If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Papadol!
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I want to begin by stating the fact that I am woman over 40 with a family of my own so my views are influenced by my life experience.  

I read an article one time that stated the fact that every one that goes into Johnny's (it was an articles on JE so I will expand and say Asian Idol Entertainment in general) knows that this is part of being an Idol.  That the people are groomed and trained and are a part of the managing staff's Product to present to the fans or Customers.

This drama humanizes my above statement, having recently watched all the apologies from KAT-TUN in the 10ks Tour for Taguchi leaving to be with his longtime girfriend, I know that the drama represented here is real, probably dramatized, but real.  I watched this to complete "Sho-Kun's" acting list for me, but was surprised how much I loved watching all of Kanjani 8 and Nikishido Ryo in this.  The acting was well done and the situations were as real as one can get with a blended family.  As far as the romance not being to showy...comfortable love is sometimes like that.  Sharing the burden with someone you will be with for the rest of your life is sometimes more important than a kiss or even a hand hold.  You get that from this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sparrow
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
How come this gem has no reviews is beyond me. It's an excellent piece of suspense drama worth every single one of its 61 episodes.
I wouldn't recommend it to people who are only into 1. straightforward romance, 2. lots of physical action. It has regular outbursts of action every few episodes alternated with strategizing and processing. It doesn't have many quests neither, only one overarching search of a McGuffin file. (Boy, was The Emperor and his jar a good preparation for this one.)
Just like Nirvana in Fire, Sparrow throws the viewer headfirst into already ripened events and flows like a chapterless novel. It has arcs when a new character is introduced or a focus shifts, and they have consequences afterwards.
The show belongs to Reveal rather than Develop school of character writing. The characterization is rough around the edges at first (it starts from a bulletpoint list of traits - for example, MC drinks Kvass, can't shoot due to a past trauma and puts an act of the playboy and gambler who'd rather be a barber than an agent), but turns into something alive and humane thanks to giving characters an opportunity to form alliances and bond. You can tag it with 'bromance' etc, but it's far beyond it. MC doesn't monopolize the screentime. There's a love triangle/square/meandering hexagon (with tentacles - you should see my chart) at the core, but it's not used as a plot propeller and a sole source of conflict. Close antagonists are humanized. It's chock-full of layered, multifaceted characters with their own mannerism. A line between faked and real relationship is blurred. I'm afraid to say anything more not to get into spoilers.
The first half (one third perhaps?) is mostly devoted to damage control and it lulls the viewer into thinking danger can always be redirected to scapegoats, and then things get real, breaking that expectation. The plot is stretched between an urge to maintain the status quo and a sense of urgency, making this desire impossible. Having spent so much time with all the characters and seeing their circumstances, it's hard to condemn those who on the scale of greyness fall into lukewarm/opportunistic territory or tilt toward derangment (especially since they're so charming or have grand entrances…). As if they weren't already, things get so tangled and tensed no single solution can fix them satisfyingly. The file is just an excuse to watch it all happening. Save yourself the frustration and don't expect more from it.
The show is beautiful to look at, crafted with an attention to detail and the use of music greatly improves the experience. More than once I was just spacing out looking at the colours changing or rewinding little pieces of fun editing of facial expressions/general movement like a cat pulling out tissues out of the box. It's definitely a rewatch material for me, both for just enjoying it visually and for re-immersing into that world. Highly recommended. Safety first!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Hwarang
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
I have to admit that I was expecting much more from this drama. I usually don't watch historical dramas, but I have heard so many good things about this one, and the fact that Park Hyung Sik was in it... I couldn't stop myself. 
 Story: the first 5 episodes made me been completely hooked... they were interesting, funny and I liked the story, the secrets, the enemies...
After that, from the 6 or 7 episode until de 12 or so, the story gets messy and it focus only on the love triangle (ok, let's be honest, there's no such thing as a love triangle, since the beginning one of them - if you have watched the show you know whom - had 0 opportunity). Half way I was more interested in a second love story that the main lead couple. Luckily, it gets again better from episode 13, more fighting, friending and intrigues until the end. 
Besides, in my opinion, there are too many dead ends in some things they have should explained better...
Acting/cast: I liked the male actors, overall Park Hyung Sik as the hidden King and the Hwarang second leads. On the other hand, I couldn't stand the female main lead. I usually don't like when women are extremely stupid. I know it depends on the time the story is set up, but anyway, Ah Ro was unbearable.  I agree with some reviews that say that the main female lead only knows how to cry, be saved and make silly faces as she is angry or mad at the main male lead. It's was tiring.
Music: ok, not the best, but catchy.
Rewatch value: I don't think I'll see this show again, except some scenes with the king.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Go Back Couple
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
Go Back Couple is great. It's not a sorty about falling in love for the first time, but about making the love work through the years, abou learning to let things go, it's about growing up and being young.
The cast is amazing, I really like Jang Nara, so I was already in for her, but everyone was really on point, the college crew did a really good job, they managed to portray the carelessness and invincibility that every youth feels they are entitled to perfection. Lee Yi Kyung and Cho Hye Jung steals the scene at times, their characters were so cute and funny, I'm excited about their acting careers, I'm sure they'll both do great.
Kim Mi Kyung is a force of nature, I still haven't seen a character she can't pull off. Her chemistry with Jang Nara and even Ho Jun were great, you get attached to her character right from the get go, the plot that revolves around her is probably, for me at least, the greatest part of the drama, it's heartwarming and heartwrenching.
It's a cute, light story, the retro concept is great, it doesn't get draggy and directing is on point, I higly recommend this drama!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You're Beautiful
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Unbelievable Story. Bad Acting. Hard to believe its the same Park Shin Hye of Doctors. I can clearly see as a woman even while trying to disguise her as a man. I find is hard to believe that twin boy and twin girl looks the same. Even more hard to believe that they can change so easily. The plot is unnecessarily angst ridden in the second half. The music is of course pretty good. Even the background score is amazing.

Uee was pretty good as the Korean sweetheart/villain. I had a bad case of second lead syndrome with Shin Woo. I think Yong Hwa and Shin Hye had such a nice chemistry plus his character was so sweet that it made so many people fall for his SLS charm. I mean compared to the maid lead's narcissist personality. I understand that Tae Kyung had other family drama, but with the regular pouts and guyliner, I was massively irritated with him.

This is my least liked drama of Hong sisters. Anyways the drama is still fun to watch. I realized I am biased towards the story because I did not like the main romance. But you can go and watch this very famous drama for good music and nice fun filled-angst-ridden ride.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
While You Were Sleeping
15 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.5
Imagine this situation:

A person is driving a jeep on a rocky mountain. It's a bad idea from the start but he's hoping for the best. Suddenly, he takes a wrong turn and finds himself on the edge of a steep cliff, about to fall in an abyss. He's still hoping for the best.

Out of nowhere, a heavy gust of wind comes and makes his jeep topple over. As it falls the person gets all of his limbs broken and his tongue caught between the teeth. He's still hoping for the best.

Suddenly, there's a landslide and huge rocks fall on top of the jeep. Now the person has his abdomen torn apart and his intestines pouring out. But he's alive and still hoping for the best.

The pressure from the rocks causes the jeep to stumble forward and miraculously an ocean appears in the front. The jeep falls in the water and now the man can't breathe. Finally, when the jeep sinks down among debris and lost souls and the man takes his last breath, he realizes that all that hoping was in vain.

Did that all make sense?
No? Well, neither does While You Were Sleeping.

You want to know how the plot unfolds?
Exactly like the events in the above mentioned story: Unrealistically and taking its merry time from bad to worse.

Wanna know how you'll feel after finishing the show?
Exactly the way the driver of that jeep must've felt. You keep hoping for the best but things stays at their worst.

And now I'll explain why.

The show's biggest problem is the flawed characterization. Our protagonists that are portrayed to be these brilliant and hardworking individuals are essentially idiots, only being able to succeed because 1) they can see the future in their dreams 2) somebody from the supporting cast helps them sort out all their problems.

It's like praising an SAT student for scoring high when he saw all of the correct test answers in his dream. Though he didn't even bring his own pencil to the test and had to borrow it from someone, atleast he was able to correctly remember the answers and jot them down.

That has to count for something, right?
In my opinion, that something is bullshit.

After a very long time, I actually started off with liking the role Lee Jong Suk was given. I always say that he's a great actor who's sometimes given bad roles and in the beginning of this drama, I felt like after a long time he was finally given a good role again. Prosecutor Jung made mistakes, messed up and didn't feel as flawless as some of LJS's other roles. But soon, as the episodes progressed, that bubble burst for me as I saw him again mould into his typical run-of-the-mill T.V persona. I'd still say that he acted good but unlike Ji Chang Wook in Suspicious Partner, his acting alone wasn't strong enough to solely carry an otherwise flop show on its back.

Suzy was unmemorable like always. Not annoying but not standing out either and the chemistry between the couple was non-existent.

Surprisingly, the life of the show was the supporting cast. Han Da Wook; sexy and adorable detective was so precious but didn't have enough screen-time that was needed in order to develop his character to its full potential. The side story lines (consisting of 1 or 2 episodes) were so much better than the main ones. The prosecutors were all a source of bliss and some of the best acting was done by people who were there only as guest roles.

It's a shame when you feel nothing for the main characters and instead, gravitate towards the one's that are used as mere plot-lines. Unlike the protagonists, I found the antagonist to be far better developed and dimensional. Even though he was rotten to the core, he actually used his head and had some brilliant planning. He was far more intelligent than our hero and he didn't even have the advantage of knowing the future.

The OST had some good songs but because of the drab plot, I couldn't get a solid feel for them.

The show has classic Park-Hye Ryun written all over it. While You Were Sleeping is an ignored love-child of Pinnochio and I Hear Your Voice but unfortunately, is less captivating than the both of them.

To be honest, all the convenient plot-devices, medical inaccuracies and ridiculous circumstances could've been ignored if the show wasn't boring as hell.
While the last 4 episodes were the best (since Lee Jong Suk's character finally showed some growth) the rest of the show remains horribly dead.

When you don't feel a connection to either of the main guys, finishing such a dull show becomes a feat. I have to say that WYWS was literally the hardest show I've had to complete and it was only because of my utter aversion to dropping shows, that I was able to finish it.

I personally don't reccomend this drama.

Nobody should have to be the person in the jeep but if you're a fan of the casted actors and the writer, you can give it a try.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You Who Came from the Stars
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
Even though I don't understand the hype about this drama, I have to agree that this is very tight and smart drama. What I loved was Jun Ji Hyun as Chun Song Yi. She is literally deabak. Her character is one of the most out of the box female character in drama land. The narrative was extremely well done. The second half started getting annoying and sappy. The logic behind no kissing was also irritating. With such types of dramas, where one character is supernatural, I always have some kind of incomplete feeling. I had the same feeling while watching Twilight. Maybe it is just me.

The villian's character is well done. Equally creepy and scary. This drama also introduced me to Park Hye Jin. Anyways because people love it so much and I'm in the minority, I would say watch it then judge.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Go Back Couple
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
Go Back Couple is the best drama of 2017 for me. I went in with low expectations on this one, since I've read (part of) the webtoon it is based on and I thought it was awful. However, the drama manage to elevate what I consider an extremely mediocre source material into a masterpiece, and I'll have to credit both the director and the writer for producing such a wonderful piece of work. Also, all the actors did extremely well in this drama, with our two main leads putting in absolutely heart-breaking performances. Unfortunately, compared to the hype it received in South Korea, the drama didn't have exceptional ratings. It is also a little underrated in the international community.

Go Back Couple is not a drama about romance. I know that there is fervent shipping going on, but that is not the focus of the drama. Through the (unintentional) mistakes made by Jin-ju and Ban-do and their consequent regrets, the drama relays messages and lessons to us viewers about the importance of relationships and communication. It was never about whom Jin-ju will end up with, but about how they went back and became better and more understanding persons. More so than the romance, the part which tugged at my heartstrings the most was the recurring theme of parental love. The relationship between Jin-ju and her mother is extraordinary. I cannot remember the last time I cried watching a drama, not to mention the last time I cried so much watching a drama. Kim Mi-kyung and Jang Nara have exceptional mother-and-daughter chemistry. Of course, their brilliant acting also played a part.

On to acting, I must first applaud Son Ho-jun for his breakout performance. Haitai was my favourite character in Reply 94 (which I did not finish), but Son Ho-jun didn't have great luck with his subsequent projects. His character in Blow Breeze was so bland and his acting so stoic that my first reaction to his casting was "oh no". Alas, I was absolutely wrong. He was fabulous as Choi Ban-do. Many Korean netizens have commented that this character would have been ruined if it was portrayed by another actor and I do agree. I think he has the right blend of comedy and melancholy in him, especially with his soulful eyes. Next up is Jang Nara. I'm a huge fan of Jang Nara, so I'm accustomed to her acting style already. She really impressed as Ma Jin-ju though. She's well-known for being the romcom queen, but I feel she excels the most when it comes to emotional acting (still great in comedy though). Besides, the two of them have excellent chemistry (Jang Nara seems to have sparks with everyone she's act with). The two of them (and Kim Mi-kyung) made me bawl my eyes out at their scenes together. The actor who gained the most from his appearance though, is Jang Gi-yong. I think he was great as a greenhorn, and he managed his expressions really well. I'm only slightly disappointed at the scene where he's supposed to stare at Jang Nara's character lovingly, because I really didn't feel the love. Nonetheless, he had a "perfect" character to work with and I think his stock is rising fast.

I don't see big flaws with the production at all. I'll certainly be keeping an eye out on future dramas from the director and the writer. I know that some may have issues with how a certain trope was employed towards the end, but I felt that since the plot point wasn't exactly emphasised on, it didn't negatively affect the quality of the drama as a whole. I'm slightly disappointed with the ending, because I do not believe in second chances and I'm not so sure about the decision that was made on what should be retained from this "vacation". There is a fantastic (the adjective here means fantasy-like, it's not a synonym of awesome) explanation for their trip to the past, which was cute, but it takes away slightly from the realism the drama is all about.

In conclusion, this drama is an outstanding piece of work. It was slickly executed, with awesome directing, writing, and acting. I didn't give it a 10, but my heart is telling me to. I'm still torn about the rating, because there are only two 10s on my list - one is because of nostalgia, and the other because I loved the writing so much. Perhaps in the future I'll change my mind, since dramas on MDL are almost always overrated anyways.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Emergency Couple
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
Its a cute and funny medical drama. I liked the concept of second chances. Choi Jin Hyuk is hot. I liked the struggle of Oh Jin Hee and how she realized that she needed to be a doctor not because she wanted to prove something but because she wanted it. The characters of Cheon So and Ji Hye were amazing. After some episodes I was more focused on these two. I liked how the writers gave them both a realistic ending, specially Cheon So who towards the end opens up to life and love. Ji Hye was again not a typical female second lead. She was supportive and smart.

The music is not really memorable, but it has a few upbeat songs that did catch my attention. Special mention to the cute baby. After the first few episodes, the show lost its momentum. The last few episodes dragged like hell. Anyways could watch this show to see something new.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Inerasable
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
"The Inerasable"  is a reasonable combination of a classic "ghost" story with the most  realistic approach, where one tries to understand everything and the  subsequent investigation. For a while this was quite interesting. In addition, the first two minutes were really great, and a story of little effective terror in itself. The scary ones were well placed, and there were some really tense moments. The scary elements were well made, very effective and also rich in variety, with the dark creatures gave a particular highlight. Unfortunately, after a promising and effective start, the film began to exaggerate somewhat with the incursions in the past. I liked the way the movie finally ended, although it is quite typical. Overall though it has been a bit long satisfying to lovers of the genre.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Corpse Prison Part 2
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Adapting the famous manga, "Corpse Prison" is divided into two parts.
Basically what we see is a school horror with a lot of gore. For those who read the manga you may find that the adaptation is not  up to date, of course, after all the director has to restrain himself to  maintain the indicative classification.
In the plot we have the protagonists, without that crush thing where the group goes to a mountainous village and thing happens. That's where the plot of Another really begins, as some groups of  students are separated and each creates its core within the plot,  providing the viewer to know more of each of the characters.
Occultism  is the key theme, within the mythology of "Corpse Party", we have the  inclusion of some occult concepts, like Katashiro. For those who do not know, Katashiro works more or less the way the Voodoo Doll, however, it is just a cut in humanized format. In popular belief, it is believed that the doll is used as a  complement to rituals and contrary to popular belief, other materials  than paper, such as gold and metals, can be used.
What  gives one more interesting seasoning in the horror genre, it still  features several minor characters, each with its motivations and some  are well "forced" - and in fact, the one that presents more depth and  gives a nice air to the work. Highlight the cast and cinematography.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sweet Whip
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
"Sweet Whip" is an adult  thriller and drama, based on aspects of fetishism, the story though  simple is told through a very good narrative thanks to cinematography  and the movement of the cameras makes it a more dramatic film in tension  than properly the acronym of sexual, it is not known for  certain which ideology the director wanted to show which makes him  confused, restrictive and somewhat bad. In short "Sweet Whip" has a miserable but good story for a senseless movie like this.
Was this review helpful to you?
Man of Will
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
The film is based on the true story of Kim Koo, who was a Korean nationalist politician. He was a leader of the Korean independence movement and a  reunification activist after 1945. He changed his name from Kim  Chang-Soo to Kim Koo in 1912 at age 37.
Its  epic narrative is the 1890s, where a young man named Kim Chang-soo is  sent to prison for his role in the murder of a Japanese man who  participated in the murder of Empress Myeongseong. While he is late, Kim sees that the prisoners are impoverished and uneducated and he finds that most are wrongly convicted. He begins to teach them letters so they can clear their false accusations. It gradually becomes hope in prison. However, one day, Kim and his companions are assigned to a large  Japanese building site where nothing but the ordeal worse than death is  waiting for.
When  dealing with adaptation is consistent, the cinematography was  spectacular, the decade's faithful is composed of incredible details. The  cast is also great, active and present gave life to the scenes in  particular to Cho Jin-Woong considered one of the best actors of this  decade. On  its opening weekend, the movie came in third at the local box office  selling 201,279 tickets and earned $ 1.42 million increasing the total  ticket sales to 260,189 and $ 1.8 million in revenue over four days , which is a considerable milestone, so it's worth taking a look.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Lee Chaedam's G-Spot
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
"Lee Chaedam's G-Spot"  has as a differential a biography of Lee Chae-dam, which is a film that  can be considered a document that is against the trajectory of the  actress interspersed by scenes of love carried out by the same. Cinematography did a job in conjunction with the script, and by the way very well written. The movement of the cameras is subtle, a romantic soundtrack. Lee  Chaedam's "G-Spot" is not one of the worst South Korean adult movies  ever produced but arguably the best of the middle-of-the-category films.
Was this review helpful to you?
Full House
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I'm sorry to the other fans who loved this show, but this show started getting irritating after some time. The whole premise for this show is cook->clean->fight->go out of house ->fight again->leave because of second leads->other person waiting in house->make up->fight again->cook.

This whole cycle is repeated in every 2-3 episode interval. This is what gets irritating. Now for a family audience who watch this on a TV, its still ok. But for binge watching, its horrible.

What I like about this is the music which is really great specially the song "Fate". I like Song Hye Kyo and sometimes even Rain though he gets on my nerves. It feels as if kids/teenagers are running the house. I like cohabitation/marriage stories, but this show doesn't really develop any element of cohabitation stories ( e.g. sexual tension)

Anyways I could recommend this to pre-teens, and early teenagers but not to adults.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?