You're All Surrounded (2014) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 12,786 users)
  • Ranked: #709
  • Popularity: #85
  • Watchers: 23,809

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

40 edits
18 edits
15 edits
14 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
purplenette
68 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 9
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Sequel??? I hope so. This drama has a fresh story line. It has almost anything a person could want in a drama. It has suspense, romance, comedy, action, and a bit of melodrama. The chemistry between the actors is excellent. There is consistent character development. The writing and directing is so well done. The best part is that I enjoyed each and every episode. That has been hard to find this year in dramaland.

All of the acting was good. I will just point out a few things. Love him or hate him (I happen to love him), Lee Seung Gi can kiss. I had no idea that Go Ah Ra that plays Na Jung in Reply 1994 was the same person as Eu Soo Sun. She just shot up the ranks of actress that I like. I love Cha Seung Won's dorky characters. He is just too cute. Is Jeong Dong Hwan going to play freakishly scary characters in every drama from now on? He seriously gives me the creeps when he does that smile. BBBRRR!!!

The music is appropriate and sometimes funny.

I will rewatch this at some point. I'm tempted to rewatch it right now. Seriously.

I highly recommend this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sylvia
36 people found this review helpful
Jul 30, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
This. This is it. This drama. This freaking drama is everything I've ever wanted to see. And never in my life did I think that I would end up loving a cop drama. But I did. And I'm so happy I gave this drama a chance because now it's one of my favourites.

The plot is the biggest advantage of this drama. It's a perfect mix of action, suspense, crime, drama, and even comedy and romance. What more could you want? And although I admit I got bored sometimes, the boredom didn't last long. There's always something happening in this drama, and numerous plot twists make everything even more exciting, interesting, and fun to watch. The pace of story development is also perfect, thanks to what it's pretty easy to follow the plot without any headaches. The romance between Dae Gu and Su Seon isn't cheesy and immature, so thank God there aren't any cringe worthy moments between those characters.
Seriously, if only more dramas were like that, I'm sure I wouldn't end up hating so many of them.

The cast is really well-chosen, so there's no surprise that the acting is one of the best I've seen so far. There are no awkward facial expressions or gestures, and the actors express the characters' feelings in a good, believable way. Only An Jae Hyeon's acting skills lack sometimes, but most of the time he isn't even that bad. So good job.

All of the main characters are likeable, which is kind of surprising considering that most dramas have many annoying characters. To be honest I was expecting Su Seon to be irritating, as almost every main female leads in dramas are, so imagine my surprise when I didn't end up hating her. And as you can learn from my other reviews, most of the time I hate main female characters. Also, I love how each character is different and special in a way. Thanks to that every character can add something new to the story.

This drama has its little flaws, but they're not very significant. I think the biggest flaw of "You're All Surrounded" is that a few of the last episodes are a little bit of a drag, but fortunately at episode 19 everything goes back to normal.

Overall, even if you don't like cop dramas, I suggest you give this one a chance. "You're All Surrounded" is something fresh, has an actual plot, and doesn't kill viewers with a cheesy romance. Seriously, we need more dramas like this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
EmotionalVoicedGoby
29 people found this review helpful
Jul 17, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
You're All Surrounded is definitely one of the best dramas I've watched all year. It has action, romance, suspense, drama, and even comedy. This series grabs you within the first ten minutes and never lets go until the very end.

I think that the wide collection of diverse characters and their individual stories is what drives the drama straight to the top. Each character feels well balanced and adds something to the story that another character couldn't. And all the intertwining relationships and background stories added to the overall enjoyment of this series.

All of the actors did an incredible job with their parts, creating dynamic and believable characters that not only tugged on my heartstrings, but also made my stomach turn with disgust and anger. Even the characters that were part of the side investigations (that didn't really have anything to do with the main plot, but rather bringing the main cast together) were particularly dynamic and brought incredible emotions to the table for the short time they were on screen.

The plot was just as amazing. When you thought the drama was going to turn right, it made a left. There was so much tension and heart in the side investigations alone, but the main stories were even more incredible and satisfying.

The setting, the music, costuming, etc. was also pretty good. Definitely one of the more visually pleasing dramas I've seen in a while.

Although this drama was pretty amazing, it's not without it's faults. The last few episodes did feel like a bit of a drag. It's regrettable, because I feel that it had to do with the main plot line (which, sadly, began to fall in excitement and love-abilty at about episode 16). Thankfully it picked up again on episode 19 and everything went back to the exciting nature of the drama.

Overall this was a completely satisfying and particularly amazing drama, one of the best I've seen all year. I will probably end up watching it again sometime in the future. I recommend this drama for anyone, even if you don't like cop dramas you should still give it a try (don't knock something before you try it, or you might miss out on this fantastic drama).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
allyson
15 people found this review helpful
Sep 12, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
TL;DR? This drama is beyond amazing. It was so much fun with the right touch of mystery, sadness and action.

I was in the midst of a pretty intense Kdrama slump when I started this drama. I am a huge Lee Seung Gi fan, and Cha Seung Won as Dokko Jin in The Greatest Love is one of my all time favorite male characters ever. And they definitely do not disappoint in this drama!

I think what surprised me the most about this drama was just how easily it was able to blend all of the different aspects of the show together. It was sad, but also funny, and then there were plenty of action scenes that ramped up the anxiety from time to time. There were several episodes that would take you from crying to laughing to gripping the edge of your seat, only to start all the way back at the beginning again.

The characters in this were all brilliant. Dae Gu was a stuck up jerk, suffering from a tragic past with a giant chip on his shoulder. Seo Pan Suk was the grouchy leader, unwilling to take a bunch of newbies under his wing. They both suffered from scars of their own, and it was just amazing to watch their chemistry together on screen. Soo Sun was a clutzy ditz, absolutely brimming with sincerity. Park Tae Il was charming and Ji Kook was a dorky, sweet guy. You couldn't help but love all of them and want for all of them to succeed.

I don't usually pay much attention to music in dramas, but I can't even begin to say how happy I was at the end of episode 1 when My Chemical Romance's Welcome to the Black Parade came on. It was poignant commentary on the whole situation, and it really was the perfect ending note for the episode.

I will say that I don't watch cop dramas, so if you also don't watch cop dramas, I hope that that doesn't keep you from trying this one out. While there was quite a bit to do with illegal activity and stake outs and arrests, it was so much more than that.

Seriously, watch this drama!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BrightestStar
15 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I'm sure my view of this drama will not be a popular one, but I thought I might still share ;)

You're all surrounded had ingredients to make it a entertaining and memorable kdrama. It was marketed as a comedy, had the right actors casted in the right place, and most characters were endearing and fun. However we start the story with a tragedy, which away from the comedy and it takes much of the drama time to get solved. I didn't like that at first, but accepted it as long as we get an interesting mystery and enjoy the character growth and romances. There was a lot of potential in the beginning. A lot of story threads were opened up in the beginning but left hanging and did not get much of a conclusion, so the conclusion we got was not satisfying. Many characters were set aside while the hero was put in the center, taking in one tragic revelation after another. Also a lot of things happening in the police station you just have to suspend your disbelief. Also, in the end, I'm just not convinced that any of the rookies learned anything, and that they are anywhere NEAR ready to take on the job.

The acting for most of the cast was superd. It was stunning at best (Cha Seung-Won) and serviceable at worst (Ahn Jae-Hyeon) with the exception of 1 actor (Jeong Dong-Hwan) who really was taking the drama down. He practically has 2 face expression, and both are too over the top to suit any of his scenes. One actress I don't remember seeing much before is Seo Yi-Sook, and I think her character was the most interesting, and her acting elevated it. My complaint here is just that we see so much potential for growth in the 1st half of the drama, but most characters were pushed to the background, and their character and relationship wasn't explored further. Mainly Seo Pan-Seok and Kim Sa-Kyung, and even Park Tae-Il's backstory was given like 10 minutes of revelations and thats it. All Eo Soo-Sun did on the second half is be a support to Eun Dae Gu, and that couldn't be helped since they put him from one horrible situation to another. Their romance was growing at a slow but sweet pace and I liked that, but one seen forced it to accelarate. I got nothing against how it went after but that scene itself was too forced in my opinion.

The final reveal of the mystery was well thought out in my opinion, even if most thought to be a little too far fetched, I don't because I know humans do worst for their greed. but by then all were left with is the boring annoying 2 dimensional villains.

Generally the music wasn't too outstanding, except for that one sweet guitar soundtrack, usually on when scenes involve Seo Pan-Seok and Cho Young Chul that I really loved. It added bittersweetness to the scene and made it beautiful.

All in all, I was disappointed in the beginning for the lack of comedy and overdose tragedy, but started liking the story and the growing potential set in the first half. Like most kdramas, the second half lost track of most story threads, and didn't know how to handle it. But still, I don't regret watching it, I enjoyed the acting and the characters were very likeable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
addicted2dramas
13 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
You're Surrounded is definitely the best drama of 2014 so far. It might not have been a gigantic ratings hit but there is a reason why it consistently stayed at #1 almost every week while it aired. I am going to miss tuning in to watch it every week. It is one of the most appealing fresh dramas in quite a while. It is filled with mystery, romance, comedy, melodrama and friendship all rolled into one. I usually do not give out 10s easily but I think this drama deserves one.

I hope my review can convince you to watch this because trust me- you won't know what you are missing out on unless you do. Although it is a standard kdrama with it has multiple genres all in one. It will give you a bit of everything and yet leave you wanting more. I have to commend its excellent and versatile cast for bringing life into the drama and playing it so well until the end. They make you forget that these are the actors we've seen before. Even the child actors are lovable and play emotional parts with ease.

The story is complex and there are bits of it which seem random at times but tie up really well as the plot progresses. The emotional parts of it are very touching and might bring you to tears. Apart from that the comedy is really the laugh-out-loud type. Plus the friendship between the four young detectives is absolutely delightful to watch. The at times dysfunctional relationship with their Team Leader and others at their workplace is another fun aspect with an equal amount of emotional depth.

The other great part (and very memorable) is the romance. It's not the in-your-face kind of romance that Kdramas usually have but it has the right amount of scenes and a good build-up till the end. Lee Seung Gi and Go Ara are both talented actors and they'll make you fall in love with them as their characters fall for each other. Their pair was believable and cute at the same time.

While most dramas that start off well get lost midway or towards the end- this drama is pretty consistent in story telling as far as kdramas go. Every episode is good and I never felt like skipping much. The main reason I am giving this drama 10 isn't what I mentioned above but because of its ending. It is hands down THE BEST ending I have yet seen in a kdrama. It is fulfilling, sweet and leaves you wanting more.

As for the OST I loved most of the songs and my favourite ballad is sung by Taeyeon (one of my favourite singers).

I usually never give high ratings to dramas for rewatch values because I hardly ever do but this one has a decent value. I am not going to rewatch the entire drama but I surely can relive the scenes of one of my favourite pairs of all-time again. If you're done reading this- go and watch NOW. You won't regret it. :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Naksken
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 8, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
I just finished watching "You're All Surrounded" and WOW! what a fabulous drama.

I'll admit I downloaded this drama because for some inexplicable reason I thought Seo In Guk was the lead. I watched the first episode and realised that the lead was Lee Seung Gi and, because the only other thing I'd seen him in was "My Girlfriend Is A Gumiho" (which I dropped because I couldn't stand him), I almost stopped watching. But the story was captivating so I kept watching - and I'm so glad I did.

This drama keeps the perfect pace. There's enough going on to maintain 20 episodes, which is rare. Revelations are made at just the right time and they're surprising and engaging. Too often in Korean dramas the writers spell everything out for the viewers who are just waiting for the characters to catch up and the only real surprise or reveal is how and when the characters find out the truth. This is not the case here. There are very few things the viewer is told before the characters. Some of the revelations had me catch my breath and just stare at the screen, jaw open in disbelief. If you like a good crime story, this is a great example.

There's also the right amount of suspense, romance, sentimentality, hurt, and comedy. Without the comedy this drama would only be half as good. The comedy is natural and unforced.

One of the things that really makes me like a drama is great characters. People who I like and care about and I can carry with me, who I wonder about when I'm doing other things. This drama has characters like this in spades. There's real, well explained character and relationship growth from everyone. Characters I hated early on I loved by the end. No characters acted in a way that betrayed their personalities.

And each character really gets a chance to tell their story, and all the stories are interesting and engaging. Well done to Lee Jung Sun for a great story and awesome characters - I want more.

The acting is superb, including Lee Seung Gi. I plan to stop avoiding shows just because he's in them and will probably start seeking him out. His portrayal of Eun Dae Gu / Kim Ji Yong was nuanced and perfectly played. In the early episodes I couldn't stand Eo Soo Sun played by Go Ah Ra, but I realised about half way through that I loved her to bits. Ahn Jae Hyeon was great as Park Tae-Il and Cha Seung Won was perfect, absolutely perfect as Detective Seo; what a fabulously acted, excellent character. Every actor in this was wonderful except Jeong Dong Hwan - I wish people would stop casting him.

This brings me to where this drama loses points

1) Over-egged bad guys over-acted by terrible actors. Korean Drama producers, can we agree to stop this nonsense? Bad guys who are too bad and behave in ridiculous ways that even terrible humans don't behave - It's my biggest complaint about K-drama. In this instance though, I think it's more acting than character, his story was quite believable

2) people crying over injured people instead of immediately calling an ambulance and giving first aid. Stop this trope; it's 2016. Call the ambulance, administer first-aid and then cry (or cry while doing the first two) - especially if you're a detective.

3) Continuity errors with an ice-cream - when you see this scene, you'll know what I'm talking about. It's hilarious, but it really took me out of the drama and I was betting with myself about how much of the ice-cream would be eaten the next time the camera angle changed. It's just lazy.

The music is great. Most of it is already on my K-pop playlist so it was nice to watch a drama where I recognised all of the songs. It's not too loud, it doesn't distract from the action and it's not inappropriate, ever. Well done to the music peeps.

Because of the great characters, I think this drama could warrant a second watch even with the plot spoiled.

Well done to everyone who was involved with this drama. It really was great. If you haven't watched it yet, do so as soon as possible, all 20 episodes are worth your time and attention - a very rare feat.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kairu
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 9, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers
I just finished the show and its like the middle of the night but I just had to write a review to gushhhhh about how frikin amazing this it was! It was my first show that wasn't strictly a rom-com or melodrama and I was a bit weary at first but damn am I glad i watched because I absolutely loved it. It had so much emotion, so much story, so many feels. An all round complete and perfect show with a little bit of everything.

Story: The story was supposed to the the heart of the show and of course it was.. There was a new twist and turn almost every episode and you just had to keep watching until your eyes couldn't stay open any more. I don't want to say much because anything I do will probably be a spoiler but in my opinion it was a great story. I would have loved a few more side cases and a little less focus on the main case but thats just if I had to pick faults. The only real problem I had with the story was how tragic they had made poor Daegu's life by the end of it. I understand he was a phenomenally strong character but it became a little to unrealistic. Personally I felt a real life Daegu experiencing everything screen Daegu did would have had un healable scars that he probably wouldn't be able to live with. But i've read a few reviews that have criticised the writing, it may have gotten a bit confusing at points and a little to obvious at points but overall I think they did a great job. The way they made you feel for the characters, the way there didn't use all the typical cliches but slightly more intelligent plot devices.. I was thoroughly impressed.

Characters: Before we get to the obvious let me just express how much I love the team. They just complimented each other so well and made me want be a part of them so badly. They way they had each others backs whenever something went wrong was just heartwarming. They were above everything the heart and soul of the show and kudos to all the actors for the amazing portrayal. I secretly still believe that this is a very real group of people working rn in the Gangnam police station but shhhh. Now lets get to Eun Dae Gu. The most interesting yet tragic yet endearing character I have ever come across. I have never been more impressed by an actor than I was by Lee Seun Gi. He was beyond mind-blowing. Im not one of those critics that even focuses enough to tell the difference between bad acting and good acting but boy you can tell when its this good. He is by far my favourite on screen personality like I can't even express I just want to squeal when I think of him. And it doesn't hurt that he is beyond cute. The piercing gaze and pouty lips awwwwwwwww. Though it was an ensemble cast Eun Dae Gu was definitely the star and he deserved to be.. He's a character thats going to stay with me for a long time.


Daegu & Soo Sun/Relationships: I doubt this is a spoiler as its obvious from the second they become 'path-uh-ners' that they are destined to be together. I am a hard core romantic and I have to admit the speed at which this relationship developed bothered me in the beginning but the way the writers pleasantly surprised us with Daegu initiating and being the open one made up for it all. I just wish we could have seen a little more of them. You must understand that it is difficult for a romantic to admit this but I must say that the heart of this show wasn't their relationship but the building bromance/father-son relationship between Daegu and Detective Seo. It was one of the most beautiful things I have seen on screen and it successfully brought tears to my eyes numerous times.

So if it isn't already obvious from my gush-ing.. This show is a MUST MUST watch with you want some yum boys, interesting story and heart warming moments!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Leeve
9 people found this review helpful
Jul 19, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It's 1AM and I'm here, reviewing this drama, guess how much I loved it. Anyways, You're All Surrounded has definitely became my all time favorite drama. It seriously is the best drama I've watched since I got into this world. The story, the cast, the music, everything was amazing and very askdahskjd made. If you haven't watched it, what are you waiting for? This is such a MUST WATCH & REWATCH drama (at least for me). Seriously, hope you all watch it and enjoy it and love it as much as I did, go for it! Don't doubt it! ;)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nelly
7 people found this review helpful
Aug 8, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
OVERALL
Good drama. Not great, but still above average. Watch if you're looking for 1) enough action to keep you sticking around, 2) a few laughs, 3) light love stories that recede to the background. Do not watch if you're 1) looking for a detailed, fully-developed love story or 2) expect lots of action (IRIS style).

THE STORY
The show has action and comedy from the beginning to suck you in and centers around the experiences of the maturing detectives, as well as the blossoming friendships and flourishing romances in the police station, which would make for a killer drama...expect that the story starts fading away towards the middle, and loses what was making it great (the focus on the relationships and the growth of the characters as detectives) in favor of what was background action in the first half. Relationships become neglected and all the fun of the initial episodes disappear. It won't make you want to give up on the show, but it's enough to make it lose charm.

THE ACTING
Good, good, good. Nothing else to say...except that I like Lee Seung Gi a lot better playing a cynical loner than the usual prick he likes to play, and it really goes to show that he can be a versatile actor. Go Ara is of course perfect in her role, and Cha Seung Won, there's nothing he doesn't do well - Action, comedy, drama, you name it, he does it - but really, the other ones were good too.

THE MUSIC
It was cool and fitted well the drama. Sometimes different from what you'd expect, but nothing I felt the urge to download afterwards.

REWATCH VALUE
Something I'd rewatch when I don't have anything else to watch. Didn't so far, but who knows.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DreamingKoreanBallad
7 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I enjoyed this drama as I do all of Lee Seung Gi's drama's - however I do think it could have been made into a 16 episode drama instead of a 20 but it was still good - every episode was enjoyable and usually had cliffhangers. I liked Lee Seung Gi's character Ji Young's story the best as I am sure everyone did - it was the plot and foundation of this drama - the ending was not what I was expecting. I have always been a fan of detective dramas :) I didn't much care for the love story - I was more into Ji Young's intention to reveal the reason to his story - the love story was just 'meh' to me (maybe b/c I really don't care for the actress).
Story: was good - it had a good beginning & end
Music: was good - I liked Lee Seung Chul's song best
Re-watch Value: possible (b/c of Lee Seung Gi)

yeah...I guess I don't have much to say other than that lol - I did like this drama, but it wasn't my favorite...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
gwenp29
7 people found this review helpful
Jul 22, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I finished this drama when it ended last week. I got to say this is one of the best dramas of 2014. After I finished watching it with my friend, we talked about how we were gonna rate it. I usually dock a point if there are is like an ending or part that I hated or didn't like. So as I racked my brain, I didn't find anything that I truly could dock points for. I love everything about the drama.

The story has everything you could ask for. There's romance, mystery, drama, bromance, comedy, everything I like in a drama. The chemistry between the leads was great both the older and the younger version. And it really made you want to look forward to each episode. I've thought back to other dramas I've seen and this one didn't disappoint me one bit. I've had dramas where everything started out great and then they decide to add useless scenes or end it on a different note than what I would've liked. But this drama gave me feels all through out.

The cast is amazing. Lee Seung Gi...I've loved the dramas I've seen with him so far. And Go Ahra is so good in this drama too. She was my favorite character from Reply 1994. Cha Seung Won one of the few guys I can call oppa XD. I love his deep voice. And Ahn Jae Hyeon...he's so dreamy. The bromance between him and Seung Gi and Park Jung Min was really awesome. I love their camaraderie.

The music is good. I love the OST. I sorta wish Lee Seung Gi sang a song. But at least we got one from Ahn Jae Hyeon.

I would definitely re-watch this one. I recommend this, TWO THUMBS UP!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?