Two Cops (2017) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.8 (scored by 2,373 users)
  • Ranked: #1671
  • Popularity: #583
  • Watchers: 6,328

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

18 edits
11 edits
7 edits
6 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
REI
10 people found this review helpful
Jan 17, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Let me start with saying that this drama had one of the best bromances ever!
In the beginning I wasn't sure if I should start watching this drama but I decided to give it shot because of the cast and because I really enjoy watching detective dramas, though this drama wasn't the best out there it definitely didn't disappoint me.

STORY: The story wasn't anything new or magnificent but the "two-souls-in-one-body" thing brought some fresh air to the story.
 The thing that I disliked the most was that the story became a little draggy and boring  in the middle and I was actually thinking about dropping the drama but it got so much better towards the end.
The thing that I liked was the comedy and humor in the drama, I loved how the thungs and the cops were friends and helped each other out.

ACTING\CAST: I loved the acting in this drama, except for Hyeri but I don't think it was the acting that I didn't like it was the character that she portrayed. I loved the casting, especially the two male leads, they fit their roles perfectly. Kim Sun Ho is a newbie in the kdramaland but  his acting is really good and the same thing goes for Hoya.  Jo Jung Suk can have chemistry with a potato so that wasn't the problem here but I liked the chemistry between the second couple more.
It was the first time I ever saw Im Se Mi in a drama and I really like her now.

BROMANCE: I'm a sucker for some good BROMANCE and this drama didn't disappoint. It was that kind of "Hate-to-Love" bromance between a conman and a detective. Their interactions were super funny to watch and as partners, they were perfect for one another. Gong Soo Chang became like one of my favourite charactesr ever.
 
ROMANCE: There wasn't that much romance in this drama. I didn't really care about the main couple they were kinda ordinary but the second couple is what I totally loved, they were so cute together. So don't worry romance lovers!

MUSIC: The music was pretty good, I liked all of the OSTs, they  fit the drama  well. The music  wasn't annoying or distracting, I liked how this one melody\sound started playing everytime something exciting  was about to happen.

REWATCH VALUE: I would definitely rewatch this after some time, when I forget what exactly happened in the drama. One of the reasons for rewatching would have to be the bromance and the romantic relationship between the two supporting characters.

Overall, if you are looking for something with good bromance, you should definitely watch Two Cops!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
6 people found this review helpful
Jan 17, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 3.0
Story 3.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 3.0
Probably the only thing I enjoed about this drama was the character changing his personality. So, I guess the performances from both male leads. That said, the female lead's performances wasn't that bad either, as some may point out. I wasn't really annoyed by her and for me, she added something interesting to the plot. Now, the plot. It was okay at first. However, the big mystery was not strong enough to hold the interest high throughout the drama. Which is unfortunate because otherwise it was okay. So, because it really got boring after episode 16, 3 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MitiKars
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 18, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 3.5
l love Jo Jung Suk and Hyeri and looked forward to seeing them acting together. I was hoping this will be one of the best dramas of the year, but it was utterly disappointing. I will do not comment on Hyeri's acting or a casting choice and the romance between two leads, a lot has been said about it already. For me, the biggest downside was the plot, which was completely illogical (partially might be due to the poor translation) and unbelievable. Without going in too much details - this show led me to believe that you can do whatever in Korea, Police officers are really stupid. You can basically kill someone and you cannot be arrested due to the circumstantial evidence, there are no such things like proper CSI work. If there is evidence like video recording or DNA it will disappear and the Police will not think to investigate further or at least protect it next time.  Killings will be classed as suicides, bosses are corrupted and basically psychopaths going into great lengths to cover something. People cannot remember where they were or what they have done and are  not having basic information about the case which they are working on.  The important evidence is being forgotten for about half of the series, experienced detective Jo Jung Suk does not have basic details like height or weight of the suspect and does not share essential information about the main culprit with Song Ji An because it might "hurt her", which puts her at risk as she continues to meet him. Do not let me even start about the prosecutor office - especially the way how the cases are handled and buried. The prosecutor would have lost his job immediately for withholding information instead of being promoted.
Good bits! I really liked Kong Soo Chang character and the bromance with Cha Dong Tak, I was wondering if they are going to kiss in the end :) which would be much more interesting than a relationship with Song Ji An. I hope to see Kim Sun Ho in other roles. I also liked Cha Dong Tak character, however not sure if someone like that could have existed in the real world.
Overall, this is not really a rom - com if people are looking for it, it is more of a crime comedy, but with the plot much simpler than in the "Voice" and "Black" although there are some similarities. I would not recommend it if you are not a fan of Jo Jung Suk and Hyeri and if you like logical and believable plot.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
zeus109
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 17, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 2.0
So after 32 episodes this show came to a end let me first of all start with this, its one of the most boring and long dragging show i ever watched so far.  It seems like even the director and the writer lost their touch about this show. The main problem with this show is that it should have been quicker with the plot more progress should have been better. Another point i wanna mention is why they did not split the story in 2 the first 16 episodes should have been about character development. And also about discovering the enemy and the remain 16 episodes is about chasing that enemy and maybe then maybe. You would have one of the best winter drama of the year and also the main couple was weird. I never got into their so called romance cause for me it was awkward and sometimes even fake. I think perhaps it is because the age gap between those two actors but nevertheless. It was better if they found another actor which age difference would have been 2 or 3 maybe then it would worked out. And as last to mention is that i found the actress becoming more and more distracting every time she showed up. I think this show was a little much to handle. Jo Jung-suk was the only one who really carried this show another actor i don't think so.  Even tho this show as boring as hell its has one of the best Ost for the winter but nothing more the offer.  For me it gonna be a 5.5 outta 10 i am never ever gonna watch this show again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
mediaklan
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 4, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers

Villains aren't what they used to be

There's at least one requirement for a villain to be good at his villain's job : it's to be a clever villain - or at the very least - a villain smart enough to give the good guy a run for his money. So when a villain cut clean the breaks wire from a car (in a foolish attempt to make the car 'accident' that results to pass as a suicide), that already tells you a lot about the smarts of the said villain. But when this one CONVENIENTLY drops something personal that he had bring with himself (oO') when he's trying to murder someone with a knife (--')... in a police station (><') ... then I have only one last advice for him :
Please stop being a villain.
Seriously, drop it (lame pun intented). Try sewing. Or anything else. Honestly.
And that already resumes part of the show : with these few mistakes that happened quite early in the 1st episodes, there's not so much for the actors to save the drama from its shortcomings. But somehow, that's exactly where the few merits of this drama can be found. Midway, you end up more interested by the relationships between the characters than the story by itself, the issue being that without a stronger setting to backup these relations, it's quite a challenge to keep up the viewers interest. Still, on its way to the ending, there's some valuable twists and scripts progress that could satisfy anyone not expecting too much from this show, as long as the characters don't make you cringe.
But I still think you should reserved this show for a moment you really have nothing more enjoyable to watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xXabsintheXx
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 11, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I'll try to keep it short, since there is not that much to mention anyway. But I still want to explain why this drama failed to impress me, even though Jo Jung Suk was the leading man.

I love Jo Jung Suk's acting ever since King2Hearts. There's no denying that he can pull off a far fetching diversity of characters and he will always be one big reason for me to pick a drama. That's why I watched Two Cops, although opinions were definitely not in favor. But as you can see with my rating, the drama still managed to disappoint me big time.

 First though, let me tell you what I liked about it (since the list won't be long):

The bromance between Soo Chang (KSH) and Dong Tak (JJS) was blooming slowly, but once they accepted each other, they had some really nice moments together. Chemistry was there and at some point I was even sad that they didn't have more scenes together. There was still a lot of possibilities that could have been used to deepen their bond more.

The criminal sidekicks who were supporting our leads. I loved their scenes and their antics, because it was funny but not exaggerating. Especially the thug leader (Lee Shi Eon) grew on me, as well as the female pickpocket. I enjoyed her story (including her love line) and her attitude towards certain police officers.

One of the bigger villains (played by Lee Jae Won) had an equally interesting part in the drama. His character and the actor's performance made me care for his story, what was all I needed. The main villains were not outstanding, they remained somewhat stereotype-y, but they were still good and their evilness was convincing.

But what I didn't like:

First of all the romance. Seriously, they could have done without it. Zero chemistry between the leads, instead their scenes took away important time that could have been used on the case. Furthermore Hyeri. I haven't seen much with her yet, but this drama definitely didn't make me want to watch something else with her either. Not only was her character annoying, but also the acting didn't reach me even once. Her kisses with the main lead were actually good, but since I didn't care for the romance at all, their "passion" was a waste of time altogether. And another point that made me wince even more was that JJS's character felt all grown up while the female lead acted like a nosy, clueless brat.

Then there was this confusing point about the Korean law here. Most of the crime dramas I watched until now, were always telling me that relatives are not allowed to investigate or prosecute family members. This drama kind of threw that rule over? It's not the only drama with that kind of law display but it made me wonder again...

I was not able to build a bond with the good guys aka the police squad the lead was part of. The characters were average at best. Nobody stood out, it was your usual bunch of lousy officers, one of them rather a model than a law enforcer who did his bit to make the team look like a joke even more. Especially regarding the main case. This one could have been solved so much faster but since the drama wanted to extent the hunt and because their way of investigation had a lot of nonsensical turns, it took them quite a while to assemble the puzzle. And only at the very end they seemed to have gotten some intelligence input, so they were able to create a plan to catch the bad buys. (I do admit that I was a bit surprised about the actual truth that was revealed at the far end)

One of the major flaws in my eyes was how they used their possibilities regarding the core point of the drama. Soo Chang was a ghost and not bound to anything. He was free to go anywhere without being held back by some kind of ghost rule. Therefore he could have listened in to so many suspicious people. He was rather clueless in the beginning (he annoyed the hell out of me) and he was more interested in chasing his useless love interest instead of finding a way to go back to his normal self. Only later on when he got closer to Dong Tak and after he had fixated his mind on catching the culprits, he became a little smarter and grew on me.

The overall construction of story telling was very slow and draggy. Even the finale didn't speed up but was acted out rather calmly. It's such a shame for the drama, it could have been so much better. Miscast, a script with lacking suspense, superficial characters and wasted opportunities put this drama in the lower ranks of crime shows.

Recommending? Well, rather not. Only if you're a hardcore Jo Jung Suk and bromance fan.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
hobiwankanobi
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 20, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
Initially I watched the drama because of Hyeri and Hoya but I ended up really loving the two main characters playing the cops' Dong Tak and Soo Chan! honestly, their friendship could have been better developed as the ending was quite abrupt. Also, I usually like Hayer's acting but I felt her character didn't really add to much of the show. But the comedy in this show was really well developed. I also thought the relationship between Dok Gi and Bong Sook was really cute but again it felt like the story just wasn't developed well enough. Definitely recommended to watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kyuhyun Suju
0 people found this review helpful
Feb 15, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
When I first saw the promotion for this drama, it didn't catch my attention. After all there are tons of legal and police dramas out there.
But I started it two weeks after it finished airing and was not disappointed.

The storyline is interesting and original in the sense that it uses mechanics we are familiar with but in an original way. Lately fantastic dramas are all the rage and of course, we have all seen dramas where bodies are switched (Secret Garden and Oh my Ghost with Jo Jeon-Seok himself !). But here, switching bodies adds to the personal story of the characters (their fate) and allows to unlock tricky situations in the police part of the drama.

I love how the love story is not prevalent but blends naturally with everything. The plot is well construed even if there are some inconsistencies.

The only drawback is the music which is really forgettable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rren03
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 1, 2018
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
When  I started watching this, I became more curious of how this story is going to end. It didnt disappoint me for some reason because of the brotherhood of the two leading roles Soo Chan and Dong Tak. Their different personalities make the funny and furious moments although there were some romantic touch but I was more touch than the friendship between two men. And I also notice Ko Bong the beautiful pickpocketer and her partner the detectice (I cant remember his name) to be so cute couple... although they have some short scenes, I found them so noticeable. And also I found Prosecutor Tak to be so hot... uhm so cute and serious type... good film, nice atmosphere, nice story and one last thing that I remember was "forever partners".

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?