Avengers Social Club

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.9 (scored by 2,118 users)
  • Ranked: #71
  • Popularity: #608
  • Watchers: 4,815

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

14 edits
14 edits
13 edits
8 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
yankumicho
24 people found this review helpful
Nov 20, 2017
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It's always something when strong women take over your screen, and it's happening a lot nowadays. What makes Avenger's Social Club stand apart is the fact that it focuses on strong women who are not 20-somethings trying to take on the world. Instead, it puts well-established women in the spotlight as if to say, damn it, we can change the world too.

Some might argue this, and that's fine, but as I watched ASC, I admired what I felt was a tightly-written narrative about three women who decided to take a stand in a world that would otherwise tell them to sit down, shut up, keep up appearances, and melt in with the masses. Thus, while ASG is a comedy (and it is incredibly funny), it is also a wonderful social commentary about sticking one's head out, taking a risk, and bringing down corruption.

I can't say enough about the cast, in particular, our three women protagonists, played by Lee Yo Won, Ra Mi Ran, and Myung Se Bin. Their sisterly chemistry is off the charts, and it truly shows in how they interact with each other despite being from different backgrounds. In fact, that might be one of my favorite aspects of this ensemble--the fact that three women of three distinct backgrounds were able (in drama transcript) to rally together. It's something not often seen in dramas. Lee Yo Won as Kim Jung Hye is incredible; one might find her a slight bit rough around the edges at first, but later, she shows amazing gusto with effortless poise. Ra Mi Ran is great as the neighborhood ahjumma with great charisma and an even greater heart; her bond with the two younger women is beautiful. Myung Se Bin does well with her character as well, and her observable growth in the show is great.

Revenge is sweet, of course, and is always better when accompanied by nice background music that adds details to every plan and playful mischievousness to every new revenge-filled  venture. In this, the ASC OST shined.

I'm definitely going to watch this again, even if it's just to hear Jung Hye say, "You son of a b****~" once again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
iamgeralddd
13 people found this review helpful
Nov 20, 2017
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Another girls' friendship drama i love! i might say, this is unexpectedly adorable and beautifully executed until the very end.

These three ahjummas and a country schoolboy who are originally strangers, randomly meet and start a revenge a club. This is quite an unusual plot in dramas history. The second episode got me hooked already, until the very last revenge! I love our Bokja club members: Madam Jung Hye with her cheap food addiction, Dong Hee unnie with her braveness, Mi Sook unnie with her elegance & patience, and Soo Gyum with his smart brain (lol i bet the helpless ahjumma will get the revenge nowhere without him).  I would really love to join their club if i could! Even the bad guys are actually hard to despise. Every revenge plan is really fun to watch (with ahjumma's way, of course), some might fail but some other succeed. But in the end our heros always win!

My only dissapointment is that they don't include Soo Gyum in that poster (oh God, why?) eventhough he's the main member of Bokja club.

Well-spent 12 episodes and every minute is worthed. One of the best dramas in 2017. So if you're hesitating, go watch this now! Enjoy the fun ride. You'll laugh with their silliness and you might also cry while you're on it. For me it's 10/10. Bokja Club, hwaiting!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
totoro
7 people found this review helpful
Nov 20, 2017
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
wow, what a ride! I'll definitely miss seeing our Bok Ja Club members every week :')

Avengers Social Club is an excellent drama that perfectly blends comedy and revenge. we get some awesome character development as we see our four avengers scheme how to take down each of their enemies. the villains were very well-written and I like how this drama wasn't like a regular makjang drama that just mixes a bunch of drama and revenge; ASC actually took their revenge plans to the next level.

the cast is on point. this was my first time officially watching Lee Yo Won and I absolutely loved her acting and portrayal of Jung Hye (I also loved seeing her outfits. so classy). it was also my first time seeing Myung Se Bin and I liked seeing how her character slowly gained confidence. this was Jun's first drama role and he totally nailed it. I hope he picks up more roles because this guy's a natural. as usual, Ra Mi Ran shone and there were quite a few scenes that had me rotfl xD

this drama is 12 episodes long (could've easily been a 16 ep drama --> thirsty for more xD), so it's an excellent drama to binge. if you haven't watched this drama yet, make sure to check it out asap... also, you're very lucky that all the eps are already aired and subbed; I was dying every week waiting for the eps to be subbed (they were usually subbed at least 3 days after the eps aired. rip me).

overall, a very satisfying drama. held back from a 10 because I'm stingy with those and ASC didn't leave a particularly big impact on me. now the real question: where to find a Bok Ja club??

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AnanyaS
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 20, 2017
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
Never would have I imagined that a drama about taking revenge could be this fun!

I simply started this drama on a whim, this was never originally on my PTW. But I'm so glad that I decided to watch it, because otherwise I would have missed out on such an epic drama.
Why you should give this a chance?

- One of the reasons I was hesitating watching this drama was because I thought it would be too "serious" for me. But like I said, it turned out to be really fun. There's still an underlying tone of seriousness, which is important for the show, mainly because it deals with subjects like infidelity, bullying, domestic violence etc. However, instead of having the dark, sombre energy that I first expected going into this series, this has more of a vibrant energy. Which might be easier for viewers to get into.

- The main characters: 3 strong women, and 1 country boy.
Jung Hye is a chaebol daughter, who is a straightforward and composed woman. Yet there's this vulnerability and innocence about her.
Mi Sook is a calm and subdued housewife, whose husband is a famous professor. She's probably the most rational one amongst all the other members, and never lets them go overboard with their revenge.
Hong Do is the eldest member of the Bok Ja club. She is the most courageous one amongst all the other members. She' always takes care of the other members, like her own family.
Soo Byum is the maknae of the group. Through various circumstances, he later on joins in the club too.

- The sismance is so strong here! Despite the fact that they have completely different personalities, they become a family together. They cheer each other on, they rely on each other, they support each other. Their relationship is one of, if not, the best thing about this drama. The Bokja Club unnies have become my favorite sismance!

- This drama is #SQUAD-GOALS! Although these four people met randomly, they had crazy good chemistry with each other. I loved how well they worked together. Each had their specefic roles. The witty one, the courageous one, the reliable one, and the straightforward one. Together, they formed one of the best squads I have seen in a drama. They came up with so unique, interesting and just plain awesome ideas to take revenge. I loved this squad!

- There's even a minor bromance going on with Hee Soo & Soo Byum, which I found adorable. And there are hints of romance speckled in too, just in case you were wondering.

If you're like me and for some reason hesitating to watch this drama, my advise to you is- give it a go. You never know, you might just come to love this like I did. I personally think this is one of those dramas that you shouldn't pass off.  So I hope you give this drama a chance! Happy Watching!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jeana
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 23, 2017
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
They say: revenge is a dish best served cold, what they don't tell you is that it is even better when it is served by three badass women who have a bone to pick.

Everybody knows I love my drama boys but sometimes you just need good ol' girl power to get you going.

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned and Avengers social club brings you three furious women who've been scorned enough.
Jung Hye, an heiress who has had to put up with ten years of empty marriage, being constantly overlooked as a decoration piece that has no say whatsoever in important matters; Hong Do Hee, a fish-selling single mother who has had to deal with her children being bullied and facing constant contempt because of her poverty and Lee Mi Sook a perfect wife who has had to suffer domestic violence and humiliation on the hands of her husband.

But when you get tired of all the agony, what do you do? You take revenge.
And this brings us a show about how three women band together to stand up for themselves against society conventions, domineering men, stuck-up bitches and anyone who thinks that a middle-aged ahjumma is easy to run down.

However, two is better than three and three is better than four. And the fourth member in this perfectly mismatched group is Jung Hye's smart and compassionate step-son. Just a highschooler who has been constantly abused and used by his parents, he's taking it no more.

And so these four beautiful individuals form the infamous Bokja Club, ready to turn the tables on every bastard that did them wrong.

Avengers Social Club is an excellent drama. Together with genuinely heart-touching moments and high class comedy, it comes out as a quality show that has you totally invested.

The best thing about the drama is the character development. All these people grow together as friends, forming a permanent bond and excellent chemistry, while simultaneously growing strong as individuals. By the end of the show there's not a single person in the drama that doesn't change or grow.
The three women come into their own, embrace the power wihin and their journey is simply heart-warming to watch.

The cheeky instrumental soundtrack makes the hilarious antics of the Bokja Club all the more enjoyable. The drama is beautifully written, shining a light on society's serious issues all the while mainting a constant sense of humor.

All the revenge schemes are realistic and you find yourself whole-heartedly cheering the members on. Even the antagonists, not the brightest bulbs in the kitchen, bring a lot of mirth to the table.
This is a show that gives you pure joy and fills your heart with warmth.

Empowering women, the power of friendship and the message that it is never too late to take a stand; the drama comes with its fair share of unadulterated goodness.

With Avenger Social Club, revenge has never before tasted so sweet.

A must-watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jinee
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 27, 2017
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Avengers Social Clubs is one of those tv shows to watch when you want to see women taking charge of their lives, and valuing their self-respect instead of  the stereotypical catfighting over a no-good man that is not worth the drama. The main themes are friendship (mostly female), justice,  different forms of abuse regardless of generations, corruption and bribery,  family secrets, amongst other things. Many touchy topics were addressed, which I found extremely refreshing and brave.

All the main characters were interesting and well played. My favorite were Jung Hye and Soo Gyum, who were not supposed to get along given the circumstances but actually grew to heart each other. My only regret is the lack of balance of "good" and "bad" people,  there is some sort of gendered greatness. 80% of the good people were female, 20% male. The vast majority of "trashy people" were males. I hope you girls won't dislike me for this, but although I am a woman who 100% support women, these dynamics didn't make the show realistic. However Soo Gyum almost made up for this imbalance, he was a pleasant surprise.

Either way, it was very enjoyable, and the humor was unexpected. I assumed it would be dark from beginning to end, but caught myself laughing out loud a lot of times.  Thank you tVN for yet another good production!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
princessofsummer
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 26, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Who says women can't be friends?

At a time where bromance are portrayed desirably in dramas and films, this 12-episode drama, whose main characters are ahjummas who originally banded together towards a common goal and soon found lifelong friendship in each other, is such a rarity. Hell, even in reality, sisterhood is a rare find.

Put aside the extremities of their economic status, these actresses are playing real, complicated, women. Middle-aged women who have not known any other life than being a mother or a housewife. Women who has been subjected to mistreatment so frequently, they accepted it as fate. Almost. Because they've learned to say enough is enough.

But, you ask, and understandably so, what can these ahjummas do to change their fate?

Well, you know what they say, hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. But no need to be that dramatic - of course, it should be done within legal boundaries, and, of course, without anyone being hurt. So, really, this is not your typical story of witches whose vindictive machinations were summoned when pushed to the brink. This is an adorable, heartwarming tale of ahjummas who met under not-so-funny circumstances and who only wanted to have revenge on people who constantly belittles them without breaking the social strata but, with the help of a 19-yr old boy, learned how to value themselves and see their own worth. And, in the process, have found not only friendship but family in each other.

And what better poetic justice than that?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
stolcci
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 30, 2017
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
Avengers Social Club: The drama you think you won't need but you'll look for more, crave for more once you started it.

Revenge dramas has been a household staple of dramas ever since. It's difficult to thread the waters of the typical and cliche. But, ASC, didn't swam through those waters. They flew right above it. They made the sky their mold. ASC broke all the conventions of revenge dramas. I won't even dare say this is a revenge drama after finishing it.

The first outstanding part of this drama is the story. Yes, the plot might sound albeit funny and unusual but that's what makes this drama great. Almost none is left out of hand. Every event is cohesive and is connected. The story helps the characters develop whilst gaining interest. The drama also tackles societal issues without being too exhausting or overbearing. It's truthful on it's characters and on it's audience. It's been proven difficult to describe this drama's relentless charm and wit without any spoilers.

The characters- I have never been so engrossed and engaged with characters as I did here. I salute the writer for taking the risk of putting different facets of personalities in one group and making it work well. Mind you, everyone on this drama is all rough on edges and might make you feel perplexed for a bit and watching these characters' adventures on  developing into their ideal selves is the most rewarding aspect of this drama.  The actors did well with their roles too. None of them feel disconnected with their characters. They brought their portrayal to life. It's as if you've had forgotten their names and remembered them as their characters here. They are that good.

The music and scoring fits and blends the drama. It help convey scenes in an almost subconscious manner.  No annoying or over the top sound effects present on this one.

As for rewatching the drama, I WILL DEFINITELY DO IT AGAIN. This is the type of drama that won't lose it's personality no matter how many times you've watched it. Everybody is lovable. The story is definitely worth the time.

This is the powerhouse drama of 2017. It's a gem the light is worth striking. 



Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mimi
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 1, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Okay so to start I should put out there that this is not a romantic show at all at least to me it isn't.

The acting is the best thing ever along with how the ASC members interact and slowly develop together is oh god so amazing. There's literally nothing that I didn't like other than the "villains" they're not like oh wow I did not know that this happens irl so yea I understand and it's relatable.

Although some revenge part throws me off like would this actually happen ever but whatever it's a show and what matters is that the plot is steady with casts who knows how to act.

Anyways it a good show with great plots and casts that has amazing acting skills.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
srabanibiswas
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 1, 2017
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I started this drama when it was already halfway through its airing. I went into this drama without any expectations or prior knowledge about the plot or the cast, but I found myself enjoying this drama to the extent where I put other dramas on hold and binge-watched till the latest episodes available. I could not wait for the next episodes to air and be back with my favourite ajhummas!
 They were such a fun little group. More than a revenge group they were a comedy group. Each and every episode was packed with comedic and heartwarming elements. The characters were lovable and I could not outright hate any of the other bad guys, although I cheered for the ajhummas. The music was good though not memorable. At least, I don't remember any soundtrack off the drama.  Although I wished for one particular character to have a love line, I can't hold it against such a wonderful drama.
If you are looking for something light and fun you should give this drama a try. It will tug at your heart, make you laugh and cry with members of the club. But, don't go in expecting romance, you will be disappointed. It has romance but that's almost insignificant and not the central theme. I found this drama to be similar to Age Of Youth only this focuses on middle-aged women and their lives and struggles. So here, you have another drama to watch if you have finished watching both the season of  Age Of Youth and want something to tide you over.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Pinocchio
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 24, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Daebak show!
All the characters were scattered at first but in the end the way it showed how they slowly bonded was just amazing.
Watching this gets emotional like seriously and it’s both the happy and sad one which is great.
What I loved the most was how they got the revenges with each other’s help and slowly becoming a team that has a strong bond.
And lee yo won as Jung hye was just too funny at first she was weird but she was literally the funniest character along with her love for junk food. Btw Jung hye has great sense of fashion.
So gyum is great too he is both sweet and caring, it was nice to see how so gyum and Jung hye relationship got better.
These ahjummas are the funniest with the strongest bond along with the sweet so gyum.
All the characters were played well even side characters acted so well.10/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jaylan
0 people found this review helpful
Feb 19, 2018
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
this drama some how had different kinds of love
although it based on revenge in a funny way but also it based on love
i really like the relation between Lee Yo Won & Jun ..  it was some how undeclared parental relation
& of course the friend ship relation between all of them was really nice 
i really liked Lee Yo Won role the most & i wished she met a real man who can appreciated her while she was travelling 
nice drama if u want to change the usual kind of family , friend-ship drama
Was this review helpful to you?