Sort by:
Never Said Goodbye
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 days ago
18 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Lee Joon Gi is really good actor. And his song it's soo..good. My favorite. Scenes when his dance it's so cute..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Monster Hunt
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 days ago
18 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Monster Hunt was China's highest grossing film until Mermaid knocked it off it's pedestal last year. I had watched Mermaid and was a bit surprised that of all the titles China was cranking out it had amassed so much recognition. Well after watching Monster Hunt I've kind of come to the conclusion that it's like any Box Office anywhere. The movie doesn't have to be great to make the money, it just read more has to have catchy gimmicks.

Monster Hunt isn't just gimmicks, I'll give it that. In fact, I have to point out that it actually swaps gender stereotypes. The lead girl is the brave and fierce monster hunter. While the male lead sews, cooks, and is treated like how the female leads are treated by the male leads. Basically like inferior crap. It was hilarious. At one point the male lead is even pregnant! Holy, cow!

The reality is that Monster Haven has a lot of great ideas, but then they writers/directors just over did it. There's musical number, odd plot changes, over the top side stories. Sure it's a lot of fun and most of the movie I spent smiling and laughing. It was still too much and I think it could have been a bit more polished.

However, I think any movie fan--especially of foreign works--should see this one. It's fun and you'll laugh. Sometimes that's all you need and in that retrospect I can see why this was such a huge success. The end clearly leaves an opening for a sequel, which I see they're planning for 2018. I'm excited and will definitely tune in.

On that note I loved how this movie explores the concept of picking your own family, and what makes a family. Many times I was moved. It brings up big questions about different race and the misconceptions one might have to make their side "right".
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Our Times
1 people found this review helpful
by Tse
Other reviews by this user
19 days ago
19 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I'm a bit nervous since I haven't wrote a proper review for a long time. Regardless I want to do my best.

I watched this movie recently and honestly this is one of the best movies I’ve seen – I kid you not – in YEARS. It’s breathtaking and gave me nostalgic feels.

If you look at the story it’s not special on the surface, as some of the other reviewers pointed read more out, but this movie approaches the bad guyxgood girl motive adequately. So often it is done very poorly, but here, the development of their relationship is understandable. The acting is done very well, I had the feeling that especially the actors playing the teens merged with their roles.

From the start, I liked the gangster. I guess I have a heart for the bad ones since, as a rule, they are more complex than the good ones. I find the female lead very likeable. She’s cute and innocent but not bubbly or annoying. I wasn’t bothered by any of the other characters; they contributed their parts to the story and made the whole thing more vivid and enjoyable, so did the music.

Thinking about the ending, it is realistic and suits the story. I was completely satisfied. This movie has a proper length. Neither it is too short nor is it too long.

Throughout the movie I smiled, I laughed, I cheered mentally, and I also cried – a lot actually. Now you can say that I am a rather emotional person, however, the truth is that the characters grew on me and I experienced them as humans, not just fiction. I didn’t feel like watching a movie, I felt like I was looking through a window. This means the actors/the director/everyone who had contributed to this movie are highly skilled people.

There are things which I didn’t get properly, so I definitely will rewatch this movie. Nonetheless I give “Our Times” the highest rating because I think it deserves the overall 10/10.

This movie has everything: romance, humor, drama, a bit of action, and I highly recommend you to watch it. To me, this movie is far better than most Hollywood productions nowadays.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Brain Man
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
19 days ago
19 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This movie is perfect.
The story in itself has some clichés parts, but the acting and everything is done so well that you can't help but be totally shocked by that movie.
The way it is filmed is particular and suits the movie well. What I liked is that there are a lot of silences, which nowadays lack in most movies. Most scenes are intense, be it an action scene or a read more psychological scene. All the character are well-developed and feelings have a great place in this. Of course so,e of it was predicable, but it was soooo enjoyable to see it happen,+ the way it's filmed is, i repeat, very satisfying. Sometimes there is a silence and then BAM, suprise. The details have a lot of importance and you can remark them quite easily or hard depending on the scene.
For the acting, I have to say that Ikuta Toma really amazed me here. I had already seen a couple dramas/movies with him, but this is probably his best. The other characters were well developed, although I would've loved to see more of the detective; but I guess it's normal since the movie isn't centered on him. The psychiatrice was a good actress -I've already seen her countless of times and she didn't disappoint me - and the two girls were quite good.

this is actually the secoond time im watching The Brain Man, but I remember -from when it was released, so I agree it's not just a few weeks ago - a few scenes very clearly -the one at the beginning in the warehouse, the ending scene, the scene with the eye... Everything was totally graved into my mind. So the rewatch value is high but I'd say you have to watch a few months to get the same feeling. You have to forget some of the details to get fully satisfied by this movie the second time you're watching it, but I think it's okay if you know the general plot.
As for the music, I though it suited well. The song on one of the last scene (I think it was the one with the car?) was perfect.
So if you like these kind of badass/psychological/action/suspense/brain/ INTENSE movie, Brain man is for you!
Gosh, I'm still shocked by my feelings toward this film. ~~
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gachiban: Max
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
20 days ago
20 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
A Nice movie to watch if you're bored. It's not bad but it's not exceptional, and maybe it's a little old-looking? But it touches a lot of themas in japan- youth criminality, people sleeping in PC café, baito....
The story in itself is quite simple but nice. The acting is great but not perfect either, although I love kubota' performance. I'd rewatch it again if I had nothing else to watch.
But it's quite good !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Udagawachou de Matteteyo
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
21 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This movie gave me everything I wanted. A unique, fun-filled story with ADORABLE characters played by exceedingly handsome actors with good music. For many of the Japanese BL films I've seen so far, they seem somewhat low-budget and sort of slow-moving. Not only is this relatively short film not slow, but it practically flies by because it develops so well and one can't get enough of the lead couple. I'll definitely be read more watching this again a few more times. Good romance and pure love.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
21 days ago
21 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Oh, man I tried really hard to find the Hong Kong theatrical version. Sadly the international one is what I kept finding. Why do I want Hong Kong? Because it's got 23 more minutes of actual plot storyline and some of the action scenes. I've always wondered what was in those missing scenes? Mentions of what happened between Ka Kui (excuse me this is where they actually called him Jackie in the read more movie that wasn't a dubbed mistake) and May? Or other key parts to what makes this a Police Story? The ironic thing is that they wanted to make it more appeasing at 84 min, and apparently did a lot of no-no's. Such as subtitles that go when no one is speaking, because they make them speak on the dub.

The reality is that I have only ever seen the international version. (Even to this day the US companies that own the rights make it more readily available.) The plot is choppy and leaves a lot of questions up in the air. Yet, I can't stay mad. This was my very first Jackie movie, and a lot of other people's intro. Though now I totally understand why I got confused about this actually being in the Police Story franchise. With a change of name, only the chief in Hong Kong to tie in, and the title internationally being "Jackie Chan's First Strike" well things get confusing. AND in reality it wasn't initially part of the franchise despite the attempted tie ins.

That said the epic stunts for the ladder scene and skiing scene are amazing. I still hold out in saying that Police Story 3 has the best stunts ever in this franchise, and other action movies will be hard pressed to beat them.

That said I can feel the need to get world wide recognition (cough--USA recognition--cough) with this. What saddens me is that even after tailoring it for US audiences they still felt the need to edit. (Which will bring me into a whole nother rant about the US being dip-poops about letting international work be. Especially since US stuff can have much worse content, and they love to jeopardize plot and substance for the sale line.) Which makes this installment into one of the weaker entries into the franchise. Oh, I'll always think of this fondly. I know without it a key piece of Jackie's movies being introduced mainstream may have taken a longer route.

The females are left to be eye candy and damsels. (That's part of the American action movie trend.) The plot is so bastardized and needs development. As I haven't scene that 23min of missing footage I can't say if it clears it up. Still this, and yes the international release, hold a warm fuzzy spot in my heart. This is still one of the most re-run movies (kind of like Fear). It did have a lot of Jackie's great humorous action! Not to mention the legendary ladder scene. Sadly the only Police Story movie I'd say ranks lower then this one would be Police Story 2013.

(Here's the full details on the censorship: http://www.movie-censorship.com/report.php?ID=1809
Apparently I need to quit being cheap and just by this release.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
21 days ago
21 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Yeoh Michelle! Oh, I remember watching this for the first time and being so in love with her. She was one of the first female action stars I was exposed to. What's even better is that they don't try to doll her up, or have a "sexy" moment for her to show off her female assets. (The jumper at the pool is close, but that's just because she has amazing legs.) It read more was the first time that I had scene the female action hero join the lead and be key in helping him. They both save and help each other and neither is designated the damsel. To this day it's still a rare thing to find.

The stunts are higher octane and even more complicated. As this is Police Story's induction to the 90s I say bravo. I couldn't pick up any computer affects to compensate. Everything is practical and that's what makes the scenes pack more of a punch then even today's modern CGI fights and shaky camera. Just watch the bloopers at the end. Many of them came really close to dying. (I think they guy on the train catching Jackie almost vomited, look at their relief!)

The plot doesn't pack as big of a punch as Police Story 2 for the simple fact that it doesn't develop the characters much. They don't grow, poor May is straight up there to become a damsel and that's sad. At least Yeoh Michelle's character is straight up bad ass! She does her stunts so amazingly! That motor cycle scene is all her! In fact you can see all of her takes and attempts in the end credits. *_* The woman is my idol! I enjoy that the title "Super Cop" is kind of a joke and if this was any other title it would be obnoxious and you'd have some emotionless guy punching through walls.

The sound definitely improved with the time leap between movies. There's a plus!

Did you know that the AMERICAN release actually edited and cut the movie, changing fight sequences!??? It never got an official release in America even though it was Jackie's biggest box office at the time. I firmly believe because it hit so big that movie 4 was what it was. It astonishes me that it was edited so heavily. Even though the USA editing Asian content to fit it's needs (Sailor Moon anyone?) is pretty well known. I couldn't think of why they would cut it. Then again US directors rarely understand the rhythm and importance of the sequences in Jackie's fight scenes.

That aside when people talk about females in action I've always cited Police Story 3. One in which the heroine is in the final battle and is actually key. She doesn't become a damsel. (Yeah, I'll say it as much as I can!) While I am sad about how much May was not utilized and that there really isn't much character growth. It was still great stunts and many directors site this movie as the best stunts ever. Though I notice less comedic stunts and a more serious take. The running jokes with Ka-Kui's (Jackie) superiors is hilarious! Ha-ha. I also liked that Yeoh Michelle's character was mischievous and that Ka-Kui and her play and tease each other like rivals. Not like love interest. Great action movie!

Sidenote: doesn't it make you sad how Yeoh Michelle isn't utilized as an action star?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
21 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The movie sucked out tears wherever it could. I thought it would be a light-hearted type of movie but it evolved quickly into something emotionally tense. You get to see the complete asshole character of Jo Jungsuk at the beginning and I honestly thought they didn't leave enough transparency for the viewer to see possible future concern coming from the older brother. But his character surprisingly evolved quickly enough for us to read more see some brotherly love. There were a lot of tragic circumstances that accumulated and the viewer didn't get a break from carrying a heavy heart while the movie progressed. Even though the comedy side of the movie was outweighed, individual scenes succeeded into tickling a good amount of laughter out of me.

I was quite pleased by the acting and the actors/actresses really pulled on my heartstrings. I honestly believe this was one of Kyungsoos best acting accomplishments. There were instances where it bothered me that Jo Jungsuks character treated his brother rough - even after they started opening up to each other I still couldn't get used to him screaming sometimes and showing his type of "manly" love. But this was only a trivial negative aspect of the movie - all in all I was somehow pleasantly surprised how deep the movie turned out to be.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Police Story 2
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
21 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
One of those rare treats in which the sequel surpasses the first movie! (Oh, and I guess I have seen this one before. It's just been such a long time.) It picks up right where the first one left off. Ka-Kui (Jackie the name change doesn't official happen until movie 4 I think) is getting reprimanded for costing the people, AKA the police department, so much money! Especially that darn mall chandelier! read more Instead of getting promoted he gets demoted.

The old villain is back and I enjoyed that. To often we just move onto the next one.. Ka Kui's actions have consequences. It's highlighted by how easily he rushes into things. What emphasis it more is that May is really in this one. She has legit points. They're held at gun point and he ducks and she doesn't. The consequences of that alone are scary--as she points out. Worst of all is that he was so hot headed chasing after them, that she could have been nabbed.

May's breakup was EPIC! Not only that, but she had great points about what he was doing. Actions do speak louder than words. This is a great entry that showcases May and Ka Kui's relationship, and you can totally see why it would be better for her to get out of the relationship.

It's also full of tons of laughs. This movie was shot 3 years after the other one and it ups it's game. If you watch other movies around the time period you can see how they wanted to make the action comedic. However, Jackie is still the only one who can blend the comedy into the stunts so successfully. Ka Kui uns across the street looking cool, but still gets hit. That's the key to Jackie's success. He's human, he gets hit. No random shot to end things, he wins by never giving up. It can be argued that there is a big explosion in the end.

Wow, so there are girls in the special surveillance team. Finally some women to the police force! Though suddenly after that their were women everywhere. Enough so that I thought it may have been a debated or finally added thing to the movie after it was in progress. Ether way it worked and I loved it! Police Story 2 has some of the best surveillance team work I have ever scene. Especially when they were tailing the target.

Not only does this showcase the realities of damages caused on the job, but fear of action. Even though a bomb is called in the police and security are afraid to act on it. The fear of responding to a threat and evacuating people because they'll be chewed out. The curse of any customer service job. You're damned if you do and nothing happens, or don't if something does. Or it can be flip flopped anyway they want to paint you as the wrong doer.

This is a really smart script. If you watch James Bond during this time period you might even pick up on some of the humor trying to emulate Police Story. It takes the best parts of the first movie and delivers it better. It didn't feel so choppy and the pacing was perfect. I'm impressed. The video is even better and the sound is a bit more polished. Though it is still 80s era action noises. This also makes me miss the time period where not everything had to be dark-dark-dark and gloom. I enjoyed smiling and still feeling suspense.

Honestly I think the darker storytelling of today could merge this vibe and create something even better. What I wish could have happened for Police Story 2013.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Breathless
0 people found this review helpful
by Kana
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
21 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
"Tragedy is a tool for the living to gain wisdom, not a guide by which to live." - Robert Kennedy

This is a tale of two broken people trying to hold it together in two different ways.

I thought I wouldn't be able to watch this because of all the violence (especially the unnecessary amount against women) but I found myself unable to take my eyes off the screen. Yes, some scenes read more were hard to watch, but for once it didn't feel entirely gratuitous. We're constantly, brutally reminded of how both the main characters lead their lives and deal with what comes.

This movie won't give you much of a break, and I wouldn't be surprised if it left you feeling slightly drained afterwards. It's somewhat of an emotional roller-coaster. You'll be grimacing, crying and laughing, all within the space of a few minutes.

--
Characters

Sang Hoon is the gangster you hate to love. His actions (and profanity used in almost every sentence) show you that time and time again, this dude is not a good person. He's pretty indiscriminate when it comes to who he hits. Hitting is all he knows. But violence begets violence.
Despite all this, you'll sympathize with him.

Yang Ik an amazing job portraying his character. He really outdid himself. I don't have enough words to give this man the praise he deserves for his role here. I was honestly rooting for his character after a while and THAT shocked me.

Yeon Hee is the high school student who strikes up a very unlikely friendship with Sang Hoon. She's a character you'll have no trouble feeling sorry for. She gives as good as she gets when it comes to profanity matches between her and Sang Hoon. The chemistry between these two is pretty great, it felt extremely natural for them to suddenly strike up a bond.

Kim Kkobi's acting made me feel so tense every time she walked through that damn door to her characters house. Every emotion she felt, I felt. I really can't think of any actress that could have suited the role more.

--
Soundtrack

The music was very subtle, which suited the movie perfectly. It wasn't outstanding, but this kind of movie doesn't need heavy background music.

--
Rewatch

I would watch this again if I felt seriously masochistic. This is one of those movies that you watch once and it has an impact on you forever. And even though watching it again would feel like a daunting task for my emotions, I could see myself doing it anyway.

--
Overall

I heard that some people thought this movie had a slow build, and I guess it sort of does, but I never once felt like it outstayed its welcome. Once again though, it's filled with dark themes and unsettling imagery. And that doesn't stop. So if that kind of thing makes you extremely uncomfortable, this isn't for you.

But it'll make you wonder about the vicious circle of violence. Where does it end?
This movie touched me more than I thought it would, and I hope it has the same effect on you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
22 days ago
22 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
A slice of life, coming-of-age film directed by Nobuhiro Yamashita (Linda Linda Linda), about a love story set in rural Japan. Hiromi (Masaki Okada) transfers from Tokyo to a small school in a rural village with only six kids enrolled. There he meets gentle Soyo (Kaho). Despite their differences, the two eventually develop affection for each other.

Since it is a slice of life set in rural Japan, expect a slow paced read more story, which captures the rhythm of a rural community. It is enjoyable to watch the relationship among the characters, especially that of Soyo and the youngest girl in their school.


Acting: Great performance from newcomers Kaho and Masaki Okada. Kaho especially did well in portraying a teen girl struggling to face her newfound feelings for a new acquaintance.

Music: Ending song performed by Quruli is the best!


Watch it when you're in the mood for lighthearted, tender, slow paced, coming-of-age romantic drama. I really recommend you watch it. It's a joy in the heart.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Police Story
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
22 days ago
22 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Wow, the birth of Police Story! When I started this I honestly thought this was a rewatch, but the US of A unfortunately doesn't respect this franchise. After watching Police Story 2013 I decided to see the franchise from the beginning. As it is one of my favorites and I had thought that this one was the first time I had seen Jackie Chan and fell in love. Boy was I wrong. read more The copy I bought failed to add "New" in the title. Which is actually movie 5. So basically seeing the last two most recent ones I felt crest fallen that this oldie (where talking 1985) was going to be a let down. Especially as I realized movie 4 was my intro to the franchise! I have never seen movies 1 to 2 before! (I think we'll find out when I watch 2.)

After getting over the shock of the terrible action noises loved of the 80s, the stylish short hair female bob, the track suits (oh, gosh), the scaredy-cat pee (yes this was a action trope of the 80s), and some other things I fell in love. Actually that stuff didn't even bother me. Because Police Story really holds up. Sure the sound effects don't and it has that grainy quality in the film. Minor things because the cinematography is great and showcases Jackie's amazing comedic action style. In fact you'll find some of his iconic stunts here. The green bus scene with the umbrella and the pay off with the mall lights.

Sure the story can't be called brilliant. However, for an action movie of it's time it's solid. We're given the story and the pacing keeps us at the edge of our seats! This is definitely an action COMEDY. Despite some of the darker themes and stakes I spent most of the movie with a grin on my face. Whether it was Jackie dealing with his girlfriend (I'm going to call him that as his name changes from movie to movie) or trying to handle the witness. Or his iconic action comedy scenes. This makes me realize how dark the last two entries in the franchise have gone. New Police Story tried to keep it while updating. However, Police Story 2013 lost everything that I loved about the franchise.

More importantly that while the females are damsels, they get in there. Jackie's girlfriend attempts to help and does actually faithfully believe him. The witness is a female and while she spends more time being a damsel when she realizes she needs to fight, and that Jackie is her only hope, she goes in swinging for the bad guys. Even after repeatedly getting hurt!! Yeah! You don't need to be a super fighter to be a strong female character. Girl had balls of steel.

Overall this movie made me fall head of heels for Police Story. Sure it can be argued that the plot is no longer cutting edge. However, it has nuances. Whether it's the individual actors such as Jackie working in the police station. Or the opening with that small town and the transition to the industrialization of city life. This movie speaks of it's people and culture. It showcases action stunts that are so great that they are better then most of the crap they tell us are fight scenes now a days. Not to mention classic action humor that doesn't require a joke or witty banter in between fights. Jackie is amazing and seeing him with a wide range of emotions on his face is brilliant. (The theme of dark gritty movies tends to take that away.) This holds up, maybe not the sound, but I think this is the best place to start the franchise. Don't worry about how old it is. Besides this was still fresh enough to avoid being too much of a cliché.

Not only do we get the cannon behind the name of this franchise, but I saw a few jokes that are recurring. (Or at least I remember them being recurring in the other movies.) Not to mention Jackie makes wiping poop of his shoes into a hilarious dance!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Made in China
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
22 days ago
22 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Made in China makes one pause when making judgments about others. Often the finger should point right back to oneself. This movie, although on the surface, may appear raw and action stopping with some sex scenes thrown in. But it is actually very serious and thought provoking.
The two main characters desperately seek human warmth and interaction. And you will be shocked when you realize there is no dialogue between the two read more because they can't even speak the other's language.! That alone makes this a marvelous and unique watch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suddenly Seventeen
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
22 days ago
22 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This movie is typical romantic comedy. And yet at the same time it's not. I picked it up because of the leads whom I really love and I kinda liked the plot. I was expecting something fluffy, cute and already seen but honestly it was different. The core and essence of this movie is actually quite different than all the other romcoms I've seen.
Yes the main plot is about one couple read more who were together for so long that their relationship started to fall apart and at one moment the girl comes in possession of magical chocolate that brings her mind when she was 17 to 28 years old herself in the present time. And going like that back and forth she begins to realize her life, her mistakes, she starts to find her old self again and learns what was it that she lost along the way till this day. Whole movie is funny and very sweet, it brings many memories of our own past and it definitely makes you connect with the main girl. She is one beautiful woman who for the man she loves gave up her dreams, her own desires and her own self, she thought that acting that way will bring her marriage and happiness. And that's when Little Liang comes to the light, she awakes in Liang that young spirit, she brings her back her love for painting and drawing, she makes her feel alive and full of life again, to be more brave and relaxed, simply she makes her to learn to love herself and do what she really loves. And that was the strongest part of this movie, the main focus is only on her and her two personalities- young 17 years old Liang and unsatisfied lost 28 years old one. The way they start to interact with each other, in the beginning their bickering, misunderstandings, to the part where they finally accept and learn all the lessons becoming one. The guys were pretty good although I couldn't feel the chemistry with her boyfriend and I find that part of the movie weak- it simply wasn't explained how they feel in love with each other and till the end I think they weren't suited for each other. My heart has won the second lead or should I say the guy with whom Little Liang fell in love with. He was a typical rebel, riding a bike with living his life to the fullest but the one who awoke in her passion and love, they were totally great together. And when you add that Darren Wang was that second guy, well then it's logical that I rooted for him. ;)

The choice of the actors was also good, Ni Ni is one gorgeous goddess and she looks more beautiful by each day. She could really pass as a high school girl. Her acting was very believable and although she is older than Darren, their chemistry was so damn real and fantastic. Wallace as the lead guy was okay but in his typical wooden serious cool style and although in some other projects of his I liked him, here he definitely wasn't my choice nor the right choice for her. Despite that, it doesn't matter in the end because the main thing wasn't in men and relationships, it was in her, her mind and her heart.

" I'm proud of us"- this sentence simply engraved in my heart, the moment she said it, the way how two of them were portrayed and what they said to each other, it was very touching and realistic. As long as we have our own selves, as long as we think with our hearts and do the things we desire, as long as we don't lose ourselves along the way of growing up, we can make it, only then we can be truly happy, making our dreams come true and our lives into the life worth living for. This is the best message one movie can teach us. Despite that we may already know all that, still it means and makes us smile. It made me smile and I fully recommend it for watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions