Stars Falling From the Sky (2010) poster

Details

  • Drama: Stars Falling From the Sky
  • Country: South Korea
  • Episodes: 20
  • Aired: Jan 4, 2010 - Mar 16, 2010
  • Aired On: Monday, Tuesday
  • Original Network: SBS
  • Duration: 1 hr. 5 min.
  • Genres: Romance, Drama, Family
  • Rating: 15+ - Teens 15 or older

Statistics

  • Score: 7.8 (scored by 4,555 users)
  • Ranked: #1779
  • Popularity: #485
  • Watchers: 7,372

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

5 edits
4 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Rourou
44 people found this review helpful
Jul 16, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I watched this drama because of my grandmother, I saw her watching the third episode and I became quickly invested in its events so I catched up and continued watching the drama with her.
I have to point that my grandmother has a great taste (^_^)

2) Storyline/Plot:

Generally speaking , this is a family drama wrapped up with romance and comedy which is an acceptable combination for most of viewers.

Positive points:

*This drama is one of those dramas that made me interested with only one episode, I felt good vibes ever since it started because the plot was set up in a good way.

*Main Genres:

--->Family: This drama is different from other family dramas because the plot was well written in order to make viewers deeply attracted, even the problems weren't the type that was written in order to fill the drama's time; it was well calculated to make everything about the family sound natural and important. The family element was appreciated so much within me and I am not even into family dramas.

--->Humor: It was intense at the beginning but later on it didn't remain the same, not that it completely faded away but laughter moments weren't that present, let's say it was "humble". Epidode three and four were the funniest episodes in here.
The comedy was accepted overall, It would've been more appreciated if it was much intense like it was at the beginning but anyway, it deserves a spot in the positive points column.

Negative points:

--->Romance: I had a lot of thoughts before mentioning it in the negative points column; it had its positives and its negatives yet I think that the negatives were "bigger".
The romance wasn't satisfying, it wasn't light and "badly expressed" which made it one of the few bad point in this drama since it didn't feel enough. However, it wasn't completely Off, at least, it wasn't disappointing.

Story: 8.5/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Choi Jung Won:

I don't know this actress and even if i do, I don't believe that her previous roles were that remarkable since I dont remember any of them. Here, she portrayed her role in a good acceptable way.
The character was interesting ever since the drama started, it's not an unusual or a special character though but the character's developement was captivating although it may get a little annoying at some points. Pal Gang was really clumsy and indifferent at the beginning then she changed in a good way.


*Kim Ji Hoon:

I'm not very familiar with him as an actor, all the memories that I have about him aren't that bad nor that great. Here, he wasn't any different, I felt that Choi Jung Won lead the drama yet I can't ignore his presence wich was somehow "nice" to watch.
The character in one word "stiff", all what I can think about that it was really exagerated sometimes but that's how the storyline wanted it to be. There were mements were lawyer Won seemed "appealing" and "enjoyable" especially when he is with Pa Rang , I won't judge the character harshly because like I said earlier, it's drawned by the storyline.

*The five Children:

I have no idea about them as actors so I am not going to talk about that side, let's just mention that their acting convinced me and their roles were the best.
Their characters were awesome, each and everyone of them was enjoyable; all the pranks, the attitudes and their thoughts were simply wonderful to see.
The main reason that kept me interested until the last minute was the children's presence, if it wasn't for them, i think it would be another usual boring korean drama. The children were my favorite characters in this drama.

*I really loved the second lead male at the beginning then his character development didn't seem right.

*Appreciated character: Tae Kyun Was the funniest character in the drama, he wasn't that funny but his presence has always lightened the drama and made it enjoyable, I appreciated his presence a lot.

*The second lead female had the usual boring personality that most of Korean second lead females has; that was always boring for me.

*Other cast: No hard feelings for the remaining of the cast, I can't say that I liked them or disliked them , they weren't "that bad".

*Relationships:

--->Romance: It's really hard to talk about chemistry in this drama since the romance wasn't that "intense", even when the romance became serious, I don't think that the chemistry was that present or that deep.

--->Family: The children's relationship with their big sister was really cool, even though some troubles may occure, I don't believe that it got any worse. The family relationships were warm and good to watch.

--->The triangle: The usual triangle that you see in most of Korean dramas. Well, Tae Kyun added a good taste but beside that it was annoying.

Cast: 7.5/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

The ending was predictable but it was fun to watch. I liked the final scene ; It was a good closure.

The ending: 7.5/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I enjoyed this drama so much although I am not into this type of dramas, I don't believe I was bored because I never lost interest.
*The main reason that made me attracted to this drama from the beginning till the end was the children's presence, I don't think I would've liked it if they were absent.

*Is this drama memorable: Yes it is, most of the memories that would remain in my mind are the children's memories because beside that it was a normal usual Korean drama.

My impression: 8.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like romatic comedies with family theme in it then you would like this.
*If you like great children that would bring you entertainment then watch this.
*If you're looking for a "romantic" drama, I wouldn't recommend this.

Overall: 8.5/10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dreamer
17 people found this review helpful
Jun 4, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama was one of the few that I really enjoyed. The first few episodes took me for an emotional roller caster ride. It was more of a coming of age story line for the protagonist. As yo watch the episodes you realize that the protagonists relationship starts of slow but gets intense as you go on. During this drama you will laugh, get angry, and also cry a river of tears. I recommend it to all the drama crazed fans out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BlueMind
6 people found this review helpful
Jun 5, 2013
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This was one of the first dramas I started after taking a major break from all Korean dramas and K-Pop. I was instantly pulled into the plot, Jin Pal Kang frustrated me at times but it was something she couldn't help.
I sympathised with Pal Kang so much as she had such a big burden to carry looking after all her little siblings.

I think what made me so addicted to the drama was all the kids, they made the drama so much more enjoyable and hilarious. All that family-must-stick-together feel was just too much for me and it was just plain adorable.

The characters all had really great development and the acting was fantastic, I think the kids did a really good job taking in to account that they were all so young and all of them were newbies when it came to show-biz except for Ji Bin, our trusty dongsaeng from BOF! Seeing Won Kang Ha softening up from his cold shell expecially around the kids was also extremely adorable.

The coincidences was sometimes a little too much and really frustrating especially watching the mystery of her parents death unravel. There were moments when I just wanted to fast forward everything while still knowing what happened just so justice could be served!

All in all, I loved this drama so much. I've already re-watched it twice and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who loves family relationships and really cute scenes!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
RichRider
10 people found this review helpful
Aug 16, 2013
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Stars Falling from the Sky is a drama I just recently finished watching and it is one of those dramas that started off with something good, ended with disappointment, and no real closure for certain characters.

As I like to do with my reviews, I'll start off with the main characters.

We have Jin Pal Gang. She starts off as a frivolous woman who works only to buy designer bags and clothing. To be frank, she just doesn't care about anything else and has been fixated on a man named Won Kang Ha (our male lead) for the past 5 years. Her home life is rowdy as she lives with her parents and FIVE adoptive siblings. Each of them, starting with Pal Gang, is named after a color. Pal Gang (Red), Ju Hwang (Orange), Norang (Yellow), Cho Rok (Green), Parang (Blue), and the baby Nami (Indigo).
Pal Gang is an insurance agent and is the lowest performer in the nation... I wonder why? As was stated above she doesn't really care much about improving herself and only goes to work to pick up a paycheck and spend it all in one day. But here is where her character changes for the better. After her parents tragically die in a car accident, Pal Gang is forced to grow up and mature REAL fast. After being forced out of her home with her five siblings, their only choice is to roam the streets and search for places to stay with the little money they have left.
Pal Gang, to me, is probably one of the most admirable characters in the drama. She could have dumped all of her siblings in an orphanage and live her life however she wanted. But she doesn't. Probably one of the most touching scenes in the drama is when she starts to cut off her hair in a public bathroom and says to herself "You're no longer a woman. You're a mother now." And she sticks to that and becomes a real elder sister/mother to the five kids.

Here we go to Won Kang Ha. You're not gonna like him at all in the beginning. He's a jerk. Kang Ha works in the same company as Pal Gang as an insurance lawyer. One thing you'll notice right away is that he's very cold hearted towards women and you'll see the reason why later on in the drama. The only person he loves and cares for is his younger brother Joon Ha even though he doesn't show it and seems distant towards him. Kang Ha is a man with many past emotional scars he keeps hidden. He puts up a barrier in front of everyone he comes across which pretty much says "Leave me alone".
Kang Ha is forced to be social and accepting when Pal Gang comes along to work as a maid in his house along with her five siblings. At first, they are hidden from him but of course he finds out. At first, he's ready to throw them out of his house believing that he is actually doing them a service by not giving Pal Gang and the others false hope. Kang Ha does grow a lot as a character and the tension in the atmosphere he gives off eventually goes away.

The real highlight of the drama, at least for myself, was the unexpected friendship between Kang Ha and the little boy Parang. I found Parang to be quite a nuisance in the beginning with his bathroom issues and sleepwalking problems but the kid grew on me and maybe he'll grow on you too. Out of the five siblings, Parang is the only one that calls out Kang Ha on his BS. He tears down the man's anti-social, emotionally scarred barriers. Most people like to dismiss young kids as being naive and dumb. But just like elder people, kids can tell when someone is hiding their true feelings and being stubborn about it.

The supporting characters were somewhat interesting. Joon Ha will have you confused about his true feelings. Tae Gyu (the nephew of Kang Ha and Joon Ha) will offer a lot of laughs with his antics but nevertheless he's a guy with a pure heart. And then Jae Young will have you frustrated and annoyed with her obsession/infatuation with Kang Ha.

The romance between Kang Ha and Pal Gang, I hate to say, was disappointing. Even though the two did share some hostile, funny, and touching moments, I was left disappointed. Why? Because of the many subplots that were honestly unnecessary. A murder mystery, hitman, gangsters... why? The drama would've been a thousand times better if it stuck to developing the romance more and the whole family dynamic that was going on. Also, because of those unnecessary subplots there were some characters that were not given proper closure and left you wondering what happened to them.

Then comes the cliche ending. You know that cliche ending, right? The one where the writers believe that jumping ahead 500 years later will solve all of the problems within the story instead of changing certain situations within the plot or just not adding those situations to begin with.

Overall, I'd say the drama suffered with the writers trying to cram in too many situations in 20 episodes. There were at least 3-5 different ways this drama could've been written but its water under the bridge. To be fair, I did enjoy the friendship between Kang Ha and Parang as well as Pal Gang's change from a frivolous woman to assuming the role of an elder sister/mother.

Give the drama a shot if you wish. Maybe you'll find something you liked about it that I didn't. Hope you enjoyed this review!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BurningBoiceM
8 people found this review helpful
Jul 8, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This drama is just EPIC! I know its not that popular but its really worth watching. The story is just so addictive and the actors and actresses did an awesome job! The children were the BEST actually :) They didn't over act and did an awesome job here. If you really want to watch a PERFECT drama then this is for you :)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
allyson
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 13, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I usually avoid family dramas at all costs. The larger the cast of focused characters, the quicker I lose interest. And god forbid there be more than one child in the show! But seriously, I have never been more impressed by a cast of child actors than I was with Stars Falling From the Sky! The children very quickly stole my heart, none moreso than Pa Rang.

When the show starts, Pal Kang is a frivolous, irritating young woman who doesn't care about anything other than landing the lawyer as her husband. This show does an amazing job of show casing her growth as a person and as a mother. My only complaint is the sheer number of times she felt the need to say that when she cut her hair in the bath house, that was when she stopped being a woman. There are some episodes where she felt the need to point that out 3 or more times! As for her male counterpart, his growth was also very interesting to watch. I definitely enjoyed just how much room the writers gave these characters to grow together.

As for the remaining cast, the nephew was hilarious, if a little too much at times. His love for Pal Kang was a welcome comedic relief though. And the three children's devotion to each of Pal Kang's potential husbands was also something that was really fun to watch. I never did end up liking the brother, Joon Ha, though. He always came off as kind of slimy, even when he was trying his hardest to be a sincere knight in shining armor. Ugh, and don't even get me started on Jae Yong. Her strict adherence to the idea that Kang Ha had to marry her absolutely, no matter what, was irritating, cause it's never given a clear motive of why. It doesn't make sense, the lengths she goes to to force Kang Ha into a relationship with her.

And this is definitely a show that ends up jumping the shark in the last episode. Majorly. Without spoiling it, let's just say, the last episode felt as if the writers were giving a big middle finger to the audience's intelligence, I have to say. Maybe if they had spent a little more time developing hte storyline they threw in in the last episode, it might have made more sense.

All in all, this show is a cute, easy watch. Nothing ground breaking or earth shattering, but fun and cute, even if you do end up wanting to punch several characters straight in the face at times.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
claudya87
4 people found this review helpful
Jul 7, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
I had moments when I liked the series, when I got bored or simply thought that the story was forced. But if we get over the first episodes that are hard to believe there were some funny moments that made me continue. The children were also cute but from my point of view the brothers were the ones who sustained the series.

Story : Was forced most of the times but the relationship between the children and the uncles/nephew was fun to watch. I couldn't understand Jae Young's stubbornness and actions and compared to her mother, I actually gave the last more credit. It's strange to say this but for me Pal Kang remained useless from beginning to end. My favourite character was of course Kang Ha who was very complex and offered great scenes. The sibling rivalry was well portrayed and intense.

Acting/cast : I felt that everyone played their roles well. I can't give it a 10 because there were a few flaws, not worth mentioning but still..Also this series lacked chemistry from the main actors, maybe I would've loved the series more if I saw some sparks flying.

Music : So many songs played in this series, a mix of global music. Older, newer, Korean, American, European..all good music.

Rewatch value : To be sincere, I don't plan on rewatching the entire series, maybe just the funny scenes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
All_Day_Everyday
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 1, 2013
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
The reason I watched this drama was for Kim Ji Hoon. I wanted to see him get the girl for the first time since FBND.

Story: The story was great and it makes you realize that dead is always near and unpredictable. Pal rang was an arrogant, selfish women who would cheat her friend and even her siblings out of money in order to buy clothes to impress the cold hearted lawyer, Won Kang Ha. Her life changes when a tragic happens in her family leaving her to take care of her 5 siblings. With the help of the cold hearted lawyers brother. Won Joon Ha and nephew, Tae Gyu, she hides her siblings in Kang Ha's house. Now that she has 5 siblings to feed she forgets that she's even a women and considers her self a mother that can't fall in love. In throwing away her emotions away Won Kang Ha starts to notice her. I give the overall story a 10!!!

Acting/ Casting: I really like Kim Ji Hoon's acting. He's funny, hot and HOT. As for the girl lead I thought she was really beautiful and their chemistry together was unforgetful. I give the acting a 10 as well.

Music: To be honest I really didn't listen to the music but I wasn't going to give it a bad score only because I didn't pay attention to it so I give the music a 10 as well.

Rewatch: The only thing I wish right now is to forget that I even watched the drama so that way I can rewatch it again and be surprised the the first time. I give the rewatch value a 10!!!!

P.S. Sorry if I spoiled even a tinsy bit of the story.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
whatteverr
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 7, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Positive sides would be,for me it was very inspirational.I mean it really does make you think " am i really living for the right things in life" and the acting was quite well ans well as the story line.The development between the characters was also one of the favorite thing int he drama.

A negative side would be that it was long and the whole story got a bit dragged..i mean it could have been a few episodes shorter and they could have taken out the "fillers" but overall it was a good drama,I would recommend it as a "distraction" if you just finished a drama you were addicted to :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
venni
7 people found this review helpful
Dec 31, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 3.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Positives:
- The beginning seems interesting and the male lead looked quite nice.
- The child actors are pretty good for child actors.

Negatives:
- This series had an awkward plot and terrible acting.
- None of the characters had any depth to them.
- The male and female lead had no chemistry between them.
- The comedy was cringeworthy and relied too heavily on repeating the same gags.
- The female lead tried to be cute and clumsy, but came out as annoying and childish... at some point you just want to punch her in the mouth that she keeps pouting.
- If you do not like child actors, avoid this series like the plague!
- WHERE is the CHEESY ROMANCE I was promised!

Overall:
I was interested to see how the story would turn out, but there were too many things that just killed my interest. Probably the biggest problem is that there are so many dramas just like this one, but they tend to be a lot better. The nonexistent chemistry between the female and male lead is also a big problem. I recommend avoiding this drama unless you really love the actors or the concept of the drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mivaaa
3 people found this review helpful
Feb 2, 2015
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
There always comes a time when you either stumble upon or find one particular drama that just feels right. That just hits you in the head like a flying ball and you realize that this show is by far one of the best kdrama that you've ever watched. Stars falling for the sky is just that ball for me, and like I just described, it really did come flying, hitting me more deeply than I first believed it would.
And Why?

Firstly, the story.
Sure, how many times haven't we heard of a sad story about a person losing their parents and ending up fighting to survive. Giving up everything about themselves so that the people they care about can have a good life. I would say that we hear about this kind of story quite often. However that's not the point, the point is how this kind of story is executed and presented. How the actors represent the people going thru the hardships and also how well everything is put together to actually feel realistic and therefor sad. And that is exactly why, ladies and gentlemen, Stars falling from the sky is so damn good!! Because the story is so well presented and also making the main lead growing so fast and in a good way to be there for the people she loves! It's not easy but she does it and it all becomes great. The thing I love a lot with it tho is that the show is not only a serious drama all the way thru, it has it funny moments and the moments when you just feel like placing your hand thru the screen and strangle the people that destroy the perfection.

Secondly, the cast!
And this is easily the best and most important part of the show. You see the cast is making such a good job in actually making you see the horrible situation that this family finds themselves in. Before I get deeper into the characters I definitely have to make a shout out to the kids in the show because they really made a great performance. You really felt the family bond and love, they are kids yet really make it feel extremely real.
My favorite character is easy to say. Of course its Pal Gang. She just feels so real, and sure I hated her so damn much the first scenes that I saw her in. She felt so selfish and naive, and not to say Stalkish as well. However she grew as a character and became such a good person. As soon as reality hit her face and she found herself homeless with 5 kids, where one was a little baby, her survival instinct toke over. She understood that she no longer needed good looking hair (I think she also came to resent her long hair after the incident) nor fancy clothes. All she needed to think about was to find a home and a safe place for these 5 kids. And another thing that really made me love her, was that the romance that was really in your face in the beginning changes and in the end I felt that the romance wasn't a big deal to make the show good. Sure I loved the outcome romantically, but whether or not the show had the romance it would still be a really fantastic show.
The male lead for me, was really good. Sure I love Kim Jo Hoon as an actor, but he really was fantastic in this role. He changes, just like a lot of the characters, but along Pal Gang, he made a drastic change thruout the show. And as you saw him grow into a very likable person you really will fall a tiny bit for him. Plus he is so cute holding a baby! There's two other important male characters you can talk about but for me they where not AS important, Sure they had there impact on the show, believe me, but it's not needed for me to speak of them. However I have to bring up the female love rival because nothing can really describe my hate for her. Sure I usually hate the female love rival, there's few cases when i actually like them, but in this show it's just pure hate! I present to you, Fish Lip. She is so damn annoying and there where so many times during my watch that I just wanted to put my fist to her face and knock her out, sad thing that the screen was in the way. However hateful she is, it gives the series that fighting spirit.

The music is good too. It fits perfectly to the series with its themes. There's specially one song that all watchers will come to recognize after you're done with the show. The feelings that bubbles while watching this series just becomes more emotional with this OST.

My rewatch for this show is high and why is that. Funny shows tend to get that high of a rewatch but not the sad ones, however I've already rewatched it 3 times while writing this review. It's a perfect show in so many ways and really it doesn't matter how many times you watch it, because the show stays just as awesome.

Overall and lastly, this show has it all. It has Aww moments, emotional scenes and laughing out loud and spot on dialogue. The characters stay real and yet menages to be really likable and sometimes even adorable. Its a sad story but its wrapped up in a cute little fairy tale resulting in, when you're done with it, you walk away feeling light and happy. It's a must watch for every romance lover out there that likes stories staying rather realistic and true to the fact that shit happens, but that you still can get up and continue walking.

Happy Watching!
Mivaaa

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
LMitsuki
3 people found this review helpful
Jan 2, 2013
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I watched it not expecting too much, but I loved it. The main girl didn't seem as annoying as everyone said, and I liked it from the 1st episode onward. It was great from the beginning ^^
I loved how the plot was so organized. There were no sudden/random kisses on early episodes how usually happen in dramas, it actually had a story and a path to each character. They developped little by little.
The main guy played the coldest guy I ever saw on dramas, but he was so awesome!!! After half of the drama I was already loving him *-* And he is just too cute while in love~!
As for the actress, everyone was annoyed that she wasn't Lee Da Hae, but I think she did a great job (and LDH is one of my favorite korean actresses!).
It's really a cute drama. A great start for the new year.
And now, back to study ;_;

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?