Sort by:
Tokyo is Not Hot
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
In the dream everything is possible in reality not everything is possible, with this premise the film tells its history of people who go to Japan in search of Idols and inspiration of the glamor to create a film, everything goes well until they come across the reality. A quiet, slow movie without much commotion and emotion, there is something of great prominence, the cinematography is good as well as the soundtrack, read more the cast is pretty cool in the scenes as well. In a way a nice movie but not a good movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Truth About Beauty
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
"The Truth About Beauty" seemed to be a fun, absurd and inconsequential romantic comedy, but it's not. This ostensibly cheerful movie about appearances, love and plastic surgery often plays more like a horror movie. The characters in the movie, and many of their supposedly romantic moments, get lost in a dull script and the terrible implications of their themes.
The truth about beauty is a message worthy of accepting yourself for who read more you are without feeling the need to rearrange your facial features to be accepted in society but the film is written so bad that it ends up denying its own point. It seems to suggest that Guojing is fortunate and, as he can and does away with it, plastic surgery professionals far outweigh their cons. Good idea, lousy execution.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
One of the most ridiculous and scrotal films I've seen so far. It fits perfectly into the trash category, technically speaking it's horrible, where the story is miserably bad, has no depth being all very bizarre and simple, the soundtrack is horrible, does not match the movie. The cast is good, had participation where the costumes and the cinematography helped and much to save the little of dignity that the history of read more it finished. Overall a low-budget low-budget movie that does not even make you want to continue watching until the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Living Hope
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
The film basically is like a social record, the story is not there very good, it does not convince, it's boring and bland, there is no melodramatic load or facial expression of the cast, it sounds fake, the soundtrack is bad, cinematography stands out but in general a film that does not stand out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Guys Vdridtion
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
A film of overcoming and changing, the story tells about an orchestral group that after many years is undoing as a result of social changes, many not accepting attempts at all costs to return to the glory days and not let die what they love to do with passion , they are wonderful, but they can not give up the participation of the obsession of folk music. Finally, they decided to form read more a new popular story, the performance of the dismissed hard-working pioneer and so rest in definitive. Very good movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sister-In-Law's Dream
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
"Sister-In-Law's Dream" has a weak history, the elements that compose it do not stand out, a cheap film of very low budget, the cast in turn is great, cinematography is very bad for being simple, of the cameras and techniques are very nice, a pity that the story is weak as it would be a good medium movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pantai Norasingh
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Unlike the version released in 2016 "Pantai Norasingh" has a beautiful cinematography, a very pleasing film for the eyes, the story to be famous receives many adaptations however it is great, we have a good story and narrative told from a non erratic perspective, always constant and intense, has a subtle romance that adds. From the standpoint of acting, it was well interpreted even though the cast could be better chosen, the read more soundtrack is enjoyable, overall it's a very nice and visually pleasing film with no big surprises.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Driver
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Driver is a Thai drama with a touch of eroticism and suspense combined, starring a very striking and present cast. Written and directed by Thitipan Raksasat famous for his gay films has a very good but heavy story, has a high load of eroticism, betrayal and a strong suspense, may not be suitable to the public as it may shock, the story well written and a solid narrative plausible and extremely synchronized read more with the cinematography and soundtrack that make "Driver" one of the best films of the homosexual genre. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
God of War
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Films of this type are common and somewhat saturated, I was not enthusiastic about the action, the film is set during the 16th century during the Wokou pirate attacks on the Ming Dynasty coast while the Ming soldiers try to fight them.
It's well choreographed, wonderful fighting scenes, CGI and breathtaking cinematography that make the scenarios even more credible. There is a good amount of humor, the film is a pleasant trip read more to a war epic, the downside is the soundtrack that was little approached in a way that harmonized deeply with the scenes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Once Upon a Time
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 2.5
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
This is crap! Love the drama but not the film. I can understand why they told the story the way it is but still you can do a lot with the time they had. I think they think everyone has seen the drama still it's a big disappointment!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Joker Game
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Loved it, stylish like the early 007 films. The British Intelligence Dept was a hoot, very stereotyped in a parody of the real thing but to be expected in this type of film. Recommended for a fast paced action watch. Kamenashi is hardly recognisable but the clean-cut, short-haired WW2 version works quite well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
We Were There: Part 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Story: 9.0
The Story picks up a couple of years after where we left off in part one. Here most of the drama is about bringing the two back together, or even finding him. We find that she has been waiting for him all this time, yet he never comes, until finally she is told that he abandoned her. We see the relationship develop between the Takeuchi and Nanami, developing even further read more into that story plot. We also go through another tragicomic experience of Yano.

A lot happens in this film, and just shows that splitting it up into two parts was a good decision.

Acting/Casting: 9.5
As I said in the first film review, I think they should have casted different actors for the school and for this film. In this film, the casting seemed to be more appropriate towards college age and young adulthood. So compared to the first film, the cast was better suited, which is why I think they were casted in the first place, for this film instead of the first.

Music: 8.0
Just as in the first film, I didn’t really notice the music. So I do not feel like I can give a review on it, in words. Though the fact that I didn’t notice the music says a lot.

Rewatch Value: 7.5
Again, the rewatch value is a little lower than I would normally give it, mostly because a lot of drama happens in this 2 hours. It might not necessarily be a good film to rewatch all the time, but it still is a good sequel and wraps things up at the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
We Were There: Part 1
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Story: 9.0
I actually enjoyed the storyline. I also enjoyed where they ended the first part of the film series. It was a really fitting ending, and made you want to see the next film. I thought For me the storyline never dragged. I do wish that they would expand a little on the happy times that they went through instead of relying on the drama. I thought the build up to read more the romance was very well executed.

I have not read the Manga nor have I watched the anime. I found this storyline with no context to either, still very enjoyable and definitely a recommendation to future viewers.

Acting/Casting: 8.5
I have to be honest, at first, I didn’t like the male lead. To me, he wasn’t as handsome as the second male lead, and he did not look he should be in high school. It bothered me slightly that they didn’t recast for the second film, because both leads didn’t quite look like they belonged, given their style. But he grew on me throughout the film, mostly just because he did a fantastic job. Dealing with these type of moody characters is typical in Japanese drama’s, but I liked the complexity of emotions he had throughout. One particular scene for him stood out, when they were looking at his ex-girlfriend’s photo.
The female lead was okay as well. I thought they could have gone with a slightly better lead, in terms of choices, but I find her characterization simple. Which a complex storyline, that was kind of what the role called for.
For casting choices, I thought they should have chosen younger actors for the first film, then used the leads only in the second part. It would have made the impact, For me a little bit better.

Music: 8.0
The music never bothered me. I didn’t particularly take any interest in this film, listening to music wise. I do feel like silence would have been more impactful at some turns, but it worked okay with in this film.

Rewatch Value: 7.0
The reason why this isn’t a highly rewatch value, is mostly just because it has a lot of drama and deals with the significance of death and how it affects those still living. Though it may not be a tough situation for some, others may find it hard to rewatch. Especially ones who have lost loves. Though overall it is a extremely great film, and I recommend it to first time watchers of Japanese romance-school films.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Once Upon a Time
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 2.5
  • Acting/Cast 1.5
  • Music 2.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
For limited amount of time, this did not go so well. They tried to cover all the scenes that it went so fast. It looked like a 10secs or more montage for every scene.

I don't like how they portray the main leads here. Ye Hua is too playful than strict and they made Bai Chen weak here rather than having a strong character. All I hear is her screams and she's read more supposed to be more active rather than standing there screaming. Im not sure if it's the directors's fault or the acting. (Looks doesn't make them suitable for the role, in my opinion.)

For those who want to watch this movie, you better read the novel or watch the drama first or just don't watch this. Be prepared for confusions if you watch this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strangers
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Action, blood and violence make "Strangers" a good suspense film, with fantastic acting and an engaging narrative the film tells the story of two strangers who come together for a single purpose ...
The cinematography is very good for a reasonably expensive film, the soundtrack is good it involves all the scenes emphasizing the dramatic, yet the film suffers from small casualties in the story, being of many dialogues causes a certain read more slowness from the middle to the end, but nothing that gives sleep
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions