Protect the Boss

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.8 (scored by 12,215 users)
  • Ranked: #1450
  • Popularity: #68
  • Watchers: 22,052

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

37 edits
20 edits
19 edits
18 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Jeaniessi
71 people found this review helpful
Oct 4, 2011
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Well, I have to say that I give Protect the Boss a solid 9. I wanted to give it a 10 because the acting was wonderful and for about 85% of the time, I enjoyed this drama very much. Sad to say, as usual, the extension killed the momentum and slowed things down during the last third of the drama's run.

I find more fault with the whole "Drama Producing Machine" rather than with the writers, actors or director. I think if this show would have been able to stay on course and end at 16 episodes it would have been beyond great. The extra filler did it no favors. Having said all that...

This drama had such a different and fresh feel to it! Yes, it was quirky and had clichés but there was also a charming departure in the way they used those clichés. It seemed the familiar drama tropes were thrown in for fun here and there but not used as a fall back due to lack of writing skills. The relationships were written differently. All across the board; whether it be the family dynamics [which was particularly refreshing and endearing], how the love square was treated throughout and of course the main couple's budding love. There were a lot of genuinely funny moments. And again, the romance was portrayed slightly off from the normal..."Couple meets, don't like each other, they fight, there is sexual tension, love, trouble, noble idiocy, true love!" trajectory that most dramas follow.

A standout part of the plot for me: The friendship of the three women. I am speaking of how this drama decided to take a different tact with the female second lead, Na Yoon. They curled her into the already established friendship of the Myung Ran and Eun Seol and made her a part of them. And oddly, comically and rightly..she fit! It was charming. Rather than turn her into a clingy, clueless one dimensional bitch, they gave her character development. She had her own endearing quirks and she ended up being one of my favorites to watch. Show, I heart you for her! Thank you.

Don't let those few slower episodes in the latter half turn you off. This Drama has a lot of wonderful moments, great plot, story momentum, refreshing writing and acting to recommend it. Funny, Quirky, Sweet! Check it out!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Malu
18 people found this review helpful
Oct 16, 2015
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a very funny and lovely drama!!!
At first I thought not see this drama because I hadn't seen anything of the leading actors, and because I had some grudge against Wang Ji Hye after seeing Personal Taste and Hotel King; however, the drama really worth it.
I fell in love with Ji Sung above all things and loved this type of female character, strong and independent, even a little reluctant to fall in love, I think that's just a plus for the drama, because you can see the guy seeks sassy girl's love and not the other way around.
I also ended up loving Wang Ji Hye and realized that a character may end up defining whether you like or do not like an actor, sometimes you forget the difference between fiction and reality XD
Another plus point is that finally the parents were not the most important obstacle to the main characters, but the circumstances. That seemed more entertaining after all.
In addition, all the supporting characters (the adults) were really funny and charming, I really never loved Kim Young Ok more than here, especially in her scenes with director Cha.
Finally, this drama had definitely one of the best bromances I've ever seen .Sometimes Ji Heon and Moo Won really seemed to be the real romantic couple of the drama haha

May you enjoy it as much as I did. Totally recommended!!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rosefae72
29 people found this review helpful
May 20, 2012
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
Without posting spoilers it's difficult to explain why I liked this drama so much.
First, the story was interesting from beginning to end. I didn't feel like there was any lag as it got close to the end.
Second, I easily related to the male lead because I have some of the same issues he does.
Third, despite all the ups and downs I enjoyed the family dynamic.
Fourth, good combination of romance, comedy, and friendship
Last, excellent chemistry between all the actors.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Aspyre
16 people found this review helpful
Mar 19, 2014
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I began watching this drama back in 2012, yet I never finished it for some reason and so I decided to complete it a few days ago. I am glad I did.

When it comes to story, it's nothing new, but it's done in a proper way. The romance flows so naturally that at one point I stopped to think, 'Okay, when did that happen?', because it was realistic to that extent of making me fully aware of it, without overreacting the scenes and adding unnecessary angst into the cart.

The acting is superb, I can't point out any person from the crew that failed to bring the game. I also grew to love Wang Ji Hye in this drama, because she made her character so cute and likable that I'm painstakingly relieved she wasn't yet another generic second female lead.

Music was interesting, it didn't disturb the scenes, although it didn't make much of an impact either.

Now, I'd like to make note of the shortcomings... such as lack of thrill to the episodes, since there wasn't enough happening for the viewer to be enthralled with the plot, so it was a tiny bit too contained for me. Not saying that it's bad, it's a change for this drama type, but it could've been a bit more exciting to watch. With that being said, it also made the drama a bit longer than it should've been, 2-3 episodes less maybe?

I highly recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dramajunkie
24 people found this review helpful
Oct 9, 2011
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Many people may disagree with my review, but Protect The Boss has only one thing going for it: the funny. That is all that I got from this drama, laughs, which is not enough to make a drama good.



It's sad because it started out very good and had so much potential with its breaking every cliche that is repeatedly used in drama after drama, which was refreshing. But unfortunately, somewhere along the way, it lost its charm.



In the beginning, I found myself looking forward to new episodes and would watch right after the subs were out, but towards the end I had trouble finishing the drama and had an internal debate over whether or not to drop it. I decided to give it a chance to redeem itself, but it didn't improve. I think the extension it received was not necessary, it actually hurt it (even though the extension was more for giving A Tree With Deep Roots more time to film).



The story could have been told in 10 episodes instead of 18. The only worthy aspect of this drama was the comedy, and the most enjoyable character was Na Yoon. The acting wasn't great, but had the story been better, it could've been overcome.



Anyway, this was my take on the drama, and I know others loved it, but for me it was a drama that was missing DRAMA.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kim-Park-Lee
9 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2014
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I'm surprised this drama's rating hasn't reached 8 - to me, it seemed both quite unusual and easy to like...

That being said, I do admit I had dropped it at first after two episodes, as many other people seem to have done - I can't recall what those first two episodes were like since I watched them months ago, but if you are looking for a drama without clichés and with a poignant romance, give this drama another chance! I know how common the give-this-drama-a two-episode-chance-you'll-see-it's-worth-it rule is, but it seems to me that it is more true for Protect The Boss than any other drama I have ever watched.

Perhaps this drama is more suited for experienced drama watchers, which I wasn't when I started it. Every typical cliché you find in a rom-com drama is cleverly used and turned around, which makes it a refreshing experience. Many of the main characters are "knock-off" stereotypes, and therefore end up being both comical and very relatable. For example, I have never seen a chaebol father/son relationship depicted quite this way: the father loves his son deeply, which, sadly enough, is a rare thing in dramas. Or else, the second female lead that turns out to be more than the typical spoiled, petty, beautiful rich girl.

Maybe another reason people often give this drama up is because of the female lead - I remember finding her loud, ugly, stupid and a bit too old for me to relate with. She ended up being one of my all-time favorite female characters though, not only because she's strong and talks back and blablabla, but because she's a normal, nice person with a lot of common sense - which is much is easier to like than the usual excessively nice, blindly self-sacrificing female protagonist... And I found her pretty too, in the end :)

It's so agreeable to watch... nice people for a change. Sure, this drama is light, but that doesn't mean it's stupid: on the contrary, I felt like for once the writers didn't just feed the viewers over-used drama formulas, as if they weren't aware of these tropes. It felt like all the main characters were carefully developed. And there were barely any misunderstandings, for once (a few towards the end, but they weren't completely absurd...) The drama was intelligent not because it gives some lesson, but because it was intelligently written.

I decided to give this drama another chance because I had posted a forum question looking for dramas where the male lead was obsessed with the female lead. Even though I love that plot, I also felt that kind of drama often winds up bad, because the girl ends up being too passive, and the guy too... stupid (in my opinion, Boys Over Flowers or The Heirs are examples of that). However, in this drama, I was able to watch my favorite kind of obsessed protagonist without grinding my teeth - the romance was the kind that made my heart flutter without it being unrealistic or silly, but on the contrary, very down to earth.

The major flaw may be the last episodes - I liked them, but they're probably the weakest compared to how strong the rest of the drama was. Oh well, I'll take 14 excellent episodes for 2 mediocre beginning ones and 2 nice ending episodes anytime.

Try this drama if you're looking for characters that you can truly like! The friendships and love stories that develop are sweet and unexpected :)

p.s: ah yes and the guys are handsome ;)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
palak
13 people found this review helpful
Nov 22, 2012
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Exactly the kind of drama I love! It was funny from the very first moment, till the very end. Ji Sung has officially become my favorite character of all time. In the beginning (say 15 minutes. 20 tops) I found him really weird. I mean, what's with the retro haircut and the bag-pack? But after that, ahahahahahaha. It was awesome. Eun Seol was kickass. JaeJoong was the ultimate eye candy. I loved Ms Wrestler and Ice-cream! And, OH MY GOSH, the elevator scenes. EPIIC. xD

And thanks to this show stopped hating In Hee (from Personal Taste). If you have the same problem, this show is HIGHLY recommended! :D

Special Credits to the Odd Jobs President Cha did during his community service. Lol. Everytime, he said he was busy, and I thought he was talking about some hi-fi President Wallstreet-ish work and all he ended up doing was making children cross roads or scrape out chewing gums or gossiping with ajummas x). And the 'Whoo Whoo' song!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
holldoll32
9 people found this review helpful
Jun 20, 2013
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Hmmm... I honestly don't know how to start on my review XD

Good Points: 1) A very unique drama. Usually in these plots with chaebol sons and illegal doings it would seem like a melodrama. I love how everything was funny instead though! Once you get to like episode 14 there is a slight turn to where you actually worry but it turns funny again :)

2)In alot of dramas the second leads stories are boring. But i loved ice cream and miss wrestler in this, sometime more than the main leads!

3) The main leads a kick ass with a bad ass past! And I'm talking about the woman! Its nice seeing someone who's not a damsel in distress in a Korean drama for once!

Bad Points: 1) I have to admit, I was bored in alot of parts. I don't know what it was but i just felt like they should just get to the point on some things.

2) This could've been a 16 episode drama. I mean, i think if they did that, it wouldn't have bad point number one (and I'd give this a 10!) But still, any drama addict should have this on their list!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Christina
7 people found this review helpful
Jun 7, 2013
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Simply hillarious!!! I couldn't stop laughing while watching it! I also really liked the characters, they were realistic with their flaws and imperfections, plus Jaejoong (from JYJ) was part of the cast and he was so handsome!! What else did I like about this drama? How the characters developed during the show. And apsoloutly adore the side couples!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
korean
10 people found this review helpful
Jun 17, 2013
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
To be honest at first I started watching by mistake I got it mixed with another drama '' Princess Prosector '', but when watching the first episode I was like LOL..I thought that it would be like the dramas I've watched which are mostly comedy/romance But surprisingly it was different.. It was refreshing and I kept laughing 'till the end unlike the other dramas that starts with laughter and then turns into tears and drama.. In a word this Drama has become the second on my list after '' Playful Kiss ''
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
bugsnameis
9 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2012
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
update
my opinion hasn't changed
the story was good, playful until the end
there were some serious moments but still funny
the story is about a girl punk trying to survive as secretary
the cast the acting was great both male leads did so well
(two extremes the workaholic and the childish rich boy)
both female lead did well also to extremes Tough girl wimpy girl
(tough girl very unprofessional being in that field i would have fired her a long time ago)
this was the first kdrama ive seen where ive loved every character
the music is stellar both the main leads can sing >.<
im rewatching it right now
this is the first review where the drama get a perfect 10
their characters reminds me a lot of boys over flowers
she's a tough girl and a useless heir that falls for her
i adored it
and if your tired of wimpy girls that wont stand up for themselves
tired of the girls who are unrealistic
this is the drama for you
ps it has a ending that is perfect

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Aryael
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 5, 2011
18 of 18 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Story: Typical chaebol guy falling for a poor woman with attitude story, BUT with a twist. The twist? The clever dialogue, the lighter/comedic take at competition between relatives and amongst the upper class for power and of course, the unforgettable characters. Watch this if you want to see the "physical" side of chaebol power struggle (if hair pulling and catfights are not enough for you!). A little bit of dallying at the end due to the 2 episode extension to 18 episodes but not too bad considering that it gave a concrete, non-rushed ending to the story.



Acting/Cast: Excellent acting from the casts. The reason why I gave a 9/10 was because I thought a couple of the casts were not as experienced in acting and it showed, though the fault is not too serious that it ruined the enjoyment of the drama. For newbies, they did very well.



Music: Only two OSTs stood out for me. The rest are forgettable (that's just my opinion!). The OSTs served their purpose well though and went well with the situations in the drama. Conclusion: OSTs are not the strength of this drama. The story and characters are.



Rewatch value: I would buy the originals and keep them under my collections of good dramas. I will definitely re-watch it one day but not in the near future. This drama gives you a happy, relaxed feeling - high entertainment value, but at the same time, it is not SOOOOO good that you'll be going back to the episodes again and again. Keep this for when you want to re-visit good memories from the kdrama land,,,, someday in the future.....



Overall: Excellent entertainment value. Solid ending. Enjoyable characters. One for keeps but not THAT outstanding to form a following or trend that'll get people talking for years to come.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?