happiness, in fact, life, together this family. It even has bits of humor. Small details, such background paintings that shatter the passage of time, show how much was dedicated to making this film. Characters that seem unimportant become part of the story later. Best film in terms of harmonic elements.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions