A Beautiful Mind (2016) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.4 (scored by 6,266 users)
  • Ranked: #556
  • Popularity: #216
  • Watchers: 13,995

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

52 edits
42 edits
21 edits
19 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
CrusadingAngel
75 people found this review helpful
Aug 2, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
Overall this was a very interesting drama. Never would I have thought that someone would end up making a medical mystery drama that would be this well written. The concept really drew me in. One thing that I really enjoyed about this show was that it was never predictable. I never knew what was going to happen next in Beautiful Mind. It was really a shame that this show ended up airing at the same time as Doctors. As the ratings ended up being lower than Doctors. I believe 2 episodes were cut from this series as a result of low ratings. It went from being 16 episodes to 14 episodes. This caused the pacing at the very end of the story to be a fast-paced, but it was still well written nonetheless. One of the few Korean dramas that I wished was a few episodes longer.

Story: [9/10] I really liked the concept of a medical mystery. As it really adds another layer to what may be a typical medical show. You are seeing the doctors take care of patients in a stressful situation as in most other medical dramas. At the same time you have a group of murders going on that continues to keep you curious. These murders add a layer of complexity to the drama. The surgeries and the mystery together pretty much keeps you on the edge of your seat for most of the drama. The main characters are also very well written. The characters do not stay flat and act the same the whole time. The characters learn from the events in the series and some of them grow more as a person. I didn't give this show a 10 for two reasons. The first is because the shows pace ended up being sped up because of 2 episodes getting axed. I feel like the extra episodes could have answered a lot more questions and made the show and the pacing better. The second reason is because I feel like the ending was slightly flat. The show had so much action that each and every single episode (okay maybe not every single one) seemed like the climax. However at the same time, it also made me feel like the ending didn't have much as an impact as I would see in other endings. Hence I couldn't really give it a 10 for the story. Of course that's just my own opinion though. Although I did give the show a 9 for being very action-packed and having good character development.

Acting/Cast: [8.5/10] There's nothing much that I can say about the acting and cast. For the most part no one really stood out to me other the Dr. Lee Yeong Oh. I thought that his acting was really good and that he portrayed his character really well.

Music: [8.5/10] Music is pretty likable. It uses an array of different tunes for different situations.

Overall I recommend you watch the series. This season was very good in general. Beautiful Mind was definitely the dark horse of this season and it ended up proving that it was worth my time. It was a 14 hour well spent :)! I suggest you watch it too if you haven't already.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Neel
59 people found this review helpful
Aug 3, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Forget the cheesiness and the cliches....
If you are into serious acting and are looking for a real good story this will exceed your expectations! A roller-coster ride of emotions and a series that takes medical drama to a whole new level! Also unlike majority of the dramas out there, but like good old wine this gets better with time.

Story~
The actual plot is simple enough (even more so if you are used to Korean Melodramas :p). But it's the storytelling that gives the show an entirely different dimension! This is the most well wriiten drama I have come accross! The crew worked hard on the material and it shows thoughout the drama.
Underneath the suspence and thrill this drama explores how people have both sides to them- the good and the bad. Every person has his or her own difficult circumstances and does their best to cope with it. In the process they fight their prejudices and beliefs, or succumb to them and fight the righteous....
One lie leads to another... evil breeds more evil... and over time there is no road back. During the course of this one track 'difficult journey' people tend to forget its purpose. .
When truth comes up against better opportunities or even the greater good it's truth that always fights a loosing battle..... or maybe not?

I felt this drama to have many layers to it and if you are patient enough you may find a Beautifully Different understanding of this.

Cast~
The series boasts an incredible cast and everyone seems to have their moment...
The entire series is quite heavily built upon the acting of the Dr. Lee Young Oh and Jang Hyuk just shattered the roof with his quality and showed why he is one of the best 'Actors' out there! With KDramas being mostly about preety faces these days, this series came to me as a huge relief!

It's interesting to see that the supporting and guest actors getting considerable screentime and even the debuters are surprisingly good actors! I intially felt the female lead to be a bit stagnant but she too turns up nicely as the series progresses.

Music~
Bernard Park's 'Dirt' is on repeat on my phone! :D
I am not a talented judge of music per say. This had the right music for the right scene.
However the Title Track always seemed to up your emotions for the scene! That felt Beautiful!

Re-watch Value~
Over the course of the last few weeks I have gone back and watched the previous episodes a lot. And will surely rewatch the entire series again.

Overall~
The story tends to speed up at the end but the crew managed to wrap it up Beautifully despite 'the unfortunate peril' (the true villain of the series - you know who)
Anyway, this for me is by far the best drama for me this year.
Highly recommened for patient, mature audience willing to try something different. I guarantee you that you wont be dissapointed.

Good Luck n God Bless!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ines
12 people found this review helpful
Aug 3, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
“Beautiful Mind” is probably the most underrated drama this year. It’s an hidden gem, I guarantee you. It tells the story of a world-renowned neurosurgeon, Dr. Lee Young Oh, who is unable to feel empathy, and his involvement with the mysterious deaths in the hospital he works in. Gye Jin Sung is a policewoman who upholds onto her principles strongly and starts investigating him.

To me, what really made this drama one of my favourites on my currently watching list is the one and only Dr. Lee Young Oh. Thank you Jang Hyuk for the incredible acting, I got chills! This character is what made me so excited to watch a new episode week after week. I just wanted to see more of him and try to decipher is mind, which is indeed a “Beautiful Mind”. I won’t even lie: emotionally damaged characters are my favourite kind of characters. The psychological aspect of this story is just brilliant.

I’ve read a lot of negative comments about how Gye Jin Sung is a clueless, stupid and annoying character but I couldn’t disagree more! It’s true she lets herself be carried away by her emotions and makes decisions impulsively but I guess that’s exactly how she’s supposed to be, so we can see the contrast between her and Dr. Lee Young Oh. Even though they’re completely different, the romance wasn’t forced. They needed each other so they could both find a balance between “brain and heart” and become better characters. Park So Dam did a really good job with her character. I’ve only watched her once in “Because It’s The First Time” and she didn’t impress me much. However, she surprised in this drama.

A big shoutout to all of the cast. The chemistry between all the actors was pretty good. (Power Rangers doctors, thank you for the laughs!)

All the episodes were really interesting and the story never dragged. The only negative thing I have to point out is about the research on regenerative medicine. Sometimes the scenes related to this were kind of repetitive and boring but they turned out better over the episodes.

The OST suited the mood of each scene wonderfully. Every time “Dirt” by Bernard Park played my heart ached for Dr. Lee Young Oh even more. God, how I love this song! It conveys so many emotions, it really touches your heart in a special place. All of the other instrumental songs were extremely appropriate to the tense atmosphere.

I recommend this drama to anyone who loves psychological and medical dramas. I promise you won’t waste your time. Don’t give up on this just because it ended earlier than planned. I don’t know how the ending would be if there were two more episodes but I can say that I’m pretty satisfied with how things were wrapped up!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Meep
7 people found this review helpful
Aug 3, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Beautiful Mind is a gem of a show, that was sadly underrated by viewers in SK and thus ended up being cut by 2 episodes, which showed, but the writer managed to pull most plot lines together in ways that worked.

It is about a character who literally is incapable of empathising with others, which sounds like many drama heroes who just need a girl to open up their heart, and nominally this drama works the same, but the way it is done is so refreshingly different that it feels interesting and actually worthwile. It is also about the question of what makes us monsters and who really is a monster when it comes down to it. It is also the rare medical drama whose science is not completely out of the realm of possibility and the attention to detail by the writing and the set design plus the fact that the medical cases are used to deepen our understanding of the characters and further their journey makes it stand out even more.

Led by Jang Hyuk, who truly delivered a standout performance, the whole cast is fantastic. Almost every character gets a moment to shine, or grow and it was a delight to watch Jang Hyuk's character interact with everyone else. It felt like he really elevated everyone's performance even more.

Of course I'd be remiss not to mention the love-story, and Jang Hyuk and Park So Dam had a delightfully easy chemistry, which wasn't exactly sizzling but that would not have worked with these characters anyway. And while the initial episodes were a bit rough on Park So Dam's character, once that got smoothed out, she became one of my favourite female characters I've seen this year, able to see Jang Hyuk's character and connect with him in ways no other character did or could before and Park So Dam played her with a sparkling brightness and inherent steadfastedness that it was easy to see why Jang Hyuk's character was drawn to her.

The other big relationship that needs to be mentioned is between that of Lee Young Oh (Jang Hyuk) and his father, portrayed by Heo Joon Ho. Their scenes were always crackling with tension and the two of them had such a complicated relationship and Heo Joon Ho really played his character in an understated way, that gave every look and every movement so much meaning that it was a joy to watch and when the two of them were together even more so.

All in all a great drama that can't be quite perfect due to the slightly rough beginning and the shortening of the number of episodes and thus some plotlines being dropped out of necessity, but nothing that I greatly missed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
beep90
13 people found this review helpful
Aug 11, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Dropped that shit show Doctors. This drama was fucking glorious. Period.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
manicmuse
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 5, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This is a hard one to review, considering the fact that I am not a hospital drama fan, but I am so surprised that this drama was cut short. Of all the hospital dramas I have seen, this one was one of the most interesting. I was also intrigued by the idea of a love story with a sociopath as the main lead, but I have a feeling that's exactly what turned people away.

The most impressive part of this show is Jang Hyuk as Dr. Lee Yeong Oh. I've only seen him in Fated to Love You (which I LOVED), but he is completely unrecognizable compared to that role. His portrayal of a doctor who lacks empathy surprisingly tugged at my emotions. He was so good that it was impossible not to sympathize with his character. His approach to each case sometimes was reminiscent of the show "House", but I did find his character to be very unique. His performance alone would make me recommend this drama.

He is matched with Park So Dam as Gye Jin Sung. She was very cute, and played her role well, but I wasn't that impressed to be honest. In the beginning her character is written to be annoying, but that eventually turns into an awkwardness that is endearing. She also has pretty good chemistry with Jang Hyuk, and some really cute scenes, but there's no strong spark between them. Part of me wonders if a more mature actress would have made a better match for a strong character like Dr. Lee. It also may be too hard for some romance fans to root for the way the male lead uses Jin Sung. It didn't bother me, but I can see how some viewers may not like how gullible, and easy she is.

The supporting cast is also strong, especially the main hospital staff. Some of the "bad guys" are a little too cliché for me, or not interesting enough to mention. Still, I think the cast is the strongest part of this show, they just didn't have a good enough story to support them.

The story was interesting at first, but I think it honestly became too complicated. The amount of betrayal, and corruption kept increasing, and I stopped being able to completely follow who was bad, and why. There was also a major personality change for one of the main characters which made that character less interesting to me. Then there was the complicated father son relationship, which was one of the most interesting parts of the show for me, but that story, and the romance story, were too often overshadowed by the hospital corruption plot which bored me. In spite my feelings about hospital dramas, I liked how the patient stories served to reveal new things about Dr. Lee, and I thought those stories were done well. I wish the overall drama focused more on that, and Dr. Lee, then maybe I would have liked it more.

The writers did do a good job of ending the show early without it feeling too rushed. I don't even think that having 2 extra episodes would have necessarily been any better. I prefer that a show be cut short rather than dragged out with nothing new to add.

Overall I liked this show, but the start was much stronger than the finish. I don't really see myself watching it again, but I certainly don't regret watching. Like I said before, the main character is interesting enough that I would recommend watching this, but don't expect an epic romance, or an amazing thriller. In spite of my moderate review, I do agree that this show is underrated. I've seen much worse shows have much more popularity, so don't let the fact that it's unpopular fool you!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Moorsood
25 people found this review helpful
Jul 20, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is soooo... amazing drama .if you like to watvh the drama with doctors and mysteries happening at the hospital you definetly have to watch it .
If you are a type of girl who love the male lead who dont care about others then this drama is definetly for you......he take pride on his skills.
He had a problem in frontaal lobe due to which doctors said that he would be unable to feel any emotions .but his only father help him to learn body language so that he could communicate with the other people .
The drama starts with him as a doctor .he doesnt care about patients .he has no sympathy.he do what he wants to do.he works in the same hospital as his father but he doesnt even care about his father.on the other hand there is a police officer ,ofcourse she is the female lead ,who is really ambitious about her work .she is a traffic polce officer but she wants to be in crime division.later in the drama during solving different cases they both meet frequently in the hospital .also because the patients were dying one by one who had the same hear problem .then they both together solve mystery .throghout the story doctor lee is just too incredible he is perfect.he is more genius then anyother surgeon .
The only thing he dint learn was the gestures of love .so he wasnt aware of it .but after many events he realizes his affection towards officer gey just because she thinks of him differently.everybody in the hospital calls him a pshycopath afterits is revealed in the hospital that he is unable to feel any emotion .but she helps him to sympathize the patients and love.
Thats all i could tell .but this drama isnt so straight forward as i described .its is much more complicated and has a lot of suspenss and love .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ysori
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 3, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
The existing of every ep
The idea of every single one
Is so perfect
You can feel different feelings and that what Drama means
the romance in the drama is cute
The idea of the end is perfect that you you don't have to be like others and you don't have to work hard to be like others
The point is it doesn't matter how you are or what you have what matters is that you should make the results of your work a good ones for others and for you
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DreamingKoreanBallad
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 3, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
One amazingly Beautiful and Brilliant drama! Every episode was beautiful and thought provoking. By the end all you could say was "WOW, that was one excellent drama." It did not deserve to get cut, I don't know what is wrong with the Korean audience - how could they overlook this GEM? To me it's a masterpiece and it easily went to the top of my top 5 dramas! It has to be the best Medical drama I've seen.

Story: About a doctor who has anti-social disorder, he can't empathize with his patient or people in general. He tries to live his life like a normal person; he wanted his fathers approval that he was "normal". And a rookie traffic cop who investigates a few mysterious deaths that occur in the hospital. The medical cases were all excellent and well portrayed.

Cast: Jang Hyuk as Lee Young Oh did an Excellent job in his portrayal of an emotionless person. A man who struggles to prove he is normal to eventually accepting who he is. His conflicting relationship with his dad was one of the perks of this show. Secrets revealed and betrayals on the way. Lee Young Oh was my absolute favorite character! And his blossoming romance was one of the cutest things! So pure and so sweet ^^ Something I looked forward to every Monday <3
Park So Dam as Gye Jin Sung - she first came off as a bit annoying and slightly stupid *but I forgive her for that b/c she was a rookie traffic cop - not a detective*. She was a bit irrational in the beginning but once she realizes her mistakes she changes and I started to really like her. ^^ She ended up helping Young Oh the most - awakening him you could say. ;)
Heo Joon Ho as Lee Gyun Myung was complex and interesting to watch, his mix of love, guilt, happiness and anger all strewn into one was portrayed very well.
Kim Hyung Kyu as Yang Sung Eun was a great sidekick character! *I love him in every drama he is in* - he's absolutely funny! Made me laugh a lot. And the team of 5 "The Power Rangers" were also a hilarious group! I really enjoyed the side characters in this drama.
My favorite guest/cameo role was played by Seo Jung Yeong ^_^ I really enjoyed his character and story <3
Yoon Hyun Min as Hyun Suk Joo was a doctor who struggled between being a good person and being a good doctor - he was conflicted about what he should choose or how to balance the two out.

Music: "Dirt" by Bernard Park <3 I love this song and it fit so well with this drama!

Re-watch value? 10/10 I actually plan to re-watch this drama right away lol - It's that good!
I HIGHLY recommend this drama to anyone who likes thought provoking things, medical dramas, complex characters and dramas that make you THINK. It's a truly BEAUTIFUL drama that you don't want to miss! I think this is the only drama I have seen that I really wish was Longer - 16 episodes would have been absolutely PERFECT, but it cut short unfairly b/c of poor ratings in Korea. :'(

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
seventhmonster
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 7, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama was a roller coaster ride for me. At first, I was thinking about whether watching this or not since I've read a lot of articles about this drama having really poor ratings (TBH ratings were really low. 2%-4%) But ratings does not tell you the quality of a drama. Ratings: bad. Drama: amazing. It's been a while since I've watched a drama that gave me a lot of headaches, a lot to think of, it was never predictable. It was such a beautiful drama, the one that gave you a lot of tears and made you laugh a lot. It also made me think of life in a whole new different way.

Story: I liked the pacing. There were no boring scenes where I get distracted and then using my phone. Jin Sung was really annoying at first but her character got better and better. I did not really like how she was so POWERFUL, (i dont know if that the right word to describe it) but my question is, as a traffic officer did she had that authority to investigate murder? That was kinda weird for me because I'm pretty sure it doesn't work that way in real life. And lastly, what I did not like was some of the characters didn't have that much screen time, like Suk-Joo. I felt like I didn't understand his character more and it wasn't enough. Maybe because of the cut episodes but after finishing it, I felt like there a lot missing. And I had so much questions that I think the answers are in the 2 wasted episodes. :(

Acting/cast: Jang Hyuk. Jang Hyuk. Jang Hyuk. Such an amazing actor. I must say he really portrayed his character well on this drama. There was a scene where he made this really crazy, scary look on his eyes and I really got goosebumps. But one thing I noticed is the way he speaks. It was so slow for me, as a personal opinion.

Music: Great music, my favorite one is DIRT by Bernard Park. I really love how they put the right background music in the scenes. When they have scenes with patients, I can't stop crying plus adding tear-jerker music.

Re-watch: I will definitely watch this again after some months. I think a re-watch is a must to this kind of dramas because you have to really understand it. And honestly, I had too much hair-pulling-while-screaming moments when I don't understand what is happening.

Overall, this is a highly recommend drama and one of the best in 2016. This is such a hidden gem that everyone must discover. It's one of those rare dramas where you gambled 20 and you got 100 in return. It's sad to say goodbye, but I will say hello again soon, Beautiful Mind.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
LLeJiks
4 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2017
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
i will describe this series in one word and seven letters.


"AWESOME"
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ImaNe
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2016
14 of 14 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
I find it unfair that this drama isn't known! I didn't watch it at the time of its broadcast, but I understood that it was broadcast during the Olympic Games, which dominated the general attention at the time..
what a pity!


Jang Hyuk plays an academically brilliant yet emotionally defunct neurosurgeon who’s unable to feel emotions as a result of a frontal lobe injury, but that all starts to change as a murder mystery unfolds at the hospital.

The scenario is intriguing, creative and wonderful, the theme and atmosphere are well founded, we feel thoroughly in history. The game of characters is extraordinary and well mastered, especially for Jang Hyung, who embodied his role perfectly. I forgot the whole time that it's NOT actually a emotionally defunct person but just an actor xD
I love everything related to medical stuff, but it's not the only thing that made FALL IN LOVE with this drama!

Even the romance in this drama is light and very significant.. No dirt scenes, no stupidities..

It is really too bad it was cut short! but the writer managed to pull most plot lines together in ways that worked. I'm still shaking from the beauty of this drama!

N.B. : I have read Frankenstein but I don't find any BIG reference to it here.. bot a bad thing thing, though, because it was for me a huge surprise and a new thing to discover!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?