New Tales of Gisaeng
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
First of all, I’ve decided to watch this drama, because of Im Soo Hyang. I’ve seen here in “Lovers in bloom” (airing this year) and I fell for her beautiful face. Unfortunately, her acting in LIB is average (not bad nor not very good) and I was really curious about her skills in different show. It was a nice surprise when I found out they she has that something and can play read more in a convincing way. And... big plus for dressing her into nice and feminine clothes – eyes happiness :D But to the point...

STORY

It was the first time when I have heard about gisaengs. I was very much into japanaese culture of geishas so it was nice to see something very similar into that in a drama. Plot wasn’t very special but nice to the point of being interested in watching all 52 episode.
Families problems were similar to many orgie tv dramat Ive seen before but in the end it was interesting.

CAST

This one point it’s a massive plus. The cast is amazing. Of course there were couple of characters that got me under my skin cause were really annoying (Sa Ran’s stepmother). After all, it was unexpected how she ended. Sung is also great actor and with Hyang made a really fantastic duo. I wish O could see them in more dramas.

MUSIC

To be honest, I didn’t actually care about the music. But in couple last episodes it was more “too much” for me – fake drama climate...

REWATCH

I really don’t know. Maybe someday. There’re 52 1-hour (very long) episodes. Story of gisaengs was interesting but it wasn’t main thread so there weren’t a lot of scenes of SaRan as a gisaeng.
Maybe someday, because the chemistry of main character was intense and nice, I guess :)

OVERALL

It was nice but very long drama. To me, it was nice and kinda interesting but some things were too stretched in time, where it was obvious how it ends (we could knew who is SaRan biological parents after couple of first episodes...

If someone needs addictive show to watch and have time I can recommend it ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The King in Love
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
My feelings about this drama are very complicated. I was entertained, but frustrated. I was interested enough to watch, but I also felt like dropping it several times. Don't let the simple title fool you. This is a typical love story in some ways, and very unique in other ways. Now that it's over, I think I appreciate the whole story more, but some frustration still lingers.

My major frustration is with read more the three leads. I loved them as a trio. Those moments were my favorite in the show for sure, and their friendship was also the source of many of the emotions I felt while watching. Still, from the very beginning the show is set up as a love triangle, and that's the part where I think this drama falls short. I'll give it credit for not being cliché, but it still didn't really work for me.

The story centers around Im Shi Wan as Wang Won. It's Won's story, so it makes sense that he was the character I liked the most. I thought Shi Wan did a great job in all aspects. He was funny, he was clever, he was stubborn, he was impulsive... and I enjoyed watching his character navigate all of the palace drama without being passive. I think he did an awesome job.

Hong Jong Hyun plays Wang Rin, his partner in bromance. Rin is the straight man, to Won's uninhibited personality, and their dynamic is awesome. I loved that we get to see the start of their friendship too. The show really explores the deepness of their friendship in a way that got me in the feels from the very beginning. It gets very complex, but their love throughout it all is the strongest story in the drama.

Then lastly there is Im Yoon Ah as Eun San. I loved her character in some ways, but she was also the reason for most of my frustration. When she was being brave, impetuous, and independent, I loved her, and her camaraderie with the guys. However, when the obligatory love triangle comes into play, she spends far too much time looking like a deer in headlights. I won't speak too much about specifics, because which guy you root for is mostly about preference, but it really bothers me that by the end all the romance was still questionable. I thought maybe it was the writing, but I honestly think it's that she had trouble pulling off the romantic parts of the story. I've seen better actresses, Ha Ji Won for example, pull complicated love stories off, but I think where Yoona shined in action, comedy, and even some emotional scenes, she left much to be desired in the romance department. Cute moments with Won worked, because their banter was funny, but anything involving serious romance fell flat. I don't think she was bad, but I do think the role was a little out of her league in that respect.

The rest of the cast was good. I loved Jang Young Nam and Oh Min Suk the most out of the supporting cast (both so good at being bad), but there were a lot of great performances. A few characters made no sense to me, but that wasn't the actor's fault, just weird writing. There are a lot of duplicitous characters to keep the story interesting. If you like ancient Joseon political drama, this story definitely has a lot of that to enjoy. If you're not a fan, you will probably get bored about halfway through.

To be clear, this show is 40 episodes, but the episodes are 30 minutes, so really it's like watching a standard 20 episode drama. I thought the show started strong, and ended strong, but somewhere in the middle I began to stop caring. Still, for some reason I just couldn't quit watching. I think that's because of curiosity, and probably because I became attached to the characters, even when the shows seemed to drag. In those times it helped that the episodes were shorter than usual.

Would I watch this again? I'm torn. If I did I would probably be tempted to skip too many scenes. There were a lot of great moments, and like the characters reminiscing, I would probably enjoy revisiting those moments again. Maybe it will feel different watching while knowing how it will all play out, but I think my main frustrations would remain.

Overall, this is a good drama for sageuk fans who want a different kind of story. It is more bittersweet than completely tragic, and there are comedic moments too to add some balance. I think it's far from perfect, and gets messy in the middle, but it all ties together for a touching ending that made me boohoo cry, and smile through my tears. I never heard of the novel before watching, so I am curious what fans of the book thought. It's not the best or worst sageuk around, but if you're in the mood for something a little less typical, this may be exactly the kind of drama you are looking for.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This was actually a pretty cool show. I watched it coz of park bo young. She is one if my favorite actresses and park hyung shik isnt bad either. Hes cute too.though its full of dark thrilling scenes the gang and kim won hae the gay employee made it fun with their wit. Its laugh out loud and scary at the same time. The other fun parts was the mum. Shes just read more a hot mess but she was cool.. Must see show.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Let's Eat
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I figured that I had avoided this series of dramas for long enough, and it seemed to be pretty popular, with good reviews, so I decided to finally give this one a try. It was nothing like I expected. It's a light hearted comedy, with a touch of romance and mystery, and an overwhelming abundance of food porn. I read "food porn" in a lot of reviews, and thought I knew what read more it meant, but this show gave me a whole new understanding of the term. If you're not a foodie, there's still plenty about this drama that may charm you, mainly the cast. If you hate the idea of watching people eat, turn away from this drama and never look back.

This show is not your standard romcom formula... the kind where most of the focus is placed on 2 characters, and the rest of the cast revolves around them. The center of the show is Soo Kyung, a bitter divorced woman living alone in an apartment complex, but it's also about all of the characters in her life... her coworkers, her bff, and most importantly her neighbors and her adorable dog. The story has a true ensemble feeling, where I actually cared about what was going on with all of the characters. The more I got to know them, the more I loved the show. There are no weak links, including the kids, and yes, even the dog (one of the show's best characters imo). So, why no perfect acting score? Well, because there are a couple of incidental characters that were too bad to ignore, and some really corny moments where the actors have to play up the comedy a bit too much for my liking.

This drama may be Soo Kyung's world, but she is certainly not my favorite of the bunch. She was even sometimes a bit annoying. Yoon Doo Joon as Dae Yeong is what drives the show. He's such an interesting character, and his weirdness, charm, and food rants made it easy for him to steal any scene he is in. Another scene stealer worth mentioning is Lee Do Yeon as Attorney Oh. It really bothers me that her looks are the constant punchline, but I think she took a role that could have been really superficial, and painful to watch, and made her truly funny. She's the quintessential character actress, and although I've seen her in bit parts before, in this show she shines. There's also super cute Yoon So Hee, who I think is worth mentioning. Even her sickeningly cute character has enough depth to make her much more than the stereotype suggests. Unfortunately all of the depth went into the characters, and none went into the plot.

The general story is... cute... and was engaging enough to hold my interest. 3 single neighbors becoming good friends is the basic premise, while loneliness and isolation being major themes. There's a little bit of romantic drama, and the obligatory love triangle, but don't expect too much focus on romantic moments. There is also a random murder mystery inserted, which I don't think worked. It gave the characters something to do, but it's hard to take a scary murder plot seriously in a show this silly. All that to say, if you're looking for an intriguing plot, this show doesn't have much to offer.

Then of course, as the title suggests, in each episode the characters have to find a reason to eat an obnoxious meal. I felt gluttonous just watching. I'm talking extreme close ups, and at least 5 whole minutes of lip-smacking, slo-mo chewing, and watching them eat food like they might actually reach an orgasm mid bite. This is the part that made me avoid this show for so long, but it ended up being one of the parts I anticipated the most in each episode. There was just something fascinating about watching food being enjoyed this much. I also felt a little like a food tourist, since not every dish was familiar. I even liked watching them eat foods that I hate, and I wasn't disgusted. Yes, sometimes I had to press pause to raid my fridge while watching, but it was less about making me hungry, and more about being inspired to appreciate food this much. I think it also makes you appreciate the company you keep when eating food.

Would I watch this show again? Maybe. I can see the appeal of revisiting these characters, but I should also confess that I've already started watching Let's Eat 2. You can say that I was hungry for more *groan* Sorry, I could not resist.

Overall, This show was easy to binge watch, and what it lacked in plot, it made up for in unique characters, laughs, and foodie moments. I'd say it's definitely worth giving it a chance, and I say that as a person who generally hates food centered shows. There's also some hidden depth underneath all of the silliness, which I appreciated, with a nice resolution at the end that got me a little bit in the feels.

I may be late to the table, but I'm glad I finally decided to watch. Sometimes it's good to try something new, that you may not think will suit your taste. It may not be joining my list of favorites, but it turns out that this show was exactly what I was craving.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Is a beautiful heart wrenching love story with Great actors, good music, lots of actions scenes, and the best part is that actually has a happy ending. All I could say is that I fell in love with Chu Bei Jei (chung Wallace) since the 1st episode; I can’t believe I have not heard of him before this drama. (Looking forward to watch all his productions). I would have liked a more read more details happy ending and less dragging of painful episodes that happened midway through the drama but compared to most historical dramas this one is definitely one of the best I’ve seen.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
STORY 6/10
Since it took me so long to actually finish this series, I wouldn't recommend it if you're new to k-dramas or if you're choosing your first historical. The show is relatively slow-paced, mostly episodic and the important storylines tend to be...well, illogical at times, and some are left unresolved. Due to its episodic nature and some over-the-top comedic moments, Sungkyunkwan Scandal is actually much closer to Hana Kimi than to read more more mature Coffee Prince in the realm of cross-dressing dramas.

I strongly feel that it was a shame that so much time was spent on long gazes (especially between the main couple), way too long dialogues between villains (their scheming was mostly pointless anyway), antics of the villain's sister and the villain's stupid sidekicks or flashbacks (so many of them!). Instead, I would appreciate better developed relationships between other people than the two leads: Goo Yong Ha and Moon Jae Shin, Cho Sun and Ha In Soo or Kim Yoon Hee and (the real) Kim Yoon Shik...the list goes on.

*SPOILERS REGARDING THE ENDING (I am sorry but I have to address this, the series resolution really had a big impact on my evaluation)*

Honestly the last 2-3 episodes were a mess. First, it doesn't really make sense that the oh-so-wise King and his buddy the Professor were unable to put together the evidence and solve a ten-year-old mystery that four kids resolved in a couple of days.

Second, it never felt like the stakes were high enough – especially regarding Kim Yoon Hee being in danger of being executed. It would be nice if there was a moment when her three pals actually came to her rescue, publicly proclaimed their support or at least visited her in prison (instead we got Yoon Hee visiting Sun Joon in prison...but as the Minister's son, it's hard to believe that his life was at stake). But it never happens. Yoon Hee is also uncharacteristically passive (and mostly silent) in her (potentially great) scenes with the King and Sun Joon's father.

Third, too many loose ends. Is Kim Yoon Hee going to pretend to be her brother for the rest of her life? Considering the number of people who know her identity (incl. the villains), it seems implausible that she would get to keep her incognito. Is she going to be "Kim Yoon Shik" at Sungkyunkwan and "Kim Yoon Hee" at home with Lee Sun Joon? How that's supposed to work? And what about her brother, the real Kim Yoon Shik?

Also, when I thought that Cho Sun and Ha In Soo's story finally moved in an interesting direction they disappeared from the screen...and we never found out what happened to them (despite the fact that they were two key players in the story).

/END OF SPOILERS

ACTING/CAST 9/10
Let's be honest, while the two leads (Park Yoo Chun as Lee Sun Joon and Park Min Young as Kim Yoon Hee) were nice, the duo we were probably all rooting for were Song Joong Ki as Goo Yong Ha and Yoo Ah In as Moon Jae Shin. They were amazing, both character-wise and acting-wise. This was actually the first drama during which I experienced the infamous "second lead syndrome": they actually made Moon Jae Shin so perfect, that I can't understand why they didn't pair him up with the heroine (or with Goo Yong Ha for that matter).


MUSIC 7/10
Nice score, not something I'd need to buy a CD for, but definitely memorable. Extra points for the main song ("Found You" by JYJ) that I can't get out of my head ;).


REWATCH VALUE 7.5/10
I'd say that the rewatch value is quite high because once you know what to expect, it's actually a really well-acted and optimistic – if kinda cheesy – drama to revisit.

OVERALL 7.5/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
SHARK
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This is my first attempt to review a favorite drama, so please bear with me.
SHARK is about a band coming together and making a comeback after the death of the lead vocalist. The focus is how the bad-tempered "God-sent" vocalist, Mizuki, learns to get along with the rest of the band and helps them Keep Walking forward to achieve their dreams. The narrative drive is Mizuki, a cocky instigator, using his read more confrontational nature to force change within the band as they get closer to their coveted debut.

Story/Arc: Character Transformation and Pursuing a Dream While Facing Shadows of the Past

Acting/Cast: Strong. The expressions of actors, especially Hirano Sho, carry the story.

Music: At first, I didn't care for the opening song as much, but as time went on, Keep Walking, came to embody the story's cry. The final time it was sung, I was nearly in tears.

Rewatch Value: The rewatch value is in seeing the charcters change and their friendship grow. It's going back in time and watching them grow up again.

Minor Spoilers: SHARK's ending is a bit sad but beautiful. Also, if you come to love the SHARK brotherhood and kizuna (bond) theme, skip the sequel. It mostly derails all everything established in the first one by putting the focus on a completely different band, throwing SHARK into the background, and keeping the SHARK name. However, if you come to hate SHARK, you may enjoy SHARK 2 more. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Roman Holiday
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
A very good comedy is not a boring movie like those who seem to be about to be a parody, but could not get there until the climax of the spectacular comic films. It's a comedy with lots of characters. Although this is an improvement over a comedy where everyone tries to be clowns in a forced manner.
The situational comedy in "Roman Holiday" is quite good when you take into account read more all these factors. I liked the cinematic sequence, although less funny becomes, so that in the end the film went down in irrevocable mediocrity and play scenes in random form with a minimal relation to what there is of a main story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Our Time Will Come
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
The film is symbolic, a story of value, such as shedding the last grains of rice from the bottle, to a resistance fighter, contemplating bombings and assaulting the Japanese troop base are some high points and the most characteristic scenes of the film.
The narrative has a touch of dark irony, this makes the World War II label devalued by a familiar description of a sadistic enemy, in other words does not read more give the credibility due to events.
Cinematography is a strong element, we see perfect period buildings, such as the 1942 Wan Chai brick and timber constructions and the Causeway Bay Typhoon Shelter, particularly impressed me with perfection. The scenarios of the river are exceptional, suggesting filming by a different angle without all the sarcastic tome would be an exceptional film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Midnight Runners
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
A film set in the dark, horrible and violent of South Korea.
The big highlight of "Midnight Runners" is the cast; Park Seo Joon and Kang Ha Neul have fantastic chemistry and their scenes are effortless and overly fun. Their comedic timing, delivery and the way they acted out of each other's lines is incredible. History is not the most naive or complex, but functional. It's a simple story about two young read more police academy cadets who do not have a very strong reason or desire to become police officers and who unwittingly find themselves in a situation that requires them to demonstrate the moral fiber and courage that one would expect to find in a future police officer. It's simple, reliable and, most importantly, very fun.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
"City of Angels" is more of a Las Vegas mix with Ibiza, cinematography and history reminds and much ... The film has a reasonable, solid, engaging and well-told story in seventy minutes which focuses on a lean romantic comedy of low budget value, which one can not expect to be a great movie, but "Are You Coming ?! - City of Angels" does well in regards to good movie with little money, read more the cast is good the soundtrack nifty and an accelerated dynamic, few dialogues and several scenes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
At the Beginning Its All Good
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
"At the Beginning Its All Good" is a somewhat romantic comedy, pulling more comic side. The story is simple, a girl who goes to Korea with the function of managing an academy where soon falls in the graces of the men for its beauty, after beginning a fun comedy of seduction and frustrated attempts to win the heart of the girl ...
The cast is very friendly, acting cleanly gave a highlight read more to the simple story, the soundtrack could improve, has no life as well as cinematography that is poor in detail ... In general "At the Beginning Its All Good" is a comedy adult movie very good, meets well the expectations of the median lines.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bring It On, Ghost
0 people found this review helpful
by Anca
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
It has been a while since I've enjoyed a drama so much! While I usually manage to finish all the dramas I start watching, I don't always feel that drawn to them and I don't hurry to watch the episodes because they usually don't catch my attention that much. But that wasn't the case with this drama at all! It was sooo good, from start to finish! The characters were interesting, the read more actors did their job perfectly and the story was an interesting one on its own!

I even shipped the main pairing and I can't usually say I ship the main pairings. I do enjoy them and I like their scenes, but they're not enjoyable enough to make me ship them. However, that wasn't the case with the main pairing from this drama at all! Taec Yeon and Soo Hyun's chemistry was off the charts for me, they really managed to convey feelings so well and made me impatiently wait for their next romantic scene.

Monk Myung Chul, In Rang and Cheon Sang were the comedic reliefs needed in this drama. I feel that the actors did a great job with their characters and they made me laugh a lot and enjoy the drama more.
And last, but not least, I think that Kwon Yool did an amazing job with the evil character, he managed to play two characters in one and I enjoyed it a lot.

I definitely recommend this drama! It has romance, drama and comedy and if you're into the horror stuff as well, it has that as well with the ghosts and evil spirits. Enjoy watching it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is just the sweetest little drama - I totally loved it :D The interaction of the dad & son felt so totally real - which comes from this being based on a real life story of course :d The plot included a lot of atypical scenarios (ie pretty little boy having a female persona may be normal enough & also some fangirls' dream, but not seen very often in dramas - read more just one example). The use of Final Fantasy (which simply has gorgeous graphics - best on the beautiful scale in my opinion) really emphasized the relationship between father & son, plus the inner growth of the father. Gamers everywhere can empathize with this. Plus the subtle humor throughout truly added to the enjoyment.
I highly recommend this to anyone who is a gamer or who knows one!
The fact that Mama is totally into KDramas (HOYA!!! I saw HOYA!) thrilled me :D I immediately identified with her LOL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Roy Leh Sanae Rai
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 3.5
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
In my opinion , it was one of the worst drama that I ever had watched !!!!!!!!!!!!

Like seriously the story is so stupid , the girls in this drama are so annoying and very loud

The whole drama like all I saw is the girls fighting and the male lead forcing him self on the female lead !!

The only good thing in this stupid drama was " The Male Lead read more Actor " he's so handsome that I watched
this drama only for him skipping all other scenes :s
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No