Something About 1 Percent

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 9,233 users)
  • Ranked: #549
  • Popularity: #144
  • Watchers: 16,201

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

17%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

15 edits
7 edits
6 edits
5 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
sharreb
34 people found this review helpful
Nov 15, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Sometimes a simple love story is just entertaining and endearing to watch. Something about 1 percent doesnt have much that stood out from the rest. But its also the very same thing you can love about it. It reminds me of the first time i love korean dramas cliches and all. Although the first episode seems a bit too contrived i found it improves immensely the next few episodes. Jae In and Dada's relationship is sweet. Theres no immense personality transplant from Jae In but you see the effort he puts to keeping their dating relationship afloat despite his busy schedule, demands at work and his lack of care for people feelings. What is refreshing is most times they are honest with each other even though its a contractual relationship. Jae in from start wanted a no cheating no seeing other people. Dada was honest that she needs to keep herself in check from falling for him. Which we know its too late the ship has sailed. What makes this an enjoyable watch is how comfortable Jae in and Dada are with each other on the screen. Their dates, expression and kisses brings back the feels of first love. And dont you love a man who can keep calling to get tje answers even though hes too busy to sleep or eat. The gruff and sometimes grumpy man can be a stealer too. Just like how Dada's friend's word rings true sometimes all it takes is just 1positive thing that you love from that person - you can call it his charm- that you discover and fall for. And just the same ive discovered quite a few charming things of this drama which i love and fall for.


Just to the add. The leads remain true to themselves and just like their love it has always been honest and sincere. The heart to heart talk and mature discussion before the made up and even the proposal was so fitting. I love the balance of sweet romance and a couple who is honest and mature to face the reality and their background differences, together.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
p-ja mk
29 people found this review helpful
Nov 11, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
A remake sometime could't equal or surpass the original one. One thing I could assure you is that this remake definitely giving a new modification to the original. This remake does not has much episode and one episode equivalent to 45 mins each. I could not get enough of this!

A moderate teacher does not really a good match with A nasty man with an affluent background. BUT, this drama challenge the social acceptance. Both boldly admit they won't fall heels over head with one other. Love comes not at the right time but destiny and grandfather effort give them a chance to know one another.

I assure you this worth of your time in front of the computer!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hayleyshy
13 people found this review helpful
Jan 21, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama was an absolute hidden gem! (And no one is as surprised as me.)
 
To start off, I had no desire to watch this drama. I had heard great reviews raving about the chemistry and how great the story was, but I still regarded this drama with little more than a passing nod. I had never seen any previous works by the leads and clips I saw never seemed to catch my interest. In addition, despite it being a very popular story line, I do not typically enjoy contract relationships (don’t hate me!), business dramas, or incredibly mean and arrogant male leads. However, I was craving a romantic comedy and was running low on options, so I figured I would give it a try. And I am so glad that I did!!!

This drama was incredible. The chemistry and the acting by all the characters, even side characters, was fantastic. The story line was perfectly paced, great soundtrack accompaniment, interesting and dimensional subplots, a romance worth swooning over. I was hooked immediately and binged the entire season in 2 days. No episodes did I feel were just filler, everything was intriguing, and contributed to an all around great story and truly memorable story. I cannot recommend this drama enough. If you have doubts, as I did, give it a two episode try and I hope that you will find it just as entertaining as I did. Happy drama watching :)!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jasmine
8 people found this review helpful
Dec 12, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Adorable! I never watched the original but the chemistry really made this drama for me regardless of some of the reservations I had while watching.

There was a few things that bothered me a little, mainly the forcefulness of the lead at times. Though I could understand that he didn't have any intentions, it just prevented me from fully enjoying some of the scenes. With that said, I could accept it more because the female lead stood up to him and didn't stand for it sometimes. The plot was straightforward, the romance was really hot and full of cuteness, and it was all in all an organic development done by a trusted formula of dislike to understanding to acceptance to appreciation and finally to love. One thing I really appreciated about this drama was that there was no misunderstandings. The couple had constant communication and talked things through!

The main leads are new to me but wow their acting is so real like it feels like they're dating, honestly, so props to their acting! Ha Suk Jin does his character so well, transforming between a lovable petulant man-child to a responsible, caring boyfriend. His character growth because of Kim Da Da's influence as a kind teacher and person (Jeon So Min) was a delight to see!

The 'villain' was almost like comedic relief, considering how utterly nonsensical her actions were.

Music was cute and fitting.

I recommend this drama! It's short enough that I want more episodes (~30-45 minutes per episode) At the same time, I feel like this is the perfect length that cut out all the unnecessary angst and filler a longer drama would have. It's short and sweet, literally! A definite watch for rom-com/ romance lovers out there. ?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rigby
7 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I totally agree with everyone giving this a perfect 10 rating because this is PERFECTION! Good thing I have never seen the original version which will make me give an unbiased review for this one.

The story is so simple that it looks so cliche but the writing is so direct,straight forward and just sticking to the plot which is just a simple lovestory of two opposite individuals! No angst of third party / mother in law /noble idiocy / misunderstanding. The tone and mode of being light, funny, sweet and romantic is consistent through and through! There are no dull episodes, everything just fall in complete heart rendering moments, true to its premise and promise of a pure rom-com!

The character development of two leads is way perfect! You dont feel any rush or force scene in the loveline, the progression just happen so naturally! The leads are explosive, their chemistry is off chart that you cannot really distinguish if they are just acting or the feelings are real! The actors just played their characters excellently and brilliantly! They are so believable and relatable! Bravo for the 2 actors!

The music is perfect I love it! It makes me fall in love more with the characters and the story! It gives a loving vibes to a lovely and endearing drama already! Feel good music perfect for a feel good drama!

I will surely love rewatching this again and again! This will probably my most rewatched drama after Healer!

I have never crossed a very fun, amazing, light hearted drama recently! IF you are a romcom hooker, you should not miss this once in a blue-moon kind of experience in drama watching -- it will simply delight you!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
manicmuse
7 people found this review helpful
Nov 27, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
This is a super cute drama that randomly piqued my interest. I never saw or heard of the original, so I started watching knowing nothing about the story other than the genre. For those of you in the same boat, know that this is 100% romance, so if you are looking for a complicated or emotional storyline you should look elsewhere. The love story is also very cliché... a sweet average girl and an abrasive arrogant chaebol get involved in a relationship contract... but because the show is literally about watching their developing relationship, without a lot of filler, the story still somehow feels fresh.

Ha Suk Jin and Jeon So Min are a great match. They not only play their roles well, but they have very realistic chemistry with each other. Watching them felt like eavesdropping on an actual couple, even with all the tropes. I especially loved the way he looked at her, and it's worth noting that their kissing moments are much hotter and realer than the kdrama norm. I've never seen either before, but they nailed it.

The only reason for lowering my cast score was that although I loved the leads, the best friend, and Jae In's lawyer, many of the supporting cast members seemed pretty useless. A lot of them didn't have enough screen time to make me care about them, or just had a ridiculous role like Seo Eun Chae as Han Joo Hee. I'm not sure if she or the role were the problem, maybe both, but although I can see how she added to their story, she was my least favorite part.

I also gave the story a lower score, because of the lack of originality, poorly fleshed out backstories, and a few "dramatic" moments that made no sense to me, but what they did well was trim a lot of fat from the episodes. I confess that I actually binge watched this whole drama while sick, and I was able to finish it in a day and a half! I was on episode 4 before I realized that the episodes were shorter than usual, and that's also when I finally gave up on waiting for a big dramatic story to happen. The episodes seemed to fly by as I watched Jae In and Dada become closer, and that was all the entertainment I needed.

Would I watch this again? Maybe. I liked the main characters enough for a possible rewatch, but I can't say the same about the rest of the plot.

Oh, and the OST. It's a great match for this drama, including a cute spinoff of the jackson 5's "I want you back", but I was pretty indifferent to Ji Soo's songs, and his storyline.

Overall, this is a good romcom, and definitely worth watching for fans of the genre. I think my score is lower than most because I tend to like more intriguing plots, but this simple story has a lot of charm. I also think making it shorter was very smart (I can't believe the original was so long), so there was no time to get bored with the story, and it took no time to get hooked. It's the perfect drama for weekend binge watching, while still leaving you with some time left for real life (If you're not sick like I was)! I'm glad I took a chance on this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Daniela
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 23, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This drama was cute from episode 01 till 16, and I loved it. I actually marathon it in a weekend, and could't stop once I start watching it. Didn't knew it was a remake, but for me it was perfect, and that's to say a lot since I watched it out of boredom, and because I didn't have anything else to watch.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplebass
4 people found this review helpful
Nov 25, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
When it comes to remakes, is it hard to make them and not compare with the original one. Thankfully for me, I hadn't watched the 2003 version so I can't tell whether this is close to that or not, but trust me This is worth the watch if you want a short drama (episodes are more or less 40 minutes long), a rom com with zero stressful situations, nice characters and a strong female character despite the male protagonist can be a jerk... And the list can go on.

Story: like I said, it's a remake of a famous success with the same name and it is based on the contract marriage trope, which is one of my faves. So, in the history of korean dramas is nothing new. Yet, despite its simplicity, it's heartwarming and light and it is the kind of story to watch when you don't want to get too deep into a complicated plot and want likeable characters who also make you laugh.

Acting/Cast: I hadn't seen anything with the main leads before this but I had seen the secondary characters and recurring cast in other dramas before. I was blown away by the exceptional chemistry between Ha Suk Jin and Jung Su Min. He was super cute as a jerk who is able to be romantic and she showed a lot of aegyo trying to stand up for what she wanted until the end.

The music was an important part of the drama because the main character, Kim Da Hyun, was friend and the leader of a fun club of a new kpop idol. The songs were nice and likeable, I think I'll remember the main theme in the future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kingsqueen
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 25, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This show is pure cheesy, fluffy, romantic goodness. Yes, it got a 10 from me because I adored everything about this show from beginning to end. For the genre it is, I thought it was very well done, and it just made me really happy watching it. The storyline is simple, and it's fast paced considering the episodes are just under 40 minutes each. The writers got right to the heart of this re-make. I've never seen the original, but from what I've gathered, this one has cut out a lot of filler and just given us the story of Lee Jae In and Kim Da Hyun's romance.

The actors did a fabulous job in their roles, and the main leads were on fire with the chemistry. There are lots of great kisses too! I found myself smiling a lot while watching this.
If I had one complaint - it's a really minor one - I would say that the last episode wrapped up a lot of story almost too quickly, but it was still very satisfying. But this is not even enough for me to knock my rating down.

This drama is going on my list of favorites just because I love it for what it is - cotton candy sweetness. I will definitely re-watch this just to see all the cute moments again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Yuna67876
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 14, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I am going to admit this right off the bat this is a fantastic drama. I went through this in a really fast speed and I enjoyed it too much.

Story: I will start off this section by saying I have not seen the original drama that this is based off of. This is really your typical rom com story, but I think this was different for me. I honesty really got suck in with it, and with episodes only 30-40 minutes long it easy to binge watch.

Acting/Cast: I was really impressed with Ha Suk Jin in this show, he was really the stand out role for me in this drama, and I really want to see more from him (which gets me really excited because he is mainly supporting roles though). Jeon So Min had her really great moments too. The supporting cast did the job right for a rom com, and I'm happy with the casting choices.

Music:Now I'm usually one who is keen on music on show because I like to listen to OST a lot. I did like one song from this (which I had to search up because I honesty got suck up in the story of this that I needed to listen to one of the song), and that is I Want You Bad. other than that the music was OK.

Rewatch/Overall value: Overall I gave this a 10 because it stuck with me, I did think about a 9.5 but I decided a 10. I will rewatch this some day.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
QAS
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 1, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This light romantic comedy was entertaining and short (16 episodes only).

Story 8.5
The love story between  a rich egocentric charming heir of a conglomerate and apoor but kind-hearted school-teacher. Jae In's grandfather acted as matchmaker/fairy godfather, to bring the two seemly mismatched characters together.

Acting/Cast 8.5
Ha Suk Jin and Jeon So Min were perfectly cast as the lead characters.

Music 8.0
Music moved the drama  toward the conclusion.

Rewatch value 9
I watched this drama twice.  

Overall 8.5
The weekly scripts and the leading actors' performances kept my attention, as the romance continued on the incline.  I cringed at Jae In's fashion choices 90% of the time.  Ha Suk Jin/Jae In looked perfect, otherwise.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PaboSaeki
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 4, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
You'll love this drama, please give it a try!
As a person who's usually busy, I even tried to make time just to finish this drama because it was so ADDICTING! I was on a kdrama hiatus and coming back to a refreshing drama like this feels so great. I've watched a lot of dramas in my time, but nothing compares to this remake.

THE CHEMISTRY in this drama was probably the best I've ever seen out of ALL the kdramas I've watched. It was like they put 2 actors who were actually dating in real life (even though they aren't) and put them together for this remake! The kiss scenes seemed so real, and you'll be surprised to see how many there are. They were just so playful together, and the acting was amazing. It's a realistic approach to relationships and the kdrama portrayed just that. All the serious problems in a relationship, all the ups and downs were really shown well here.

This drama will pretty much make you wish you saw more of them when it ends, because when it ends you'll be in for a world of hurt. You'll just want to see more of the two!

The drama's story, although not so unique like Descendents of The Sun, I Hear Your Voice etc. It is still an amazing plot. It really just focuses on the two main characters and their relationship as they progress. Each person changing each other. The character progression in this drama is one of the best, IF NOT THE BEST I've seen a kdrama ever pull off.

I guarantee you'll LOVE it, even if you're not a kdrama fan and just starting out. This drama is a good way to get you into kdramas if it's your first too!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?