Star of the Universe
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This was my first Three Color of Fantasy dramas, I had watched.

Let me just say, I really couldn't handle Byul's character. It was either the fact she was a fan girl acting stalk-ish or it was the actor's acting. Ugh!

Woo Joo's character was okay, pretty bland though. I know he's from EXO, but...nope didn't care for.

The beginning grabbed me just a tiny bit, and I like to finish bite read more size dramas because they're short. So, I don't know what or how the drama did this, but I got emotional at the end. That's it, not going to explain, I might spoil things. Hehe...

Any way, not one of my favorite bite size dramas, but a simple and quick watch.

I can't really say anything else though, it didn't really make a big impact on me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Voice
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
As a BIG fan of OCN dramas - Voice was probably one of my top 5. Wait! - make that top 3.

I always look forward to when another OCN drama comes out, lets just say, I get excited and giddy. As one of my favorite stations in South Korea, OCN always brings out the brutal and scary sides of cop dramas.

The way Voice was shot, was amazing. Dark alleyways, mysterious read more figures and bloody crime scenes. Typical in an OCN drama, but always needed and wanted from a fan like me.

From other thriller dramas, the choice of weapon from the killer was freaky and strange. If I ever see one in real life, I know to stay far away. I know I'll never see them the same way again.

Of all the acting, Kim Jae Wook's really got me. I saw him in Who Are You (the newer one), and Voice was a complete change over. I don't want to spoil anything, so just watch Voice if you like to see how his acting plays out. Superb!

So yes, big fan of Voice. Really really loved it! My mom isn't a fan of OCN dramas, but this one I recommend.

(Now, waiting for "Tunnel"!!)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Vivid Romance
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
After I saw "Star of the Universe", I was planning to watch this one. I definitely know that the lead actor got me to watch "Vivid Romance".

As a big fan of Yoon Shi Yoon, I just knew this was going to be hilarious and the premise was wacked-out weird and strange. I mean, come on! - medical experiments?? With this actor that can be pretty funny.

The actor who played Kong read more Moo, besides being pretty hot - I just loved his hopeless romantic character. I shall definitely check out his other dramas!

Anyway, I don't really re-watch dramas, but I really recommend this one if you love Yoon Shi Yoon acting crazy. Vivid Romance did bring the laughs and heartfelt moments.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Love To Kill
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
This is early 2000s makjang, with Rain to look at. That said, I totally enjoyed wallowing in it until the very last episode. The cast did an excellent job together, individual acting was excellent, the story held together pretty well, very little total nonsense (although the beginning felt confused - first 2-3 episodes). HOWEVER - huge big however - that last episode ruined this drama.
The total stupidity of the ending just read more infuriated me - not whether sad or happy but the complete, total lack of intelligence, logic, character consistency, left me aghast that I had watched this whole thing for this! I just cannot fathom what these writers were thinking. It's taken 12 years of dramas to produce one that had this badly written & conceived an ending (that would be Missing 9).
So if you must watch everything Rain (a worthy goal), you won't be disappointed if you watch all but the last episode then make up your OWN ending!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Death note has been considered as one of the best live action adaption ever, it has that legendary status that following its story is not a simple feat. It has been 10 years since the last one so the hype for it was unreal that in my opinion didn't help the movie.

The way death note ended gives lot of questions to us viewers just what happen to the world after? Given read more that death note still exist. This film tries to answer that question as 6 death notes spread around the world; it also clarifies some rules and expands it more which only makes it more interesting for possible sequels in the future. Also, the film did a nice job of portraying the post death note world as how we imagine it, death note used as a tool for terrorism and the idea of death note as the key for world order. Although even with interesting setting, fans of death note would be a bit disappointed here as it lacks the brain power of the original, nothing new as plot twist and tricks were all familiar, the execution was right but sometimes innovation is needed.

Although the movie's substance is a bit of a disappointment what it excels at is its stunning visuals it's so good, it's directed by Shinsuke Sato in the first place, the guy who directed Gantz and I am hero so you know what to expect if you watched those, the camera shots were awesome and the films atmosphere too, and also THE CGI WAS TOP NOTCHED RYUK here is miles better than the original.

Imagining death note without Light and L would be hard but at least their presence was felt from video recordings of them throughout the movie which IMO was a brilliant idea. As for the rivalry, it is now played by Ryuzaki and Shien which was subpar compared to the original but please do yourself a favor "DO NO WATCH THIS FILM WITHOUT WATCHING THE 3 PART MINI SERIES" this will make you connect with them and understand their motivation better. The acting from 3 main actors was excellent even higashide which at first I thought would be subpar compared to ikematsu and suda.


Got the same feeling from watching Crows Explode, just replicates the awesomeness of the original but offers nothing new. Felt a bit of cash grab. Felt a bit disappointed especially that actors played their characters well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I started this drama because of the writer and Yeon Woo Jin, which I appreciated in his previous works. I've gotta say, I've liked this drama ever since the first episode despite it had a rough backlash because of the main female character. Yes, she is too nosy in the first episodes, but in my opinion the story gets better as it progresses. It mixes your office romance (but in a very read more subtle way) with a bit of mystery because you want to find out the backstory connected to the beginning of the drama as well. The main point here wasn't even the romance, but the relationships between the characters. You have this one-of-a-kind boss who is an introvert and acts weird in front of others and have a great variety of different people who work in the same environment, and of course the main female character who is exactly his opposite. You see how they grow together and form strong bonds and work to improve themselves. This drama has many comical moments as well as emotional scenes, and they made my heart flutter because I found them deep and also very, very, cute. You should give a change to the MFC because she shows her personality better as the story goes on.

In the acting department, Yeon Woo Jin was very good at playing the shy boss. Besides being super cute, he brought out a character who is relatable to life, with many layers to his personality that always surprised me. He and Park Hye Soo had a nice chemistry, imo. They were adorable together and shared some emotional scenes. She may have been a bit exaggerated at the beginning with her character, but then she finds her way. If you watched her in Age of Youth, here you'll see she is able to play a completely different character. Although I liked her performance, I think she needs to improve more. Well, she's young and has a long career ahead of her, so. The supporting cast was also great. I've seen Yoon Park in other dramas as well and I wish for the future that he'll land a main lead role, I'd like to see how he would do.

The music was cute and tailored perfectly for this drama.

Overall, is surely a drama I would rewatch because it's simple and light but it makes you think. It was such a pleasant story to watch unfold. If you love comedies, then I think you may like this because it is a refreshing story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Defendant
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
So this drama deserves a 10/10 for me!
The acting was Pure epicness and it was amazing.
The story was Great with some plot twists! amazing plot.
The music.. It didnt have Songs, like all the other dramas, but more like Instrumentals and i think this shows how "serious" the drama was.
They wanted to make it look serious and the music helped in my perspective.
Rewatch value? honestly I think watching read more the same drama all over again is kinda a waste of time, you already know the twists etc, so it will be boring, But if a drama is full of action i think , it might be worth rewatching it.
But a drama that is mainly talking , and thinking? with 30% action? I think it will be boring. But thats just me! you be the judge when you watch it at least once!
So all in all! this drama was a masterpiece! Loved every single episode! and it surely is one of my Top kdrama right now^^!
Greetings from Greece~ ??~~
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Unstoppable High Kick
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I ABSOLUTELY ADORE THIS! It's so funny! The music is good and it'S definitely worth rewatching many times. The cast is great. It gradually becomes sad, but that'S okay because there'S also some funny in the sad. Well, if you want to make it short, just watch it, it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Behind Your Smile
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I was late watching this drama, but I had a drama marathon with about 15 episodes, it was worth it. Loved the story, it was different than k-dramas, it gets in more of the emotions. Mystery, a mellow romance,.. I also got the soundtrack. I love listening while watching. It's with my favorite tai-dramas soundtracks. Besides Baren Chen of Bromance, marcus is also is my favorite, I'm going to watch his other read more drama on Netflix-1989. I hope episode 19 isn't the last episode of Behind your smile. I'll well be disappointed. Some sights says it's up to 24 episodes. Please let it be!
Awesome Drama, loved it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nirvana in Fire
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST AMONGST SO MANY STORIES ! IT HAS NOT A PART OF BORING FROM THE BEGINNING OF THE SHOW TILL THE END. THE MARVELOUS EFFECT OF THIS STORY NOT JUST ENTERTAIN AUDIENCES, IT MAKES AUDIENCES THINK AND GUESS WHAT'S GOING ON, WHY OR WHAT HAD HAPPENED, WHO AND WHY HAD DONE SUCH. IT'S REALLY AMAZING THE INTELLIGENCES WAYS OF VENGEANCE. AND THE MAIN THEME SONG ( ??? read more ) IT'S SO TOUCHING & MEANINGFUL IF YOU UNDERSTAND MANDARIN WORDS. AT SEVERAL PARTS OF THE SHOW, IT'S SO TOUCHING AND I CAN'T HELP IT AND SHEARED TEARS. I RATE THIS SHOW EXCELLENT !!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
so amazing and i hope the next film more interesting make ours curious about the film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Noble Aspirations
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
IF PREVIOUSLY HAD WATCHED THE JOURNEY OF FLOWER AND IF YOU LIKE IT, THEN THIS STORY IS SIMILAR GENERATE TYPE. IT'S RELAXING, JUST FOLLOW THE STORY AND ENJOY IT, AFTERALL, IT'S JUST FICTION TYPE OF DRAMA. I FIND AT EPISODE 10, IT'S SO HILARIOUS !! CAN'T STOP LAUGHING FOR A FEW DAYS. OVERALL, IT'S A GOOD SHOW PLUS IF YOU'RE A FAN OF ZANILIA ZHOU, YOU'LL LIKE IT. THE ONLY THING IS, read more IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO WATCH THIS, YOU GOTTA GET THE PART 2 TOGETHER. IF NOT, AT END OF THIS PART 1, YOU'LL BE URGING TO FOLLOW ON WHAT'S PART 2 GONNA BE. WITHOUT PART 2, THE STORY IS NOT COMPLETE.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
V-Focus
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
T-dramas have really been stepping up their game the past few years! Bromance & Better Man were thoughtfully well done, and V-Focus kept me riveted until the end.

Yet I'll confess... each time these series keep increasing their episode count a piece of me dreads the extensions. More often than not, drama extensions, especially those exceeding more than 2 episodes (and this one started at 40 and went ALL the way up read more to 65) is a turn off for me. I put a lot of dramas on hold or stop watching them because of unnecessary dragging, but this drama IS SUCH A GREAT EXCEPTION.

Initially, I was drawn to this drama because of the unique premise: bodyguard meets passionate journalist. Their two professions are polar opposites of one another, and yet, sparks fly in more ways than one. They clash in more ways than one, and sometimes Melvin Sia's robotic face made me feel like the dude couldn't act, I even warmed up to him after a handful of episodes and character development.

STORY: As I said, the premise is unique. I haven't seen a drama with this exact plot line. That being said, there are elements in here that are somewhat cliche, but at the same time, a lot of drama cliche's are turned on their heads. Especially concerning the strong women in this series who take the lead' in more ways than one. For reals strong: like emotionally, physically, and verbally. I didn't dislike any female character in this drama, and I was absolutely shocked that 65 episodes went by and there were womances, and women who supported each other. Of course there are adorable bromances as well. It was nice seeing characters supporting each other. Not too much angst, just a little here and there. You start off with introducing everyone at V-Focus, and then at Krisis, and from there their 'businesses' continue to interact. Moving forward, there are several sub-plots in this series that are neatly tied up in a bow by the end (which, surprisingly, I was pleased they didn't leave anything out). You can expect to have a few 'scandals,' and mysterious that DRQ pursues alongside her colleagues. You can also expect JZH lead Krisis and 'protect,' his clients. I don't want to spoil much here, but the plot only gets somewhat draggy around episode 50, but picks up shortly after. I can promise you there are certain steamy kiss scenes and I won't spoil who or whom, but lets just say we get plenty of that, and it's glorious. It's such a sweet romance story as well, and I hope people who are interested in this series do see that it has love stories/romances in it that are very fulfilling.

CHARACTERS:

Ding Ruo Qin: Bubbly. Smart. Passionate. A kick-ass reporter with no filter. I loved her. I found her pursuit of the truth to be a reflection of her loyalty to V-Focus and a promise she made to someone close to her. You watch her character grow, fumble/make mistakes, but continue to mature over the course of the series. I liked how she always stays true to herself, and yet at the same time, can be playful and also super caring and thoughtful of her family and friends.

Jiang Xhi Heng: Stern, but still very likable. When you first meet him you think he has a 'I'm the best,' kind of arrogant attitude, but as you learn more about his story, you can understand why he acts the way he does. I like the fact that he respects DRQ. He worries about her, but he understands her passions and dreams and is supportive of her -in dramaland, you got to love these guys.

Zhou Xin Yi: I liked how steadfast she is. A little jaded at times, but is one of the most sincerest characters in this show (like DRQ). She cares for the people in her life, to the extent that she would go through leaps and bounds to make sure they were safe or protected. She's smart, elegant. and strong. She's someone that you can get a little tiresome of, but you understand her.

Ke Guo Long: THIS SWEETIE PIE X1000. Plus KK (and you will know what I mean when you watch this!). He is like... boyfriend goals. Or partner goals. I liked the fact that he was super innocent, but also kind, and supportive, and willing to maintain boundaries so as not to upset anyone in his life. He is such a refreshing character.

SOUND/OST: Absolutely suitable for this series. The singer for one of the songs sings the main theme song in Behind Your Smile, and her voice is PERF for this series too. I liked that some characters story lines with other characters/the way they interacted with others had soundtracks to them. You expected certain songs or sounds to be played at moments. It's endearing and suited the moods very nicely.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I can't believe this series was 65 episodes. After the first 20 episodes, I wondered what would happen to each of these characters, and I never anticipated the amount of character development on many ends of the spectrum, including supporting characters in this series. What I liked about V-Focus was its ability to keep the viewer interested. There was always something going on at Krisis or at V-Focus. DRQ was always on the move, and JZH was always involved in some newer case which (coincidentally) tied to stories that V-Focus was covering. You get to see an array of emotions, thoughts, and feelings expressed by lots of characters, and events that made this series unique. I think if you end up giving this show a try, you may end up surprised. I think the charm in this series was its balance between progressing the plot forward consistently by unraveling secrets and intentions behind people in the series, unveiling events and tensions, and managing budding romances. It has a lot packaged in this series. I think the characters are definitely worth while here. Especially Guo Long. Happy watching
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Falling for Innocence
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I was hesitant to watch this because I was SOO tired of the Korean trope of rich CEO and poor girl who falls for them. But I'm happy my friend coerced me into investing into it. This isn't the typical girl falls for CEO show. If she had it her way she wouldn't have dated him.

Story: A+ story. It really had me sucked in from episode one. I had sooo many read more emotions watching this show! I love how the characters were developed, and the story had so many twists and turns that you never see coming. Plus it had equal parts comedy and drama which was nice.

Acting: Really good acting from most characters, the actors made me believe in the characters, and evoked the intended emotions. Had me angry when I needed to be, and sad. I hated the main guy at first, but he really brought me around and I loved him by the end. I wasn't as sold on the female MC only because sometimes her reactions weren't what I wanted. But that's a personal problem, lol, I didn't write the show.

Music: Good. I liked the ending song. But the music throughout the show wasn't memorable to me.

Would I rewatch. Yes. Because the MC guy was REALLY funny. And I liked the Ajusshi...he was so sweet! But I don't typically rewatch shows. But if I had to, I'd rewatch. The story was compelling.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nirvana in Fire
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
After watching "The Princess WeiYoung" I was desperate for another period drama with a strong revenge plot and deep romance to move me to tears and give me a satisfying feeling. I scoured websites looking for similar shows, and this show was recommended to me. So I started watching. This was very different from WeiYoung because there was minimal romance, the main character was a man, the drama was way more believable, read more and less annoying and the revenge was a slow moving magma. It took me a while to get into, but slowly but surely the plotting was on. The schemes were taking hold and they wouldn't let go. By the end of the show I was in tears, and begging for more! Tears of joy, and sadness, and satisfaction. I'm disappointed there wasn't more romance, but honestly... I have to say that's about my only disappointment.

At first I wasn't impressed by the main character as I couldn't get a good feel for him, and found him way too cold and cavalier. He didn't have that burning passion that most main characters do. But Prince Jing Yang made up for it I suppose, and the main character eventually gets a bit fiery. The music was nice, I enjoyed the ending theme. I really love that the intro and the outro don't give anything away like most Chinese drama's do. The acting was A+! really pulled me in and had me getting the feels. Story was amazing. Took me a while to put the entire family tree together and piece it together with the story but that's minor.

By the end all those long episodes came together rather nicely, and I didn't even notice the slowness anymore. I was racing through all the episodes by the time things started taking shape. The revenge is sweet and the ending is sweet with a hint of bitter. But it's worth it. I wouldn't rewatch anytime soon because I prefer faster moving stories, and I am also not one to rewatch shows. But maybe one day many years from now I might. HOWEVER, if YOU are reading this and are curious about whether or not you should invest your time? I have two words for you: WATCH. IT.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No