Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
My only reason for not putting a 10/10 rating is that no show is perfect, though as far as kdramas go, this one is very well-conceived and well-executed. I agree with criticisms regarding the slow pacing of the plot (particularly from episodes 5-7) and excessive product placements, but besides all of that, "Goblin" was able to deliver a refreshing plot backed up by A+ acting, masterful directing and cinematography, and wonderful OSTs, read more that these shortcomings barely became bothersome at all. Congratulations to Kim Eun Sook for finally writing something that deserves all the hype (contrary to popular opinion, I didn't find her previous hits as compelling and deserving, but that's just me). The plot needed some more polishing but overall is cohesive, profound and compelling. A show that you will definitely watch more than once, just to catch the subtle clues and foreshadowing that you missed when you saw it for the first time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ice Fantasy
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I absolutely loved it!! This series is so artistic and captivating.
It has beautiful scenery, costumes and mis-en-scene. It was so colourful and pretty to watch!
It was also entertaining to see the different tribes (where the lived and what they wore). The sets were fantastic, I loved all of the clans palaces (so well thought-out and designed).
The characters were so loveable! I just wanted them to all be happy ugh. read more Their entwining story lines were fantastic and sometimes heart breaking. The scores throughout the show were very well written. I personally like Ka Suo and Li Luo's theme.
This show doesn't follow the expectations of the audience and is often quite unpredictable. This is a great quality because after each episode your always left wanting to know what happens next.

I couldn't praise this show enough. It had me hooked from the first episode, and by the last I was wanting more.

I recommend watching this series with an open mind, it can have "tacky" or "cheesy" moments, but if you look past that you'll find a great show with an awesome story.

I cannot wait until season 2!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Star of the Universe
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Story
The plot was extremely well thought out for a web drama. Usually, web dramas don't have much meaning behind events that occur and viewers get confused but this drama had all of them carefully thought out. A lot happened at the end but I didn't feel rush at all which is also another good thing. In summary, the story and characters assigned all matched well with one another making this a read more great drama.

Acting/Cast
This was the first drama I have watched from both the main leads and the acting was better than expected. Not many idols could pull of acting very well and Suho did quite good. The main female lead's crying scenes were also very nice making me cry along with her.

Music
The OST for this drama is also another great element. It's a bit catchy, slow and relives the memories I had when watching it. So it was good, but I prefer other OSTs. However, the music and soundtracks played throughout the dramas were all at the right timing which makes it all good :)

Rewatch value
I hardly rewatch dramas but seeing as this is a web drama and is fairly short, I would rewatch it in the future when I have time x

Overall
If you're wondering whether to give this drama a shot, I definitely say yes! It's a short drama with a lot of meaning and potential to give u a variety of different feels and who knows, maybe it'll be one of your favourite web dramas of all time (like me!).
Happy watching & hope my quick review helped some of you struggling whether to watch it (: xo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
W
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was an amazing series that I decided to binge watch for 2 days. With every episode ending the preview sucked me in to watch the next one.
But wow, the plot of this drama is like nothing I've seen before. It really reminds me of Batman for some reason. I've always wanted to live in a comic book world so it kind of made me experience that.

The main lead chemistry read more is unbelievable so if you love romantic dramas this one doesn't delay the kiss scenes at all and cuts right to what the fans want :D The animation + the side characters were like a treat. Definitely re-watching this for the cute and romantic atmosphere!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shopping King Louis
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
The romance is bubblegum sweet. The story is gentle and heartwarming, the twists smart and unexpected. The characters make you smile and laugh and cry and smile some more.

Even the music left an impression on me, and that rarely happens!

It's basically like one, big, exhilarating, endorphin releasing shopping trip, but without any regret. Everything you bought is exactly what you wanted for exactly the right price.

This is going in read more my list of favorite drama's, Pronto!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Evergreen Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This was a very fluffy story, typical japanese style.
You learn about the small edible plants that grow on river banks, and how to make them into delicious food.
Overall this film was really cute, something to keep for a lazy rainy day. It will exceed your expectations but it wasn't something super punchy.
It has that soft Japanese vibe, if you could compare this to Kdrama, I would call this herbal read more tea and Kdrama triple shot coffee.
No matter your jam- this film pauses time with a simpler approach to life.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cats Don't Come When You Call
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This film was worth watching. It was a dark and rainy day when I thought i would give this a shot.
This was the sweetest story I had seen about cats. Also.. tissues.

Story:
Really amazing the way story unfolds and has a way of completing itself. I found myself wondering a few things but just the ending was really well done. Some things annoyed me in the sense that they are read more sad and I don't want it to be sad, but every great story needs a tragic catalyst to set things in motion. See what I did there haha.

Characters: All the characters are very memorable, dealing with their own things and occasionally bumping into each other. The true main characters are the cats and how they affect the lives of their owner.


Overall: This story reels your heart in, stabs it and then sews it back together with spun sugar. A sweet film about cats, and comic artists in Japan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Local Hero
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I really loved this series. The beauty of the series lies in the characters. It thrusts them in your face and then rips your heart to smithereens. The action was absolutely great, and we have a character who can actually fight who isn't perfect all the time.
There is the over done trope where he hides his 'secret agent identity' and people almost find out who he is, but for some reason read more there was still a sense of mystery.

Story/Plot:
It reminded me of rough cut, and fugitive plan:B- but a shit tonne better. While rough cut had some brutal action scenes (I recommend rough cut if you're into action) this had the right level of class, but not over playing it (what I found with fugitive). Local Hero gives things class, while keeping a sense of realism.
As for my enjoyment of the story: It was nail biting in places, made me cry in others, it had me shook.
Not to mention the cast was very 'aesthetic'.

Anime Similarities Vibe:
Death Parade, Bartender, The Irregular, Jikan no Eve.

Characters:
The development of the characters was enjoyable to watch, and follow their interactions. The most interesting thing about some of them, was their ability to be imperfect.

And that is all I am going to say on this topic haha.

It is a slow burner- with plenty of time to set the stage before things start exponentially get exciting and action packed.

Overall 9/10
It could have made it to a 10 if the photography was next level.
Tldr; Watch this if you are into action and a slow build up of flawed characters. Some dramas create a comforting vibe and others lack spark. This one had spark and maintained a comforting vibe.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Marriage, Not Dating
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Despite the theme/storyline of this drama being quite generic -- basically two people who go from hating each other's guts to love, this is one of the least cliched Korean dramas I've watched. It's a refreshing series, being more relatable to real life than most. I was desperately hoping there would be a continuation series when it ended and I can see myself rewatching the series more than once - that's how good it was!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I'm not usually the kind that goes for dramas about sports but this one I completely fell for. The consistency of each character throughout the series whilst watching them grow in their own way, and the adorable chemistry between the main pairing completes this drama as a perfect 10 in my books! A coming of age drama that creates a fluffy feeling in your heart, bringing you back to your own youthful read more days (or how you wish your youthful days were)! Highly recommend this to anyone looking for something light and uplifting to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yeah, That's How It Is
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Story
I smiled and giggled like crazy while watching this, the stories and plotline for each characters are realistically and naturally told. It is like you were watching someone else life during this 54 episodes of which may be able to be extended to more and more episodes because there would be no boring moments. It is about daily conflicts in our society / family with no dramatic measures that commonly seen read more in any other dramas. I have profound interest to every couples and family members here. They were just funny and sometimes annoying. Even the supporting roles in here like waiter or colleague were taken kinda thoroughly. I wondered during my watching, how the writter could be so precise in determining the scripts. Moreover, she (writter) showed a lot of moral lessons to viewers. I reminisced of my grandparents too btw. :')

Acting/Cast
The casting are completely perfect and great to portray the characters. The grandfather was very fun and also the aunt. The acting was exceptionally great as most of them were senior actor/actress. The youngsters are damn good-looking except i didnt really fond of Nam Gyu Ri face who looked like a doll (probably over-surgery).

Music
This drama dont have ost which keeps you remember. The background music also rarely played during the dramas. I thought this made the drama so alive and simple. :)

Rewatch Value
Hmm i guess i will watch it again if i miss it later . I am typical who dont watch drama twice, but for this drama i probably will.

Overall
If you like family, reasonable, realistic, and not draggy drama, this one is the best and amazing one. (my personal opinion). I give it 10++ actually haha.
This drama has similar vibes with Reply 1988 which I found both are realistic and not silly like other dramas were supposed to be.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kill Me, Heal Me
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I absolutely loved this drama. It hooked me in from the first episode which is rare. I laughed until I cried. I cried at some points. It moved me. The writing was excellent. The solution to the mysteries was not telegraphed to you way in advance. I hope Ji Sung won an award for this because he deserves it. I have re-watched this drama more than once and that makes it worth read more a 10. II shudder to think what would have happened to this drama if the role was given to a kpop idol who can't do anything but act cute. This role required emotional depth and he brought it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
If Cats Disappeared From The World is a movie about meaning of life and death, through the Sato Takeru´s character, who meets the devil and has the oportunity to change his sad destiny.

So based on that premise the movie is suposed to have a powerful story, and there is when the movie fails, the story have wonderful moments, but are only a few moments, so overall it feels too long and read more too slow and not really memorable.

The visual effects, the photography and the cast are really good, the characters are enjoyable i liked Sato Takeru, i think he is a great actor.

So if you really wanna cry with some story based on the same theme, life and death, i would recomend you to watch Boku No Ita Jikan (is a drama not a movie), but if actually you cry for everything, then maybe this movie is for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
After School: Lucky or Not
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I really enjoyed this! I know I'm a bit late, i decided to watch this after reading the article on here
http://mydramalist.com/article/2016/09/03/4-bite-sized-back-to-school-k-dramas
(4 Bite-Sized Back To School K-Dramas)
and thought i'd make my way down the list. It is a really funny and a veeeerrrrrry random show especially if you've seen some of these guys act in other dramas e.g Lee Tae Hwa, who played a stoic bodyguard in 'Please, come back read more mister' or Seo Kang Joon in 'Cheese in the trap' it seems so out of character but you can tell they enjoyed acting this out.
There's a point when I thought 'oh sh*t this is getting deep' then....nope....the weird doves appeared and made me laugh! I finished this drama in 2 sittings as I had work and during the day I couldn't help but find myself thinking 'cant wait to go back and finish that drama'.

I definitely recommend if you are looking for comedy and randomness....especially if you are watching this because you've seen these guys in other dramas so you want to just watch another one......it will surprise you.

NOW ONTO THE SECOND SEASON WOOP!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Moon Child
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
So I decided to re- watch this movie 9 years later, first time I only watched this due to my obsession with Gackt- Sam and didn't really get the plot or cared much. Now as I am a bit older (much older) I realized the plot was had deeper meaning than two good looking guys being BFF ..Lol

If you watch pass the gang and violence, the plot has deeper meaning to read more it. Its about friendship, loyalty, love and the desired to survive in a cruel and cold world.

Sho and Kei friendship from start was doomed to end up in either one of them dying or something horrible happened to them. But as the story line develops their friendship becomes more of older brother trying to look out for his fearless and sometime baka little brother who sometimes can be so careless but yet very loving and carrying towards his family and friends around him.


The story doesn't really go into dept why the female lead wasn't talking much , so you need to read the plot on wiki after watching it to understand her character. The fact that Gackt-Sama wrote some of the plot made it even more interesting.Watch behind the scene (on YT but so subs) and you will love this film more.

I will definitely re-watch this movie again in few years time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions