If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Episode 1
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago

42 mins in and I had to stop and say the incessantly…

42 mins in and I had to stop and say the incessantly whiny voice of So Ah's work partner is extremely annoying. I'm not sure how long I can stand him till I bin this one.  Considering I haven't given up on a drama yet this is a big thing for me!
Was this review helpful to you?
Episode 8
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago

Five Stars

Awesome episode.

I love the OST. The song is perfect in the scenes it plays in.

Storyline is amazing. I'm loving this so much.

LJS's and Suzy's crazy moments add so much to the drama.

That preview though - I'm just ready to time skip to next week just to see it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Episode 37
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago

Spoilers Ahead: Li'er Rescues The Lost…

Spoilers Ahead: Li'er Rescues The Lost Emperor

We open to General Meng and Li who are discussing their predicament: the emperor is missing but if they send out search parties it will alert the enemy.  So they send for the one person who can be counted upon no matter what.

If you thought it was Han, you are wrong.
Li'er returns, because, she explains, once she heard about the missing emperor she couldn't not come.  And the two men present agree that Li'er is the best person to find him.  

Literally in the next scene she has found him.  Li'er tracks down the king, they take refuge in the cave nearby, and a series of sentimental scenes follow.  Essentially the emperor is beside himself with joy that she has returned to him, and is astounded because he thought she was gone forever (most people would leave after what he did) but she said she was too worried for him.  

Li'er proceeds to explain the predicament his army is in, and he immediately reacts with anger towards his generals for hesitating to attack because he was lost (really?? he's the king! he controls everything! there is no one to fall back on if he dies!)(I also think he would be mad if they went ahead and attacked)  She lectures him for his quick temper and begs him to promise to not punish his men because they care about him after sending a messenger bird (that she had stored away somewhere) to go ahead and attack after he gives the okay

He is noncommital, which is consistent.  Instead he focuses on her and how happy he is to be with her.

Meanwhile, Prince Yan listens to his advisor as they discuss the war--Yan thinks it is weird that the emperor is attacking the always loyal Han.  But his advisor implores him to think about Zheng's personality--he can make up any reason to attack (implying he is a tyrant) and loyalty does not matter when it is a barrier to his desire to conquer the world (true).  He tells him the only way they can survive is if they kill him (also true).

Meanwhile...

Li'er and the emperor manage to get new clothes and are travelling as a regular man and wife.  They arrive at the city that will soon be attacked by Qin and manage to stay with a kind female merchant.  Over dinner she shares her heartbreaking story: that Qin has taken her whole family from her and that it is an evil country.  Li'er listens empathetically.

Zheng defends the king and gently tells her that the king wants to unite everyone.  In his typical fashion of I know what's best.  Naturally this triggers the old woman (because Zheng is arguably the most selfish guy in this narrative) who wonders if he wants a kingdom of corpses (basically).

The next day Zheng learns that Li'er is pregnant, and has been since he imprisoned her, but she kept it to herself because she didn't think he would believe her.  He is incredibly happy and promises her that he will quickly unify the nations and make a self world for her, Tian Ming, and their new son.  What a loving father.

His men show up, and his identity is revealed to the old woman who is literally stunned and shocked that he is the king of Qin.  In typical Zheng fashion, the emperor promises to give her anything to make her happy.  He still doesn't understand that some things can never be fixed, and the old woman says she wants his life and grabs a sword.  General Meng kills her to protect the king, and then the king screams, why did you kill her?  Well...he was trying to protect him...

(Honestly I think he only cares because Li'er is there).

The old woman dies in her arms, and Li'er tells him that as much as she supports his dream of peace and unity, she doesn't think all this death is worth it and he vehemently disagrees.

End episode

Thoughts:
First, I need to go back and watch the episodes 25-36.
BUT I think Li'er and the emperor are like those two people you know who constantly break up and make up, who are toxic for each other, but love each other.  She is a weakness of his, and he doesn't know how to love someone in a healthy way so he hurts her, and she can't make peace with the fact that he is an awful person, and can't seem to really accept that he is not going to change.  Which makes her upset.  

I also think they gloss over some things that normally most people would address.  Like they make up too quickly, but that could be because they have an unhealthy relationship and are both fairly fickle people or it could be bad writing.  Who knows.  I am becoming a bit impatient with the make up-break up writing.  For him, it makes sense, but her character, I think she really needs to just let go of some things IF she wants to he happy with him because he is NEVER going to change.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Request for Season 3 Episode 13
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago

Request for Season 3

I loved the final episode, however I was hurt by the way P'Bright and Farms relationship ended.  I  wish I could read the novel here in America, I love books and I love to read. Regarding Farm all I saw at the end was the pain, hurt, and anger that he now has whenever he see's P'Bright, and Farm is now hurting other people the way he was hurt by one he loved and cherished P'Bright.  Hoping for another with this entire cast especially Cho. I want to see YiHwa and Cho story. Excellent job by everyone.  The series had great run.  Thanks so much.  Season 3 please.  Laters ????
Was this review helpful to you?
17 days ago

Adorable Hotaru, go go!

Screw everything I said in episode 1 (although still hold true).
This drama is soo cute. Hotaru is too cute. Manager being manager-san is too old man kind of cute. Teshima is still meh guy but whatever on him.

The whole mail thing was cute, bubbly, funny and definitely interesting. It's cool that Hotaru knows how to act in public. I mean, for real, if anyone acts the way she does in public, all of us will have Manager-like reaction. It's annoying. The fact that she kept those to her private life... it makes her 100x adorable.

I prefer her and Manager-san. Maybe that's what it'll be at the end but since it's still Teshima at the moment, wish he could be a fodder for her growth. Haha, that's a little cruel of me.

Point is, whatever prejudice I have on first episode, this episode washes it all away. Manager is still mean with his judgment but how can he not? ^^"

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Go, Go, Hotaru! Episode 1
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago

Go, Go, Hotaru!

I love how they introduced the main character, Amemiya Hotaru. The actress looked really comfy with her situation and that's cool since she's supposed to be. I watched this show as a kid (not that I remember much of it) and I remember finding her funny. Now, not so much. Hotaru is a woman, despite how she may act at home. She may be a messy human being, but that doesn't make her any less a woman.
I rewatch this because I forgot how it ends, I genuinely hope this doesn't turn into one of those change to be the perfect woman just for a guy kinda story. (Or is it?)
The manager is great in my opinion. His surprise makes sense, and though I hate that last comment a huge lot, it's understandable coming from him. Doesn't make it any less cruel though. He could have just said things like "her behaviour is not his type" or that he's unlikely to fall for her but instead, he said that.
I like him more than that Teshima person though. Teshima is the too bold kinda guy that a lot of Japanese girls fantasize but if he's real, then he's pretty much the jerk of real-life men.

I absolutely love that contract and her expression when she gave her manager to read it. Hotaru's not an idiot, she knew that it's not a valid contract, but that mischief is incredibly satisfying to her. In a way, it's childish, but that's her charm :3
Personally, as the manager, I would just call the police :'D

All in all, it was a fun, satisfying and slightly irritating (in a good way, assuming scriptwriters purposely wants us to feel that way) episode. ^^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Episode 1
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago

For a first episode, it's really interesting.…

For a first episode, it's really interesting. It drags you into curiosity, tells you a bit of each characters, yet there's so many things to know and learn about. It seems that it doesn't just envolve the story of the main characters, but everyone in school.
Was this review helpful to you?
18 days ago

What an emotional rollercoaster!

I'm so sad to say goodbye to the gang, I absolutely love them! I will definitely rewatch this drama to reunite with them.
This drama ended nicely that got me so emotional. I cried a lot in this episode.
This is the kind of drama that will always have a special place in your heart. Goodbye, Ssangmun-dong!
Was this review helpful to you?

I've never cried on the 1st episode in any drama - until I watched this.

At first I found it reallyyy boring but the little funny jokes saved me. I was confused if I had to continue watching the next episodes because I couldn't stand the very long duration but then.. I cried. I think it's the only drama that could make me cry on the first episode and so I decided to watch the other episodes and thank God I did!
This episode told us the background of each character and what 1988 there was like, I think it was a good start for this drama.
Was this review helpful to you?

How could they lock someone up inside a coffin?!

These cazy, stupid kids. How could they lock someone up  inside a coffin?! Srsly who would even think that someone is inside a coffin in a storage room?! He  could've died  cruelty! That was really scary when I imagined the feeling...
Was this review helpful to you?
Episode 15
0 people found this review helpful
21 days ago

Five Stars

Best quote of this episode: "People shine and be their true selves when they are at the place they belong" - Grandfather
I like how this drama depict a couple saying goodbye. It was consensual decision. She waited for him to tell her himself and supported his decision, knowing that it may be the last time they see each other. I like how they admire and respect each other. Korean dramas usually use the noble idiocy troupe but this drama is really different, in a really... good way. They are mature adults who chose to follow the path that is meant for them. It was actually the best breakup scene for me. Actually, Yeon Kyung didn't use the term break up... She said, "Let's go separate ways now."  The meaning is basically the same but the context is different. A breakup means ending a relationship, while separating means you're only living apart. I want to thank the translators for using the right term for this one. Whatever the ending is, though I'm still hoping for a happy one, I'll accept it, as long as it's a good one. A good ending doesn't necessarily mean it's a happy one, as long as it gives us the closure we need. I will greatly miss you drama...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Episode 5
0 people found this review helpful
22 days ago

This episode was amazing. It highlighted the…

This episode was amazing. It highlighted the entire drama.

There was so many things happening in this episode. One moment its comedy, another moment its heartbreaking scene. But it never looses you. Your following it, laughing and crying as you go.
This episode made me love this drama even more.  This was the 'it' episode for me.
From the many things that happened this struck out to me more.  In the beginning its Jung hee trying to show her father that she is equal to her brother. It's something that in that time - 1979 even before and after 1990 - people only thought that boys are what the family needs. Girls will marry off to a different family and you need a boy to continue the family line. By that time - 1979- girls were trying to change that thought process. And I love that about this drama. Especially how it's shown in this episode.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Episode 3
0 people found this review helpful
23 days ago

Five Stars

Lee Jong Suk once again proved that he never makes mistakes in selecting dramas. Bae Suzy's acting has improved a lot. You should give this drama a shot and I am sure that you will really enjoy watching it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Great start Episode 1
1 people found this review helpful
23 days ago

Great start

It's really great. The cinematography, the OST and the acting. First episode is off to a great start.
Was this review helpful to you?
Episode 1
0 people found this review helpful
23 days ago

Five Stars

It's a really good one for a first one! it's gonna be hard for them to keep the level for the next ones!
Was this review helpful to you?