Write a Review More ReviewsReviews

  • Nov 10, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    BetOnMe
    25 of 26 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  9
    • Story  8
    • Acting/Cast  9
    • Music  10
    • Rewatch Value  7
    This isn't a boring remake of a cinderella type story. The plot was very refreshing but some area of the characters became predictable. I thought the music was wonderful in the drama. I would buy the soundtrack if it were for sale. The male lead was great and so was the female. The actors had great chemistry and really made this drama one of my favorites. If you are thinking about watching this, don't just watch it. You won't be disappointed. The drama is a short refreshing watch.
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Nov 12, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    Pantheria
    30 of 34 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  8
    • Story  8
    • Acting/Cast  8
    • Music  10
    • Rewatch Value  7
    Went in not expecting a whole lot but came out feeling refreshed & happy!

    Totally enjoyed this one despite having reservations about the female lead. Both Oguri Shun & Ishihara Satomi did an amazing job in this Drama.

    Rich Man Poor Woman was cute, funny, sweet & extremely endearing with a great score & OST. It's one of those Dramas that re-uses the same songs throughout & I know some may not like that but personally I feel it binds everything together thus helping maintain the mood. I think for me; that's what really made this Drama stick in my mind.

    Plenty of problems. Typical Japanese style non-romantic kisses; random jumps in the story, not really anything earth-shatteringly new either as far as story goes &
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Nov 4, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    Rourou
    15 of 16 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  8
    • Story  7
    • Acting/Cast  8
    • Music  9
    • Rewatch Value  7
    1) The reason I watched this :

    It has been a long time since I’ve seen Oguri Shun so it felt right to watch his comeback drama.

    2) Storyline/Plot:

    *Generally speaking, the storyline wasn’t that unique except the creative side.

    Positive points

    *Everything related to invention, the company or smart minds was captivating because it created a special aspect around the normal romantic comedy storyline.

    *It wasn’t dragging which made it exempt of slow moments.

    *Main genres:

    --->Romance: It belongs to the “Rich Man Poor Woman” cliche so I can’t possibly say that the romantic side was unique or special. However, that doesn’t mean it lost taste since it was interesting at some points plus it had good plot changes.
    Romance was average (+) that’s why
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Dec 10, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    PrettyCarEye
    13 of 16 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  8
    • Story  8
    • Acting/Cast  7
    • Music  6
    • Rewatch Value  4
    For me Rich Man, Poor Woman, before the 6th or 7th episode, threaded a very thin line between ‘drop or keep’. The drama was so slow to build it almost lost me, the hero was not human (as the Koreans like to say) and the heroine, though cute and well-meaning, got on my nerves with her over-the-top deferential behaviour toward a guy who was an obnoxious brute for most of the show. Yeah, I get that he's the big man on campus, and everyone's expected to kiss his (very fine) behind, but still ... I wanted to punch him every time he went off the rails at his innocent employees.

    With corporate espionage, insider trading and other back stabbings, the story picked up tremendously in the
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Sep 20, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    Flyxtoxheaven
    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  10
    • Story  10
    • Acting/Cast  9
    • Music  10
    • Rewatch Value  10
    I'm not being nice about my ranking, I literally think this is the best drama I've ever watched, Kdrama OR Jdrama.

    The story plot isn't predictable but nor is it unbelievable. It's REAL. I think that's what I like the most. The development of the characters and story captivates you and the actors and actresses portrayed those characters amazingly.

    I wasn't tempted to watch this drama by the description or the title, I was just bored but I'm so glad I did! I joined when it was on the 9th episode and literally had to stop myself screaming in frustration while waiting for the next episode. It has an addictive and completely lovable quality. I wanted to rewatch it before it was even finished and it
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Sep 17, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    Rule
    7 of 9 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  7
    • Story  8
    • Acting/Cast  8
    • Music  6
    • Rewatch Value  6
    This is the second J drama Ive seen as Im basically a K drama fan and I was sort of inbetween dramas.
    This is certainly a watchable and cute drama. The story is nice and the acting is good, especially the main guy.
    Its a romantic comedy about an eccentric man and a simple hardworking girl, although its not something to go all ga ga for, its quite watchable enjoyable and addicting. The ending is cute and the fact that it has 11 episodes is welcome as some korean dramas tend to drag on and get boring in the end.
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Sep 21, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    heimei
    9 of 11 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  10
    • Story  10
    • Acting/Cast  10
    • Music  10
    • Rewatch Value  10
    As the title says, it'll give you an impression that it'll gonna be your typical love story about a rich man and poor woman (or vice versa) that fall in love each other fighting for each others love from other people who opposes their relationship, blah blah..
    Well.. IT"S NOT!! It's very different! It's not only a love story but a story of friendship and betrayal, inspiration and confusion, success and failure. The story hooks you up and keep you looking forward on what will happen next.

    I love the cast!! Their acting is really great! They really portrayed their roles very well makes you think that they are not acting at all.. haha!! :D

    And the theme song, it's very fitting for the drama and
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Sep 24, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    Sandrose
    10 of 13 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  8
    • Story  7
    • Acting/Cast  9
    • Music  5
    • Rewatch Value  7
    The hottest romcommy story from Japan this season...I had and still have a few gripes with it and at first dropped it but then returned to it and want to give it some justice. I kept criticising it earlier a lot..but this is what emerged from my analysis in the end.

    I like Beowulf (see Amrita's article if you're confused as to what Beowulf has to do with anything) and long reviews, so it is going to be another long one from me.

    tl:dr?
    Rich Man poor woman ends up being a trendy romcom, with some gimmicks that create a sense of freshness. It nonetheless feels very real. It is a modern romcom for a modern viewer, served in an attractive package. So after some reflection,
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Oct 2, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    amrita828
    19 of 29 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  6
    • Story  6
    • Acting/Cast  9
    • Music  8
    • Rewatch Value  4
    It's clear I'm treading on dangerous ground here, with a review which won't be generally agreed upon. Not that it has to be, but the fact that so many among the people I value the opinion of, found this drama very good, makes me ponder over my taste and choices. I've read and re-read every review, I've thought the whole drama over and I have tried to find it charming but I failed.
    No matter how hard I tried, I didn't like it and I don't know why it encountered such a success.

    I have problems with the plot, the characters and the ultimate meaning of this drama.

    I found the plot highly un-original. Change a couple of names and the setting, and you're left with
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Oct 26, 2012 11 of 11 episodes seen
    Aspyre
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  8
    • Story  8
    • Acting/Cast  9
    • Music  7
    • Rewatch Value  6
    Don't let the title kill your urge to watch this. It's not as bad as I thought it would be, honest.

    From what I gathered, this piece teaches folks of different values: friendship, attachment and above all, will to be a hard worker not only for yourself, but for the benefit of the world you live in. This is my first drama with Oguri Shun in it, and I thought he acted well. Other characters haven't made much of an impression, be it a few times when they felt too plastic, or just the lack of what had to be said. This, this damn show will make you frustrated, giddy and partially obsessed. Probably because you'll be skidding through the episodes like a madman, wanting to
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful

Error

Rich Man, Poor Woman

Rich Man, Poor Woman

Title

  • Main Title: Rich Man, Poor Woman
  • Native title: リッチマン、プアウーマン
  • Also Known as: Ricchiman Puauman

General Details

  • CountryJapan
    TypeDrama
    NetworkFuji TV
  • Aired: July 9, 2012 to September 17, 2012
  • Airs On: Monday
  • # of Episodes 11
    Average Duration 46 min. per episode
  • Genres: Comedy, Romance

Statistics

  • Score: 8.27 (scored by 4,708 users)
  • Ranked: #116
  • Popularity: #2
  • Members: 7,713
  • Favorites: 0
4.1 stars - based on 4,708 votes

Recently watched by