3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I love this drama
at first, I excited because there will be Jongsuk as a cameo when I read the description.
I watch it and both of the main actors are lovable
the story completely showing our daily life and I really like how the writer make each character so strong.
the meaning that the writer try to deliver also completely delivered to me (the youth life about friendship, love, career, future) read more I hope you guys enjoy this drama just like me. ^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
1 people found this review helpful
by Sky
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
In the beginning, the drama was very average and there is nothing too romantic going on. But as it goes on, you just wished that they realized they like each others. Like I asked myself, "OMG when are they going to date for real?" This drama is definitely one of my favorite this year. They are like the cutest couple.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Too Young To Die!
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 3.5
  • Story 1.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I ADORE Nagase Tomoya and TRIED so HARD to like this - but.....I just couldn't. I'm so, SO sorry. This was just a hot mess; but it shows he's a fun actor and can handle literally ANY role thrown at him. I think he's BRILLIANT.

Of course Kamiki Ryunosuke is brilliant too - I know him most from Studio Ghibli character's he's voiced and the voice role he played in the brilliant read more anime movie 'Summer Wars'. Like Nagase, he showed he could act in this movie - the roles they both played were utterly bonkers; but it's just a shame the film was a total mess.

They can't be blamed for the fact this film was complete nonsense and self indulgent trip for the writers and director - Nagase and Kamiki did the BEST work they could in roles that anyone else would've walked away from shaking their heads; the failure of the overall movie is down to the seemingly tiny budget, bad writing and awful directing.

I'm giving this 3.5/10 ONLY because of the sterling work by Nagase Tomoya and Kamiki Ryunosuke.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Luck-Key
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I liked this movie. Don't be put off as the actors and actresses did a great job.
The story sounds a bit tacky but the movie was well shot and the characters came through well.
It shows how one can turn one's life around if you put your mind to it and make the best of what you have.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nirvana in Fire
1 people found this review helpful
by QAS
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Nirvana in Fire is a drama masterpiece, that was brilliantly written and produced. All the actors in the primary and supporting roles, gave exceptional acting performances. Hu Ge and Wang Kai were the perfect casting choices for the Mei Chang Su and Prince Jing Yan roles. The costume designs and the set designs were flawless, and the music soundtrack was perfect.

The intricate plot flowed like an English Literature textbook. Hai Yan's read more novel, "Lang Ya Bang", deserves recognition in the Asian and Western literary worlds, and the TV drama deserves honors in the Asian and Western entertainment industries. All TV production houses should use the Chinese TV drama as the benchmark for their dramas.

This is the first TV drama that I awarded 10 points across the board.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
If you are looking for a well written review, I don't think this is it. I suck at writing reviews as I cannot fully put my thoughts correctly into words. ALSO, I MOST LIKELY MIGHT INCLUDE SPOILERS. SORRY


I know that this drama had a lot of potential but it seems like all of that was neglected as the show was approaching its ending.

For me, all the complications that were all read more piled up instead of getting resolved was kind of disappointing and it made me wonder if I am still watching the drama for its plot or whether my remaining hope for the two main characters is what's making it bearable. (But alas, the ending broke my heart into dust) Maybe because it was pre produced and the editing was not enough to salvage some parts of the plot but towards the ending, a lot of scenes didn't made any sense to me. Maybe I was just being stupid for not understanding and if that's the case, I'm really sorry.

As for the characters, 4th Prince Wang So really caught my heart. I like that his character was concrete and was not easily swayed by the palace's and political affairs. He stayed true to what he believes, does a reasonable and responsible decision even though sometimes, it was kind of stupid. But what I really like about his character was that no matter how strong and independent he appears to be, he is just like a child yearning for some love and companion and you'll realize how vulnerable his heart is. I could understand how he always claims Hae Soo as his and always refuses her to leave, (heck he managed to dodge every friendzone remarks Hae Soo made), when he got mad when people were doubting him being the appointed king and when he selfishly stayed by his mother's side alone without letting Jung into the palace. Everytime his mother makes hurtful remarks about Wang So, my heart aches with him. I just wanted to give his character a slow clap for being loveable not only because of his sweetness towards Hae Soo but also because I could fully understand his character. It is rare for me to find a character like this as most of the times, character build up in dramas tend to be confusing with too much back-and-forth with their feelings. I cried hard in the ending scene especially the one where he was standing alone. The realization that his happiness only lasted for a short while and that he was again left with no one on his side, tore my heart into millions of pieces. His character did not deserve that kind of ending. I just wanted him to be happy that in the ending scene, I just wanted to give Wang So a big loving hug. For our heroine, I liked how she was presented as a refreshing character from the start and as she slowly get used to living in Goryeo, I could see that she has learned a lot and has matured. I just found it a bit lacking how she seemed to not worry about the real her, Go Ha Jin, and the only time that we saw her was when she cried with Lady Hae in the praying stones. I was also disappointed about what happened to Hae Soo's character that after all the promises that she made towards Wang So, she ends up doing the exact opposite. And of all the struggles that they have gone through, they couldn't have the happy ending that they deserved. Although I could not really blame the ending on Hae Soo's character, I feel like her sorry in the ending was unfair for us viewers. Finally, the other characters that contributed a lot to this drama. At first, I thought Wang Wook would make a significant role all throughout the drama. I was disappointed that his change of character was just used to make the plot more complicated than it already was and I feel like he was slowly cast aside and appeared only when more complications needed to happen. I applaud Lady Hae and Court Lady Oh for being so selfless. They were the only two characters who were not selfish even though their circumstances are. It was hard not to love these two. To Queen Yoo and Princess Yeonhwa, I don't know why you guys are so greedy. I think that if they have been born as men, they'd kill each other for the throne. I didn't expect that I would pity the 3rd Prince in his last moments. I blame it all on his mother. Lastly, can we just give 14th Prince Jung a big hug? He was really selfless and he kept his promise to Hae Soo even if he received nothing in the end (he wasn't even able to confess. Poor Jung).

To all the actors and actresses that gave life to these characters, Thank you! I believe they all played their part very well. Lee Joon Gi is amazing in playing the part of Wang So. His facial expressions always get me. It is amazing how he is able to express those emotions very clearly. (even though my friend says otherwise). Also, I don't know about you guys but, I really liked IU's acting here and of course, to the other actors and actresses that we have come to hate and love like Kang Ha Neul, Hong Jong Hyun, Nam Joo Hyuk, Ji Soo, Kang Ha Na and many more.

Like I said, the plot had a lot of potential. It was just kind of disappointing how it became confusing towards the ending, like they gave us so much complications and sometimes, it was hard for my mind to digest. Also, I still cannot get over the ending. My heart still aches. I am giving this drama a rating of 8.0/10.0 to give credit to the amazing actors and actresses and also to its production design and editing. I know saeguks really needs a lot of effort to make. This drama has been a rough ride for me, f rom the funny relationship of the princes with Soo, their cute brotherly times, evil eyeliner characters, Wook hate, and finally a heart crashing ending.

I hope my review was not as confusing as I think it is and I hope you get what I'm trying to point out if ever someone is reading this. I might have contradicted myself in writing this, I'm sorry. I do think that there are still some things that I want to include but I've already confused myself in writing this a lot. I'll try to improve in writing reviews in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hi My Sweetheart
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
My review in a nutshell: Starts out cute and then proceeds to hit every cliche until it hits rock bottom. Then it proceeds to dig.

Seriously, the acting was fine. The characters were fine (although I found the oldest sister beyond annoying.) The main girl is pretty awesome, and the love rival is so much cooler than the main guy. Characters, no problem.

First 8 eps are a little on the silly read more side but still overall cute and I enjoyed them well enough. And then we got into the meat of the story--or lack of story. It got progressively more over the top, dramatic, and full of stupidity. I blame the script writer for this as it took perfectly good premise and characters and ruined the whole thing.

I'm usually pretty forgiving with Taiwanese dramas, I understand their idea of pacing and humor is different than the other Asian countries, but I really got mad at this show because it seemed to milk all the cliches for all they're worth. I ended up skipping through the last four eps just because I was at my wit's end.

I don't really recommend this. If you're looking for ugly duckling to swan transformation, there's better shows out there. Pinocchio, for instance.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 3.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Honestly, i am surprised at how much i liked this drama. It had a good plot and i thought it was an enjoyable pass time drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Loveholic
1 people found this review helpful
by Seka
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Great drama, tells the boundaries of love. It tells how far one person can go to protect the one he loves. Really an impressive act of characters. I could feel their emotions. I must admit i am truly impressed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Far Away Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
To be honest the main friend group in the seriesis friendship goals. Even if you usually stick to kdramas and tend to stay away from cdramas, give this drama a try. I have to say, this is probably one of the 5 best dramas that I have seen in the last 12 months. The villains are the perfect amount of petty and there are twists and turns till the very end.

Even read more so, the best part of the drama was the characters. The friendship between Ruo Nan, Chu Xia, and Wei Wei is what initially drew me in to the drama and kept me tuned for the long yet enjoyable 36 episode journey.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Naked Fireman
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is a perfect show to watch when you're in the mood to get away from the long and draggy dramas.

I'd have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by how good this ended up being! You honestly feel like you just finished a 16 episode drama in only 4 hours. It was fast paced, yet everything unravelled perfectly. There's romance, action, friendship, and family wrapped in a short 4 hours.

The read more acting was definitely on par--the main actors along with the supporting ones. I really liked the chemistry between Chul Soo and Jin Ah; one of the main reasons why I like this drama so much! Plus, Chul Soo is so yummy, why wouldn't you want to see him nude? ;)

The OST was okay, but the drama being only 4 hours, there isn't much time to really appreciate the music.

I finished this wishing it was longer. :(
I definitely recommend this to you if you are a rom-com and a crime drama person. I will miss Naked Fireman and will definitely rewatch in the future!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I love this series. Everyone portrayed their role very well. Highly recommendable to everybody especially in the field of medicine. Good job!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Beauty Inside
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Every once in a while, there are movies like this that make me really giddy! I love movies that create a certain style of their own. It creates its' own atmosphere and stand out from the crowd. And I mean stand out in a "black sheep" kind of way.

STORY: I loved the concept of this story! I'm a huge advocate that you should never judge a book by its' cover, and read more this movie really conveyed the message that love transcends above all else. I enjoyed the realistic aspects it showed when it came to having this kind of ability of transformation. It treated the issue of transformation with fun and serious moments. The only problem I had with the story was, although it did a good job highlighting the issues and problems these two would come upon when they first started dating, it failed to highlight the simplest idea too. The dating. Yes, the movie did show the two of them spending time with one another. I definitely get that it might have been hard to really show that, when there were so many other elements the movie wanted to get to, but the foundation of Woo-Jin and Yi-Soo's relationship was built on a very typical romantic relationship setup. Two people meet, go on dates, and fall in love. There wasn't a whole lot of depth shown between Woo-Jin and Yi-Soo to really get a deeper feel of how special their relationship was to one another. But, I guess you can only put so much material into a movie, what with their budget, time-limit and all. Overall, I still really loved the story line and definitely appreciated the fact that they included different races, age, and even women and a kid (that was super cute!) as Yi-Soo's counterpart.

ACTING/CAST: I don't even have to note how much I loved the cast of this movie. It was amazing and was super cool to see so many talents rolled into one movie. The acting was great and could see how challenging it would be for all the Woo-Jin actors. I would just critique on the fact that Woo-Jin's personality and displayed character was a little wobbly throughout the movie. In most cases, actors/actresses have one character role and get to make it their own. Sometimes, there are cases where an actor takes on two character roles (reason being the two characters are twins) and do a great job acting out two different people, but it's hard for a cast of 25 talents (varying from gender, age and experience) to adhere to a single character role and work together to show a fluid and smooth performance that gives the audience the feel that they are seeing one person instead of many. I'm not sure how the director or screenwriter was involved in trying to get all the Woo-Jin actors to cooperate in how to show a singular Woo-Jin character, but there were times throughout the movie where I felt like I was seeing a different Woo-Jin then the one previously introduced.

MUSIC: Again, I'm not the type to really pick on the music selection. All I'll really say is that they picked the music beautifully because it really set the tone and created the style of the movie in the most perfect way. The only real reason a "MUSIC" section would be long, is if I felt the music didn't fit the style and the tone of the story of the production, at all. There's only one instance where I felt that in a Korean drama.

OVERALL: Overall, great movie! Loved it, and it left a warm cozy feeling in me when it ended! The actors/actresses, directors and staff members did an AWESOME job creating a very down-to-earth, laid back and almost "indie feeling" movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Reply 1988
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
A Drama That is Worth a Thousand Smile

Before I start let me just clear out one thing, I have never been a fan of Reply Series and never thought that one day I would be. The first series (Reply 1997), I watched it while it was still airing back in 2012 and stopped right after ep.4. The reason I still remember the number of the episode perfectly is to keep reminding read more myself that I did start it like everyone else and before all the hype but still didn’t work for me. While Reply 1994 did intrigue my interest, it’s the rumors I’ve heard about Reply1988 being a family drama is what really pushed my button especially that I am sucker for family themed and nostalgia stimulating dramas.

In life, I have had to say goodbye to many things--friends, family members, my teen life, and as I venture into my last year of my 20s, I say goodbye to my youth as well. Bidding farewell to Reply 1988 continues this list, as I venture onward in dramaland and away from Ssammungdong. I say goodbye to that warm, neighborly feeling, that old nostalgia, that stirup-pant wearing era, and to the best youth drama I have ever seen. This drama really penetrated my soul.

Story:
The story primarily takes place in a singular setting, and yet the narrative does not stagnate; it does not become boring or trite; it does not make you sleepy when watching daily interactions of the families. Instead, the story of R1988 pushes at the heart and makes you yearn for friends who love each other this closely, for parents who love each other this much, for a life as simple and yet as hard as these characters' lives were. It takes you out of 2015/2016/2017 and supplants you into 1988 where you take that same journey with the characters. The first 2 episodes were pretty much an introduction episodes where all the crucial characters are being shown. My position as a viewer was a thin line between proceeding or stopping I needed to feel attached to the character because that is what it takes to feel R1988 but to me they were random people who knew each other BUT I knew nothing about them. The length of each ep (hour and half) scared me, I wondered if I could handle a 20 more eps especially that I wasn’t expecting much from the drama. However once I got deeper and deeper into their lives and got to know each and every one of them, I just couldn’t stop anymore. I felt they are part of me and I’m part of them.

Possibly, the star of the narrative of R1988 is its ability to exert both laughter and tears at the passing of a few minutes, yet it never feels stilted. It brings to us the viewers richness and variety of character within just the five friends, let alone the parents and siblings surrounding them. With that, we see intricate details of each person's character--like Bora's unspoken love for her parents, or Dong Ryong's inner philosopher, or Jung Hwan's hidden sweetness, or Taek's competitive strength. There are so many elements of character that we see, often unspoken, rise to the surface with the passing of a quick moment or a prolonged incident.

I loved the fact that the story focused more on friendship and family relationships so romance (the husband game) took a severe backseat in this drama. Furthermore, the show gave many couples a chance at love, both new and renewed, lost and found. It was never unrealistic or unfair to anyone in the cast instead, it offered options and chose the best one.

Acting:
I would love to talk about each and everyone one of the cast because they were the heartthrob of the show altogether, but no words would be enough so I’ll keep it short and list my favorites:

Sung Duk Seon (Lee Hyeri): My biggest surprise of them all! The bubbly and outgoing, if not a little bit kooky Duk Seon. At first, I doubted that she will be good because I’ve seen her before in one drama and wasn’t impressed. BUT, I was pleasantly surprised! Hyeri portrayed Duk Seon so perfectly that I can believe she actually acts like that in real life. Not to mention I could totally relate to Duk Seon issues being the 2nd child in the family which makes her my favorite.

Yoo Dong Ryong (Lee Donghwi): Dong Ryong is somewhat the male version of Duk Seon. I don't understand how the casting crew can be so good. The Lee Dong Hwi who is in his 30s can act out a whiny 18-year-old very well. I have nothing but praises for him and the way he portrays his character in the drama. I really loved Dong Ryong moments in consoling his friends and how he understood each and everyone of them more than they understood each other.

Kim Jung Hwan (Ryu Junyeol): Simply said, Jung Hwan is a kind of tsundere. I already knew Ryu Junyeol's fame skyrocketed after he took up the role of Kim Jung Hwan. I must say it is easy to understand that. He IS a good actor. The feeling awkward expression, the secretly happy face and many other are properly conveyed by Ryu Junyeol.

I could talk all day about the parents' roles as well. Ra Mi Ran, Kim Seon Young, and Lee Il Hwa trumped most drama mothers for being the most awesome trio of moms in a drama. They were not only funny, but they all showed signs of vulnerability and strength, and true to form, they were an unstoppable force on screen and in front of their husbands. But Ra Mi Ran takes the cake. She pulls off the ajumma routine like a master, this role was made for her. She’s intense. And every scene she was in, I thoroughly enjoyed. She’s a tough mom but an always kind mom; she’s aloof but wants to be warm; she’s smart but uneducated–and she’s a joy to watch.
As for the husbands/dads, all the dads were awesome as well, but Kim Sung Kyun takes the trophy. His President Kim routine will forever been ingrained in my memory, but also his relationship with Ra Mi Ran showed a great example of how love grows with age.
Fun fact, all adults used their own names. How funny and creative is that?

Music:
The music of Reply 1988 also played a special role, not only in the background OST, but in the characters' lives. The power of music pervaded the narrative of Reply. It gives warmth.

Overall
R1988 carries that genuineness into the world it’s set in. This isn’t the 1980s through the lens of nostalgia and political correctness, but a balance between the popular culture and political correctness. It’s not an attempt to shy from history. I cannot recommend this drama enough. The first 2-3 episodes are required to really get you into the show, but once you watch those, you will be hooked. It’s not about glamour, R1988 is merely about people, family, life and YOUTH. The only reason it did not get a full 10 from me is because of the slightly unsatisfying ending. I am NOT talking about the husband's identity (I’ve figured it out during the earlier episodes and the writing was fair to both male leads imo) but how the ending was handled did leave me feeling really empty. I needed to see everyone in the cast; I needed to see their 2015/16 selves. A narration/update of their 2015/16 lives would've been good enough so I could say goodbye because that is the point of R1988, feeling like you’re a part of the whole thing but instead felt kind of left out by the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Scarlet Heart
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Terminei meu primeiro dorama chines. Decidi começar por ele, por causa da versão koreana Moon Love (2016). Sobre o dorama, a história é realmente a mesma, com as diferenças de história da China/Coreia. Os príncipes são os mesmos números. O 4° como imperador, o 8° como rival amoroso, o 9° como traidor, o 10° como fofo e inocente, o 13° o fiel amigo e o 14° o que foi usado o tempo read more todo...sobre as diferenças. Na versão chinesa, senti falta das emoções dos personagens, a história passava rápido demais e há havia ligação com o telespectador, ou as vezes se apaixonavam rápido demais. Os finais do 10° e 13° foram um pouco diferentes (no koreano o 10° quebrou meu coração), o 8° não conseguiu meu ódio mortal por ele na versão chinesa, na koreana a traição dele foi mais doida, sem perdão. O 9° é uma bosta sempre. e o príncipe herdeiro do chinês era um FDP (na coreana era um cara decente e justo) e por fim o 4° ele foi o que mais me incomodou nas interpretações, ele não sabe passar todo o drama e sentimentos que o 4° koreano mostrou, chorei no final por causa da Ruo Xi e não por ele, na koreana eu chorei litros pelo 4°. Já a Ruo Xi, ela foi meio boba, mas mais esperta que a a koreana. Gostei que no final da chinesa mostra eles no futuro, e agora quero ver a continuação na próxima temporada que se passa nos dias atuais
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions